DETAILED ACTION
2. Applicant's election with traverse of group I (claims 1-22) in the reply filed on 12/23/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claims are not distinct. This is not found persuasive because the claims in group I are directed to non-transitory media having stored then data comprising a topographical fishing map and a water current flow simulation, while group II requires the inputting and processing bathymetric information and current flow condition; and then storing water current simulation data in a memory; and group III provides for a method comprising obtaining bathymetric information and current flow condition, and display water current flow.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
3. Claims 1-22 are now presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/02/2022 and 07/20/2023 have been considered by the examiner; however, one or more documents have been lined through because they fail to show a date.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5.0 Claim(s) 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honaker et al. (USPG_PUB No. 20220005262 A1), in view of Delft3D-FLOW User Manual, (April 2018)).
5.1 In considering claim 1, Honaker et al. teaches a non-transitory computer readable media (see para [032]) having stored thereon data readable by a fish finder ([0005], fishing application) having a display and user input (including a client device comprising a client application), the data comprising:
a topographical fishing map usable by the fish finder to display bathymetric information regarding a body of water (para [0003], a fishing application that displays a 3D topographical map receding downwards into a body of water together with the types of fish that can be fished in the specific body of water. Further [0022] In one embodiment, the invention provides a system and a method that takes Lidar generated depth-map data, runs several image processing tools including proprietary algorithms to determine the probability distribution for finding fish of various types, then displays the results scaled and positioned over the surface of the water); and a water current flow simulation usable by the fish finder to display water current flow on the bathymetric information regarding a body of water (see para [0006], The computing algorithm calculates the fish probability distributions of various types of fish within the water body using the environmental factors and set rules and machine-learned rules based on historical data about which species of fish prefer which combinations of the environmental factors. The AR composite image includes the topobathy and bathymetry mapping data, animated flora and fauna simulated under the water surface in 3D, visualization of boating hazards and navigation dangers. [0026] FIG. 4, and FIG. 5, the superimposed composite image 165 includes the bathymetry mapping data 166, animated flora and fauna (aquatic life) simulated under the water surface in 3D, visualization of boating hazards and navigation dangers 170, among others, including low tide risks, currents i.e. water currents flow, and icebergs, among others.). The examiner further notes that the term usable by could amount to intended use and any phrase following the term may not be accorded patentable weight. It is further noted that while Honaker et al does not specifically state the term water current flow, he provides for animation of aquatic life simulated under water to include tidal condition, wind parameters, etc. used as inputs in the simulation and thus would have been obvious to a person of skilled in the art.
Nonetheless, Delft3D-FLOW provides a simulation software for the modeling of water flow and water flow simulation (see the hydrodynamic simulation, chapter 5) including the modelling of tidal flow under several conditions (see section 4.5.6 boundary conditions used in the simulation shown in chapter 5 where several simulations (2D/3D) are executed with density driven currents (a simulated period of 12 hrs 30 min, a time integration step of 5 minutes, 30 monitoring points and each time step being stored, the size of the history file will be of the order of 360 kBytes. angular grid. In Delft3D-FLOW, however, these terms have been implemented in a curvilinear co-ordinate system. For a full wave-current interaction the currents from Delft3D-FLOW are used in Delft3D-WAVE (current refraction), also see tide window display. Pg. 197, Three-dimensional flow for 3D models, a quadratic bed stress formulation is used that is quite similar to the one for depth-averaged computations. The bed shear stress in 3D is related to the current just above the bed:).
Honaker et al. and Delft3D-FLOW are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and that the model analyzes by Delft3D-FLOW is similar to that of Honaker et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of skilled in the art at the time of filing of the applicant’s invention to combine the simulation of Delft3D-FLOW with the method of Honaker et al. because Delft3D-FLOW teaches accurate generation of tidal motion (see section 9.9).
5.2 Regarding claim 2, the combined teachings of Honaker et al. and Delft3D-FLOW teaches that wherein the water current flow simulation includes a plurality of water current flow simulations selectable via the user input, including a first water current flow simulation illustrating a first flow condition for the body of water (see Delft3D-FLOW section 5.8, initial condition used in the simulation), a second water current flow simulation illustrating a second flow condition for the body of water different than the first flow condition for the body of water (see Delft3D-FLOW fig.5.17-5.20 which provides several different condition used in the simulation; The 3D part ν V is referred to as the three-dimensional turbulence and in 3D simulations it is computed following a 3D-turbulence closure model). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of skilled in the art at the time of filing of the applicant’s invention to combine the simulation of Delft3D-FLOW with the method of Honaker et al. because Delft3D-FLOW teaches accurate generation of tidal motion (see section 9.9).
5.3 As per claim 3, the combined teachings of Honaker et al. and Delft3D-FLOW teaches that wherein the plurality of water current flow simulations includes a third water current flow simulation illustrating a third flow condition for the body of water different than the first flow condition for the body of water and the second flow condition for the body of water (see Delft3D-FLOW fig.5.17-5.20 which provides several different condition used in the simulation in which each condition is different than the others. Sec.9.4, The 3D and 2D depth-averaged shallow water or long-wave equations applied in Delft3DFLOWrepresent a hyperbolic (inviscid case) or parabolic (viscid case) set of partial differential equations. To get a well-posed mathematical problem with a unique solution, a set of initial and boundary conditions for water levels and horizontal velocities must be specified. The contour of the model domain consists of parts along “land-water” lines (river banks, coast lines) which are called closed boundaries and parts across the flow field which are called open boundaries. Closed boundaries are natural boundaries. The velocities normal to a closed boundary are set to zero. Open boundaries are always artificial “water-water” boundaries. In a numerical model open boundaries are introduced to restrict the computational area and so the computational effort. They are situated as far away as possible from the area of interest. Long waves propagating out of the model area should not be hampered by the open boundaries. The reflection should be minimal). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of skilled in the art at the time of filing of the applicant’s invention to combine the simulation of Delft3D-FLOW with the method of Honaker et al. because Delft3D-FLOW teaches accurate generation of tidal motion (see section 9.9).
5.4 With regards to claim 4, the combined teachings of Honaker et al. and Delft3D-FLOW teaches that wherein the first flow condition for the body of water is a nominal inflow/outflow rate, wherein the second flow condition for the body of water is a high inflow/outflow rate greater than the nominal inflow/outflow rate, and wherein the third flow condition for the body of water is a low inflow/outflow rate less than the nominal inflow/outflow rate (see Delft3D-FLOW pg.196, For sub-critical flow we distinguish two situations, viz. inflow and outflow. At inflow, we have to specify two boundary conditions and at outflow we have to specify one boundary condition. For tidal flow the number of required boundary conditions varies between ebb and flood. The first boundary condition is an external forcing by the water level, the normal velocity, the discharge rate or the Riemann invariant specified by you. The second boundary condition is a built-in boundary condition. At inflow the velocity component along the open boundary is set to zero. The influence of this built-in boundary condition is in most cases restricted to only a few grid cells near the open boundary. It would be better to specify the tangential velocity component. The tangential velocity may be determined from measurements or from model results of a larger domain (nesting of models). In the present implementation of the open boundary conditions in Delft3D-FLOW it is not possible yet to specify the tangential velocity component at input. To get a realistic flow pattern near the open boundary, it is suggested to define the model boundaries at locations where the grid lines of the boundary are perpendicular to the flow). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of skilled in the art at the time of filing of the applicant’s invention to combine the simulation of Delft3D-FLOW with the method of Honaker et al. because Delft3D-FLOW teaches accurate generation of tidal motion (see section 9.9).
5.5 Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings of Honaker et al. and Delft3D-FLOW teaches that wherein the first flow condition for the body of water is a nominal inflow/outflow rate, and wherein the second flow condition for the body of water is a high inflow/outflow rate greater than the nominal inflow/outflow rate (see Delft3D-FLOW pg.196, For sub-critical flow we distinguish two situations, viz. inflow and outflow. At inflow, we have to specify two boundary conditions and at outflow we have to specify one boundary condition. For tidal flow the number of required boundary conditions varies between ebb and flood. The first boundary condition is an external forcing by the water level, the normal velocity, the discharge rate or the Riemann invariant specified by you. The second boundary condition is a built-in boundary condition. At inflow the velocity component along the open boundary is set to zero. The influence of this built-in boundary condition is in most cases restricted to only a few grid cells near the open boundary. It would be better to specify the tangential velocity component. The tangential velocity may be determined from measurements or from model results of a larger domain (nesting of models). In the present implementation of the open boundary conditions in Delft3D-FLOW it is not possible yet to specify the tangential velocity component at input. To get a realistic flow pattern near the open boundary, it is suggested to define the model boundaries at locations where the grid lines of the boundary are perpendicular to the flow. Pg.209, If the concentration at outflow differs from the boundary condition at inflow, there is a discontinuity in the concentration at the turn of the flow. The transition of the concentration at the boundary from the outflow value to the inflow value may take some time). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of skilled in the art at the time of filing of the applicant’s invention to combine the simulation of Delft3D-FLOW with the method of Honaker et al. because Delft3D-FLOW teaches accurate generation of tidal motion (see section 9.9).
5.6 As per claim 6, the combined teachings of Honaker et al. and Delft3D-FLOW teaches that wherein the first flow condition for the body of water is a nominal inflow/outflow rate, and wherein the second flow condition for the body of water is a low inflow/outflow rate less than the nominal inflow/outflow rate (see Delft3D-FLOW pg.196, For sub-critical flow we distinguish two situations, viz. inflow and outflow. At inflow, we have to specify two boundary conditions and at outflow we have to specify one boundary condition. For tidal flow the number of required boundary conditions varies between ebb and flood. The first boundary condition is an external forcing by the water level, the normal velocity, the discharge rate or the Riemann invariant specified by you. The second boundary condition is a built-in boundary condition. At inflow the velocity component along the open boundary is set to zero. The influence of this built-in boundary condition is in most cases restricted to only a few grid cells near the open boundary. It would be better to specify the tangential velocity component. The tangential velocity may be determined from measurements or from model results of a larger domain (nesting of models). In the present implementation of the open boundary conditions in Delft3D-FLOW it is not possible yet to specify the tangential velocity component at input. To get a realistic flow pattern near the open boundary, it is suggested to define the model boundaries at locations where the grid lines of the boundary are perpendicular to the flow. Pg.209, If the concentration at outflow differs from the boundary condition at inflow, there is a discontinuity in the concentration at the turn of the flow. The transition of the concentration at the boundary from the outflow value to the inflow value may take some time). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of skilled in the art at the time of filing of the applicant’s invention to combine the simulation of Delft3D-FLOW with the method of Honaker et al. because Delft3D-FLOW teaches accurate generation of tidal motion (see section 9.9).
5.7 Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings of Honaker et al. and Delft3D-FLOW teaches that wherein the first flow condition for the body of water is a first tidal current condition at a first time, and wherein the second flow condition for the body of water is a second tidal current condition at a second time (see Delft3D-FLOW pg.302, The flow condition depends on the water level downstream and the discharge rate. Pg.357, Verify that the morphological factor that you use in your simulation is appropriate by varying it (e.g. reducing it by a factor of 2) and verify that such changes do not affect the overall simulation results. The interpretation of the morphological factor differs for coastal and river applications. For coastal applications with tidal motion, the morphological variations during a tidal cycle are often small and the hydrodynamics is not significantly affected by the bed level changes. By increasing the morphological factor to for instance 10, the morphological changes during one simulated tidal cycle are increased by this factor. From a hydrodynamical point of view this increase in morphological development rate is allowed if the hydrodynamics is not significantly influenced. In that case the morphological development after one tidal cycle can be assumed to represent the morphological development that would in real life only have occurred after 10 tidal cycles. In this example the number of hydrodynamic time steps required to simulate a certain period is reduced by a factor of 10 compared to a full 1:1 simulation. This leads to a significant reduction in simulation time. However, one should note that by following this approach the order of events is changed, possible conflicts may arise in combination with limited sediment availability and bed stratigraphy simulations. In river applications there is no such periodicity as a tidal cycle.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of skilled in the art at the time of filing of the applicant’s invention to combine the simulation of Delft3D-FLOW with the method of Honaker et al. because Delft3D-FLOW teaches accurate generation of tidal motion (see section 9.9).
5.8 As per claim 8, the combined teachings of Honaker et al. and Delft3D-FLOW teaches that wherein the first tidal current condition at the first time corresponds to high tide (see Delft3D-FLOW pg.470, the maximal or minimal value is determined of the selected variable as it occurred during the simulation. Computed Fourier amplitudes slightly differ from the amplitude of the corresponding tidal component. When comparisons with co-tidal maps have to be made, this factor can be determined using the subsystem ASCON of Delft3D-TIDE, the tidal analysis package of Deltares. Also see section 9.9, tide generating forces which takes into high and low tidal conditions), and wherein the second tidal current condition at the second time corresponds to low tide (see Delft3D-FLOW, the σ-transformation gives rise to, not always required, high grid resolution in shallow areas (tidal flats) and possibly insufficient grid resolution in deeper parts (holes) of the computational domain. At tidal flats at low tide, the mapping may even become singular). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of skilled in the art at the time of filing of the applicant’s invention to combine the simulation of Delft3D-FLOW with the method of Honaker et al. because Delft3D-FLOW teaches accurate generation of tidal motion (see section 9.9).
5.9 Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings of Honaker et al. and Delft3D-FLOW teaches that wherein the water current flow simulation includes current flow simulation data usable by the fish finder to display water current flow dynamically having current flow lines that move to show direction and rate of the water current flow (see Delft3D-FLOW pg.161, For a 3D simulation with 50 by 50 points and 5 layers, simulated with density driven currents (salinity and temperature), simulation results stored for a period of 12 hours and 30 minutes, and the file is written with an interval of 30 minutes the size of the map file will be about 31 MBytes. B.23.2, The online Delft3D-FLOW and SOBEK coupling is implemented as an explicit coupling using the DelftIO library. Relevant state parameters are exchanged at time step level; SOBEK sends discharges to Delft3D-FLOW, while Delft3D-FLOW sends water levels to SOBEK (see Figure B.34). In SOBEK, these water levels are subsequently prescribed at specified boundary nodes. In Delft3D-FLOW, these discharges are prescribed at specified total discharge boundaries. Further Honaker et al. para ([0003], a fishing application that displays a 3D topographical map receding downwards into a body of water together with the types of fish that can be fished in the specific body of water. Further [0022] In one embodiment, the invention provides a system and a method that takes Lidar generated depth-map data, runs several image processing tools including proprietary algorithms to determine the probability distribution for finding fish of various types, then displays the results scaled and positioned over the surface of the water). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of skilled in the art at the time of filing of the applicant’s invention to combine the simulation of Delft3D-FLOW with the method of Honaker et al. because Delft3D-FLOW teaches accurate generation of tidal motion (see section 9.9).
5.10 As per claim 10, the combined teachings of Honaker et al. and Delft3D-FLOW teaches that wherein the water current flow simulation includes current flow simulation data usable by the fish finder to display water current flow statically having static flow arrows that are sized and positioned to point in a direction of the water current flow and to signify a rate of the water current flow (see Delft3D-FLOW pg.161, For a 3D simulation with 50 by 50 points and 5 layers, simulated with density driven currents (salinity and temperature), simulation results stored for a period of 12 hours and 30 minutes, and the file is written with an interval of 30 minutes the size of the map file will be about 31 MBytes. B.23.2, The online Delft3D-FLOW and SOBEK coupling is implemented as an explicit coupling using the DelftIO library. Relevant state parameters are exchanged at time step level; SOBEK sends discharges to Delft3D-FLOW, while Delft3D-FLOW sends water levels to SOBEK (see Figure B.34). In SOBEK, these water levels are subsequently prescribed at specified boundary nodes. In Delft3D-FLOW, these discharges are prescribed at specified total discharge boundaries. Further Honaker et al. para [0006], The computing algorithm calculates the fish probability distributions of various types of fish within the water body using the environmental factors and set rules and machine-learned rules based on historical data about which species of fish prefer which combinations of the environmental factors. The AR composite image includes the topobathy and bathymetry mapping data, animated flora and fauna simulated under the water surface in 3D, visualization of boating hazards and navigation dangers. [0026] FIG. 4, and FIG. 5, the superimposed composite image 165 includes the bathymetry mapping data 166, animated flora and fauna (aquatic life) simulated under the water surface in 3D, visualization of boating hazards and navigation dangers 170, among others, including low tide risks, currents i.e. water currents flow, and icebergs, among others.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of skilled in the art at the time of filing of the applicant’s invention to combine the simulation of Delft3D-FLOW with the method of Honaker et al. because Delft3D-FLOW teaches accurate generation of tidal motion (see section 9.9).
5.11 Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings of Honaker et al. and Delft3D-FLOW teaches that wherein the water current flow simulation includes current flow simulation data usable by the fish finder to display water current flow having colorizations to show rates of the water current flow (see Delft3D-FLOW pg. 24, The various selections of View Attributes are displayed in Figure 4.3. You can activate (display) or de-activate (hide) the various attributes. Fonts To set the font, size, etc. of the attribute names. Colors To set the colors for visualizing the bathymetry. Section 4.5.6 boundary conditions used in the simulation shown in chapter 5 where several simulations (2D/3D) are executed with density driven currents (a simulated period of 12 hrs 30 min, a time integration step of 5 minutes, 30 monitoring points and each time step being stored, the size of the history file will be of the order of 360 kBytes. angular grid. In Delft3D-FLOW, however, these terms have been implemented in a curvilinear co-ordinate system. For a full wave-current interaction the currents from Delft3D-FLOW are used in Delft3D-WAVE (current refraction), also see tide window display. Pg. 197, Three-dimensional flow for 3D models, a quadratic bed stress formulation is used that is quite similar to the one for depth-averaged computations. The bed shear stress in 3D is related to the current just above the bed: further see Honaker et al. para [0022], The resulting effect is a color-coded topo-map receding downwards into a body of water, with meta-data that is relevant to boaters and anglers superimposed in space. Further [0026], The bathymetry mapping data 166 include bathygraphy iso-bar lines indicating depth of the water and the calculated fish probability distribution 167 are displayed as heatmaps showing the probability of finding specific fish in a specific location and depth The direction markers 191a orient themselves and point to the direction of the surface slope. The volume portion 194 where there is a high probability of finding fish is colored. Additional surface markers 192′ may be in the adjacent areas from surface marker 192 and their distance from markers 191 and 192 is indicated.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of skilled in the art at the time of filing of the applicant’s invention to combine the simulation of Delft3D-FLOW with the method of Honaker et al. because Delft3D-FLOW teaches accurate generation of tidal motion (see section 9.9).
5.12 As per claim 12, the combined teachings of Honaker et al. and Delft3D-FLOW teaches one of a secure digital (SD) card, microSD card, SDHC (high capacity) card, or SDXC (extended capacity) card (see Honaker et al. para [0032] Computer system 400 may further include one or more memories, such as first memory 430 and second memory 440. First memory 430, second memory 440, or a combination thereof function as a computer usable storage medium to store and/or access computer code. The first memory 430 and second memory 440 may be random access memory (RAM), read-only memory (ROM), a mass storage device, or any combination thereof. As shown in FIG. 14, one embodiment of second memory 440 is a mass storage device 443. The mass storage device 443 includes storage drive 445 and storage media 447. Storage media 447 may or may not be removable from the storage drive 445. Mass storage devices 443 with storage media 447 that are removable, otherwise referred to as removable storage media, allow computer code to be transferred to and/or from the computer system 400. Mass storage device 443 may be a Compact Disc Memory, ZIP storage device, tape storage device, magnetic storage device, optical storage device, Micro-Electro-Mechanical Systems (“MEMS”), nanotechnological storage device, floppy storage device, hard disk device, USB drive, among others. Mass storage device 443 may also be program cartridges and cartridge interfaces, removable memory chips (such as an EPROM, or PROM) and associated sockets). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of skilled in the art at the time of filing of the applicant’s invention to combine the simulation of Delft3D-FLOW with the method of Honaker et al. because Delft3D-FLOW teaches accurate generation of tidal motion (see section 9.9).
5.13 With regards claim 13, the combined teachings of Honaker et al. and Delft3D-FLOW teaches that wherein the water current flow simulation is generated by a processor running a hydrodynamic modeling program (see Delft3D-FLOW section 4.5.4 Processes In the Data Group Processes you specify which processes or quantities that might influence the hydrodynamic simulation are taken into account. Here you only define which processes you are going to apply; the parameters required for these processes are defined in other Data Groups, such as Initial conditions or Boundaries.) and using the topographical fishing map bathymetric information (see Honaker et al. para [0003], a fishing application that displays a 3D topographical map receding downwards into a body of water together with the types of fish that can be fished in the specific body of water. Further [0022] In one embodiment, the invention provides a system and a method that takes Lidar generated depth-map data, runs several image processing tools including proprietary algorithms to determine the probability distribution for finding fish of various types, then displays the results scaled and positioned over the surface of the water) and selected inflow/outflow data for the body of water (see Delft3D-FLOW pg.196, For sub-critical flow we distinguish two situations, viz. inflow and outflow. At inflow, we have to specify two boundary conditions and at outflow we have to specify one boundary condition. For tidal flow the number of required boundary conditions varies between ebb and flood. The first boundary condition is an external forcing by the water level, the normal velocity, the discharge rate or the Riemann invariant specified by you. The second boundary condition is a built-in boundary condition. At inflow the velocity component along the open boundary is set to zero. The influence of this built-in boundary condition is in most cases restricted to only a few grid cells near the open boundary. It would be better to specify the tangential velocity component. The tangential velocity may be determined from measurements or from model results of a larger domain (nesting of models). In the present implementation of the open boundary conditions in Delft3D-FLOW it is not possible yet to specify the tangential velocity component at input. To get a realistic flow pattern near the open boundary, it is suggested to define the model boundaries at locations where the grid lines of the boundary are perpendicular to the flow. Pg.209, If the concentration at outflow differs from the boundary condition at inflow, there is a discontinuity in the concentration at the turn of the flow. The transition of the concentration at the boundary from the outflow value to the inflow value may take some time). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of skilled in the art at the time of filing of the applicant’s invention to combine the simulation of Delft3D-FLOW with the method of Honaker et al. because Delft3D-FLOW teaches accurate generation of tidal motion (see section 9.9).
5.14 Regards claim 14, the combined teachings of Honaker et al. and Delft3D-FLOW teaches that wherein the hydrodynamic modeling program is Delft3D-FLOW (see Delft3D-FLOW User Manual). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of skilled in the art at the time of filing of the applicant’s invention to combine the simulation of Delft3D-FLOW with the method of Honaker et al. because Delft3D-FLOW teaches accurate generation of tidal motion (see section 9.9).
5.15 Regarding claim 15, the combined teachings of Honaker et al. and Delft3D-FLOW teaches that wherein the selected inflow/outflow data is provided by one of NOAA, monitoring stations, or user input (see Delft3D-FLOW pg.196, For sub-critical flow we distinguish two situations, viz. inflow and outflow. At inflow, we have to specify two boundary conditions and at outflow we have to specify one boundary condition. For tidal flow the number of required boundary conditions varies between ebb and flood. The first boundary condition is an external forcing by the water level, the normal velocity, the discharge rate or the Riemann invariant specified by you. The second boundary condition is a built-in boundary condition. At inflow the velocity component along the open boundary is set to zero. Pg.401, monitoring station Virtual point in the model area, where computational results, such as the current, the water level and/or the concentration of constituents are monitored as a function of time. Also called observation point.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of skilled in the art at the time of filing of the applicant’s invention to combine the simulation of Delft3D-FLOW with the method of Honaker et al. because Delft3D-FLOW teaches accurate generation of tidal motion (see section 9.9).
5.16 With regards claim 16, the combined teachings of Honaker et al. and Delft3D-FLOW teaches that wherein the water current flow simulation is generated by a processor running a tidal modeling program (see Delft3D-FLOW pg.470, tidal component. When comparisons with co-tidal maps have to be made, this factor can be determined using the subsystem ASCON of Delft3D-TIDE, the tidal analysis package of Deltares.) and using the topographical fishing map bathymetric information (Honaker et al. [0003], a fishing application that displays a 3D topographical map receding downwards into a body of water together with the types of fish that can be fished in the specific body of water. Further [0022] In one embodiment, the invention provides a system and a method that takes Lidar generated depth-map data, runs several image processing tools including proprietary algorithms to determine the probability distribution for finding fish of various types, then displays the results scaled and positioned over the surface of the water) and selected time data for the body of water (see pg.83 of Delft3D-FLOW, To define a wind field that is time dependent but uniform in space.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of skilled in the art at the time of filing of the applicant’s invention to combine the simulation of Delft3D-FLOW with the method of Honaker et al. because Delft3D-FLOW teaches accurate generation of tidal motion (see section 9.9).
5.17 As per claim 17, the combined teachings of Honaker et al. and Delft3D-FLOW teaches that wherein the tidal modeling program is OTIS (at pg. described several tidal model to include Delft3D-TRIANA and Delft3D-TIDE for performing off-line tidal analysis of time series generated by Delft3D-FLOW for performing tidal analysis on time-series of measured water, the use an OTIS to perform tidal modeling and analysis would thus obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of skilled in the art at the time of filing of the applicant’s invention to combine the simulation of Delft3D-FLOW with the method of Honaker et al. because Delft3D-FLOW teaches accurate generation of tidal motion (see section 9.9).
5.18 Regarding claim 18, the combined teachings of Honaker et al. and Delft3D-FLOW teaches the internal memory of the fish finder (see Honaker et al. para [0032] Computer system 400 may further include one or more memories, such as first memory 430 and second memory 440. First memory 430, second memory 440, or a combination thereof function as a computer usable storage medium to store and/or access computer code. The first memory 430 and second memory 440 may be random access memory (RAM), read-only memory (ROM), a mass storage device, or any combination thereof. As shown in FIG. 14, one embodiment of second memory 440 is a mass storage device 443. The mass storage device 443 includes storage drive 445 and storage media 447. Storage media 447 may or may not be removable from the storage drive 445. Mass storage devices 443 with storage media 447 that are removable, otherwise referred to as removable storage media, allow computer code to be transferred to and/or from the computer system 400. Mass storage device 443 may be a Compact Disc Memory, ZIP storage device, tape storage device, magnetic storage device, optical storage device, Micro-Electro-Mechanical Systems (“MEMS”), nanotechnological storage device, floppy storage device, hard disk device, USB drive, among others. Mass storage device 443 may also be program cartridges and cartridge interfaces, removable memory chips (such as an EPROM, or PROM) and associated sockets.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of skilled in the art at the time of filing of the applicant’s invention to combine the simulation of Delft3D-FLOW with the method of Honaker et al. because Delft3D-FLOW teaches accurate generation of tidal motion (see section 9.9).
5.19 Regarding claim 19, the combined teachings of Honaker et al. and Delft3D-FLOW teaches that wherein the water current flow simulation is stored as a separate layer from the bathymetric information of the topographical fishing map that may be turned on or off by the user input (see Delft3D-FLOW pg.24 To Zoom In and Zoom Out the whole visualization area, Zoom Box in a user-defined area and Zoom Reset to return to the initial situation. To switch on or off viewing attributes and/or attribute names. The various selections of View. You can activate (display) or de-activate (hide) the various attributes.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of skilled in the art at the time of filing of the applicant’s invention to combine the simulation of Delft3D-FLOW with the method of Honaker et al. because Delft3D-FLOW teaches accurate generation of tidal motion (see section 9.9).
5.20 With regards to claim 20, the combined teachings of Honaker et al. and Delft3D-FLOW teaches that wherein the water current flow simulation is integrated with the bathymetric information of the topographical fishing map (see Honaker et al. para [0028] Referring to FIG. 9-FIG. 11, the ClearWater user interface (UI) 180 in the mobile phone 174 displays the bathymetry mapping data 166 and fish probability distribution data 167 when placed within the current field of view of the mobile phone camera (182). The UI 180 also provides the options to drop markers for fishing suggestions 168, for boating hazards 170 and custom makers 171 within the displayed composite image (184). Custom markers 171a, 171b, 171c marking the presence of an interesting structure in the water may be saved, shared and revisited at a future time (186). See further Delft3D-FLOW pg.24 fig.4.3, To set the colors for visualizing the bathymetry. Color Options To select which quantities will be displayed in the visualization area). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of skilled in the art at the time of filing of the applicant’s invention to combine the simulation of Delft3D-FLOW with the method of Honaker et al. because Delft3D-FLOW teaches accurate generation of tidal motion (see section 9.9).
5.21 As per claim 21, the combined teachings of Honaker et al. and Delft3D-FLOW teaches that wherein the water current flow simulation is stored on a first non-transitory computer readable media portion (see fig.4.54-4.55, also Honaker et al. para [0032] Computer system 400 may further include one or more memories, such as first memory 430 and second memory 440. First memory 430, second memory 440, or a combination thereof function as a computer usable storage medium to store and/or access computer code. The first memory 430 and second memory 440 may be random access memory (RAM), read-only memory (ROM), a mass storage device, or any combination thereof. As shown in FIG. 14, one embodiment of second memory 440 is a mass storage device 443. The mass storage device 443 includes storage drive 445 and storage media 447), and wherein the bathymetric information of the topographical fishing map is stored on a second non-transitory computer readable media portion. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of skilled in the art at the time of filing of the applicant’s invention to combine the simulation of Delft3D-FLOW with the method of Honaker et al. because Delft3D-FLOW teaches accurate generation of tidal motion (see section 9.9).
5.22 With regards to claim 22, the combined teachings of Honaker et al. and Delft3D-FLOW teaches that wherein the first non-transitory computer readable media portion is one of a secure digital (SD) card, microSD card, SDHC (high capacity) card, or SDXC (extended capacity) card and the second non-transitory computer readable media portion is internal memory of the fish finder (see Honaker et al. para [0032] Computer system 400 may further include one or more memories, such as first memory 430 and second memory 440. First memory 430, second memory 440, or a combination thereof function as a computer usable storage medium to store and/or access computer code. The first memory 430 and second memory 440 may be random access memory (RAM), read-only memory (ROM), a mass storage device, or any combination thereof. As shown in FIG. 14, one embodiment of second memory 440 is a mass storage device 443. The mass storage device 443 includes storage drive 445 and storage media 447. Storage media 447 may or may not be removable from the storage drive 445. Mass storage devices 443 with storage media 447 that are removable, otherwise referred to as removable storage media, allow computer code to be transferred to and/or from the computer system 400. Mass storage device 443 may be a Compact Disc Memory, ZIP storage device, tape storage device, magnetic storage device, optical storage device, Micro-Electro-Mechanical Systems (“MEMS”), nanotechnological storage device, floppy storage device, hard disk device, USB drive, among others. Mass storage device 443 may also be program cartridges and cartridge interfaces, removable memory chips (such as an EPROM, or PROM) and associated sockets). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of skilled in the art at the time of filing of the applicant’s invention to combine the simulation of Delft3D-FLOW with the method of Honaker et al. because Delft3D-FLOW teaches accurate generation of tidal motion (see section 9.9).
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
6.1 Takemura et al. (USPG_PUB No. 20230194749 A1) teaches a system which can detect/check an underground water vein in a specific ground area and detect/check underground water in the underground water vein at a pinpoint.
6.2 Pelin et al. (USPG_PUB No. 2018/0129213) teaches a system for controlling a marine vessel has a sonar depth finder which displays a chart, stored in memory, for a body of water.
7. Claims 1-22 are rejected and claims 23-42 are directed to non-elected invention. This action is non-final. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANDRE PIERRE-LOUIS whose telephone number is (571)272-8636. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:00 AM-5:00 PM.
/ANDRE PIERRE LOUIS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2187 April 27, 2026