DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 08/11/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-9 & 11-28 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the objections and rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 05/13/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-9 & 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The claim amendments changed the scope of the claimed invention. See new grounds for rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wilson et al. (US 20200405344) herein referred to as Wilson.
Regarding claim 1, Wilson discloses A soft tissue cutting device (Figure 1), comprising: a handle (Figure 1, 120); a shaft extending from a proximal end coupled with the handle to a distal end (Figure 1, 101); a shaft opening disposed along a distal portion of a top surface of the shaft (See annotated Figure 4 below); a blade that extends through the shaft opening and moves proximally toward the handle to cut soft tissue (Figure 4, 630; wherein blades 630 extend outward from 613 towards the handle when deployed to cut tissue); an expansion member on the distal portion of the shaft (Figure 1, 116; Figure 14B, 1450), wherein the expansion band member is configured to expand in at least two circumferentially spaced directions from the shaft (Figure 14B, 1450); and a first actuator on the handle for moving the blade proximally to cut the soft tissue (Figure 1, 124; Paragraph [0037]; wherein second actuator is coupled to deploy and move the blade).
Regarding claim 2, Wilson discloses the soft tissue cutting device of claim 1, wherein the first actuator moves the blade from an inactive position within the shaft to an active position in which the blade is exposed through the shaft opening (Paragraph [0054]; wherein two blades that can be transformable between from a low-profile state which is seen as an inactive position and a deployed or expanded state which is seen as an active position)
Regarding claim 6, Wilson discloses the soft tissue cutting device of claim 2, further comprising a push rod in the shaft (Paragraph [0037]; wherein a push rod can mechanically deploy the blade), configured to move the blade between the active position and the inactive position (Paragraph [0037]; wherein a push rod can mechanically deploy the blade)
Regarding claim 7, Wilson discloses the soft tissue cutting device of claim 6, further comprising: a blade shaft extending to the blade and comprising a slot (Figure 9A, 913; Figure 9C, 944); and a pin extending through the push rod and into the slot (Figure 9C, 943), wherein the blade is configured to pivot when the pin rotates within the slot (Paragraph [0054]; wherein the blades 930 are rotatably coupled to the outer shaft 913 via a first pin 943 that extends from one side the shaft 913 across the gap 942 through the thickness of each of the blades 930 and a slot 944).
Regarding claim 8, Wilson discloses the soft tissue cutting device of claim 1 wherein the expansion member comprises an expansion band that bows outwardly from the distal portion of the shaft (Figure 14B, 1450).
Regarding claim 9, Wilson discloses the soft tissue cutting device of claim 8 further comprising a second actuator on the handle to expand and contract the expansion band (Figure 1, 122; Paragraph [0037]; Activation of the first actuator deploys (e.g., expands) the members 116 of the capture device).
Regarding claim 11, Wilson discloses wherein the blade is movable independently of the expansion member (Figure 1, 122; Paragraph [0037]; Activation of the first actuator deploys (e.g., expands) the members 116 of the capture device;Figure 1, 124; Paragraph [0037]; wherein second actuator is coupled to deploy and move the blade).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson in view of Eggers (US 20040024396) herein referred to as Eggers.
Regarding Claim 3, Wilson discloses the soft tissue cutting device of claim 2 wherein the first actuator is on a top surface of the handle (Figure 1, 124). However, Wilson does not explicitly disclose wherein the first actuator comprises a first slider.
Eggers discloses a soft tissue cutting device (Figure 26, 372) wherein the first actuator comprises a first slider on a top surface of the handle (Figure 26, 402). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted rotation actuator taught by Wilson for slider actuator taught by Eggers. The motivation being a simple substitution of one known element, a button actuator for another, a slider actuator to obtain predictable results of moving an element from an inactive position to an active position (MPEP 2143 (B)).
Regarding Claim 4, Wilson in view of Egger disclose the soft tissue cutting device of claim 3. Wilson also discloses a second actuator on the handle to expand and contract the expansion member (Figure 1, 122; Paragraph [0037]; Activation of the first actuator deploys (e.g., expands) the members 116 of the capture device).
Regarding Claim 5, Wilson in view of Egger disclose the soft tissue cutting device of claim 4. Eggers also discloses wherein an actuator can be a slider (Figure 26, 402). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the second rotational actuator taught by Wilson to be a second slider actuator as taught by Eggers. The motivation being a simple substitution of one known element, a button actuator for another, a slider actuator to obtain predictable results of moving an element from an inactive position to an active position (MPEP 2143 (B)).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALYSSA M. PAPE
Examiner
Art Unit 3794
/JOANNE M RODDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794