DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Claims 1, 6, 7, 14, 16, 21, 23, 24, 29, and 35 have been amended.
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 10-11, 14-17, 20-24, 27-32, and 34-36 are presently pending.
1. Applicant's arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 11, 14-17, 20-21, 23-24, 28-32, and 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG et al. (US 20230361919, hereinafter, “YANG”) in view of KOSKINEN et al. (US20190174434, hereinafter, “KOSKINEN”) and further in view of MolavianJazi et al. (US20220377799, hereinafter, “Mol’799”).
Claim 1. YANG teaches: An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: - See Fig. 6
a memory configured to store instructions; - See Fig. 6, ¶ [0017], (“memory”) and
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to: - See Fig. 6, ¶ [0017], (“a processor, a memory”)
generate a first random access message for a physical random access channel (PRACH) procedure, - in ¶ [0091], (“transmitting an Msg1 to the network device”); ¶ [0112], (“if the terminal needs to perform a random access procedure of Msg3 repetition, it needs to transmit the Msg1”)
wherein the first random access message includes a request for repetition of a third random access message, - in ¶ [0095], (“The terminal requests an Msg3 repetition from the base station through the Msg1.”)
wherein the request is based on a signal power measurement of a received reference signal being of at least the threshold signal power, - in ¶ [0095], (“The terminal determines whether to trigger an Msg3 repetition based on RSRP/RSRQ/path loss of the current downlink signal synchronization signal block (SSB)…The terminal requests an Msg3 repetition from the base station through the Msg1…Specific steps are as follows…¶ [0097], (1) First Threshold Value T0 of Signal Strength/Signal Quality/Path Loss”, The terminal measures the RSRP of received reference signals (SSB or CSI-RS) and compares it to a threshold value. When the RSRP is at least the threshold, the UE requests Msg3 repetition.); ¶ [0122], (“The terminal detects the signal quality RSRP of each SSB and determines whether to request Msg3 repetition.”) and
transmit the first random access message to a node to initiate a random access procedure with the node. - in ¶ [0091], (“transmitting an Msg1 to the network device”); ¶ [0112], (“if the terminal needs to perform a random access procedure of Msg3 repetition, it needs to transmit the Msg1”)
YANG does not explicitly teach:
adjust a threshold signal power relative to a maximum allowed transmit power of the apparatus based on a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) event;
However, KOSKINEN teaches:
adjust a threshold signal power relative to a maximum allowed transmit power of the apparatus based on a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) event; - in ¶ [0113], (“signalled RSRP thresholds may be adjusted as follows…¶ [0118] If the UE transmit power is lower or higher than targeted, this results an offset (fixed or configurable)… ¶ [0120] RSRP−Offset For the “special” power class the threshold is e.g. −100 dBm −10 dB=−110 dBm For the “special” power class the threshold is e.g. −130 dBm −10 dB=−140 dBm…¶ [0124] RSRP+Offset”); ¶ [0149], (“a network could provide indications of the assumed maximum UE TX power/Class used for CE level threshold definitions, and UE would autonomously determine the offset based on its actual maximum transmit power in relation to the assumed TX power.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified YANG with KOSKINEN to include adjust a threshold signal power relative to a maximum allowed transmit power of the apparatus, as taught by KOSKINEN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce failure rates due to power constraints, as suggested by KOSKINEN, The above may increase failure rates in initial access, the device battery consumption and may result non-optimized network resource usage. - ¶ [0092]
Combination of YANG and KOSKINEN does not explicitly teach:
adjust a threshold signal power relative to a maximum allowed transmit power of the apparatus based on a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) event;
However, Mol’799 teaches:
adjust a threshold signal power relative to a maximum allowed transmit power of the apparatus based on a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) event; - in ¶ [0382], (“A modification of RSRP…can refer to an operation to combine a measured RSRP…with a power-back off term such as a P-MPR that the UE needs to apply to meet the regulatory requirements such as MPE…the UE can determine a modified signal quality by addition or subtraction of a measured signal quality such as RSRP or SINR with an applicable P-MPE or power headroom (PH) value…the UE can operate with mdf-RSRP=RSRP+P-MPR, or mdf-RSRP=RSRP−P-MPR, or in general, mdf-RSRP=RSRP+MPE, or mdf-RSRP=RSRP−MPE, or mdf-RSRP=RSRP+offset_MPE, or mdf-RSRP=RSRP−offset_MPE.”); ¶ [0378], (“P.sub.CMAX,f,c(i) is a UE configured maximum output power…when determining P.sub.CMAX,f,c(i), the UE applies the actual P-MPR power back-off term as necessary to meet regulatory requirements such as MPE.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified YANG and KOSKINEN with Mol’799 to include based on a MPE event, as taught by Mol’799. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to prevent RF exposure from exceeding regulatory limits, as suggested by Mol’799, enhancements for a random access (RA) procedure by incorporating RF exposure issues such as regulatory limitations due to maximum permissible exposure (MPE). - ¶ [0074]
Claim 2. Combination of YANG, KOSKINEN, and Mol’799 teaches The apparatus of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
KOSKINEN further teaches:
wherein the maximum allowed transmit power is based on a user equipment (UE) power class. - in ¶ [0149], (“a network could provide indications of the assumed maximum UE TX power/Class used for CE level threshold definitions, and UE would autonomously determine the offset based on its actual maximum transmit power in relation to the assumed TX power.”)
Claim 5. Combination of YANG, KOSKINEN, and Mol’799 teaches The apparatus of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
YANG teaches:
wherein the signal power measurement is one of a synchronization signal (SS) reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement or other SS block (SSB)-based measurement. - in ¶ [0095], (“The terminal determines whether to trigger an Msg3 repetition based on RSRP/RSRQ/path loss of the current downlink signal synchronization signal block (SSB)…¶ [0097], (1) First Threshold Value T0 of Signal Strength/Signal Quality/Path Loss”)
Claim 6. Combination of YANG, KOSKINEN, and Mol’799 teaches The apparatus of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
YANG teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to receive, from the node, an indication of the threshold signal power. - in ¶ [0096], (“The base station periodically sends the SSB and the system information block…contains…¶ [0097], (1) First Threshold Value T0 of Signal Strength/Signal Quality/Path Loss”)
Claim 11. Combination of YANG, KOSKINEN, and Mol’799 teaches The apparatus of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
YANG teaches:
wherein the request is further based on a path loss associated with determining a transmit power for transmitting the first random access message to the node. – See Fig. 2, ¶ [0093], (“terminal…determines a trigger condition for Msg3 repetition based on the…(RSRP)/reference signal received quality (RSRQ)/path loss of an uplink or downlink signal…The terminal determines whether to trigger an Msg3 repetition based on RSRP/RSRQ/path loss…The terminal requests an Msg3 repetition from the base station through the Msg1.”)
Claim 14. Combination of YANG, KOSKINEN, and Mol’799 teaches The apparatus of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
YANG teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to receive, from the node and in response to the first random access message including the request, - in ¶ [0095], (“The terminal requests an Msg3 repetition from the base station through the Msg1.”); ¶ [0091], (“transmitting an Msg1 to the network device”) a second random access message - in ¶ [0157], (“the base station determines whether the terminal needs to perform an Msg3 repetition procedure based on the Msg1 and in an Msg2 stage, notifies the terminal to perform Msg3 repetition.”) including a resource grant for transmitting at least one repetition of the third random access message. - in ¶ [0095], (“The terminal requests an Msg3 repetition from the base station through the Msg1.”); ¶ [0093], (“a random access response (RAR)…¶ [0103 – 0104], (“Time Domain Resource Assignment (TDRA) Table Used for Msg3 Repetition…The network configures a set of new TDRA tables for the terminal, where the table includes time domain configuration information and the corresponding number of Msg3 repetitions.”)
Claim 15. Combination of YANG, KOSKINEN, and Mol’799 teaches The apparatus of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
YANG teaches:
further comprising a transceiver - See Fig. 1, ¶ [0316], (transceiver) that is configured to transmit the first random access message to the node, - in ¶ [0091], (“transmitting an Msg1 to the network device”) wherein the apparatus is configured as a user equipment (UE). - See Fig. 1, ¶ [0031], (The terminal 11 may also be referred to as…user equipment (UE).)
Claim 24. YANG teaches: An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: - See Fig. 7
a memory configured to store instructions; - See Fig. 7, ¶ [0370], (“the network-side…includes a processor 704 and a memory 705.”) and
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to: - See Fig. 7, ¶ [0370], (“the network-side…includes a processor 704 and a memory 705.”)
transmit to a user equipment (UE), a configuration indicating one or more parameters for: adjusting a threshold signal power relative to a maximum allowed transmit power of the UE based on a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) event; - in ¶ [0227], (“system information block that are transmitted by the network device…¶ [0229], the system information block includes at least one of the following…¶ [0230] a first threshold value T0 of signal strength/signal quality/path loss…”) and
selecting, based on a signal power measurement of a received reference signal being of at least the threshold signal power, - in ¶ [0095], (“The terminal determines whether to trigger an Msg3 repetition based on RSRP/RSRQ/path loss…Specific steps are as follows…¶ [0096]…the system information block contains at least one of the following information…¶ [0097], (1) First Threshold Value T0 of Signal Strength/Signal Quality/Path Loss…¶ [0098] The first threshold value T0 is used for selecting an SSB that satisfies the signal quality requirement for the Msg3 repetition”.) whether to request repetition of a third random access message in a PRACH procedure; - in ¶ [0227 - 0234], (“…whether to request an Msg3 repetition…at least one of the following:…a first threshold value T0 of signal strength/signal quality/path loss…”) and
receive, from the UE, a first random access message including a request for repetition of the third random access message. - in ¶ [0095], (“The terminal requests an Msg3 repetition from the base station through the Msg1.”); ¶ [0091], (“transmitting an Msg1 to the network device”)
YANG does not explicitly teach:
adjusting a threshold signal power relative to a maximum allowed transmit power of the UE based on a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) event;
However, KOSKINEN teaches:
adjusting a threshold signal power relative to a maximum allowed transmit power of the UE based on a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) event; - in ¶ [0113], (“RSRP thresholds may be adjusted as follows…¶ [0118] If the UE transmit power is lower or higher than targeted, this results an offset (fixed or configurable)… ¶ [0120] RSRP−Offset For the “special” power class the threshold is e.g. −100 dBm −10 dB=−110 dBm For the “special” power class the threshold is e.g. −130 dBm −10 dB=−140 dBm…¶ [0124] RSRP+Offset”); ¶ [0149], (“a network could provide indications of the assumed maximum UE TX power/Class used for CE level threshold definitions, and UE would autonomously determine the offset based on its actual maximum transmit power in relation to the assumed TX power.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified YANG with KOSKINEN to include adjusting a threshold signal power relative to a maximum allowed transmit power of the apparatus, as taught by KOSKINEN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce failure rates due to power constraints, as suggested by KOSKINEN, The above may increase failure rates in initial access, the device battery consumption and may result non-optimized network resource usage. - ¶ [0092]
Combination of YANG and KOSKINEN does not explicitly teach:
adjusting a threshold signal power relative to a maximum allowed transmit power of the UE based on a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) event;
However, Mol’799 teaches:
adjusting a threshold signal power relative to a maximum allowed transmit power of the UE based on a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) event; - in ¶ [0382], (“A modification of RSRP…can refer to an operation to combine a measured RSRP…with a power-back off term such as a P-MPR that the UE needs to apply to meet the regulatory requirements such as MPE…the UE can determine a modified signal quality by addition or subtraction of a measured signal quality such as RSRP or SINR with an applicable P-MPE or power headroom (PH) value…the UE can operate with mdf-RSRP=RSRP+P-MPR, or mdf-RSRP=RSRP−P-MPR, or in general, mdf-RSRP=RSRP+MPE, or mdf-RSRP=RSRP−MPE, or mdf-RSRP=RSRP+offset_MPE, or mdf-RSRP=RSRP−offset_MPE.”); ¶ [0378], (“P.sub.CMAX,f,c(i) is a UE configured maximum output power…when determining P.sub.CMAX,f,c(i), the UE applies the actual P-MPR power back-off term as necessary to meet regulatory requirements such as MPE.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified YANG and KOSKINEN with Mol’799 to include based on a MPE event, as taught by Mol’799. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to prevent RF exposure from exceeding regulatory limits, as suggested by Mol’799, enhancements for a random access (RA) procedure by incorporating RF exposure issues such as regulatory limitations due to maximum permissible exposure (MPE). - ¶ [0074]
Claim 28. Combination of YANG, KOSKINEN, and Mol’799 teaches The apparatus of claim 24, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
YANG teaches:
wherein the one or more parameters are further for selecting whether to request repetition of the third random access message - in ¶ [0227 - 0234], (“the determination module is configured to determine, based on the SSB and the system information block, whether to request an Msg3 repetition operation from the network device…the system information block includes at least one of the following:…a first threshold value T0 of signal strength/signal quality/path loss…The selection module is configured to: in a case that a first condition is met, select a parameter corresponding to an SSB with signal quality greater than the first threshold value T0 as a configuration parameter of a first Msg1”) based on a path loss associated with determining a transmit power for transmitting the first random access message to the apparatus.- in ¶ [0095], (“The terminal determines whether to trigger an Msg3 repetition based on RSRP/RSRQ/path loss of the current downlink signal synchronization signal block (SSB) or a CSI-RS…The terminal requests an Msg3 repetition from the base station through the Msg1…Specific steps are as follows…¶ [0096]…the system information block contains at least one of the following information…¶ [0097], (1) First Threshold Value T0 of Signal Strength/Signal Quality/Path Loss”.); ¶ [0227 - 0234], (“…whether to request an Msg3 repetition…at least one of the following:…a first threshold value T0 of signal strength/signal quality/path loss…”)
Claim 29. Combination of YANG, KOSKINEN, and Mol’799 teaches The apparatus of claim 24, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
YANG teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to transmit a second random access message, - in ¶ [0157], (“the base station determines whether the terminal needs to perform an Msg3 repetition procedure based on the Msg1 and in an Msg2 stage, notifies the terminal to perform Msg3 repetition.”) associated with the request, to the UE including resources for repetition of the third random access message. - in ¶ [0095], (“The terminal requests an Msg3 repetition from the base station through the Msg1.”); ¶ [0103 – 0104], (“Time Domain Resource Assignment (TDRA) Table Used for Msg3 Repetition…The network configures a set of new TDRA tables for the terminal, where the table includes time domain configuration information and the corresponding number of Msg3 repetitions.”)
Claim 30. Combination of YANG, KOSKINEN, and Mol’799 teaches The apparatus of claim 24, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
YANG teaches:
further comprising a transceiver - See Fig. 7 & ¶ [0316] that is configured to at least one of transmit, to the UE, the configuration, or receive, from the UE, the first random access message, - in ¶ [0091], (“transmitting an Msg1 to the network device”) wherein the apparatus is configured as a base station. – in ¶ [0031], (“The network-side device 12 may be a base station”)
Claims 16-17 are rejected under the same rationale as Claims 1-2 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claims 20-21 are rejected under the same rationale as Claims 5-6 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claim 23 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 14 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claim 31 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 11 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claim 32 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 2 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claims 34-35 are rejected under the same rationale as Claims 5-6 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claims 7, 10, 22, 27, 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG et al. (US 20230361919, hereinafter, “YANG”) in view of KOSKINEN et al. (US20190174434, hereinafter, “KOSKINEN”) and further in view of MolavianJazi et al. (US20220377799, hereinafter, “Mol’799”) and MolavianJazi et al. (US 20210076384, hereinafter, “Mol’384”, provided in the IDS by the applicant).
Claim 7. Combination of YANG, KOSKINEN, and Mol’799 teaches The apparatus of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of YANG, KOSKINEN, and Mol’799 does not explicitly teach:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to receive, from the node, an indication of an adjustment to the threshold signal power for one or more user equipment (UE) power classes.
However, Mol’384 teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to receive, from the node, - See Fig. 1-2 an indication of an adjustment to the threshold signal power for one or more user equipment (UE) power classes. - See Fig. 7 & ¶ [0181- 0184], (“The UE then measures an RSRP for the selected DL RS resource in step 720 and adjusts the measured RSRP value based on the UE power class in step 730, for example, based on a difference of the UE amplifier power class (or simply, a UE power class) such as 10, 14, 17, 20 dBm with a reference UE power amplifier class (or simply, a reference UE power class) such as 23 dBm. The UE compares the adjusted RSRP with a first threshold in step 740 provided by higher layers.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified YANG, KOSKINEN, and Mol’799 with Mol’384 to include an indication of an adjustment to the threshold signal power for UE power classes, as taught by Mol’384. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to ensure communication reliability in a random access procedure, as suggested by Mol’384, methods for repetition of RAR and Msg3/4, where the following concepts are introduced: repetition of random access response (RAR) and Msg3/4 based on RSRP range/CE level/UE power class. - ¶ [0174]
Claim 10. Combination of YANG, KOSKINEN, and Mol’799 teaches The apparatus of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
YANG further teaches:
wherein the request is associated with whether the apparatus is configured to communicate in the paired or un-paired spectrum. - in ¶ [0095], (“The terminal requests an Msg3 repetition from the base station through the Msg1.”)
Mol’384 further teaches:
wherein the request is associated with whether the apparatus is configured to communicate in a paired or un-paired spectrum. - in ¶ [0203], (“different options can be used for different UE capabilities and/or operating bands. For example, option (A) can apply for a half-duplex UE while options (A) or (B) or (C) can apply for a full-duplex UE or for a UE operating in a TDD frequency band or in a FDD frequency band with a reference TDD UL/DL configuration.”, the UE determines its configuration based on whether it operates in TDD frequency bands (unpaired spectrum) or FDD frequency bands (paired spectrum))
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified YANG, KOSKINEN, and Mol’799 with Mol’384 to specify a paired or un-paired spectrum, as taught by Mol’384. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to ensure communication reliability in a random access procedure, as suggested by Mol’384, methods for repetition of RAR and Msg3/4, where the following concepts are introduced: repetition of random access response (RAR) and Msg3/4 based on RSRP range/CE level/UE power class. - ¶ [0174]
Claim 27. Combination of YANG, KOSKINEN, and Mol’799 teaches The apparatus of claim 24, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Mol’384 further teaches:
wherein the one or more parameters include a correcting term for the threshold signal power for one or more of various power classes of the UE, maximum allowed transmit powers of the UE, or PRACH transmit powers of the UE. - See Fig. 7 & ¶ [0181], (“The UE… adjusts the measured RSRP value based on the UE power class in step 730, for example, based on a difference of the UE amplifier power class (or simply, a UE power class) such as 10, 14, 17, 20 dBm with a reference UE power amplifier class (or simply, a reference UE power class) such as 23 dBm. The UE compares the adjusted RSRP with a first threshold in step 740 provided by higher layers.”, the difference between the reference UE power class (highest power class, 23 dBm) and the UE’s power class (10, 14, 17, 20 dBm) serves as a correcting term for the threshold signal power); ¶ [0227], (“one or multiple of the relative configuration parameters can be fixed in the system specifications.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified YANG, KOSKINEN, and Mol’799 with Mol’384 to include a correcting term for the threshold signal power for one or more of various power classes of the UE, as taught by Mol’384. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to ensure communication reliability in a random access procedure, as suggested by Mol’384, methods for repetition of RAR and Msg3/4, where the following concepts are introduced: repetition of random access response (RAR) and Msg3/4 based on RSRP range/CE level/UE power class. - ¶ [0174]
Claim 36. Combination of YANG, KOSKINEN, and Mol’799 teaches The apparatus of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Mol’384 further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to adjust the threshold signal power by a difference between a first maximum allowed transmit power of a highest power class and the maximum allowed transmit power of a power class of the apparatus. - See Fig. 2, 7 & ¶ [0181], (“The UE… adjusts the measured RSRP value based on the UE power class in step 730, for example, based on a difference of the UE amplifier power class (or simply, a UE power class) such as 10, 14, 17, 20 dBm with a reference UE power amplifier class (or simply, a reference UE power class) such as 23 dBm. The UE compares the adjusted RSRP with a first threshold in step 740 provided by higher layers.”, the difference between the reference UE power class (highest power class, 23 dBm) and the UE’s power class (10, 14, 17, 20 dBm) serves as a correcting term for the threshold signal power)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified YANG, KOSKINEN, and Mol’799 with Mol’384 to include adjust the threshold signal power by a difference between a first maximum allowed transmit power of a highest power class and the maximum allowed transmit power of a power class of the apparatus, as taught by Mol’384. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to ensure communication reliability in a random access procedure, as suggested by Mol’384, methods for repetition of RAR and Msg3/4, where the following concepts are introduced: repetition of random access response (RAR) and Msg3/4 based on RSRP range/CE level/UE power class. - ¶ [0174]
Claim 22 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 10 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Conclusion
/SHIMA WASEL/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475