Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 & 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichikawa et al. (USPGPN 20160082848 A1), in view of Ortiz et al. (USPGPN 20230211683 A1) and Sebestyen (USPGPN 2018/0281611).
Regarding Claim 1, Ichikawa teaches a multi-part refueling device for refueling an electric drive battery of a movable vehicle, comprising:
a vehicle-side coupling device (Fig.7, 13 & 180; Fig.7/31/32/33, 200; Fig.31/32/33, 30A: drive mechanism 30A is an alternative embodiment of drive mechanism 30, which is shown in Fig.7, and so drive mechanism 30A would also be driven by controller 180 through adjuster 9 to move power receiving unit 200) with a charging connection (Fig.7: connection between charger 142 and rectifier 13), a computer and control unit (Fig.7, 180), a contact plate connection designed as an electric cable (Fig.7: connection between power receiving unit 200 and rectifier 13) and a movable contact plate (Fig.7/31/32/33, 200) with connecting means, and
a ground coupling device (Fig.33, 61) arranged in a stationary and fixed manner on the ground, which is compatible with the selected connecting means,
wherein the vehicle-side coupling device carried on the vehicle includes connecting means (Fig.4, 22) and a manipulator arm (Fig.33, 30A) for descending, displacing and lowering the contact plate (Fig.33,200) in a center of the stationary ground coupling device,
wherein the manipulator arm is mounted so that it can be moved up and down (Figs. 31 & 32 show that the manipulator moves up and down to position the contactor plate vertically), has at least one upper arm segment (Fig.33, 150T & 151) pivotally and rotatably mounted on the vehicle side (Fig.33, upper arms 150T & 151 pivot and rotate at 161T & 160T, respectively), a lower arm segment (Fig.33, 130T) where the contact plate (Fig.33, 200) is mounted, and is automatically controlled by the computer and control unit (controller 180 executes drive control of the drive mechanism 30, which would also execute drive control of the alternative embodiment 30A).
Ichikawa fails to explicitly teach the ground coupling device with charging contacts, the vehicle-side coupling device including charging contacts, or the lower arm segment is telescopic.
However, Sebestyen (Figs.1 & 4) teaches a vehicle charging arm system using a ground coupling device (CS) with charging contacts (4) and vehicle-side coupling device (304) with charging contacts (301).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Ichikawa with Sebestyen to use charging contacts instead of charging coils for the ground coupling device and vehicle-side coupling device. Doing so would allow for high current charging while reducing the risk to persons or animals in the vicinity of the vehicle, as evidenced by Sebestyen (¶0004).
Moreover, Ortiz teaches the use of a telescopic arm segment to move a contact plate (¶0079: telescoping tubing or other electromechanically or pneumatically controlled telescoping hardware may be used to move the coil).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Ichikawa to use telescoping hardware for the lower arm segment, as taught by Ortiz, since it would provide a means for adjusting the contact plate’s height without having to further adjust the position of the upper arm segment and therefore increasing the adjustability of the height of the contact plate.
Regarding Claim 2, Ichikawa, as modified, further teaches wherein the manipulator arm includes the upper arm segment (Fig.33, 150T & 151) pivotally and rotatably mounted on the vehicle side (Fig.33, upper arms 150T & 151 pivot and rotate at 161T & 160T, respectively), a joint (Fig.33, 163), a lower arm segment (Fig.33, 130T) and a further joint (Fig.33, 164T) for mounting the contact plate (200), and is automatically controlled by the computer and control unit.
Regarding Claim 3, Ichikawa, as modified, further teaches wherein the upper arm segment of the manipulator arm is pivotally attached to a joint on the vehicle side (Fig.33, 160T & 161T).
Regarding Claim 4, Ichikawa, as modified, further teaches wherein the lower arm segment is designed as a telescopic segment that can be moved electrically, electromechanically or pneumatically controllably by the computer and control unit and can thus be extended linearly (as explained in the rejection of claim 1: [Ortiz] telescoping tubing or other electromechanically or pneumatically controlled telescoping hardware).
Regarding Claim 5, Ichikawa, as modified, further teaches wherein the manipulator arm is designed to be electrically, electromechanically or pneumatically controlled by the computer and control unit (drive mechanism 30A is controlled by the computer, as explained in the rejection of claim 1; Fig.33, 141/¶0290: drive unit 141 may be a pneumatic cylinder).
Regarding Claim 6, Ichikawa, as modified, further teaches having at least one sensor (Fig.7/15, 310) and is connected to the computer and control unit (Fig.7: controller 180 is connected to detectors 310) for determining the optimal position relative to the stationary ground coupling device (¶0230, controller 180, through HV-ECU 470 & detection ECU 460, uses detectors 310 to optimally position the power receiving device 11, and subsequently the power receiving unit 200), wherein the at least one sensor is a contact sensor, an electromagnetic sensor, a magnetic sensor, an optical sensor or an infrared sensor (¶0063: detectors 310 can detect a magnetic field or electric field).
Ichikawa fails to explicitly teach the sensor is arranged on the contact plate or in the inner space of the contact plate.
However, Ortiz teaches that the location of position sensors (Fig.14B, 92 & 94) can be arranged on a contact plate (Fig.14B, 115).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system taught by Ichikawa, in view of Ortiz and Sebestyen, to position the sensors on the contact plate to facilitate accurate placement of the charging member for increased efficiency, as evidenced by Ortiz.
Regarding Claim 7, Ichikawa, as modified, further teaches the stationary ground coupling device (Fig.7/33, 61) comprises charging electronics (Fig.7, 55, 64, & 230) which starts and ends the refueling process (¶0108: charging is started and stopped), wherein an electric current is fed in a controlled manner (¶0270: indicates that the frequency of the current supplied to the power transmitting coil is adjusted, or controlled).
Regarding Claim 8, Ichikawa, in view of Ortiz and Sebestyen, (as applied to the rejection of claim 1) teaches a refueling method using a multi-part refueling device for refueling an electric drive battery of a movable vehicle, comprising the steps of:
- providing the multi-part refueling device of claim 1 (as explained in the rejection of claim 1)
- positioning the vehicle in the vicinity of a locally fixed immovable ground coupling device (Fig.20, steps S8, S9, & S10)
- operating a computer and control unit to start the refueling process (¶0108, controller 180 sends charging start commands through communication unit 160),
- lowering of a contact plate in the direction of the ground coupling device (Figs. 31 & 33 show the power receiving unit lowered towards the power supply device 61) on the ground beneath the vehicle by means of a manipulator arm electrically, electromechanically or pneumatically controlled (¶0290: drive unit 141 is a pneumatic cylinder) by the computer and control unit in such a way that connecting means of the contact plate are brought to a minimum distance from the ground coupling device (¶0230: the method of controlling the power receiving device 11 accounts for a minimum distance between the power transmitting device and the power receiving device),
- starting the refueling process by applying electricity (¶0109: full-scale charging is started by power supply device 64), and after the refueling,
- transferring the contact plate back into a storage state by means of the manipulator arm (¶0297: when charging completes, power receiving 200 is moved upwards back to position S1).
Ichikawa fails to explicitly teach lowering the contact plate to a minimum distance from charging contacts of the ground coupling device and applying electricity to the charging contacts.
However, Sebestyen teaches lowering the contact plate to a minimum distance from the charging contacts of the ground coupling device (Figs. 2a to 2b: contact element is moved to the stationary contact element until they come in contact) and applying electricity to the charging contacts (¶0007: movable contacting element for electric contact with a stationary contacting element for electric charging of the electric storage arrangement; which indicates electricity is applied to the charging contacts).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system taught by Ichikawa, in view of Ortiz and Sebestyen, with Sebestyen to lower the contact plate to a minimum distance from the charging contacts of the ground coupling device and apply electricity to the charging contacts. Doing so would allow for high current charging while reducing the risk to persons or animals in the vicinity of the vehicle, as evidenced by Sebestyen (¶0004).
Regarding Claim 9, Ichikawa, as modified, further teaches wherein the manipulator arm includes the upper arm segment (Fig.33, 150T & 151) pivotally and rotatably mounted on the vehicle side (Fig.33, upper arms 150T & 151 pivot and rotate at 161T & 160T, respectively), a joint (Fig.33, 163), a lower arm segment (Fig.33, 130T) and a further joint (Fig.33, 164T) for mounting the contact plate (200), and is automatically controlled by the computer and control unit.
Regarding Claim 10, Ichikawa, as modified, further teaches wherein the upper arm segment of the manipulator arm is pivotally attached to a joint on the vehicle side (Fig.33, 160T & 161T).
Regarding Claim 11, Ichikawa, as modified, further teaches wherein the lower arm segment is designed as a telescopic segment that can be moved electrically, electromechanically or pneumatically controllably by the computer and control unit and can thus be extended linearly (as explained in the rejection of claim 1: [Ortiz] telescoping tubing or other electromechanically or pneumatically controlled telescoping hardware).
Regarding Claim 12, Ichikawa, as modified, further teaches wherein the manipulator arm is designed to be electrically, electromechanically or pneumatically controlled by the computer and control unit (drive mechanism 30A is controlled by the computer, as explained in the rejection of claim 1; Fig.33, 141/¶0290: drive unit 141 may be a pneumatic cylinder).
Regarding Claim 13, Ichikawa, as modified, further teaches having at least one sensor (Fig.7/15, 310) and is connected to the computer and control unit (Fig.7: controller 180 is connected to detectors 310) for determining the optimal position relative to the stationary ground coupling device (¶0230, controller 180, through HV-ECU 470 & detection ECU 460, uses detectors 310 to optimally position the power receiving device 11, and subsequently the power receiving unit 200), wherein the at least one sensor is a contact sensor, an electromagnetic sensor, a magnetic sensor, an optical sensor or an infrared sensor (¶0063: detectors 310 can detect a magnetic field or electric field).
Ichikawa fails to explicitly teach the sensor is arranged on the contact plate or in the inner space of the contact plate.
However, Ortiz teaches that the location of position sensors (Fig.14B, 92 & 94) can be arranged on a contact plate (Fig.14B, 115).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system taught by Ichikawa, in view of Ortiz and Sebestyen, to position the sensors on the contact plate to facilitate accurate placement of the charging member for increased efficiency, as evidenced by Ortiz.
Regarding Claim 14, Ichikawa, as modified, further teaches the stationary ground coupling device (Fig.7/33, 61) comprises charging electronics (Fig.7, 55, 64, & 230) which starts and ends the refueling process (¶0108: charging is started and stopped), wherein an electric current is fed in a controlled manner (¶0270: indicates that the frequency of the current supplied to the power transmitting coil is adjusted, or controlled).
Conclusion
/JOHN P ONDRASIK/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859