DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination (RCE) under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 01/14/2026 has been entered.
Status of the Claims
Applicant filed an RCE on 01/14/2026. Claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 11, 13, 14, and 17 were amended. Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-15, 17-18 and 20 are presently pending examination.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the claim rejections under 35 USC 101: Applicant's arguments filed Status 01/14/2026 have been fully considered and they are persuasive. The previously given claim rejections under 35 USC 101 are withdrawn.
Regarding the claim rejections under 35 USC 103: Applicant's arguments filed 01/14/2026 with respect to Jung et al. (US 20160132378 A1) in view of Wright (US 20130302758 A1) and in further view of Hodges et al. (US 10643477 B2), have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-15, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 20160132378 A1) in view of Hodges et al. (US 20170140652 A1) and in further view of Plante (US 9,226,004 B1), hereinafter referred to as Jung, Hodges and Plante respectively.
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 14, Jung discloses a memory controller connected to a vehicle and for controlling a memory device including a plurality of memory blocks, the memory controller comprising: ([¶ 0033]: “The watchdog controller 100 may include a memory 10, a microprocessor 20 and a watchdog device 30. The memory 10 may be configured to store watchdog reset information. […] The memory 10 may be a non-volatile memory (e.g., a flash read only memory (ROM), an electrically erasable programmable read only memory (EEPROM), or the like).” (Vehicle controller context in [¶ 0006]–[0007].)
a timer turned on from a time point at which the sensing value moves outside of a normal range; ( [¶ 0036]: “the microprocessor 20 may be configured to detect whether a fault occurs by verifying whether the watchdog count exceeds (e.g., is greater than) a predetermined watchdog count clear level.” (Watchdog timer activates on anomaly/fault outside normal range; see also [¶ 0005] and [¶ 0043].)
Jung does not explicitly teach a sensor configured to output a sensing value measured based on movement of the vehicle; wherein the log information includes a command received from a host device installed on the vehicle, wherein the sensor provides different levels of alerts to the host device based on a comparison between a plurality of reference values and a degree to which the sensing value deviates from the normal range, and wherein the sensor provides the host device with: a first an-alert indicating that a tilt occurs depending on difference between air pressures of respective tires of the vehicle when the degree is equal to or greater than a first reference value and less than a second reference value; a second an-alert indicating that the vehicle is making an abrupt turn at an excessive speed when the degree is equal to or greater than the second reference value and less than a third reference value; and a third an-alert indicating that the vehicle has overturned when the degree is equal to or greater than the third reference value and less than a fourth reference value.
However, Hodges does teach a sensor configured to output a sensing value measured based on movement of the vehicle; ([¶ 0029]: “the vehicle data collected by the onboard vehicle analysis module 160 B can also include sensor data obtained from other sensors in the vehicle, such as tire pressure sensors, accelerometers, gyroscopes, temperature sensors…” (See also [¶ 0039]: “An accelerometer can detect hard braking, cornering, and acceleration.”)
wherein the log information includes a command received from a host device installed on the vehicle, ([¶ 0029]: “The vehicle data collected by the onboard vehicle analysis module 160 B can include vehicle condition information and engine data, such as […] check engine lights, fault codes, DTC codes, engine events […] collected from the engine computer.” (Host/ECU/OBD commands and status.)
wherein the sensor provides different levels of alerts to the host device based on a comparison between a plurality of reference values and a degree to which the sensing value deviates from the normal range, and wherein the sensor provides the host device with: a first an-alert indicating that a tilt occurs depending on difference between air pressures of respective tires of the vehicle when the degree is equal to or greater than a first reference value and less than a second reference value; a second an-alert indicating that the vehicle is making an abrupt turn at an excessive speed when the degree is equal to or greater than the second reference value and less than a third reference value; and a third an-alert indicating that the vehicle has overturned when the degree is equal to or greater than the third reference value and less than a fourth reference value, ([¶ 0050]: “the driver alerting module 170 can alert when a driver exceeds a certain acceleration or deceleration limit (for example, more than ±5 miles per hours in one second or ±10 miles per hours in one second) when a vehicle is traveling less than one threshold speed (for example, 20 miles per hour) or greater than another threshold speed (for example, 60 miles per hour).” (See also [¶ 0035], [¶ 0060]–[¶ 0062] for tiered thresholds on hard cornering, excessive speed, tire pressure, pitch/yaw/near-rollover/tilt.). Both Jung and Hodges teach methods managing storage devices and collection of event data. However, Hodges explicitly teaches a sensor configured to output a sensing value measured based on movement of the vehicle; wherein the log information includes a command received from a host device installed on the vehicle, wherein the sensor provides different levels of alerts to the host device based on a comparison between a plurality of reference values and a degree to which the sensing value deviates from the normal range, and wherein the sensor provides the host device with: a first an-alert indicating that a tilt occurs depending on difference between air pressures of respective tires of the vehicle when the degree is equal to or greater than a first reference value and less than a second reference value; a second an-alert indicating that the vehicle is making an abrupt turn at an excessive speed when the degree is equal to or greater than the second reference value and less than a third reference value; and a third an-alert indicating that the vehicle has overturned when the degree is equal to or greater than the third reference value and less than a fourth reference value.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage device control method of Jung to also include a sensor configured to output a sensing value measured based on movement of the vehicle; wherein the log information includes a command received from a host device installed on the vehicle, wherein the sensor provides different levels of alerts to the host device based on a comparison between a plurality of reference values and a degree to which the sensing value deviates from the normal range, and wherein the sensor provides the host device with: a first an-alert indicating that a tilt occurs depending on difference between air pressures of respective tires of the vehicle when the degree is equal to or greater than a first reference value and less than a second reference value; a second an-alert indicating that the vehicle is making an abrupt turn at an excessive speed when the degree is equal to or greater than the second reference value and less than a third reference value; and a third an-alert indicating that the vehicle has overturned when the degree is equal to or greater than the third reference value and less than a fourth reference value, as in Hodges with a great degree of success. Doing so improves efficiency of memory space usage and data selection. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Hodges, 0050 and [¶ 0035], [¶ 0060]–[¶ 0062]).
Jung does not explicitly teach a write controller configured to open a memory block selected from among the plurality of memory blocks at a first time point which the timer is turned on, store log information buffered in the memory controller into a selected memory block while the timer remains turned on, and close the selected memory block at a second time point selected from among the plurality of memory blocks, the log information being obtained from a time point at which the timer is turned on to a time point at which the timer is turned off,
wherein a sensor status signal is provided to the timer indicating whether the sensing value during one of the first, second, and third alerts is outside of the normal range, and when the sensing value is outside of the normal range, the timer is turned on in response to the sensor status signal, and the log information is stored from the first time point at which the sensing value moves outside of the normal range.
However, Plante does teach a write controller configured to open a memory block selected from among the plurality of memory blocks at a first time point which the timer is turned on, store log information buffered in the memory controller into a selected memory block while the timer remains turned on, and close the selected memory block at a second time point selected from among the plurality of memory blocks, the log information being obtained from a time point at which the timer is turned on to a time point at which the timer is turned off, ([col. 7, ll. 60–65 and col. 8, ll. 1–10]: “At this point in time, no new frames are recorded to memory; overwrite is prevented, and the memory buffer is ‘locked’. […] After data is successfully transferred to the flash memory, the buffer is ‘unlocked’” and “responsive to detecting the given vehicle event, transfer the frames of visual information stored in the buffer memory to the long term storage memory.” (Bins = selected blocks; see also [col. 5–6, ll. 50–67; col. 9–11] for block/bin selection and management.).
wherein a sensor status signal is provided to the timer indicating whether the sensing value during one of the first, second, and third alerts is outside of the normal range, and when the sensing value is outside of the normal range, the timer is turned on in response to the sensor status signal, and the log information is stored from the first time point at which the sensing value moves outside of the normal range. ([col. 12, ll. 41–47]: “A trigger may be an accelerometer operable for detecting abrupt changes in speed […] Triggers may be activated by other events such as heavy braking or swerving maneuvers […] [Col 5 ln 58-60]: “When a trigger event occurs, data in memory is transferred from the memory buffer to a memory of more permanent nature.” (Sensor status signals trigger the event window.). Both Jung and Plante teach methods managing storage devices and collection of event data. However, Plante explicitly teaches a write controller configured to open a memory block selected from among the plurality of memory blocks at a first time point which the timer is turned on, store log information buffered in the memory controller into a selected memory block while the timer remains turned on, and close the selected memory block at a second time point selected from among the plurality of memory blocks, the log information being obtained from a time point at which the timer is turned on to a time point at which the timer is turned off, wherein a sensor status signal is provided to the timer indicating whether the sensing value during one of the first, second, and third alerts is outside of the normal range, and when the sensing value is outside of the normal range, the timer is turned on in response to the sensor status signal, and the log information is stored from the first time point at which the sensing value moves outside of the normal range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage device control method of Jung to also include a write controller configured to open a memory block selected from among the plurality of memory blocks at a first time point which the timer is turned on, store log information buffered in the memory controller into a selected memory block while the timer remains turned on, and close the selected memory block at a second time point selected from among the plurality of memory blocks, the log information being obtained from a time point at which the timer is turned on to a time point at which the timer is turned off, wherein a sensor status signal is provided to the timer indicating whether the sensing value during one of the first, second, and third alerts is outside of the normal range, and when the sensing value is outside of the normal range, the timer is turned on in response to the sensor status signal, and the log information is stored from the first time point at which the sensing value moves outside of the normal range, as in Plante with a great degree of success. Doing so improves efficiency of memory space usage and data selection. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Plante, col. 12, ll. 41–47 and Col 5 ln 58-60]).
Regarding claims 2 and 15,
Jung does not explicitly teach wherein the timer is turned off when a preset time has elapsed since the time point at which the sensing value moved outside of the normal range, or when the sensing value returns to the normal range.
However, Plante does teach wherein the timer is turned off when a preset time has elapsed since the time point at which the sensing value moved outside of the normal range, or when the sensing value returns to the normal range. ([col. 7, ll. 62–68 and col. 8, ll. 5–12]: “After data is successfully transferred to the flash memory, the buffer is ‘unlocked’” (timer/event window ends after preset transfer period or return to normal operation; see also trigger logic in [col. 12]). Both Jung and Plante teach methods managing storage devices and collection of event data. However, Plante explicitly teaches wherein the timer is turned off when a preset time has elapsed since the time point at which the sensing value moved outside of the normal range, or when the sensing value returns to the normal range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage device control method of Jung to also include wherein the timer is turned off when a preset time has elapsed since the time point at which the sensing value moved outside of the normal range, or when the sensing value returns to the normal range, as in Plante with a great degree of success. Doing so improves efficiency of memory space usage and data selection. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Plante, col. 7, ll. 62–68 and col. 8, ll. 5–12]).
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 17,
Jung does not explicitly teach wherein the log information further includes at least one of input/output request included in the command, and response exchanged with the host device, the alerts provided to the host device, interrupt information of the memory controller, running information of the vehicle, the sensing value, and the turn-on and turn-off time points of the timer.
However, Hodges does teach wherein the log information further includes at least one of input/output request included in the command, and response exchanged with the host device, the alerts provided to the host device, interrupt information of the memory controller, running information of the vehicle, the sensing value, and the turn-on and turn-off time points of the timer. ([¶ 0029 and ¶ 0040]: “The vehicle data collected […] can include […] check engine lights, fault codes, DTC codes, engine events […] collected from the engine computer” and “the gateway module 205 can be coupled to an OBDII or CAN bus in the vehicle to thereby receive in-vehicle sensor information from the engine computer.” (Includes I/O/status/responses, alerts, interrupts, running info, sensing value, and event timing.). Both Jung and Hodges teach methods managing storage devices and collection of event data. However, Hodges explicitly teaches wherein the log information further includes at least one of input/output request included in the command, and response exchanged with the host device, the alerts provided to the host device, interrupt information of the memory controller, running information of the vehicle, the sensing value, and the turn-on and turn-off time points of the timer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage device control method of Jung to also include wherein the log information further includes at least one of input/output request included in the command, and response exchanged with the host device, the alerts provided to the host device, interrupt information of the memory controller, running information of the vehicle, the sensing value, and the turn-on and turn-off time points of the timer, as in Hodges with a great degree of success. Doing so improves efficiency of memory space usage and data selection. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Hodges, 0029 and ¶ 0040]).
Regarding claim 5,
Jung does not explicitly teach wherein the sensor comprises at least one of a gyroscope sensor and an acceleration sensor.
However, Hodges does teach wherein the sensor comprises at least one of a gyroscope sensor and an acceleration sensor. ([¶ 0029]: “sensor data obtained from other sensors in the vehicle, such as tire pressure sensors, accelerometers, gyroscopes…”). Both Jung and Hodges teach methods managing storage devices and collection of event data. However, Hodges explicitly teaches wherein the sensor comprises at least one of a gyroscope sensor and an acceleration sensor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage device control method of Jung to also include wherein the sensor comprises at least one of a gyroscope sensor and an acceleration sensor, as in Hodges with a great degree of success. Doing so improves efficiency of memory space usage and data selection. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Hodges, 0029]).
Regarding claims 6, 12 and 18,
Jung does not explicitly teach wherein the sensing value includes at least one of a tilt value of the vehicle and a variation value in the tilt value.
However, Hodges does teach wherein the sensing value includes at least one of a tilt value of the vehicle and a variation value in the tilt value. ([¶ 0060]: “the vehicle data can include data regarding […] pitch/yaw, and routes associated with a vehicle.” (Tilt/variation via pitch/yaw sensing.). Both Jung and Hodges teach methods managing storage devices and collection of event data. However, Hodges explicitly teaches wherein the sensing value includes at least one of a tilt value of the vehicle and a variation value in the tilt value.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage device control method of Jung to also include wherein the sensing value includes at least one of a tilt value of the vehicle and a variation value in the tilt value, as in Hodges with a great degree of success. Doing so improves efficiency of memory space usage and data selection. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Hodges, 0060]).
Regarding claim 8,
Jung does not explicitly teach wherein the write controller is further configured to perform a garbage collection operation on target blocks storing the log information when a number of the target blocks is equal to or greater than a reference number.
However, Plante does teach wherein the write controller is further configured to perform a garbage collection operation on target blocks storing the log information when a number of the target blocks is equal to or greater than a reference number. ([col. 15, ll. 20–35 and col. 13 ln 15-20]: “facilitating interleaved overwriting of less valuable individual frames of the consecutively acquired frames of visual information stored in the buffer memory with additional frames acquired by the video camera” and “a bin is marked ‘open’ when it no longer contains frame data necessary…” (GC-like overwrite management when target blocks/bins reach reference capacity.). Both Jung and Plante teach methods managing storage devices and collection of event data. However, Plante explicitly teaches wherein the write controller is further configured to perform a garbage collection operation on target blocks storing the log information when a number of the target blocks is equal to or greater than a reference number.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage device control method of Jung to also include wherein the write controller is further configured to perform a garbage collection operation on target blocks storing the log information when a number of the target blocks is equal to or greater than a reference number, as in Plante with a great degree of success. Doing so improves efficiency of memory space usage and data selection. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Plante, col. 15, ll. 20–35 and col. 13 ln 15-20]).
Regarding claims 9 and 20,
Jung does not explicitly teach wherein the write controller is further configured to perform a garbage collection operation on target blocks storing the log information when a size of the log information is equal to or greater than a reference size.
However, Plante does teach wherein the write controller is further configured to perform a garbage collection operation on target blocks storing the log information when a size of the log information is equal to or greater than a reference size. ([col. 12, ll. 20–35]: “One skilled in the art will also appreciate the great latitude available for managing a memory buffer of limited capacity to expand a timeline. One skilled in the art will further appreciates that where memory buffers deploy FIFO or round-robin strategies for overwrite operations, very important data may be lost. FIFO and round-robin strategies discriminate against the oldest data in a memory buffer,” Same interleaved overwriting / bin management as above (size-based reference for log blocks). Both Jung and Plante teach methods managing storage devices and collection of event data. However, Plante explicitly teaches wherein the write controller is further configured to perform a garbage collection operation on target blocks storing the log information when a size of the log information is equal to or greater than a reference size.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage device control method of Jung to also include wherein the write controller is further configured to perform a garbage collection operation on target blocks storing the log information when a size of the log information is equal to or greater than a reference size, as in Plante with a great degree of success. Doing so improves efficiency of memory space usage and data selection. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Plante, col. 12, ll. 20–35]).
Regarding claim 13,
Jung does not explicitly teach wherein the memory controller controls the memory device by instructing the memory device to: open the selected memory block when the sensing value moves outside of the normal range, and close the selected memory block when a preset time has elapsed since the first time point or when the sensing value returns to the normal range.
However, Plante does teach wherein the memory controller controls the memory device by instructing the memory device to: open the selected memory block when the sensing value moves outside of the normal range, and close the selected memory block when a preset time has elapsed since the first time point or when the sensing value returns to the normal range.( [col. 7, ll. 60–68 and col. 8, ll. 1–12]: “At this point in time, no new frames are recorded to memory; overwrite is prevented, and the memory buffer is ‘locked’. […] After data is successfully transferred to the flash memory, the buffer is ‘unlocked’” and “responsive to detecting the a given vehicle event, transfer the frames of visual information stored in the buffer memory to the long term storage memory.”). Both Jung and Plante teach methods managing storage devices and collection of event data. However, Plante explicitly teaches wherein the memory controller controls the memory device by instructing the memory device to: open the selected memory block when the sensing value moves outside of the normal range, and close the selected memory block when a preset time has elapsed since the first time point or when the sensing value returns to the normal range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage device control method of Jung to also include wherein the memory controller controls the memory device by instructing the memory device to: open the selected memory block when the sensing value moves outside of the normal range, and close the selected memory block when a preset time has elapsed since the first time point or when the sensing value returns to the normal range, as in Plante with a great degree of success. Doing so improves efficiency of memory space usage and data selection. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Plante, col. 7, ll. 60–68 and col. 8, ll. 1–12]).
Conclusion
/A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668