DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 11-13, 18, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural phenomenon without significantly more. The claims recite a composition comprising a unit dosage of calcium and at least one oleuropein or metabolite thereof selected from oleuropein aglycone, homovanillyl alcohol, and isohomovanillyl alcohol. Claim 11 recites several composition types that implicitly include other ingredients and the claim also recites that the composition consists essentially of the combination of calcium and at least one oleuropein or metabolite thereof. The “consisting essentially of” language excludes additional compounds that affect mitochondrial calcium import (see instant specification paragraph 39). Calcium is a naturally occurring mineral. In addition, olives are taught to be rich in calcium and to be a source of oleuropein and its metabolites, where these compounds are also present in olive oil (see Guo et al. Phytochemistry Reviews 2018 17:1091-1110, page 1096 second column table 2, tables 4-5). Metabolites found in the olive plant include oleuropein aglycone and homovanillyl alcohol (see Guo et al. tables 4 and 5). Thus the claimed composition is directed toward a combination of natural ingredients which makes it a product of nature. While the disclosure discusses a synergistic interaction between calcium and oleuropein in histamine stimulated HeLa cells with 1.5 mM calcium and 10 mM oleuropein, there is no evidence that this synergy is absent when calcium and oleuropein are present in combination without the companion compounds otherwise present in olives or olive oil that affect mitochondrial calcium import. It additionally is not evident that synergistic behavior is uniquely at the tested concentrations or that it would extend to the other claimed metabolites of oleuropein. There is no indication of calcium physically or chemically interacting with the oleuropein or oleuropein metabolites upon extraction from the olive that would alter their behavior or structure or vice versa. Thus calcium in combination with oleuropein and in combination with the claimed metabolites of oleuropein are not markedly different from and do not amount to significantly more than the natural ingredients themselves. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims do not apply the natural product. The claims do not require additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they recite composition forms that do not require additional elements (e.g., dietary supplement, nutraceutical, food additive, etc.). Some component forms require additional elements, but several of them can also be natural such as milk or water to yield a beverage and do not yield significantly more than a natural product. The claim also recites “unit dosage form” and the presence of the natural components at issue in an amount effective for decreasing muscle fatigue in an individual who participates in at least one of three varieties of exercise, neither of which requires additional elements. Therefore the claims embrace subject matter that is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Musumeci et al. (previously cited) in view of Landeka et al. (previously cited) and Feng et al. (previously cited) as evidenced by Guo et al. and Kouka et al. (previously cited).
Musumeci et al. teach a method of reducing oxidative stress and muscle damage in exhaustively exercised skeletal (endurance exercise) muscle by administering extra virgin olive oil to rats fed an otherwise standard diet (see abstract and page 62 second column first full paragraph; instant claims 1 and 10). The diet included protein, carbohydrate, a mineral mixture and a vitamin mixture along with lipids, where the treated rats had extra virgin olive oil as the lipids in their feed (see page 62 second column first full paragraph; instant claims 1, 7, and 14-15). Musumeci et al. go on to detail that extra virgin olive oil contains oleuropein and hydroxytyrosol and is minimally processed so as to avoid physically alter the oil (see page 62 first column first full paragraph and second column last partial paragraph-page 63 first column first full paragraph ; instant claims 1, 5 and 14). In addition to containing these compounds, olive oil also contains calcium (see (Guo et al. page 1096 second column table 2, tables 4-5). Skeletal muscle tissue of the exercised rats showed extensive damage that was not present in the extra virgin olive oil fed subjects or in sedentary subjects (see figure 1 and page 64 second column last partial paragraph). In addition, Musumeci et al. detail that oxidative stress of the extra virgin olive oil fed exercised subjects was similar to that of the sedentary subjects and significantly lower than that of the untreated exercised subjects (see table 3, page 66 first column second-third full paragraphs, and page 67 second column). Kouka et al. teach that oxidative stress in muscle tissue results in muscle fatigue, thus the outcome of extra virgin olive oil treatment by Musumeci et al. is a reduction/inhibition of muscle fatigue (see page 704 first column first-second paragraph; instant claims 1 and 10). The full composition of the standard feed given to the subjects is not detailed.
Landeka et al. teach the administration of a standard diet to rats (see abstract and page 64 first column second full paragraph). The feed is listed as containing several minerals and vitamins, proteins fats, carbohydrates, where they elaborate on the particular components and list multiple forms of calcium, a mineral, as constituents (see abstract and page 64 first column second full paragraph). They additionally teach administering olive oil as a separate composition to the rats orally (see page 63 second column last paragraph and page 64 first column last partial paragraph).
Feng et al. teach treating rat subjects who participate in strenuous exercise with a diet of normal rat chow and providing an oral dietary supplement of the oleuropein metabolite hydroxytyrosol less than one hour prior to exercise to protect against muscle fatigue and damage (see abstract and page 1438 second column second full paragraph; instant claims 1 and 3). They go on to teach examination of the soleus muscle for the impact of the treatment (see page 1439 first column first full paragraph; instant claim 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the mineral combination and vitamin combination of Landeka et al. as the mineral mixture and vitamin mixture in the feed employed by Musumeci et al. This modification would have been obvious as the simple substitution of one known element for another in order to yield a predictable outcome (e.g. specific vitamin/mineral mixture vs. generic vitamin/mineral mixture). The administration as supplemented feed and/or as a separate olive oil supplement would have been obvious given that both routes are employed for gleaning he benefits of orally administered olive oil. The result would be the administration of calcium (via the olive oil and/or the feed), oleuropein, and hydroxytyrosol to the rat subjects in one composition where vitamins and minerals are also present along with protein, carbohydrate, and fat in a food composition (see instant claims 1 and 6). It additionally would have been obvious to perform the administration less than one hour before endurance/exhaustive exercise because Feng et al. teach of the effectiveness of this timing to administering for oleuropein metabolites to impact the same body system envisioned by Musumeci et al. in a similar way. Therefore claims 1, 3, and 6-10 are obvious over Musumeci et al. in view of Landeka et al. and Feng et al. as evidenced by Gou et al. and Kouka et al.
Claims 1, 3, 6-10, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Musumeci et al. in view of Landeka et al. and Feng et al. as evidenced by Gou et al. and Kouka et al. as applied to claims 1, 3, and 6-10 above, and further in view of Barbaro et al. (previously cited) as evidenced by the Extra Virgin Olive Oil Safety Data Sheet (previously cited).
Musumeci et al. in view of Landeka et al. and Feng et al. as evidenced by Gou et al. and Kouka et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1, 6-11, and 14-15. The composition contains extra virgin olive oil that has no physical alterations and contains oleuropein (see page 62 second column last partial paragraph-page 63 first column first partial paragraph). This oil is present at 28.5 g/100g feed (see table 1). The oleuropein proportion is not detailed.
Barbaro et al. teach oleuropein proportions in various olive parts and extracts (see abstract and table 1). They teach the amount of oleuropein in virgin olive oil to range from about 2 to 11.2 mg/kg (see table 1). The Extra Virgin Olive Oil Safety Data Sheet details that such oils have a density of 0.916 g/ml (see page 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a known (extra) virgin olive oil with oleuropein as detailed by Barbaro et al. in the feed of Musumeci et al. and the resulting composition would then have an oil with oleuropein present at 2 to 11.2 mg/mg in the oil. Given the density of extra virgin olive oil, this range corresponds to the oil in the feed having oleuropein present at a concentration of 3.4 to 19 mM (as calculated by the examiner based on 540 g/mol molecular weight for oleuropein). This rather narrow range embraces the claimed concentration, thereby rendering the claimed concentration obvious, absent evidence of criticality (see MPEP 2144.05). Therefore claims 16-17 are obvious over Musumeci et al. in view of Landeka et al., Feng et al., and Barbaro et al. as evidenced by Gou et al., Kouka et al., and the Extra Virgin Olive Oil Safety Data Sheet.
Claims 1, 3-4, and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Musumeci et al. in view of Landeka et al. and Feng et al. as evidenced by Gou et al. and Kouka et al. as applied to claims 1, 3, and 6-10 above, and as further evidenced Kohn et al. (previously cited) and Nijhuis et al. (previously cited).
Musumeci et al. in view of Landeka et al. and Feng et al. as evidenced by Gou et al. and Kouka et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1, 3, and 6-10. Musumeci et al. assess the impact of the treatment on the Quadriceps femoris muscle group (see page 63 first column third full paragraph). This muscle group includes the Vastus lateralis, Vastus medialis, Vastus intermedius and Rectus femoris (see Kohn et al. page 9 first column first full paragraph). Nihjuis et al. teach that the Biceps femoris is located in the same leg region and nearly adjacent to the Vastus lateralis (see figure 2). As a result, the artisan of ordinary skill would expect a similar impact (e.g., fatigue reduction) in the Biceps femoris as seen in the Quadricep femoris. Therefore claims 1, 3-4, and 6-10 are obvious over Musumeci et al. in view of Landeka et al. and Feng et al. as evidenced by Gou et al. and Kouka et al., Kohn et al., and Nihjuis et al.
Claims 11,13-15, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall et al. (WO 2008/108817).
Hall et al. teach a nutritional composition (nutraceutical) composed of oleuropein an cyclodextrin that is also taught and exemplified with calcium (see page 9 last partial paragraph and following table, claims 1 and 6). Glycerol esters are additionally taught to facility integration of the oleuropein into the cyclodextrin to alleviate the bitterness of the oleuropein for oral consumption (see page 8). The composition is envisioned to provide oleuropein due to its various biological and therapeutic effects and is noted to primarily originate from olives and the olive plant (see pages 1-2). Claim 6 of Hall et al. detail 4 options for an additional component, one of which yields a mixture of oleuropein, calcium, and cyclodextrin where excipients, such as the carbohydrate sweetener xylitol, may be included as well (see claim 6). The composition is recited to include 0.1 to 1000 mg oleuropein and 2 to 3500 mg calcium which can be viewed as a unit dose and may also be provided as a liquid (see paragraphs page 9 last partial paragraph). These values are embraced by or overlap the instant disclosure of effective amounts of each (see paragraphs page 9 last partial paragraph and following table; instant specification paragraphs 72-73; instant claims 11 and 13-14). While a full example of each embodiment that follows from teachings of Hall et al. is not detailed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare their nutritional composition with just cyclodextrin, calcium, and oleuropein that optionally also includes xylitol and glycerol ester. These choices would have been obvious because Hall et al. explicitly recite them amongst a narrow set of options and exemplify their combination. The xylitol meets the limitation of a carbohydrate ne the glycerol ester is an excipient (see instant claims 14-15).The quantities of calcium and oleuropein detailed by Hall et al. overlap or meet those instantly recited as an effective amount to reduce or treat muscle fatigue, thereby rendering them obvious. “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed.Cir. 1990)” (see MPEP 2144.05). Therefore claims 11,13-15, and 22-23 are obvious over Hall et al.
Claims 1, 3, 6-7, 9-11, 13-15, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall et al. as applied to claims 11,13-15, and 22-23 above, and further in view of Rietjens et al. (WO 2008/040550) and Toyomura et al. (US PGPub No. 2009/0087495).
Hall et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 11,13-15, and 22-23, where oleuropein and calcium in a composition devoid of additional polyphenols is provided. Administration to a subject within 2 hours of or during exercise is not detailed.
Rietjens et al. teach the administration of olive extract for muscle health in animals prone to muscle pain and soreness (fatigue) due to exercise to permit a longer duration and greater intensity of exercise (see abstract and page 2 lines 5-25). They additionally teach administration prior to, during, or shortly after the exercise (see page 2 lines 19-25). An example provides the extract 30 minutes before resistance exercise (see page 10 lines 13-27).
Toyomura et al. teach that the dietary administration of the oleuropein improved exercise endurance (e.g., reduced muscle fatigue) by 20% as part of a composition intended to reduce fatigue due to exercise (see paragraph 33 and table 1 ‘None’ sample vs ‘oleuropein’ sample ‘without chicken extract’ embodiments). The administered solution includes 10 mg/ml oleuropein (see paragraph 78). They also teach 667 mg of oleuropein loaded into an oral capsule as an exemplary dosage form (see paragraph 98).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer the compositions rendered obvious by Hall et al. to a subject thirty minutes prior to or during resistance or endurance exercise. This choice would have been obvious in light of Toyomura et al. who teach of the improvement oleuropein can provide to endurance and Rietjens et al. who teach this timing of administering olive extracts to reduce muscle soreness (fatigue) and permit better exercise endurance. Therefore claims 1, 3, 6-7, 9-11, 13-15, and 20-23 are obvious over Hall et al. in view of Rietjens et al. and Toyomura et al.
Claims 11,13-15, 18-21, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall et al. as applied to claims 11,13-15,and 22-23 above, and further in view of Lee-Huang et al. (US PGPub No. 2009/0061031).
Hall et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 11,13-15, and 22-23, where oleuropein and calcium in a composition devoid of additional polyphenols is provided for improves oleuropein palatability. The instantly claimed composition is not explicitly taught.
Lee-Huang et al. teach various concentrations of oleuropein provided in drinking water (see paragraph 349). Here a concentration of 5 mg/ml is detailed (see pragaph 349). Such a solution corresponds to a molar concentration of solution 9.25mM (as calculated by the examiner given a 540 molar mass of oleuropein).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the composition of Hall et al as the oleuropein source because of its ability to remove the bitterness associated with the compound and improve its palatability. This modification would have been obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. The result is a composition with cyclodextrin, calcium, and oleuropein at a concentration very near that instantly claimed. Given the absence of any evidence of an unexpectedly superior result for the claimed oleuropein concentration at all calcium concentrations, the obviousness of routine experimentation by the artisan to select a concentration that achieves the desired dosing renders the claimed concentrations obvious. Therefore claims 11,13-15, 18-21, and 22-23 are obvious over Hall et al. in view of Lee-Huang et al.
Double Patenting
The following are provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 11 and 13-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 13-16 of copending Application No. 18/862394 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims recite a method of treating or reducing muscle fatigue due to exercise in an individual induced by at least one of 1) resistance exercise, 2) anaerobic or repeated sprint-type exercise, or 3) endurance exercise by orally administering a composition of oleuropein or a metabolite thereof to the individual. Both sets of claims also include calcium as an ingredient as well as name the same oleuropein metabolite options. No additional components are required. The process of making the composition is also recited by both sets of claims. The copending claims detail many of the same final forms of the composition as well as protein, carbohydrates, and fat as components/excipients to include. While a single lineage of claims does not meet each instant claim, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the methods of the instant claims, where calcium is included in the composition, based upon the recited additional components and component configurations of the copending claims. The composition additionally can comprise a unit dose (or more) in the claimed final forms. Therefore claims 11 and 13-15 are obvious over claims 1-6 and 13-16 of copending Application No. 18/862394.
Claims 1, 3, 6-7, 9-11, and 13-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 13-16 of copending Application No. 18/862394 as applied to claims 11 and 13-15 above, and further in view of Feng et al.
Claims 1-6 and 13-16 of copending Application No. 18/862394 render obvious the limitations of instant claims 11 and 13-15, where a composition with the instantly claimed components is administered to the instantly claimed population to treat muscle fatigue. The time of administration relative to exercise is not detailed nor is a particular claimed muscle recited in which the fatigue is reduced or inhibited.
Feng et al. teach treating rat subjects who participate in strenuous exercise with a diet of normal rat chow and providing an oral dietary supplement of hydroxytyrosol less than one hour prior to exercise to protect against muscle fatigue and damage (see abstract and page 1438 second column second full paragraph). The hydroxytyrosol is provided as an olive extract and naturally found in olive oil (see page 1438 first column second full paragraph and second column first partial paragraph). They go on to teach examination of the soleus muscle for the impact of the treatment (see page 1439 first column first full paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the composition of the method of copending claims less than one hour before exercise because such actives were shown to be effective against muscle fatigue via this administration regimen as taught by Feng et al. It also would have been obvious to expect or produce a reduction in incidence of intensity of muscle fatigue in the soleus muscle in the method of the copending claims as also detailed by Feng et al. because the same active is being administered for the same purpose and a similar outcome would be desirable. Therefore claims 1, 3, 6-7, 9-11, and 13-15 are obvious over claims 1-6 and 13-16 of copending Application No. 18/862394 in view of Feng et al.
Claims 1, 3, 6-7, 9-11, and 13-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 13-16 of copending Application No. 18/862394 in view of Feng et al. as applied to claims 1, 3, 6-7, 9-11, and 13-15 above, and further in view of Musumeci et al. and Barbaro et al. as evidenced by the Extra Virgin Olive Oil Safety Data Sheet.
Claims 1-6 and 13-16 of copending Application No. 18/862394 render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1, 3, 6-7, 9-11, and 13-15. A concentration for the oleuropein that is administered is not detailed.
Musumeci et al. teach a method of reducing oxidative stress and muscle damage in exhaustively exercised skeletal (endurance exercise) muscle by orally administering extra virgin olive oil (see abstract and page 62 second column first full paragraph; instant claims 1 and 10). The composition contains extra virgin olive oil that has no physical alterations and contains oleuropein (see page 62 second column last partial paragraph-page 63 first column first partial paragraph).
Barbaro et al. teach oleuropein proportions in various olive parts and extracts (see abstract and table 1). They teach the amount of oleuropein in virgin olive oil to range from about 2 to 11.2 mg/kg (see table 1). The Extra Virgin Olive Oil Safety Data Sheet details that such oils have a density of 0.916 g/ml (see page 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ (extra) virgin olive oil with oleuropein as detailed by Barbaro et al. as an oral oleuropein source for the method of the copending claims in light of Musumeci et al. This choice would have bene obvious because the olive oil is a known source indicated as suitable for a similar use detailed by the method of the copending claims. The resulting composition would then have an oil with oleuropein present at 2 to 11.2 mg/mg in the oil. Given the density of extra virgin olive oil, this range corresponds to the oil in the feed having oleuropein present at a concentration of 3.4 to 19 mM (as calculated by the examiner based on 540 g/mol molecular weight for oleuropein). This rather narrow range embraces the claimed concentration, thereby rendering the claimed concentration obvious, absent evidence of criticality (see MPEP 2144.05). Therefore claims 1, 3, 6-7, 9-11, and 13-17 are obvious over claims 1-6 and 13-16 of copending Application No. 18/862394 in view of Feng et al., Musumeci et al., and Barbaro et al. as evidenced by the Extra Virgin Olive Oil Safety Data Sheet.
Claims 11 and 13-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 13-17, and 19 of copending Application No. 17/736496 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims recite a method of treating or reducing muscle fatigue due to exercise in an individual induced by at least one of 1) resistance exercise, 2) anaerobic or repeated sprint-type exercise, or 3) endurance exercise by orally administering a composition of oleuropein or a metabolite thereof to the individual. Both sets of claims also include calcium as an ingredient as well as name the same oleuropein metabolite options. Other components are not required. The process of making the composition is also recited by both sets of claims. The copending claims detail many of the same final forms of the composition as well as protein, carbohydrates, and fat as components/excipients to include. They also detail the same muscles being impacted. Further, a unit dosage form of the composition is also recited by both sets of claims as well as a composition consisting essentially of the calcium and oleuropein. While a single lineage of claims does not meet each instant claim, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the methods of the instant claims, where calcium is included in the composition, based upon the recited additional components and component configurations of the copending claims. Therefore claims 11 and 13-15 are obvious over claims 1-7, 13-17, and 19 of copending Application No. 17/736496.
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-11, and 13-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 13-16 of copending Application No. 17/736496 as applied to claims 1, 5-7, and 9-15 above, and further in view of Feng et al.
Claims 1-7, 13-17, and 19 of copending Application No. 17/736496 render obvious the limitations of instant claims 11 and 13-15where a composition with the instantly claimed components is administered to the instantly claimed population to treat muscle fatigue. The time of administration relative to exercise is not detailed.
Feng et al. teach treating rat subjects who participate in strenuous exercise with a diet of normal rat chow and providing an oral dietary supplement of hydroxytyrosol less than one hour prior to exercise to protect against muscle fatigue and damage (see abstract and page 1438 second column second full paragraph). The hydroxytyrosol is provided as an olive extract and naturally found in olive oil (see page 1438 first column second full paragraph and second column first partial paragraph). They go on to teach examination of the soleus muscle for the impact of the treatment (see page 1439 first column first full paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the composition of the method of copending claims less than one hour before exercise because such actives were shown to be effective against muscle fatigue via this administration regimen as taught by Feng et al. Therefore claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-11, and 13-15 are obvious over claims 1-7, 13-17, and 19 of copending Application No. 17/736496 in view of Feng et al.
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-11, and 13-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 13-17, and 19 of copending Application No. 17/736496 in view of Feng et al. as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-11, and 13-15 above, and further in view of Musumeci et al. and Barbaro et al. as evidenced by the Extra Virgin Olive Oil Safety Data Sheet.
Claims 1-7, 13-17, and 19 of copending Application No. 17/736496 render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-11, and 13-15. A concentration for the oleuropein that is administered is not detailed.
Musumeci et al. teach a method of reducing oxidative stress and muscle damage in exhaustively exercised skeletal (endurance exercise) muscle by orally administering extra virgin olive oil (see abstract and page 62 second column first full paragraph; instant claims 1 and 10). The composition contains extra virgin olive oil that has no physical alterations and contains oleuropein (see page 62 second column last partial paragraph-page 63 first column first partial paragraph).
Barbaro et al. teach oleuropein proportions in various olive parts and extracts (see abstract and table 1). They teach the amount of oleuropein in virgin olive oil to range from about 2 to 11.2 mg/kg (see table 1). The Extra Virgin Olive Oil Safety Data Sheet details that such oils have a density of 0.916 g/ml (see page 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ (extra) virgin olive oil with oleuropein as detailed by Barbaro et al. as an oral oleuropein source for the method of the copending claims in light of Musumeci et al. This choice would have bene obvious because the olive oil is a known source indicated as suitable for a similar use detailed by the method of the copending claims. The resulting composition would then have an oil with oleuropein present at 2 to 11.2 mg/mg in the oil. Given the density of extra virgin olive oil, this range corresponds to the oil in the feed having oleuropein present at a concentration of 3.4 to 19 mM (as calculated by the examiner based on 540 g/mol molecular weight for oleuropein). This rather narrow range embraces the claimed concentration, thereby rendering the claimed concentration obvious, absent evidence of criticality (see MPEP 2144.05). Therefore claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-11, and 13-17 are obvious over claims 1-7, 13-17, and 19 of copending Application No. 17/736496 in view of Feng et al., Musumeci et al. and Barbaro et al. as evidenced by the Extra Virgin Olive Oil Safety Data Sheet.
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-10, and 14-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, and 6-8 of copending Application No. 17/595166 (reference application) in view of Feng et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims recite a method of treating/improving muscle fatigue in skeletal muscle by orally administering a composition of oleuropein or a metabolite thereof to the individual. Both sets of claims also include calcium as an ingredient as well as name the same oleuropein metabolite options. The copending claims detail the same final forms of the composition as well as protein, carbohydrates, and fat as components/excipients to include. Exercise is not detailed as the source of the fatigue in the treated population of the copending claims.
Feng et al. teach treating rat subjects who participate in strenuous exercise with a diet of normal rat chow and providing an oral dietary supplement of hydroxytyrosol less than one hour prior to exercise to protect against muscle fatigue and damage (see abstract and page 1438 second column second full paragraph). The hydroxytyrosol is provided as an olive extract and naturally found in olive oil (see page 1438 first column second full paragraph and second column first partial paragraph). They go on to teach examination of the soleus muscle for the impact of the treatment (see page 1439 first column first full paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the methods of the instant claims, where calcium is included in the composition, based upon the recited additional components and component configurations of the copending claims. The administration of these compositions implicitly require their production (see instant claims 14-15). In addition, it also would have been obvious to practice the method on a subject less than one hour before endurance exercise because such actives were shown to be effective against muscle fatigue via this administration regimen for this variety of skeleton muscle fatigue as taught by Feng et al. It also would have been obvious to expect or produce a reduction in incidence of intensity of muscle fatigue in the soleus muscle in the method of the copending claims as also detailed by Feng et al. because the same active is being administered for the same purpose and a similar outcome would be desirable. Therefore claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-10, and 14-15 are obvious over 1, 4, and 6-8 of copending Application No. 17/595166 in view of Feng et al.
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-11, and 13-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, and 6-8 of copending Application No. 17/595166 in view of Feng et al. as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-10, and 14-15 above, and further in view of Masquelier (previously cited).
Claims 1, 4, and 6-8 of copending Application No. 17/595166 in view of Feng et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-10, and 14-15 where calcium and oleuropein or a metabolite thereof are included, optionally with excipients, in the administered composition. While a medicament form is recited by the copending claims, the configuration of the composition as a unit dose is not detailed.
Masquelier teaches various units, such as tablets, capsules and ampoules, as known forms for oral administration of a medicament that includes a plant extract (see column 6 lines 22-28). These dosage forms are unit dosage forms.
It would have been obvious to formulate the medicament administered in the method of the modified copending claims as a tablet or capsule in light of Masquelier as known oral dosage forms for an orally administer plant extract. It additionally would have been obvious to include the calcium and oleuropein or a metabolite alone or in combination with inert excipients. Therefore claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-11, and 13-15 are obvious over claims 1, 4, and 6-8 of copending Application No. 17/595166 in view of Feng et al. and Masquelier.
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-10, and 14-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, and 6-8 of copending Application No. 17/595166 in view of Feng et al. as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-10, and 14-15 above, and further in view of Musumeci et al. and Barbaro et al. as evidenced by the Extra Virgin Olive Oil Safety Data Sheet.
Claims 1, 4, and 6-8 of copending Application No. 17/595166 in view of Feng et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-10, and 14-15. A concentration for the oleuropein that is administered is not detailed.
Musumeci et al. teach a method of reducing oxidative stress and muscle damage in exhaustively exercised skeletal (endurance exercise) muscle by orally administering extra virgin olive oil (see abstract and page 62 second column first full paragraph; instant claims 1 and 10). The composition contains extra virgin olive oil that has no physical alterations and contains oleuropein (see page 62 second column last partial paragraph-page 63 first column first partial paragraph).
Barbaro et al. teach oleuropein proportions in various olive parts and extracts (see abstract and table 1). They teach the amount of oleuropein in virgin olive oil to range from about 2 to 11.2 mg/kg (see table 1). The Extra Virgin Olive Oil Safety Data Sheet details that such oils have a density of 0.916 g/ml (see page 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ (extra) virgin olive oil with oleuropein as detailed by Barbaro et al. as an oral oleuropein source for the method of the copending claims in light of Musumeci et al. This choice would have bene obvious because the olive oil is a known source indicated as suitable for a similar use detailed by the method of the copending claims. The resulting composition would then have an oil with oleuropein present at 2 to 11.2 mg/mg in the oil. Given the density of extra virgin olive oil, this range corresponds to the oil in the feed having oleuropein present at a concentration of 3.4 to 19 mM (as calculated by the examiner based on 540 g/mol molecular weight for oleuropein). This rather narrow range embraces the claimed concentration, thereby rendering the claimed concentration obvious, absent evidence of criticality (see MPEP 2144.05). Therefore claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-10, and 14-17 are obvious over claims 1, 4, and 6-8 of copending Application No. 17/595166 in view of Feng et al., Musumeci et al. and Barbaro et al. as evidenced by the Extra Virgin Olive Oil Safety Data Sheet.
Claims 1, 6-7, 9-10, and 14-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-9, 11-12, 16-17 of copending Application No. 18/866329 (reference application) or claims 1, 3-9, 11-12 copending Application No. 18/866347 (reference application) or claims 1 and 3-12 of copending Application No. 18/866398 (reference application) each separately in view of Coxam et al. and Feng et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims recite a method of treating or reducing muscle fatigue due to exercise in an individual induced by at least one of 1) resistance exercise, 2) anaerobic or repeated sprint-type exercise, or 3) endurance exercise by orally administering a composition of oleuropein or a metabolite thereof to the individual. Both sets of claims formulation the composition as a nutritional supplement as well as name the same oleuropein metabolite options. The process of making the composition is implicit in the administration of the composition. The copending claims also detail protein, carbohydrates, and fat as components/excipients to include. The presence of calcium is not explicitly recited in the administered composition.
Coxam et al. teach compositions composed of oleuropein or a metabolite such as hydroxytyrosol formulated as nutritional composition that is envisioned as a variety of forms (see paragraphs 49, 75, and 114). These forms include a cookie or cake (unit dosage) (see paragraph 114). The oleuropein or its metabolite occur in olive fruit and are provided as an extract in the composition (see paragraphs 11 and 20). They go on to teach the inclusion of calcium source in the nutritional composition as an additional nutritional compound (see paragraph 133-134). For food formulations, ingredients necessary to create the baked good beyond the oleuropein or its metabolite and optional other nutritional compound additives constitute excipients
Feng et al. teach treating rat subjects who participate in strenuous exercise with a diet of normal rat chow and providing an oral dietary supplement of hydroxytyrosol less than one hour prior to exercise to protect against muscle fatigue and damage (see abstract and page 1438 second column second full paragraph). The hydroxytyrosol is provided as an olive extract and naturally found in olive oil (see page 1438 first column second full paragraph and second column first partial paragraph). They go on to teach examination of the soleus muscle for the impact of the treatment (see page 1439 first column first full paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of the copending claims where calcium is included as an additional nutritional component in the composition in light of Coxam et al. This modification would have been obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement (e.g. additional nutritional supplementation). It additionally would have been obvious to include the calcium and oleuropein or a metabolite alone or in combination with inert excipients the composition, based upon the recited additional components and component configurations of the copending claims. It also would have been obvious to provide the composition of the method of copending claims less than one hour before exercise because such actives were shown to be effective against muscle fatigue via this administration regimen as taught by Feng et al. Therefore claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-10 and 14-15 are obvious over claims 1, 3-9, 11-12, 16-17 of copending Application No. 18/866329 (reference application) or claims 1, 3-9, 11-12 copending Application No. 18/866347 (reference application) or claims 1 and 3-12 of copending Application No. 18/866398 (reference application) each separately in view of Coxam et al. and in view of Feng et al.
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-10 and 14-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-9, 11-12, 16-17 of copending Application No. 18/866329 or claims 1, 3-9, 11-12 copending Application No. 18/866347 or claims 1 and 3-12 of copending Application No. 18/866398 each separately in view of Coxam et al. and Feng et al. as applied to claims 1, 6-7, 9-10, and 14-15 above, and further in view of Musumeci et al. and Barbaro et al. as evidenced by the Extra Virgin Olive Oil Safety Data Sheet.
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-12, 16-17 of copending Application No. 18/866329 or claims 1, 3-9, 11-12 copending Application No. 18/866347 or claims 1 and 3-12 of copending Application No. 18/866398 each separately in view of Coxam et al. and Feng et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1, 5-7, 9-10, and 14-15. A concentration for the oleuropein that is administered is not detailed.
Musumeci et al. teach a method of reducing oxidative stress and muscle damage in exhaustively exercised skeletal (endurance exercise) muscle by orally administering extra virgin olive oil (see abstract and page 62 second column first full paragraph; instant claims 1 and 10). The composition contains extra virgin olive oil that has no physical alterations and contains oleuropein (see page 62 second column last partial paragraph-page 63 first column first partial paragraph).
Barbaro et al. teach oleuropein proportions in various olive parts and extracts (see abstract and table 1). They teach the amount of oleuropein in virgin olive oil to range from about 2 to 11.2 mg/kg (see table 1). The Extra Virgin Olive Oil Safety Data Sheet details that such oils have a density of 0.916 g/ml (see page 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ (extra) virgin olive oil with oleuropein as detailed by Barbaro et al. as an oral oleuropein source for the method of the copending claims in light of Musumeci et al. This choice would have bene obvious because the olive oil is a known source indicated as suitable for a similar use detailed by the method of the copending claims. The resulting composition would then have an oil with oleuropein present at 2 to 11.2 mg/mg in the oil. Given the density of extra virgin olive oil, this range corresponds to the oil in the feed having oleuropein present at a concentration of 3.4 to 19 mM (as calculated by the examiner based on 540 g/mol molecular weight for oleuropein). This rather narrow range embraces the claimed concentration, thereby rendering the claimed concentration obvious, absent evidence of criticality (see MPEP 2144.05). Therefore claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-10 and 14-17 are obvious over claims 1, 3-9, 11-12, 16-17 of copending Application No. 18/866329 or claims 1, 3-9, 1