DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: “embedded lighting assembly” is suggested to read as “embedded light system,” so as to remain consistent. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weirich (U.S. Patent 11,560,088 B2).
With regards to Claim 2, Weirich discloses a system of visually indicating at least one: an electrified vehicle operation, functioning, or safety modality [note Figures 1-6], the system including:
An electrified vehicle having at least two wheel assemblies [note Abstract and Column 1, Line 1 – Column 4, Line 7], the at least two wheel assemblies each having rim structures (66) and a tire (30) connected to at least a portion of the rim structures [note Figures 1-6];
At least one tread area (46) of the tire having at least one groove [(50) and/or interior of (30) and/or grooves where (14) are located, as broadly interpreted with respect to “area”];
A light assembly (10-20) incorporated in each of the at least two wheel assemblies, the light assembly being an embedded light assembly with at least one light-emitting diode (LED) (18) positioned within the at least one groove of the at least one tread area of the tire [note Figures 1-6]; and
At least one on-board computer (24-26) carried by the electrified vehicle and controlling illumination techniques of the embedded light assembly, wherein the embedded light assembly illuminates corresponding to at least one of: an electrified vehicle operation, an electrified vehicle functioning, or an electrified vehicle safety modality [e.g., Column 4, Line 44 – Column 5, Line 11].
With regards to Claim 3, Weirich discloses the embedded light assembly (10-20) is elongated and is positioned along a circumferential length of at least one of the tire or the wheel assemblies [note Figures 1-6].
With regards to Claim 4, Weirich discloses the embedded light assembly (10-20) is elongated and is positioned along a circumferential length of at least one of the tire or the wheel assemblies [note Figures 1-6].
With regards to Claim 5, Weirich discloses the at least one tread area of the tire has at least three grooves [(50) and/or interior of (30) and/or grooves where (14) are located], wherein the embedded light(ing) assembly is positioned within each of the at least three grooves [note Figures 1-6].
With regards to Claim 6, Weirich discloses the at least grooves are non-intersecting [note Figures 1-6].
With regards to Claim 7, Weirich discloses the embedded light assembly (10-20) is positioned radially interior of a radially exterior surface of the at least one tread area of the tire [note Figures 1-6].
With regards to Claim 8, Weirich discloses at least one of the electrified vehicle operation, the electrified vehicle functioning, or the electrified vehicle safety modality further includes at least one of: automatically, or manually, or autonomously, or remotely [e.g., Column 4, Line 44 – Column 5, Line 11].
With regards to Claim 11, Weirich discloses at least one of the electrified vehicle operation, the electrified vehicle functioning, or the electrified vehicle safety modality further including enhancing at least one of: safety, visibility, conspicuity, navigation, communication, or utility of or for the electrified vehicle [note Figures 1-6 and Column 4, Line 44 – Column 5, Line 11].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weirich (U.S. Patent 11,560,088 B2).
With regard to Claims 9-10, Weirich discloses the claimed invention as cited above, but does not specifically teach at least one of the electrified vehicle operation, the electrified vehicle functioning, or the electrified vehicle safety modality further including a charging function, wherein the charging function further includes at least one of: an inductive charging of a battery or for a propulsion system of the electrified vehicle.
However, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the at least one of the electrified vehicle operation, the electrified vehicle functioning, or the electrified vehicle safety modality of Weirich to have further include a charging function, wherein the charging function further includes at least one of: an inductive charging of a battery or for a propulsion system of the electrified vehicle. Such an obvious modification is commonly associated with electric vehicles, whereby associating the lighting/illumination to the charging is well-established and known (e.g., mobile devices, chargers, wireless charges).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, but is not considered exhaustive: U.S. Patent 7,079,042 B2 to Reim that teaches wheel illumination [Figures 1-14].
Thursday, January 22, 2026
/Jason M Han/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875