DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 04/16/2026. As directed by the amendment: no claim(s) has/have been amended; no claim(s) has/have been cancelled and no new claim(s) has/have been added. Thus, claims 1-14 and 20-21 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Umotoy et al (US 2007/0040265).
Regarding claim 1, Umotoy discloses a metal heater comprising:
a metal substrate (Fig. 4 #110a top plate)) with a groove (Fig. 4 #197 groove) formed therein;
a resistive heater (Fig. 4 #196a resistive heating element) disposed within the groove (Fig. 4 #197 groove);
and a fill metal (Fig. 4 #199 thermally conductive filler) disposed over the resistive heater (Fig. 4 #196a resistive heating element) and filling the groove (Fig. 4 #197 groove), wherein the fill metal has a lower melting temperature than the metal substrate ([0022] lines 21-27 ---"Further, optionally, the particles can include stainless steel powder mixed with a lower melting point or fluxing metal, such as nickel, indium, tin, lead, etc, to allow the particles to soften or liquefy in the brazing heat treatment described above to form a thermally conductive filler 199 that surrounds the tube 194 in the groove 197 of the plate 110a.”),
wherein the fill metal transitions from a solid state to a liquid state during operation of the heater while the metal substrate remains solid ([0022] lines 21-27 ---"Further, optionally, the particles can include stainless steel powder mixed with a lower melting point or fluxing metal, such as nickel, indium, tin, lead, etc, to allow the particles to soften or liquefy in the brazing heat treatment described above to form a thermally conductive filler 199 that surrounds the tube 194 in the groove 197 of the plate 110a.”).
Regarding claim 2, Umotoy teaches the metal heater as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Umotoy teaches wherein the resistive heater (Fig. 4 #196a resistive heating element) is selected from the group consisting of layered heaters, cable heaters, tubular heaters (Fig. 4 #196a resistive heating element is shown to be tubular), cartridge heaters, and foil heaters.
Regarding claim 5, Umotoy teaches the metal heater as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Umotoy teaches wherein the metal substrate is formed of a metal or a metal alloy ([0024] lines 1-7 ---" An exemplary embodiment of a fabrication flow chart is illustrated in FIG. 3. In fabrication, the top, bottom and middle plates 110a-c, respectively, are fabricated from a metal, such as aluminum, anodized aluminum, stainless steel, iron, and commercially available alloys such as "HAYNES 242," "AI-6061," "SS 304," "SS 316," and INCONEL.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umotoy et al (US 2007/0040265) as applied to claim 1, in view of Schlipf et al (US 2017/0071030)
Regarding claim 3, Umotoy teaches the metal heater as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach wherein the resistive heater is a cartridge heater.
Nonetheless, Schlipf in the same field of endeavor being electric heating devices teaches the resistive heater is a cartridge heater (Abstract ---" An electrical cartridge type heater (100)…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the metal heater of Umotoy by incorporating the cartridge heater as taught by Sclipf for the benefit of implementation of a heater at extremely cost-effective feasibility. (Schlipf [0012])
Claim(s) 4 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umotoy et al (US 2007/0040265) as applied to claim 1, in view of Dekervel et al (US 20220186386).
Regarding claim 4, Umotoy teaches the metal heater as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach wherein the resistive heater is a cable heater.
Nonetheless, Dekervel in the same field of endeavor being electric resistance heating, teaches wherein the resistive heater is a cable heater (Abstract ---" A method for creating an electric heating source, including a body equipped with one or more housings containing mineral-insulated heating cables.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the metal heater of Umotoy by incorporating the heating cable as taught by Dekervel for the benefit of providing a more uniform temperature and a shorter response time to heating or cooling.
Regarding claim 8, Umotoy teaches the metal heater as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach wherein further comprising a plurality of grooves and a corresponding plurality of resistive heaters disposed within the plurality of grooves.
Nonetheless, Dekervel teaches further comprising a plurality of grooves (Fig. 4 #190 housings) and a corresponding plurality of resistive heaters (Fig. 4 #191-192 heating elements) disposed within the plurality of grooves (Fig. 4 #190 housings).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the metal heater of Umotoy by incorporating the plurality of grooves and a corresponding plurality of resistive heaters as taught by Dekervel for the benefit of providing a more uniform temperature and a shorter response time to heating.
Regarding claim 9, Umotoy teaches the metal heater as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach wherein the groove defines an arcuate-shaped interior profile.
Nonetheless, DEKERVEL teaches wherein the groove (Fig. 4 #190 housings) defines an arcuate-shaped interior profile (The housings appear to be round to fit the round profile of the heating elements.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the metal heater of Umotoy by incorporating the groove defines an arcuate-shaped interior profile as taught by Dekervel for the benefit of supporting a circular workpiece.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umotoy et al (US 2007/0040265) as applied to claim 1, in view of WEBB et al (US 2020/0136283).
Regarding claim 6, Umotoy teaches the heater as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach wherein the fill metal is indium.
Nonetheless, WEBB in the same field of endeavor being electric resistance heating, teaches wherein the fill metal is indium ([0084] lines 2-3 ---"The solder compound may comprise one or more of silver, tin, bismuth, indium and copper.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heater of Umotoy by incorporating the indium fill metal as taught by WEBB for the benefit of having a filler material that is lead free.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umotoy et al (US 2007/0040265) in view of WEBB et al (US 2020/0136283) as applied to claim 6, further in view of DEKERVEL et al (US 2022/0126386).
Regarding claim 7, Umotoy in view of Webb teaches the heater as appears above (see the rejection of claim 6), but does not teach further comprising a cover plate secured to the metal substrate and disposed over the fill metal.
Nonetheless, DEKERVEL teaches further comprising a cover plate (Fig. 4 #112 counter-plate) secured to the metal substrate (Fig. 4 #111a support surface) and disposed over the fill metal (Fig. 5 #82 solder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heater of Umotoy in view of WEBB by incorporating the cover as taught by WEBB for the benefit of protecting the fill metal and heating element from environmental damage or contaminants.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umotoy et al (US 2007/0040265) as applied to claim 1, in view of White et al (US 2007/0090516).
Regarding claim 10, Umotoy teaches the heater as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach further comprising a plurality of resistive heaters disposed within a single groove.
Nonetheless, White teaches further comprising a plurality of resistive heaters (Fig. 2 #224 plurality of conductive elements) disposed within a single groove.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heater of Umotoy by incorporating the plurality if resistive heaters as taught by White for the benefit of continuing to produce heat in the event that one or more of the plurality of heating elements fails.
Regarding claim 11, Umotoy in view of White teaches the heater as appears above (see the rejection of claim 10), but does not teach further comprising at least one spacer disposed between adjacent resistive heaters of the plurality of resistive heaters.
Nonetheless, White teaches further comprising at least one spacer (Fig. 2 #222 dielectric) disposed between adjacent resistive heaters of the plurality of resistive heaters.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heater of Umotoy in view of White by incorporating the spacer as taught by White for the benefit of electrically isolating the heating wires.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umotoy et al (US 2007/0040265) as applied to claim 1 in view of Kumazama et al (US 4,558,695).
Regarding claim 13, Umotoy teaches the heater as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach further comprising at least one additional groove filled by the fill metal, wherein the at least one additional groove does not contain a resistive heater.
However, Kumazama shows that it is possible to fill a groove that does not contain a heating element (Col. 4 lines 16-21 ---" Then, a third step is taken in which the flattened tube 6 is caused to pass through a bath of molten solder so that the flat surface of the tube having the grooves 26 therein is directed upwardly, with a result that a deposit of solder 34 as the brazing material stays in the grooves 26 without fail, as shown in FIGS. 8 and 9.”).
Nonetheless, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have at least one additional groove filled by the fill metal without having a resistive heater, since applicant has not disclosed that having at least one additional groove being substantially filled by the fill metal without having a resistive heater solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with having at least one additional groove substantially filled by the fill metal and having a resistive heater.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umotoy et al (US 2007/0040265) as applied to claim 1 in view of Olaru et al (US 2004/0258792).
Regarding claim 14, Umotoy teaches the heater as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach further comprising a plurality of layers of resistive heaters disposed within a corresponding plurality of grooves, wherein the fill metal is disposed over the plurality of resistive heaters and substantially fills the plurality of grooves.
However, Olaru shows that multiple heating elements may be disposed in a groove ([0047] ---"[0047] FIG. 3 is a cross-sectional view of manifold 1 with two heater elements 2 and 3 stacked in manifold groove 5, according to one embodiment of the present invention. First heating element 2 is stacked on top of second heating element 3 in manifold groove 5.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose a plurality of heating elements within a groove, since the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP 2144.04 V. B.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ChannelCreativeVN et al (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZV_5tLEbiVo) (hereinafter referred to as “VN”) in view of Umotoy et al (US 2007/0040265).
Regarding claim 20, VN discloses a method of operating a heater, the method comprising:
supplying power to a metal heater (Timestamp 4:48-5:00, the metal heater comprising:
a metal substrate (VN timestamp 1:53-3:04 tub made of metal from a can) with a groove (Shown at timestamp 3:11, space within the rectangle formed by the can) formed therein;
and a fill metal (Solder being introduced to the metal substrate and the heater at timestamp 5:01) disposed over the resistive heater and filling the groove, wherein the fill metal has a lower melting temperature than the metal substrate (The substrate is shown filled with liquid solder at time stamp 5:15; This is interpreted that the metal that makes the can has a higher melting point than the solder.);
and increasing the power such that the resistive heater provides sufficient heat to melt the fill metal (Timestamp 4:52 shows a switch being toggled from off to on which would increase the power sufficient enough to melt the fill metal.), the fill metal transitioning from a solid state to a liquid state during operation of the heater, while the metal substrate remains solid (Shown at timestamp 5:04-5:14; The can remains solid while the solder is in liquid form.),
wherein the fill metal transitions from a solid state to a liquid state during operation of the heater while the metal substrate remains solid (Shown at timestamp 5:04-5:14; The can remains solid while the solder is in liquid form.).
However, VN does not disclose a resistive heater disposed within the groove.
Nonetheless, Umotoy in the same field of endeavor being electric heating devices teaches a resistive heater (Fig. 4 #196a resistive heating element) disposed within the groove (Fig. 4 #197 groove).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of VN by incorporating the heater disposed within the groove as taught by Umotoy for the benefit of independent heating at different regions of the support.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ChannelCreativeVN et al (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZV_5tLEbiVo) (hereinafter referred to as “VN”) in view of Umotoy et al (US 2007/0040265) as applied to claim 20, in view of WEBB et al (US 2020/0136283).
Regarding claim 21, VN in view of Umotoy teaches the heater as appears above (see the rejection of claim 20), but does not teach wherein the fill metal is indium.
Nonetheless, WEBB teaches wherein the fill metal is indium ([0084] lines 2-3 ---"The solder compound may comprise one or more of silver, tin, bismuth, indium and copper.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heater of VN in view of Umotoy by incorporating the indium fill metal as taught by WEBB for the benefit of having a filler material that is lead free.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-7, filed 04-16/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 20 under 35 U.S.C.102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Umotoy et al (US 2007/0040265).
Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not teach a heater disposed in a groove of a metal substrate. Examiner respectfully agrees.
However, newly cited prior art Umotoy does teach a heater disposed in a groove of a metal substrate and fill metal is disposed over the heater and filling the groove. See the rejection of claim 20.
Conclusion
/JOE E MILLS JR./ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761