DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The amendment/remarks submitted 04/27/2026 have been entered and fully considered. Claims 1-4, 7-11, and 14-20 are pending. Claims 5-6, 12-13, and 21 are cancelled. Claims 1, 3, and 18-20 are amended. Claims 1-4, 7-11, and 14-20 are examined herein.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “the sealed portion” should be amended to “the folded sealed portion.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “sealed portions” should be amended to “folded sealed portions.” Claim 4 depends from claim 3 and is objected to for the same reason. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites in the last two lines “wherein voids are formed between the pouch cells and the upper cover plate or the lower cover plate to accommodate the folded sealed portion.” However, the claim also recites in lines 5-6 “sealed portions of the adjacent two pouch cells, from which no electrode lead protrudes, are folded in opposite directions on upper surfaces of the adjacent two pouch cells.” Accordingly, the folded sealed portions are disposed on the upper surfaces. It is unclear how voids formed between the pouch cells and the lower cover plate could accommodate the folded sealed portion. Claims 19-20 depend from claim 18 and are rejected for the same reason. It is noted that if the voids are present at the lower cover plate, this is incompatible with the gap filler recited in claim 20. For the purpose of this Office action, the limitation will be treated as referring to the upper cover plate, not the lower cover plate.
Further regarding claim 18, the claim recites “a surface of the second thermal adhesive in contact with the lower cover plate is positioned lower than a surface of an adjacent folded sealed portion.” However, the only folded sealed portion recited is provided on upper surfaces of the pouch cells (lines 5-6). It is unclear how the folded sealed portions, which are on the upper surfaces of the pouch cells, are disposed relative to the second thermal adhesive, which is disposed on lower surfaces of the pouch cells. Should the folded sealed portions also be present on the lower surfaces of the pouch cells? For the purpose of this Office action, the limitation will be treated broadly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 11, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0184303 A1 (“Lee”) in view of US 2022/0407138 A1 (“Kim”).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Lee discloses a battery module 100 comprising: a battery module housing 100 (“module case”) comprising a second plate 170 (“upper cover plate”) and a first plate 160 (“lower cover plate”); and at least two pouch-type secondary battery cells 120 accommodated in the battery module housing 100, respectively including a sealing portion 123 on three sides thereof (Abstract; Figs. 1-3).
Among the sealing portion 123, a second sealing portion 123b from which no electrode lead protrudes is folded in one direction to form a folded sealed portion, and the folded sealed portion is positioned on a side of the second plate 170 or the first plate 160 of the module case (Fig. 3; [0051]-[0052]). The instant claim recites alternative configurations regarding the upper cover plate and the lower cover plate. For simplicity, the upper cover plate will be addressed herein; however, as noted previously, Lee discloses both alternatives.
A heat transfer member TA1 (“thermal adhesive”), which may include a thermal adhesive or thermal epoxy ([0124]), is attached directly to a pouch side of at least one of the at least two pouch cells located in a direction opposite to a folding direction of the folded sealed portion (Fig. 5).
The heat transfer member TA1 is in contact with the second plate 170 of the battery module housing 100 (Fig. 5; [0115]-[0116], [0118]-[0120]).
The second plate 170, in contact with the heat transfer member TA1, comprises an engraved plate having a V-shaped portion which protrudes downward from the second plate 170 (Fig. 5; [0120]).
A surface of the heat transfer member TA1 in contact with the second plate 170 is positioned higher than the folded sealed portion (Fig. 5).
Voids are formed between the pouch-type secondary battery cells 120 and the second plate 170 to accommodate the folded sealed portion (Fig. 5; [0119]).
Lee discloses the second sealing portion 123b is fixed by an adhesion member 124 but does not expressly disclose the folded sealed portion is fixed by an insulating tape portion attached thereto, and one end of the insulating tape portion is on a surface of the folded sealed portion.
Kim discloses a battery module comprising a plurality of battery cells 110 (Fig. 2). The battery cells 110 comprise a folded portion of fourth sealing part 117, and an adhesive layer 600 formed between the folded portion of the fourth sealing part 117 and the bottom surface 113b (Fig. 4; [0049], [0051]). The adhesive layer 600 can be formed of an adhesive material such as a double-sided tape (“insulating tape portion”) or an adhesive ([0052]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the adhesion member of Lee with the double-sided tape of Kim because Kim shows them to be equivalent adhesive means known in the art for the same purpose.
Regarding claim 2, modified Lee discloses the battery module of claim 1. Kim discloses the sealed portion is folded 90° (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, modified Lee discloses the battery module of claim 1. Lee discloses that two adjacent pouch-type secondary battery cells 120 have folded sealed portions folded in opposite directions (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, modified Lee discloses the battery module of claim 3. Lee discloses the heat transfer member TA1 directly contacts the adjacent two pouch-type secondary battery cells 120 (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 11, modified Lee discloses the battery module of claim 1. As discussed above, Lee discloses heat transfer member TA1 which is attached to lower surfaced 171 of the second plate 170 (Fig. 5; [0115]). Lee further discloses a heat transfer member TA2 attached to an upper surface of the plate 160 (Fig. 6; [0115]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Lee discloses the battery module of claim 1. Lee further discloses at least one buffer pad (“elastic pad”) included between at least two adjacent pouch-type secondary battery cells 120 (Fig. 4; [0057]). The buffer pad 127 may be compressed and elastically deformed when a specific battery cell 120 swells ([0057]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Lee discloses the battery module of claim 16. As shown in Fig. 4 of Lee, the buffer pad 127 has an area greater than an area of main body of each of the pouch-type secondary battery cells 120.
Regarding claim 18, Lee discloses a battery module 100 comprising: a battery module housing 100 (“module case”) comprising a second plate 170 (“upper cover plate”) and a first plate 160 (“lower cover plate”); and adjacent two pouch-type secondary battery cells 120 accommodated in the battery module housing 100, respectively including a sealing portion 123 (Abstract; Figs. 1-3).
The sealing portions 123 include a second sealing portion 123b from which no electrode lead protrudes which is folded in opposite direction on upper surfaces of the adjacent two pouch-type secondary battery cells 120 (Fig. 5).
A heat transfer member TA1 (“first thermal adhesive”), which may include a thermal adhesive or thermal epoxy ([0124]), directly connects the upper surfaces of the adjacent two pouch-type secondary battery cells 120 to the second plate 170.
A heat transfer member TA2 (“second thermal adhesive”) which may include a thermal adhesive or thermal epoxy ([0124]), connects lower surfaces of the adjacent two pouch-type secondary battery cells 120 to the first plate 160 (Fig. 6).
The heat transfer members TA1 and TA2 inherently provide bidirectional cooling of the adjacent two pouch-type secondary battery cells 120 ([0123]).
The second plate 170, in contact with the heat transfer member TA1, comprises an engraved plate having a V-shaped portion which protrudes downward from the second plate 170 (Fig. 5; [0120]).
A surface of the heat transfer member TA1 in contact with the second plate 170 is positioned higher than the folded sealed portion (Fig. 5).
Voids are formed between the pouch-type secondary battery cells 120 and the second plate 170 to accommodate the folded sealed portion (Fig. 5; [0119]).
Lee discloses the second sealing portions 123b may be formed on an upper surface and a lower surface of the battery cell 120 ([0052]). In this configuration, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mirror the shape of the second plate 170 to the first plate 160, thereby providing the engraved plate having a V-shaped portion which protrudes upward from the first plate 170 to reduce the amount of heat transfer member TA2 and guide and maintain a stacking location of the battery cell 120 ([0120]). In this configuration, it follows that a surface of the heat transfer member TA2 in contact with the first plate 160 is positioned lower than a surface of an adjacent folded sealed portion, similar to the heat transfer member TA1 shown in Fig. 5.
Lee discloses the second sealing portion 123b is fixed by an adhesion member 124 but does not expressly disclose the folded sealed portion is fixed by an insulating tape portion attached thereto, and one end of the insulating tape portion is on a surface of the folded sealed portion.
Kim discloses a battery module comprising a plurality of battery cells 110 (Fig. 2). The battery cells 110 comprise a folded portion of fourth sealing part 117, and an adhesive layer 600 formed between the folded portion of the fourth sealing part 117 and the bottom surface 113b (Fig. 4; [0049], [0051]). The adhesive layer 600 can be formed of an adhesive material such as a double-sided tape (“insulating tape portion”) or an adhesive ([0052]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the adhesion member of Lee with the double-sided tape of Kim because Kim shows them to be equivalent adhesive means known in the art for the same purpose.
Regarding claim 19, modified Lee discloses the battery module of claim 18. Lee further discloses at least one buffer pad (“elastic pad”) included between the two adjacent pouch-type secondary battery cells 120 (Fig. 4; [0057]). The buffer pad 127 may be compressed and elastically deformed when a specific battery cell 120 swells ([0057]).
Regarding claim 20, modified Lee discloses the battery module of claim 18. Lee further discloses the heat transfer member TA2 may be configured to include at least some of a thermal grease, a thermal adhesive, thermally conductive epoxy, and a heat dissipation pad to facilitate heat transfer ([0124]). Accordingly, Lee discloses the combination of at least two of these with sufficient specificity. The thermal adhesive or thermally conductive epoxy correspond to the second thermal adhesive, and the other in the combination corresponds to the claimed gap filler.
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0184303 A1 (“Lee”) in view of US 2022/0407138 A1 (“Kim”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2018/0183117 A1 (“Cho”).
Regarding claims 7-10, modified Lee discloses the battery module of claim 1. Lee discloses the heat transfer member TA1 may be configured to include at least some of a thermal grease, a thermal adhesive, thermally conductive epoxy, and a heat dissipation pad to facilitate heat transfer, but is not limited thereto ([0124]). Lee does not expressly disclose the thermal adhesive comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a polyurethane-based adhesive, a silicone-based adhesive, and an epoxy-based adhesive [claim 7]; the thermal adhesive has a thermal conductivity of 1.0 W/mK or more [claim 8]; the thermal adhesive comprises a thermally conductive filler [claim 9], wherein the thermally conductive filler comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of alumina, aluminum hydroxide, and silica [claim 10].
Cho discloses a battery module comprising a thermally conductive resin layer (Abstract). The resin layer has a thermal conductivity of about 2 W/MK or more ([0036]); is electrically insulating ([0040]); comprises a urethane adhesive, an epoxy adhesive, or a silicone adhesive ([0051], [0083]); and comprises a thermally conductive filler, such as alumina ([0054]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the claimed composition of the thermal adhesive because Cho teaches it affects the adhesive force of the layer and the thermal conductivity of the layer ([0036], [0038], [0054]).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0184303 A1 (“Lee”) in view of US 2022/0407138 A1 (“Kim”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2022/0251432 A1 (“Yang”).
Regarding claims 14-15, modified Lee discloses the battery module of claim 1. Modified Lee is silent regarding the insulating tape portion having an adhesion of 500 gf/in or more and a shear stress of 30 kgf/in2 or more [claim 14] and the insulating tape portion comprises at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive or hot-melt adhesive selected from the group consisting of a silicone-based adhesive, an acrylic-based adhesive, a rubber-based adhesive, and an epoxy-based adhesive [claim 15].
Yang discloses a double-sided curable pressure-sensitive adhesive tape (Abstract; Fig. 1B). The tape comprises a curable pressure-sensitive adhesive composition, including a reactive polyacrylate, a liquid epoxy resin, a solid epoxy resin (Abstract). Yang discloses examples having a peeling force A of 0.7 N/mm (approximately 1,800 gf/in) and a shear strength of 5.3 MPa (approximately 350 gf/in2) (Table 3). The tape disclosed by Yang has excellent bonding strength ([0031]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the double sided tape of Yang to provide excellent bonding strength.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 9-13 regarding the amended claims 1 and 18, filed 04/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-4, 7-11, and 14-20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 2021/0184303 A1 (“Lee”) in view of US 2022/0407138 A1 (“Kim”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
Robert Scott Carrico
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/Robert S Carrico/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727