DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on December 19, 2025. Claims 1, 10 and 11 are currently amended. Claim 18 is canceled. Claims 1-4 and 8-17 are pending review in this action.
New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are presented below.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities. Lines 29-30 of the claim include the limitation: “the tapered surface and the corresponding tapered surface are arranged to oppose to each other”.
It appears that the underlined word is unnecessary and should be deleted.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities. Lines 20-21 of the claim include the limitation: “the tapered surface and the corresponding tapered surface are arranged to oppose to each other”.
It appears that the underlined word is unnecessary and should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese Patent Publication No. 2009-170379, hereinafter Sasaki in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2009/0263712, hereinafter Mizuta and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2018/0309092, hereinafter Fujishima.
Regarding claim 1, Sasaki teaches a battery (1). The battery (1) comprises a power generation laminate (6). The power generation laminate (6) includes a cathode active material layer, an anode active material layer, a cathode current collector and an anode current collector (paragraphs [0014, 0023, 0024]). The cathode current collector has a cathode tab (31) and the anode current collector has an anode tab (41) (paragraphs [0014, 0025]).
A laminate-type outer package (2) seals the power generation laminate (6) therein (paragraph [0014] and Sasaki’s figure 1).
The outer package (2) comprises a convex storage structure (21) (paragraph [0014]). The convex storage structure (21) includes a top surface (see Figure 1 below).
In a plan view, the top surface includes a first side and a second side. The second side extends in a direction crossing the first side. A connection part connects the first side and the second side (see Figure 1 below).
In a plan view, the outer package (2) includes a first extension part that extends from a first crossing part (C1). The first crossing part (C1) is where the connection part crosses the first side. A second extension part extends from a second crossing part (C2). The second crossing part (C2) is where the connection part crosses the second side. An extension crossing part (CE) connects the first extension part and the second extension part (see Figure 1 below).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 1 - Sasaki's assembly. Left: plan view, right: side view.)]
The extension crossing part (CE) is in a position lower than that of the top surface in a thickness direction (see Figure 1 above).
The outer package (2) includes an inclined (“tapered”) surface (24c) which has an outer periphery given by the connection part, the first extension part and the second extension part (paragraph [0015] and Figure 1 above).
Each of the cathode tab (31) and the anode tab (41) is connected to corresponding electrode extending portions (paragraph [0014] and figure 1).
Sasaki fails to teach: 1) a solid electrolyte layer; and 2) a spacer between the power generation laminate (6) and the outer package (2), the spacer including a holder part that fixes the electrode tab (31).
Regarding 1), the use of solid electrolyte layers in pouch-type battery cells is ubiquitous in the art – see, e.g. Fujishima (paragraph [0070]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a solid electrolyte layer positioned between the cathode active material layer and the anode active material layer of Sasaki’s battery (1) for the purpose of avoiding common problems with liquid electrolytes, such as leakage of the electrolyte.
Regarding 2), Mizuta teaches a comparable battery comprising a battery element (2) enclosed within a pouch casing (5 and 6). The battery element (2) includes a positive active material, a positive current collector, a negative active material layer and a negative current collector (paragraph [0038] and figure 1). The battery element (2) includes electrode extending portions (2a) connected to a terminal lead (3a) (abstract, paragraph [0037] and figure 6). A protection member (4e, “spacer”) includes a slit (33, “holder part”) which fixes the terminal lead (3a) (paragraph [0053] and figures 8A and 8B). The protection member (4e, “spacer”) is located in a space between the battery element (2) and the pouch casing (5 and 6). The protection member (4e, “spacer”) includes a concave portion sized to fit four corners of the battery element (2) (paragraph [0053] and figures 8A and 8B). Each of the four corners includes a portion of the cathode active material layer, the cathode current collector, the anode active material layer and the anode current collector. The purpose of the protection member (4c, “spacer”) is to protect the pouch casing (5 and 6) from being damaged by any portion of the battery element (2) (paragraph [0053]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a protection member (“spacer”) which fixes the electrode tab (31) in Sasaki’s battery and which includes a concave portion enclosing four corners of the power generation laminate (6) for the purpose of protecting the outer package (2) from the power generation laminate (6).
In the combination of Sasaki, Fujishima and Mizuta, the corners accommodated in the concave portion would include portions of the cathode active material, the cathode current collector, the anode active material, the anode current collector and the solid electrolyte.
Given that the protection member (“spacer”) of the combination of Sasaki, Fujishima and Mizuta extends to cover the width of the power generation laminate (6), it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a tapered surface on the protection member (“spacer”) arranged to oppose the tapered surface of the convex storage structure (21) for the purpose of being able to fit the protection member (“spacer”) within the available space.
Regarding claim 2, Sasaki teaches that in a plan view the connection part includes a straight line (Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 3, Sasaki teaches that in a plan view the first side and the first extension part are parallel (Figure 1 above). The second side and the second extension part are also parallel in a plan view (Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 4, Sasaki teaches inclined (“tapered”) surface (24c), whose perimeter is defined by the connection part, the first extension part and the second extension part (Figure 1 above).
At least the first extension part and the second extension part are fold lines, which define the height of the inclined (“tapered”) surface (24c). Given that the inclined (“tapered”) surface (24c) itself rises from peripheral surface (22b) it may be described as a “mountain part” relative to the peripheral surface (22b). Given the two fold lines that define the (“tapered”) surface (24c), it may be considered a “mountain fold part”.
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 2 - Indicating the edges relevant to claim 8.)]
Regarding claim 8, Sasaki teaches that the “mountain fold part” includes one edge connected to the connection part and another edge connected to the extension crossing part (CE) (see Figure 2 below).
Regarding claim 9, Sasaki teaches that the “mountain fold part” includes one edge connected to the first extension part and another edge connected to the second extension part (see Figure 3 below).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 3 - Indicating the edges relevant to claim 9.)]
Regarding claim 10, Sasaki as modified by Mizuta teaches that the protection member (“spacer”) has a tapered surface – therefore it necessarily has a decreasing thickness.
Claims 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese Patent Publication No. 2009-170379, hereinafter Sasaki in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2009/0263712, hereinafter Mizuta.
Regarding claim 11, Sasaki teaches a battery (1). The battery (1) comprises a power generation laminate (6) and a laminate-type outer package (2). The outer package (2) seals the power generation laminate (6) therein (paragraph [0014] and Sasaki’s figure 1).
The outer package (2) comprises a convex storage structure (21) (paragraph [0014]). The convex storage structure (21) includes a top surface (see Figure 1 above).
In a plan view, the top surface includes a first side and a second side. The second side extends in a direction crossing the first side. A connection part connects the first side and the second side (see Figure 1 above).
In a plan view, the outer package (2) includes a first extension part that extends from a first crossing part (C1). The first crossing part (C1) is where the connection part crosses the first side. A second extension part extends from a second crossing part (C2). The second crossing part (C2) is where the connection part crosses the second side. An extension crossing part (CE) connects the first extension part and the second extension part (see Figure 1 above).
The extension crossing part (CE) is in a position lower than that of the top surface in a thickness direction (see Figure 1 above).
The outer package (2) includes an inclined (“tapered”) surface (24c) which has an outer periphery given by the connection part, the first extension part and the second extension part (paragraph [0015] and Figure 1 above).
At least the first extension part and the second extension part are fold lines, which define the height of the inclined (“tapered”) surface (24c). Given that the inclined (“tapered”) surface (24c) itself rises from peripheral surface (22b) it may be described as a “mountain part” relative to the peripheral surface (22b). Given the two fold lines that define the (“tapered”) surface (24c), it may be considered a “mountain fold part”.
The “mountain fold part” has the tapered surface within the outer periphery. The tapered surface may be arbitrarily divided in two such that there is a first tapered surface and a second tapered surface within the outer periphery.
The power generation laminate (6) includes an electrode tab (31) connected to electrode extending portions (paragraph [0014] and figure 1).
Sasaki fails to teach a spacer between the power generation laminate (6) and the outer package (2), the spacer including a holder part that fixes the electrode tab (31).
Mizuta teaches a comparable battery comprising a battery element (2) enclosed within a pouch casing (5 and 6). The battery element (2) includes electrode extending portions (2a) connected to a terminal lead (3a) (abstract, paragraph [0037] and figure 6). A protection member (4c, “spacer”) includes a slit (33, “holder part”) which fixes the terminal lead (3a) (paragraph [0050] and figure 6). The protection member (4c, “spacer”) is located in a space between the battery element (2) and the pouch casing (5 and 6). The protection member (4c, “spacer”) includes a tapered surface (figure 6). The purpose of the protection member (4c, “spacer”) is to protect the pouch casing (5 and 6) from being damaged by the electrode extending portions (2a) and the terminal lead (3a) (paragraph [0050]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a tapered protection member (“spacer”) which fixes the electrode tab (31) in Sasaki’s battery for the purpose of protecting the outer package (2) from the electrode tab (31) and electrode extending portions.
Given that the terminal cover (“spacer”) of the combination of Sasaki and Mizuta is positioned in the region of the tapered surface of the convex storage structure (21) it would necessarily be positioned to oppose it.
Regarding claim 12, Sasaki teaches that in a plan view the connection part includes a straight line (Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 13, Sasaki teaches that in a plan view the first side and the first extension part are parallel (Figure 1 above). The second side and the second extension part are also parallel in a plan view (Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 14, Sasaki teaches that the “mountain fold part” includes one edge connected to the connection part and another edge connected to the extension crossing part (CE) (see Figure 2 above).
Regarding claim 15, Sasaki teaches that the “mountain fold part” includes one edge connected to the first extension part and another edge connected to the second extension part (see Figure 3 above).
Regarding claim 16, Sasaki as modified by Mizuta teaches that the protection member (“spacer”) has a tapered surface – therefore it necessarily has a decreasing thickness.
Regarding claim 17, Sasaki as modified by Mizuta teaches that the protection member (4c, “spacer”) includes a concave portion sized to fit the width of the terminal lead (3a) and the width of the extending portions (2a) (paragraphs [0047, 0048] and figures 5 and 6). Therefore, the protection member (4c, “spacer”) includes a concave portion configured to fit multiple corners of the battery element (2) – both corners of the terminal lead (3a) and both corners of the extending portions (2a).
Claims 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese Patent Publication No. 2009-170379, hereinafter Sasaki in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2004/0038125, hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 11, Sasaki teaches a battery (1). The battery (1) comprises a power generation laminate (6) and a laminate-type outer package (2). The outer package (2) seals the power generation laminate (6) therein (paragraph [0014] and Sasaki’s figure 1).
The outer package (2) comprises a convex storage structure (21) (paragraph [0014]). The convex storage structure (21) includes a top surface (see Figure 1 above).
In a plan view, the top surface includes a first side and a second side. The second side extends in a direction crossing the first side. A connection part connects the first side and the second side (see Figure 1 above).
In a plan view, the outer package (2) includes a first extension part that extends from a first crossing part (C1). The first crossing part (C1) is where the connection part crosses the first side. A second extension part extends from a second crossing part (C2). The second crossing part (C2) is where the connection part crosses the second side. An extension crossing part (CE) connects the first extension part and the second extension part (see Figure 1 above).
The extension crossing part (CE) is in a position lower than that of the top surface in a thickness direction (see Figure 1 above).
The outer package (2) includes an inclined (“tapered”) surface (24c) which has an outer periphery given by the connection part, the first extension part and the second extension part (paragraph [0015] and Figure 1 above).
At least the first extension part and the second extension part are fold lines, which define the height of the inclined (“tapered”) surface (24c). Given that the inclined (“tapered”) surface (24c) itself rises from peripheral surface (22b) it may be described as a “mountain part” relative to the peripheral surface (22b). Given the two fold lines that define the (“tapered”) surface (24c), it may be considered a “mountain fold part”.
The “mountain fold part” has the tapered surface within the outer periphery. The tapered surface may be arbitrarily divided in two such that there is a first tapered surface and a second tapered surface within the outer periphery.
The power generation laminate (6) includes an electrode tab (31) (paragraph [0014] and figure 1).
Sasaki fails to teach a spacer between the power generation laminate (6) and the outer package (2), the spacer including a holder part that fixes the electrode tab (31).
Kim teaches a comparable battery comprising an electrode assembly (40) enclosed within a pouch casing (80). The electrode assembly (40) includes a terminal lead (45) (paragraphs [0038, 0039, 0053] and figure 10C). An insulating terminal cover (68, “spacer”) includes an insertion hole (68a, “holder part”) which fixes the terminal lead (45) (paragraph [0053] and figure 10C). The insulating terminal cover (68, “spacer”) is located in a space between the electrode assembly (40) and the pouch casing (80) and has a width equal to the width of the electrode assembly (40) (figure 10C). The purpose of the terminal cover (68, “spacer”) is to protect the terminal lead (45) and to provide electrical insulation (paragraph [0053]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an insulating terminal cover (“spacer”) which fixes the electrode tab (31) in Sasaki’s battery for the purpose of protecting the electrode tab (31).
Given that the terminal cover (“spacer”) of the combination of Sasaki and Kim has a width equal to the width of the electrode assembly, it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a tapered surface on the terminal cover (“spacer”) arranged to oppose the tapered surface of the convex storage structure (21) for the purpose of being able to fit the terminal cover (“spacer”) within the available space.
Regarding claim 12, Sasaki teaches that in a plan view the connection part includes a straight line (Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 13, Sasaki teaches that in a plan view the first side and the first extension part are parallel (Figure 1 above). The second side and the second extension part are also parallel in a plan view (Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 14, Sasaki teaches that the “mountain fold part” includes one edge connected to the connection part and another edge connected to the extension crossing part (CE) (see Figure 2 above).
Regarding claim 15, Sasaki teaches that the “mountain fold part” includes one edge connected to the first extension part and another edge connected to the second extension part (see Figure 3 above).
Regarding claim 16, Sasaki as modified by Kim teaches that the terminal cover (“spacer”) has a tapered surface – therefore it necessarily has a decreasing thickness.
Regarding claim 17, Sasaki as modified by Kim teaches that the terminal cover (“spacer”) includes a concave portion enclosing both the terminal lead (45) and electrode tabs (44) (Kim’s figure 10D). Therefore, the terminal cover (“spacer”) is configured to fit multiple corners of the electrode assembly (40) – both corners of the terminal lead (45) and both corners of the electrode tabs (44).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s newly added limitations have been considered. However, after further search and consideration, the combination of the Sasaki, Mizuta and Fujishima references has been provided, as recited above, to address the amended claims.
With respect to claim 11, applicant may wish to claim some structural distinction between “the first tapered surface” and “the second tapered surface” or to provide some structural element that defines “the first tapered surface” and “the second tapered surface” as distinct features.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LILIA V. NEDIALKOVA
Examiner
Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724