DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dulle US20150069829A1 (cited in IDS filed 06 May 2022) in view of Zucchini DE102014200997A1 (using machine English translation provided) and further in view of Brand, Martin J., et al. "Detachable electrical connection of battery cells by press contacts." Journal of Energy Storage 8 (2016): 69-77 (hereafter referred to as Brand-2016).
Regarding claim 1, Dulle discloses a control unit for a vehicular battery pack (Dulle, [0078], [0069]) comprising
at least one module provided with a plurality of electrochemical cells supported by a support structure of the vehicular battery pack (Dulle, [0069-0070], Fig. 2, vehicle 10, battery system 20, module 22, housing 50), the examiner notes that the at least one module is disposed within a vehicular battery pack, satisfying the limitation of supported by a support structure of the vehicular battery pack,
the control unit being installable on board the support structure of the battery pack (Dulle, [0078], Fig. 6, assembly 56 and 58, housing 50) and comprising:
a planar support substrate made of an at least partially insulating material (Dulle, [0220]),
a plurality of sensor elements configured to control the operating parameters of the electrochemical cells of the module (Dulle, [0177] and [0189], Figs. 40 and 49, sensors 296 and 226),
wherein at least part of the sensors elements are arranged in two parallel rows so as to be positioned, each, once the unit is installed on board the vehicular battery pack, at a respective terminal pole of each electrochemical cell (Dulle, Figs. 40 and 49, sensors 296 and 226), the examiner notes that the sensors are arranged in two single rows, satisfying the claim limitation,
wherein the sensor elements comprise at least one temperature sensor (Dulle, [0188], Fig. 40, temperature sensors 296) and other sensors to be disposed in close proximity to the battery cells (Dulle, [0189]), the other sensors comprising voltage sensors (Dulle, [0171]), in order to facilitate a relatively simple and inexpensive assembly in addition to reducing space requirements for additional components within the vehicular battery pack (Dulle, [0171], [0177]), which are at a respective terminal pole of each electrochemical cell (Dulle, [0188], Figs. 31 and 40, PCB 136, terminals 230 and 232, apertures 292, sensors 296) to provide relatively accurate temperature monitoring of the battery cells (Dulle, [0189]), satisfying the intended use limitation of configured to detect temperature at a respective terminal pole, as the temperature sensors of Dulle are capable of performing the intended use. The Courts have held that if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). The Courts have held that it is well settled that the recitation of a new intended use, for an old product, does not make a claim to that old product patentable. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2114).
Dulle however is not directed toward the type of temperature sensor.
In a control unit for a vehicular battery pack Zucchini teaches at least one module provided with a plurality of electrochemical cells supported by a support structure of the vehicular battery pack (Zucchini, [0001], [0035]), a plurality of sensor elements configured to control the operating parameters of the electrochemical cells of the module and arranged in two single rows (Zucchini, [0044], Fig. 1, sensor 420) and wherein the temperature sensors are configured to detect temperature at a respective terminal pole (Zucchini, [0015]). Zucchini additionally teaches wherein the temperature sensor is an infrared sensor in order to allow the temperature measurements to be recorded without contact (Zucchini, [0013]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the temperature sensor of Dulle with the teaching of Zucchini wherein the temperature sensor is an infrared sensor thereby allowing the temperature measurements to be recorded without contact.
As set forth above, modified Dulle teaches wherein the sensor elements comprise at least one temperature sensor (Dulle, [0188], Fig. 40, temperature sensors 296) and other sensors to be disposed in close proximity to the battery cells (Dulle, [0189]), the other sensors comprising voltage sensors (Dulle, [0171]), in order to facilitate a relatively simple and inexpensive assembly in addition to reducing space requirements for additional components within the vehicular battery pack (Dulle, [0171], [0177]), which are at a respective terminal pole of each electrochemical cell (Dulle, [0188], Figs. 31 and 40, PCB 136, terminals 230 and 232, apertures 292, sensors 296) and further teaches the voltage sensing devices are connecting via soldering and/or welding (Dulle, [0171]), teaching wherein the sensor elements further comprise, each, a voltage sensing device comprising contact elements entirely interposed via soldering or welding, between the planar support substrate and the respective terminal pole. Modified Dulle also teaches the connections may be made of metals such as copper, aluminum, tin, or the like (Dulle, [0173]) and that such systems are known in the art that they may be used in vehicular contexts, as well as other energy storage/expending applications (Dulle, [0002]). Modified Dulle however does not teach wherein a voltage sensing device comprising contact elements entirely interposed and compressed, without intervening welds.
In a battery pack used for energy storage/expending applications Brand-2016 teaches comprising connections made of metals such as copper and aluminum (Brand-2016, section 4) and that it is well known in the art wherein the battery cells comprising such metal connections can be contact elements connected using methods such as welding, soldering and press contacts (Brand-2016, section 1) and wherein soldered connections can only be detached with significant effort and practical art known welding connections can have higher electrical contact resistance (Brand-2016, sections 1 and 7) as well as cause a certain heat-input into the battery cells during the connection process (Brand-2016, section 8). Brand-2016 further teaches wherein press contacts are frequently used for consumer batteries in electronic devices and for large battery cells (Brand-2016, abstract, section 1), is one of the most common detachable connection techniques (Brand-2016, section 1) and wherein press connections allow the complete available contact area to be used for electrical connection (Brand-2016, section 8) in order to provide broader current paths with lower constriction resistance (Brand-2016, sections 5 and 7, Fig. 8).
Modified Dulle and Brand-2016 are considered in the same field of endeavor as they are directed toward battery systems known in the art to be used in energy storage/expending applications (Dulle, [0002]; Brand-2016, abstract).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the connection of modified Dulle with the teaching of Brand-2016 wherein the sensor elements further comprise, each, a voltage sensing device comprising contact elements entirely interposed and compressed, without intervening welds, between the planar support substrate and the respective terminal pole thereby providing broader current paths with lower constriction resistance.
Regarding claim 2, modified Dulle also teaches wherein the temperature sensors are arranged in two parallel rows (Dulle, Fig. 49, sensors 296).
Regarding claim 3, modified Dulle further teaches wherein components such as the sensors 296 are configured to be coupled to the planar substrate from below, or on the same face as contact elements 122 (Dulle, [0215], Figs. 40 and 49), further as set forth above wherein the temperature sensors are configured to detect temperature at a respective terminal pole (Zucchini, [0015]) wherein the temperature sensor is an infrared sensor in order to allow the temperature measurements to be recorded without contact (Zucchini, [0013]), satisfying the claim limitations, wherein the infrared sensor is disposed at the edge of the planar substrate on the same face as the contact elements and configured to face the respective pole so as to point a respective infrared light beam at it to measure its temperature, as if the infrared sensor did not face the respective pole so as to point a respective infrared light beam at it, the infrared sensor would not be able to measure its temperature without contact.
Regarding claim 5, modified Dulle teaches all of the claim limitations as set forth above including wherein the plurality of sensor elements comprises, each, a voltage sensing device (Dulle, [0117], [0168], Fig. 31, PCB 136, voltage sensing tabs 226),
which comprises at least two conducting and elastically deformable contact elements (Dulle, [0170], Fig. 31, voltage sensing tabs 226), which are configured to be, in use, elastically compressed between the supporting planar substrate and the respective terminal pole (Dulle, [0170]), the examiner notes that the teaching of the at least two conducting and elastically deformable contact elements are taught by modified Dulle to be flexible, satisfying the claim limitation, contacting the same at two different points (Dulle, Fig. 31), the examiner additionally notes that the at least two conducting and elastically deformable contact elements are in contact with the respective terminal pole in multiple points, satisfying the claim limitation.
Regarding claim 14, modified Dulle teaches all of the claim limitations as set forth above and further teaches a road vehicle (Dulle, [0066], Fig. 1, xEV 10) comprising a battery pack (Dulle, [0066], Fig. 1, battery system 20) according to claim 1 (see above), the battery pack being arranged transversely to a longitudinal direction of the vehicle (Dulle, Fig. 1, xEV 10, battery system 20), the battery pack being location inside a vehicular frame posteriorly to a vehicular passenger compartment (Dulle, [0068], Fig. 1, xEV 10, battery system 20, unlabeled passenger compartment) which would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art wherein the battery pack being mounted to a vehicular frame posteriorly to a vehicular passenger compartment thereby providing stability while moving.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dulle US20150069829A1 (cited in IDS filed 06 May 2022) in view of Zucchini DE102014200997A1 (using machine English translation provided) and Brand-2016 (see above for full reference), as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Tang US20190262849A1.
Regarding claim 4, modified Dulle additionally teaches wherein the an infrared sensor allows the temperature measurements to be recorded without contact (Zucchini, [0013]) and while it well known that electromagnetic sources spread out away from the source in a conical form due to diffraction, modified Dulle is not directed toward the shape of the infrared light beam shape. Modified Dulle however teaches the temperature sensor is an infrared sensor in order to allow the temperature measurements to be recorded without contact (Zucchini, [0013]).
In a system comprising a controller and infrared sensor Tang teaches an infrared (IR) sensor that emits a conical shaped IR beam (Tang, [0052], Fig. 16, component 206, infrared sensor 208, conical shaped IR beam 150) in order to measure the amount of IR energy (heat/temperature) without contacting the object being measured by the IR sensor and controlling the operating parameters of the system (Tang, [0052]). Tang is considered reasonably pertinent to the problem being solved, measuring/monitoring IR energy without having direct contact, in line with Instant p. 25 lines 19-21, which allows the temperature of the terminal poles of the cells to be monitored without necessarily having to contact them.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the infrared light beam of modified Dulle with the teaching of Tang wherein the infrared light beam is a conical shaped beam thereby measuring the amount of IR energy without contacting the object being measured by the IR sensor and controlling the operating parameters of the system.
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dulle US20150069829A1 (cited in IDS filed 06 May 2022) in view of Zucchini DE102014200997A1 (using machine English translation provided) and Brand-2016 (see above for full reference), as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Kang US20150140380 (cited in IDS filed 06 May 2022).
Regarding claim 6, modified Dulle teaches all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also teaches wherein the contact elements are conformed by two contiguous segments, of which a first segment is parallel and fixed to the planar substrate while a second segment diverges from the planar substrate itself (Dulle, [0117], [0168], Fig. 31, PCB 136, voltage sensing tabs 226), but does not explicitly teach wherein the contact elements are V-shaped.
In a control unit for a vehicular battery pack Kang teaches a battery module comprising sensing modules having an improved coupling structure (Kang, [0002]) and a planar support substrate made of an at least partially insulating material (Kang, [0046], Fig. 7, circuit board 22), a plurality of sensor elements comprising a voltage sensing device (Kang, [0062-0063], Figs. 2 and 6, voltage sensing terminals 21) which comprises elastically deformable contact elements which are configured to be, in use, elastically compressed between the supporting planar substrate and the respective terminal pole (Kang, [0045]). Kang further teaches wherein the contact elements are V-shaped (Kang, [0043], Figs. 6-7, voltage sensing terminal 21, circuit board 22, terminal 23) in order to improve coupling structure (Kang, [0002], [0068]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the contact element of modified Dulle with the teaching of Kang wherein the contact elements are V-shaped thereby improving the coupling structure.
Regarding claim 7, modified Dulle additionally teaches a vehicular battery pack (Dulle, [0086], Fig. 2, xEV 10, battery system 20) comprising:
a support structure comprising in turn at least two elongated and facing perimeter members defining between them a box portion (Dulle, [0085], Fig. 8, bottom portion 78, top portion 80, housing 50),
one or more bulkheads arranged to subdivide the box portion by delimiting at least two housings (Dulle, [0085], Fig. 8, slots 70, ribs 72),
wherein the bulkheads are arranged transversely to the two facing perimeter elements (Dulle, Fig. 8, ribs 72, bottom portion 78, top portion 80, housing 50),
at least one control unit according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above),
a plurality of planar electrochemical cells electrically connected and parallel to each other as well as to the bulkheads and subdivided into at least two portions (Dulle, [0082], Fig. 8, slots 70, ribs 72, cells 54), the examiner notes that modified Dulle teaches wherein the battery system comprises battery modules which further comprise a number of battery cells (Dulle, [0064], [0070]) and the battery system comprises a plurality of battery modules (Dulle, [0068], Fig. 2 battery system 20, battery modules 22) in order to store and output power at different voltages (Dulle, [0072]). Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art wherein subdivided into at least two modules comprising a plurality of planar electrochemical cells electrically connected and parallel to each other as well as to the bulkheads thereby storing and outputting power at a different voltage and that would not modify the operation of the device. See MPEP § 2144.04.
Regarding claim 8, modified Dulle teaches all of the claim limitations as set forth above including wherein a plurality of planar electrochemical cells electrically connected and parallel to each other as well as to the bulkheads and subdivided into at least two. Modified Dulle also teaches wherein the at least two modules comprise, each, at least two insertion plates arranged at the ends of each module parallel to the bulkheads (Dulle, [0089], Figs. 8-9, structure 90, ribs 72) and configured to facilitate insertion of each module in compression within the corresponding housing, such that the compression remains even after the insertion (Dulle, [0089]). The examiner notes that the insertion plates as currently drafted are satisfied by the structure 90 of modified Dulle as additional metes and bounds are not provided to distinguish them and the structure 90 of modified Dulle is inserted as otherwise it would not be part of modified Dulle.
Claim(s) 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dulle US20150069829A1 (cited in IDS filed 06 May 2022) in view of Zucchini DE102014200997A1 (using machine English translation provided), Brand-2016 (see above for full reference), and Kang US20150140380 (cited in IDS filed 06 May 2022), as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Zhou CN111987248 (using macing English translation provided; cited in IDS filed 06 May 2022) and Inagaki US20060177722A1.
Regarding claim 9, modified Dulle teaches all of the claim limitations as set forth above and further teaches wherein the insertion plates being configured also to adjust the compression within of the housing, compensating for any imperfections of the plurality of planar electrochemical cells (Dulle, [0089]) and may be constructed from any desirable materials including plastic (Dulle, [0081]). Modified Dulle however does not explicitly teach wherein each insertion plate is in contact with a respective bulkhead.
In a vehicular battery pack Zhou teaches comprising a battery module comprising a plurality of electrochemical cells (Zhou, [0018]), a controller (Zhou, [0075]) and a support structure (Zhou, [0075])
comprising in turn at least two elongated and facing perimeter members defining between them a box portion (Zhou, [0078], Fig. 2, cover plate 5, bottom plate 11), one or more bulkheads (Zhou, [0068], Fig. 5, panel 122) arranged to subdivide the box portion by delimiting at least two housings (Zhou, [0065], Fig. 5, partitions 14), wherein the bulkheads are arranged transversely to the two facing perimeter elements (Zhou, Fig. 5), at least two insertion plates arranged at the ends of each module (Zhou, [0068], Fig. 6, card block 141), parallel to the bulkheads (Zhou, [0068], Fig. 6, card block 141, panel 122), and configured to facilitate insertion of each module in compression within the corresponding housing (Zhou, [0068]). Zhou additionally teaches wherein each insertion plate is in contact with a respective bulkhead (Zhou, [0068], Fig. 6, card block 141, panel 122) in order to realize the clamping connection between the insertion plate and the housing (Zhou, [0069]). Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the insertion plate of modified Dulle with the teaching of Zhou wherein each insertion plate is in contact with a respective bulkhead thereby realizing the clamping connection between the insertion plate and the housing.
Modified Dulle additionally teaches wherein each insertion plate in contact with a respective bulkhead needs to be able to slide against the bulkhead in order to be configured to facilitate insertion of each module in compression within the corresponding housing (Zhou, [0070]). Modified Dulle however is not directed toward the coefficient of static sliding friction between each plate and the respective bulkhead nor the composition of the insertion plates.
In an electrochemical vehicular pack Inagaki teaches comprising multi-cell modules comprising electrochemical cells (Inagaki, [0086], Fig. 1, multi-cell assembly 41) and further comprising a housing (Inagaki, [0079], Fig. 1, assembly 10) and insertion plates in contact with a respective bulkhead (Inagaki, Fig. 1, module frame 42, member 46). Inagaki additionally teaches wherein the insertion plate comprising mainly polytetrafluoroethylene in order to reduce the fiction coefficient of a surface of the insertion plate (Inagaki, [0150]) and that the coefficient friction between the insertion plate and the bulkhead is lowered in order that the insertion plate easily slides against the insertion plate and preventing a load fall-off of the electrochemical cell (Inagaki, [0151]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insertion plate of modified Dulle with the teaching of Inagaki wherein the plates of insertion comprising mainly polytetrafluoroethylene thereby reducing the fiction coefficient of a surface of the insertion plate and further modify the coefficient of static sliding friction between each plate and the respective bulkhead of modified Dulle through routine experimentation wherein each insertion plate is in contact with a respective bulkhead, and wherein the coefficient of static sliding friction between each plate and the respective bulkhead is less than 0.3, obtaining the completely expected result wherein the coefficient friction between the insertion plate and the bulkhead is lowered in order that the insertion plate easily slides against the insertion plate and preventing a load fall-off of the electrochemical cell.
Regarding claim 10, modified Dulle teaches all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also teaches comprising a plurality of dissipating elements, arranged between the electrochemical cells and configured to transfer heat to two opposite lateral surfaces of the box portion (Dulle, [0090], Fig. 10, ribs 110, outer wall 112),
wherein each dissipating element comprises at least one projecting portion, which, together with those of the other dissipating elements, defines the two opposite lateral surfaces (Dulle, [0090], Fig. 10, ribs 110, outer wall 112). While modified Dulle does not explicitly teach wherein each dissipating element comprises two opposite and parallel projecting portions, modified Dulle does teach wherein the dissipating elements may be any desirable number, specifically dimensioned and spaced from one another to encourage air flow between the dissipation elements while providing a large surface area along which heat transfer may occur (Dulle, [0090]). Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the dissipating elements of Dulle wherein each dissipating element comprises two opposite and parallel projecting portions, which, together with those of the other dissipating elements, define the two opposite lateral surfaces thereby providing a large surface area along which heat transfer may occur.
Regarding claim 11, modified Dulle teaches all of the claim limitations as set forth above and including wherein the support structure may include a number of features that facilitate effective cooling of the battery component (Dulle, [0081]) including both passive and active cooling components (Dulle, [0090]; Zhou, [0073]). Modified Dulle further teaches comprising two cooling panels, arranged at the at least one lateral surface and configured to be fixed to the support structure so as to dissipate the heat transmitted by the dissipating elements (Inagaki, [0120], [0122], Fig. 5, walls 43 and 44, passageway 51),
the two cooling panels arranged at the two opposite side surfaces (Inagaki, [0120], [0122], Fig. 5, walls 43 and 44, passageway 51), the examiner notes that the cooling plates of modified Dulle are arranged at the two opposite side surfaces,
wherein the two cooling panels are mounted to the perimeter elements (Inagaki, Fig. 1, frame 42, walls 43 and 44, element 23),
and modified Dulle teaches wherein it is desirable to hermetically seal the battery elements in order to prevent moisture, particulate matter, and other foreign agents from entering the more sensitive interior components (Dulle, [0092]). While modified Dulle does not explicitly teach wherein the two cooling panels are mounted to the perimeter elements so as to hermetically seal the side surface(s), it would however be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of modified Dulle wherein the two cooling panels are mounted to the perimeter elements so as to hermetically seal the side surface(s) thereby preventing moisture, particulate matter, and other foreign agents from entering the more sensitive interior components.
Regarding claim 12, modified Dulle teaches all of the claim limitations as set forth above and comprising an upper opening, hermetically closed by a cover element (Dulle, [0092], Fig. 48 cover 52),
the battery pack further comprising at least one removable busbar (Dulle, [0187]; Zhou, [0084], Fig. 2, bus 91), while modified Dulle is not directed toward the order or object removability once the cover element has been removed, modified Dulle does teach wherein the bus bar is located on an upper portion of the terminals, which may extend through the lid (Dulle, [0187]). Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery pack of modified Dulle wherein the busbar is the first removable element once the cover element has been removed in order to access the other battery elements.
Regarding claim 13, modified Dulle teaches all of the claim limitations as set forth above including wherein the busbar is the first removable element once the cover element has been removed in order to access the other battery elements (see claim 12) and further teaches comprising a control unit for a vehicular battery pack according to claim 1 for each module (Dulle, Fig. 6, assembly 56 and 58) (see claim 1 above), wherein said control units are arranged between the respective module and the cover element (Dulle, Figs. 2, module 22, assembly 56 and 58, cover 52), and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art wherein said control units are in particular between the respective module and the busbar as the busbar is the first removable element once the cover element has been removed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Choi US20180217006A1 (discloses a battery pack for a vehicle comprising a controller, IR temperature sensors and press contacts for electrical connections).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JARED HANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723