DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 5, 7, 10, 12, 17 have been amended. Claim 6 is cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7-14, 15-17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farrokhi (US10177813) in view of Thubert et al. (US20150327261) further in view of Piccolo et al. (US 20130027198).
Regarding claim 1, Farrokhi teaches A controller for operating an event device system, comprising: a memory; and a processor configured to execute executable instructions stored in the memory (col 6 lines 5-12 “The CPU may represent one or more processing units that obtain software instructions from memory module and executes such instructions from the memory module and execute such instructions”) to:
transmit, to a plurality of event devices via a G3 power line communications (G3- PLC) protocol (col 2 lines 47-51 “ PLC includes a number of standards, each focusing on a different area of communication performance. These standards include … G3 … which are applicable to the physical layer”) over a two-wire connection (col 4 lines 9-14 “ In other embodiments, one or more of the communication links may be configured … twisted pair, coaxial link, etc. Any suitable implementation or combination thereof may be adopted for the communication links 162-A-N in illustrative embodiments”, (Examiner’s Note: twisted pair is equivalent to two wire connection)) between the plurality of event devices and the controller (Fig. 1b “152A-152C”, col 3 lines 50-60 “In various embodiments, the devices 152A-152N may include modems, which can send and receive data from the power line 154 and send for processing to a host computer, as discussed later with respect to FIG. 2B. A PLC node may be configured as a Data Concentrator Unit (DCU) or coordinator, which may also be coupled with the power line 154 to set up and coordinate communication activities between the multiple devices 152A-152N. A typical modem is an electronic device configured to modulate analog signals to encode digital data for transmission and demodulate analog signals to decode the transmitted data. The data communicated between the power line devices or nodes may include command and status data”, (Examiner’s Note: DCU is equivalent controller, multiple devices 152A-152N is equivalent plurality of event devices),
a synchronization message after the plurality of event devices exit a low-power state according to a predetermined time-division multiplexing (TDM) schedule to cause the plurality of event devices to synchronize timing of the plurality of event devices with the controller (col 4 lines 59 – col 5 lines 5 “In various embodiments, in operation, the synchronizer detects or generates the sync signal and provides an indication to be used by the transmitter and/or receiver to start transmission and/or receipt of data. In some embodiments, time slots are assigned to each communication device 216A and 216B by the DCU after an initial discovery session during which each communication device sends or responds to discovery communication packets to make its presence on the PLC network known. After the time slot is assigned to each communication device, the devices communicate during their respective allotted time slots. In various embodiments, random time slots may be available to use by the devices during the discovery period, during normal communications, or both”, col 8 lines 1-7 “ Once the sync signal indicates the start of the time slots and data frame, each PLC node can detect the sync signal and therefore the time of transmission for time slot TO, and thus, the time of subsequent time slots. This way each PLC node may transmit or receive data in its own designated time slot. Each PLC may place itself in a low-activity idle mode during other time slots which are not assigned to it”, col 3 lines 60-col 4 lines 5 “The data communicated between the power line devices or nodes may include command and status data… Commands may include setting threshold limits, defining assigned time slots, specifying communication protocols and/or parameters, and the like”, (Examiner’s Note: predetermined TDM is equivalent to transmission time slot being determined during the discovery phase which occurs before the actual transmission occurs described above);
transmit, to the plurality of event devices via the G3-PLC protocol ((col 2 lines 47-51 “ PLC includes a number of standards, each focusing on a different area of communication performance. These standards include … G3 … which are applicable to the physical layer”) over the two- wire connection (col 4 lines 9-14 “ In other embodiments, one or more of the communication links may be configured … twisted pair, coaxial link, etc. Any suitable implementation or combination thereof may be adopted for the communication links 162-A-N in illustrative embodiments”, (Examiner’s Note: twisted pair is equivalent to two wire connection)), a command according to the predetermined TDM schedule (col 8 lines 35-45 “Now with reference to FIG. 5B, in various embodiments, time slots 506 may be synchronized with zero crossings of the power line signal 502. In some embodiments, different time slots may be assigned to different directions of communication, such as for transmission or for receiving data. For example, one direction of data transmission may be from the DCU to a PLC node (forward) during TS0-FW time slot, and another direction may be from the PLC node to the DCU (reverse) during TS0-REV time slot. Similarly, different directions of data transmission may be employed during other forward time slots TS1-FW and TS2-FW, and during other reverse time slots TS1-REV and TS2-REV”, col 8 lines 65-67 “ Time slots may include several types based on function or use including a data channel 606 for data transmission, a data response slot 608 for response to the data transmission received from channel 606”);
(col 2 lines 47-51 “ PLC includes a number of standards, each focusing on a different area of communication performance. These standards include … G3 … which are applicable to the physical layer” over the two- wire connection (col 4 lines 9-14 “ In other embodiments, one or more of the communication links may be configured … twisted pair, coaxial link, etc. Any suitable implementation or combination thereof may be adopted for the communication links 162-A-N in illustrative embodiments”, (Examiner’s Note: twisted pair is equivalent to two wire connection)), a response to the command according to the predetermined TDM schedule (col 8 lines 35-45 “Now with reference to FIG. 5B, in various embodiments, time slots 506 may be synchronized with zero crossings of the power line signal 502. In some embodiments, different time slots may be assigned to different directions of communication, such as for transmission or for receiving data. For example, one direction of data transmission may be from the DCU to a PLC node (forward) during TS0-FW time slot, and another direction may be from the PLC node to the DCU (reverse) during TS0-REV time slot. Similarly, different directions of data transmission may be employed during other forward time slots TS1-FW and TS2-FW, and during other reverse time slots TS1-REV and TS2-REV”, col 8 lines 65-67 “ Time slots may include several types based on function or use including a data channel 606 for data transmission, a data response slot 608 for response to the data transmission received from channel 606”).
Farrokhi does not teach wherein the predetermined TDM schedule is included in a local memory at each of the plurality of event devices, wherein the command includes a message from the controller to the plurality of event devices to transition to an alarm state.
Thubert teaches wherein the predetermined TDM schedule is included in a local memory at each of the plurality of event devices ([0059] “then regulated by a time schedule that specifies when this specific packet has to be transmitted to the wire or the radio and this continues for each node on the path. This specific time period is called a time slot. An external box (called orchestrator) usually does the computation of this path and the associated timetable. When the computation is done, the path and the time table is then pushed to every node participating in the forwarding, such that they can receive and transmit the packet according to the schedule”, [0108] “For instance, it is expressly contemplated that the components and/or elements described herein can be implemented as software being stored on a tangible (non-transitory) computer-readable medium (e.g., disks/CDs/RAM/EEPROM/etc.) having program instructions executing on a computer, hardware, firmware, or a combination thereof”));
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Farrokhi to incorporate the teachings of Thubert. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order in order to meet a defined time budget for a resultant time-synchronized path.
Thubert does not teach wherein the command includes a message from the controller to the plurality of event devices to transition to an alarm state.
Piccolo teaches wherein the command includes a message from the controller to the plurality of event devices to transition to an alarm state ([0022] “The system controller 14 may monitor the alarm condition detectors D. When an alarm condition is sensed, the system controller 14 may signal the alarm to the appropriate notification appliances A through the one or more appliance circuits. Notification devices may include, for example, a visual alarm (such as a strobe), an audible alarm (such as a horn or speaker”, [0027-28] “ As another example, a broadcast mass notification command may include a different code (such as a different series of “0” and “1”). the lookup table may correlate the different series of “0” and “1” with an internal code that the controller 26 recognizes as a mass notification command. In some embodiments, an indicator 34, such as a flashing LED, may be used as an output, for example during diagnostic testing, on the strobe device 30””)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Farrokhi, Thubert to incorporate the teachings of Piccolo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order in more effective alert system.
Regarding claim 10, Farrokhi teaches An event device of an event device system, comprising: a memory; and a processor configured to execute executable instructions stored in the memory (col 6 lines 5-12 “The CPU may represent one or more processing units that obtain software instructions from memory module and executes such instructions from the memory module and execute such instructions”) to:
exit a low-power state according to a predetermined time-division multiplexing (TDM) schedule (“col 8 lines 1-7 “ Once the sync signal indicates the start of the time slots and data frame, each PLC node can detect the sync signal and therefore the time of transmission for time slot TO, and thus, the time of subsequent time slots. This way each PLC node may transmit or receive data in its own designated time slot. Each PLC may place itself in a low-activity idle mode during other time slots which are not assigned to it”);
synchronize, in response to receiving a synchronization message from a controller via a G3 power line communications (G3-PLC) protocol ((col 2 lines 47-51 “ PLC includes a number of standards, each focusing on a different area of communication performance. These standards include … G3 … which are applicable to the physical layer”) according to the predetermined TDM schedule after exiting the low-power state over a two-wire connection (col 4 lines 9-14 “ In other embodiments, one or more of the communication links may be configured … twisted pair, coaxial link, etc. Any suitable implementation or combination thereof may be adopted for the communication links 162-A-N in illustrative embodiments”, (Examiner’s Note: twisted pair is equivalent to two wire connection)) between the event device and the controller (col 4 lines 59 – col 5 lines 5 “In various embodiments, in operation, the synchronizer detects or generates the sync signal and provides an indication to be used by the transmitter and/or receiver to start transmission and/or receipt of data. In some embodiments, time slots are assigned to each communication device 216A and 216B by the DCU after an initial discovery session during which each communication device sends or responds to discovery communication packets to make its presence on the PLC network known. After the time slot is assigned to each communication device, the devices communicate during their respective allotted time slots. In various embodiments, random time slots may be available to use by the devices during the discovery period, during normal communications, or both”, col 8 lines 1-7 “ Once the sync signal indicates the start of the time slots and data frame, each PLC node can detect the sync signal and therefore the time of transmission for time slot TO, and thus, the time of subsequent time slots. This way each PLC node may transmit or receive data in its own designated time slot. Each PLC may place itself in a low-activity idle mode during other time slots which are not assigned to it”, col 3 lines 60-col 4 lines 5 “The data communicated between the power line devices or nodes may include command and status data… Commands may include setting threshold limits, defining assigned time slots, specifying communication protocols and/or parameters, and the like”, (Examiner’s Note: predetermined TDM is equivalent to transmission time slot being determined during the discovery phase which occurs before the actual transmission occurs described above),
a clock source of the event device with a clock of the controller (col 6 lines 20-30 “These specific waveform points, such as the zero-crossing events act like embedded clock signals in the PLC system, which is visible to all PLC nodes connected to the power line. Using zero-crossing may remove the need of other external synchronization techniques, such as additional clock signals or frame sync signals, discussed below with respect to FIG. 4. Zero-crossing of the power line is detected by the zero-crossing detector 302, which may be coupled to the timing synchronizer module 304, (Examiner’s Note: the zero crossing detector acts act like a clock of the controller);
receive, according to the predetermined TDM schedule via the two-wire connection (col 4 lines 9-14 “ In other embodiments, one or more of the communication links may be configured … twisted pair, coaxial link, etc. Any suitable implementation or combination thereof may be adopted for the communication links 162-A-N in illustrative embodiments”, (Examiner’s Note: twisted pair is equivalent to two wire connection)), a command from the controller (col 8 lines 35-45 “Now with reference to FIG. 5B, in various embodiments, time slots 506 may be synchronized with zero crossings of the power line signal 502. In some embodiments, different time slots may be assigned to different directions of communication, such as for transmission or for receiving data. For example, one direction of data transmission may be from the DCU to a PLC node (forward) during TS0-FW time slot, and another direction may be from the PLC node to the DCU (reverse) during TS0-REV time slot. Similarly, different directions of data transmission may be employed during other forward time slots TS1-FW and TS2-FW, and during other reverse time slots TS1-REV and TS2-REV”, col 8 lines 65-67 “ Time slots may include several types based on function or use including a data channel 606 for data transmission, a data response slot 608 for response to the data transmission received from channel 606”);
transmit, according to the predetermined TDM schedule in response to receiving a command from the controller over the two-wire connection (col 4 lines 9-14 “ In other embodiments, one or more of the communication links may be configured … twisted pair, coaxial link, etc. Any suitable implementation or combination thereof may be adopted for the communication links 162-A-N in illustrative embodiments”, (Examiner’s Note: twisted pair is equivalent to two wire connection)), a response to the command to the controller (col 8 lines 35-45 “Now with reference to FIG. 5B, in various embodiments, time slots 506 may be synchronized with zero crossings of the power line signal 502. In some embodiments, different time slots may be assigned to different directions of communication, such as for transmission or for receiving data. For example, one direction of data transmission may be from the DCU to a PLC node (forward) during TS0-FW time slot, and another direction may be from the PLC node to the DCU (reverse) during TS0-REV time slot. Similarly, different directions of data transmission may be employed during other forward time slots TS1-FW and TS2-FW, and during other reverse time slots TS1-REV and TS2-REV”, col 8 lines 65-67 “ Time slots may include several types based on function or use including a data channel 606 for data transmission, a data response slot 608 for response to the data transmission received from channel 606”);
and enter the low-power state according to the predetermined TDM schedule col 8 lines 1-7 “ Once the sync signal indicates the start of the time slots and data frame, each PLC node can detect the sync signal and therefore the time of transmission for time slot TO, and thus, the time of subsequent time slots. This way each PLC node may transmit or receive data in its own designated time slot. Each PLC may place itself in a low-activity idle mode during other time slots which are not assigned to it”, (Examiner’s Note; when not time slot enters low activity idle mode which is equivalent to low power state).
Farrokhi does not teach a predetermined time-division multiplexing (TDM) schedule included in the local memory at the event device, wherein the command includes a message from the controller to the event device to transition to an alarm state.
Thubert teaches a predetermined time-division multiplexing (TDM) schedule included in the local memory at the event device ([0059] “then regulated by a time schedule that specifies when this specific packet has to be transmitted to the wire or the radio and this continues for each node on the path. This specific time period is called a time slot. An external box (called orchestrator) usually does the computation of this path and the associated timetable. When the computation is done, the path and the time table is then pushed to every node participating in the forwarding, such that they can receive and transmit the packet according to the schedule”, [0108] “For instance, it is expressly contemplated that the components and/or elements described herein can be implemented as software being stored on a tangible (non-transitory) computer-readable medium (e.g., disks/CDs/RAM/EEPROM/etc.) having program instructions executing on a computer, hardware, firmware, or a combination thereof”));
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Farrokhi to incorporate the teachings of Thubert. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order in order to meet a defined time budget for a resultant time-synchronized path.
Thubert does not teach wherein the command includes a message from the controller to the event device to transition to an alarm state.
Piccolo teaches wherein the command includes a message from the controller to the event device to transition to an alarm state ([0022] “The system controller 14 may monitor the alarm condition detectors D. When an alarm condition is sensed, the system controller 14 may signal the alarm to the appropriate notification appliances A through the one or more appliance circuits. Notification devices may include, for example, a visual alarm (such as a strobe), an audible alarm (such as a horn or speaker”, [0027-28] “ As another example, a broadcast mass notification command may include a different code (such as a different series of “0” and “1”). the lookup table may correlate the different series of “0” and “1” with an internal code that the controller 26 recognizes as a mass notification command. In some embodiments, an indicator 34, such as a flashing LED, may be used as an output, for example during diagnostic testing, on the strobe device 30””)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Farrokhi, Thubert to incorporate the teachings of Piccolo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order in more effective alert system.
Regarding claim 17, Farrokhi teaches An event device system, comprising:a controller configured to: transmit, to a plurality of event devices via a G3 power line communications (G3- PLC) protocol over a two-wire connection between the plurality of event devices and the controller after the plurality of event devices exit a low-power state, a synchronization message according to a predetermined time-division multiplexing (TDM) schedule; transmit, to the plurality of event devices via the G3-PLC protocol over the two- wire connection, a command according to the predetermined TDM schedule; wherein the command includes a message from the controller to the plurality of event devices to transition to an alarm state, and receive, from each of the plurality of event devices via the G3-PLC protocol over the two-wire connection, a response to the command according to the predetermined TDM schedule; and the plurality of event devices, each configured to: exit the low-power state according to the predetermined TDM schedule included in a local memory at each event device;
synchronize, by each event device of the plurality of event devices in response to receiving the synchronization message from the controller over the two-wire connection after exiting the low-power state, a clock source of each event device with a clock of the controller; receive, according to the predetermined TDM schedule over the two-wire connection, a command from the controller;
transmit, according to the predetermined TDM schedule in response to receiving a command from the controller, a response to the command to the controller over the two-wire connection; and enter the low-power state according to the predetermined TDM schedule (Examiner’s Note: Claim 17 is rejected similarly as claim 10).
Regaring claim 4, Farrokhi teaches wherein the predetermined TDM schedule defines at least one of: a first time slot for the synchronization message; a second time slot for the command; and a third time slot for the response (Fig. 6A “Frame Sync Signal 604, “Data Channel 606”, “Data Resp 608” “col 8 lines 65-67 “ Time slots may include several types based on function or use including a data channel 606 for data transmission, a data response slot 608 for response to the data transmission received from channel 606”).
Regarding claim 5, Farrokhi teaches wherein the command includes a request to each event device of the plurality of event devices to provide status information about each event device (col 4 lines 60-67 “The data communicated between the power line devices or nodes may include command and status data. For example, in power meter reading applications status data pertaining to amount of power consumption, voltage, current, average values, highest and lowest values within a specified time period, and various other parameters and statistics may be communicated back and forth. Commands may include setting threshold limits, defining assigned time slots, specifying communication protocols and/or parameters, and the like”).
Regarding claim 7, Farrokhi, Thubert does not teach wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to transmit the message from the controller to the plurality of event devices to transition to the alarm state in response to determining an emergency event is occurring.
Piccolo teaches wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to transmit the message from the controller to the plurality of event devices to transition to the alarm state in response to determining an emergency event is occurring([0022] “The system controller 14 may monitor the alarm condition detectors D. When an alarm condition is sensed, the system controller 14 may signal the alarm to the appropriate notification appliances A through the one or more appliance circuits. Notification devices may include, for example, a visual alarm (such as a strobe), an audible alarm (such as a horn or speaker”, [0027-28] “ As another example, a broadcast mass notification command may include a different code (such as a different series of “0” and “1”). the lookup table may correlate the different series of “0” and “1” with an internal code that the controller 26 recognizes as a mass notification command. In some embodiments, an indicator 34, such as a flashing LED, may be used as an output, for example during diagnostic testing, on the strobe device 30””)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Farrokhi, Thubert to incorporate the teachings of Piccolo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order in more effective alert system.
Regarding claim 8, Farrokhi teaches wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to transmit the synchronization message to cause the plurality of event devices to synchronize timing (col 7 lines 60 -col 8 lines 6 “The sync signal also defines the starting point of the first time slot TS0, followed by other time slots TS1, TS2, etc. at regular time intervals thereafter. A fixed or variable number of time slots, as may be specified in a data frame header fields, define a data frame used by the PLC nodes to transmit or receive data from the PLC power line. Once the sync signal indicates the start of the time slots and data frame, each PLC node can detect the sync signal and therefore the time of transmission for time slot TO, and thus, the time of subsequent time slots. This way each PLC node may transmit or receive data in its own designated time slot. Each PLC may place itself in a low-activity idle mode during other time slots which are not assigned to it” of their clock sources with a clock of the controller (col 6 lines 20-30 “These specific waveform points, such as the zero-crossing events act like embedded clock signals in the PLC system, which is visible to all PLC nodes connected to the power line. Using zero-crossing may remove the need of other external synchronization techniques, such as additional clock signals or frame sync signals, discussed below with respect to FIG. 4. Zero-crossing of the power line is detected by the zero-crossing detector 302, which may be coupled to the timing synchronizer module 304, (Examiner’s Note: the zero crossing detector acts act like a clock of the controller).
Regarding claim 9, Farrokhi teaches wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to: generate the predetermined TDM schedule (col 7 lines 60 -col 8 lines 6 “The sync signal also defines the starting point of the first time slot TS0, followed by other time slots TS1, TS2, etc. at regular time intervals thereafter. A fixed or variable number of time slots, as may be specified in a data frame header fields, define a data frame used by the PLC nodes to transmit or receive data from the PLC power line. Once the sync signal indicates the start of the time slots and data frame, each PLC node can detect the sync signal and therefore the time of transmission for time slot TO, and thus, the time of subsequent time slots. This way each PLC node may transmit or receive data in its own designated time slot. Each PLC may place itself in a low-activity idle mode during other time slots which are not assigned to it”); and transmit the predetermined TDM schedule to the plurality of event devices (col 4 lines 6-col 5 lines 5“ In some embodiments, time slots are assigned to each communication device 216A and 216B by the DCU after an initial discovery session during which each communication device sends or responds to discovery communication packets to make its presence on the PLC network known. After the time slot is assigned to each communication device, the devices communicate during their respective allotted time slots. In various embodiments, random time slots may be available to use by the devices during the discovery period, during normal communications, or both”).
Regarding claim 11, Farrokhi teaches wherein the predetermined TDM schedule (col 4 lines 6-col 5 lines 5“ In some embodiments, time slots are assigned to each communication device 216A and 216B by the DCU after an initial discovery session during which each communication device sends or responds to discovery communication packets to make its presence on the PLC network known. After the time slot is assigned to each communication device, the devices communicate during their respective allotted time slots. In various embodiments, random time slots may be available to use by the devices during the discovery period, during normal communications, or both”).
Farrokhi does is included in a table saved in the local memory at the event device.
Thubert teaches is included in a table saved in the local memory at the event device ([0059] “then regulated by a time schedule that specifies when this specific packet has to be transmitted to the wire or the radio and this continues for each node on the path. This specific time period is called a time slot. An external box (called orchestrator) usually does the computation of this path and the associated timetable. When the computation is done, the path and the time table is then pushed to every node participating in the forwarding, such that they can receive and transmit the packet according to the schedule”, [0108] “For instance, it is expressly contemplated that the components and/or elements described herein can be implemented as software being stored on a tangible (non-transitory) computer-readable medium (e.g., disks/CDs/RAM/EEPROM/etc.) having program instructions executing on a computer, hardware, firmware, or a combination thereof”));
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Farrokhi to incorporate the teachings of Thubert. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order in order to meet a defined time budget for a resultant time-synchronized path.
Regarding claim 12, Farrokhi teaches wherein: wherein the message includes an alarm state TDM schedule (Fig. 6A “Frame Sync Signal 604, “Data Channel 606”, “Data Resp 608” “col 8 lines 65-67 “ Time slots may include several types based on function or use including a data channel 606 for data transmission, a data response slot 608 for response to the data transmission received from channel 606”);
(Fig. 6A “Frame Sync Signal 604, “Data Channel 606”, “Data Resp 608” “col 8 lines 65-67 “ Time slots may include several types based on function or use including a data channel 606 for data transmission, a data response slot 608 for response to the data transmission received from channel 606”).
Farrokhi, Thubert does not teach and in response to receiving the message to transition to the alarm state, the processor is configured to execute the instructions to utilize the alarm state.
Piccolo teaches and in response to receiving the message to transition to the alarm state, the processor is configured to execute the instructions to utilize the alarm state ([0022] “The system controller 14 may monitor the alarm condition detectors D. When an alarm condition is sensed, the system controller 14 may signal the alarm to the appropriate notification appliances A through the one or more appliance circuits. Notification devices may include, for example, a visual alarm (such as a strobe), an audible alarm (such as a horn or speaker”, [0027-28] “ As another example, a broadcast mass notification command may include a different code (such as a different series of “0” and “1”). the lookup table may correlate the different series of “0” and “1” with an internal code that the controller 26 recognizes as a mass notification command. In some embodiments, an indicator 34, such as a flashing LED, may be used as an output, for example during diagnostic testing, on the strobe device 30””)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Farrokhi, Thubert to incorporate the teachings of Piccolo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order in more effective alert system.
Regarding claim 13, Farrokhi, Thubert does not teach wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to: receive audio data from the controller according to the alarm state TDM schedule; and broadcast the audio data via an audio output device of the event device.
Piccolo teaches wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to: receive audio data from the controller according to the alarm state TDM schedule; and broadcast the audio data via an audio output device of the event device ([0022] “The system controller 14 may monitor the alarm condition detectors D. When an alarm condition is sensed, the system controller 14 may signal the alarm to the appropriate notification appliances A through the one or more appliance circuits. Notification devices may include, for example, a visual alarm (such as a strobe), an audible alarm (such as a horn or speaker”, [0053] “ Examples of notification appliances include, but are not limited to strobes, horns, speakers, and the like”)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Farrokhi, Thubert to incorporate the teachings of Piccolo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order in more effective alert system.
Regarding claim 15, Farrokhi teaches wherein the processor is configured to receive the synchronization message in a first time slot defined by the predetermined TDM schedule (Fig. 6A “Frame Sync Signal 604, “Data Channel 606”, “Data Resp 608” “col 8 lines 65-67 “ Time slots may include several types based on function or use including a data channel 606 for data transmission, a data response slot 608 for response to the data transmission received from channel 606”)..
Regarding claim 16, Farrokhi teaches wherein the processor is configured to: receive the command from the controller in a second time slot defined by the predetermined TDM schedule; and transmit the response to the command in a third time slot defined by the predetermined TDM schedule (Fig. 6A “Frame Sync Signal 604, “Data Channel 606”, “Data Resp 608” “col 8 lines 65-67 “ Time slots may include several types based on function or use including a data channel 606 for data transmission, a data response slot 608 for response to the data transmission received from channel 606”)..
Regarding claim 19, Farrokhi teaches wherein the controller and the plurality of event devices are configured in a single-hop network configuration (Fig. 1B “ Powerline Configuration 150”, col 3 lines 35-45 “FIG. 1B shows an example Power Line Communication (PLC) arrangement, which may be a part of the example electrical grid of FIG. 1, having a power line coupled with multiple communication devices. In various embodiments, PLC system 150 includes power line 154 carrying AC current with a mains frequency 156 and a mains voltage 158. Multiple communication devices 152A-152N may be coupled with the power line 154 via communication links 162A-162N, respectively”).
Regarding claim 20, Farrokhi teaches wherein: the controller is configured to transmit the synchronization message and the plurality of event devices are each configured to receive the synchronization message in a first time slot defined by the predetermined TDM schedule; the controller is configured to transmit the command and the plurality of event devices are each configured to receive the command in a second time slot defined by the predetermined TDM schedule; andthe plurality of event devices are each configured to transmit the response to the command and the controller is configured to receive the responses to the command in a third time slot defined by the predetermined TDM schedule (Fig. 6A “Frame Sync Signal 604, “Data Channel 606”, “Data Resp 608” “col 8 lines 65-67 “ Time slots may include several types based on function or use including a data channel 606 for data transmission, a data response slot 608 for response to the data transmission received from channel 606”)..
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farrokhi in view of Thubert, further in view of Wetterwald (US20160020987).
Regarding claim 14, Farrokhi, Thubert does not teach wherein the processor is configured to synchronize the clock source by adjusting the clock source based on a latency in transmission of the synchronization message and a latency in receiving the synchronization message.
Wetterwald teaches wherein the processor is configured to synchronize the clock source by adjusting the clock source based on a latency in transmission of the synchronization message and a latency in receiving the synchronization message ([0063] “In general, the path metrics include data indicative of the time costs associated with transferring data along the various links of one or more routing paths. For example, the path metrics may include delay or latency information, [0054] “For example, the various devices may use the Precision Time Protocol (PTP), to synchronize the clocks of the various devices involved in the control loop. Any communication schedule distributed to the devices may be based on the common time reference”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Farrokhi, Thubert to incorporate the teachings of Wetterwald. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase efficiency of network.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Argument 1
Hence, the Kore reference appears to teach transmitting an alarm message from the
sensor devices to the control panel. However, the Kore reference does not teach transmitting an alarm message from the control panel to the sensor devices. That is, the Kore reference does not teach that the alarm message is transmitted to the sensor devices to transition the sensor devices
EVENT DEVICE SYSTEM OPERATION
to an alarm state. Rather, the Kore reference appears to teach that the alarm message is transmitted from the sensor devices.
Hence, the Farrokhi and Thubert references, alone or in combination with the Kore
reference, do not teach or suggest transmitting, to a plurality of event devices from a controller, or receiving, by an event device from a controller, a command that includes a message from the controller to the plurality of event devices to transition to an alarm state, as presently recited in independent claims 1, 10, and 17, as amended.
6 and 7
Examiner’s Response 1
Examiner respectfully disagrees. See update rejection. Reference Kore is no longer relied upon. Newly added reference Piccolo is added. See updated rejection.
Conclusion
/K.T.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411