Response to Arguments
Applicant remarks dated 10/20/2025 have been considered but are moot in view of arguments presented.
As to priority date, JP7662769B2 has priority date March 31, 2021 and the relevant details used in previous rejection are present in priority doc JP7662769B2 as detailed below.
As to applicant arguments to Claim 1, “With regard to this feature, the Office Action cites Muhammad at 0035. As further discussed below, Applicant respectfully submits that this rejection fails because the cited version of Muhammad does not teach the feature at least as amended, and the cited version of Muhammad is after the priority date and relevant features of Muhammad are not supported in Muhammad's priority document (JP 2021-059615).”
JP7662769B2 Teaches in [31] -In S4, in preparation for connecting the communication device 2 to the roaming network 1R for priority communication according to the judgment result in S3, the radio access technology (RAT) and the public land mobile network (PLMN) are changed from those of the home network 1H (NW#1) to those of the roaming network 1R (NW#2). Here the word “change’ is used similarly to the word “switch” in rejection. Para [31] teaches prioritizing communication from to the roaming network 1R(=first network) for priority communication. 1H being second network.
As to applicant argument to claim 1” The OA appears to ignore the 2nd and 3rd items on the list. Applicant has amended the claim to include an "and" and respectfully submits that ignoring the other items on the list is now clearly beyond a broadest reasonable interpretation.”
The amendment to Claim 1 whether a PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell and of is addressed by Lee ,
whether a PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell; [62]- For example, the UE 120 may fall back to the 4G/LTE RAT, may move to a frequency associated with the 4G/LTE RAT(=second RAT is available as a non standalone cell ), may fall back to a non-standalone mode.
whether the HPLMN also provides cellular service using the first RAT; in response to determinations a) that the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell and [62]- In some aspects, the UE 120 may move to 4G/LTE(=second RAT) based at least in part on blocking the 5G/NR PLMN(=first RAT). For example, the UE 120 may fall back to the 4G/LTE RAT, may move to a frequency associated with the 4G/LTE RAT(=second RAT), may fall back to a non-standalone mode( = second RAT is available as a non-standalone cell ) with 4G/LTE connectivity.
b) that the HPLMN only provides cellular service according to the second RAT, determining that the second RAT is prioritized for obtaining cellular service from the one or more PLMN; [74]- the UE 120 may switch to the LTE RAT. The UE 120 may use any technique to switch to the LTE RAT, such as blocking a PLMN identity of the NR RAT(=determining that the second RAT is prioritized for obtaining cellular service), disabling an N1 mode or a 5G NR capability of the UE 120, or lowering a cell reselection priority of NR frequencies(=obtaining cellular service from the one or more PLMN). Lee teaches PLMN but not specifically teach the second RAT( 4G/LTE) as HPLMN, Muhammad in view of Lee teaches second RAT as a HPLMN.
Muhammad priority date of art JP7662769B2 and the presence of two networks with “change’ or switch being available in this art makes the arguments moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8,12-14,21-23,24,28-32,33,35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muhammad et al. (US20240188187A1) in view of Lee et al. (US20210136631A1)
Regarding Claim 8, Muhammad teaches, A method, comprising: determining whether to prioritize obtaining cellular service from one or more public land mobile network(PLMN) using a first radio access technology (RAT) or a second RAT, wherein a home public land mobile network (HPLMN) provides cellular service using the second RAT, wherein whether to prioritize obtaining cellular service using the first RAT or the second RAT is determined based at least in part on one or more cellular network characteristics of the one or more PLMN Fig4 [35] In S4, the radio access technology (RAT) and the Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) are switched from the home network 1H (NW#1)
(=NW#1 is second RAT in rejection w HPLMN), to the roaming network 1R (NW#2) to prepare for the connection of the communicator 2 to the roaming network 1R for the priority communication (=prioritize obtaining cellular service using the first RAT) according to the decision in S3. In this way, high-priority communication can be executed on the roaming network 1R with high communication quality (=determined based at least in part on one or more cellular network characteristics of the one or more PLMN).Fig 1 shows UEs connected to multiple PLMN networks 111a, 121,111b,111c.
and establishing a wireless link with a cellular base station of the one or more PLMN according to the determination that the second RAT is prioritized. [35]- the radio access technology is changed from NR or 5G NR in 5G to LTE or LTE-Advanced in 4G (=establishing a wireless link with a cellular base station of the one or more PLMN). In this way, high-priority communication can be executed on the roaming network 1R with high communication quality (=determination that the second RAT is prioritized).
Muhammad does not teach, whether a PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell; whether the HPLMN also provides cellular service using the first RAT;in response to determinations a) that the cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell b) that the HPLMN only provides cellular service according to the second RAT, determining that the second RAT is prioritized for obtaining cellular service from the one or more PLMN.
Lee teaches, whether a PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell; [62]- For example, the UE 120 may fall back to the 4G/LTE RAT, may move to a frequency associated with the 4G/LTE RAT(=second RAT is available as a non standalone cell ), may fall back to a non-standalone mode
whether the HPLMN also provides cellular service using the first RAT; in response to determinations a) that the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell and [62]- In some aspects, the UE 120 may move to 4G/LTE(=second RAT) based at least in part on blocking the 5G/NR PLMN(=first RAT). For example, the UE 120 may fall back to the 4G/LTE RAT, may move to a frequency associated with the 4G/LTE RAT(=second RAT), may fall back to a non-standalone mode( = second RAT is available as a non-standalone cell ) with 4G/LTE connectivity.
b) that the HPLMN only provides cellular service according to the second RAT, determining that the second RAT is prioritized for obtaining cellular service from the one or more PLMN; [74]- the UE 120 may switch to the LTE RAT. The UE 120 may use any technique to switch to the LTE RAT, such as blocking a PLMN identity of the NR RAT(=determining that the second RAT is prioritized for obtaining cellular service), disabling an N1 mode or a 5G NR capability of the UE 120, or lowering a cell reselection priority of NR frequencies(=obtaining cellular service from the one or more PLMN). Lee teaches PLMN but not specifically teach the second RAT( 4G/LTE) as HPLMN, Muhammad in view of Lee teaches second RAT as a HPLMN.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Muhammad , whether a PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell; whether the HPLMN also provides cellular service using the first RAT;in response to determinations a) that the cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell b) that the HPLMN only provides cellular service according to the second RAT, determining that the second RAT is prioritized for obtaining cellular service from the one or more PLMN. as taught by Lee to add a second connection to a different RAT due to RAT capability determination based on network characteristics.
Regarding Claim 12, Muhammad does not teach, The method of claim 8 wherein whether the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell is determined based at least in part on system information provided by the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT
Lee teaches, The method of claim 8 wherein whether the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell is determined based at least in part on system information provided by the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT.[52]- system information identifying the broadcast/multicast service while covered by a cell associated with the corresponding cell identifier.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Muhammad , The method of claim 8 wherein whether the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell is determined based at least in part on system information provided by the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT as taught by Lee to add a second connection to a different RAT due to RAT capability determination based on network characteristics.
Regarding Claim 13, Muhammad does not teach, The method of claim 8 wherein whether the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell is determined based at least in part on information stored by a wireless device indicating cell characteristics for the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RATwherein the information stored by the wireless device is based on one or more of a previous wireless link between the wireless device and the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT or aggregated data from multiple wireless devices
Lee teaches, The method of of claim 8 wherein whether the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell is determined based at least in part on information stored by a wireless device indicating cell characteristics for the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT[55]- usage of a broadcast/multicast service by switching from a 5G standalone mode to a frequency associated with 4G/LTE, or by enabling a non-standalone mode or a 4G standalone mode
wherein the information stored by the wireless device is based on one or more of a previous wireless link between the wireless device and the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT or aggregated data from multiple wireless devices.[52]- for switching from the second RAT to the first RAT(=previous wireless link) based at least in part on initiating the broadcast/multicast application; means for unblocking a public land mobile network (PLMN) of the second RAT.the method of The method of wherein the first RAT is long term evolution (LTE), wherein the second RAT is New Radio (NR) Standalone (SA).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Muhammad , The method claim 8 wherein whether the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell is determined based at least in part on information stored by a wireless device indicating cell characteristics for the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT wherein the information stored by the wireless device is based on one or more of a previous wireless link between the wireless device and the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT or aggregated data from multiple wireless devices as taught by Lee to add a second connection to a different RAT due to RAT capability determination based on network characteristics.
Regarding Claim 14, Muhammad teaches, The method of of claim 8 wherein the first RAT is long term evolution (LTE), wherein the second RAT is New Radio (NR) Standalone (SA).[35]- For example, if the home network 1H is a 5G wireless communication network and the roaming network 1R is a 4G wireless communication network.
Regarding Claim 21, Muhammad teaches The method of claim 8, wherein the one or more cellular network characteristics includes whether the cellular network operates according to the first RAT or the second RAT. [35]- For example, if the home network 1H is a 5G wireless communication network and the roaming network 1R is a 4G wireless communication network, the radio access technology is changed from NR or 5G NR in 5G to LTE or LTE
Regarding Claim 22, Muhammad does not teach, The method of claim 8, wherein the one or more cellular network characteristics reflect whether prioritizing the first RAT and/or deprioritizing the second RAT would result in less power consumption than prioritizing the second RAT.
Lee teaches, The method of claim 8, wherein the one or more cellular network characteristics reflect whether prioritizing the first RAT and/or deprioritizing the second RAT would result in less power consumption than prioritizing the second RAT. [40]- different types of BSs may have different transmit power levels, different coverage areas, and different impacts on interference in the wireless network.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Muhammad , The method of claim 8, wherein the one or more cellular network characteristics reflect whether prioritizing the first RAT and/or deprioritizing the second RAT would result in less power consumption than prioritizing the second RAT as taught by Lee to add a second connection to a different RAT due to RAT capability determination based on network characteristics.
Regarding Claim 23, Muhammad teaches The method of claim 8, wherein the one or more cellular network characteristics include a performance characteristic. [35]- In this way, high-priority communication can be executed on the roaming network 1R with high communication quality.
Regarding Claim 24, Muhammad teaches, An apparatus, comprising: a processor configured to, when executing instructions stored in a memory, perform operations comprising:determining whether to prioritize obtaining cellular service from one or more public land mobile network (PLMN) using a first radio access technology (RAT) or a second RAT, wherein a home public land mobile network (HPLMN) provides cellular service using the second RAT, wherein whether to prioritize obtaining cellular service using the first RAT or the second RAT is determined based at least in part on:one or more cellular network characteristics of the one or more PLMN Fig4 [35] In S4, the radio access technology (RAT) and the Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) are switched from the home network 1H (NW#1)
(=NW#1 is second RAT in rejection w HPLMN), to the roaming network 1R (NW#2) to prepare for the connection of the communicator 2 to the roaming network 1R for the priority communication (=prioritize obtaining cellular service using the first RAT) according to the decision in S3. In this way, high-priority communication can be executed on the roaming network 1R with high communication quality(=determined based at least in part on one or more cellular network characteristics of the one or more PLMN).Fig 1 shows UEs connected to multiple PLMN networks 111a, 121,111b,111c.
And establishing a wireless link with a cellular base station of the one or more PLMN according to the determination that the second RAT is prioritized. [35]- the radio access technology is changed from NR or 5G NR in 5G to LTE or LTE-Advanced in 4G (=establishing a wireless link with a cellular base station of the one or more PLMN). In this way, high-priority communication can be executed on the roaming network 1R with high communication quality (=determination that the second RAT is prioritized).
Muhammad does not teach, whether a PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell;whether the HPLMN also provides cellular service using the first RAT;in response to determinations a) that the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell b) that the HPLMN only provides cellular service according to the second RAT, determining that the second RAT is prioritized for obtaining cellular service from the one or more PLMN;
Lee teaches, whether a PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell; [62]- For example, the UE 120 may fall back to the 4G/LTE RAT, may move to a frequency associated with the 4G/LTE RAT(=second RAT is available as a non standalone cell ), may fall back to a non-standalone mode
whether the HPLMN also provides cellular service using the first RAT;in response to determinations a) that the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell; [62]- In some aspects, the UE 120 may move to 4G/LTE(=second RAT) based at least in part on blocking the 5G/NR PLMN(=first RAT). For example, the UE 120 may fall back to the 4G/LTE RAT, may move to a frequency associated with the 4G/LTE RAT(=second RAT), may fall back to a non-standalone mode( = second RAT is available as a non-standalone cell ) with 4G/LTE connectivity.
b) that the HPLMN only provides cellular service according to the second RAT, determining that the second RAT is prioritized for obtaining cellular service from the one or more PLMN; [74]- the UE 120 may switch to the LTE RAT. The UE 120 may use any technique to switch to the LTE RAT, such as blocking a PLMN identity of the NR RAT(=determining that the second RAT is prioritized for obtaining cellular service), disabling an N1 mode or a 5G NR capability of the UE 120, or lowering a cell reselection priority of NR frequencies(=obtaining cellular service from the one or more PLMN). Lee teaches PLMN but not specifically teach the second RAT( 4G/LTE) as HPLMN, Muhammad in view of Lee teaches second RAT as a HPLMN.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Muhammad whether a PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell;whether the HPLMN also provides cellular service using the first RAT;in response to determinations a) that the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell b) that the HPLMN only provides cellular service according to the second RAT, determining that the second RAT is prioritized for obtaining cellular service from the one or more PLMNas taught by Lee to add a second connection to a different RAT due to RAT capability determination based on network characteristics.
Regarding Claim 28, Muhammad does not teach, The apparatus of claim 24 wherein whether the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell is determined based at least in part on system information provided by the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT.
Lee teaches, The method of The method of wherein whether the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell is determined based at least in part on system information provided by the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT.[52]- system information identifying the broadcast/multicast service while covered by a cell associated with the corresponding cell identifier.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Muhammad , The method of The method of wherein whether the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell is determined based at least in part on system information provided by the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT.[52]- system information identifying the broadcast/multicast service while covered by a cell associated with the corresponding cell identifier as taught by Lee to add a second connection to a different RAT due to RAT capability determination based on network characteristics.
Regarding Claim 29, Muhammad does not teach, The apparatus of claim 24 wherein whether the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell is determined based at least in part on information stored by a wireless device indicating cell characteristics for the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT, wherein the information stored by the wireless device is based on one or more of a previous wireless link between the wireless device and the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT or aggregated data from multiple wireless devices.
Lee teaches, The apparatus of claim 24 wherein whether the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell is determined based at least in part on information stored by a wireless device indicating cell characteristics for the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT, [55]- usage of a broadcast/multicast service by switching from a 5G standalone mode to a frequency associated with 4G/LTE, or by enabling a non-standalone mode or a 4G standalone mode
wherein the information stored by the wireless device is based on one or more of a previous wireless link between the wireless device and the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT or aggregated data from multiple wireless devices.[52]- for switching from the second RAT to the first RAT(=previous wireless link) based at least in part on initiating the broadcast/multicast application; means for unblocking a public land mobile network (PLMN) of the second RAT.the method of The method of wherein the first RAT is long term evolution (LTE), wherein the second RAT is New Radio (NR) Standalone (SA).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Muhammad , The apparatus of claim 24 wherein whether the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell is determined based at least in part on information stored by a wireless device indicating cell characteristics for the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT, wherein the information stored by the wireless device is based on one or more of a previous wireless link between the wireless device and the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT or aggregated data from multiple wireless devices.as taught by Lee to add a second connection to a different RAT due to RAT capability determination based on network characteristics.
Regarding Claim 30, Muhammad teaches , The apparatus of The apparatus of wherein the first RAT is long term evolution (LTE), wherein the second RAT is New Radio (NR) Standalone (SA). [35]- For example, if the home network 1H is a 5G wireless communication network and the roaming network 1R is a 4G wireless communication network, the radio access technology is changed from NR or 5G NR in 5G to LTE or LTE
Regarding Claim 31, Muhammad teaches, The apparatus of claim 24, wherein the one or more cellular network characteristics includes whether the cellular network operates according to the first RAT or the second RAT. [55]- usage of a broadcast/multicast service by switching from a 5G standalone mode to a frequency associated with 4G/LTE, or by enabling a non-standalone mode or a 4G standalone mode
Regarding Claim 32, Muhammad does not teach, The apparatus of claim 24, wherein the one or more cellular network characteristics reflect whether prioritizing the first RAT and/or deprioritizing the second RAT would result in less power consumption than prioritizing the second RAT.
Lee teaches, The apparatus of claim 24, wherein the one or more cellular network characteristics reflect whether prioritizing the first RAT and/or deprioritizing the second RAT would result in less power consumption than prioritizing the second RAT [40]- different types of BSs may have different transmit power levels, different coverage areas, and different impacts on interference in the wireless network.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Muhammad , The apparatus of claim 24, wherein the one or more cellular network characteristics reflect whether prioritizing the first RAT and/or deprioritizing the second RAT would result in less power consumption than prioritizing the second RAT as taught by Lee to add a second connection to a different RAT due to RAT capability determination based on network characteristics.
Regarding Claim 33, Muhammad teaches, A wireless device, comprising: a radio; and a processor communicatively coupled to the radio, wherein the radio and the processor are configured to perform operations comprising: determining whether to prioritize obtaining cellular service from one or more public land mobile network (PLMN) using a first radio access technology (RAT) or a second RAT, wherein a home public land mobile network (HPLMN) provides cellular service using the second RAT, wherein whether to prioritize obtaining cellular service using the first RAT or the second RAT is determined based at least in part on: one or more cellular network characteristics of the one or more PLMN;Fig4 [35] In S4, the radio access technology (RAT) and the Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) are switched from the home network 1H (NW#1)
(=NW#1 is second RAT in rejection w HPLMN), to the roaming network 1R (NW#2) to prepare for the connection of the communicator 2 to the roaming network 1R for the priority communication (=prioritize obtaining cellular service using the first RAT) according to the decision in S3. In this way, high-priority communication can be executed on the roaming network 1R with high communication quality(=determined based at least in part on one or more cellular network characteristics of the one or more PLMN).Fig 1 shows UEs connected to multiple PLMN networks 111a, 121,111b,111c.
And establishing a wireless link with a cellular base station of the one or more PLMN according to the determination that the second RAT is prioritized. [35]- the radio access technology is changed from NR or 5G NR in 5G to LTE or LTE-Advanced in 4G (=establishing a wireless link with a cellular base station of the one or more PLMN). In this way, high-priority communication can be executed on the roaming network 1R with high communication quality (=determination that the second RAT is prioritized).
Muhammad does not teach, whether a PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell; whether the HPLMN also provides cellular service using the first RAT in response to determinations a) that the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell b) that the HPLMN only provides cellular service according to the second RAT, determining that the second RAT is prioritized for obtaining cellular service from the one or more PLMN;
.
Lee teaches, whether a PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell; [62]- For example, the UE 120 may fall back to the 4G/LTE RAT, may move to a frequency associated with the 4G/LTE RAT(=second RAT is available as a non standalone cell ), may fall back to a non-standalone mode
whether the HPLMN also provides cellular service using the first RAT; in response to determinations a) that the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell and [62]- In some aspects, the UE 120 may move to 4G/LTE(=second RAT) based at least in part on blocking the 5G/NR PLMN(=first RAT). For example, the UE 120 may fall back to the 4G/LTE RAT, may move to a frequency associated with the 4G/LTE RAT(=second RAT), may fall back to a non-standalone mode( = second RAT is available as a non-standalone cell ) with 4G/LTE connectivity.
b) that the HPLMN only provides cellular service according to the second RAT, determining that the second RAT is prioritized for obtaining cellular service from the one or more PLMN; [74]- the UE 120 may switch to the LTE RAT. The UE 120 may use any technique to switch to the LTE RAT, such as blocking a PLMN identity of the NR RAT(=determining that the second RAT is prioritized for obtaining cellular service), disabling an N1 mode or a 5G NR capability of the UE 120, or lowering a cell reselection priority of NR frequencies(=obtaining cellular service from the one or more PLMN). Lee teaches PLMN but not specifically teach the second RAT( 4G/LTE) as HPLMN, Muhammad in view of Lee teaches second RAT as a HPLMN.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Muhammad , whether a PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell; whether the HPLMN also provides cellular service using the first RAT in response to determinations a) that the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell as taught by Lee to add a second connection to a different RAT due to RAT capability determination based on network characteristics.
Regarding Claim 35, Muhammad does not teach, The wireless device of claim 33 wherein whether the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell is determined based at least in part on system information provided by the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT.
Lee teaches, The wireless device of claim 33 wherein whether the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell is determined based at least in part on system information provided by the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT.[52]- system information identifying the broadcast/multicast service while covered by a cell associated with the corresponding cell identifier.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Muhammad , The wireless device of claim 33 wherein whether the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell is determined based at least in part on system information provided by the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT.as taught by Lee to add a second connection to a different RAT due to RAT capability determination based on network characteristics.
Regarding Claim 36, Muhammad does not teach, The wireless device of The wireless device of wherein whether the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell is determined based at least in part on information stored by a wireless device indicating cell characteristics for the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT, wherein the information stored by the wireless device is based on one or more of a previous wireless link between the wireless device and the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT or aggregated data from multiple wireless devices.
Lee teaches, The wireless device of The wireless device of wherein whether the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell is determined based at least in part on information stored by a wireless device indicating cell characteristics for the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT [55]- usage of a broadcast/multicast service by switching from a 5G standalone mode to a frequency associated with 4G/LTE, or by enabling a non-standalone mode or a 4G standalone mode
wherein the information stored by the wireless device is based on one or more of a previous wireless link between the wireless device and the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT or aggregated data from multiple wireless devices.[52]- for switching from the second RAT to the first RAT(=previous wireless link) based at least in part on initiating the broadcast/multicast application; means for unblocking a public land mobile network (PLMN) of the second RAT.the method of The method of wherein the first RAT is long term evolution (LTE), wherein the second RAT is New Radio (NR) Standalone (SA).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Muhammad , The wireless device of The wireless device of wherein whether the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT is available as a non standalone cell is determined based at least in part on information stored by a wireless device indicating cell characteristics for the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT, wherein the information stored by the wireless device is based on one or more of a previous wireless link between the wireless device and the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT or aggregated data from multiple wireless devices as taught by Lee to add a second connection to a different RAT due to RAT capability determination based on network characteristics.
Regarding Claim 37, Muhammad teaches The wireless device of The wireless device of wherein the first RAT is long term evolution (LTE), wherein the second RAT is New Radio (NR) Standalone (SA). [35]- For example, if the home network 1H is a 5G wireless communication network and the roaming network 1R is a 4G wireless communication network, the radio access technology is changed from NR or 5G NR in 5G to LTE or LTE.
Claim 11,27,34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muhammad et al. (US20240188187A1) in view of Lee et al. (US20210136631A1) in further view of Xin et al. ( US20240064864A1)
Regarding Claim 11,Muhammad in view of Lee does not teach, The method of claim 8, wherein the method further comprises: performing one or more cell measurements on a PLMN cell that operates according to the first RAT; and second RAT, wherein whether to prioritize obtaining cellular service from the one or more PLMN using the first RAT or the second RAT is determined based at least in part on the one or more cell measurements on the PLMN cell that operates according to the first RAT and the one or more cell measurements on the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT.
Xin teaches, The method of claim 8, wherein the method further comprises: performing one or more cell measurements on a PLMN cell that operates according to the first RAT; and second RAT,[96]- For example, the UE measures signal strength of a frequency or a cell based on the measurement configuration parameter, and determines a measurement result
wherein whether to prioritize obtaining cellular service from the one or more PLMN using the first RAT or the second RAT is determined based at least in part on the one or more cell measurements on the PLMN cell that operates according to the first RAT and the one or more cell measurements on the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT.[97]- S203: The first access network device determines a second access network device based on the measurement report, an operation strategy, a PLMN supported by the UE, or the like. The second access network device is an access network device, for example, a target base station, to which the UE is to switch.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Muhammad in view of Lee, The method of claim 8, wherein the method further comprises: performing one or more cell measurements on a PLMN cell that operates according to the first RAT; and second RAT, wherein whether to prioritize obtaining cellular service from the one or more PLMN using the first RAT or the second RAT is determined based at least in part on the one or more cell measurements on the PLMN cell that operates according to the first RAT and the one or more cell measurements on the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT as taught by Xin to add a second connection to a different RAT due to RAT capability determination based on network characteristics.
Though Xin does not teach the one or more PLMN, Muhammad teaches in [38]- which will be a trigger to expand the home network 1H and/or to strengthen alliance with a new roaming network 1R as a high-priority issue to be tackled as soon as possible(=service from the one or more PLMN.
Regarding Claim 27, Muhammad in view of Lee does not teach, The apparatus of claim 24, wherein the operations further comprise: first RAT; and performing one or more cell measurements on a PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT, wherein whether to prioritize obtaining cellular service from the one or more PLMN using the first RAT or the second RAT is determined based at least in part on the one or more cell measurements on the PLMN cell that operates according to the first RAT and the one or more cell measurements on the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT.
Xin teaches, The apparatus of claim 24, wherein the operations further comprise: first RAT; and performing one or more cell measurements on a PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT,[96]- For example, the UE measures signal strength of a frequency or a cell based on the measurement configuration parameter, and determines a measurement result
wherein whether to prioritize obtaining cellular service from the one or more PLMN using the first RAT or the second RAT is determined based at least in part on the one or more cell measurements on the PLMN cell that operates according to the first RAT and the one or more cell measurements on the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT.[97]- S203: The first access network device determines a second access network device based on the measurement report, an operation strategy, a PLMN supported by the UE, or the like. The second access network device is an access network device, for example, a target base station, to which the UE is to switch.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Muhammad in view of Lee, The apparatus of claim 24, wherein the operations further comprise: first RAT; and performing one or more cell measurements on a PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT, wherein whether to prioritize obtaining cellular service from the one or more PLMN using the first RAT or the second RAT is determined based at least in part on the one or more cell measurements on the PLMN cell that operates according to the first RAT and the one or more cell measurements on the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT as taught by Xin to add a second connection to a different RAT due to RAT capability determination based on network characteristics.
Though Xin does not teach the one or more PLMN, Muhammad teaches in [38]- which will be a trigger to expand the home network 1H and/or to strengthen alliance with a new roaming network 1R as a high-priority issue to be tackled as soon as possible(=service from the one or more PLMN.
Regarding Claim 34, Muhammad in view of Lee does not teach, The wireless device of claim 33, wherein the operations further comprise: performing one or more cell measurements on a PLMN cell that operates according to the first RAT; wherein whether to prioritize obtaining cellular service from the one or more PLMN using the first RAT or the second RAT is determined based at least in part on the one or more cell measurements on the PLMN cell that operates according to the first RAT and the one or more cell measurements on the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT.
Xin teaches, The wireless device of claim 33, wherein the operations further comprise: performing one or more cell measurements on a PLMN cell that operates according to the first RAT;,[96]- For example, the UE measures signal strength of a frequency or a cell based on the measurement configuration parameter, and determines a measurement result
and performing one or more cell measurements on a PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT[97]- The first access network device determines a second access network device based on the measurement report
wherein whether to prioritize obtaining cellular service from the one or more PLMN using the first RAT or the second RAT is determined based at least in part on the one or more cell measurements on the PLMN cell that operates according to the first RAT and the one or more cell measurements on the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT.[97]- S203: The first access network device determines a second access network device based on the measurement report, an operation strategy, a PLMN supported by the UE, or the like. The second access network device is an access network device, for example, a target base station, to which the UE is to switch.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Muhammad in view of Lee, The wireless device of claim 33, wherein the operations further comprise: performing one or more cell measurements on a PLMN cell that operates according to the first RAT; wherein whether to prioritize obtaining cellular service from the one or more PLMN using the first RAT or the second RAT is determined based at least in part on the one or more cell measurements on the PLMN cell that operates according to the first RAT and the one or more cell measurements on the PLMN cell that operates according to the second RAT as taught by Xin to add a second connection to a different RAT due to RAT capability determination based on network characteristics.
Though Xin does not teach the one or more PLMN, Muhammad teaches in [38]- which will be a trigger to expand the home network 1H and/or to strengthen alliance with a new roaming network 1R as a high-priority issue to be tackled as soon as possible(=service from the one or more PLMN.
CONCLUSION
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANINDITA SEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478