DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/6/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Final Rejection on 12/02/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5-8, 12-13, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jansen (EP3772406) in view of Ikegami (JP-H1016056) with citations made to attached machine translations.
Fig. 7 of Jansen
Regarding claim 1, Jansen teaches
A thermoplastic welding assembly for welding thermoplastic components, comprising:
A press (600) comprising
a first plate (680) forming an elongated slot (Fig. 6) configured to receive a welding probe (610, 612),
a second plate (650) forming a first plunger cavity (652)
wherein the first plate (680) and the second plate (650) are movable relative to each other to position the thermoplastic components (620, 630) between the first plate (680) and the second plate (650);
a heat sink (690) positioned within the slot of the first plate (680);
a first plunger (660) positioned within the first plunger cavity (652) of the second plate (650) and movable along a first plunger axis (Fig. 6) toward the thermoplastic components (620, 630) being welded;
a first pressurizer (670) affixed to the first plunger (660) for contacting the thermoplastic components (620, 630) during welding (Fig. 7),
wherein the first pressurizer (670) is made of a deformable material (elastomer) that compresses when pushed into contact the thermoplastic components.
Jansen is silent on a second plunger cavity, a second plunger positioned within the second plunger cavity of the second plate and movable along a second plunger axis toward the thermoplastic components being welded, and a second pressurizer affixed to the second plunger for contacting the thermoplastic components during welding, wherein: the first plunger axis and the second plunger axis intersect such that the first plunger and the second plunger apply forces across a welding joint of the thermoplastic components.
Ikegami Fig. 4
Ikegami teaches a second plate (10) forming a second plunger cavity (10b);
a second plunger (one of ball plungers 11 to 13) positioned within the second plunger cavity (10b) of the second plate (10) and linearly movable along a second plunger axis (Fig. 4) toward the thermoplastic components being welded (7);
and a second pressurizer (11a-13a) affixed to the second plunger (one of ball plungers 11 to 13) for contacting the thermoplastic components during welding (7), wherein:
the first plunger (one of ball plungers 11 to 13) axis and the second plunger (one of ball plungers 11 to 13) axis intersect such that the first plunger (one of ball plungers 11 to 13) and the second plunger (one of ball plungers 11 to 13) apply forces from different directions across a welding joint of the thermoplastic components (Fig. 4 where ball plungers 11 to 13 have axis that intersect).
Jansen and Ikegami are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of welding units. It would have been obvious to have modified Jansen to incorporate the teachings of Ikegami to have a second plunger in a second plunger cavity with a pressurizer, such that a first and second plunger intersect at different axes so that a holding force may be accurately affected on the desired parts that is also able to be adjusted, and to allow easy removal of the held object (Ikegami [0030]).
Regarding claim 4, Jansen and Ikegami teach the thermoplastic welding assembly of claim 1, and Jansen teaches wherein the at least one of the first pressurizer (670) and the second pressurizer is reciprocally shaped to an outer contour of at least one of the thermoplastic components (620, 630 Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 5, Jansen and Ikegami teach the thermoplastic welding assembly of claim 1, and Jansen teaches a plunger actuator ([0027] controller 112) configured to supply the pneumatic force to move the at least one plunger ([0027] controller 112 operates pressure element 152, inflatable bladder, to apply consolidation pressure) and to drive at least one pressurizer (670) into contact with at least one of the thermoplastic components (620, 630).
Regarding claim 6, Jansen and Ikegami teach the thermoplastic welding assembly of claim 1, and Jansen teaches
further comprising a plunger actuator (112) configured to supply mechanical force (P) to move the at least one pressurizer (7) into contact with at least one of the thermoplastic components (620, 630).
Regarding claim 7, Jansen and Ikegami teach the thermoplastic welding assembly of claim 1, and Jansen teaches wherein the heat sink (690) is shaped wider than a welding joint created by the welding (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 8, Jansen and Ikegami teach the thermoplastic welding assembly of claim 1, and Jansen teaches
wherein the heat sink (690) is positioned between the thermoplastic components (620, 630) and the welding probe (612, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 12, Jansen and Ikegami teach the thermoplastic welding assembly of claim 1, and Jansen teaches further comprising:
wherein the thermoplastic components form an airplane part, an automobile part, a boat part, or a motorcycle part ([0041] aircraft, automotive application).
Regarding claim 13, Jansen teaches A thermoplastic welding assembly for welding thermoplastic components, comprising:
a welding probe (612);
a press (600) comprising
a first plate (680) forming an elongated slot (Fig. 6) configured to receive a welding probe (610, 612),
wherein the welding probe (610, 612) is linearly movable along a length of the slot during welding (Fig. 6) and
a second plate (650) forming a first plunger cavity (652);
wherein the first plate (680) and the second plate (650) are movable along a vertical axis relative to each other to position the thermoplastic components (620, 630) between the first plate (680) and the second plate (650); and
a heat sink (690) positioned within the slot of the first plate (680);
a first plunger (660) positioned within the first plunger cavity (652) of the second plate (650) and linearly movable along a first plunger axis toward the thermoplastic components (620, 630), and
a first pressurizer (670) affixed to the first plunger (660) for contacting the thermoplastic components (620, 630) during welding (Fig. 7),
the first pressurizer (670) is made of a deformable material (elastomer) that compresses when pushed into contact the thermoplastic components.
Jansen is silent on a second plunger cavity, a second plunger positioned within the second plunger cavity of the second plate and movable along a second plunger axis toward the thermoplastic components being welded, and a second pressurizer affixed to the second plunger for contacting the thermoplastic components during welding, wherein the first plunger and second plunger comprise rigid bodies, the first plunger axis and the second plunger axis intersect at a non-zero angle such that the first plunger and the second plunger apply forces from different directions across a welding joint of the thermoplastic components, the second pressurizer is made of a deformable material that compresses when pushed into contact the thermoplastic components.
Ikegami teaches a second plate (10) forming a second plunger cavity (10b);
a second plunger (one of ball plungers 11 to 13) positioned within the second plunger cavity (10b) of the second plate (10) and movable along a second plunger axis (Fig. 4) toward the thermoplastic components being welded (7)
and a second pressurizer (11a-13a, 11b-13b) affixed to the second plunger (one of ball plungers 11 to 13) for contacting the thermoplastic components (7) during welding, wherein:
wherein the first plunger (one of ball plungers 11 to 13) and second plunger (one of ball plungers 11 to 13) comprise rigid bodies, the first plunger axis and the second plunger axis intersect at a non-zero angle such that the first plunger (one of ball plungers 11 to 13) and the second plunger (one of ball plungers 11 to 13) apply forces from different directions across a welding joint of the thermoplastic components (7, Fig. 4),
the second pressurizer (11a-13a, 11b-13b) is made of a deformable material that compresses when pushed into contact the thermoplastic components (7, [0019] at least springs 11b-13b compress).
It would have been obvious to have modified Jansen to incorporate the teachings of Ikegami to have a second plunger in a second plunger cavity with a pressurizer, such that a first and second plunger intersect at different axes so that a holding force may be accurately affected on the desired parts that is also able to be adjusted, and to allow easy removal of the held object (Ikegami [0030]).
Regarding claim 16, Jansen and Ikegami teach the thermoplastic welding assembly of claim 13, and Jansen teaches
wherein at least one of the first pressurizer (670) and the second pressurizer is reciprocally shaped to an outer contour of at least one of the thermoplastic components (620, 630 Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 17, Jansen and Ikegami teach the thermoplastic welding assembly of claim 13, and Jansen teaches a plunger actuator ([0027] controller 112) configured to supply the pneumatic force to move the at least one plunger ([0027] controller 112 operates pressure element 152, inflatable bladder, to apply consolidation pressure) and to drive at least one pressurizer (670) into contact with at least one of the thermoplastic components (620, 630).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jansen (EP3772406) and Ikegami (JP-H1016056) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bloch (US11052494).
Regarding claim 9, Jansen and Ikegami teach the thermoplastic welding assembly of claim 1, but are silent on further comprising: wherein the first plate comprises a plurality of tooling inserts that are removable from an upper outer press shell of the first plate.
Bloch teaches wherein the first plate (106) comprises a plurality of tooling inserts (430) that are removable from an upper outer press shell (104) of the first plate (106).
Jansen, Ikegami, and Bloch are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of thermoplastic welding. It would have been obvious to have modified Jansen and Ikegami to incorporate the teachings of Bloch to have a plurality of inserts that are removable from an upper outer press shell in order to facilitate repositioning of the welding tools (Bloch Col. 16 lines 50-65).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jansen (EP3772406) and Ikegami (JP-H1016056) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Marcoe (US 20210187878).
Regarding claim 11, Jansen and Ikegami teach the thermoplastic welding assembly of claim 1, but is silent on wherein the thermoplastic components comprise a stringer and a skin.
Marcoe teaches wherein the thermoplastic components comprise a stringer (130) and a skin (132).
Jansen, Ikegami, and Marcoe are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of thermoplastic welding. It would have been obvious to have modified Jansen and to incorporate the teachings of Marcoe to have a stringer and a skin as they are known to be common in creating composite structures (Marcoe [0047]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-25 are allowed, by incorporation of previously indicated allowable subject matter in previously presented 23 and 24.
Regarding claim 23, Jansen and Hagelqvist are the closest prior art. Jansen and Hagelqvist teaches the thermoplastic welding assembly of claim 18.
Jansen teaches a first plate (680) with a slot (640) for receiving a welding probe (612) capable of performing a thermoplastic weld;
a second plate (650) with a first plunger cavity (680);
wherein the first plate (680) and the second plate (650) are movable relative to each other to position the thermoplastic components (620, 630) between the first plate (680) and the second plate (650);
a first plunger (660) positioned within the first plunger cavity (652) of the second plate (650) and movable along a first plunger axis (Fig. 6) toward the thermoplastic components (620, 630).
Hagelqvist only teaches a second plate (8) forming a second plunger cavity (6);
a second plunger (9) positioned within the second plunger cavity (Fig. 1 cavity between 10 and 8) of the second plate (8) and movable along a second plunger axis (Col. 10 lines 5-45 radial axis R Fig. 1) toward the thermoplastic components being welded (Fig.1 9 Col. 10 lines 5-45 radially expanding);
and a second pressurizer (31) affixed to the second plunger (9) for contacting the thermoplastic components during welding, wherein:
the first plunger (10, Col. 10 lines 5-45 radial axis R) axis and the second plunger (9, Col. 10 lines 5-45 radial axis Rs) axis intersect such that the first plunger (10) and the second plunger (9) apply forces across a welding joint of the thermoplastic components (Fig. 1 radial axis of 9 and 10 intersect).
However, Jansen and Hagelqvist do not teach or suggest the limitation further comprising a third plunger positioned within the first plunger cavity of the second plate and movable along a third plunger axis toward the thermoplastic components, wherein the third plunger axis is non-parallel with the first plunger axis, the first plunger axis and the second plunger axis intersect such that the first plunger, the second plunger, and the third plunger apply forces across a welding joint of the thermoplastic components.
Newly cited reference Ikegami (JP-H1016056) is shown to teach a first plunger, a second plunger, and a third plunger (11-13), however Ikegami does not teach a third plunger positioned within the first plunger cavity of the second plate and movable along a third plunger axis toward the thermoplastic components, wherein the third plunger axis is non-parallel with the first plunger axis. Additionally, none of the prior art references of record alone or in combination to meet all limitations in the claims.
Claim 24 would be allowable based on dependence on claim 23. Additionally, Jansen and Hagelqvist are the closest prior art.
However, Jansen and Hagelqvist do not teach or suggest the limitation further comprising a third pressurizer affixed to the third plunger for contacting the thermoplastic components during welding.
Additionally, none of the prior art references of record alone or in combination to meet all limitations in the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/30/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. In view of the amendments to claims 23 and 24, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see the Remarks, filed 01/30/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1 and 13 under Jansen in view of Hagelqvist have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, Applicant's amendment necessitated a new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action, wherein the new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Jansen in view of newly cited reference Ikegami (JP-H1016056).
Regarding applicant’s arguments to claim 18, claim 18 is now indicated as allowable, given the inclusion of previously indicated allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/ABIGAIL H RHUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 5/22/2026
/WOODY A LEE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761