DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
Claims 1-3, 11-13, and 19-20 have been amended.
Claims 1-3, 5-13, and 15-20 remain pending in the application.
The amendment filed 11/24/2025 is sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections of claims 1-3, 5-13, and 15-20. The previous rejections have been withdrawn.
The amendment filed 11/24/2025 is sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1-3, 5-7, 11-13, 15-17, and 19-20 over Kuo in view of Saniee, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 8 and 18 over Kuo in view of Saniee and further in view of Zhang and the 35 U.S.C. rejections of claims 9 and 10 over Kuo in view of Saniee and further in view of Wan. The previous rejections have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Argument 1, regarding the 101 rejections, applicant argues that the 101 rejections should be withdrawn because the claims integrate the judicial exceptions into the practical application of an improvement in the technical field of training neural networks. Examiner agrees and the 101 rejections have been withdrawn.
Argument 2, regarding the prior art rejections, applicant argues that none of the cited prior art teaches “performing a plurality of iterations of supervised co-training of the full-sized network and a respective subset of the plurality of sub-networks, and excluding a smallest sub-network in size from the respective subset of the plurality of sub-networks in an iteration of the plurality of iterations”. Applicant argues that the cited teaching of Kuo only recites training a huge number of sub-networks, and not the whole network. Examiner notes this argument is moot because the cited portion of Kuo is directed towards the teaching of performing a plurality of iterations of supervised co-training of a respective subset of the plurality of sub-networks, and not directed towards the training of the full-sized network. Kuo teaches performing a plurality of iterations of supervised co-training of a respective subset of the plurality of sub-networks (in multiple iterations, sub-networks are trained in the same training process (co-trained), C20:L58-66. The learning may be supervised learning, C13:L17-24).
Applicant also argues that the “whole network” taught in Kuo may not reasonably be interpreted as a full-sized network because the whole network is the final network of the training process. As argued above, Kuo is cited to teach performing a plurality of iterations of supervised co-training of a respective subset of the plurality of sub-networks. As seen below, independent claims 1, 11, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because the term “full-sized network” is relative. In the interest of compact prosecution, if it were interpreted to mean a network with each subnetwork connected, the teachings of Chen et al (Pub. No.: US 20240283499 A1) meet the limitation. Examiner notes that applicant’s argument is moot over the rejection in view of Chen. Chen teaches performing a plurality of iterations of supervised co-training of the full-sized network (precoding matrix determination network consists of four different sub networks, P0104. Subnetworks may be trained independently before the entire precoding matrix determination network is trained, P0118. Training of the precoding matrix determination network may be completed over a number of iterations, P0105).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of
Kuo and Chen before them, to include Chen’s specific teaching of training an entire network and its sub-networks as a whole in Kuo’s system of artificial neural network configuration. One would have been motivated to make such a combination of training an entire network and its sub-networks as a whole (see Chen P0104-P0105, P0118), and training a bulk of sub-networks of a network to create a fully nested final network (see Kuo C20:L53-66).
Applicant also argues that Saniee does not teach “excluding a smallest sub-network in size from the respective subset of the plurality of sub-networks in an iteration of the plurality of iterations” and instead teaches a method for pruning sub-networks based on connections with the DNN. Applicant's argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive. Applicant does not explain why the cited portion of Saniee does not teach “excluding a smallest sub-network in size from the respective subset of the plurality of sub-networks in an iteration of the plurality of iterations” beyond stating that the limitation is not taught by Saniee.
Saniee teaches removing or masking connections of the subnetwork with the smallest weights. Saniee teaches excluding a smallest sub-network in size from the respective subset of the plurality of sub-networks in an iteration of the plurality of iterations (connections of a subnetwork with the smallest magnitude weights may be removed or masked, P0062, P0073. This is an iterative process, P0026, P0083). Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, removing or masking connections of a subnetwork with the smallest weights is interpreted as “excluding a smallest sub-network in size from the respective subset of the plurality of sub-networks in an iteration of the plurality of iterations”.
The full prior art rejections are outlined below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “training a full-sized network and a plurality of sub-networks, the training comprising performing at least one epoch of training the full- sized network, and performing a plurality of iterations of supervised co- training of the full-sized network and a respective subset of the plurality of sub-networks…while iteratively decreasing a size of the subset of the sub-networks by removing a smallest sub-network from each subset of the sub-networks; and selecting a sub-network from among co-trained sub-networks based on a hardware constraint” in claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification does not disclose sufficient corresponding structure for the claimed functions of training a full-sized network and plurality of sub-networks (see MPEP 2181 (IV)). Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art cannot determine how to perform the claimed functions, and the specification fails to demonstrate that the inventor was in possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing. Claim 20 incorporates by reference all limitations of claim 19 and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for similar reasons.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ),
second paragraph.
The term “full-sized network” in claims 1, 11, and 19 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “full-sized network” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-20 inherit the deficiency and are rejected for the
same rationale. Appropriate action is required.
Claim limitation “training a full-sized network and a plurality of sub-networks, the training comprising performing at least one epoch of training the full- sized network, and performing a plurality of iterations of supervised co- training of the full-sized network and a respective subset of the plurality of sub-networks…while iteratively decreasing a size of the subset of the sub-networks by removing a smallest sub-network from each subset of the sub-networks; and selecting a sub-network from among co-trained sub-networks based on a hardware constraint” in claim 19 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No association between the structure and the functions can be found in the specification. The specification fails to clearly link the claimed functions to disclosed structures, materials, or acts (see MPEP 2181 (III)). Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Claim 20 incorporates by reference all
limitations of claim 19 and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for similar reasons.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 11-13, 15-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo et al (Pub. No.: US 12093817 B2), hereafter Kuo in view of Chen et al (Pub. No.: US 20240283499 A1), hereafter Chen and Saniee et al (Pub. No.: US 20220318631 A1), hereafter Saniee.
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 19, Kuo teaches co-training the full-sized network and a plurality of sub-networks, wherein the co-training of the full-sized network and the plurality of sub-networks comprises: performing a plurality of iterations of supervised co-training of … a respective subset of the plurality of sub-networks (in multiple iterations, sub-networks are trained in the same training process (co-trained), C20:L58-66. The learning may be supervised learning, C13:L17-24)… selecting a sub-network from among co-trained sub-networks based on a hardware constraint (heuristic search algorithm is used to search for an optimal subnetwork from the subnetworks based on a given resource configuration including number of cores and size of memory, C21:L3-8).
Kuo does not appear to explicitly teach “training a full-sized network, wherein the training of the full-sized network comprises performing at least one epoch of training the full-sized network;…performing a plurality of iterations of supervised co-training of the full-sized network”.
Chen teaches training a full-sized network, wherein the training of the full-sized network comprises performing at least one epoch of training the full-sized network;…performing a plurality of iterations of supervised co-training of the full-sized network (precoding matrix determination network consists of four different sub networks, P0104. Subnetworks may be trained independently before the entire precoding matrix determination network is trained, P0118. Training of the precoding matrix determination network may be completed over a number of iterations, P0105).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of
Kuo and Chen before them, to include Chen’s specific teaching of training an entire network and its sub-networks as a whole in Kuo’s system of artificial neural network configuration. One would have been motivated to make such a combination of training an entire network and its sub-networks as a whole (see Chen P0104-P0105, P0118), and training a bulk of sub-networks of a network to create a fully nested final network (see Kuo C20:L53-66).
Kuo in view of Chen does not appear to explicitly teach “excluding a smallest sub-network in size from the respective subset of the plurality of sub-networks in an iteration of the plurality of iterations”.
Saniee teaches excluding a smallest sub-network in size from the respective subset of the plurality of sub-networks in an iteration of the plurality of iterations (connections of a subnetwork with the smallest magnitude weights may be removed or masked, P0062, P0073. This is an iterative process, P0026, P0083).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of
Kuo, Chen, and Saniee before them, to include Saniee’s specific teaching of removing or masking connections of a subnetwork with the smallest magnitude weights in Kuo’s system of artificial neural network configuration. One would have been motivated to make such a combination of removing or masking connections of a subnetwork with the smallest magnitude weights (see Saniee P0026, P0062, P0073, P0083), and using a heuristic search algorithm to determine components that should be removed from a neural network (see Kuo C6:L44-49).
Regarding claim 19, this element invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The elements are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as processor(s) with the algorithm described in the specification that causes the processor(s) to perform the claimed functions.
(the algorithms for: training a full-sized network and a plurality of sub-networks, the training comprising performing at least one epoch of training the full- sized network, and performing a plurality of iterations of supervised co- training of the full-sized network and a respective subset of the plurality of sub-networks…while iteratively decreasing a size of the subset of the sub-networks by removing a smallest sub-network from each subset of the sub-networks; and selecting a sub-network from among co-trained sub-networks based on a hardware constraint).
Regarding claims 2, 12, and 20, Kuo in view of Chen and Saniee teaches the limitations of claims 1, 11, and 19 as outlined above. Kuo further teaches wherein the co-training of the full-sized network and the respective subset of the sub-networks comprises maximizing the full-sized network only with respect to ground truth labels (each block of the full network is maximized with respect to the ground truth by analyzing errors between the ground truth and prior classifiers. Blocks with larger errors compared to the ground truth are dropped, maximizing the full network, C10:L12-33).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Kuo in view of Chen and Saniee teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 11 as outlined above. Kuo further teaches wherein the co-training of the full-sized network and the respective subset of the sub-networks comprises maximizing the sub-networks only with respect to output of the full-sized network (Only accurate sub-networks remain after less accurate sub-networks are removed, and this is gauged by the performance of the whole network, C18:L32-46).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Kuo in view of Chen and Saniee teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 11 as outlined above. Kuo further teaches wherein, for each iteration, each subset of the sub- networks is selected at random (“the training operation includes randomly selecting nested sub-networks during training batches”, C3:L33-35).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Kuo in view of Chen and Saniee teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 11 as outlined above. Kuo further teaches performing of the at least one epoch of training of the full-sized network is without performing co-training with the sub-networks and is before the performing of the plurality of iterations of supervised co-training (ordered dropout, the training of sub-networks within the full network after removing certain sub-networks is compared to the training of the full network. This comparison cannot be made without a first epoch of training the full network before, C19:L5-14 figure 6).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Kuo in view of Chen and Saniee teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 11 as outlined above. Kuo further teaches wherein each of the sub-networks has a channel expansion ratio selected from the group consisting of 3, 4, and 6 (channel expansion ratio is interpreted as width in view of P0044 of spec of instant application. Width of the sub-networks may be 3 or 4 bits, C19:L63-67, C20:L1-9).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo in view of Chen and Saniee and further in view of Zhang et al (Pub. No.: CN 112700786 B), hereafter Zhang.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Kuo in view of Chen and Saniee teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 11 as outlined above. Kuo does not appear to explicitly teach wherein each of the sub-networks has a depth selected from the group consisting of 2, 3, and 4.
Zhang teaches wherein each of the sub-networks has a depth selected from the group consisting of 2, 3, and 4 (depth is interpreted as number of layers in view of P0044 of spec of instant application. Zhang teaches each subnetwork has 3 layers. Page 13, full paragraph 3).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of
Kuo, Chen, Saniee and Zhang before them, to include Zhang’s specific teaching of each subnetwork having 3 layers in Kuo’s system of Artificial Neural Network Configuration And Deployment. One would have been motivated to make such a combination of each subnetwork having 3 layers and neural networks having at least 2 layers to include different number of building blocks, and the sliding windows for the layers are configured to cover the same proportion of building blocks per layer (see Kuo C6:L11-16).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo in view Chen and Saniee and further in view of Wan et al (Pub. No: CN 111798469 A), hereafter Wan.
Regarding claim 9, Kuo in view of Chen and Saniee teaches the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Kuo does not appear to explicitly teach wherein each of the sub-networks consists of five blocks.
Wan teaches wherein each of the sub-networks consists of five blocks (sub network comprises 5 convolution blocks. Page 3, paragraph 8).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of
Kuo, Chen, Saniee and Wan before them, to include Wan’s specific teaching of each subnetwork having 5 blocks in Kuo’s system of Artificial Neural Network Configuration And Deployment. One would have been motivated to make such a combination of each subnetwork having 5 blocks and each subnetwork including blocks for specific functions for respective resource configuration (see Kuo C3:L19-22).
Regarding claim 10, Kuo in view of Chen and Saniee and further in view of Wan teaches the limitations of claim 9 as outlined above. Wan further teaches wherein the five blocks have respective kernel sizes of 3, 5,3, 3, and 5 (In view of P0045-P0046 of the instant application, the kernel sizes of blocks 1, 3, and 4 may be fixed to 3 and blocks 2 and 5 may be fixed to 5. It is not clear in either the specification or in the claim why these kernel sizes in particular are chosen for the specific blocks. Examiner interprets this limitation to mean kernel sizes should be selected from the group consisting of 3 and 5 for each of the 5 blocks. Wan teaches the kernel size of each of the 5 blocks is 3. Page 3, paragraph 8).
Conclusion
/I.N.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2141
/MATTHEW ELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2141