DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In view of the amendment the USC 103 rejection of claims 1-9 and 13-20 is withdrawn.
In view of the amendment to the claims the objection to claims 1 and 13 is withdrawn.
New analysis follows
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 13 have been considered but are moot because they address the amended claims 1 and 13 and not the original Claim 1. A new ground of rejection has been made in view of Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (US 20180102565 A), in view of Hermann (US20120156586A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Yamamoto discloses a battery module (i.e. energy storage apparatus)(¶[0009]) for a traction battery of a battery electric vehicle, comprising:
a cohesive battery cell stack including a plurality of battery cells (2)(i.e. energy storage devices)(¶[0056])(see Fig. 2) stacked on top of one another in a stacking direction (see Fig. 2) and a module housing (1)(i.e. outer case) (¶[0048]),
a guide unit (3)(i.e. body)(see Fig. 3) with at least two guide rails (11,12)(i.e. positioning projections and aligning projections)(¶[0051]), that are assigned to two opposite sides and aligned in a direction of insertion(¶[0052] inner walls of side wall)(see Fig. 3):
wherein the battery cell stack (¶0048] plurality of energy storage devices)(see Fig. 2) is inserted into the module housing in the direction of insertion via the at least two guide rails and held transversely to the direction of insertion (¶[0063])(see annotated figure 2 below), and,
wherein the battery cell stack is bonded to the module housing via a cured adhesive (i.e. adhesive agent)(¶[0062]), wherein the cured adhesive defines a form-fitting unit that holds the battery cell stack in the module housing, in and transversely to the direction of insertion, in at least one of a form-fitting and/or a force-fitting connection(¶[0063] pressing force)
wherein a plurality of guide rails arrange the battery cell stack in the module housing transversely to the direction of insertion (see annotated Fig. 2 above where the cell stacking direction is transverse the direction of insertion) with a clearance gap (¶[0062])(see annotated figure 7 above) but does not disclose two distribution channels and a plurality of transverse bores.
Figure 2 of Yamamoto
Hermann, related to a battery module, teaches a plurality of distribution channels (109, i.e. ports, ¶[0025]) and a plurality of transverse bores fluidly connected to the distribution channels (i.e. end of end of ports)(Fig. 3) designed to distribute encapsulant (i.e. adhesive, ¶[0019]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the distribution channels of Hermann may be disposed adjacent to the guide rails of Yamamoto and the plurality of bores lead outwardly from the distribution channels and into the module housing to secure the cells (¶[0024] see, adhesive can be introduced into the recesses in order to secure the round cells). Additionally, Hermann places the adhesive distribution channels and bores at the base of the cell holder with the length of the distribution channels in the direction of insertion as shown in Fig. 3 where the cells have been inserted along the direction of insertion where the width of the bores extends transversely to the direction of insertion and one of ordinary skill in the art would similarly place them at the base of the cell holder of Yamamoto in the direction of insertion.
One with ordinary skill in the art would realize adding the distribution channels and a plurality of bores would further secure the cells within the cell module in a simple and reliable manner (¶[0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have included the distribution channels and bores in order to secure the cells and improve reliability.
Regarding claims 2 and 14, modified Yamamoto discloses a battery module and traction battery according to claims 1 and 13, Hermann further teaches a form-fitting unit that bridges the clearance gap in a region of the guide rails by filling the area around the base portion of the cells and the entire surface of the base(¶[0024], Fig. 3) thus filling the gaps in the region of the guide rails.
Regarding claim 3 and 15, modified Yamamoto discloses a battery module and traction battery according to claim 1 and 13, Hermann further teaches two distribution channels (i.e. ports 403 in Fig. 4) and a plurality of transverse bores fluidically connected as the openings at the end of each port and lead into the module housing.
The distribution channels of Hermann may be disposed adjacent to the guide rails of Yamamoto and the plurality of bores lead outwardly from the distribution channels and into the module housing to secure the cells as seen in Fig. 3.
Regarding claims 4 and 16, modified Yamamoto discloses a battery module and traction battery according to claim 3 and 15.
Hermann further teaches the adhesive fills the distribution channels and the plurality of transverse bores and exits outwardly from the bores to flow unto the cells and housing(¶[0025]) and connects the cells to the module housing introduced into the ports in order to secure the round cells in a form fitting connection(Fig. 3).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, modified Yamamoto disclose a battery module according to claim 3 and 15 and Hermann further teaches the distribution channels open outwardly in the direction of insertion and can be filled from the outside(See Fig. 3 where the port extends to the outside to the case(¶[0025])
Regarding claim 6, Yamamoto discloses a battery module according to claim 1 wherein:
at least two guide rails respectively have a first rail section and a second rail section (see annotated figure 7 below).
The first rail section is fixed or integrally formed on the battery cell stack (19)(i.e. arcuate surface)(see annotated figure 7 below), and the second rail section is fixed or integrally formed on the module housing (11)(i.e. positioning projections)(see Fig. 4), and
the first rail section is arranged in the second rail section, or vice versa, so as to be displaceable in the direction of insertion(see annotated figure 7 below)(¶[0062]).
Figure 7 of Yamamoto
Regarding claim 7, modified Yamamoto discloses a battery module and traction battery according to claim 1, wherein the at least two guide rails respectively include a first rail section arranged on the battery cell stack (see annotated Fig. 7 of Yamamoto above) and a second rail section arranged on the module housing (see annotated Fig. 7 of Yamamoto above).
One having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized combining the distribution channels and bores of Hermann on the bottom wall (6) adjacent to and aligned parallel with the first rail section in the battery module of Yamamoto (see annotated figure 3 of Yamamoto below) in such a way as the plurality of transverse bores lead out of the distribution channels towards the second rail section.
Regarding claim 8, Yamamoto discloses the battery module according to claim 6, wherein:
the first rail section of the at least two guide rails is provided by a first strip aligned in the direction of insertion (19)(i.e. arcuate surface)(see annotated figure 7 above), and the second rail section of the at least two guide rails is provided by two second strips (13 and 14)(i.e. first and second positioning projections)(see Fig. 3), that are aligned in the direction of insertion and are parallel and spaced apart from one another, and
the first strip is arranged between the two second strips transversely to the direction of insertion (see annotated figure 2 above) and the plurality of transverse bores open into a space between the two second strips, see annotated Fig. 3 of Yamamoto and the rejection of claim 1 where the bores are at the base of the cells and open into the space between the strips which meets the bottom wall 6 to secure the cells to the module.
Figure 3 of Yamamoto
Regarding claim 18, modified Yamamoto and discloses a traction battery according to claim 13 and additionally Yamamoto discloses
at least two guide rails respectively have a first rail section and a second rail section (see annotated figure 7 above).
the first rail section is fixed or integrally formed on the battery cell stack (19)(i.e. arcuate surface)(see annotated figure 7 below), and the second rail section is fixed or integrally formed on the module housing (11)(i.e. positioning projections)(see Fig. 4), and
the first rail section is arranged in the second rail section, or vice versa, so as to be displaceable in the direction of insertion (see annotated figure 7 above)(¶[0062]).
14. Regarding claim 19 , modified Yamamoto discloses a battery module and traction battery according to claim 18 and wherein the at least two guide rails respectively include a first rail section arranged on the battery cell stack (see annotated Fig. 7 of Yamamoto above) and a second rail section arranged on the module housing (see annotated Fig. 7 of Yamamoto above).
One having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized combining the distribution channels and bores of Hermann on the bottom wall (6) adjacent to and aligned parallel with the first rail section in the battery module of Yamamoto (see annotated figure 3 of Yamamoto below) in such a way as the plurality of transverse bores lead out of the distribution channels towards the second rail section.
Regarding claim 20, modified Yamamoto discloses a traction battery according to claim 19 and Yamamoto additionally discloses wherein:
the first rail section of the at least two guide rails is provided by a first strip aligned in the direction of insertion (19)(i.e. arcuate surface)(see annotated figure 7 above), and the second rail section of the at least two guide rails is provided by two second strips (13 and 14)(i.e. first and second positioning projections)(see Fig. 3), that are aligned in the direction of insertion and are parallel and spaced apart from one another, and
the first strip is arranged between the two second strips transversely to the direction of insertion (see annotated figure 2 above) and the plurality of transverse bores open into a space between the two second strips, see annotated Fig. 3 of Yamamoto and the rejection of claim 1 where the bores are at the base of the cells and open into the space between the strips which meets the bottom wall 6 to secure the cells to the module.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto(US 20180102565 A) in view of Hermann (US20120156586A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Inagaki (US20140017520A1)
Regarding claim 9, Yamamoto discloses a battery according to claim 1 but does not disclose the direction of insertion and stacking direction coinciding.
Inagaki teaches wherein the direction of insertion and the stacking direction of the battery cell stack (21)(i.e. unit sells) coincide (see annotated figure 7 below).
However, the mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Therefore, aligning the stacking direction and direction of insertion would have been obvious.
Figure 7 of Inagaki
Conclusion
/K.J.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1726 /RYAN S CANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726