DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a first sensor having a direct view of the electrical connection between the power bus and the power coupler, and using a second sensor having an indirect view of the electrical connection between the power bus and the power coupler” of claim 22 and “a first sensor having a direct line of sight to the electrical connection between the power bus and the power coupler, and using a second sensor having an indirect line of site to the electrical connection between the power bus and the power coupler” of claim 23 must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: There appears to be a typo in the limitation “the recording the time and date the time comprises”. A possible correction would read - - the recording the time and date comprises - - .
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: There appears to be a typo in the limitation “indirect line of site” in line 4. A possible correction would read - - indirect line of sight - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 25, the limitations “directly monitoring” in line 6 of claims 1 and 25 and “indirectly monitoring” line 8 of claims 1 and 25 renders the claims unclear. The disclosure does not sufficiently guide the metes and bounds of what is required for a monitoring to be considered directly monitoring as opposed to indirectly monitoring. The figures use the same dotted line 56 to represent “direct and/or indirect line of sight” which does not distinguish between the two types of views at all. While the disclosure gives further examples, those examples are not imported into the claims. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claims are unclear. In the rejections below, the directly monitoring and indirectly monitoring are being interpreted as follows: the camera most directly pointed at the interface between the power bus and the power coupler is the “directly monitoring” and another camera that is pointed further away from the interface between the power bus and the power coupler is “indirectly monitoring”.
Regarding claims 1 and 25, the limitations “an arc event” in line 1 of claims 1 and 25 and “an optical event” in line 4 of claims 1 and 25 renders the claims unclear. While the applicant argues that “one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the “optical event” refers to the detected optical signal or phenomenon, and the “arc event” refers to the physical occurrence of an electrical arc that is identified based on characteristics of that optical signal”, the claim limitation “determining the occurrence of an arc event based on characteristics of the optical event” is not considered to sufficiently distinguish the claimed optical event and the claimed arc event. Though the claim recites monitoring the electrical connection for the occurrence of an optical event, there is no recitation of measuring or otherwise gathering characteristics of the optical event. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear.
Claims 2-24 depend from claim 1 and inherit these issues therefrom.
Regarding claim 4, “the optical data” lacks antecedent basis in the claims. Neither claim 4 nor claim 1 on which claim 4 depends introduce optical data. Therefore, “the optical data” lacks antecedent basis. Claim 2 does recite “obtaining optical data of the interface” but claim 4 does not depend from claim 2. A possible claim amendment would be to have claim 4 depend from claim 2.
Regarding claim 5, the limitation “wherein the filtering includes comparing a time required for the optical event to reach a maximum intensity (rise time), and concluding an arc event has not occurred when the time required to reach maximum intensity is greater than a predetermined time period” renders the claim unclear. It is not clear what the filtering compares “a time required for the optical event to reach a maximum intensity” is compared to. While the second part of the claim appears to intend the time required for the optical event to reach a maximum intensity to be compared to a predetermined time period, this is not clear from the claimed language and therefore the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear. A possible claim amendment would read - - wherein the filtering includes comparing a time required for the optical event to reach a maximum intensity with a predetermined time period; and concluding an arc event has not occurred when the time to read the maximum intensity is greater than the predetermined time period - - . This is the interpretation that will be used in the rejections below.
Regarding claim 6, the limitation “wherein a first sensor of the plurality of sensors” renders the claim unclear. The plurality of sensors is only introduced in claim 3 on which claim 6 does not directly or indirectly depend. Therefore the limitation lacks antecedent basis in the claim.
Regarding claim 21, the limitation “wherein the recording the time and date the time comprises recording a time stamp representing an instantaneous time at which the arc event occurred” appears to either be missing a word or have typo in the form of additional words. As best understood from the disclosure, it is considered that a possible correction would read - - wherein the recording the time and date comprises recording a time stamp representing an instantaneous time at which the arc event occurred - - .
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “sensor module” (corresponding in the instant disclosure to sensor module 54) and “processing module” (corresponding in the instant disclosure to processing module 52) in claims 16-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 200444401 Y1 (citations to the translation provided with the Office Action dated 04/07/2026).
Regarding claim 25, KR 200444401 Y1 teaches the method for detecting an arc event between a power bus (catenary wire 16) and a power coupler (current collector plate 14 of pantograph 12) of an electric vehicle (10; page 2, paragraphs 6-8), comprising:
monitoring an electrical connection between the power bus (16) and the power coupler (14) of the electric vehicle (10) for the occurrence of an optical event (page 3, paragraph 2), wherein monitoring includes
i) directly monitoring (by optical detector 20a) the electrical connection between the power bus (16) and the power coupler (14; page 4, paragraph 8-page 5, paragraph 1 and figure 2, where the optical detector 20a has a centered view of the intersection between 14 and the left most wire of 16 and is considered, in accordance with the above interpretation given in the 112(b) rejection above, to read on directly monitoring region B) and
ii) indirectly monitoring (by optical detector 20b) the electrical connection between the power bus (16) and the power coupler (14; page 4, paragraph 8, page 5, paragraph 1 and figure 2, where it is considered, that optical detector 20b has an offset view of the intersection between 14 and the left most wire of 16 and is considered, in accordance with the above interpretation given in the 112(b) rejection above, to read on indirectly monitoring region B; page 5, paragraph 4-page 6, paragraph 2); and
determining the occurrence of an arc event based on characteristics of the optical event (page 5, paragraph 4-page 6, paragraph 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 12-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over KR 200444401 Y1 (citations to the translation provided with the Office Action dated 04/07/2026) in view of TERFLOTH et al. (DE 102017217450 A1).
Regarding claim 1, KR 200444401 Y1 teaches a method for detecting a location of an arc event (page 5, paragraph 4-page 6, paragraph 2) between a power bus (catenary wire 16) and a power coupler (current collector plate 14 of the pantograph 12) of an electric vehicle (10; page 2, paragraphs 6-8), comprising:
monitoring an electrical connection between the power bus (16) and the power coupler (14) of the electric vehicle for the occurrence of an optical event (page 3, paragraph 2) wherein monitoring includes
i) directly monitoring (by optical detector 20a) the electrical connection between the power bus (16) and the power coupler (14; page 4, paragraph 8-page 5, paragraph 1 and figure 2, where the optical detector 20a has a centered view of the intersection between 14 and the left most wire of 16 and is considered, in accordance with the above interpretation given in the 112(b) rejection above, to read on directly monitoring region B), and
ii) indirectly monitoring (by optical detector 20b) the electrical connection between the power bus (16) and the power coupler (14; page 4, paragraph 8-page 5, paragraph 1 and figure 2, where it is considered, that optical detector 20b has an offset view of the intersection between 14 and the left most wire of 16 and is considered, in accordance with the above interpretation given in the 112(b) rejection above, to read on indirectly monitoring region B; page 5, paragraph 4-page 6, paragraph 2);
determining the occurrence of an arc event based on characteristics of the optical event (page 5, paragraph 4-page 6, paragraph 2).
However, KR 200444401 Y1 does not explicitly teach upon determining the occurrence of an arc event, recording at least one of i) a time and date that the arc event occurred or ii) a position of the electric vehicle at the time the arc event occurred.
TERFLOTH teaches upon determining the occurrence of an arc event, recording a time and date that the arc event occurred (page 6, paragraphs 3-4 teach evaluation of arcs to determine as additional or alternative characteristics and all measured values determined here are also logged together with the time stamp).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KR 200444401 to record the time and date of an arc event as taught by Terfloth because it is a predictable use of known techniques to improve event monitoring and enable subsequent evaluation and analysis of arc events.
Regarding claim 2, KR 200444401 Y1 as modified (citations to KR 200444401 Y1 unless otherwise indicated) teaches wherein monitoring the electrical connection includes obtaining optical data of the interface (page 3, paragraph 2 and page 4, paragraph 8-page 5, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 3, KR 200444401 Y1 as modified (citations to KR 200444401 Y1 unless otherwise indicated) teaches wherein monitoring the electrical connection includes obtaining optical data from a plurality of optical sensors (20a, 20b; page 3, paragraph 2 and page 4, paragraph 8-page 5, paragraph 1), wherein each optical sensor has a different field of view relative to other optical sensors of the plurality of optical sensors. (figure 2 and page 4, paragraph 8-page 5, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 12, the requirements of the claim are considered to be met since claim 1 was met in the alternative where the recording was of a time and date that the arc event occurred and the recording of a position of the electric vehicle at the time the arc event occurred is considered to be optional. Only that which is optional is claimed here, and therefore claim 12 does not recite any features which would define over KR 200444401 Y1 as modified.
Regarding claim 13, the requirements of the claim are considered to be met since claim 1 was met in the alternative where the recording was of a time and date that the arc event occurred and the recording of a position of the electric vehicle at the time the arc event occurred is considered to be optional. Only that which is optional is claimed here, and therefore claim 13 does not recite any features which would define over KR 200444401 Y1 as modified.
Regarding claim 14, the requirements of the claim are considered to be met since claim 1 was met in the alternative where the recording was of a time and date that the arc event occurred and the recording of a position of the electric vehicle at the time the arc event occurred is considered to be optional. Only that which is optional is claimed here, and therefore claim 14 does not recite any features which would define over KR 200444401 Y1 as modified.
Regarding claim 15, the requirements of the claim are considered to be met since claim 1 was met in the alternative where the recording was of a time and date that the arc event occurred and the recording of a position of the electric vehicle at the time the arc event occurred is considered to be optional. Only that which is optional is claimed here, and therefore claim 15 does not recite any features which would define over KR 200444401 Y1 as modified.
Regarding claim 16, KR 200444401 Y1 as modified (citations to KR 200444401 Y1 unless otherwise indicated) teaches a system for detecting a location of an arc event between an electric power bus (16) and a power coupler (14) of an electric vehicle (10) operatively coupled to the power bus (figure 2), comprising:
a sensor module (optical sensors 20a, 20b) including plurality of sensors (20a, 20b), configured to obtain optical data (page 3, paragraph 2); and
a processing module (signal processing unit 50) communicatively coupled to the plurality of sensors module (20a, 20b; page 5, paragraph 4), the processing module including logic configured to carry out the method according to claim 1 (as noted above in detail for claim 1; page 5, paragraph 4-page 6, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 17, KR 200444401 Y1 as modified (citations to KR 200444401 Y1 unless otherwise indicated) teaches where the plurality of sensors comprises an optical sensor (20a, 20b; page 3, paragraph 2 and page 4, paragraph 8-page 5, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 18, KR 200444401 Y1 as modified (citations to KR 200444401 Y1 unless otherwise indicated) teaches wherein the plurality of sensors (20a, 20b) comprises a plurality of optical sensors (20a, 20b; page 3, paragraph 2 and page 4, paragraph 8-page 5, paragraph 1), at least one of the optical sensors (20a) having a direct view (page 4, paragraph 8-page 5, paragraph 1 and figure 2, where the optical detector 20a has a centered view of the intersection between 14 and the left most wire of 16 and is considered, in accordance with the above interpretation given in the 112(b) rejection above, to read on directly monitoring region B) of an electrical connection between the power bus (16) and the power coupler (14), of the electric vehicle (10), and at least one other sensor having a partial or indirect view (page 4, paragraph 8-page 5, paragraph 1 and figure 2, where it is considered, that optical detector 20b has an offset view of the intersection between 14 and the left most wire of 16 and is considered, in accordance with the above interpretation given in the 112(b) rejection above, to read on indirectly monitoring region B; page 5, paragraph 4-page 6, paragraph 2) of the electrical connection between the power bus (16) and the power coupler (14) of the electric vehicle (10; page 4, paragraph 8-page 6, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 19, KR 200444401 Y1 as modified (citations to KR 200444401 Y1 unless otherwise indicated) teaches the electric vehicle (10; page 4, paragraph 8), comprising the system according to claim 16 (as noted in detail above for claim 16).
Regarding claim 20, KR 200444401 Y1 as modified (citations to KR 200444401 Y1 unless otherwise indicated) teaches wherein the electric vehicle (10), comprises one of a bus, train (page 2, paragraphs 6-7, page 3, paragraphs 3 and 8), or streetcar.
Regarding claim 21, KR 200444401 Y1 as modified (citations to KR 200444401 Y1 unless otherwise indicated) teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention, as noted above for claim 1, except KR 200444401 Y1 does not explicitly teach wherein recording a time and date comprises recording a time stamp representing an instantaneous time at which the arc event occurred.
TERFLOTH teaches wherein recording a time and date the time comprises recording a time stamp representing an instantaneous time at which the arc event occurred (page 6, paragraphs 3-4, where the measurements of the arc are logged together with a time stamp).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KR 200444401 to have a time stamp to record the time and date of an arc event as taught by Terfloth because it is a well known alternative to time and date to improve event monitoring and enable subsequent evaluation and analysis of arc events with predictable results.
Regarding claim 22, KR 200444401 Y1 as modified (citations to KR 200444401 Y1 unless otherwise indicated) teaches wherein monitoring includes using a first sensor (20a) having a direct view (page 4, paragraph 8-page 5, paragraph 1 and figure 2, where the optical detector 20a has a centered view of the intersection between 14 and the left most wire of 16 and is considered, in accordance with the above interpretation given in the 112(b) rejection above, to read on directly monitoring region B) of the electrical connection between the power bus (16) and the power coupler (14), and using a second sensor (20b) having an indirect view (page 4, paragraph 8-page 5, paragraph 1 and figure 2, where it is considered, that optical detector 20b has an offset view of the intersection between 14 and the left most wire of 16 and is considered, in accordance with the above interpretation given in the 112(b) rejection above, to read on indirectly monitoring region B; page 5, paragraph 4-page 6, paragraph 2) of the electrical connection between the power bus (16) and the power coupler (14).
Regarding claim 23, KR 200444401 Y1 as modified (citations to KR 200444401 Y1 unless otherwise indicated) teaches wherein monitoring includes using a first sensor (20a) having a direct line of sight (page 4, paragraph 8-page 5, paragraph 1 and figure 2, where the optical detector 20a has a centered view of the intersection between 14 and the left most wire of 16 and is considered, in accordance with the above interpretation given in the 112(b) rejection above, to read on directly monitoring region B) to the electrical connection between the power bus (16) and the power coupler (14), and using a second sensor (20b) having an indirect line of sight (page 4, paragraph 8-page 5, paragraph 1 and figure 2, where it is considered, that optical detector 20b has an offset view of the intersection between 14 and the left most wire of 16 and is considered, in accordance with the above interpretation given in the 112(b) rejection above, to read on indirectly monitoring region B; page 5, paragraph 4-page 6, paragraph 2) to the electrical connection between the power bus (16) and the power coupler (14).
Regarding claim 24, KR 200444401 Y1 as modified (citations to KR 200444401 Y1 unless otherwise indicated) teaches wherein indirectly monitoring the electrical connection between the power bus (16) and the power coupler (14), comprises measuring light generated by the arc after the generated light is reflected from a surface (figure 2 and page 5, paragraphs 2-6; where it is considered that the indirect monitoring by 20b is capable of capturing reflected light that enters the enclosure 30b and is intended to function to capture light from region B in the case that 20a fails).
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 200444401 Y1 and TERFLOTH et al. (DE 102017217450 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Land et al. (US 20070014060 A1).
Regarding claim 4, KR 200444401 Y1 as modified teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention, as noted above for claim 1, except explicitly teaching wherein determining includes: filtering the optical data; and using the filtered data to detect the occurrence of the arc event.
Land et al. teaches wherein determining includes: filtering the optical data (paragraph [0061]; where the processing circuitry 102 receives the inputs from the detectors and then conditions and filters the data before performing threshold comparisons and validating conditions of a fault); and using the filtered data to detect the occurrence of the arc event (paragraph [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify KR 200444401 Y1 to have wherein determining includes: filtering the optical data; and using the filtered data to detect the occurrence of the arc event as taught by Land et al. because it is a well known processing step to allow for cleaner analysis of a data set with predictable results.
Regarding claim 10, KR 200444401 Y1 as modified teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as noted above for claim 4, except wherein filtering includes comparing a duration of the optical event to a predetermined duration, and concluding an arc event has not occurred when the duration of the optical event is outside a predetermined time period.
However, Land teaches wherein filtering includes comparing a duration of the optical event to a predetermined duration, and concluding an arc event has not occurred when the duration of the optical event is outside a predetermined time period. (paragraph [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify KR 200444401 Y1 to include wherein filtering includes comparing a duration of the optical event to a predetermined duration, and concluding an arc event has not occurred when the duration of the optical event is outside a predetermined time period as taught by Land in order to ensure the optical event is only identified as an arc event if it meets the typical presentation of arc events (paragraph [0007]) with predictable results.
Remarks/Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/29/2026 with respect to claims 1-25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the argument on Page 7, paragraph 3 that “the drawings, when read in conjunction with the specification, already disclose and illustrate these features”, the drawings show a single element 56 which is described as “direct and/or indirect line of sight 56”. This is not sufficient to show the differences between the direct line of sight and the indirect line of sight. Therefore, the drawings do not show the claimed limitations of “a first sensor having a direct view of the electrical connection between the power bus and the power coupler, and using a second sensor having an indirect view of the electrical connection between the power bus and the power coupler” of claim 22 and “a first sensor having a direct line of site to the electrical connection between the power bus and the power coupler, and using a second sensor having an indirect line of site to the electrical connection between the power bus and the power coupler” of claim 23.
In response to the argument on page 9, paragraph 5 of that ““Directly monitoring” refers to monitoring via a sensor having a direct line of sight to the electrical connection, while “indirectly monitoring” refers to monitoring via a sensor that detects the arc through a secondary optical path, such as reflected light, or from a non-direct viewing position relative to the arc source”, it is considered that while the claims are read in light of the disclosure as originally filed, limitations are not imported from the specification into the claims. Therefore, it is considered that the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear and the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) is maintained.
In response to the argument on page 11, paragraph 3, that “one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the “optical event” refers to the detected optical signal or phenomenon, and the “arc event” refers to the physical occurrence of an electrical arc that is identified based on characteristics of that optical signal”, the claim limitation “determining the occurrence of an arc event based on characteristics of the optical event” is not considered to sufficiently distinguish the claimed optical event and the claimed arc event. Though the claim recites monitoring the electrical connection for the occurrence of an optical event, there is no recitation of measuring or otherwise gathering characteristics of the optical event. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear.
In response to the argument on pages 17-18 that the claims connote sufficient structure to not be interpreted 112(f), the claimed language is a nonce word followed by a functional recitation without specific structure to perform those functions claimed and therefore the interpretation under 112(f) is considered to be appropriate.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that KR 200444401 Y1 does not teach both indirect and direct monitoring because “both sensors are directed toward the arc source and are configured to detect light emitted directly from the arc” on page 19 and there is no disclosure in KR 200444401 Y1 of a sensor that detects the arc indirectly via a secondary optical path, e.g. reflected light or detection from a non-viewing direction relative to the arc source on page 20) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). As noted in the previous office action and the rejection above, it is considered that the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed “directly monitoring” and “indirectly monitoring” is met by having different optical paths, one of which is more directly capturing the claimed electrical connection such that the camera most directly pointed at the interface between the power bus and the power coupler is the “directly monitoring” and another camera that is pointed further away from the interface between the power bus and the power coupler is “indirectly monitoring”. Therefore, it is considered that KR 200444401 Y1 teaches the claimed limitations as noted above.
In response to the argument on pages 21-22 that KR 200444401 Y1 does not teach direct and indirect monitoring of an arc location, it is considered that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the invention as claimed KR 20444401 Y1 does teach the claimed direct and indirect monitoring as detailed below. Therefore the combination is considered to read on all of the limitations of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENT J ANDREWS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/JUDY NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858