DETAILED ACTION
Status
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed 03/23/2026 which amended claims 1-2 and 6. Claims 1-8, 11, 13-20 and 22-30 are currently pending in the application for patent.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 6, 13, 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 2 and 6 contain duplicate recitations of the limitation which requires “the plurality of display units does not include a display pixel having a peak wavelength in a range of greater than or equal to 550 nm and less than 650 nm”. For the purposes of examination the duplicate recitations of the above-mentioned limitation will be ignored. Claims 2, 6, 13 and 16 are rejected as being indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-8, 12-15, 18-21, 23-24 and 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levermore et al (US 2013/0278144; hereinafter referred to as Levermore).
Regarding Claim 1, Levermore discloses a display device (Figure 4; Device 400) configured to perform display in a plurality of display units (Figure 4; Red, Green and Blue OLED Pixels 415, 416 and 417) by using a light source (see Paragraph [0086]; wherein it is disclosed that the light emissions from each of the OLED pixels of the same color are adjusted relative to the light emissions from each of the OLED pixels having a different color), wherein
the plurality of display units (Figure 4; Red, Green and Blue OLED Pixels 415, 416 and 417) include
a first group of display pixels (Figure 4; Red OLED Pixels 415), a peak wavelength of each display pixel in the first group (Figure 4; Red OLED Pixels 415) being a first wavelength in a range of greater than or equal to 650 nm and less than or equal to 700 nm (see Paragraph [0123]; wherein it is disclosed that the peak wavelength of the emission spectrum of the EL material of the third group of OLED circuit elements may be between 580 and 700 nm);
a second group of display pixels (Figure 4; Blue OLED Pixels 417); a peak wavelength of each display pixel in the second group (Figure 4; Blue OLED Pixels 417) being a second wavelength in a range of greater than or equal to 400 nm and less than 450 nm (see Paragraph [0123]; wherein it is disclosed that the first peak wavelength of the emission spectrum of the EL material of the first group of OLED circuit elements may be between 400 and 500 nm);
wherein a difference between the first wavelength and the second wavelength is greater than or equal to 200 nm (see Paragraph [0123]; wherein it is disclosed that the peak wavelength of the emission spectrum of the EL material of the third group of OLED circuit elements may be between 580 and 700 nm and that the first peak wavelength of the emission spectrum of the EL material of the first group of OLED circuit elements may be between 400 and 500 nm); and
each display pixel in the first group (Figure 4; Red OLED Pixels 415) and the second group (Figure 4; Blue OLED Pixels 417) exhibit a luminance of greater than or equal to 0.04 cd/m2 (see Paragraphs [0099]-[0101]; wherein it is disclosed that the minimum luminance level the Red, Green and Blue OLED pixels are operated at is 1,000 cd/m.sup.2 and that the maximum current that flows through each individual OLED pixel when operating normally at the highest luminance level--in this example, at 5,000 cd/m2).
Levermore does not expressly disclose that the plurality of display units does not include a display pixel having a peak wavelength in a range of greater than or equal to 550 nm and less than 650 nm. However, Paragraph [0123] of Levermore discloses that the first peak wavelength of the emission spectrum of the EL material of the first group of OLED circuit elements may be between 400 and 500 nm and that the peak wavelength of the emission spectrum of the EL material of the third group of OLED circuit elements may be between 580 and 700 nm and it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.Therefore, one or ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to limit the wavelength ranges such that the plurality of display units does not include a display pixel having a peak wavelength in a range of greater than or equal to 550 nm and less than 650 nm because the applicant has not stated that any long standing or stated problem in the art is solved by excluding peak wavelengths in a range of greater than or equal to 550 nm and less than 650 nm and it appears the invention would performed equally well.
Regarding Claim 3, Levermore discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Levermore further discloses a luminance exhibited by the display pixels in the first group (Figure 4; Red OLED Pixels 415) is greater than or equal to 5 cd/m (see Paragraphs [0099]-[0100]; wherein it is disclosed that the minimum luminance level the Red, Green and Blue OLED pixels are operated at is 1,000 cd/m.sup.2).
Regarding Claim 4, Levermore discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Levermore further discloses the luminance exhibited by the display pixels in the first group (Figure 4; Red OLED Pixels 415) is greater than or equal to 35 cd/m2 (see Paragraphs [0099]-[0100]; wherein it is disclosed that the minimum luminance level the Red, Green and Blue OLED pixels are operated at is 1,000 cd/m.sup.2).
Regarding Claim 7, Levermore discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Levermore further discloses the second wavelength is greater than or equal to 520 nm and less than 550 nm (see Paragraph [0123]; wherein the second peak wavelength of the emission spectrum of the EL material of the second group of OLED circuit elements may be between 550 and 580 nm).
Regarding Claim 8, Levermore discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Levermore further discloses the second wavelength is a peak wavelength of the display pixels in the second group (see Paragraph [0123]; wherein it is disclosed that the first peak wavelength of the emission spectrum of the EL material of the first group of OLED circuit elements may be between 400 and 500 nm).
Regarding Claim 13, Levermore discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Levermore further discloses the first wavelength is a peak wavelength of the display pixels in the first group (see Paragraph [0123]; wherein it is disclosed that the peak wavelength of the emission spectrum of the EL material of the third group of OLED circuit elements may be between 580 and 700 nm).
Regarding Claim 14, Levermore discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Levermore further discloses the plurality of display units (Figure 4; Red, Green and Blue OLED Pixels 415, 416 and 417) include at least one display pixels in a third group (Figure 4; wherein the third group is being interpreted as the second Green OLED pixel 416 given there are at least two Green OLED pixels 416 depicted) that exhibits a luminance of greater than or equal to 0.04 cd/m2 (see Paragraphs [0099]-[0100]; wherein it is disclosed that the minimum luminance level the Red, Green and Blue OLED pixels are operated at is 1,000 cd/m.sup.2); and the display pixels in the third group (Figure 4; wherein the third group is being interpreted as the second Green OLED pixel 416 given there are at least two Green OLED pixels 416 depicted) exhibits a maximum luminance at a third wavelength in a range of greater than or equal to 550 nm and less than 650 nm (see Paragraph [0123]; wherein it is disclosed that the second peak wavelength of the emission spectrum of the EL material of the second group of OLED circuit elements may be between 551 and 580 nm).
Regarding Claim 15, Levermore discloses the limitations of claim 14 as detailed above.
Levermore further discloses the third wavelength is a peak wavelength of the display pixels in the third group (see Paragraph [0123]; wherein it is disclosed that the second peak wavelength of the emission spectrum of the EL material of the second group of OLED circuit elements may be between 551 and 580 nm).
Regarding Claim 17, Levermore discloses the limitations of claim 14 as detailed above.
Levermore further discloses the display pixels in the first group changes in luminance within one second before or after a change in luminance of the display pixels in the third group (see Paragraph [0089]; wherein it is disclosed that to allow for the color to be tuned and for the panel to be dimmed, each fuse may be designed to ensure that (a) the fuse opens even at relatively low luminance when there is an electrical short, and (b) the fuse does not open even at very high luminance when the panel is operating under normal conditions wherein when an electrical short is present, the fuse is designed to open the electrical circuit as quickly as possible so as to reduce damage to the device).
Regarding Claim 18, Levermore discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Levermore further discloses the plurality of display units (Figure 4; Red, Green and Blue OLED Pixels 415, 416 and 417) include at least one display pixels in fourth group (Figure 4; Blue OLED Pixel 417) that exhibits a luminance of greater than or equal to 0.04 cd/m (see Paragraphs [0099]-[0100]; wherein it is disclosed that the minimum luminance level the Red, Green and Blue OLED pixels are operated at is 1,000 cd/m.sup.2); and the display pixels in the fourth group (Figure 4; Blue OLED Pixel 417) exhibits a maximum luminance at a fourth wavelength in a range of greater than or equal to 480 nm and less than 520 nm (see Paragraphs [0100] and [0123]; wherein the maximum luminance is 5,000 cd/m.sup.2 and wherein it is disclosed that the first peak wavelength of the emission spectrum of the EL material of the first group of OLED circuit elements may be between 400 and 500 nm i.e. between 480 and 520).
Regarding Claim 19, Levermore discloses the limitations of claim 18 as detailed above.
Levermore further discloses the fourth wavelength is a peak wavelength of the display pixels in the fourth group (see Paragraph [0123]; wherein it is disclosed that the first peak wavelength of the emission spectrum of the EL material of the first group of OLED circuit elements may be between 400 and 500 nm i.e. between 480 and 520).
Regarding Claim 20, Levermore discloses the limitations of claim 18 as detailed above.
Levermore further discloses the luminance exhibited by the display pixels in the fourth group is greater than or equal to 5 cd/m (see Paragraphs [0099]-[0100]; wherein it is disclosed that the minimum luminance level the Red, Green and Blue OLED pixels are operated at is 1,000 cd/m.sup.2).
Regarding Claim 23, Levermore discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Levermore further discloses the display device (Figure 4; Device 400) receives a signal including data corresponding to an R value, a G value, and a B value in an RGB color space (see Paragraph [0086]), and the display pixels in the first group (Figure 4; Red OLED Pixels 415) exhibits a luminance corresponding to the R value (see Paragraph [0123]).
Regarding Claim 24, Levermore discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Levermore further discloses the display pixels in the first group (Figure 4; Red OLED Pixels 415) includes a portion that emits light by electroluminescence (see Paragraph [0112]; wherein it is disclosed that the OLED pixel may include a first electrode, a second electrode, and an organic electroluminescent (EL) material disposed between the first and the second electrodes).
Regarding Claim 26, Levermore discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Levermore further discloses the display pixels in the first group (Figure 4; Red OLED Pixels 415) includes a portion that emits light by photoluminescence (see Paragraph [0059]; wherein it is disclosed that the light is emitted when the exciton relaxes via a photoemissive mechanism).
Regarding Claim 27, Levermore discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Levermore further discloses an apparatus comprising: the display device according to Claim 1 (see Claim 1 rejection above and Abstract); and a signal generating device (see Paragraph [0072]; wherein a signal generating device is inherently present to produce a video signal) configured to generate a signal to be received by the display device (see Paragraphs [0068] and [0072]; wherein it is disclosed that the device may be electrically contacted to an external device which provides a video signal).
Regarding Claim 28, Levermore discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Levermore further discloses an apparatus (see Paragraph [0068]) comprising: the display device (Figure 4; Device 400) according to Claim 1 (see Claim 1 rejection above); and
an image pickup device configured to take an image to be displayed by the display device (see Paragraph [0068]; wherein the apparatus may be incorporated into flat panel displays, computer monitors, televisions, billboards, lights for interior or exterior illumination and/or signaling, heads up displays, fully transparent displays, flexible displays, laser printers, telephones, cell phones, personal digital assistants (PDAs), laptop computers, digital cameras, camcorders, viewfinders, micro-displays, vehicles, a large area wall, theater or stadium screen, lighting fixtures, or a sign).
Regarding Claim 29, Levermore discloses the limitations of claim 27 as detailed above.
Levermore further discloses the apparatus (see Paragraph [0068]) is a wearable apparatus (see Paragraph [0068]; wherein the apparatus may be incorporated into flat panel displays, computer monitors, televisions, billboards, lights for interior or exterior illumination and/or signaling, heads up displays, fully transparent displays, flexible displays, laser printers, telephones, cell phones, personal digital assistants (PDAs), laptop computers, digital cameras, camcorders, viewfinders, micro-displays, vehicles, a large area wall, theater or stadium screen, lighting fixtures, or a sign).
Regarding Claim 30, Levermore discloses the limitations of claim 27 as detailed above.
Levermore further discloses the apparatus (see Paragraph [0068]) is any one of an electronic board, a traffic light machine, and an in-vehicle indicator (see Paragraph [0068]; wherein the apparatus may be incorporated into flat panel displays, computer monitors, televisions, billboards, lights for interior or exterior illumination and/or signaling, heads up displays, fully transparent displays, flexible displays, laser printers, telephones, cell phones, personal digital assistants (PDAs), laptop computers, digital cameras, camcorders, viewfinders, micro-displays, vehicles, a large area wall, theater or stadium screen, lighting fixtures, or a sign).
Claims 2, 5-6, 11, 16 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levermore et al (US 2013/0278144; hereinafter referred to as Levermore).
Regarding Claim 2, Levermore discloses a display device (Figure 4; Device 400) configured to perform display in a plurality of display pixels (Figure 4; Red and Blue OLED Pixels 415 and 417) by using an electroluminescent light source (see Paragraph [0086]; wherein it is disclosed that the light emissions from each of the OLED pixels of the same color are adjusted relative to the light emissions from each of the OLED pixels having a different color), wherein the plurality of display unit pixels (Figure 4; Red and Blue OLED Pixels 415 and 417) include;
a first group of display pixels (Figure 4; Red OLED Pixels 415), each display pixel in the first group (Figure 4; Red OLED Pixels 415) exhibiting a maximum luminance at a first wavelength in a range of greater than or equal to 650 nm and less than or equal to 700 nm (see Paragraph [0123]; wherein it is disclosed that the peak wavelength of the emission spectrum of the EL material of the third group of OLED circuit elements may be between 580 and 700 nm);
a second group of display pixels (Figure 4; Blue OLED Pixels 417), each display pixel in the second group (Figure 4; Blue OLED Pixels 417) exhibiting a maximum luminance at a second wavelength in a range of greater than or equal to 400 nm and less than 450 nm (see Paragraph [0123]; wherein it is disclosed that the first peak wavelength of the emission spectrum of the EL material of the first group of OLED circuit elements may be between 400 and 500 nm);
a highest spectral radiance of the first group (Figure 4; Red OLED Pixels 415) at the first wavelength is higher than a highest spectral radiance of the second group (Figure 4; Blue OLED Pixels 417) at the second wavelength (see Table 1; wherein a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a current density and spectral radiance are intrinsically linked such that a higher current density leads to a higher spectral radiance such that the current density of 11.3 demonstrated by the red OLED pixels and the current density of 3.21 demonstrated by the blue OLED pixels necessitates that the spectral radiance of the red OLED pixels 415 is higher than the spectral radiance of the blue OLED pixels 417).
Levermore does not expressly disclose that the plurality of display units does not include a display pixel having a peak wavelength in a range of greater than or equal to 550 nm and less than 650 nm. However, Paragraph [0123] of Levermore discloses that the first peak wavelength of the emission spectrum of the EL material of the first group of OLED circuit elements may be between 400 and 500 nm and that the peak wavelength of the emission spectrum of the EL material of the third group of OLED circuit elements may be between 580 and 700 nm and it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.Therefore, one or ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to limit the wavelength ranges such that the plurality of display units does not include a display pixel having a peak wavelength in a range of greater than or equal to 550 nm and less than 650 nm because the applicant has not stated that any long standing or stated problem in the art is solved by excluding peak wavelengths in a range of greater than or equal to 550 nm and less than 650 nm and it appears the invention would performed equally well.
Regarding Claim 5, Levermore discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Levermore further discloses a maximum current density of the display pixels in the first group at the first wavelength is 11.3 mA/
c
m
2
(see Table 1; wherein a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a current density and spectral radiance are intrinsically linked such that a higher current density results in a higher spectral radiance).
Levermore does not expressly disclose that the spectral radiance of the display pixels in the first group at the first wavelength is greater than or equal to 0.04/(683*V(λL)) [W/sr/
m
2
/nm], where λL [nm] is the first wavelength and V(λL) is a standard spectral luminous efficiency for photopic vision at the first wavelength. However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize the spectral radiance of the display pixels in the first group at the first wavelength because doing so would have resulted in a high quality, comfortable light with reduced flickering and excellent color.
Regarding Claim 6, Levermore discloses a display device (Figure 4; Device 400) configured to perform display in a plurality of display units (Figure 4; Red and Blue OLED Pixels 415 and 417) by using a light source (see Paragraph [0086]; wherein it is disclosed that the light emissions from each of the OLED pixels of the same color are adjusted relative to the light emissions from each of the OLED pixels having a different color), wherein
the plurality of display units (Figure 4; Red and Blue OLED Pixels 415 and 417) include
a first group of display pixels (Figure 4; Red OLED Pixels 415), each pixel in the first group (Figure 4; Red OLED Pixels 415) exhibiting a maximum luminance at a first wavelength in a range of greater than or equal to 650 nm and less than or equal to 700 nm (see Paragraph [0123]; wherein it is disclosed that the peak wavelength of the emission spectrum of the EL material of the third group of OLED circuit elements may be between 580 and 700 nm);
a second group of display pixels (Figure 4; Blue OLED Pixels 417), each display pixel of the second group (Figure 4; Blue OLED Pixels 417) exhibiting a maximum luminance at a second wavelength in a range of greater than or equal to 400 nm and less than 450 nm (see Paragraph [0123]; wherein it is disclosed that the first peak wavelength of the emission spectrum of the EL material of the first group of OLED circuit elements may be between 400 and 500 nm);
wherein the plurality of display units (Figure 4; Red and Blue OLED Pixels 415 and 417) does not include a display pixel having a peak wavelength in a range of greater than or equal to 550 nm and less than 650 nm (see Figure 4 and Paragraph [0123]); and
a maximum current density of the display pixels in the first group at the first wavelength is 11.3 mA/
c
m
2
(see Table 1; wherein a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a current density and spectral radiance are intrinsically linked such that a higher current density results in a higher spectral radiance).
Levermore does not expressly disclose that the plurality of display units does not include a display pixel having a peak wavelength in a range of greater than or equal to 550 nm and less than 650 nm, the spectral radiance of the display pixels in the first group at the first wavelength is greater than or equal to 1/(683*V(λL)) [W/sr/
m
2
/nm], at the first wavelength, where λL [nm] is the first wavelength and V(λL) is a standard spectral luminous efficiency for photopic vision at the first wavelength; and
the spectral radiance of the display pixels in the second group at the second wavelength is greater than or equal to 5/(683*V(λS)) [W/sr/
m
2
/nm], at the second wavelength, where λS [nm] is the second wavelength and V(λS) is a standard spectral luminous efficiency for photopic vision at the second wavelength.
However, Paragraph [0123] of Levermore discloses that the first peak wavelength of the emission spectrum of the EL material of the first group of OLED circuit elements may be between 400 and 500 nm and that the peak wavelength of the emission spectrum of the EL material of the third group of OLED circuit elements may be between 580 and 700 nm and it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Therefore, one or ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to limit the wavelength ranges such that the plurality of display units does not include a display pixel having a peak wavelength in a range of greater than or equal to 550 nm and less than 650 nm and optimize the spectral radiance of the display pixels in the first group at the first wavelength and the second group at the second wavelength because it appears the invention would performed equally well with a narrower wavelength range and doing so would have also resulted in a high quality, comfortable light with reduced flickering and excellent color.
Regarding Claim 11, Levermore discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Levermore further discloses a maximum current density of the display pixels in the first group at the first wavelength is 11.3 mA/
c
m
2
(see Table 1; wherein a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a current density and spectral radiance are intrinsically linked such that a higher current density results in a higher spectral radiance).
Levermore does not expressly disclose that a half width for a spectral radiance of the display pixels in the first group at the first wavelength is greater than or equal to 50 nm.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize the half width for a spectral radiance of the display pixels in the first group at the first wavelength because doing so would have resulted in a high quality, comfortable light with reduced flickering and excellent color.
Regarding Claim 16, Levermore discloses the limitations of claim 13 as detailed above.
Levermore further discloses a maximum current density of the display pixels in the first group at the first wavelength is 11.3 mA/
c
m
2
(see Table 1; wherein a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a current density and spectral radiance are intrinsically linked such that a higher current density results in a higher spectral radiance).
Levermore does not expressly disclose that a half width for a spectral radiance of the display pixels in the first group at the first wavelength is less than 50 nm.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize the half width for a spectral radiance of the display pixels in the first group at the first wavelength because doing so would have resulted in a high quality, comfortable light with reduced flickering and excellent color.
Regarding Claim 22, Levermore discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Levermore discloses the peak wavelength and a dominant wavelength of the display pixels in the second group differ from each other (see Paragraph [0087]; wherein it is disclosed that two different groups of "blue" OLED pixels may be utilized a group of OLED pixels that emit light having a peak wavelength corresponding to a deep blue (e.g. between 400 nm and 470 nm) and a group of OLEDs that emit light having a peak wavelength corresponding to a light blue (e.g. between 470 nm and 500 nm).
Levermore does not expressly disclose that the peak wavelength and a dominant wavelength of the display pixels in the first group differ from each other. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the peak wavelength and a dominant wavelength of the display pixels in the first group such that they differ from each other, based upon the teachings within paragraph [0087] of Levermore, because doing so would reduce the operating current density of the darker red OLED pixels while still providing the desired colors and/or white point for the device (see Levermore Paragraph [0087]).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levermore et al (US 2013/0278144; hereinafter referred to as Levermore) as applied to claim 1, in view of Lee et al (US 2009/0096359; hereinafter referred to as Lee).
Regarding Claim 25, Levermore discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Levermore does not expressly disclose the display pixels in the first group of the plurality of display units includes a first color filter, and the display pixels in the second group of the plurality of the display units includes a second color filter that differs in transmission characteristic from the first color filter.
Lee discloses display pixels in a first group (Figure 12; White Light Emitting Layer 16 and Red Color Filter 22R) of a plurality of display units (Figure 12; White Light Emitting Layer 16, Red, Green and Blue Color Filters 22R, 22G and 22B) the first group (Figure 12; White Light Emitting Layer 16 and Red Color Filter 22R) includes a first color filter (Figure 12; Red Color Filter 22R), and the second group (Figure 12; Blue Color Filter 22B) of the plurality of the display units (Figure 12; White Light Emitting Layer 16, Red, Green and Blue Color Filters 22R, 22G and 22B) includes a second color filter (Figure 12; Blue Color Filter 22B) that differs in transmission characteristic from the first color filter (see Paragraph [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the first and second groups of Levermore such that the first group of the plurality of display units includes a first color filter, and the second group of the plurality of the display units includes a second color filter that differs in transmission characteristic from the first color filter, as taught by Lee, because doing so would allow for pure colors to be realized using red, green and blue color filters while also reducing dependency on the viewing angle (see Lee Paragraph [0075]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant alleges on pages 7-10 that the prior art of record fails to teach, suggest or render obvious the limitations which require the plurality of display units does not include any display pixel having a peak wavelength between 550 nm and 650 nm, and the difference between the first wavelength and the second wavelength is at least 200 nm.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s arguments.
In response to argument A, the examiner maintains that Paragraph [0123] of
Levermore discloses that the first peak wavelength of the emission spectrum of the EL material of the first group of OLED circuit elements may be between 400 and 500 nm and that the peak wavelength of the emission spectrum of the EL material of the third group of OLED circuit elements may be between 580 and 700 nm. This recitation obviates the limitations upon which the applicant relies given the fact that the ranges of 400 nm -500 nm and 580 nm -700 nm taught by Levermore encompasses the claimed wavelength ranges of 400 nm-450 nm and 650 nm – 700 nm. Narrowing the wavelength ranges such that the plurality of display units does not include a display pixel having a peak wavelength in a range of greater than or equal to 550 nm and less than 650 nm is merely an optimization of ranges and it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Additionally, when wavelengths of 500 nm and 700 nm are utilized there exists a 200 nm difference between the first and second wavelength.
All of the arguments presented by the applicant have been considered in their entirety, but they are not persuasive.
Inquiry
/CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II/Examiner, Art Unit 2882