DETAILED ACTION
Introductory Notes
Any paragraph citation of the instant is in reference to the U.S. published patent application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the functional members in the water chiller given in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. These functional members comprise “a water circulation system, a mechanical refrigeration system, a dry cooler and a second refrigeration system”. The arrangement of the drawing must show “the water circulation system is connected to the mechanical refrigeration system by a heat exchanger, the water circulation system is connected in parallel with the dry cooler, and, the water circulation system is connected in series with the second refrigeration system”. Notably Fig. 2 of the instant does not show the claimed structure.
Furthermore Fig. 5 submitted on 10/31/2025 is objected to and fails to show the claimed arrangement and is in direct contradiction to the specification. Notably Fig. 5 does not show a “second refrigeration system (specifically a dry cooler or an indirect evaporative cooling unit or a second mechanical refrigeration system) can be connected in series on the water system side of the heat exchanger of the water chiller, which can make full use of natural source for heat dissipation by the combination of various refrigeration systems and thus can meet the needs of large cooling capacity” as described in the instant [0101] or “the water circulation system is connected in parallel with the dry cooler, and, the water circulation system is connected in series with the second refrigeration system” as claimed. The labels for Fig. 5 indicate a fan blowing on the dry cooler is the second refrigeration system. It is not followed from Fig. 5 how both the dry cooler is connected in parallel with the water circulation system and the second refrigeration system is connected in series with the water circulation system; nor how the fan alone constitutes “a dry cooler or an indirect evaporative cooling unit or a second mechanical refrigeration system”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a first threshold” in line 30. It is unclear if this is the same or different first threshold previously stated in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a second threshold” in line 31. It is unclear if this is the same or different second threshold previously stated in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a cooling function” in line 33. It is unclear if this is the same or different cooling function previously stated in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “a first threshold” in line 33. It is unclear if this is the same or different first threshold previously stated in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “a second threshold” in line 34. It is unclear if this is the same or different second threshold previously stated in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “a cooling function” in line 36. It is unclear if this is the same or different cooling function previously stated in the claim.
The remaining claims are rejected due to dependency.
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by XU (CN 108808161 A, supplied with the IDS of 9/7/2022, English translation used for citations, cited in a previous office action).
Regarding claim 1, XU discloses a thermal management method (“a management and control method” [0002]) used in a thermal management system (“battery thermal management system” [0002]),
the thermal management system comprises a battery equipment (“battery pack” [0005]) and a water chiller (“refrigeration system.. a water circulation loop… an air-cooled heat dissipation water tank and a partial water circulation loop shared with the refrigeration and heating systems” [0010]; wherein these components read on the water chiller claimed as they overlap with the components of the water chiller given in the instant specification in paragraph [0088], notably “refrigeration system and the water circulation system” as well as “a water pump, a buffer water tank”),
wherein the thermal management method comprises the following steps:
collecting a status data of the battery equipment and a real-time operation data of the water chiller (Step 1: “collect system status parameters” [0011]; wherein parameters include battery cell temperatures [0015] and portions of the water chiller such as water temperature [0044]; wherein the controller is on CAN bus [0031] and “must also respond to specific faults”, reading on performing the operations in real-time);
determining whether the status data is within a preset range (Step 2: “Select and enter the operation mode according to the normal instructions and the collected temperature value” [0012]);
if the status data is not within the preset range, adjusting an operation mode of the water chiller according to the status data and the real-time operation data, so that the water chiller performs thermal management to the battery equipment according to the adjusted operation mode (Step 3: “Modify commands and parameters according to system failures and corresponding treatment measures” [0013] as well as Step 4: “execute through hardware” [0014]; furthermore “operating modes include cooling mode, self-circulation mode, standby mode, and heating mode” [0015]).
XU further discloses the step of adjusting an operation mode of the water chiller according to the status data and the real-time operation data comprises:
adjusting operation modes of functional members in the water chiller according to the status data and the real-time operation data (Step 3: “Modify commands and parameters according to system failures and corresponding treatment measures” [0013] as well as Step 4: “execute through hardware” [0014]; furthermore “operating modes include cooling mode, self-circulation mode, standby mode, and heating mode” [0015]),
wherein the functional members comprise a water circulation system (“water circulation loop” [0010]), a mechanical refrigeration system (“refrigeration system” [0010]), a dry cooler (“the heat dissipation system includes: an air-cooled heat dissipation water tank” [0010]; wherein air-cooled reads on dry cooler as it does not require a separate liquid refrigerant) and a second refrigeration system (“self-circulation system” [0030]; wherein self-circulation reads on a second refrigeration system because “water circulates between the cooling water tank and the external water tank through the water pump and the three-way valve, absorbing the heat of the battery pack, thereby achieving heat dissipation of the battery pack” [0030]; this correlates to the instant specification which states “full use of natural source for heat dissipation” [0101]),
the water circulation system is connected to the mechanical refrigeration system by a heat exchanger (“the low-temperature and low-pressure refrigerant of the compressor enters the plate heat exchanger, where it exchanges heat with the high-temperature circulating water flowing out of the battery pack” [0030]), the water circulation system is connected in parallel with the dry cooler (radiator water tank in Fig. 1, machine translation of Fig. 1 below, wherein the radiator is in parallel to the self-circulation system) and, the water circulation system is connected in series with the second refrigeration system (self-circulation system involves the three-way valve, pump and water tank as noted in [0030] and shown in Fig. 1 below, wherein the components are in series).
XU discloses the state data comprises one or more of ambient temperature, coolant temperature, battery temperature, battery heating power and battery state of health (“temperature of the battery pack” [0005]).
XU discloses the step of adjusting operation modes of functional members in the water chiller according to the status data and the real-time operation data comprises at least one of the following cases:
in a case that the ambient temperature is lower than a first threshold, the battery temperature is higher than a second threshold (“monitors the temperature of the unit's inlet and outlet water, air intake, refrigerant and itself” [0031], notably listing air intake which reads on ambient temperature, as well as “select the operating mode based on the highest and lowest temperatures of the single battery cells” [0015]), and the battery heating power is lower than a third threshold (“solve the problem of thermal dissipation or thermal runaway caused by the battery pack” [0005] as well as “collect system status parameters” [0011] wherein the lone definition of what constitutes battery heating power defined by the instant is in paragraph [0094] which states “the battery heating power can be calculated by collecting corresponding relevant parameters of the battery”), controlling the mechanical refrigeration system to switch off, controlling the water circulation system to switch on a cooling function, and controlling the dry cooler to switch on (“When the radiator system is working, at a specified temperature, there is no need to start the refrigeration system, but the water tank heat dissipation system can be started to provide cooling water through air cooling” [0030]; where the radiator system working at a specified temperature reads on the battery and ambient temperatures each being within parameters that allow for radiator cooling without the refrigeration, if the ambient and/or battery temperatures were too high the system could not cool via the radiator system only; “no need to start the refrigeration system” reads on controlling the mechanical refrigeration system to switch off; “the water tank heat dissipation system can be started” reads on controlling the dry cooler to switch on reads on; notably the XU discloses the “water tank heat dissipation system can be started to provide cooling water through air cooling” which matches the instant use of dry cooler to “make full use of the natural cold source when the external temperature is low” [0096]);
Regarding claim 4, XU discloses the step of adjusting operation modes of functional members in the water chiller according to the status data and the real-time operation data comprises at least one of the following cases:
in a case that the battery temperature is within a first preset range, controlling the mechanical refrigeration system to switch off, and controlling the water circulation system to switch on a cooling function (“When the radiator system is working, at a specified temperature, there is no need to start the refrigeration system, but the water tank heat dissipation system can be started to provide cooling water through air cooling” [0030]);
Regarding claim 6, XU discloses obtaining temperature dates of the functional members in the water chiller (Step 1: “collect system status parameters” [0011]; wherein parameters include battery cell temperatures [0015] and portions of the water chiller such as water temperature [0044]); adjusting operation modes (modes outlined in paragraph [0030]) of an external fan (“fan speed, can be set in stages according to the unit temperature” [0040]) and a heater band (“heater” [0038]) according to the temperature dates (Step 1: “collect system status parameters” [0011]; wherein parameters include battery cell temperatures [0015] and portions of the water chiller such as water temperature [0044]).
Regarding claim 7, XU discloses the step of adjusting operation modes of an external fan and a heater band according to the temperature dates comprises at least one of the following cases:
in a case that a condenser temperature is higher than a fifth threshold, controlling the external fan to operate at a scale load (“fan speed, can be set in stages according to the unit temperature” [0040]; wherein fan speed reads on scale load and according to the unit temperature reads on threshold; further cases are optional and claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, see MPEP § 2111.04);
Regarding claim 8, XU discloses obtaining a pressure value of a water inlet pipeline and a water return pipeline; in a case that the pressure value exceeds a preset pressure value, outputting an alarm prompt (the thermal system communicates with other components such as vehicle control unit and uploads status of the system including “water level and refrigerant pressure status for control or alarm processing” [0031]).
Regarding claim 10, XU discloses in a case that the status data is within the preset range, controlling the water chiller to operate according to the real-time operation data (“in standby mode, all equipment is turned off, and the entire heat pipe management system achieves energy-saving effects by naturally cooling the battery pack” [0030]).
Regarding claim 11, XU discloses a thermal management device (“management and control device” claim 7) used in a thermal management system (“thermal management system” claim 7), the thermal management system comprises a battery equipment (“battery pack” [0005]) and a water chiller (“refrigeration system.. a water circulation loop… an air-cooled heat dissipation water tank and a partial water circulation loop shared with the refrigeration and heating systems” [0010]; wherein these components read on the water chiller claimed as they overlap with the components of the water chiller given in the instant specification in paragraph [0088], notably “refrigeration system and the water circulation system” as well as “a water pump, a buffer water tank”), wherein the thermal management device comprises:
a collection module, which is configured to collect a status data of the battery equipment and a real-time operation data of the water chiller (“a module for collecting system status” claim 7);
a determination module, which is configured to determine whether the status data is within a preset range (a module for “judging whether there is a fault according to these states” claim 7);
if the status data is not within the preset range, adjusting an operation mode of the water chiller according to the status data and the real-time operation data, so that the water chiller performs thermal management to the battery equipment according to the adjusted operation mode (Step 3: “Modify commands and parameters according to system failures and corresponding treatment measures” [0013] as well as Step 4: “execute through hardware” [0014]; furthermore “operating modes include cooling mode, self-circulation mode, standby mode, and heating mode” [0015]).
XU further discloses the step of adjusting an operation mode of the water chiller according to the status data and the real-time operation data comprises:
adjusting operation modes of functional members in the water chiller according to the status data and the real-time operation data (Step 3: “Modify commands and parameters according to system failures and corresponding treatment measures” [0013] as well as Step 4: “execute through hardware” [0014]; furthermore “operating modes include cooling mode, self-circulation mode, standby mode, and heating mode” [0015]),
wherein the functional members comprise a water circulation system (“water circulation loop” [0010]), a mechanical refrigeration system (“refrigeration system” [0010]), a dry cooler (“the heat dissipation system includes: an air-cooled heat dissipation water tank” [0010]; wherein air-cooled reads on dry cooler as it does not require a separate liquid refrigerant) and a second refrigeration system (“self-circulation system” [0030]; wherein self-circulation reads on a second refrigeration system because “water circulates between the cooling water tank and the external water tank through the water pump and the three-way valve, absorbing the heat of the battery pack, thereby achieving heat dissipation of the battery pack” [0030]; this correlates to the instant specification which states “full use of natural source for heat dissipation” [0101]),
the water circulation system is connected to the mechanical refrigeration system by a heat exchanger (“the low-temperature and low-pressure refrigerant of the compressor enters the plate heat exchanger, where it exchanges heat with the high-temperature circulating water flowing out of the battery pack” [0030]), the water circulation system is connected in parallel with the dry cooler (radiator water tank in Fig. 1, machine translation of Fig. 1 above, wherein the radiator is in parallel to the self-circulation system) and, the water circulation system is connected in series with the second refrigeration system (self-circulation system involves the three-way valve, pump and water tank as noted in [0030] and shown in Fig. 1 above, wherein the components are in series).
XU further discloses an adjustment module, which is configured to adjust an operation mode of the water chiller according to the status data and the real-time operation data if the status data is not within the preset range, so that the water chiller performs thermal management to the battery equipment according to the adjusted operation mode (“a module for selecting and entering an operating mode according to normal instructions and the collected temperature value, and setting the switch commands and required equipment to be operated in the operating mode in the main cycle and the timed interrupt respectively” claim 7).
XU discloses the state data comprises one or more of ambient temperature, coolant temperature, battery temperature, battery heating power and battery state of health (“temperature of the battery pack” [0005]).
XU discloses the step of adjusting operation modes of functional members in the water chiller according to the status data and the real-time operation data comprises at least one of the following cases:
in a case that the ambient temperature is lower than a first threshold, the battery temperature is higher than a second threshold (“monitors the temperature of the unit's inlet and outlet water, air intake, refrigerant and itself” [0031], notably listing air intake which reads on ambient temperature, as well as “select the operating mode based on the highest and lowest temperatures of the single battery cells” [0015]), and the battery heating power is lower than a third threshold (“solve the problem of thermal dissipation or thermal runaway caused by the battery pack” [0005] as well as “collect system status parameters” [0011] wherein the lone definition of what constitutes battery heating power defined by the instant is in paragraph [0094] which states “the battery heating power can be calculated by collecting corresponding relevant parameters of the battery”), controlling the mechanical refrigeration system to switch off, controlling the water circulation system to switch on a cooling function, and controlling the dry cooler to switch on (“When the radiator system is working, at a specified temperature, there is no need to start the refrigeration system, but the water tank heat dissipation system can be started to provide cooling water through air cooling” [0030]; where the radiator system working at a specified temperature reads on the battery and ambient temperatures each being within parameters that allow for radiator cooling without the refrigeration, if the ambient and/or battery temperatures were too high the system could not cool via the radiator system only; “no need to start the refrigeration system” reads on controlling the mechanical refrigeration system to switch off; “the water tank heat dissipation system can be started” reads on controlling the dry cooler to switch on reads on; notably the XU discloses the “water tank heat dissipation system can be started to provide cooling water through air cooling” which matches the instant use of dry cooler to “make full use of the natural cold source when the external temperature is low” [0096]);
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU in view of GUO (US 20210367286 A1, cited in a previous office action).
Regarding claim 9, XU discloses the thermal management method according to claim 1, as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. XU discloses the aim to “solve the problem of thermal dissipation or thermal runaway” [0005].
XU does no expressly teach in a case that a thermal runaway signal is received, controlling an in-box fire-fighting valve of the battery equipment to switch on, so that the battery equipment is immersed in a low-temperature coolant.
GUO is directed to “fire extinguishing on the battery cells in thermal runaway” [0009], and similar to XU is for use in battery systems of electric vehicles [0002]. GUO discloses the importance of safety in regards to combustion of batteries [0003]. GUO discloses the “the spraying pipe utilizes the coolant to extinguish batteries in thermal runaway” [0044]. GUO discloses that a “signal is provided by an alarm device” [0033]. GUO discloses “the control switch includes a first two-way valve and a second two-way valve; the first two-way valve is arranged on the fire extinguishing pipeline; and the second two-way valve is arranged on the cooling circuit” [0021] and when “thermal runaway occurs in the battery, the three-way valve controls the coolant tank 9 to be disconnected from the cooling circuit, so that the coolant tank 9 is in communication with the fire extinguishing pipeline 5” [0069]. GUO further discloses the use of “heptafluoropropane” [0068] as the fire extinguishing substance, overlapping with instant use of heptafluoropropane (instant [0083]). GUO discloses the components are “additionally arranged on an original cooling circuit of the battery pack” [0009], thereby teaching the use of both a cooling circuit, such as that of XU, along with fire extinguishing as taught by GUO. GUO further teaches “the spraying pipe is simple in structure and low in cost” [0044] and “light in weight and small in size” and “can be applied to different vehicle types with ease, without modifying the mounting space for the original parts of the battery pack” [0044].
Before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the fire extinguishing system of GUO to the cooling system of XU because the fire extinguishing improves safety and the system taught by GUO is efficient, low cost, and may be added to a cooling circuit.
Following the addition, modified XU discloses in a case that a thermal runaway signal is received (as taught by GUO), controlling an in-box fire-fighting valve of the battery equipment to switch on (as taught by GUO), so that the battery equipment (as taught by XU) is immersed in a low-temperature coolant (as taught by GUO).
Response to Arguments
Regarding art-based rejections, applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are not persuasive.
In the second paragraph of page 13 applicant states “Xu fails to disclose simultaneously considering the ambient temperature and the battery temperature … Xu fails to consider the ambient temperature”. Examiner disagrees, Xu discloses the monitoring of air intake/inlet in paragraphs [0031] and [0044] and the use of an air-cooling cycle (Fig. 1) reading on consideration of ambient temperature.
Conclusion
/T.L.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721