DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 through 20 originally filed 10 May 2022. By amendment received 21 November 2025; claims 1, 3, 4, and 18 are amended and claims 2, 7, 12, 16, and 17 are cancelled. By amendment received 14 May 2026; claim 1 is amended and claims 21 and 22 are added. Claims 1, 3 through 6, 8 through 11, 13 through 15, and 18 through 22 are addressed by this action.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered; they are addressed below.
Applicant argues that the combination of Okazaki et al. (Okazaki, US Pub. 2005/0100074), Zaky (US Patent 3,900,247), and Rapoport et al. (Rapoport, US Patent 4,630,275) does not teach or render obvious the limitation "A Q switch provided in the resonator" because, according to applicant, Zaky does not employ such an element. To support this argument, applicant contends that the modulator 11 of Zaky is merely a component of a Q-switch.
Applicant's argument is not persuasive because Zaky contradicts the present argument. Specifically, Zaky teaches a laser cavity that includes a gain medium and an optical arrangement that includes a polarizer, a polarizer separator, an EO modulator, and a quarter-wave plate (Zaky, col. 2, lines 53-63 describing the arrangement of Figure 1 in which a cavity is formed between light source 15 and mirror 14 in which light source 15 provides gain and the optical arrangement including elements 10, 11, 13, and 16). Operation of this optical arrangement of Zaky changes the amount of light fed back to the gain medium (Zaky, col. 3-4, lines 52-16 describing the operation of the arrangement of Figure 1 such that light is either entirely fed back to the light source 15 or is outputted from the cavity along path 18 depending on the operation of modulator 11). In this manner, the optical arrangement of Zaky that is composed of the polarizing elements as well as the EO modulator operates as a Q-switch. Since Zaky teaches use of an optical arrangement that operates as a Q-switch within the laser cavity, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ such a Q-switch within a device according to the combined teachings of Okazaki, Zaky, and Rapoport. As such, this argument is not persuasive.
The limitation "A Q switch provided in the resonator" is rendered obvious by the combined teachings of Okazaki, Zaky, and Rapoport (see below). Applicant's argument that Zaky does not employ such an element is not persuasive because Zaky contradicts the present argument.
As such, all claims are addressed as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 through 6, 8 through 11, 13 through 15, and 18 through 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okazaki et al. (Okazaki, US Pub. 2005/0100074), in view of Zaky (US Patent 3,900,247), and further in view of Rapoport et al. (Rapoport, US Patent 4,630,275).
Regarding claim 1, Okazaki discloses, "The vertical external-cavity surface-emitting laser" (p. [0044] and Figs. 2 and 3, pts. 32, 34, 38, 46, and 49, where the arrangement described is the arrangement of a vertical external cavity surface emitting laser). "A resonator comprising at least two mirrors" (p. [0044] and Figs. 2 and 3, pts. 32, 38, and 46). "A semiconductor laser medium disposed in the resonator" (p. [0040] and Fig. 2, pt. 34). Okazaki does not explicitly disclose, "A Q switch provided in the resonator." "Wherein the Q switch is configured such that… the Q switch lowers a Q factor of the resonator from (i) a first level… to (ii) a second level." "[The first level] at which the vertical external cavity surface-emitting laser does not output the light pulse." "[The second level] at which the vertical external-cavity surface-emitting laser outputs the light pulse." "[The Q switch lowers the Q factor] when power of light amplified by the semiconductor laser medium has reached a predetermined level." Zaky discloses, "A Q switch provided in the resonator" (col. 3, lines 5-13 and Fig. 1, pt. 11). "Wherein the Q switch is configured such that… the Q switch lowers a Q factor of the resonator from (i) a first level… to (ii) a second level" (col. 3-4, lines 66-16 and Fig. 1, pts. 10, 11, 12, 17, and 18, where the operation of crystal 11 necessarily causes reduction in Q factor because the oscillating light is caused to exit the cavity by splitter 10 rather than return to source 15 when crystal 11 is activated). "[The first level] at which the vertical external cavity surface-emitting laser does not output the light pulse" (col. 3, lines 5-18, col. 3, lines 52-65, and Fig. 1, pts. 10, 11, 12, 17, and 18, where the first level corresponds to the level at which light contains only vertically polarized components and is returned to the source). "[The second level] at which the vertical external-cavity surface-emitting laser outputs the light pulse" (col. 3-4, lines 66-16 and Fig. 1, pts. 10, 11, 12, 17, and 18, where the second level corresponds to the level at which the reflected light is caused to have horizontally polarized components that are extracted from the cavity). "[The Q switch lowers the Q factor] when power of light amplified by the semiconductor laser medium has reached a predetermined level" (col. 3-4, lines 66-16 and Fig. 1, pts. 10, 11, 12, 17, and 18, where this modulation emits light after a predetermined time which corresponds to a predetermined degree of amplification that necessarily produces a particular level of output light). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Okazaki with the teachings of Zaky. In view of the teachings of Okazaki regarding an external cavity laser, the additional inclusion of a Q-switch for providing cavity dumping as taught by Zaky would enhance the teachings of Okazaki by providing a configuration in which high energy pulses may be generated by the laser device.
The combination of Okazaki and Zaky does not explicitly disclose, "A seed light source configured to output injection synchronization light." "[The synchronization light injected] to a first of the mirrors constituting the resonator." "[The synchronization light injected] via a surface on a side opposite to a surface facing the semiconductor laser medium." "[The Q switch lowers the Q factor] after the seed light source outputs the injection synchronization light to the first of the mirrors." Rapoport discloses, "A seed light source configured to output injection synchronization light" (col. 2, lines 16-24 and Fig. 1, pt. 18). "[The synchronization light injected] to a first of the mirrors constituting the resonator" (col. 2, lines 16-24 and Fig. 1, pts. 13 and 18). "[The synchronization light injected] via a surface on a side opposite to a surface facing the semiconductor laser medium" (col. 2, lines 16-24 and Fig. 1, pts. 10, 13, and 18). "[The Q switch lowers the Q factor] after the seed light source outputs the injection synchronization light to the first of the mirrors" (col. 2, lines 16-24 and Fig. 1, pts. 14 and 18). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Okazaki and Zaky with the teachings of Rapoport. In view of the teachings of Okazaki regarding an external cavity laser and the teachings of Zaky regarding the provision of a Q-switch for providing cavity dumping, the additional inclusion of a seed laser for injection locking as taught by Rapoport would enhance the teachings of Okazaki and Zaky by providing a mechanism for locking the emission wavelength of the laser device.
Regarding claim 3, Okazaki does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the Q switch is configured such that, when the power approaches or reaches a steady-state value, the Q switch switches the Q factor to the second level." Zaky discloses, "Wherein the Q switch is configured such that, when the power approaches or reaches a steady-state value, the Q switch switches the Q factor to the second level" (col. 3-4, lines 66-16 and Fig. 1, pts. 10, 11, 12, 17, and 18, where the intensity within the resonator must approach or reach a steady state while the Q switch is not set to output light). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Okazaki with the teachings of Zaky for the reasons provided above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Okazaki does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the Q switch is configured to switch the Q factor mechanically, acoustically, or electro-optically." Zaky discloses, "Wherein the Q switch is configured to switch the Q factor mechanically, acoustically, or electro-optically" (col. 3, lines 5-13 and Fig. 1, pt. 11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Okazaki with the teachings of Zaky for the reasons provided above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Okazaki does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the Q switch is configured to switch the Q factor mechanically, acoustically, or electro-optically." Zaky discloses, "Wherein the Q switch is configured to switch the Q factor mechanically, acoustically, or electro-optically" (col. 3, lines 5-13 and Fig. 1, pt. 11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Okazaki with the teachings of Zaky for the reasons provided above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Okazaki discloses, "Wherein (i) a first of the mirrors constituting the resonator, and (ii) the semiconductor laser medium, are formed on an identical chip" (p. [0040] and Fig. 2, pts. 32, 34, and 38).
Regarding claim 8, Okazaki discloses, "Wherein (i) a first of the mirrors constituting the resonator, and (ii) the semiconductor laser medium, are formed on an identical chip" (p. [0040] and Fig. 2, pts. 32, 34, and 38).
Regarding claim 9, Okazaki discloses, "Wherein (i) a first of the mirrors constituting the resonator, and (ii) the semiconductor laser medium, are formed on an identical chip" (p. [0040] and Fig. 2, pts. 32, 34, and 38).
Regarding claim 10, Okazaki discloses, "Wherein (i) a first of the mirrors constituting the resonator, and (ii) the semiconductor laser medium, are formed on an identical chip" (p. [0040] and Fig. 2, pts. 32, 34, and 38).
Regarding claim 11, Okazaki discloses, "Wherein the semiconductor laser medium is an active layer joined to said one of the mirrors constituting the resonator" (p. [0040] and Fig. 2, pts. 32, 34, and 38).
Regarding claim 13, Okazaki discloses, "Wherein the semiconductor laser medium is an active layer joined to said one of the mirrors constituting the resonator" (p. [0040] and Fig. 2, pts. 32, 34, and 38).
Regarding claim 14, Okazaki discloses, "Wherein the semiconductor laser medium is an active layer joined to said one of the mirrors constituting the resonator" (p. [0040] and Fig. 2, pts. 32, 34, and 38).
Regarding claim 15, Okazaki discloses, "Wherein the semiconductor laser medium is an active layer joined to said one of the mirrors constituting the resonator" (p. [0040] and Fig. 2, pts. 32, 34, and 38).
Regarding claim 18, The combination of Okazaki, Zaky, and Rapoport does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein a resonator length of the resonator is an integral multiple of a wavelength of the injection synchronization light." The examiner takes Official Notice of the fact that it was known in the art to design a laser cavity to employ an integer multiple of the oscillation wavelength so as to cause the laser cavity to promote that wavelength. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the length of the cavity to be an integer multiple of the seed wavelength so as to configure the laser cavity to support the seeded wavelength, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 19, Okazaki discloses, "An excitation light source configured to excite the semiconductor laser medium" (p. [0044] and Fig. 3, pt. 24).
Regarding claim 20, Okazaki discloses, "A current source configured to excite the semiconductor laser medium" (p. [0038] and Figs. 1 and 3, pts. 20, 21, and 24, where a current source is necessary to operate light source 24 so as to excite laser 38).
Regarding claim 21, Okazaki does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein when the Q-factor is at the first level, the resonator acts as a self-excited oscillator." Zaky discloses, "Wherein when the Q-factor is at the first level, the resonator acts as a self-excited oscillator" (col. 3, lines 5-18, col. 3, lines 52-65, and Fig. 1, pts. 10, 11, 12, 17, and 18, where operation at the first level necessarily causes light to build up in the cavity such that the cavity operates as a self-excited oscillator). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Okazaki with the teachings of Zaky for the reasons provided above regarding claim 1.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okazaki in view of Zaky.
Regarding claim 22, Okazaki discloses, "The vertical external-cavity surface-emitting laser" (p. [0044] and Figs. 2 and 3, pts. 32, 34, 38, 46, and 49, where the arrangement described is the arrangement of a vertical external cavity surface emitting laser). "A resonator comprising at least two mirrors" (p. [0044] and Figs. 2 and 3, pts. 32, 38, and 46). "A semiconductor laser medium disposed in the resonator" (p. [0040] and Fig. 2, pt. 34). Okazaki does not explicitly disclose, "A Q switch provided in the resonator." "Wherein the Q switch is configured such that… the Q switch lowers a Q factor of the resonator from (i) a first level… to (ii) a second level." "[The first level] at which the vertical external cavity surface-emitting laser does not output the light pulse." "[The second level] at which the vertical external-cavity surface-emitting laser outputs the light pulse." "[The Q switch lowers the Q factor] when power of light amplified by the semiconductor laser medium has reached a predetermined level." Zaky discloses, "A Q switch provided in the resonator" (col. 3, lines 5-13 and Fig. 1, pt. 11). "Wherein the Q switch is configured such that… the Q switch lowers a Q factor of the resonator from (i) a first level… to (ii) a second level" (col. 3-4, lines 66-16 and Fig. 1, pts. 10, 11, 12, 17, and 18, where the operation of crystal 11 necessarily causes reduction in Q factor because the oscillating light is caused to exit the cavity by splitter 10 rather than return to source 15 when crystal 11 is activated). "[The first level] at which the vertical external cavity surface-emitting laser does not output the light pulse" (col. 3, lines 5-18, col. 3, lines 52-65, and Fig. 1, pts. 10, 11, 12, 17, and 18, where the first level corresponds to the level at which light contains only vertically polarized components and is returned to the source). "[The second level] at which the vertical external-cavity surface-emitting laser outputs the light pulse" (col. 3-4, lines 66-16 and Fig. 1, pts. 10, 11, 12, 17, and 18, where the second level corresponds to the level at which the reflected light is caused to have horizontally polarized components that are extracted from the cavity). "[The Q switch lowers the Q factor] when power of light amplified by the semiconductor laser medium has reached a predetermined level" (col. 3-4, lines 66-16 and Fig. 1, pts. 10, 11, 12, 17, and 18, where this modulation emits light after a predetermined time which corresponds to a predetermined degree of amplification that necessarily produces a particular level of output light). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Okazaki with the teachings of Zaky for the reasons provided above regarding claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Thomson et al. (Thomson, US Patent 5,815,250) is cited for teaching the use of a cavity dumping mechanism using an EO switch to Q-switch a cavity.
/SEAN P HAGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2828