DETAILED ACTION
In view of the Appeal Brief filed on 01/12/2026 PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. New grounds of rejection set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/ALEXANDER H TANINGCO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2844
Response to Remarks/Arguments
With respect to the rejection of claims 1, 15 and 19 under 35 USC 103, Appellant’s arguments filed 01/12/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection set forth herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sannala (US 2016/0286169 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Sannala teaches an electrical device (Figs. 26A-26J, [0337] a camera device) comprising:
a device housing having an internal cavity (Fig. 26A, [0338] casing 2601), the device housing having a front (Fig. 26A, device 2600, front where 2612, 2602 etc. are located) and a rear opposite the front (Fig. 26A, device 2600, rear side at 2616 is connected), the device housing having a first side (2600, side where 2610 is located) and a second side (opposite to the first side) extending between the front and the rear, at least one of the front, the rear, the first side and the second side being wall mountable to a wall (Fig. 1, 118, [0058] one or more network connected cameras 118);
a device sensor in the internal cavity (Fig. 26A, [0337], light sensor 2612, a motion sensor);
a ground contact coupled to the device housing, the ground contact configured to be electrically connected to the wall ([0074] devices are connected to a power source);
a control circuit board in the internal cavity (Fig. 26D, board 2622 including processor 2650), the control circuit board including a sensor circuit coupled to the device sensor ([0347] board 2620 includes light sensor 2612), the control circuit board including a ground circuit (implicit), the control circuit board including a communication circuit having a feed circuit (Fig. 26G, [0346] wireless communications module 2632); and
an antenna assembly coupled to the control circuit board ([0337] antenna 2606), the antenna assembly including a substrate (Fig. 26E, [0344] antenna located in region 2647, on board 2632) mounted to the control circuit board ([0343] coupled to circuit board 2622) at an elevated position relative to the control board such that a clearance gap is provided between the substrate and the control board for components mounted to the control board (Figs. 26A~26J, board 2632 and board 2622, processor 2650 and other devices between the boards 2622 and 2632), the antenna assembly including an antenna element extending along at least one surface of the substrate ([0341] internal antennas including antennas in Figs. 24B-D; Fig. 24B, [0320] , the patch antenna is a printed patch antenna on a surface of a multi-layer circuit board; Fig. 24 and Paragraph [0320] of Sannala discloses the antenna 2404 is a printed patch antenna printed on a surface of a multi-layer circuit board. This multi-layer circuit board corresponds to the claimed substrate. Fig. 24 and [0320] further teaches the circuit board 2406 which corresponds to the claimed control circuit board), the substrate being a carrier for the antenna element Fig. 26E, [0344] antenna located in region 2647, on board 2632), the antenna element including metal traces formed on the at least one surface of the substrate ([0320] a sheet metal antenna comprises a patch antenna, printed on a surface of a multi-layer circuit board), the antenna element coupled to the feed circuit and the ground circuit (Figs. 14 and 15), the antenna element being electrically connected to the wall though the ground contact and the ground circuit of the control circuit board ([0074] devices are connected to a power source).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 9, 13, 15-18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sannala (US 2016/0286169 A1) in view of Ozdemir (US 2014/0320376 A1) and
Regarding claim 1, Sannala teaches an electrical device (Figs. 26A-26J, [0337] a camera device) comprising:
a device housing having an internal cavity (Fig. 26A, [0338] casing 2601), the device housing having a front (Fig. 26A, device 2600, front where 2612, 2602 etc. are located) and a rear opposite the front (Fig. 26A, device 2600, rear side at 2616 is connected), the device housing having a first side (2600, side where 2610 is located) and a second side (opposite to the first side) extending between the front and the rear, at least one of the front, the rear, the first side and the second side being wall mountable to a wall (Fig. 1, 118, [0058] one or more network connected cameras 118);
a device sensor in the internal cavity (Fig. 26A, [0337], light sensor 2612, a motion sensor);
a control circuit board in the internal cavity (Fig. 26D, board 2622 including processor 2650), the control circuit board including a sensor circuit coupled to the device sensor ([0347] board 2620 includes light sensor 2612), the control circuit board including a ground circuit (implicit), the control circuit board including a communication circuit having a feed circuit (Fig. 26G, [0346] wireless communications module 2632); and
an antenna assembly coupled to the control circuit board ([0337] antenna 2606), the antenna assembly including a substrate (Fig. 26E, [0344] antenna located in region 2647, on board 2632) mounted to the control circuit board ([0343] coupled to circuit board 2622) at an elevated position relative to the control board such that a clearance gap is provided between the substrate and the control board for components mounted to the control board (Figs. 26A~26J, board 2632 and board 2622, processor 2650 and other devices between the boards 2622 and 2632),
the antenna assembly including an antenna element extending along at least one surface of the substrate ([0341] internal antennas including antennas in Figs. 24B-D; Fig. 24B, [0320] , the patch antenna is a printed patch antenna on a surface of a multi-layer circuit board; Fig. 24 and Paragraph [0320] of Sannala discloses the antenna 2404 is a printed patch antenna printed on a surface of a multi-layer circuit board. This multi-layer circuit board corresponds to the claimed substrate. Fig. 24 and [0320] further teaches the circuit board 2406 which corresponds to the claimed control circuit board), the substrate being a carrier for the antenna element Fig. 26E, [0344] antenna located in region 2647, on board 2632), the antenna element including metal traces formed on the at least one surface of the substrate ([0320] a sheet metal antenna comprises a patch antenna, printed on a surface of a multi-layer circuit board), the antenna element coupled to the feed circuit and the ground circuit (Figs. 14 and 15).
However, Sannala does not explicitly teach the antenna assembly includes a switchable matching circuit coupled to the antenna element, the switchable matching circuit changing a feed impedance of the feed circuit, wherein the switchable matching circuit is operated in a first state when the device housing is mounted to a metal wall and the switchable matching circuit is operated in a second state when the device housing is mounted to a non-metal wall.
Ozdemir teaches an antenna assembly including a switchable matching circuit coupled to an antenna element, the switchable matching circuit changing a feed impedance of the feed circuit ([0010] RF switches to provide impedance tuning), wherein the switchable matching circuit is operated in a first state when the device housing is mounted to a metal wall and the switchable matching circuit is operated in a second state when the device housing is mounted to a non-metal wall ([0041] detuned due to the presence of materials near the radiating element that interact with the fields in the near field area including a metal object; [0065] a device placed on a metallic surface or mounted near a metal wall stud).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply Ozdemir’s matching circuit to the antenna assembly of Sannala in order to provide antenna tuning capability and thus compensating against detuning of embedded antennas without a loss of sensitivity and loss of power amplifier efficiency (Ozdemir, [0041]).
Regarding claim 3, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Sannala in view of Ozdemir.
Ozdemir further teaches wherein the switchable matching circuit has a first feed impedance when operated in a first state and the switchable matching circuit has a second feed impedance when operated in a second state ([0041] detuned due to the presence of materials near the radiating element that interact with the fields in the near field area including a metal object).
Regarding claim 4, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Sannala in view of Ozdemir.
Ozdemir further teaches wherein the switchable matching circuit includes a first lump element and a second lump element having different capacitance values configured to be switchably coupled to the antenna element to change the feed impedance to the antenna element ([0106], [0107] a series capacitor, analog/digital variable capacitor).
Regarding claim 5, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Sannala in view of Ozdemir.
Ozdemir further teaches wherein the switchable matching circuit is part of the control circuit board (Fig. 3, controller 134) and operably coupled to the feed circuit (Fig. 3, 90, 88, 94, 96).
Regarding claim 6, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Sannala in view of Ozdemir.
Ozdemir further teaches wherein the switchable matching circuit is automatically switched based on measured efficiency of operation of the antenna assembly ([0010] method of controlling. a closed loop control environment).
Regarding claim 9, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Sannala in view of Ozdemir.
Sannala further teaches the device, wherein the device housing includes an external surface configured to be mounted to a mounting surface of the corresponding wall ([0050] device mounted on a wall 154, Fig. 1), a ground contact is coupled to the device housing and configured to be electrically connected to the wall, wherein the antenna element is electrically connected to the wall through the ground contact and the ground circuit of the control circuit board ([0074] devices are connected to a power source).
Regarding claim 13, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Sannala in view of Ozdemir.
Sannala further teaches wherein the first side of the device housing is configured to be mounted to a mounting surface of the corresponding wall (Fig. 1, 118), the antenna element being more closely positioned relative to the second side than the first side (Fig. 26C, antenna 2606).
Regarding claim 15, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 1. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 16, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 1. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 17, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 3. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 18, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 9. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 9 above.
Regarding claim 21, all the limitations of claim 19 is taught by Sannala.
However, Sannala does not explicitly teach the antenna assembly includes a switchable matching circuit coupled to the antenna element, the switchable matching circuit changing a feed impedance of the feed circuit.
Ozdemir teaches an antenna assembly including a switchable matching circuit coupled to an antenna element, the switchable matching circuit changing a feed impedance of the feed circuit ([0010] RF switches to provide impedance tuning).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply Ozdemir’s matching circuit to the antenna assembly of Sannala in order to provide antenna tuning capability and thus compensating against detuning of embedded antennas without a loss of sensitivity and loss of power amplifier efficiency (Ozdemir, [0041]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sannala (US 2016/0286169 A1) in view of Ozdemir (US 2014/0320376 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Asrani (US 10,069,195 B1).
Regarding claim 7, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Sannala in view of Ozdemir.
Santana in view of Ozdemir teaches the device comprising the switch (Ozdemir, [0010] RF switches to provide impedance tuning).
However, Santana in view of Ozdemir does not explicitly teach the device further comprising a mechanical switch coupled to the device housing and operably coupled to the switchable matching circuit, the state of the switchable matching circuit being changed based on movement of the mechanical switch.
Before the effective filing date of claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the switch of Ozdemir using a mechanical or an electro-mechanical switch because Applicant has not disclosed that a mechanical switch provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with any type of switches including electronic, mechanical or electro-mechanical switches as Asrani taught (col. 6, lines 53-57).
Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the switch of Ozdemir to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sannala (US 2016/0286169 A1) in view of Ozdemir (US 2014/0320376 A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Tinaphong (US 6,522,870 B1).
Regarding claim 8, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Sannala in view of Ozdemir.
Santana in view of Ozdemir does not explicitly teach the device, wherein antenna element is communicatively coupled to a remote control unit, the antenna element configured to receive a control signal from the remote control unit, the switchable matching circuit being operated based on the control signal.
Tinaphong teaches a device, wherein antenna element (Fig. 1, 30, tuner unit) is communicatively coupled to a remote control unit (40), the antenna element configured to receive a control signal from the remote control unit, a switchable matching circuit being operated based on the control signal (31, 33 tuning arrangement, col. 1, line 59 ~ col. 2, line 9, providing impedance matching).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply the teachings of Tinaphong to the teachings of Santana in view of Ozdemir in order to receive broadcasting signals and select channels as typically done for watching television with a compact indoor antenna (Tinaphong, Abstract).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sannala (US 2016/0286169 A1) in view of Ozdemir (US 2014/0320376 A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Jeong (US 2022/0124226 A1).
Regarding claim 10, all the limitations of claim 9 are taught by Sannala in view of Ozdemir.
Santana in view of Ozdemir does not explicitly teach the device, further comprising a mounting screw coupled to the device housing and configured to be threadably coupled to the wall at the mounting surface, the screw being electrically conductive and configured to electrically connect the ground contact to the wall.
Jeong teaches a device, comprising a mounting screw coupled to the device housing and configured to be threadably coupled to the wall at the mounting surface, the screw being electrically conductive and configured to electrically connect the ground contact to the wall (Fig. 7B, [0135]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply the doorbell camera of Jeong to the teachings of Santana in view of Ozdemir in order to provide video monitoring and security in the outdoor environment, while incorporating into the smart device some resistance mechanisms against potential severe weather conditions (Jeong, [0004]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sannala (US 2016/0286169 A1) in view of Ozdemir (US 2014/0320376 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ng (US 2015/0188226 A1).
Regarding claim 11, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Sannala in view of Ozdemir.
Santana in view of Ozdemir does not explicitly teach the device, wherein the antenna element includes a feed point and a feed contact coupled to the feed point, the feed contact having a spring finger being spring biased against the feed circuit to electrically connect the antenna element to the feed circuit.
Ng teaches a device, wherein an antenna element includes a feed point and a feed contact coupled to the feed point, the feed contact having a spring finger being spring biased against the feed circuit to electrically connect the antenna element to the feed circuit (Figs. 27 and 28, [0121] radiating trace element 441 is electrically connected to the spring fingers 484).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply the teachings of Ng to the teachings of Santana in view of Ozdemir in order to provide resiliently flexible and good electrical connections (Ng, [0126]).
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sannala (US 2016/0286169 A1) in view of Ozdemir (US 2014/0320376 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi (US 2007/0046543 A1).
Regarding claim 12, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Sannala in view of Ozdemir.
Sannala further teaches the device, wherein the antenna element is a PIFA antenna ([0183]).
However, Santana in view of Ozdemir does not explicitly teach the antenna element is a meandering PIFA antenna.
Choi teaches a device, wherein the antenna element is a meandering PIFA antenna.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply the PIFA having a meandering line of Choi to the teachings of Santana in view of Ozdemir in order to take advantage of easy impedance matching (Choi, [0009]).
Regarding claim 14, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Sannala in view of Ozdemir.
Santana in view of Ozdemir does not explicitly teach the device wherein the substrate is spaced apart from the control circuit board toward the front of the device housing.
Choi teaches an antenna wherein a substrate is spaced apart from a control circuit board (Fig. 5, [0041] 310, 320).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply the PIFA having a meandering line of Choi to the teachings of Santana in view of Ozdemir in order to take advantage of easy impedance matching (Choi, [0009]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sannala (US 2016/0286169 A1) in view of Jeong (US 2022/0124226 A1).
Regarding claim 20, all the limitations of claim 19 are taught by Sannala.
Santana does not explicitly teach the device, further comprising a mounting screw coupled to the device housing and configured to be threadably coupled to the wall at the mounting surface, the screw being electrically conductive and configured to electrically connect the ground contact to the wall.
Jeong teaches a device, comprising a mounting screw coupled to the device housing and configured to be threadably coupled to the wall at the mounting surface, the screw being electrically conductive and configured to electrically connect the ground contact to the wall (Fig. 7B, [0135]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply the doorbell camera of Jeong to the teachings of Santana in order to provide video monitoring and security in the outdoor environment, while incorporating into the smart device some resistance mechanisms against potential severe weather conditions (Jeong, [0004]).
Conclusion
/SEOKJIN KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844