DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
The amendments filed 10/07/2025 have been entered, the 112 rejections have been overcome, accordingly claims 1-4 and 8-19 remain pending.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 13 and 19 directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
(A) does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed for patentability (to show novelty and unobviousness), and
(B) the subcombination can be shown to have utility either by itself or in another materially different combination.
Claims 1-4,8-12 and 14-18 are directed to standalone devices of smoke detectors and/or manual call point, whereas claim 13 and 19 are directed to a fire protection system comprising a plurality of interconnected fire protection modules.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 13 and 19 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Response to arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/07/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant firstly argues (5-6):
Claim 4, as amended, recites "a temperature sensor configured to detect the temperature of an environment external to the housing; and a self-regulating heater configured to vary its heat output in response to an output of the temperature sensor so as to maintain a temperature difference between the self-regulating heater and an exterior of the housing below a threshold temperature difference of 10°C." Support for the amendments to claim 4 is found in at least original claims 5-7. The prior art fails to disclose the elements of amended claim 4.
With respect to Iguchi, Fig. 23 of Iguchi illustrates a smoke sensor 400 comprising a light emitting unit 402 having a housing 405 and a polarizer 434. A heater 436 prevents condensation forming on the polarizer 434. There is no disclosure in Iguchi of how the heater 436 is controlled.
Tice discloses a heater 22 coupled to a reflective surface 20 which heats the reflector above a dew point to eliminate condensation on the reflector surface 20. An environmental sensor 24 senses an ambient condition, such as temperature, humidity or condensation, and controls the heater 22 "as a function" of this monitored ambient conditions. However, there is no disclosure in Tice of the specific control function.
There is therefore no disclosure in Iguchi or Tice of maintaining the temperature difference between the inside and outside of the smoke sensor below a threshold value. As such, even if Iguchi and Tice are combined in some manner, the elements of claim 4 fail to result.
For at least the above reasons, claims 4 and 8 are patentable. Claim 15 is patentable for similar reasons.
However Examiner respectfully disagrees Bingham as currently applied, teaches the temperature control 50, for detecting frost and or condensation temperatures and heating accordingly. Tice in addition providing environmental detection specifically to condensation conditions. The range of 10 Celsius merely being a Routine Optimization of temperature ranges within the known science of dew point.
Therefore the rejection is maintained.
Applicant secondly argues (page 6):
Claims 1, 3, 9, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kriete (US 2019/0103013) in view of Bigham (US 5,743,631). This rejection is traversed for the following reasons.
Claim 1, as amended, recites "a self-regulating heater comprising a positive temperature coefficient (PTC) heating cable configured to maintain a temperature within the housing." Neither Kriete nor Bigham discloses this element of claim 1.
Fig. 4 of Kriete illustrates a manual alarm pull station 200 comprising an actuator cover 202, a mounting base 206, and a plunger 424 located between the two. The Examiner concedes that Kriete does not disclose a self-regulating heater that maintains a temperature within the housing. However, the Examiner considers this to be obvious in view of Bigham.
Fig. 2 of Bigham illustrates an emergency vehicle warning light bar that comprises heater assemblies 20, 21. The heater assemblies 20, 21 include a heater block 30 that can have a self-limiting heat output, where its resistance increases as its temperature increases.
Neither Kriete nor Bigham discloses a "a self-regulating heater comprising a positive temperature coefficient (PTC) heating cable configured to maintain a temperature within the housing." As such, even if Kriete and Bigham are combined, the elements of claim 1 will not result. Further, Bigham is non-analogous art and not properly relied upon in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103.
However Examiner respectfully disagrees because in response to the claims as currently amended prior cited reference Bingham provides the heating element itself as self limiting “The heating system comprises generally a self-limiting heater” (abstract), a PTC heater being a resistance increasing with heat system, Bingham further states “If such ceramic/metal heating elements are used, a type with a self limiting heat output may be utilized. This type of heating unit has a characteristic of increased resistance as its temperature increases. At higher temperatures its amperage drops drastically, thus limiting its ultimate heat output.” (column 3, lines 14-33), additionally see newly cited reference Remke proving PTC in response to new matter “cable” of amendments.
Therefore the rejection is maintained.
Applicant thirdly argues (page 6-7):
“With respect to claim 3, claim 3 recites the manual call point comprises a metal plate located within the housing, and the heater is arranged to contact the metal plate. In this regard, the Examiner considers the heating block 30 of Bigham to be a metal plate. However, the
heating block 30 is (i) the claimed heater and (ii) made of a bank of resistive heating elements composed of ceramic with embedded conductive metal particles. As such, even if Kriete and Bigham are combined, the elements of claim 3 will not result.”
However Examiner respectfully disagrees because the plate of the applicant is not disclosed as being solid metal, the heating block structure 30 of Bigham is plate in structure being longer than thick as shown in figure 4 and at least partially metallic as cited by applicant above. Additionally the interior plate structure with the housing of primary reference Kriete would have been made of metal as long standing industry practice of fire alarms being fire resistance. Additionally see newly cited Remke reference as necessitated by the amendment of a wire PTC (13/14), having metal foil layer (21/23) for spreading heat with housing “, because of low cost, ease of assembly and good performance when used with the metal foil layers as constructed according to this invention for spreading the heat from the heating wire across the wider surface. A thermostat may be employed to regulate the heater element. Other heater elements may be used, such as PTC (positive temperature coefficient) wire or sheet heaters” (column 3, lines 26-37).
Therefore the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kriete (US 2019/0103013) in view of Bigham (US 5,743,631) and Remke (US 6,222,160).
Regarding claim 1, Kriete discloses (Fig-2-4) a manual call point (MCP), comprising:
a housing (external surface of 202 and 206);
a plurality of components located within the housing (components between exterior of 202/405, see figure 4),
wherein the plurality of components comprise a mechanism (plunger 424) operable to trigger an alarm (“When the plunger 424 is in the first of the pre-determined plunger positions, the conductor arm 712 contacts at least or only the second 708b of the plurality of contacts to signal the normal state for the alarm pull station 200. As shown in FIGS. 8 and 9, when the plunger 424 is in the second of the pre-determined plunger positions, the conductor arm 712 contacts the second contact 708b and the third contact 708c to signal the alarm state for the alarm pull station 200.” [0055]); and
Kriete is silent regarding a self-regulating heater comprising a positive temperature coefficient (PTC) configured to maintain a temperature within the housing.
However Bigham teaches a self-regulating heater (“a type with a self limiting heat output may be utilized. This type of heating unit has a characteristic of increased resistance as its temperature increases. At higher temperatures its amperage drops drastically, thus limiting its ultimate heat output.” (abstract)),
Comprising a positive temperature coefficient configured to maintain a temperature within the housing (PTC as disclosed above (abstract) warming of electronics within housing (within light bar) to an operational temperature “the thermostat control in the system would typically be set to activate at 145.degree. F. and to deactivate at 167.degree. F. This is a safe upper limit for all of the heat sensitive components of the light bar system.” (column 3, lines 34-50)).
The advantage of a self-regulating heater, wherein the self-regulating heater is configured to maintain a temperature within the housing, is to prevent condensation and or ice within apparatus “a variety of conditions can exist in the service environment for these types of lighting systems which can create problems. Visibility can be decreased as the lenses are covered by ice and snow. Accumulation of moisture within the lighting system can reduce visibility, cause corrosion, short out electrical components, or freeze in the gears of the reflector motors.” (column 2, lines 35-46) to include conditions on an exterior of the apparatus “Yet another object of the invention is to automatically prevent the accumulation and build up of snow and ice on the outside surface of the lenses for emergency and service vehicle lighting systems” (column 2, lines 51-60) and prevent heating components of an apparatus from reaching temperatures that inhibit operation “The heating system comprises generally a self-limiting heater” (abstract).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kriete and Bigham before him or her, to modify the MCP of Kriete to include the heating system of Bigham, because providing an electronic or mechanical device with a heat source prevents weather issues such as humidity and ice from hindering operational functions of the electronic or mechanical device.
Kriete as modified is silent regarding wherein the PTC is a cable.
However Remke teaches wherein the PTC is a cable ( emphasis added “the metal foil layers as constructed according to this invention for spreading the heat from the heating wire across the wider surface. A thermostat may be employed to regulate the heater element. Other heater elements may be used, such as PTC (positive temperature coefficient) wire or sheet heaters, which automatically maintain a constant temperature.” (column 3, lines 26-37), thick plates optional to thin foil plates “While foils are preferred in this invention, thicker metal components may be used, such as metal sheets or plates.” (column 3, lines 38-65)). The advantage of providing a PTC heater as a wire is to provide enhanced heating performance with a thin occupation of space over a wide surface of confined space “because of low cost, ease of assembly and good performance when used with the metal foil layers as constructed according to this invention for spreading the heat from the heating wire across the wider surface.” (column 3, lines 26-37).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kriete as modified and and Remke before him or her, to modify the electronics heating system of Kriete to include the cable/wire PTC heating system of Remke, because providing a wire PTC system enhances spread of heat performance across wide surfaces of an enclosed space.
Regarding claim 3, Kriete as modified teaches the manual call point as claimed in claim 1, Kriete as already modified teaches further comprising a metal plate (heater block 30 of Bigham having plate structure as shown in figure 4 and having metal makeup “heater block 30 which is a bank of resistive heating elements composed of ceramic with embedded conductive metal particles” (column 5, lines 10-29), wherein the plates of interior of housing/ mounting plate (200) or internal front surface (406) of Kriete (see figures 8 and 12) are metal as long held industry standards necessitated by fire resistance, or as already modified by Remke providing PTC directly on metal plates “because of low cost, ease of assembly and good performance when used with the metal foil layers as constructed according to this invention for spreading the heat from the heating wire across the wider surface.” (column 3, lines 26-37)) located within the housing, wherein the heater is arranged to contact the metal plate (“the problem of providing gentle and self-limiting heat is solved by utilizing heater block 30 which is a bank of resistive heating elements composed of ceramic with embedded conductive metal particles.” (Bigham column 5, lines 10-29) or as provided above by Remke (column 3, lines 26-37)).
Regarding claim 14, Kriete discloses (Fig-2-4) a method of operating a manual call point (MCP) that comprises a plurality of components (components associated to plunger 424) located within a housing (external surface of 202 and 206),
wherein the plurality of components comprise a mechanism operable to trigger an alarm (plunger triggers alarm “When the plunger 424 is in the first of the pre-determined plunger positions, the conductor arm 712 contacts at least or only the second 708b of the plurality of contacts to signal the normal state for the alarm pull station 200. As shown in FIGS. 8 and 9, when the plunger 424 is in the second of the pre-determined plunger positions, the conductor arm 712 contacts the second contact 708b and the third contact 708c to signal the alarm state for the alarm pull station 200.” [0055]),
Kriete is silent regarding the method comprising:
using a self-regulating heater to maintain a temperature within the housing.
However Bigham teaches a self-regulating heater (“a type with a self limiting heat output may be utilized. This type of heating unit has a characteristic of increased resistance as its temperature increases. At higher temperatures its amperage drops drastically, thus limiting its ultimate heat output.” (abstract)),
to maintain a temperature within the housing (warming of electronics to a operational temperature is anticipated “the thermostat control in the system would typically be set to activate at 145.degree. F. and to deactivate at 167.degree. F. This is a safe upper limit for all of the heat sensitive components of the light bar system.” (column 3, lines 34-50)).
The advantage of using a self-regulating heater, to maintain a temperature within the housing, is to prevent condensation and or ice within apparatus “a variety of conditions can exist in the service environment for these types of lighting systems which can create problems. Visibility can be decreased as the lenses are covered by ice and snow. Accumulation of moisture within the lighting system can reduce visibility, cause corrosion, short out electrical components, or freeze in the gears of the reflector motors.” (column 2, lines 35-46) to include conditions on an exterior of the apparatus “Yet another object of the invention is to automatically prevent the accumulation and build up of snow and ice on the outside surface of the lenses for emergency and service vehicle lighting systems” (column 2, lines 51-60) and prevent heating components of an apparatus from reaching temperatures that inhibit operation “The heating system comprises generally a self-limiting heater” (abstract).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kriete and Bigham before him or her, to modify the MCP of Kriete to include the heating system of Bigham, because providing an electronic or mechanical device with a heat source prevents weather issues such as humidity and ice from hindering operational functions of the electronic or mechanical device.
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kriete in view of Bigham and Remke and in further view of Liu (US 8,297,223).
Regarding claim 2, Kriete as modified teaches the manual call point as claimed in claim 1, Kriete as modified is silent regarding wherein the housing comprises a metal housing, and wherein the heater is arranged to contact the metal housing.
However Liu teaches wherein the housing comprises a metal housing, and wherein the heater is arranged to contact the metal housing (heater contacts metal housing to distribute heat for prevention of condensation “a heater in thermal contact with said metal housing to heat the metal housing to a temperature sufficient to prevent vapor condensation in said apparatus.” (claim 4).
The advantage of wherein the housing comprises a metal housing, and wherein the heater is arranged to contact the metal housing, is to provide distribution of heat source within housing by using housing as a conductive heat source distribution system “a heater in thermal contact with said metal housing to heat the metal housing to a temperature sufficient to prevent vapor condensation in said apparatus.” (claim 4).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kriete as already modified and Liu before him or her, to modify the heat distribution system of Kriete to include the metal housing heat distribution system of Liu, because providing the housing as a metal heat conductor attached to heater provides enhanced thermal distribution for limiting condensation within said housing.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kriete in view of Bigham and Remke and in further view of Chatterjee (US 2010/0190381).
Regarding claim 16, Kriete as modified teaches the manual call point as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a regulator configured to supply the heater with a voltage.
Kriete is silent regarding a regulator configured to supply the heater with a voltage.
However Chatterjee teaches further comprising a regulator (buck boost, emphasis added “the unified electronics includes (i) AC to DC conversion circuits and elements that convert an alternating input of various voltage ranges and frequencies (e.g. domestic and international outlets-e.g. 90-250 v; 50-60 Hz) into a DC signal; (ii) DC regulation circuits, to buck, boost or otherwise regulate incoming DC power signal (e.g. 12-24 volts) and output DC.” [0034]) configured to supply the heater with a voltage (regulation of DC voltage to electronics from AC power supply as disclosed above [0034]).
The advantage of a regulator configured to supply the heater with a voltage, is to provide electronics with regulated usable DC power from a standardized AC power source “a regulator configured to supply the heater with a voltage” [0034].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kriete as modified and Chatterjee before him or her, to modify the undisclosed power regulation of Kriete with standardized AC to regulated DC for electronics of Chatterjee, because transforming standardized AC to regulated DC permits electronic systems to operate
Regarding claim 17, Kriete as modified teaches the manual call point as claimed in claim 16, wherein the regulator comprises a buck boost regulator.
Kriete is silent regarding wherein the regulator comprises a buck boost regulator.
However Chatterjee teaches further comprising a regulator (buck boost, emphasis added “the unified electronics includes (i) AC to DC conversion circuits and elements that convert an alternating input of various voltage ranges and frequencies (e.g. domestic and international outlets-e.g. 90-250 v; 50-60 Hz) into a DC signal; (ii) DC regulation circuits, to buck, boost or otherwise regulate incoming DC power signal (e.g. 12-24 volts) and output DC.” [0034]) configured to supply the heater with a voltage (regulation of DC voltage to electronics from AC power supply as disclosed above [0034]).
The advantage of a regulator configured to supply the heater with a voltage, is to provide electronics with regulated usable DC power from a standardized AC power source “a regulator configured to supply the heater with a voltage” [0034].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kriete as modified and Chatterjee before him or her, to modify the undisclosed power regulation of Kriete with standardized AC to regulated DC for electronics of Chatterjee, because transforming standardized AC to regulated DC permits electronic systems to operate.
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kriete in view of Bigham and Remke and in further view of Anderson (US 2020/0000146).
Regarding claim 18, Kriete as modified teaches the manual call point as claimed in claim 16, wherein the regulator is configured to limit a maximum current provided to the heater.
Kriete is silent regarding wherein the regulator is configured to limit a maximum current provided to the heater.
However Anderson teaches wherein the regulator is configured to limit a maximum current provided to the heater (Power management to include buck boost “The integrated power management unit 3200 can include LDO regulators 3240, switching step-down down-converter 3245 (e.g., buck), and boost converter 3250. The integrated power management unit 3200 can include analog to digital converter (ADC) 3255 for monitoring of system voltages and currents as provided by the power management unit 3200. The ADC 3255 can monitor the die and remote NTC temperatures monitoring system temperatures in order to implement protection mechanisms, as described more fully below.” [0415], managed current output to heater “the integrated heater control can 3205 include registers for configuring operational parameters (including performance and safety parameters) such as overvoltage protection (OVP), overcurrent protection (OCP), current limits, hardware timeouts, and the like.” [0437]).
The advantage of wherein the regulator is configured to limit a maximum current provided to the heater is to provide overcurrent protection and or current limits associated to the heater “the integrated heater control can 3205 include registers for configuring operational parameters (including performance and safety parameters) such as overvoltage protection (OVP), overcurrent protection (OCP), current limits, hardware timeouts, and the like.” [0437].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kriete as modified and Anderson before him or her, to modify the undisclosed power regulation of Kriete with current regulation/protection of Anderson, because providing current limits to a heater enables over current protection and currents within an operating range of the heater.
Claims 4, 8, 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iguchi (US 2018/0180540) in view of Bigham and Tice.
Regarding claim 4, Iguchi discloses (Fig-3-4-23) an optical beam smoke detector, comprising:
a housing (3) having a window (receiving light guide 79, emitting light guide 59, used in photoelectric detection of smoke “the light emitted from the light emitting diode 58 can be efficiently guided to the inflow chamber 45 from the light emitting surface 59b of the first light guide 59. Furthermore, the light received by the light receiving surface 79b of the second light guide 79 can be certainly guided to the photodiode 78. The reliability in optically detecting whether smoke is contained in the air flowing into the inflow chamber 45 or not is therefore improved.” [0192] similarly see light guide 426/434 “the light receiving surface 428 of the first light guide 426 is covered with a polarizer 434. The polarizer 434 is, for example, a disc-like element composed of polarizing glass and a polarizing film, and is held inside the support body 409 via a fixing ring 435.” [0296]);
a transmitter (emitting diode 58, see above [0192]) and/or a receiver (photodiode 78/403, see above [0192]) located within the housing (see figure 4 providing housing 3 containing chamber 45 for detecting smoke with adjacent transmitter/receiver as disclosed above [0192]);
Iguichi is silent regarding a self-regulating heater configured to vary its heat output in response to an output of the temperature sensor, having the threshold temperature difference of 10 degrees Celsius.
However Bigham teaches a self-regulating heater (emphasis added “a type with a self limiting heat output may be utilized. This type of heating unit has a characteristic of increased resistance as its temperature increases. At higher temperatures its amperage drops drastically, thus limiting its ultimate heat output.” (abstract) configured to vary its heat output in response to an output of the temperature sensor ( temperature sensor control in relation to conditions causing variable temperature related to condensation “sensor relay 50 is thermostatically and/or humidistatically actuated, having a preselected "on" temperature and/or humidity set point and a preselected "off" temperature and/or humidity set point to keep light bar housing 10 free of ice formation and condensation,” (column 5, lines 10-29)) the threshold temperature difference of 10 degrees Celsius (as disclosed above in relation to the formation of condensation and temperature differences, the relationship between condensation formation, ambient temperature, and humidity is governed by well-understood physical principles, including dew-point behavior. selection of specific temperature difference such as 10 degrees Celsius from among a finite range of effective temperature differentials in relation to environmental conditions would have been a matter of Routine Optimization (see MPEP 2144.05 II. B.), yielding no unexpected results. Accordingly, the claimed temperature difference does not impart patentable distinction over the prior art).
The advantage of a self-regulating heater configured to vary its heat output in response to an output of the temperature sensor, having the threshold temperature difference of 10 degrees Celsius, is to prevent an apparatus from reaching temperatures that inhibit operation “a variety of conditions can exist in the service environment for these types of lighting systems which can create problems. Visibility can be decreased as the lenses are covered by ice and snow. Accumulation of moisture within the lighting system can reduce visibility, cause corrosion, short out electrical components, or freeze in the gears of the reflector motors.” (column 2, lines 35-46), while providing protection against overly high temperatures directly at the heater “a type with a self limiting heat output may be utilized. This type of heating unit has a characteristic of increased resistance as its temperature increases. At higher temperatures its amperage drops drastically, thus limiting its ultimate heat output.” (abstract).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Iguichi and Bigham before him or her, to modify the electronics heating components of Iguichi to include the self-regulating electronics heater of Bigham, because providing an electronic or mechanical device with a heat source that self-regulates prevents overly high temperature directly at the heater.
Iguichi as modified is silent regarding a temperature sensor configured to detect the temperature of an environment external to the housing
However Tice teaches a temperature sensor configured to detect the temperature of an environment external to the housing (temperature sensor in relation to limiting condensation to optical sensor components, emphasis added “The detector also contains circuitry that is used, at least in part, to control a heater in or adjacent to the sensing chamber such that it will heat the reflector when power is applied to the heater. At least one environmental sensor can be used to sense a predetermined characteristic of the environment. The sensor is connected to circuitry that can control the heater as a function of that characteristic. The environmental sensor may be one of a class of temperature sensor, humidity sensor, condensation sensor, or another type of sensor that provides information that can be used to assess the potential for condensation to occur on the reflector.” [0018], the sensor anticipated to housing external application “In another embodiment, the environmental sensor can be implemented as a condensation sensor. Since this sensor is essentially external of the sensing chamber, it will respond first to environmental conditions such that power can be applied to the heater to warm the reflector before condensation occurs on the reflector.” [0025]).
The advantage of a temperature sensor configured to detect the temperature of an environment external to the housing, is to provide input to heater before the temperature surrounding the heater is affected by changes external to the housing “In another embodiment, the environmental sensor can be implemented as a condensation sensor. Since this sensor is essentially external of the sensing chamber, it will respond first to environmental conditions such that power can be applied to the heater to warm the reflector before condensation occurs on the reflector.” [0025].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Iguichi as modified and Tice before him or her, to modify condensation limiting heater system of Iguichi to include the temperature sensor at an external to housing location of Tice, because an external temperature sensor is exposed to the changing temperature of the environment and enables more precise control of the temperature differential used for limiting the formation of condensation.
Regarding claim 8, Iguichi discloses a smoke detector as claimed in claim 4, Iguichi is silent regarding further comprising a fan located within the housing, wherein the fan is configured to distribute heat throughout the interior of the housing.
However Bigham teaches further comprising a fan (40) located within the housing, wherein the fan is configured to distribute heat throughout the interior of the housing “Heater block 30 will heat the air surrounding the heater block and fan 40 will circulate this air throughout the respective section light bar housing 10, raising the ambient temperature.” (column 5-6, lines 46-7).
The advantage of further comprising a fan located within the housing, wherein the fan is configured to distribute heat throughout the interior of the housing, is to enhance heat circulation from a condensation limiting heater “the heater block 30 and fan 40 will continue in the "on" position until the humidity inside the light bar system drops below the preselected "off" set point. This type of operation removes moisture from the light bar system by first suspending it in the warm air. Warm air has the ability to carry a higher percentage of moisture than cool air, therefore the condensed moisture will turn into a gas and be circulated by the fan. Since all vehicle lighting systems have a vent system, the high moisture air of the interior of the lighting system will gradually dissipate out through the vent system of the light bar, and be replaced by cooler air, which carries a lower percentage of moisture. This action not only removes condensation from the interior of the light bar, thus improving visibility, it also eliminates electrical shorts and corrosion of interior components.” (column 6, lines 26-43).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Iguichi and Bigham before him or her, to modify the heater system of Iguichi with the blown heater system of Bigham, because providing a fan to a heater intended as a limiting agent against condensation, enhances the distribution of condensation limiting heat within the housing.
Regarding claim 9, Iguchi as modified teaches the smoke detector as claimed in claim 4, Iguchi as already modified teaches wherein the heater comprises a positive temperature coefficient (PTC) heater (Positive Temperature Coefficient heater as already modified by Bigham, emphasis added -“a type with a self limiting heat output may be utilized. This type of heating unit has a characteristic of increased resistance as its temperature increases. At higher temperatures its amperage drops drastically, thus limiting its ultimate heat output.” (Bigham abstract)).
Regarding claim 15, Iguchi discloses (Fig-3-4-23) a method of operating an optical beam smoke detector that comprises a housing having a window (receiving light guide 79, emitting light guide 59, used in photoelectric detection of smoke “the light emitted from the light emitting diode 58 can be efficiently guided to the inflow chamber 45 from the light emitting surface 59b of the first light guide 59. Furthermore, the light received by the light receiving surface 79b of the second light guide 79 can be certainly guided to the photodiode 78. The reliability in optically detecting whether smoke is contained in the air flowing into the inflow chamber 45 or not is therefore improved.” [0192] similarly see light guide 426/434 “the light receiving surface 428 of the first light guide 426 is covered with a polarizer 434. The polarizer 434 is, for example, a disc-like element composed of polarizing glass and a polarizing film, and is held inside the support body 409 via a fixing ring 435.” [0296]), a transmitter (emitting diode 58, see above [0192]) and/or a receiver (photodiode 78/403, see above [0192]) located within the housing, and
maintain a temperature difference between the
Iguichi is silent regarding a self-regulating heater configured to vary its heat output in response to an output of the temperature sensor, having the threshold temperature difference of 10 degrees Celsius.
However Bigham a self-regulating heater (emphasis added “a type with a self limiting heat output may be utilized. This type of heating unit has a characteristic of increased resistance as its temperature increases. At higher temperatures its amperage drops drastically, thus limiting its ultimate heat output.” (abstract) configured to vary its heat output in response to an output of the temperature sensor ( temperature sensor control in relation to conditions causing variable temperature related to condensation “sensor relay 50 is thermostatically and/or humidistatically actuated, having a preselected "on" temperature and/or humidity set point and a preselected "off" temperature and/or humidity set point to keep light bar housing 10 free of ice formation and condensation,” (column 5, lines 10-29)) the threshold temperature difference of 10 degrees Celsius (as disclosed above in relation to the formation of condensation and temperature differences, the relationship between condensation formation, ambient temperature, and humidity is governed by well-understood physical principles, including dew-point behavior. selection of specific temperature difference such as 10 degrees Celsius from among a finite range of effective temperature differentials in relation to environmental conditions would have been a matter of Routine Optimization (see MPEP 2144.05 II. B.), yielding no unexpected results. Accordingly, the claimed temperature difference does not impart patentable distinction over the prior art).
The advantage of a self-regulating heater configured to vary its heat output in response to an output of the temperature sensor, having the threshold temperature difference of 10 degrees Celsius, is to prevent an apparatus from reaching temperatures that inhibit operation “a variety of conditions can exist in the service environment for these types of lighting systems which can create problems. Visibility can be decreased as the lenses are covered by ice and snow. Accumulation of moisture within the lighting system can reduce visibility, cause corrosion, short out electrical components, or freeze in the gears of the reflector motors.” (column 2, lines 35-46), while providing protection against overly high temperatures directly at the heater “a type with a self limiting heat output may be utilized. This type of heating unit has a characteristic of increased resistance as its temperature increases. At higher temperatures its amperage drops drastically, thus limiting its ultimate heat output.” (abstract).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Iguichi and Bigham before him or her, to modify the electronics heating components of Iguichi to include the self-regulating electronics heater of Bigham, because providing an electronic or mechanical device with a heat source that self-regulates prevents overly high temperature directly at the heater.
Iguichi as modified is silent regarding a temperature sensor configured to detect the temperature of an environment external to the housing
However Tice teaches a temperature sensor configured to detect the temperature of an environment external to the housing (temperature sensor in relation to limiting condensation to optical sensor components, emphasis added “The detector also contains circuitry that is used, at least in part, to control a heater in or adjacent to the sensing chamber such that it will heat the reflector when power is applied to the heater. At least one environmental sensor can be used to sense a predetermined characteristic of the environment. The sensor is connected to circuitry that can control the heater as a function of that characteristic. The environmental sensor may be one of a class of temperature sensor, humidity sensor, condensation sensor, or another type of sensor that provides information that can be used to assess the potential for condensation to occur on the reflector.” [0018], the sensor anticipated to housing external application “In another embodiment, the environmental sensor can be implemented as a condensation sensor. Since this sensor is essentially external of the sensing chamber, it will respond first to environmental conditions such that power can be applied to the heater to warm the reflector before condensation occurs on the reflector.” [0025]).
The advantage of a temperature sensor configured to detect the temperature of an environment external to the housing, is to provide input to heater before the temperature surrounding the heater is effected by changes external to the housing “In another embodiment, the environmental sensor can be implemented as a condensation sensor. Since this sensor is essentially external of the sensing chamber, it will respond first to environmental conditions such that power can be applied to the heater to warm the reflector before condensation occurs on the reflector.” [0025].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Iguichi as modified and Tice before him or her, to modify condensation limiting heater system of Iguichi to include the temperature sensor at an external to housing location of Tice, because an external temperature sensor is exposed to the changing temperature of the environment and enables more precise control of the temperature differential used for limiting the formation of condensation.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iguchi in view of Bigham and Tice and in further view of Chatterjee.
Regarding claim 10, Iguchi discloses the smoke detector as claimed in claim 4, Iguchi is silent regarding further comprising a regulator configured to supply the heater with a voltage.
However Chatterjee teaches further comprising a regulator (buck boost, emphasis added “the unified electronics includes (i) AC to DC conversion circuits and elements that convert an alternating input of various voltage ranges and frequencies (e.g. domestic and international outlets-e.g. 90-250 v; 50-60 Hz) into a DC signal; (ii) DC regulation circuits, to buck, boost or otherwise regulate incoming DC power signal (e.g. 12-24 volts) and output DC.” [0034]) configured to supply the heater with a voltage (regulation of DC voltage to electronics from AC power supply as disclosed above [0034]).
The advantage of a regulator configured to supply the heater with a voltage, is to provide electronics with regulated usable DC power from a standardized AC power source “a regulator configured to supply the heater with a voltage” [0034].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Iguchi as modified and Chatterjee before him or her, to modify the undisclosed power regulation of Iguchi with standardized AC to regulated DC for electronics of Chatterjee, because transforming standardized AC to regulated DC permits electronic systems to operate.
Regarding claim 11, Iguchi as modified teaches the smoke detector as claimed in claim 10, Iguchi as already modified teaches wherein the regulator comprises a buck boost regulator (as already modifying Chatterjee teaches a buck boost regulator, emphasis added “the unified electronics includes (i) AC to DC conversion circuits and elements that convert an alternating input of various voltage ranges and frequencies (e.g. domestic and international outlets-e.g. 90-250 v; 50-60 Hz) into a DC signal; (ii) DC regulation circuits, to buck, boost or otherwise regulate incoming DC power signal (e.g. 12-24 volts) and output DC.” [0034]).
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iguchi in view of Bigham, Tice and Chatterjee and in further view of Anderson.
Regarding claim 12, Iguchi as modified teaches the smoke detector as claimed in claim 10, Iguchi as modified is silent regarding wherein the regulator is configured to limit a maximum current provided to the heater.
However Anderson teaches wherein the regulator is configured to limit a maximum current provided to the heater (Power management to include buck boost “The integrated power management unit 3200 can include LDO regulators 3240, switching step-down down-converter 3245 (e.g., buck), and boost converter 3250. The integrated power management unit 3200 can include analog to digital converter (ADC) 3255 for monitoring of system voltages and currents as provided by the power management unit 3200. The ADC 3255 can monitor the die and remote NTC temperatures monitoring system temperatures in order to implement protection mechanisms, as described more fully below.” [0415], managed current output to heater “the integrated heater control can 3205 include registers for configuring operational parameters (including performance and safety parameters) such as overvoltage protection (OVP), overcurrent protection (OCP), current limits, hardware timeouts, and the like.” [0437]).
The advantage of wherein the regulator is configured to limit a maximum current provided to the heater is to provide overcurrent protection and or current limits associated to the heater “the integrated heater control can 3205 include registers for configuring operational parameters (including performance and safety parameters) such as overvoltage protection (OVP), overcurrent protection (OCP), current limits, hardware timeouts, and the like.” [0437].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Iguchi as modified and Anderson before him or her, to modify the undisclosed power regulation of Iguchi with current regulation/protection of Anderson, because providing current limits to a heater enables over current protection and currents within an operating range of the heater.
Conclusion
Examiner remarks:
As explanatory context to response to arguments regarding metal plates and not relied upon as prior art, Examiner notes, manual fire alarm housing and internal mounting structures are commonly formed of metal, based on long-established industry practice relating to fire resistance and durability. Industry standards such as the Alarm and Signaling Code NFPA 72 reflect these practices regarding material choice.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Spencer H. Kirkwood/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761