Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and associated dependent claims are objected to because of the following informalities: “second model equation” can be amended to be “model equation” so the claims can be numerically consistent without question of whether there is a missing “first model equation”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “positioning device” in claims 1 and 11, which is disclosed as GPS in 0034.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The limitation “determining the current real-time heart rate of the user according to a difference between the current initial heart rate and a heart rate of the user measured at a previous moment” appears to be supported by 0034 and 0036 which describes a preset change index for GPS [positioning device] drift. However, the written description does not adequately describe how the preset change index is determined – the example of “3” given in 0036 does not have any units [is it 3 bpm or 3%?] or any description of how this is set for the preset change index that determines a current real-time user pace when the difference between the current initial heart rate and a heart rate of the user at a previous moment is too large. Additionally, 0036 does not seem to support a heart rate of the user “measured” at a previous moment – it appears 0036 states “tracked” instead. Clarification is requested as to what “measured” encompasses and how it differs from “tracked”.
Claims 1, 11 and associated dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “positioning device” has been evaluated under the three-prong test set forth in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, as discussed above. However, it is unclear whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because Applicant in Remarks dated 2/6/26 states that the term “when read in light of the specification connote sufficient structure…” without indicating what that “sufficient structure” is, or how the term is supposed to be interpreted in light of how GPS drift corrections are disclosed in the specification. Consequently, the boundaries of this claim limitation are ambiguous; therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
In response to this rejection, applicant must clarify whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Mere assertion regarding applicant’s intent to invoke or not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph is insufficient. Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim to clearly invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by reciting “means” or a generic placeholder for means, or by reciting “step.” The “means,” generic placeholder, or “step” must be modified by functional language, and must not be modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function;
(b) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, should apply because the claim limitation recites a function to be performed and does not recite sufficient structure, material, or acts to perform that function;
(c) Amend the claim to clearly avoid invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by deleting the function or by reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to perform the recited function; or
(d) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, does not apply because the limitation does not recite a function or does recite a function along with sufficient structure, material or acts to perform that function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Rong”, CN 107595273, in view of “Chen”, CN 107376304.
Regarding claims 1 and 11 [NOTE: claim 11 is rejected under the alternative of “or” as related to the second model equation in parallel with claim 1], Rong discloses a tracking method of an exercise heart rate, applied in a photoelectric heart rate device [“measuring motion intensity through photoelectric sensor measuring heart rate”; “suitable for the heart sensor signal quality is not reliable for estimation of the heart rate, the method performed by a smart wearable device”], comprising:
invoking a pre-established target model equation reflecting a relationship between a user heart rate and a user pace [speed] after the user heart rate currently detected by the photoelectric heart rate device does not meet a preset heart rate standard [S14: “real-time speed and the final stable heart rate relation model, calculating the real-time speed“; “signal quality judging sensor is reliable, if so, according to sensor obtains the motion data calculating the real heart, otherwise, executing step s14”; step S13: “establishing the speed, the heart rate and the actual image relation model of the oxygen content”; invoking a pre-established mathematical relation model reflecting a relationship between user heart rate and user speed (pace) after determining that the heart rate signal from the photoelectric sensor does not meet a reliability standard]; and
inputting a current real-time pace of a user into the pre-established target model equation to obtain a current real-time heart rate of the user [S14: “when needing to estimate the heart rate, the real-time speed of the known current time, can be substituted into the relation model to calculate the stability of the final heart rate under the real-time speed”], wherein the current real-time pace of the user is detected by a positioning device [“obtained for nine sensor data such as speed”];
wherein the pre-established target model equation comprises a second model equation determined according to a relationship between a user heart rate reserve ratio and the user heart rate [S121: “The resting heart rate HRrest, maximum heart rate HRmax and the heart rate HR calculating heart rate reserve percentage”; “heart rate reserve heart rate percentage HRR% = reserve (HRR − heart rate resting heart rate HRrest)/maximum heart rate HRRmax”] and a relationship between the oxygen uptake and the user pace [S122: oxygen amount = 0.23 × speed (m/min) − 9.7985; relating speed to oxygen consumption which determines motion/exercise intensity percentage];
the second model equation is established using the following steps:
obtaining a first formula for calculating the user heart rate reserve ratio by using a real-time heart rate of the user, a resting heart rate of the user and a maximum heart rate of the user [S121: “heart rate reserve heart rate percentage HRR% = reserve (HRR − heart rate resting heart rate HRrest)/maximum heart rate HRRmax” with “maximum heart rate HRRmax = HRmax - maximum heart rate resting heart rate HRrest”] and
a second formula for calculating the oxygen uptake by using a real-time pace of the user [S122: oxygen amount = 0.23×speed (m/min)−9.7985].
Rong did not disclose explicitly that oxygen uptake correlates with the heart rate reserve ratio (HRR%), nor does it explicitly formulate a “second formula” that determines HRR% from real-time pace and maximum oxygen uptake pace.
Chen teaches a similar exercise monitoring device [Background] with the explicit teaching that heart rate reserve percentage [HRR%] correlates with maximum oxygen uptake percentage [step 106; “reserve rate percentage and maximum of the oxygen content percentage is equal in value (i.e. storage rate percentage = maximum oxygen uptake quantity percentage)”].
Since Chen teaches that HRR% = maximum oxygen uptake percentage = VO2/VO2max [“maximum oxygen uptake quantity percentage equal to the target oxygen amount/maximum oxygen uptake quantity”] and Rong discloses that VO2 [oxygen uptake] is a function of real-time pace [speed], then the correlation yields the second formula of: HRR% = f(pace)/ f(VO2max pace)].
Accordingly, the combined teachings would yield the second model equation based on the first formula and the second formula: with first formula HRR% = (HRR - HRrest)/(HRRmax) and second formula = f(pace)/ f(VO2max pace); solving by equating the formulas based on HRR% = f(pace)/ f(VO2max pace) as discussed above would yield heart rate HRR = HRrest + ((HRRmax) * (f(pace)/ f(VO2max pace))).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the explicit teaching of HRR% and oxygen-uptake relationship from Chen with Rong’s disclosure relating oxygen uptake to speed, resulting in the formulas and model equation as discussed. An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to enhance the base device of Rong with the well-known and applicable teachings of Chen to derive a unified model equation that directly equates the heart rate-based HRR% formula to a pace-based oxygen uptake formula suitable for heart rate estimation when the photoelectric sensor is unreliable.
Regarding claim 9, Rong further discloses an electronic apparatus [e.g., Embodiment A] comprising one of more processors [e.g., processing unit 33] and a storage apparatus configured to store one or more programs [Embodiment A, software] executed by the processor(s) perform the tracking method according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Rong further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing a computer program to perform the tracking method according to claim 1 [Embodiment A which comprises hardware and software implicitly includes some memory in order to hold the software].
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rong and Chen in view of "Run Testing - Calculating Your VDOT Pace and Lactate Threshold Heart Rate", 2013, Tri Training Harder (hereinafter Tri Training Harder).
Regarding Claim 5, Rong and Chen do not disclose the method further comprising: determining a corresponding lactate threshold pace by using a standard pace of the user in a standard competition course; and determining a maximum oxygen uptake pace of the user based on the corresponding lactate threshold pace.
Tri Training Harder teaches determining a corresponding lactate threshold pace by using a standard pace of the user in a standard competition course (VDOT Table 1 depicts threshold pace values associated with a race result; Examiner notes race result pace as standard pace, race result distance as standard competition course, and threshold pace as lactate threshold pace that is determined by following the line item associated with a race result pace in the table); and
determining a maximum oxygen uptake pace of the user based on the corresponding lactate threshold pace (VDOT Table 1 depicts VDOT values, corresponding mile pace values and threshold pace values associated with a race result; Page 1, Paragraph [0004], line 1, VDOT is the over-arching name for VO2 Max values (maximum oxygen uptake capacity); Examiner notes mile pace associated with VDOT as maximum oxygen uptake pace which is determined by following the line item associated with the corresponding lactate threshold pace in the table .
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Rong and Chen to include a step to determine the lactate threshold from a standard pace of the user in a standard competition course and to determine a maximum oxygen uptake pace of the user based on the lactate threshold pace. Doing so would allow for the determination of training paces for an individual, as recognized by Tri Training Harder (Page 2, Paragraph [0001], line 2, By determining lactate threshold through conducting a VDOT test, it is possible to deduce the accurate intensities (paces) at which individuals should train at).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 2/6/26 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejections as necessitated by amendments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
“Korhonen”, US Publication 20200129130, teaches collecting beat-to-beat heart rate data and, for each time period, calculating an artifact percentage and a heart-rate value, then qualifying only those periods where the user is verified to be awake and immobile and where the artifact percentage is under a predetermined value. It further indicates that if speed with altitude (via GPS) is measured, VO2max can be determined.
/TSE CHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791