DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/13/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1,
Applicant argues that Lee does not teach the claimed invention because the foreign priority does not qualify as prior art because it does not support.
However, the examiner disagrees because after reviewing the foreign prior art KR 10-2019-0120135, the foreign prior art teaches the limitations cited in Lee (Pub No 20220217641). Lee pg 60-34 states:
In the above cited portions Lee teaches the “3-bit PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback timing indication field” and the offset associated with the PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback timing indicator. This reads upon the claimed limitation. The prior art also mentions feedback for msg b (success rar) on pg 60-37 and RNTI on last line of pg. 60-33).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 10-11, 15-16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (Pub No 20220217641) further in view of Hu (Pub No 20210218539) and Choi (Pub No 20220408429)
Regarding claim 1 and 11,
Xiong teaches A method, comprising:
a transceiver; a processor; and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program to be executed by the processor, the program including instructions to:
receiving, by a terminal device, a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) that carries a random access response, wherein the random access response comprises a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource indicator and a PDSCH-to-hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback (PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback) timing indicator, wherein the PUCCH resource indicator is associated with determination of a frequency domain resource for feeding back HARQ acknowledgement information, wherein the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator is associated with determination of a time domain resource for feeding back the HARQ acknowledgement information; and (interpreted as RAR message received by a UE through a Msg B is successRAR, a PUCCH Tx resource may be indicated by a 4-bit PUCCH resource related indication field in the successRAR and a PUCCH Tx resource may be indicated by a 3-bit PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback timing indication field in the successRAR, see para [0320])
and wherein the random access response includes a radio temporary identifier (RNTI) (interpreted as BS transmits a Msg 4 as a message corresponding to the Msg 4 together with an RAR to the UE, see para [0253]. Also see PDCCH for scheduling a Msg 4 is configured as DCI format 1_0 scrambled with a Temporary Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (TC-RNTI), unlike the case of DCI format 1_0 scrambled with a Random Access-RNTI (RA-RNTI), see para [0302])
sending, by the terminal device, the HARQ acknowledgement information on the frequency domain resource and the time domain resource, wherein a sending slot of the HARQ acknowledgement information is related to an uplink slot corresponding to the last slot of the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), an offset indicated by the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator, and a value that is associated with a subcarrier spacing. (interpreted as Here, the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator is used to indicate a slot interval between a PDSCH including a Msg 4 and a PUCCH including HARQ-ACK to be transmitted by a UE and may indicate a value selected from {0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7}. For example, when a last slot for receiving the PDSCH including the Msg 4 is #n, the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator indicates a value selected from {0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7} as a slot interval k, and the UE transmits the PUCCH including HARQ-ACK in a slot #n+k, see para [0309]. Also see If an offset is indicated to the UE through a MAC Msg B (success RAR), the UE transmits HARQ-ACK on a PUCCH resource having an index increased or decreased by a corresponding offset value, see para [0341]. Also see indicate a bandwidth of PUCCH resource allocation represented as the number of Resource Blocks (RBs) for a PUCCH transmission occasion based on subcarrier spacing (μ), see para [0232])
However does not teach RNTI indicating the frequency domain resource and the time domain resource; last symbol;
Hu teaches RNTI indicating the frequency domain resource and the time domain resource; (interpreted as The network device may map the C-RNTI to a first group of time-frequency resources in the three groups of time-frequency resources, map the CS-RNTI to a second group of time-frequency resources in the three groups of time-frequency resources, and map the MCS-C-RNTI to a third group of time-frequency resources in the three groups of time-frequency resources… may determine, in the N groups of time-frequency resources based on the RNTI scrambling type used for the DCI, a group of time-frequency resources, see para [0190])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the RNTI taught by Lee with the RNTI indicating resources as taught by Hu for the benefit of indicating resources for transmission/reception.
However, Lee in view of Hu do not teach last symbol;
Choi teaches last symbol (interpreted as When it is determined that the value obtained by adding the processing time for HARQ-ACK 1 502 after the last symbol of the PDSCH corresponding to HARQ-ACK 1 502 is located before the first symbol of the transmission time resource of the CQI/SR 511, or without the above determination, the UE may select a PUCCH resource set according to the size of the sum of information bits of the CQI/SR 511 and HARQ-ACK 1502, and may determine a new time resource and frequency resource A of a PUCCH required to transmit the CQI/SR 511 and HARQ-ACK, see para [0145])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the last slot taught by Lee with the last symbol as taught by Choi for the benefit of indicating resources for transmission/reception.
Regarding claim 6 and 16,
Lee teaches A method, comprising:
a transceiver; a processor; and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program to be executed by the processor, the program including instructions to: (para [0336], [0369])
sending, by a network device, a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) that carries a random access response, wherein the random access response comprises a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource indicator and a PDSCH-to-hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback (PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback) timing indicator, wherein the PUCCH resource indicator is associated with determination of a frequency domain resource for feeding back HARQ acknowledgement information, wherein the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator is associated with determination of a time domain resource for feeding back the HARQ acknowledgement information; and wherein the random access response includes a radio temporary identifier (RNTI) (interpreted as RAR message received by a UE through a Msg B is successRAR, a PUCCH Tx resource may be indicated by a 4-bit PUCCH resource related indication field in the successRAR and a PUCCH Tx resource may be indicated by a 3-bit PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback timing indication field in the successRAR, see para [0320])
receiving, by the network device, the HARQ acknowledgement information on the frequency domain resource and the time domain resource, wherein a sending slot of the HARQ acknowledgement information is related to an uplink slot corresponding to the last symbol of the PDSCH, an offset indicated by the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator, and a value that is associated with a subcarrier spacing. (interpreted as Here, the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator is used to indicate a slot interval between a PDSCH including a Msg 4 and a PUCCH including HARQ-ACK to be transmitted by a UE and may indicate a value selected from {0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7}. For example, when a last slot for receiving the PDSCH including the Msg 4 is #n, the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator indicates a value selected from {0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7} as a slot interval k, and the UE transmits the PUCCH including HARQ-ACK in a slot #n+k, see para [0309]. Also see If an offset is indicated to the UE through a MAC Msg B (success RAR), the UE transmits HARQ-ACK on a PUCCH resource having an index increased or decreased by a corresponding offset value, see para [0341]. Also see indicate a bandwidth of PUCCH resource allocation represented as the number of Resource Blocks (RBs) for a PUCCH transmission occasion based on subcarrier spacing (μ), see para [0232])
However, Lee does not teach RNTI indicating the frequency domain resource and the time domain resource; last symbol;
Hu teaches RNTI indicating the frequency domain resource and the time domain resource; (interpreted as The network device may map the C-RNTI to a first group of time-frequency resources in the three groups of time-frequency resources, map the CS-RNTI to a second group of time-frequency resources in the three groups of time-frequency resources, and map the MCS-C-RNTI to a third group of time-frequency resources in the three groups of time-frequency resources… may determine, in the N groups of time-frequency resources based on the RNTI scrambling type used for the DCI, a group of time-frequency resources, see para [0190])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the RNTI taught by Lee with the RNTI indicating resources as taught by Hu for the benefit of indicating resources for transmission/reception.
However, Lee in view of Hu do not teach last symbol;
Choi teaches last symbol (interpreted as When it is determined that the value obtained by adding the processing time for HARQ-ACK 1 502 after the last symbol of the PDSCH corresponding to HARQ-ACK 1 502 is located before the first symbol of the transmission time resource of the CQI/SR 511, or without the above determination, the UE may select a PUCCH resource set according to the size of the sum of information bits of the CQI/SR 511 and HARQ-ACK 1502, and may determine a new time resource and frequency resource A of a PUCCH required to transmit the CQI/SR 511 and HARQ-ACK, see para [0145])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the last slot taught by Lee with the last symbol as taught by Choi for the benefit of indicating resources for transmission/reception.
Regarding claim 5 and 10 and 15 and 20,
Lee teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the RNTI comprises a first field comprising the PUCCH resource indicator, and further comprises a second field comprising PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator. (interpreted as RAR message received by a UE through a Msg B is successRAR, a PUCCH Tx resource may be indicated by a 4-bit PUCCH resource related indication field in the successRAR and a PUCCH Tx resource may be indicated by a 3-bit PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback timing indication field in the successRAR, see para [0320])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2-3, 7-8, 12-13 and 17-18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2 and 7 and 12 and 17,
Lee teaches the method according to claim 1, however does not teach wherein the sending slot of the HARQ acknowledgement information satisfies:
nPUCCH=n+nB+ΔRAR
wherein nPUCCH is the slot in which the terminal device sends the HARQ acknowledgement information, wherein n is the uplink slot corresponding to the last symbol of the PDSCH, wherein nB is the offset indicated by the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator, and wherein ΔRAR is the value associated with the subcarrier spacing.
Regarding claim 3 and 8 and 13 and 18,
Lee does not teach The method according to claim 2, wherein a relationship between ΔRAR and the subcarrier spacing μ is selected from:
μ
ΔRAR
0
2
1
3
2
4
3
6
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461