DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
This office action is in response to Applicant's remarks and amendments filed on 11/20/2025. Claims 1, 2, and 14 are currently amended. Claims 1-17 are pending review in this action. The previous 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment to Claims 1 and 14, however the previously cited prior art has been upheld as reading on the claims. Updated rejections necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 10-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kang et al. (US 2023/0253683 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kang discloses an apparatus (end plate, 135, and insulating member, 138), comprising: a member (“middle” portion of insulating member, 138, see annotated Figure 8 below) overmolded to a first busbar (first assembly, 170a) such that the member (“middle” portion of insulating member, 138, see annotated Figure 8 below) at least partially covers the first busbar (first assembly, 170a) (Figures 1-3, [0069, 0075]). Kang further discloses that an end portion (see annotated Figure 8 below) disposed at an end of the member (“middle” portion of insulating member, 138, see annotated Figure 8 below), the end portion (see annotated Figure 8 below) comprising a first opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) and a second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below), the first opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) configured to expose a portion of the first busbar (first assembly, 170a) and the second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) configured to expose a portion of a second busbar (“upper” half of second assembly, 170b) (Figures 1 and 8, [0064, 0068-0069, 0164]). Kang further discloses that the second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) comprises a sidewall (see annotated Figure 8 below). Kang further discloses that the first busbar (first assembly, 170a) is configured to couple with the second busbar (“upper” half of second assembly, 170b) via the connection portion (176), the second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) positioned closer to the end (see annotated Figure 8 below) of the member (“middle” portion of insulating member, 138, see annotated Figure 8 below) than the first opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) (Figures 1 and 2, [0064, 0164]).
The examiner notes that the terms “a height” and “a portion” as written are broad limitations and are subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation during the review of the prior art. As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that there is indeed a height of the sidewall of the second opening which is equal to or greater than a height of a portion of the first busbar adjacent the second opening. For example, the skilled artisan may select for “a portion” of the first busbar, a portion of the first busbar with an overall height which is less than the total height of the sidewall and which is less than the total thickness (from inner surface to outer surface) of the sidewall. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 1 are met.
Annotated Figure 8 (Kang US 2023/0253683 A1)
Regarding Claim 2, Kang further discloses that the end portion (see annotated Figure 8 above) is integrally formed with the member (“middle” portion of insulating member, 138, see annotated Figure 8 above), the end portion comprising (see annotated Figure 8 above): a body (see annotated Figure 8 below) defining at least a portion of a cavity (see annotated Figure 8 below), the body (see annotated Figure 8 below) comprising a projection (see annotated Figure 8 below) extending from a surface (inner surface) of the body (see annotated Figure 8 below) (Figure 8). Kang further discloses that the first opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) extends from an end of the projection (see annotated Figure 8 below) to the cavity (see annotated Figure 8 below); and a tip (see annotated Figure 8 below) comprising a top surface (outer surface) and a bottom surface (inner surface), the second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) extending from the top surface (outer surface) to the bottom surface (inner surface) (Figure 8). Kang further discloses that the cavity (see annotated Figure 8 below) is configured to receive the first busbar (first assembly, 170a) and the tip (see annotated Figure 8 below) is configured to interface with the second busbar (electrode terminal, 173a) (Figures 2 and 8, [0069]).
As noted above in the rejection of Claim 1, the examiner notes that the terms “a height” and “a portion” as written are broad limitations and are subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation during the review of the prior art. Thus, “a portion” of the first busbar may be selected such that the portion has an overall height which is less than the overall height of the sidewall and less than the total thickness (from inner surface to outer surface) of the sidewall.
As such, when the second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) extends from the top surface (outer surface) to the bottom surface (inner surface), the second opening has a total thickness (from inner surface to outer surface) equal to the distance from the top surface (outer surface) to the bottom surface (inner surface). Therefore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the distance from the top surface to the bottom surface is greater than the height of the portion of the first busbar adjacent the second opening.
The examiner notes that terms such as “top” and “bottom” as utilized in the claims do not convey any particular structural requirements other than establishing the location of the components of the apparatus relative to one another within the apparatus. The particular orientation of the apparatus does not provide any structural limitations to the apparatus itself. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 2 are met.
Annotated Figure 8 (Kang US 2023/0253683 A1)
Regarding Claim 6, Kang further discloses that the apparatus (end plate, 135, and insulating member, 138) comprises a plurality of end portions comprising a first end portion (see annotated Figure 8 below) and a second end portion (see annotated Figure 8 below); the first end portion (see annotated Figure 8 below) defining the first opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) and the second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below); the second end portion (see annotated Figure 8 below) defining a third opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) and a fourth opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) (Figures 1, 2 and 8). Kang further discloses that the first opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) exposes a first portion (“upper” portion) of the first busbar (first assembly, 170a), the second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) exposes a portion of the second busbar (“upper” portion of second assembly, 170b), the third opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) exposes a second portion (“lower” portion) of the first busbar (first assembly, 170a), and the fourth opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) exposes a portion of a third busbar (“lower” portion of second assembly, 170b), wherein the third busbar (“lower” portion of second assembly, 170b) is configured to couple with the first busbar (first assembly, 170a) via the connection portion (176) (Figures 2 and 8, [0064, 0068-0069, 0176]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 6 are met.
Annotated Figure 8 (Kang US 2023/0253683 A1)
Regarding Claim 7, Kang further discloses that the apparatus (end plate, 135, and insulating member, 138) comprises a plurality of end portions comprising a first end portion (see annotated Figure 8 below) and a second end portion (see annotated Figure 8 below), the first end portion (see annotated Figure 8 below) comprising a first tip (see annotated Figure 8 below) and the second end portion (see annotated Figure 8 below) comprising a second tip (see annotated Figure 8 below) (Figure 8). Kang further discloses that the member (“middle” portion of insulating member, 138, see annotated Figure 8 above), the first end portion (see annotated Figure 8 below), and the second end portion (see annotated Figure 8 below) define a cavity (spaces within flow blocking walls, 139, see annotated Figure 8 below), the cavity (spaces within flow blocking walls, 139, see annotated Figure 8 below) configured to receive the first busbar (first assembly, 170a), and the cavity (spaces within flow blocking walls, 139, see annotated Figure 8 below) to extend between the first tip (see annotated Figure 8 below) and the second tip (see annotated Figure 8 below) (Figure 8, [0107-0108]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 7 are met.
Annotated Figure 8 (Kang US 2023/0253683 A1)
Regarding Claim 8, Kang further discloses that the apparatus (end plate, 135, and insulating member, 138) comprises a plurality of end portions comprising a first end portion (see annotated Figure 8 below) and a second end portion (see annotated Figure 8 below); the first end portion (see annotated Figure 8 below) defining the first opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) and the second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below); the second end portion (see annotated Figure 8 below) defining a third opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) and a fourth opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) (Figures 1, 2 and 8). As shown in Figure 8, Kang discloses that the first opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) and the third opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) are disposed a first distance away from a centerline (see annotated Figure 8 below) of the apparatus (end plate, 135, and insulating member, 138) and the second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) and the fourth opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) are disposed a second distance away from the centerline (see annotated Figure 8 below) of the apparatus (end plate, 135, and insulating member, 138) (Figure 8).
The examiner notes that due to the perspective of Figure 8, the centerline does not appear to be exactly centered with the insulating member (138) in annotated Figure 8. However, it would be clear to the skilled artisan that the centerline (see annotated Figure 8 below) would be centered with the insulating member (138), and as the first opening (see annotated Figure 8 below) and the third opening (see annotated Figure 8 below) are offset to the right of the insulating member (138) (in the view provided in Figure 8), while the second opening (see annotated Figure 8 below) and the fourth opening (see annotated Figure 8 below) are not as far offset to the left of the insulating member (138) (in the view provided in Figure 8), the first opening (see annotated Figure 8 below) and the third opening (see annotated Figure 8 below) are located at a different distance from the centerline than the second opening (see annotated Figure 8 below) and the fourth opening (see annotated Figure 8 below). The alignment of these openings may also be clearly seen in Figures 1 and 2.
Furthermore, the examiner notes that the term “a centerline” as written is a broad limitation and is subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation during the review of the prior art. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 8 are met.
Annotated Figure 8 (Kang US 2023/0253683 A1)
Regarding Claim 10, Kang further discloses that the first busbar (first assembly, 170a) is configured to couple a first battery module (first stack, 140a) with a second battery module (second stack, 140b) via the electrical connection formed between the first busbar (first assembly, 170a), the second busbar (“upper” half of second assembly, 170b) and the connection portion (176) (Figure 2, [0064, 0075]). Kang further discloses that the second busbar (“upper” half of second assembly, 170b) is configured to couple the first busbar (first assembly, 170a) with the second battery module (second stack, 140b) via the electrical connection formed between the first busbar (first assembly, 170a), the second busbar (“upper” half of second assembly, 170b), and the connection portion (176) (Figure 2, [0064, 0075]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 10 are met.
Regarding Claim 11, although Kang is silent to the dimensions of the end portion (see annotated Figure 8 above) wherein the first opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 above) and the second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 above) are formed, from Figure 8 it can be assumed that the overall thickness of the end portion (see annotated Figure 8 above) is consistent in the regions where the first opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 above) and the second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 above) are formed, such that the total depth of the first opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 above) and the total depth of the second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 above) are equal (Figure 8).
As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the first opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 above) may be considered to have a first depth equal to half the total depth of the first and second openings (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 above), and the second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 above) may be considered to have a second depth equal to the total depth of the first and second openings (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 above), in which case the first depth is indeed less than the second depth. The examiner notes that terms such as a first depth and a second depth do not have any distinguished meaning and absent further definition in the instant specification are selected based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the prior art. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 11 are met.
Regarding Claim 12, Kang further discloses that the member (“middle” portion of insulating member, 138, see annotated Figure 8 below) is an elongated portion configured to extend between the second busbar (“upper” half of second assembly, 170b) and a third busbar (“lower” half of second assembly, 170b) (see annotated Figure 8 below). Kang further discloses that the second busbar (“upper” half of second assembly, 170b) is coupled with a first battery module (first stack, 140a) via the electrical connection formed between the first busbar (first assembly, 170a), the second busbar (“upper” half of second assembly, 170b), and the connection portion (176), and the third busbar (“lower” half of second assembly, 170b) is coupled with a second battery module (second stack, 140b) (Figures 2 and 8, [0064, 0075]). Kang further discloses that the elongated portion defines a cavity (spaces within flow blocking walls, 139, see annotated Figure 8 below) configured to receive the first busbar (first assembly, 170a), wherein the first busbar (first assembly, 170a) interfaces with the second busbar (“upper” half of second assembly, 170b) and the third busbar (“lower” half of second assembly, 170b) via the electrical connection formed between the first busbar (first assembly, 170a), the second busbar (“upper” half of second assembly, 170b), and the third busbar (“lower” half of second assembly, 170b) through the connection portion (176) (Figure 8, [0064, 0075]). Kang further discloses that the first busbar (first assembly, 170a), the second busbar (“upper” half of second assembly, 170b), and the third busbar (“lower” half of second assembly, 170b) are configured to electrically couple the first battery module (first stack, 140a) with the second battery module (first stack, 140a) via the electrical connection formed between the first busbar (first assembly, 170a), the second busbar (“upper” half of second assembly, 170b), the third busbar (“lower” half of second assembly, 170b), and the connection portion (176) (Figure 8, [0064, 0075]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 12 are met.
Annotated Figure 8 (Kang US 2023/0253683 A1)
Regarding Claim 13, Kang further discloses that the apparatus (end plate, 135, and insulating member, 138) comprises a plurality of end portions comprising a first end portion (see annotated Figure 8 below) and a second end portion (see annotated Figure 8 below); the first end portion (see annotated Figure 8 below) defining the first opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) and the second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below); the second end portion (see annotated Figure 8 below) defining a third opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) and a fourth opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) (Figures 1, 2 and 8). As shown in Figure 8, Kang discloses that the first opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) is closer to a centerline (centerline of first assembly, 170a) of the apparatus (end plate, 135, and insulating member, 138) than the second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) and the third opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) is closer to a centerline (centerline of first assembly, 170a) of the apparatus (end plate, 135, and insulating member, 138) than the fourth opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) (Figure 8). Kang further discloses that the member (“middle” portion of insulating member, 138, see annotated Figure 8 below) is an elongated portion disposed between the first opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) and the second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) in the horizontal direction (Figure 8).
Furthermore, the examiner notes that the term “a centerline” as written is a broad limitation and is subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation during the review of the prior art. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 13 are met.
Annotated Figure 8 (Kang US 2023/0253683 A1)
Regarding Claim 14, Kang discloses a battery pack (battery module, 100) comprising: a battery module (first stack, 140a); and a busbar assembly (170) coupled with the battery module (first stack, 140a), the busbar assembly (170) comprising: a first busbar (first assembly, 170a); a second busbar (“upper” half of second assembly, 170b) coupled with the first busbar (first assembly, 170a) via the connection portion (176) (Figures 1 and 2, [0051, 0064]). Kang further discloses a casing (end plate, 135, and insulating member, 138) overmolded to the first busbar (first assembly, 170a) such that the casing (end plate, 135, and insulating member, 138) at least partially covers the first busbar (first assembly, 170a), the casing (end plate, 135, and insulating member, 138) configured to interface with the second busbar (“upper” half of second assembly, 170b) (Figure 2, [0069]). Kang further discloses that the casing (end plate, 135, and insulating member, 138) comprises a plurality of openings positioned proximate an end (“upper” end) of the casing (end plate, 135, and insulating member, 138), the plurality of openings comprising a first opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) and a second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below), the first opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) exposing a portion of the first busbar (first assembly, 170a) and the second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) exposing a portion of the second busbar (“upper” half of second assembly, 170b), the second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) positioned closer to the end (“upper” end) than the first opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) (Figure 8, [0069]). Kang further discloses that the second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) comprises a sidewall (see annotated Figure 8 below).
The examiner notes that the terms “a distal end”, “a first height”, and “a height” as written are broad limitations and are subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation during the review of the prior art. As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that there is indeed a height of the sidewall of the second opening which is equal to or greater than a first height of the first busbar defined by a distal end. First, the skilled artisan would appreciate that when “a first height” is defined by “a distal end”, it may also be defined by “a proximal end”. As such, the skilled artisan may select for a region of the first busbar between “a distal end” and “a proximal end”, a region which would have a total height (distance) which is less than the total height of the sidewall. In other words, if the distal end of the entire first busbar is selected as “a distal end”, the opposite end from which “a first height” is measure can be selected such that it is a small region of the first busbar. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 14 are met.
Annotated Figure 8 (Kang US 2023/0253683 A1)
Regarding Claim 15, Kang further discloses that the casing (end plate, 135, and insulating member, 138) comprises: a member (“middle” portion of insulating member, 138, see annotated Figure 8 below); and a plurality of end portions comprising a first end portion (see annotated Figure 8 below) disposed at the end (“upper” end) of the member (“middle” portion of insulating member, 138, see annotated Figure 8 below) and a second end portion (see annotated Figure 8) disposed at a second end (“lower” end) of the member (“middle” portion of insulating member, 138, see annotated Figure 8 below) (see annotated Figure 8 below). Kang further discloses that the first opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) and the second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) are defined by the first end portion (see annotated Figure 8 below). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 15 are met.
Annotated Figure 8 (Kang US 2023/0253683 A1)
Regarding Claim 17, Kang further discloses that the busbar assembly (170) includes a third busbar (“lower” portion of second assembly, 170b) coupled with the first busbar (first assembly, 170a) via the connection portion (176) (Figure 2, [0064]). Kang further discloses that the battery module (first stack, 140a) is a first battery module (first stack, 140a), the battery pack (battery module, 100) comprising a second battery module (second stack, 140b) coupled with the busbar assembly (170) via the third busbar (“lower” portion of second assembly, 170b) by the electrical connection established between the first busbar (first assembly, 170a), the second busbar (“upper” half of second assembly, 170b), and the third busbar (“lower” half of second assembly, 170b) through a connection portion (176) (Figure 8, [0064, 0075]). Kang further discloses that the casing (end plate, 135, and insulating member, 138) comprises the first opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below), the second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below), a third opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below), and a fourth opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below), the first opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) exposing a first portion (“upper” portion) of the first busbar (first assembly, 170a), the second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) exposing the portion of the second busbar (“upper” portion of second assembly, 170b), the third opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) exposing a second portion (“lower” portion) of the first busbar (first assembly, 170a), and the fourth opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) exposing a portion of the third busbar (“lower” portion of second assembly, 170b) (Figures 2 and 8). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 17 are met.
Annotated Figure 8 (Kang US 2023/0253683 A1)
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kubota et al. (US 2021/0159572 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kubota discloses an apparatus (bus bar case, 60), comprising: a member (see annotated Figure 1 below) overmolded to a first busbar (intermediate bus bars, 31) such that the member (see annotated Figure 1 below) at least partially covers the first busbar (intermediate bus bars, 31) on the peripheral edges (Figure 1, [0021, 0035]). Kubota further discloses an end portion (see annotated Figure 1 below) disposed at an end of the member (see annotated Figure 1 below), the end portion (see annotated Figure 1 below) comprising a first opening (opening, 61, see annotated Figure 1 below) and a second opening (opening, 61, see annotated Figure 1 below) (Figure 1, [0040]). Kubota further discloses that the first opening (opening, 61, see annotated Figure 1 below) is configured to expose a portion of the first busbar (intermediate bus bars, 31) and the second opening (opening, 61, see annotated Figure 1 below) is configured to expose a portion of a second busbar (end bus bars, 32) (Figure 1, [0035]). Kubota further discloses that the second opening (opening, 61, see annotated Figure 1 below) comprises a sidewall (inner wall of opening, 61, see annotated Figure 1 below). Kubota further discloses that the first busbar (intermediate bus bars, 31) is configured to electrically couple with the second busbar (end bus bars, 32) as both are connected to battery cell group (10), and wherein the second opening (opening, 61, see annotated Figure 1 below) is positioned closer to the end of the member (see annotated Figure 1 below) than the first opening (opening, 61, see annotated Figure 1 below) (Figure 1, [0035]).
The examiner notes that the terms “a height” and “a portion” as written are broad limitations and are subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation during the review of the prior art. As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that there is indeed a height of the sidewall of the second opening which is equal to or greater than a height of a portion of the first busbar adjacent the second opening. For example, the skilled artisan may select for “a portion” of the first busbar, a portion of the first busbar with an overall height which is less than the total height of the sidewall. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 1 are met.
Annotated Figure 1 (Kubota US 2021/0159572 A1)
Regarding Claim 3, Kubota further discloses that the end portion (see annotated Figure 1 below), comprises a projection (protruding portions, 62) defining the first opening (opening, 61, see annotated Figure 1 below); a housing (terminal, T) configured to receive a threaded fastener (bolt, 41), the threaded fastener (bolt, 41) configured to electrically couple the first busbar (intermediate bus bars, 31) with the second busbar (end bus bars, 32) as both are connected to battery cell group (10) (Figures 1, 4, and 5, [0035, 0040, 0042]). Kubota further discloses a tip (see annotated Figure 1 below) defining the second opening (opening, 61, see annotated Figure 1 below); the projection (protruding portions, 62) disposed on a first side of the housing (terminal, T) and the tip (see annotated Figure 1 below) disposed on a second side of the housing (terminal, T) in the (Figure 1). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 3 are met.
Annotated Figure 1 (Kubota US 2021/0159572 A1)
Regarding Claim 4, Kubota further discloses that the end portion (see annotated Figure 1 above) comprises a housing (terminal, T), the housing (terminal, T) comprising an aperture (through-hole, 32a), the housing (terminal, T) configured to receive a threaded fastener (bolt, 41) and the aperture (through-hole, 32a) configured to facilitate securing of the threaded fastener (bolt, 41) to couple the first busbar (intermediate bus bars, 31) with the second busbar (end bus bars, 32) as both are connected to battery cell group (10) (Figures 1, 4, and 5, [0035, 0042]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 4 are met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 2023/0253683 A1).
In Regards to Claim 5 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Kang discloses the apparatus of Claim 1 as set forth above. As shown in Figure 8 of Kang, the first opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 above) comprises a first shape (rectangular), the second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 above) comprises a second shape (rectangular), where the first shape (rectangular) and the second shape (rectangular) are the same (Figure 8).
However, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for the first shape and the second shape, shapes which are different from one another, in order to provide a simple means for identification of the given openings. Furthermore, it has been held that mere changes in shape of an object is a matter of design choice absent persuasive evidence the particular shape of the claimed object is significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV). Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that such a selection is one of a finite number of possible configurations that the openings could have within the apparatus (MPEP 2143 I, E). For example, the shapes of the openings may only be the same or different. Upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 5 are met.
In Regards to Claim 9 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Kang discloses the apparatus of Claim 1 as set forth above. Kang further discloses that the first opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 above) comprises an oblong shape (Figure 8).
Kang is deficient in disclosing that the second opening comprising a round shape.
However, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for the shape of the second opening, a round shape, in order to provide a simple means for identifying of the given openings. Furthermore, it has been held that mere changes in shape of an object is a matter of design choice absent persuasive evidence the particular shape of the claimed object is significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV). Upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 9 are met.
In Regards to Claim 16 (Dependent Upon Claim 14):
Kang discloses the battery pack of Claim 14 as set forth above. Kang further discloses that the casing (end plate, 135, and insulating member, 138) comprises a first end portion (see annotated Figure 8 below) and a second end portion (see annotated Figure 8 below); the first end portion (see annotated Figure 8 below) defining the first opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) and the second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below); the second end portion (see annotated Figure 8 below) defining a third opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) and a fourth opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) (Figures 1, 2 and 8). Kang further discloses that the first opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 above) and the third opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 above) comprise an oblong shape (Figure 8).
Kang is deficient in disclosing that the second opening and the fourth opening comprise a round shape.
However, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for the shape of the second opening and the fourth opening, a circular shape, in order to provide a simple means for identifying of the given openings. Furthermore, it has been held that mere changes in shape of an object is a matter of design choice absent persuasive evidence the particular shape of the claimed object is significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV). Upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 16 are met.
Annotated Figure 8 (Kang US 2023/0253683 A1)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that the previously cited prior art references Kang et al. (US 2023/0253683 A1) and Kubota et al. (US 2021/0159572 A1) fail to teach all of the limitations of the independent claims as currently amended.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. As detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1 in view of Kang, Kang discloses an apparatus (end plate, 135, and insulating member, 138), comprising: a member (“middle” portion of insulating member, 138, see annotated Figure 8 below) overmolded to a first busbar (first assembly, 170a) such that the member (“middle” portion of insulating member, 138, see annotated Figure 8 below) at least partially covers the first busbar (first assembly, 170a) (Figures 1-3, [0069, 0075]). Kang further discloses that an end portion (see annotated Figure 8 below) disposed at an end of the member (“middle” portion of insulating member, 138, see annotated Figure 8 below), the end portion (see annotated Figure 8 below) comprising a first opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) and a second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below), the first opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) configured to expose a portion of the first busbar (first assembly, 170a) and the second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) configured to expose a portion of a second busbar (“upper” half of second assembly, 170b) (Figures 1 and 8, [0064, 0068-0069, 0164]). Kang further discloses that the second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) comprises a sidewall (see annotated Figure 8 below). Kang further discloses that the first busbar (first assembly, 170a) is configured to couple with the second busbar (“upper” half of second assembly, 170b) via the connection portion (176), the second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) positioned closer to the end (see annotated Figure 8 below) of the member (“middle” portion of insulating member, 138, see annotated Figure 8 below) than the first opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) (Figures 1 and 2, [0064, 0164]).
The examiner notes that the terms “a height” and “a portion” as written are broad limitations and are subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation during the review of the prior art. As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that there is indeed a height of the sidewall of the second opening which is equal to or greater than a height of a portion of the first busbar adjacent the second opening. For example, the skilled artisan may select for “a portion” of the first busbar, a portion of the first busbar with an overall height which is less than the total height of the sidewall and which is less than the total thickness (from inner surface to outer surface) of the sidewall. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 1 are met.
Annotated Figure 8 (Kang US 2023/0253683 A1)
Likewise, as detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1 in view of Kubota, Kubota discloses an apparatus (bus bar case, 60), comprising: a member (see annotated Figure 1 below) overmolded to a first busbar (intermediate bus bars, 31) such that the member (see annotated Figure 1 below) at least partially covers the first busbar (intermediate bus bars, 31) on the peripheral edges (Figure 1, [0021, 0035]). Kubota further discloses an end portion (see annotated Figure 1 below) disposed at an end of the member (see annotated Figure 1 below), the end portion (see annotated Figure 1 below) comprising a first opening (opening, 61, see annotated Figure 1 below) and a second opening (opening, 61, see annotated Figure 1 below) (Figure 1, [0040]). Kubota further discloses that the first opening (opening, 61, see annotated Figure 1 below) is configured to expose a portion of the first busbar (intermediate bus bars, 31) and the second opening (opening, 61, see annotated Figure 1 below) is configured to expose a portion of a second busbar (end bus bars, 32) (Figure 1, [0035]). Kubota further discloses that the second opening (opening, 61, see annotated Figure 1 below) comprises a sidewall (inner wall of opening, 61, see annotated Figure 1 below). Kubota further discloses that the first busbar (intermediate bus bars, 31) is configured to electrically couple with the second busbar (end bus bars, 32) as both are connected to battery cell group (10), and wherein the second opening (opening, 61, see annotated Figure 1 below) is positioned closer to the end of the member (see annotated Figure 1 below) than the first opening (opening, 61, see annotated Figure 1 below) (Figure 1, [0035]).
The examiner notes that the terms “a height” and “a portion” as written are broad limitations and are subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation during the review of the prior art. As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that there is indeed a height of the sidewall of the second opening which is equal to or greater than a height of a portion of the first busbar adjacent the second opening. For example, the skilled artisan may select for “a portion” of the first busbar, a portion of the first busbar with an overall height which is less than the total height of the sidewall. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 1 are met.
Annotated Figure 1 (Kubota US 2021/0159572 A1)
Lastly, as detailed above in the rejection of Claim 14 in view of Kang, Kang discloses a battery pack (battery module, 100) comprising: a battery module (first stack, 140a); and a busbar assembly (170) coupled with the battery module (first stack, 140a), the busbar assembly (170) comprising: a first busbar (first assembly, 170a); a second busbar (“upper” half of second assembly, 170b) coupled with the first busbar (first assembly, 170a) via the connection portion (176) (Figures 1 and 2, [0051, 0064]). Kang further discloses a casing (end plate, 135, and insulating member, 138) overmolded to the first busbar (first assembly, 170a) such that the casing (end plate, 135, and insulating member, 138) at least partially covers the first busbar (first assembly, 170a), the casing (end plate, 135, and insulating member, 138) configured to interface with the second busbar (“upper” half of second assembly, 170b) (Figure 2, [0069]). Kang further discloses that the casing (end plate, 135, and insulating member, 138) comprises a plurality of openings positioned proximate an end (“upper” end) of the casing (end plate, 135, and insulating member, 138), the plurality of openings comprising a first opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) and a second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below), the first opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) exposing a portion of the first busbar (first assembly, 170a) and the second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) exposing a portion of the second busbar (“upper” half of second assembly, 170b), the second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) positioned closer to the end (“upper” end) than the first opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) (Figure 8, [0069]). Kang further discloses that the second opening (gas flow port, 138a, see annotated Figure 8 below) comprises a sidewall (see annotated Figure 8 below).
The examiner notes that the terms “a distal end”, “a first height”, and “a height” as written are broad limitations and are subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation during the review of the prior art. As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that there is indeed a height of the sidewall of the second opening which is equal to or greater than a first height of the first busbar defined by a distal end. First, the skilled artisan would appreciate that when “a first height” is defined by “a distal end”, it may also be defined by “a proximal end”. As such, the skilled artisan may select for a region of the first busbar between “a distal end” and “a proximal end”, a region which would have a total height (distance) which is less than the total height of the sidewall. In other words, if the distal end of the entire first busbar is selected as “a distal end”, the opposite end from which “a first height” is measure can be selected such that it is a small region of the first busbar. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 14 are met.
Annotated Figure 8 (Kang US 2023/0253683 A1)
The examiner appreciates that the amendments made to Independent Claims 1 and 14 in the claim set dated 11/20/2025 attempted to clarify the structure of the claimed apparatus. However, the language of the amended claims includes somewhat broad terminology.
The examiner notes that an amendment to Claim 1 specifying that “a height [of the sidewall]” and “a height of a portion of the first busbar adjacent the opening” are referring to an overall height of the sidewall and an overall height of the first busbar would overcome the prior art on record. For example, Claim 1 may be amended to read “…a sidewall of the second opening having an overall height equal to or greater than a height of a portion of the first busbar adjacent the second opening, wherein the height of the portion of the first busbar is equal to an overall height of the first busbar”. Likewise, a similar amendment to Claim 14 would overcome the prior art on record.
Conclusion
/E.E.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724