DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication dated February 24, 2026, claims 1-14 and 16-17 are pending. Claims 1, 3, 9 and 16 are amended, claim 17 are newly added and claim 15 is presently cancelled. Although the language of claim 15 was integrated into claim 1, the amended claim language of “on the temperature provided by the temperature sensing unit” and “wherein the power assembly is separate from the control assembly” required a new grounds of rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Remarks, filed February 24, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-14 and 16 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sagneri et al. US20140268564A1, as detailed in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sagneri et al. US20140268564A1 in view of Cruz et al. US20160204626A1.
Regarding claim 1. Sagneri discloses a charging apparatus (1), comprising:
a housing (100) adapted to be mounted in a wall (¶35);
a power assembly (FIG. 8 - AC to DC converter 402) arranged within the housing (100) and configured to supply output power to a device to be charged from a power source (¶36 – adapter 1 having a cord with a connector 106 that connects to a consumer electronic device), wherein the power assembly comprises at least one switching device (¶30 – power conversion electronics utilizes a switched mode power converter thus including a switching device);
a temperature sensing unit (406) configured to sense a temperature inside the housing (¶40 – temperature sensor senses the internal temperature of the power adapter);
a control assembly (404) arranged within the housing (100) (FIG. 3 and FIG. 8) and coupled to the power assembly (402) and the temperature sensing unit (FIG. 8 at 406 – controller connected to the converter 402 and the temperature sensor). the control assembly being configured to control, based on temperature information from the temperature sensing unit, the at least one switching device of the power assembly (¶30 – power conversion electronics utilizes a switched mode power converter thus including a switching device) to change the output power from a first output power to a lower non-zero output power (¶75 controller controls the operation of the converter 302 and reduce power delivered when temperature exceeds a threshold), thereby suppressing a rise of the temperature inside the housing (¶75 – controls the temperature when over a threshold);
the power assembly comprises a direct current (DC)-DC conversion circuit (¶74 – AC to DC converter 402 includes a rectifier followed by a DC/DC converter), wherein the at least one switching device is part of the DC-DC conversion circuit (¶74 – operates at a high switching frequency),
wherein the power assembly (402) is separate from the control assembly (404) (FIG. 8).
Sagneri does not explicitly teach wherein the control assembly comprises a processing unit configured to provide a PWM signal to the at least one switching device based, at least in part, on the temperature provided by the temperature sensing unit;
Cruz discloses wherein the control assembly (122’) comprises a processing unit (¶39 – current controller 122’ receives information and sends current signals thus having a processing function) configured to provide a PWM signal (¶44) to the at least one switching device (138’) based, at least in part, on the temperature provided by the temperature sensing unit (¶44 – controller includes a pulse width modulation circuit that provided to the input of a current control switch; temperature monitoring circuit 128’ generates and outputs signal to the control circuit 130’).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the control and monitoring according to the temperature, as taught by Cruz, in order to prevent overheating and potential damage to the charging unit of Sagneri.
Regarding claim 2 and claim 10. Sagneri discloses the temperature sensing unit (406) is arranged proximate to the control assembly (FIG. 8 illustrates each within the same circuitry), to sense a temperature of the control assembly (¶40 – current sensor senses the internal temperature of the power adapter, thus, including the control controller).
Regarding claim 4. Sagneri discloses the control assembly (404) is configured to:
Transmit a signal to the power assembly in response to the temperature information indicating a temperate above a first threshold (¶75 – temperature exceeds a threshold), transmitting by the control assembly a signal to the power assembly (controller 404 controls the converter as a result of the signal), to change the output power of the power assembly from a first power to a second power, the second power being lower than the first power (the amount of power is reduced thus lowering from a first power to a second power that is less than the first) (¶75).
Regarding claim 5. Sagnari does not explicitly disclose that the control assembly is configured to transmit a signal to the power assembly in response to the temperature information indicating a temperature below a second threshold, to change output power of the power assembly from the second power to the first power, the second threshold being lower than the first threshold.
Cruz discloses that the control assembly (122’) is configured to transmit a signal (FIG. 2 - current control signal) to the power assembly (power supply 120’) in response to the temperature information indicating a temperature below a second threshold (a low temperature), to change output power of the power assembly from the second power to the first power (¶45 – current control switch outputs a high current mode current control signal which changes the power), the second threshold being lower than the first threshold (¶44/45 - Because power is proportional to the current, it follows that if the current is raised, the power is likewise increased).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the control and monitoring according to the temperature, as taught by Cruz, in order to prevent overheating and potential damage to the charging unit of Sagnari.
Regarding claim 6. Sagnari discloses a USB output port coupled to the power assembly to supply the output power to the device to be charged (¶84 – DC output connection ports may be USB ports)
Regarding claim 9. Sagneri discloses a charging method, comprising:
providing, by a power assembly (FIG. 8 - AC to DC converter 402), an output power from a power source to a device to be charged (¶36 – adapter 1 having a cord with a connector 106 that connects to a consumer electronic device), wherein the power assembly is arranged within a housing (100) that is adapted to be mounted in a wall (FIG. 1 includes a plug section 102 that is inserted into a wall outlet) and the power assembly comprises at least one switching device (¶330 – power conversion electronics utilizes a switched mode power converter thus including a switching device);
sensing, by a temperature sensing unit (406), a temperature inside the housing, wherein the temperature sensing unit is arranged within the housing (¶40 – temperature sensor senses the internal temperature of the power adapter);
controlling, by a control assembly( 404) the at least one switching device of the power assembly (¶30 – power conversion electronics utilizes a switched mode power converter thus including a switching device) based on temperature information from the temperature sensing unit to change the output power (¶75 controller controls the operation of the converter 302 and reduce power delivered when temperature exceeds a threshold), thereby suppressing a rise of the temperature inside the housing (¶75 – controls the temperature when over a threshold).
the power assembly comprises a direct current (DC)-DC conversion circuit (¶74 – AC to DC converter 402 includes a rectifier followed by a DC/DC converter), wherein the at least one switching device is part of the DC-DC conversion circuit (¶74 – operates at a high switching frequency),
wherein the power assembly (402) is separate from the control assembly (404) (FIG. 8).
Sagneri does not explicitly teach wherein the control assembly comprises a processing unit configured to provide a PWM signal to the at least one switching device based, at least in part, on the temperature provided by the temperature sensing unit.
Cruz discloses wherein the control assembly (122’) comprises a processing unit (¶39 – current controller 122’ receives information and sends current signals thus having a processing function) configured to provide a PWM signal (¶44) to the at least one switching device (138’) based, at least in part, on the temperature provided by the temperature sensing unit (¶44 – controller includes a pulse width modulation circuit that provided to the input of a current control switch; temperature monitoring circuit 128’ generates and outputs signal to the control circuit 130’).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the control and monitoring according to the temperature, as taught by Cruz, in order to prevent overheating and potential damage to the charging unit of Yilmaz.
Regarding claim 11. Sagneri disclose that the control assembly (404) comprises a processing unit (¶75 controller receives and send signals, thus including a processor).
the temperature sensing unit (406) is arranged proximate to at least one of the switching device and the processing unit (FIG. 8 illustrates each within the same circuitry), to sense a temperature of at least one of the switching device and the processing unit (¶40 – current sensor senses the internal temperature of the power adapter, thus, including the processor included with the control controller and the switching within the converter).
Regarding claim 12. Sagneri discloses controlling, by the control assembly (404), the power assembly based on the temperature information from the temperature sensing unit (¶75 – signal from temperature sensor 406) to change the output power comprises:
in response to the temperature information indicating a temperate above a first threshold (¶75 – temperature exceeds a threshold), transmitting by the control assembly a signal to the power assembly (controller 404 controls the converter as a result of the signal), to change the output power of the power assembly from a first power to a second power, the second power being lower than the first power (the amount of power is reduced thus lowering from a first power to a second power that is less than the first) (¶75).
Regarding claim 13. Sagnari does not explicitly disclose controlling, by the control assembly, the power assembly based on the temperature information from the temperature sensing unit to change the output power further comprises: in response to the temperature information indicating a temperature below a second threshold, transmitting by the control assembly a signal to the power assembly, to change the output power of the power assembly from the second power to the first power, the second threshold being lower than the first threshold.
Cruz discloses that controlling, by the control assembly, the power assembly based on the temperature information from the temperature sensing unit to change the output power further comprises:
in response to the temperature information indicating a temperature below a second threshold (a low temperature), transmitting by the control assembly a signal to the power assembly, to change the output power of the power assembly from the second power to the first power (¶45 – current control switch outputs a high current mode current control signal which changes the power), the second threshold being lower than the first threshold (¶44/45 - Because power is proportional to the current, it follows that if the current is raised, the power is likewise increased).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the control and monitoring according to the temperature, as taught by Cruz, in order to prevent overheating and potential damage to the charging unit of Sagnari.
Claims 3 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sagneri et al. US20140268564A1 in view of Cruz et al. US20160204626A1 and further in view of Pinnell et al. US20080238362A1.
Regarding claim 3. Sagneri disclose that the control assembly (404) comprises a processing unit (¶75 controller receives and send signals, thus including a processor).
the temperature sensing unit (406) indirectly determines both the temperature of the switching device and the temperature of the charging apparatus (¶40 – temperature sensor senses the internal temperature of the power adapter, thus, indirectly measuring the temperature of each component located within the adapter).
Although Sagneri discloses a temperature sensor that measures the temperature proximate to the controller, Sagneri does not discloses a system where the temperature sensing unit senses a temperature of the processing unit.
Pinnell discloses that the temperature sensing unit senses a temperature of the processing unit (¶41 – a controller has a temperature sensor to measure the circuit board temperature).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange the temperature sensor of Pinnell with the controller of Sagneri in order to prevent overheating of the circuit board causing a fault condition (Pinnell, ¶41).
Regarding claim 16. Sagneri disclose the temperature sensing unit (406) measures the temperature which indirectly determines both the temperature of the switching device and the temperature of the charging apparatus (¶40 – temperature sensor senses the internal temperature of the power adapter, thus, indirectly measuring the temperature of each component located within the adapter).
Although Sagneri discloses a temperature sensor that measures the temperature proximate to the controller, Sagneri does not discloses a system where the temperature sensing unit senses a temperature of the processing unit.
Pinnell discloses that the temperature sensing unit senses a temperature of the processing unit (¶41 – a controller has a temperature sensor to measure the circuit board temperature).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange the temperature sensor of Pinnell with the controller of Sagneri in order to prevent overheating of the circuit board causing a fault condition (Pinnell, ¶41).
Regarding claim 17. Sagneri does not explicitly disclose that the temperature sensing unit is arranged closer to the processing unit than to the power assembly.
Pinnell discloses that the temperature sensing unit is arranged closer to the processing unit than to the power assembly (¶41 – a controller has a temperature sensor to measure the circuit board temperature).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange the temperature sensor of Pinnell with the controller of Sagneri in order to prevent overheating of the circuit board causing a fault condition (Pinnell, ¶41).
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sagneri et al. US20140268564A1 in view of Cruz et al. US20160204626A1 in further view of Abe US20120019200A1.
Regarding claim 7. Sagneri does not explicitly disclose further comprising a voltage and current sensing unit coupled to the power assembly to sense voltages and currents in the power assembly; and wherein the control assembly is further configured to: control the power assembly based on voltage and current information from the voltage and current sensing unit and demand information related to charging requirements of the device to be charged .
a voltage (303) and current (302) sensing unit coupled to the power assembly (202) to sense voltages and currents in the power assembly (202) (¶23); and
wherein the control assembly (305) is further configured to:
control the power assembly (Vin) based on voltage and current information from the voltage and current sensing unit (FIG. 3; ¶25 – control unit 305 determines whether the battery is in a normal state or whether a charging sop signal should be sent) and demand information related to charging requirements of the device to be charged (FIG. 3; ¶25 – control unit 305 receives information from battery microcomputer)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the control and monitoring as taught by Abe to the system of Sagneri in order to prevent abnormal charging which could cause damage to the system (Abe; ¶25).
Regarding claim 14. Sagnari discloses a USB output port (116), the USB port is coupled to the power assembly to supply the output power to the device to be charged (¶84 – DC output connection ports may be USB ports).
Yilmaz does not explicitly disclose controlling, by the control assembly, the power assembly based on voltage and current information from a voltage and current sensing unit and demand information related to charging requirements of the device to be charged from an output port, wherein the voltage and current sensing unit is coupled to the power assembly to sense voltages and currents in the power assembly.
Abe discloses controlling, by the control assembly (305), the power assembly (Vin) based on voltage and current information from the voltage (303) and current sensing unit (302) (FIG. 3; ¶25 – control unit 305 determines whether the battery is in a normal state or whether a charging sop signal should be sent) and demand information related to charging requirements of the device to be charged (FIG. 3; ¶25 – control unit 305 receives information from battery microcomputer) from an output port (¶21 – information output from the control unit 107 of the device to be charged to the charger 200), wherein the voltage and current sensing unit is coupled to the power assembly to sense voltages and currents in the power assembly (202) (¶23).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the control and monitoring as taught by Abe to the system of Sagneri in order to prevent abnormal charging which could cause damage to the system (Abe; ¶25).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sagneri et al. US20140268564A1 in view of Cruz et al. US20160204626A1 and Abe US20120019200A1 and in further view of Nguyen US20170126039A1.
Regarding claim 8. Sagneri does not explicitly teach that a first controller coupled to a switching device of the power assembly and the voltage and current sensing unit, and configured to control ON and OFF of the switching device based on the voltage and current information from the voltage and current sensing unit; and a second controller coupled to the temperature sensing unit, the USB output port, and the first controller, and configured to provide a command signal to the first controller based on the temperature information from the temperature sensing unit and the demand information from the USB output port, so as to enable the first controller to control ON and OFF of the switching device further based on the command signal.
Nguyen discloses a first controller (122/222) coupled to a switching device (230) of the power assembly (214/230) and the voltage and current sensing unit (¶20 – controller 222 monitors Ibatt; ¶21 – monitors Vbatt), and configured to control ON and OFF of the switching device based on the voltage and current information from the voltage and current sensing unit (¶21 – charge controller sends command to shut off FET 230)
second controller (110) coupled to the temperature sensing unit (within controller 122), the USB output port (102), and the first controller (122/222), and configured to provide a command signal (information about the USB type-c power adapter 102 is sent to the charger controller 122 -¶12) to the first controller (122) based on the temperature information from the temperature sensing unit (current operating temperature information provided to consumer controller 110 - ¶12) and the demand information from the USB output port (¶13- preferred voltage range and an indication of whether the battery is nearly completely charged), so as to enable the first controller to control ON and OFF of the switching device further based on the command signal (¶14 – charge controller 122 may cease charging of the battery upon detection of a fully charged battery or that the temperature has exceeded a maximum safe operating temperature).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the controller communication of Nguyen to the system of Sagneri in order to improve or reduce thermal constraints to receive power at a higher rate thus completing charging faster (Nguyen; ¶8).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hong US20140132204A1 discloses a controller that tracks current and voltage.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859