DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and dependent claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9, “A smart card wallet with one or more smart chips”, “wherein each smart chip within the set of smart chips is removably held by the body of the smart card wallet for customization of the smart card wallet by exchange of another smart chip from the set of smart chips” are unclear. Some limitations lack antecedent basis. Further clarification is required. Examiner request Applicant to clarify how many smart chips in the claim.
The Examiner respectfully requests that the Applicant(s) review all claims for any such similar issues.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, all the limitations, discussed in the claim objections must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 10, 11, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CARROLL (US 20230153562) in view of Vu (US 20210232885).
Regarding claim 9, CARROLL disclosed A smart card wallet with a set of smart chips for compact use (abstract, see also fig 1-5) comprising: for each smart card wallet (paragraph [24]-[27]; see also fig 3-5; paragraph [50]-[59]), a body adapted to hold more than one smart chip of a set of smart chips (paragraph [24]-[27 ]; see also fig 3-5; paragraph [50]-[59] ); for each smart chip within the set of smart chips, at least one coil for communicating an account information (at least fig 3-4; paragraph [24]-[28]; paragraph [50]-[59]).
CARROLL lacks teaching: each smart chip within the set of smart chips is removably held by the body of the smart card wallet for customization of the smart card wallet by exchange of another smart chip from the set of smart chips.
Vu teaches a smart chip design comprising: smart chip is removably held by the body of the smart card for customization of the smart card wallet by exchange of another smart chip from the set of smart chips (abstract, see also fig 1-8; see also paragraph [22]-[27]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (smart chip is removably held by the body of the smart card as discussed) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified to the primary art’s set of smart chips) so as to have (CARROLL in view of Vu): each smart chip within the set of smart chips (CARROLL) is removably held (Vu) by the body of the smart card wallet (CARROLL) for customization of the smart card wallet by exchange of another smart chip from the set of smart chips (CARROLL in view of Vu).
The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure with the current feature is to provide a better function for the modified structure, and/or making the card easy to use.
With regard claim 10, modified CARROLL further discloses the set of smart card wallets has a minimum of four spaces to hold the set of smart chips (at least fig 3-5; paragraph [48]-[52]).
With regard claim 11, modified CARROLL further discloses a subset of smart chips are included in the smart card wallet such that the spatial orientation of the smart card wallet determines (paragraph [35]-[39]; see also fig 3-5; paragraph [50]-[59]) which smart chip of the subset of smart chips communicates the account information.
With regard claim 18, modified CARROLL further discloses a configuration of the smart card wallet is that of a personal accessory (at least fig 3-4; paragraph [24]-[28]; paragraph [50]-[59]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the Applicants’ remarks that, “This process is not operable by the average card user and requires technical training. The method taught by Vu requires the EMV chips to be bent before being embedded in the new card. Vu, 18-20. However, bending an EMV chip, especially if done repeatedly, is likely to damage the chip and render it unfunctional. Moncada Declaration, 7. While it is possible for "someone with technical training [to] understand how to bend an EMV chip without breaking it, the average card user would most likely damage the EMV chip." Ibid.” (pages 5-6).
Examiner’s Answer: the Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that:
The argued limitations are not in the claims.
In this case, Vu teaches a smart chip design comprising: smart chip is removably held by the body of the smart card for customization of the smart card wallet by exchange of another smart chip from the set of smart chips (abstract, see also fig 1-8; see also paragraph [22]-[27]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (smart chip is removably held by the body of the smart card as discussed) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified to the primary art’s set of smart chips) so as to have (CARROLL in view of Vu): each smart chip within the set of smart chips (CARROLL) is removably held (Vu) by the body of the smart card wallet (CARROLL) for customization of the smart card wallet by exchange of another smart chip from the set of smart chips (CARROLL in view of Vu).
The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure with the current feature is to provide a better function for the modified structure, and/or making the card easy to use .
With respect to the Applicants’ remarks that, “Carroll teaches a card with multiple EMV chips. Vu teaches a method of removing an EMV chip and placing it on a new card. Combining these references, at the relevant time before filing with no hindsight knowledge, would teach one of ordinary skill in the art how to remove EMV chips from several individual cards to be placed onto one singular card. Note that it would teach one of ordinary skill in the art, not the user, how to remove and re-embed the chips, but it would not teach one of ordinary skill in the art about a method, process, system, or apparatus that would allow the user to replace the chips in their smart card. Carroll, in light of Vu, is structurally and functionally different than the claimed invention.” (pages 7 to the end).
Examiner’s Answer: the Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that:
The argued limitations are not in the claims. Also, all the cited arts teaches the methodologies which are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made.
Conclusion: cited arts successfully disclosed all the limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JERRY WU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841