DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 11, 12, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Deliuliis et al [US 2015/0287310]
Claim 1. A method of monitoring viral safety status associated with entry into a facility (the systems, devices, methods, and related computer program products for smart buildings including the smart-home 100. More particularly, this patent specification relates to detection units, the smart hazard detection units such as smoke detectors, carbon monoxide CO sensors, radon, etc., or other monitoring devices, that are useful in smart building and smart home environments and drills to prepare for an actual emergency, see Figs. 1, 5A, para [0002, 0008, 0152, 0206]), the method comprising: receiving, at a display user interface rendered at a mobile computing device, a selection of indicia representative of the facility (the mobile electronic device 2902 or smart device is for scheduling and setting/selecting to initiate a drill/test of selected rooms and path lights in a building or smart-home 100 to be displayed on a configuration screen 300 via the user selection interface 3200, see Figs. 1, 29-32, 43-45, para [0202-0210]);
receiving, responsive to the selection, an ozone gas viral cleaning status of the facility (the mobile electronic device 2902 or smart device is for scheduling and setting or selecting to initiate a drill/test of selected type of hazard detectors 2608, 3006 or 400 in a selected room in a building or smart-home 100 to be displayed on a configuration screen 300 via the user selection interface 3200, that the hazard detector 400 needs periodic cleaning, or alert the occupant of any other abnormalities or issues related to hazard detector 400 or components thereof. see Figs. 1, 5A, 29-33, 43-45, para [0152, 0202-0210]);
determining, based on the ozone gas viral cleaning status and at least one threshold entrant condition in association with an entrant category, a suitability for entrance into the facility (the hazard detector service robot 162 will temporarily raise a hazard detection threshold, such as a smoke detection threshold to adjust or change the detection threshold based on the room condition, location, and time period, wherein the CO gas, radon and/or smoke entering the room, building or smart-home environment 100, see Figs. 1, 5A, 29-34, 43-45, para [0110, 0152, 0212, 0215, 0245]); and
generating, at the display user interface, a notification in accordance with the suitability for entrance (the alarms, changing color LED and/or display of notification messages on the smart device to the occupant of the potential danger, see Figs. 1, 5A, 32, para [0212, 0115, 0130, 0152]).
Claim 2. The method of claim 1 wherein the facility comprises one of an at least partially enclosed building, a mobile facility, a vehicle, and a transportation machinery (the single home, office buildings, industrial buildings, smart home, townhome, apartment buildings, hotel, retail store, and/or automobile, see para [0073, 0113]).
Claim 4. The method of claim 1 wherein the ozone gas viral cleaning status of the facility comprises an ozone gas concentration level within the facility (as cited in respect to claim 1 above, and including the gas concentration (read upon the devices 100 and services platform 200 collects carbon monoxide gas levels too high, carbon dioxide gas levels relatively high and/or volatile organic compounds levels, see Figs. 2, 5A, para [0125, 0152]).
Claim 5. The method of claim 1 wherein the entrant category comprises at least one of: an adult person, a child, a person attired in protective gear, and an animal (read upon the similar controls are provided for other instruments, utilities, and devices in the house. For example, sinks, bathtubs, and showers can be controlled by smart spigots (such as vent plug of a cask or a helmet) that recognize users as guests or as children and therefore prevent water from exceeding a designated temperature that is considered safe, see Fig. 1, para [0094]).
Claim 6. The method of claim 1 wherein the suitability for entrance in accordance with a range of ozone gas concentration as defined by an upper and a lower threshold limits of ozone gas concentration (as cited in respect to claims 1 and 4 above, wherein the hazard detection thresholds can be adjusted or changed between a high level to activate an alarm and a low limit/level for not generate the alarm, see Figs. 5A, 47, para [0110, 0152, 0245]).
Claim 11. A mobile computing device comprising: a processor (the processing 206, 210, 230, or microprocessors, see Figs. 3, 4A, para [0149]); and a non-transitory memory (any machine-readable medium tangibly embodying instructions may be used, see para [0251, 0252]) including instructions, the instructions when executed by the processor causing the processor to perform operations comprising: receiving, at a display user interface rendered at the mobile computing device, a selection of an indicia representative of the facility; receiving, responsive to the selection, an ozone gas viral cleaning status of the facility; determining, based on the ozone gas viral cleaning status and at least one threshold entrant condition in association with an entrant category, a suitability for entrance into the facility; and generating, at the display user interface, a notification in accordance with the suitability for entrance (as cited in respect to claim 1 above).
Claim 12. The mobile computing device of claim 11 wherein the facility comprises one of an at least partially enclosed building, a mobile facility, a vehicle, and a transportation machinery (as cited in respect to claim 2 above).
Claim 14. The mobile computing device of claim 11 wherein the ozone gas viral cleaning status of the facility comprises an ozone gas concentration level within the facility (as cited in respect to claim 4 above).
Claim 15. The mobile computing device of claim 11 wherein the entrant category comprises at least one of: an adult person, a child, a person attired in protective gear, and an animal (as cited in respect to claim 5 above).
Claim 16. The mobile computing device of claim 11 wherein the suitability for entrance in accordance with a range of ozone gas concentration as defined by an upper and a lower threshold limits of ozone gas concentration (as cited in respect to claim 6 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deliuliis et al [US 2015/0287310] in view of Subramanian et al [US 2018/0315301]]
Claim 3. The mobile computing device of claim 1 wherein the viral safety status associated with entry comprises at least one of: a time period prior to an attempted entry into the facility (read upon a person/student attempted to walk to the door during 20 seconds generated by the hazard detector, see para [0260]), and
a time period while within the facility (a number of individuals have excited the building, a predetermined period of time, e.g. more than 10 minutes has elapse, or upon sensing a first entry of an occupant into a space, as by motion detection, after predetermined period of vacancy in that space, see Figs. 13, 28, para [0185, 0201, 0262]). But
Deliuliis et al fails to discloses a time period upon entry into the facility.
Subramanian et al suggests that the processing circuit is configured to determine whether the door delay false alarm rule has triggered based on the events and the sequence of events of the door delay false alarm rule, generate a probability distribution based on historical door delay data, wherein the probability distribution indicates probabilities of times between the door opening event and the key code entering event, wherein the historical door delay data indicates a plurality of lengths of time between the door opening event and the key code entering event (see Figs. 12, 14, para [0028, 0252]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add or implement the delay time or probabilities of times between the door opening event for entering and the key code entering event of Subramanian et al to the smart home system of Deliuliis et al for assuring and with a precisely timing for an individual or person entering the door of a house without any false alarm.
Claim 13. The mobile computing device of claim 11 wherein the viral safety status associated with entry comprises at least one of: a time period prior to an attempted entry into the facility, a time period upon entry into the facility and a time period while within the facility (as cited and the combination between Deliuliis et al and Subramanian et al in respect to claim 3 above).
Claims 7, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deliuliis et al [US 2015/0287310] in view of Stowell et al [US 2024/0288381]
Claim 7. Deliuliis et al fails to disclose wherein the upper threshold limit is 500 parts per billion (ppb) and the lower threshold limit is 50 ppb of ozone gas concentration. However, Deliuliis et al teaches that the enhanced by logical integration with other smart sensors in the home according to rules-based inferencing techniques or artificial intelligence techniques for achieving better performance of those human-facing functionalities and/or for achieving those goals in energy-conserving or other resource-conserving ways. For another embodiment relating to personal safety-area networks, the hazard detector service robot 162 can be advised by other smart-home sensors that the temperature and humidity levels are rising in the kitchen, which is nearby to the occupant's current dining room location, and responsive to this advisory the hazard detector service robot 162 will temporarily raise a hazard detection threshold, such as a smoke detection threshold, under an inference that any small increases in ambient smoke levels will most likely be due to cooking activity and not due to a genuinely hazardous condition (see Fig. 1, para [0110]).
Stowell et al suggests that the sensors as a sensors-as-a-service platform 101 may be used in various configurations to remotely deploy, manage, and access data from sensors without the need for extensive infrastructure for the sensors. For example, a user may purchase a first sensor of the sensors 103 to detect carbon monoxide within their home. After a time, the user may decide to update the first sensor (via a software update) to allow it to detect other gases, such as radon, natural gas, etc., see Fig. 1A, para [0359]). The combination of such high frequency gas sensors (e.g., utilizing impedance spectroscopy) and the unique properties of the particulate carbon described herein (e.g., structure, surface area, and conductivity) enables gas sensors that are able to generate the same results as the more costly counterparts (e.g., detecting an analyte with concentrations in the parts per million (ppm) or parts per billion (ppb) ranges) at a greatly reduced price, and an improved ease of adoption and portability (see Figs. 16-23, para [0145, 1989]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use or implement the detecting an analyte with concentrations in the parts per billion ppb ranges of Stowell et al to the detected threshold of smoke, CO, gaseous, radon, or other toxic components of Deliuliis et al for providing a higher accuracy detection result and to preventing of error or false alarm by assigning or selecting a specific threshold ranges such as between 500 ppb and 50 ppb by the detection manufactory or user, which depends on a particular detected analyte or component being detected.
Claim 17. The mobile computing device of claim 16 wherein the upper threshold limit is 500 parts per billion (ppb) and the lower threshold limit is 50 ppb of ozone gas concentration (as discussed between Deliuliis et al and Stowell et al in respect to claim 7 above).
Claims 8-10, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deliuliis et al [US 2015/0287310] in view of Weik et al [US 2013/0117078]
Claim 8. The method of claim 1 wherein the notification comprises, in conjunction with identification of at least one entrant category, one of: a permission to enter (read upon a user request for status actuated by pressing a button on the device; upon a user voice request for status information (e.g., “present device status”); after sensing an entrance of a new occupant in an already-occupied room, such as by automated facial recognition, see Figs. 40, 47, para [0262]), and
an estimated time period prior to receiving permission to enter the facility (the hazard detector 2608 may also delay drills until users have been entered in the building for a predetermined period of time (e.g., more than 10 minutes). By delaying until after entry for some period, the hazard drill may more accurately reflect an emergency situation or allow the users to become settled before conducting the drill, see Fig. 28, para [0201, 0257]). But
Deliuliis et al fails to disclose a prohibition against entry. However, Deliuliis et al teaches that when the hazard drill simulates that smoke has been detected in the second room, the household members may keep away from the second room on their way out of the building (see Fig. 30, para [0204]).
Weik et al suggests that the home system 1000, showing a house portion 1002, a garage portion 1004, a smoke alarm 1034, a carbon monoxide alarm 1035, buried vehicle detectors 1033, 1033 to sense the presence of vehicles in the garage and also in the driveway, a plurality of doors DH at the front and rear of the house and one connecting the house to the garage (see Fig. 22, para [0291]).
The flow chart illustrating a first aspect of operation for the present invention. The first aspect of operation relates to a vehicle or person’s entrance into the parking area, e.g. parking garage. When entering the garage, a customer's vehicle approaches the first customer terminal 10 via the entrance ramp 12. The customer reviews rules posted at the first customer terminal 10 or at a billboard 66 attached to the building 2. The customer is instructed to present their driver's license or a credit card such as a customer's common card) to the card reader 24 (see Figs. 3, 5, para [0118]).
In step S104, the control system 40 sends a signal to the first actuator 42 to open the first barrier 48 to permit the vehicle or person to enter the parking garage by to unlock the door 8 (see Fig. 8, step S216, para [0120, 0124]).
However, the door 8 is locked to prevent people from entering the parking garage by such measures go along way toward preventing and deterring persons from committing crimes, since their crimes are no longer anonymous, and the likelihood that they will be later identified are greatly increased (see Figs, 5, 7, para [0122, 0139]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to use or implement the home control system to allow persons entering via the door and also to prevent person from entering the door of Weik et al to the household members may be keep away from the contaminated in second room of Deliuliis et al for prohibiting or blocking a person or unauthorized individual enter the home that may cause dangerous events such as people health status due to high levels of smoke, CO, CO2 or radon gases inside the home or crimes.
Claim 9. The method of claim 8 wherein the prohibition against entry includes confirmation of an entrance lockout state being initiated and the estimated time period prior to receiving permission relates to termination of the entrance lockout state (as the combination between Deliuliis et al and Weik et al in respect to claim 8 above, and for example, devices that may be employed during a drill or emergency may include smart switches, refrigerators, dryers, washing machines, televisions, smart outlets, thermostates, irrigation systems, handheld devices, door locks (lockout state), window locks, security sensors, or other devices that may aid during a drill or emergency. However, due to different building sizes, building shapes, and arrangements of devices within the buildings, it may be useful to use drills as learning periods or fine tuning periods to confirm that devices comply with desired device behavior during a drill or emergency (see para [0228]).
Claim 10. The method of claim 8 wherein the notification comprises a prohibition against entry, and further comprising generating, at the display user interface, a request for permission to enter the facility at an earliest time of achieving suitability for entrance (as the combination between Deliuliis et al and Weik et al in respect to claim 8 above, and wherein the triggered yellow modulated glow provided by the light ring can be indicative of the presence of one or more of a plurality of different potential anomalous conditions, and the yellow modulated glow serves as an invitation to the user to make an inquiry into the particular nature of the detected anomalous conditions, see para [0256]).
Claim 18. The mobile computing device of claim 11 wherein the notification comprises, in conjunction with identification of at least one entrant category, one of: a permission to enter, a prohibition against entry, and an estimated time period prior to receiving permission to enter the facility (as cited and the combination between Deliuliis et al and Weik et al in respect to claim 8 above).
Claim 19. The mobile computing device of claim 18 wherein the prohibition against entry includes confirmation of an entrance lockout state being initiated and the estimated time period prior to receiving permission relates to termination of the entrance lockout state (as cited and the combination between Deliuliis et al and Weik et al in respect to claims 8, 9 above).
Claim 20. The mobile computing device of claim 18 wherein the notification comprises a prohibition against entry, and further comprising generating, at the display user interface, a request for permission to enter the facility at an earliest time of achieving suitability for entrance (as cited and the combination between Deliuliis et al and Weik et al in respect to claims 8, 10 above).
Conclusion
/VAN T TRIEU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685
12/10/2025