DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed on 04/13/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 04/13/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 3-5 and 7-10 are pending
Claims 1, 4-5, and 8-9 are amended
Claims 2 and 6 are canceled
Claims 1, 3-5 and 7-10 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5 and 7-8, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phuyal et al. (US 20210014864 A1), hereinafter referenced as Phuyal, in view of Shih et al. (US 20210136855 A1), hereinafter referenced as Shih.
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Phuyal teaches a method (Para. [0005]-Phuyal discloses improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) in wireless communications. Para. [0008]-Phuyal discloses the apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to determine that a base station supports preconfigured uplink resources for grant-free uplink transmissions from the UE, transmit a preconfigured uplink resource request message to the base station based on the determining that the base station supports preconfigured uplink resources), comprising:
receiving, by a wireless communication device from a wireless communication node, Dedicated Preconfigured Uplink Resource (D-PUR) configuration information allocated to the wireless communication device (Para. [0005]-Phuyal discloses communicating that support for PUR is available at a base station and allocating PUR resources to user equipment (UE). Para. [0165]-Phuyal discloses At 855, the base station 105-g may transmit a PUR response in EDT MSG4. The PUR response may indicate the different PUR configuration for the UE 115-g. Para. [0153]-Phuyal discloses UE 115-f may, from idle mode, use a Control Plane CioT EPS Optimization based EDT (CP-EDT) procedure. Para. [0088]-Phuyal discloses UE 115 may also be a personal electronic device such as a cellular phone);
transmitting, by the wireless communication device to the wireless communication node, after determining that the attempt to transfer the data has failed, an indication that the attempt to transfer the data over the D-PUR included in the received D-PUR configuration information has failed, in at least one of an early data transmission (EDT) Msg3 or a radio resource control (RRC) Msg5 (Para. [0127-0128]-Phuyal discloses UE 115-g may have previously performed a connection establishment. Para. [0130]-Phuyal discloses the preconfigured uplink resource (PUR) configuration response message to the base station indicates that the PUR configuration has succeeded or failed. Para. [0006]-Phuyal discloses an early data transmission (EDT) random access procedure may be used to transmit a PUR request from the UE, and may be used by the base station to transmit a PUR configuration to the UE. In such cases, the PUR request message may be transmitted with a random access message as part on the EDT random access procedure. Para. [0101]-Phuyal discloses in the control plane, the Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol layer may provide establishment, configuration, and maintenance of an RRC connection between a UE 115 and a base station 105 or core network 130 supporting radio bearers for user plane data. Para. [0151]-Phuyal discloses the uplink dedicated grant may be provided in the PUR configuration or in the PUR response message itself. (See also Para. [0020 and 0116]). Para. [0166]-Phuyal discloses At 860, the UE 115-g may identify the different PUR configuration provided by the base station 105-g {dedicated}, and determine that the different PUR configuration is insufficient (e.g., based on fewer PUR grants than needed for uplink data transmission). At 865, the UE 115-g may transmit a PUR configuration (or reconfiguration) failure message to the base station 105-g).
Phuyal fails to explicitly teach the D-PUR configuration information comprises taking effect time information of the D-PUR; determining, …, that an attempt to transfer data over a D-PUR associated with the D-PUR configuration information, has failed.
However, Shih teaches the D-PUR configuration information comprises taking effect time information of the D-PUR (Para. [0264-0265]-Shih discloses for dedicated PUR, ..., the PUR resource configuration includes at least the following ... Time domain resources including periodicity(s). Para. [0323-0325]-Shih discloses at least the following information can be included in PUR (re)configurations: ... Time Alignment Timer for idle mode);
determining, by the wireless communication device, after receiving the D-PUR configuration information, that an attempt to transfer data over a D-PUR included in the received D-PUR configuration information, has failed (Para. [0452-0455]-Shih discloses UE determines that the handover procedure fails … UE determines that the RRC connection re-establishment procedure fails. Para. [0404]-Shih discloses UE may release a dedicated PUR configuration if a handover procedure fails ... the handover procedure may be triggered by a RRCConnectionReconfiguration message comprising mobilityControlInfo. Para. [0179-0180]-Shih discloses NB-IoT UE supporting RRC connection re-establishment for the Control Plane CIoT EPS optimisation, ... to continue data transfer for this RB. Para. [0005]-Shih discloses the UE is configured with the dedicated PUR configuration {dedicated Preconfigured Uplink Resources}).
Phuyal and Shih are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication networks, dealing with method and apparatus for releasing preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) in a wireless communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Phuyal to incorporate the teachings of Shih on PUR configuration and failure determination, with a motivation for effect time configuration and for the UE to determine that an attempt to transfer data has failed, and guarantee improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) in wireless communications, (Phuyal, Para. [0005]).
Regarding claims 3 and 7, Phuyal in view of Shih teaches the method of claim 1 and the method of claim 5 respectively.
Phuyal further teaches receiving, by the wireless communication device from the wireless communication node, the D-PUR configuration information of a Control Plane Cellular Internet-of-Things (CIoT) Evolved Packet System (EPS)/5GS Optimization solution allocated to the wireless communication device (Para. [0165]-Phuyal discloses At 855, the base station 105-g may transmit a PUR response in EDT MSG4. The PUR response may indicate the different PUR configuration for the UE 115-g. Para. [0153]-Phuyal discloses UE 115-f may, from idle mode, use a Control Plane CioT EPS Optimization based EDT (CP-EDT) procedure. Para. [0088]-Phuyal discloses UE 115 may also be a personal electronic device such as a cellular phone).
Regarding claims 4 and 8, Phuyal in view of Shih teaches the method of claim 1 and the method of claim 5 respectively.
Phuyal further teaches the D-PUR configuration information comprises at least one of: UL grant information, or a period of the D-PUR (Para. [0144]-Phuyal discloses In cases where the UE 115-a is configured, or reconfigured, with a PUR allocation, the UE 115-a may then transmit uplink data 230 using the resources indicated in PUR configuration).
Claims 9-10, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phuyal et al. (US 20210014864 A1), hereinafter referenced as Phuyal, in view of DHANDA et al. (US 20210112526 A1), hereinafter referenced as Dhanda, and further in view of Shih et al. (US 20210136855 A1), hereinafter referenced as Shihs, and further in view of HÖGLUND et al. (US 20220086759 A1), hereinafter referenced as Hoglund.
Regarding claim 9, Phuyal teaches a method (Para. [0005]-Phuyal discloses improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) in wireless communications. Para. [0008]-Phuyal discloses the apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to determine that a base station supports preconfigured uplink resources for grant-free uplink transmissions from the UE, transmit a preconfigured uplink resource request message to the base station based on the determining that the base station supports preconfigured uplink resources), comprising:
receiving, by the wireless communication node from the wireless communication device, a message including at least one of (i) a request for the D-PUR configuration information or (ii) a release trigger resource acquisition (Para. [0005]-Phuyal discloses allocating PUR resources to user equipment (UE) based on requests from UEs. A UE may receive an indication that the base station supports PUR, such as via a system information block (SIB), determine to request PUR, and transmit a PUR request message to the base station).
Phuyal fails to teach transmitting, by a wireless communication node to a core network and to a wireless communication device, dedicated preconfigured uplink resource (D-PUR) configuration information of a Control Plane Cellular Internet-of-Things (CIoT) Evolved Packet System (EPS)/5GS Optimization solution allocated to the wireless communication device; … transmitting, by the wireless communication node to the core network, a request for D- PUR configuration information associated with the wireless communication device; and receiving, by the wireless communication node from the core network, the requested D- PUR configuration information.
However, Danda teaches transmitting, by a wireless communication node to a core network and to a wireless communication device, dedicated preconfigured uplink resource (D-PUR) configuration information of a Control Plane Cellular Internet-of-Things (CIoT) Evolved Packet System (EPS)/5GS Optimization solution allocated to the wireless communication device (Para. [0034]-Dhanda discloses an apparatus for wireless communication may include apparatus in a core network; ... for receiving, from the base station, a configuration for PUR, wherein the configuration indicates an uplink resource and a PUR identifier that is a different type of identifier than the first UE identifier; and means for communicating with the base station based at least in part on the configuration. Para. [0062-0063]-Dhanda discloses wireless node may provide, for example, connectivity for or to a network (e.g., a wide area network such as Internet or a cellular network) via a wired or wireless communication link. Some UEs may be considered Internet-of-Things (IoT) devices, and/or may be implemented as NB-IoT (narrowband internet of things) devices ... 5G RAT networks may be deployed. Fig. 4, Para. [0083-0084]-Dhanda discloses the base station may transmit the NAS PDU to the core network along with the first UE identifier (e.g., an S-TMSI) for the UE (e.g., retrieved from the UE context stored in memory of the base station) ... the base station may configure the UE with preconfigured uplink resources (PUR), shown as dedicated preconfigured uplink resources (DPUR). The PUR may include one or more time resources, one or more frequency resources, and/or a transport block (TB) size allocated to the UE for uplink communications (e.g., uplink data). Para. [0136]-Dhanda discloses the PUR identifier is a second NAS identifier, ..., the uplink resource is a preconfigured uplink resource);
transmitting, by the wireless communication node to the core network, a request for D- PUR configuration information associated with the wireless communication device (Para. [0077]-Dhanda discloses the UE may transmit a tracking area update (TAU) request to the base station, and the base station may transmit the TAU request to the core network. As shown, the TAU request may be transmitted by the UE to the base station in a non-access stratum (NAS) protocol data unit (PDU), and may be transmitted in an RRC connection setup complete message. As further shown, the base station may transmit the NAS PDU to the core network along with the first UE identifier. Fig. 4, Para. [0083-0084]-Dhanda discloses the base station may transmit the NAS PDU to the core network along with the first UE identifier (e.g., an S-TMSI) for the UE (e.g., retrieved from the UE context stored in memory of the base station) ... the base station may configure the UE with preconfigured uplink resources (PUR), shown as dedicated preconfigured uplink resources (DPUR). Para. [0136]-Dhanda discloses the PUR identifier is a second NAS identifier, ..., the uplink resource is a preconfigured uplink resource);
receiving, by the wireless communication node from the core network, the requested D- PUR configuration information (Para. [0093]-Dhanda discloses the base station 110 may receive the request to update the first UE identifier to the second UE identifier from a core network device (e.g., a core network entity, such as an MME, an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity, and/or the like)).
Phuyal and Dhanda are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication, dealing with apparatuses for synchronizing a user equipment identifier for preconfigured uplink resources.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Phuyal to incorporate the teachings of Dhanda on preconfigured uplink resource (D-PUR) configuration, with a motivation to set up a D-PUR channel, and guarantee improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) in wireless communications, (Phuyal, Para. [0005]).
Phuyal fails to explicitly teach the D-PUR configuration information comprises taking effect time information of the D-PUR.
However, Shih teaches the D-PUR configuration information comprises taking effect time information of the D-PUR (Para. [0264-0265]-Shih discloses for dedicated PUR, ..., the PUR resource configuration includes at least the following ... Time domain resources including periodicity(s). Para. [0323-0325]-Shih discloses at least the following information can be included in PUR (re)configurations: ... Time Alignment Timer for idle mode).
Phuyal and Shih are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication networks, dealing with method and apparatus for releasing preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) in a wireless communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Phuyal in view of Dhanda to incorporate the teachings of Shih on PUR configuration, with a motivation for effect time configuration, and guarantee improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) in wireless communications, (Phuyal, Para. [0005]).
Phuyal fails to teach receiving, by the wireless communication node from the core network, paging probability and a group wake up signal (WUS) support capability associated with the wireless communication device; and transmitting, by the wireless communication node to another wireless communication node, the paging probability and the group WUS support capability.
However, Hoglund teaches receiving, by the wireless communication node from the core network, paging probability and a group wake up signal (WUS) support capability associated with the wireless communication device (Para. [0117-0119]-Hoglund discloses method 100 implemented by a network node in wireless communication network 10 to support wake signal groups based on paging probabilities of the wireless devices 20. The method can be implemented, for example, by an MME 14 or other core network node, or by a base station 18 ... the paging probability or paging probability type is determined by an MME 14 or other core network node. The MME 14 signals the paging probability or paging probability type to the wireless device 20 in a NAS message. The MME 14 may also signals the paging probability or paging probability type to the base station 18 with a paging message. Para. [0125-0129]-Hoglund discloses the base station 18 receives the paging probability type from a mobility management entity in the wireless communication network, or from another core network node ... the base station 18 assigns the wireless device 20 to a wake-up signal group by applying a known mapping between paging probability types and wake-up signal groups. For example, the mapping may be specified by standards, or determined by a management entity in the core network ... the mapping may be dependent on a number of paging probability types ... the base station 18 receives the number of paging probability types {indicative of the wake up signal support capability} from the MME 14 or other core network node. Para. [0132]-Hoglund discloses determining a wake-up signal group to which the wireless device 20 belongs comprises applying a known mapping between paging probability types and wake-up signal groups. For example, the mapping may be specified by standards, or determined by a management entity in the core network); and
transmitting, by the wireless communication node to another wireless communication node, the paging probability and the group WUS support capability (Fig. 5, Para. [0128-0130]-Hoglund discloses a paging probability type indicative of a paging probability of the wireless device. Para. [0125]-Hoglund discloses the base station 18 receives the paging probability type from a mobility management entity in the wireless communication network, or from another core network node. For example, the base station 18 receives the paging probability type with a paging message sent by an MME … the base station 18 assigns the wireless device 20 to a wake-up signal group by applying a known mapping between paging probability types and wake-up signal groups. For example, the mapping may be specified by standards, or determined by a management entity in the core network ... the base station 18 further transmits a wake-up signal addressed to the WUS group to which the wireless device 20 is assigned when there is a need to page the wireless device 200. Para. [0117]-Hoglund discloses the network node signals the determined paging probability type of the wireless device 20 to the wireless device 20, a base station 18 for the wireless device 20, or both (block 130). Para. [0172]-Hoglund discloses Antenna 1162, interface 1190, and/or processing circuitry 1170 may be configured to perform any receiving operations and/or certain obtaining operations described herein as being performed by a network node. Any information, data and/or signals may be received from a wireless device, another network node and/or any other network equipment. Similarly, antenna 1162, interface 1190, and/or processing circuitry 1170 may be configured to perform any transmitting operations described herein as being performed by a network node. Any information, data and/or signals may be transmitted to a wireless device, another network node and/or any other network equipment).
Hoglund is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication network, dealing with wake-up signal grouping based on paging probability.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Phuyal in view of Dhanda and Shih to incorporate the teachings of Hoglund on paging probability and wake-up signal, with a motivation to transmit wake-up signal over WUS resources, and guarantee improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) in wireless communications, (Phuyal, Para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 10, Phuyal in view of Dhanda, Shih and Hoglund teaches the method of claim 9,
Phuyal fails to teach determining, by the wireless communication node based on the paging probability and the group WUS support capability, WUS group resources; and transmitting, by the wireless communication node to the wireless communication device, a wake-up signal over the WUS resources.
However, Hoglund teaches determining, by the wireless communication node based on the paging probability and the group WUS support capability, WUS group resources (Para. [0117]-Hoglund discloses the network node optionally determines a paging probability for wireless device 20 based on factors that differentiate the paging probabilities for wireless devices 20 having the same service type (block 110). Based on the paging probability of the wireless device 20, the network node determines a paging probability type of the wireless device 20 (block 120)); and
transmitting, by the wireless communication node to the wireless communication device, a wake-up signal over the WUS resources (Para. [0117]-Hoglund discloses the network node signals the determined paging probability type of the wireless device 20 to the wireless device 20, a base station 18 for the wireless device 20, or both (block 130)).
Hoglund is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication network, dealing with wake-up signal grouping based on paging probability.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Phuyal in view of Dhanda and Shih to incorporate the teachings of Hoglund on paging probability and wake-up signal, with a motivation to transmit wake-up signal over WUS resources, and guarantee improvements in LTE and 5G technologies, (Dhanda, Para. [0005]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks, filed on 04/13/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 103 rejection of claims 1, 3-5 and 7-10 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In the remarks, on page 6, Lines [26-30], Applicant argues that, “…The cited references fail to teach or suggest that a wireless communication device receives Dedicated Preconfigured Uplink Resource (D-PUR) configuration information allocated to the wireless communication device, from a wireless communication node, where the D-PUR configuration information comprises taking effect time information of the D-PUR, and determines that an attempt has failed in connection with such D-PUR configuration information.”
However, Phuyal teaches receiving, by a wireless communication device from a wireless communication node, Dedicated Preconfigured Uplink Resource (D-PUR) configuration information allocated to the wireless communication device (Para. [0005]-Phuyal discloses communicating that support for PUR is available at a base station and allocating PUR resources to user equipment (UE). Para. [0165]-Phuyal discloses At 855, the base station 105-g may transmit a PUR response in EDT MSG4. The PUR response may indicate the different PUR configuration for the UE 115-g. Para. [0153]-Phuyal discloses UE 115-f may, from idle mode, use a Control Plane CioT EPS Optimization based EDT (CP-EDT) procedure. Para. [0088]-Phuyal discloses UE 115 may also be a personal electronic device such as a cellular phone), while
Shih teaches receiving, by a wireless communication device from a wireless communication node, Dedicated Preconfigured Uplink Resource (D-PUR) configuration information allocated to the wireless communication device (Para. [0283-0293]-Shih discloses Network makes the decision on the D-PUR configuration ... The eNB can (re)configure and release D-PUR by dedicated RRC signaling ... D-PUR configuration can be set up without a pre-defined end (infinite) ... It is feasible to provide the UE with a UE-specific RNTI for D-PUR ... The RNTI used for D-PUR is signalled together with other D-PUR configuration), wherein the D-PUR configuration information comprises taking effect time information of the D-PUR (Para. [0264-0265]-Shih discloses for dedicated PUR, ..., the PUR resource configuration includes at least the following ... Time domain resources including periodicity(s). Para. [0323-0325]-Shih discloses at least the following information can be included in PUR (re)configurations: ... Time Alignment Timer for idle mode); determining, by the wireless communication device, after receiving the D-PUR configuration information, that an attempt to transfer data over a D-PUR included in the received D-PUR configuration information, has failed (Para. [0452-0455]-Shih discloses UE determines that the handover procedure fails … UE determines that the RRC connection re-establishment procedure fails. Para. [0404]-Shih discloses UE may release a dedicated PUR configuration if a handover procedure fails ... the handover procedure may be triggered by a RRCConnectionReconfiguration message comprising mobilityControlInfo. Para. [0179-0180]-Shih discloses NB-IoT UE supporting RRC connection re-establishment for the Control Plane CIoT EPS optimisation, ... to continue data transfer for this RB. Para. [0005]-Shih discloses the UE is configured with the dedicated PUR configuration {dedicated Preconfigured Uplink Resources}).
In addition, i is worth noting here that “taking effect time” is broadly described in the specification. At most, paragraph 0069 {of the instant specification} describes “the time occasion of D-PUR resources deduced from the Taking effect time information of the D-PUR resources in the D-PUR configuration, or Period (e.g., time interval) of the D-PUR resources in the D-PUR configuration.” This will establish why the periodicity in Shih reads on the claim limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472