DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendment filed 8/5/2026 has been entered and fully considered. Claims 1-17 are cancelled. Claims 18-35 are pending. Claims 27-35 are withdrawn. Claim 18 is amended. No new matter is added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the amendment expressly defines a relationship between the members of the pre-set duty-cycle group and the different sensed draws. The controller does not merely apply a waveform previously chosen by a user.
Examiner notes that the particulars of the amendment (e.g., “each of the pre-set duty cycle values corresponding to respective differing draw strengths”) was not previously presented, and will be addressed hereinafter.
Applicant traverses the election-by-original-presentation requirement outlined in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 5/15/2026. The Office Action identified no materially different apparatus by which the method of claim 18 may be practiced, no materially different process that the apparatus of claim 27 is configured to perform and no separate classification, field of search or other serious examination burden. Apparatus of claim 27 recites substantially the same control architecture as method of claim 18, including receipt of a draw sensor output, controller selection and control of a low-frequency periodic application of power. The corresponding dependent method and apparatus claims likewise recite substantially parallel limitations. Applicant notes that the traversal is not based on the grounds of obvious variants. Rather, the stated basis for the required – different statutory class- is insufficient under MPEP 806.05(e).
Examiner agrees with Applicant that the burden to restrict the inventions does not amount to an undue burden. The restriction requirement is lifted and claims 27-35 are examined herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI (US 2014/0334804) in view of ROBINSON et al. (US 2008/0092912).
With respect to claims 27 and 28, CHOI discloses an atomizing apparatus (Abstract; Title) comprising a controller (Paragraph [0046]), a power source (Paragraph [0046]; Figure 2A) and a pressure-sensitive switch (Paragraph [0075]) and a user input (Paragraph [0015]) for controlling the conditions of the device (Paragraph [0024]). The apparatus is operated by: receiving by the controller, a user’s input, the controller operates in a manual (Paragraphs [0084], [0085]) or automatic mode (Paragraph [0083], [0084]). Once the mode is selected, the controller selects from a plurality of voltage values (e.g., 5.1, 4.1 or 0) (Figures 4B, 5; Paragraphs [0080]-[0085], [0076], [0089], [0094], [0096]) to be supplied to the heater from a power source (BT) (Paragraphs [0093], [0071]). The power is then supplied to the heater from the power source is provided in a low-frequency, periodic application of pulsed power (Figures 6-8; Paragraphs [0088]-[0094]). As power is supplied, the voltage may deviate from the desired voltage, and so the controller controls the voltage supplied by using a voltage correcting unit (Paragraphs [0070]-[0074], [0080], [0093]). The apparatus comprises a heater arranged to receive power from the power source (Paragraphs [0013], [0065], [0067]).
CHOI also discloses that the controller switches, via switching device, between a first voltage V1 and a second voltage V2, lower than the first for a period of time (e.g., S1_t1/S2_t4) (e.g., duty cycle) (Paragraphs [0089]-[0094]). It is noted that the time of V1 is between 0.1 to 20 seconds and the time for V2 is between 0.5 and 2 seconds. Thus, as seen in figures 6 and 7, the duty cycle is represented by the total V1 (or 4.1 volts) time as compared to the total time of heating (e.g., S1_t1/S2_t4). The disclosed range of durations (See paragraphs [0091] and [0092]) represent the claimed pre-set duty cycle values). The selected duty cycle for a given amount of smoke represent the selected duty cycle.
CHOI does not explicitly disclose that the first voltage value/duty cycle is selected in response to a user input via a draw sensor of the vaporizer. ROBINSON et al. discloses an electronic cigarette (Abstract) that includes a puff activated controller adapted for regulating current flow through the heating elements during a draw. The controller comprising a sensor adapted for sensing a draw by the user (Paragraphs [0021], [0032], [0041], [0083]). The puff control mechanism completes the circuit that provides current to the heating element. That is, during periods of draw, the circuit provides the power to the heating element (Paragraph [0122]). For deeper or more rigorous puffs, a sensing of stronger draw (e.g, receiving by the controller and output signal from the draw sensor) can be used to provide for greater current flow to the heating element, and provide a greater aerosol generation (Paragraph [0126]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a puff (e.g., draw) sensor to the vaporizer of CHOI, as taught by ROBINSON et al., so that the circuit is only closed and the heater only heated during the draw by the user. Thus, preventing power from being wasted by heating the heater when not being inhaled from. The duty cycle is selected by the user by selecting the mode. Then the duty cycle is confirmed as selected by the inhale simply by closing the circuit to activate the heater.
With respect to claims 29 and 30¸ CHOI discloses that the duty cycle period is between 0.1 and 20 seconds (Paragraph [0091]).
With respect to claim 31, CHOI also discloses that the controller switches, via switching device, between a first voltage V1 and a second voltage V2, lower than the first for a period of time (e.g., S1_t1/S2_t4) (e.g., duty cycle) (Paragraphs [0089]-[0094]). It is noted that the time of V1 is between 0.1 to 20 seconds and the time for V2 is between 0.5 and 2 seconds. Thus, as seen in figures 6 and 7, the duty cycle is represented by the total V1 (or 4.1 volts) time as compared to the total time of heating (e.g., S1_t1/S2_t4). The disclosed range of durations (See paragraphs [0091] and [0092]) represent the claimed pre-set duty cycle values). The selected duty cycle for a given amount of smoke represent the selected duty cycle.
Once the mode is selected, the controller selects from a plurality of voltage values (e.g., 5.1, 4.1 or 0) (Figures 4B, 5; Paragraphs [0080]-[0085], [0076], [0089], [0094], [0096]) to be supplied to the heater from a power source (BT) (Paragraphs [0093], [0071]). The power is then supplied to the heater from the power source is provided in a low-frequency, periodic application of pulsed power (Figures 6-8; Paragraphs [0088]-[0094]). Thus, the single voltage supplied is the voltage supplied during an on period of duty cycle.
With respect to claim 23, CHOI also discloses that the controller switches, via switching device, between a first voltage V1 and a second voltage V2, lower than the first for a period of time (e.g., S1_t1/S2_t4) (e.g., duty cycle) (Paragraphs [0089]-[0094]). It is noted that the time of V1 is between 0.1 to 20 seconds and the time for V2 is between 0.5 and 2 seconds. Thus, as seen in figures 6 and 7, the duty cycle is represented by the total V1 (or 4.1 volts) time as compared to the total time of heating (e.g., S1_t1/S2_t4). The disclosed range of durations (See paragraphs [0091] and [0092]) represent the claimed pre-set duty cycle values). The selected duty cycle for a given amount of smoke represent the selected duty cycle.
Once the mode is selected, the controller selects from a plurality of voltage values (e.g., 5.1, 4.1 or 0) (Figures 4B, 5; Paragraphs [0080]-[0085], [0076], [0089], [0094], [0096]) to be supplied to the heater from a power source (BT) (Paragraphs [0093], [0071]). The power is then supplied to the heater from the power source is provided in a low-frequency, periodic application of pulsed power (Figures 6-8; Paragraphs [0088]-[0094]). Thus, the single voltage supplied is the voltage supplied during an on period of duty cycle.
ROBINSON et al. discloses an electronic cigarette (Abstract) that includes a puff activated controller adapted for regulating current flow through the heating elements during a draw. The controller comprising a sensor adapted for sensing a draw by the user (Paragraphs [0021], [0032], [0041], [0083]). The puff control mechanism completes the circuit that provides current to the heating element. That is, during periods of draw, the circuit provides the power to the heating element (Paragraph [0122]). For deeper or more rigorous puffs, a sensing of stronger draw (e.g, receiving by the controller and output signal from the draw sensor) can be used to provide for greater current flow to the heating element, and provide a greater aerosol generation (Paragraph [0126]).
With respect to claim 32, ROBINSON et al. discloses an electronic cigarette (Abstract) that includes a puff activated controller adapted for regulating current flow through the heating elements during a draw. The controller comprising a sensor adapted for sensing a draw by the user (Paragraphs [0021], [0032], [0041], [0083]). The puff control mechanism completes the circuit that provides current to the heating element. That is, during periods of draw, the circuit provides the power to the heating element (Paragraph [0122]). For deeper or more rigorous puffs, a sensing of stronger draw (e.g, receiving by the controller and output signal from the draw sensor) can be used to provide for greater current flow to the heating element, and provide a greater aerosol generation (Paragraph [0126]). Given that a greater amount of aerosol is provided by increasing duty cycle (See [0089]-[0094] of CHOI), it would have been obvious to increase the second duty cycle for more smoke upon sensing greater user draw.
With respect to claim 33¸ ROBINSON et al. discloses an electronic cigarette (Abstract) that includes a puff activated controller adapted for regulating current flow through the heating elements during a draw. The controller comprising a sensor adapted for sensing a draw by the user (Paragraphs [0021], [0032], [0041], [0083]). The puff control mechanism completes the circuit that provides current to the heating element. That is, during periods of draw, the circuit provides the power to the heating element (Paragraph [0122]). For deeper or more rigorous puffs, a sensing of stronger draw (e.g, receiving by the controller and output signal from the draw sensor) can be used to provide for greater current flow to the heating element, and provide a greater aerosol generation (Paragraph [0126]). Given that a greater amount of aerosol is provided by increasing duty cycle (See [0089]-[0094] of CHOI), it would have been obvious to increase the second duty cycle for greater smoke upon sensing less user draw.
With respect to claim 34, ROBINSON et al. discloses an electronic cigarette (Abstract) that includes a puff activated controller adapted for regulating current flow through the heating elements during a draw. The controller comprising a sensor adapted for sensing a draw by the user (Paragraphs [0021], [0032], [0041], [0083]). The puff control mechanism completes the circuit that provides current to the heating element. That is, during periods of draw, the circuit provides the power to the heating element (Paragraph [0122]). For deeper or more rigorous puffs, a sensing of stronger draw (e.g, receiving by the controller and output signal from the draw sensor) can be used to provide for greater current flow to the heating element, and provide a greater aerosol generation (Paragraph [0126]). Also, the control can be provided for shallow drawings as well. Given that a greater amount of aerosol is provided by increasing/decreasing duty cycle (See [0089]-[0094] of CHOI), it would have been obvious to decrease the second duty cycle for less smoke upon sensing less user draw.
With respect to claim 35¸ CHOI discloses that a button, 75, is pressed (e.g., response to an activation button) to select a voltage (based on selecting a manual operation of the device) (Paragraphs [0070]-[0074], [0080], [0093]) so that the controller sets the voltage to 4.1 volts (Paragraph [0085])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-26 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
CHOI discloses an atomizing apparatus (Abstract; Title) comprising a controller (Paragraph [0046]), a power source (Paragraph [0046]; Figure 2A) and a pressure-sensitive switch (Paragraph [0075]) and a user input (Paragraph [0015]) for controlling the conditions of the device (Paragraph [0024]). The apparatus is operated by: receiving by the controller, a user’s input, the controller operates in a manual (Paragraphs [0084], [0085]) or automatic mode (Paragraph [0083], [0084]). Once the mode is selected, the controller selects from a plurality of voltage values (e.g., 5.1, 4.1 or 0) (Figures 4B, 5; Paragraphs [0080]-[0085], [0076], [0089], [0094], [0096]) to be supplied to the heater from a power source (BT) (Paragraphs [0093], [0071]). The power is then supplied to the heater from the power source is provided in a low-frequency, periodic application of pulsed power (Figures 6-8; Paragraphs [0088]-[0094]). As power is supplied, the voltage may deviate from the desired voltage, and so the controller controls the voltage supplied by using a voltage correcting unit (Paragraphs [0070]-[0074], [0080], [0093]).
CHOI also discloses that the controller switches, via switching device, between a first voltage V1 and a second voltage V2, lower than the first for a period of time (e.g., S1_t1/S2_t4) (e.g., duty cycle) (Paragraphs [0089]-[0094]). It is noted that the time of V1 is between 0.1 to 20 seconds and the time for V2 is between 0.5 and 2 seconds. Thus, as seen in figures 6 and 7, the duty cycle is represented by the total V1 (or 4.1 volts) time as compared to the total time of heating (e.g., S1_t1/S2_t4). The disclosed range of durations (See paragraphs [0091] and [0092]) represent the claimed pre-set duty cycle values). The selected duty cycle for a given amount of smoke represent the selected duty cycle.
ROBINSON et al. discloses an electronic cigarette (Abstract) that includes a puff activated controller adapted for regulating current flow through the heating elements during a draw. The controller comprising a sensor adapted for sensing a draw by the user (Paragraphs [0021], [0032], [0041], [0083]). The puff control mechanism completes the circuit that provides current to the heating element. That is, during periods of draw, the circuit provides the power to the heating element (Paragraph [0122]). For deeper or more rigorous puffs, a sensing of stronger draw (e.g, receiving by the controller and output signal from the draw sensor) can be used to provide for greater current flow to the heating element, and provide a greater aerosol generation (Paragraph [0126]).
However, ROBINSON et al. does not explicitly disclose a pre-set duty cycle for each draw strength measured by the sensor, per se.
RABINOWITZ et al. ( US 2014/0345635) discloses an aerosol delivery device and method for controlling said device (Abstract; Title; Paragraph [0016]). The device can operate in at least two different operating modes (Paragraphs [0014]-[0016]). The selection between the modes is based on a pressure difference detected by a sensor (Paragraphs [0016], [0096]-[0098]). Specifically, the sensor measures the extent of the user inhalation (e.g., pressure drop). The pressure drop is a measure of the draw strength (Paragraph [0078], [0083]] and [0085]). It is further noted that the extent of heating is adjusted based on the extent of usage (Paragraph [0080]) and the temperature is adjusted by adjusting the current (Paragraph [0079]).
Thus, when considering CHOI, ROBINSON et al. and RABINOWITZ et al., the art appears to teach a controller that adjusts the duty cycle of the heater (See CHOI) and a pressure sensor that can detect the draw strength of the user (See ROBINSON et al. and RABINOWITZ et al.) to adjust the temperature of the heater.
However, none of the cited art switches the duty cycle based on the sensed draw strength, per se. At best, the voltage or current is adjusted based on draw strength to adjust the temperature of the heater.
Conclusion
/ALEX B EFTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745