DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 105039691 A to Yuan et al. (Yuan) in view of WO 2016/130675 A1 to Tyagi et al. (Tyagi).
As to claim 1, Yuan teaches a method of recovery near pure lead from an impure metal comprising a target metal, the method comprising combining the impure metal with an electrolyte, for example sodium hydroxide, to form a slurry, the slurry comprising a mixture of the impure metal material and the electrolyte such that the electrolyte does not dissolve the target metal in the impure metal material before performing solid-sate electrolysis (i.e. the metal stays in a slurry), performing solid state electrolysis on the slurry to form target metal deposits, sponge lead, and mechanically separating the target metal from substantially all of the electrolyte and at least some of the residual components by washing and compacting (Paragraphs 0012, 0014, 0017, 0020). However, Yuan fails to teach that the target metal deposits are melting until the target metal is near pure without smelting, instead teaching the use of smelting (Paragraph 0020).
However, Tyagi also discusses the production of lead ingots and teaches that smelting is hazardous, polluting and energy intensive (Paragraph 0003) and teaches that instead of smelting compacted spongy lead can be melted recovering any remaining electrolyte as dross and converted into high purity ingots (Paragraph 0045). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the method of Yuan with the step of melting the target metal deposits and drawings off dross such that the remaining melted target metal is near-pure without smelting in order to avoid the hazardous, polluting and energy intensive smelting step as taught by Tyagi.
As to claim 2, the combination of Yuan and Tyagi teaches the method of claim 1. Yuan further teaches that the method comprises adding at least one supplement chemical, activator, to the slurry prior to performing the slid-state electrolysis (Paragraphs 0012 and 0017).
As to claim 3, the combination of Yuan and Tyagi teaches the method of claim 2. Tyagi further teaches that the dross is mechanically separated, tapped, dissolved and sent through resins, to separate the dross into component materials for additional processing (Paragraphs 0045-0047).
As to claims 4, 5 and 6, the combination of Yuan and Tyagi teaches the method of claim 3. However, Yuan fails to teach that the impure metal material comprises more than one form, instead teaching merely lead oxide (Paragraph 0043). However, Tyagi also teaches the electrolytic generation of high purity lead from waste sources and teaches that a known waste source is used batteries and that this source would comprise all of lead monoxide, lead dioxide and free lead (Paragraph 0026). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to apply the method of Yuan to the battery material of Tyagi as a known source of lead in need of purification, and thus a lead source when the lead formed during electrolysis is drawn from at least three impure forms, lead monoxide, lead dioxide, lead sulfate and free lead.
As to claim 21, Yuan teaches a method of recovery near pure lead from an impure metal comprising a target metal, the method comprising combining the impure metal with an electrolyte, for example sodium hydroxide, to form a slurry, the slurry comprising a mixture of the impure metal material and the electrolyte such that the electrolyte does not dissolve the target metal in the impure metal material before performing solid-sate electrolysis (i.e. the metal stays in a slurry), performing solid state electrolysis on the slurry to form target metal deposits, sponge lead, and mechanically separating the target metal from substantially all of the electrolyte and at least some of the residual components by washing and compacting (Paragraphs 0012, 0014, 0017, 0020).
However, Yuan fails to further teaches that the method comprises desulfurizing the impure metal, nor any specific need for desulfurization. However, Tyagi also discusses the electrolytic recovery of high purity lead and teaches that a known waste source is used batteries and that this source comprises all of lead monoxide, lead dioxide, lead sulfate and free lead (Paragraph 0026). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to apply the method of Yuan to the battery material of Tyagi as a known source of lead in need of purification, and thus a lead source when the lead is present as lead monoxide, lead dioxide, lead sulfate and free lead. Tyagi teaches that the lead monoxide, lead dioxide and free lead are electrolytically recovered and teaches that the lead sulfate should be transformed prior to electrolysis via desulfurization (Paragraphs 0035-0038). Therefore, it would further have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing add a desulfurization step prior to electrolysis to the method in order to ensure recovery form the lead sulfate form of the lead as taught by Tyagi.
As to claim 22, the combination of Yuan and Tyagi teaches the method of claim 21. Yuan further teaches that the method comprises adding at least one supplement chemical, activator, to the slurry prior to performing the slid-state electrolysis (Paragraphs 0012 and 0017).
As to claims 23, 24 and 25, the combination of Yuan and Tyagi teaches the method of claim 22. As discussed above, Tyagi teaches a lead source when the lead formed during electrolysis is drawn from at least three impure forms, lead monoxide, lead dioxide, lead sulfate and free lead.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan in view of Tyagi and further in view of US 2019/0301031 A1 to Clarke et al. (Clarke).
As to claim 29, Yuan teaches a method of recovery near pure lead from an impure metal comprising a target metal, the method comprising combining the impure metal with an electrolyte, for example sodium hydroxide, to form a slurry, the slurry comprising a mixture of the impure metal material and the electrolyte such that the electrolyte does not dissolve the target metal in the impure metal material before performing solid-sate electrolysis (i.e. the metal stays in a slurry), performing solid state electrolysis on the slurry to form target metal deposits, sponge lead, and mechanically separating the target metal from substantially all of the electrolyte and at least some of the residual components by washing and compacting (Paragraphs 0012, 0014, 0017, 0020).
However, Yuan fails to teach that the impure metal material comprises more than one form, instead teaching merely lead oxide (Paragraph 0043). However, Tyagi also discusses the electrolytic recovery of high purity lead and teaches that a known waste source is used batteries and that this source comprises all of lead monoxide, lead dioxide, lead sulfate and free lead (Paragraph 0026). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to apply the method of Yuan to the battery material of Tyagi as a known source of lead in need of purification, and thus a lead source when the lead is present as lead monoxide, lead dioxide, lead sulfate and free lead. Tyagi teaches that the lead monoxide, lead dioxide and free lead are electrolytically recovered and teaches that the lead sulfate should be transformed prior to electrolysis via desulfurization (Paragraphs 0035-0038). Therefore, it would further have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing add a desulfurization step prior to electrolysis to the method in order to ensure recovery form the lead sulfate form of the lead as taught by Tyagi.
However, the combination fails to further teaches that the third impure form of metal comprises lead hydroxide. However, Clarke also discusses the desulfurization of lead acid battery components by contacting lead sulfate with sodium hydroxide to form sodium sulfate and a lead material (as in Tyagi) and teaches that this reaction forms lead hydroxide (Paragraph 0011). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the method of Tyagi would, at least in part, form lead hydroxide as a third impure form of the lead as taught by Clarke.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 and 21-30 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/862,162 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 21, 22 and 23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/232,853 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 21, 22, 23, 24 and 29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/142,567 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 21, 22 and 23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/142,547 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 21, 22 and 23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/142,511 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 21, 22 and 23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/142,534 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
While subject to double patenting rejections, as discussed above, claims 7-10, 26-28 and 30 contain allowable subject matter. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter is the inclusion of the limitations, in a slurry electrolytic process with three impure forms of the target metal, the inclusion of three separate supplemental chemicals that enable solid state electrolysis of the respective impure forms.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 26 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that the prior art fails to teach the limitation that “the electrolyte does not dissolve the target metal in the impure metal material before performing solid-state electrolysis”. However, the Examiner disagrees. It is important to note first that “dissolve” does not inherently equal “does not leach”. It is further important to note that Applicant’s arguments reference that “the target metal instead remains undissolved (unleached) throughout the process”; however, that limitation is not claimed.
Applicants argue that Yuan specifically teaches leaching. However, it is important to note that this is electrolytic leaching of a slurry, thus specifically comprising undissolved components within the slurry and performing solid-state electrolysis of this solids. This leaching thus meets the claim limitation of the electrolyte not dissolving the impure metal material (or at least a portion thereof) before performing solid-state electrolysis, leaching during or after electrolysis begins is not prohibited by the claim limitations.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794