DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to amendment filed on 3/27/2026, Claims 1, 11, 21 and 23, 27 are amended, claims 29- 30 are added as a new claims and claims 2- 5 and 12- 13, 22, 24- 25, 28 are cancelled. claims 1, 11, 19, 21, 23 and 26- 27, 29- 30 are pending for examinations
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the remarks on 3/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has incorporated similar limitations from claims 25 and 28 into all amended independent claims. On page 13 last two lines and page 14 line 1 of the remarks, applicant argues, “However, first, Agiwal focuses on random access backoff, and the present application focuses on unified access control (UAC). That is, Agiwal and the present application are applied to different scenarios” .
Examiner disagrees and respectfully submits that Agiwal states in [0168] about For example, the controller 1420 (i.e. of a terminal here) may be configured to control the transceiver 1410 to transmit a random access preamble associated with a random access procedure to the base station and control the transceiver 1410 to receive a random access response including information on a backoff parameter value from the base station. The information on a backoff parameter may refer to a backoff indicator including an index to predefined list of backoff values. The controller 1420 is configured to identify a scaling factor for backoff based on a priority of the random access procedure or the event which triggered the random access procedure. …… The information on the scaling factor (e.g. the mapping between scaling factor and access priority) may be configured by the network for backoff, and the controller 1420 may be configured to control the transceiver 1410 to receive information on the scaling factor from the base station. The controller 1420 may be configured to determine a random backoff time (access identity) based on the scaling factor and the backoff parameter value. For example, the controller 1420 may be configured to select the random backoff time according to a uniform distribution between 0 and the ‘Scaling factor*Backoff Parameter Value.’ The terminal may delay the subsequent random access transmission by the backoff time. In other words, the controller 1420 may be configured to control the transceiver 1410 to transmitting the subsequent random access preamble to the base station after the random backoff time. In addition, a power ramping step is configured for the high priority RACH access. Therefore, if the terminal fails to receive a random access response from the base station in response to transmitting the random access preamble, the controller 1420 may be configured to determine a power ramping step parameter based on the priority of the random access, and control to the transceiver 1410 to retransmit the random access preamble using the power ramping step to the base station… (i.e. here execution is being done through limitations (For example, the controller 1420 may be configured to select the random backoff time according to a uniform distribution between 0 and the ‘Scaling factor*Backoff Parameter Value.’ The terminal may delay the subsequent random access transmission by the backoff time. In other words, the controller 1420 may be configured to control the transceiver 1410 to transmitting the subsequent random access preamble to the base station after the random backoff time.) parameter can be a power ramping step parameter ). Hence incorporation of power ramping procedure with UAC mechanism can be useful to ensure successful communication (i.e. since UAC is a mechanism introduced in 3GPP Release 15 that manages network access by controlling congestion and prioritizing services for authorized users and devices. When UAC determines that a User Equipment (UE) can attempt access, a power ramping procedure is often utilized to ensure successful communication, particularly during random access (RACH)).
On page 14, lines 2- 4 of the remarks applicant argues, “Second, Agiwal merely discloses the access category and the access priority, but fails to disclose an access identity, let alone a corresponding relationship between an access identity and a scaling factor”.
Examiner disagrees and respectfully submits that already discussed above, hence pls refer to above discussion.
On page 14, lines 5- 7 of the remarks, applicant argues, “Third, Agiwal discloses various service types such as URLLC, eMBB, MTC, V2X, D2D, and focuses on how to make high priority services faster in random access. However, Agiwal fails to define a new access category/identity for the IoT service”.
Examiner disagrees and respectfully submits that Jin has already discussed about above limitations part; Jin see claim 16 and also [0113] (i.e. internet of vehicles as first type service as IOT) for execution operation; wherein the first type of service is a service for an Internet of Things (IOT) device (see [0113] IOT).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11, 19 and 23, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0120580 A1) in view of Park et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0263874 A1) and in further view of Agiwal et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0136832 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jin teaches an access control method (see claim 1), wherein the method comprises:
receiving, by a terminal device, first configuration information and second configurations sent by a network device, wherein the first configurations information comprises a first set of access control parameter and the second configuration information comprises a corresponding relationship between an access category and a scaling factor and a corresponding relationship between an access identity and a scaling factor and determining by the terminal device a first scaling factor corresponding to a first access category and a first access identity according to the corresponding relationship (refer to claims 12- 15 regarding receiving, by a terminal device, first information (i.e. here first information has combinational capability of first configuration and second configuration)) from a radio access network (RAN) device, wherein the first information comprises at least one RAN network slice identifier (i.e. access identity) associated with a core network network slice identifier; and communicating, by the terminal device, with the RAN device based on the first information; wherein the first information further comprises access control information corresponding to the at least one RAN network slice identifier; and the communicating, by the terminal device, with the RAN device based on the first information comprises: accessing, by the terminal device, a radio access network based on the access control information; wherein the access control information comprises an access factor having at least one of the following: an access control barring parameter or a barring parameter for application-specific congestion control used for data communication; and the accessing, by the terminal device, a radio access network based on the access control information (i.e. access control parameter) comprises: accessing, by the terminal device, the radio access network based on the access factor; wherein the access factor is determined based on an access class or an access category (i.e. access category which is in relationship with scaling factor ) corresponding to the at least one RAN network slice identifier (i.e. access identity relationship with scaling factor)), and
executing an access control operation according to the first scaling factor and the first set of access control parameters wherein the fist access category and the first access identity corresponds to a first type of service; see claim 16 and also [0113] (i.e. internet of vehicles as first type service as IOT) for execution operation; wherein the first type of service is a service for an Internet of Things (IOT) device (see [0113] IOT).
But Jin fails to state about
Wherein the first access category is a new access category defined for the first type of service and the first identity is a new access identity defined for the first type of service;
Here Jin teaches in [0113] about first type of service; but fails to state about terminal device defines the first access category and the first access identity for the first type of service; however Park teaches in [0226] about access IDs (i.e. access identity) configured in the UE as in the example of Table 3 below. An access category may be defined as a combination of a UE-related condition and an access attempt type (i.e. type of service), as shown in Table 4 below; further refer to [0223] about each access attempt may be categorized into one or more access IDs and one access category. Based on the access control information available for the access ID corresponding to the access attempt and the access category corresponding to the access attempt, the terminal (eg, UE) may test whether an actual access attempt can be made. As per Table 4 access attempt can be MMTEL video having access category defined as #5; further see [0250] When a terminal (eg, UE) needs to initiate an access attempt for one of the events such as in the examples a) to b-6) above, the terminal may determine one or more access IDs related to the access attempt from a set of standardized access IDs, and the terminal mat determine one access category related to the access attempt among a set of standardized access categories and a set of operator-defined access categories. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Park with the teachings of Jin to make system more efficient. Having a mechanism wherein a first access category is an access category defined for the first type of service and the first identity is an access identity defined for the first type of service; greater way resources can be utilized/managed in the communication system.
But Jin is silent about wherein the executing the access control operation according to the first scaling factor and the first set of access control parameters comprises: performing scaling processing on at least one parameter in the first set of access control parameters according to the first scaling factor, and executing an access control operation by using the at least one parameter after the scaling processing; however Agiwal teaches in [0168] about For example, the controller 1420 (i.e. of a terminal here) may be configured to control the transceiver 1410 to transmit a random access preamble associated with a random access procedure to the base station and control the transceiver 1410 to receive a random access response including information on a backoff parameter value from the base station. The information on a backoff parameter may refer to a backoff indicator including an index to predefined list of backoff values. The controller 1420 is configured to identify a scaling factor for backoff based on a priority of the random access procedure or the event which triggered the random access procedure. …… The information on the scaling factor (e.g. the mapping between scaling factor and access priority) may be configured by the network for backoff, and the controller 1420 may be configured to control the transceiver 1410 to receive information on the scaling factor from the base station. The controller 1420 may be configured to determine a random backoff time (access identity) based on the scaling factor and the backoff parameter value. For example, the controller 1420 may be configured to select the random backoff time according to a uniform distribution between 0 and the ‘Scaling factor*Backoff Parameter Value.’ The terminal may delay the subsequent random access transmission by the backoff time. In other words, the controller 1420 may be configured to control the transceiver 1410 to transmitting the subsequent random access preamble to the base station after the random backoff time. In addition, a power ramping step is configured for the high priority RACH access. Therefore, if the terminal fails to receive a random access response from the base station in response to transmitting the random access preamble, the controller 1420 may be configured to determine a power ramping step parameter based on the priority of the random access, and control to the transceiver 1410 to retransmit the random access preamble using the power ramping step to the base station… (i.e. here execution is being done through limitations (For example, the controller 1420 may be configured to select the random backoff time according to a uniform distribution between 0 and the ‘Scaling factor*Backoff Parameter Value.’ The terminal may delay the subsequent random access transmission by the backoff time. In other words, the controller 1420 may be configured to control the transceiver 1410 to transmitting the subsequent random access preamble to the base station after the random backoff time.) parameter can be a power ramping step parameter ). Hence incorporation of power ramping procedure with UAC mechanism can be useful to ensure successful communication (i.e. since UAC is a mechanism introduced in 3GPP Release 15 that manages network access by controlling congestion and prioritizing services for authorized users and devices. When UAC determines that a User Equipment (UE) can attempt access, a power ramping procedure is often utilized to ensure successful communication, particularly during random access (RACH)).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Agiwal with the teachings of Jin in view of Park to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the executing the access control operation according to the first scaling factor and the first set of access control parameters comprises: performing scaling processing on at least one parameter in the first set of access control parameters according to the first scaling factor, and executing an access control operation by using the at least one parameter after the scaling processing; greater way resources can be managed/utilized to carry out more reliable communication in the communication system.
Regarding claim 11, Jin teaches an access control apparatus, wherein the apparatus comprises a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory, so as to (see claim 1):
control an input interface to receive first configuration information and second configurations sent by a network device, wherein the first configurations information comprises a first set of access control parameter and the second configuration information comprises a corresponding relationship between an access category and a scaling factor and a corresponding relationship between an access identity and a scaling factor and determine according to the corresponding relationship a first scaling factor corresponding to a first access category and a first access identity(refer to claims 12- 15 regarding receiving, by a terminal device, first information (i.e. here first information has combinational capability of first configuration and second configuration)) from a radio access network (RAN) device, wherein the first information comprises at least one RAN network slice identifier (i.e. access identity) associated with a core network network slice identifier; and communicating, by the terminal device, with the RAN device based on the first information; wherein the first information further comprises access control information corresponding to the at least one RAN network slice identifier; and the communicating, by the terminal device, with the RAN device based on the first information comprises: accessing, by the terminal device, a radio access network based on the access control information; wherein the access control information comprises an access factor having at least one of the following: an access control barring parameter or a barring parameter for application-specific congestion control used for data communication; and the accessing, by the terminal device, a radio access network based on the access control information (i.e. access control parameter) comprises: accessing, by the terminal device, the radio access network based on the access factor; wherein the access factor is determined based on an access class or an access category (i.e. access category which is in relationship with scaling factor ) corresponding to the at least one RAN network slice identifier (i.e. access identity relationship with scaling factor)); execute an access control operation according to the first scaling factor and the first set of access control parameters wherein the fist access category and the first access identity corresponds to a first type of service; see claim 16 and also [0113] (i.e. internet of vehicles as first type service as IOT) for execution operation; wherein the first type of service is a service for an Internet of Things (IOT) device (see [0113] IOT).
But Jin fails to state about
Wherein the first access category is a new access category defined for the first type of service and the first identity is a new access identity defined for the first type of service;
Here Jin teaches in [0113] about first type of service; but fails to state about terminal device defines the first access category and the first access identity for the first type of service; however Park teaches in [0226] about access IDs (i.e. access identity) configured in the UE as in the example of Table 3 below. An access category may be defined as a combination of a UE-related condition and an access attempt type (i.e. type of service), as shown in Table 4 below; further refer to [0223] about each access attempt may be categorized into one or more access IDs and one access category. Based on the access control information available for the access ID corresponding to the access attempt and the access category corresponding to the access attempt, the terminal (eg, UE) may test whether an actual access attempt can be made. As per Table 4 access attempt can be MMTEL video having access category defined as #5; further see [0250] When a terminal (eg, UE) needs to initiate an access attempt for one of the events such as in the examples a) to b-6) above, the terminal may determine one or more access IDs related to the access attempt from a set of standardized access IDs, and the terminal mat determine one access category related to the access attempt among a set of standardized access categories and a set of operator-defined access categories. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Park with the teachings of Jin to make system more efficient. Having a mechanism wherein a first access category is an access category defined for the first type of service and the first identity is an access identity defined for the first type of service; greater way resources can be utilized/managed in the communication system.
But Jin is silent about wherein the executing the access control operation according to the first scaling factor and the first set of access control parameters comprises: performing scaling processing on at least one parameter in the first set of access control parameters according to the first scaling factor, and executing an access control operation by using the at least one parameter after the scaling processing; however Agiwal teaches in [0168] about For example, the controller 1420 (i.e. of a terminal here) may be configured to control the transceiver 1410 to transmit a random access preamble associated with a random access procedure to the base station and control the transceiver 1410 to receive a random access response including information on a backoff parameter value from the base station. The information on a backoff parameter may refer to a backoff indicator including an index to predefined list of backoff values. The controller 1420 is configured to identify a scaling factor for backoff based on a priority of the random access procedure or the event which triggered the random access procedure. …… The information on the scaling factor (e.g. the mapping between scaling factor and access priority) may be configured by the network for backoff, and the controller 1420 may be configured to control the transceiver 1410 to receive information on the scaling factor from the base station. The controller 1420 may be configured to determine a random backoff time (access identity) based on the scaling factor and the backoff parameter value. For example, the controller 1420 may be configured to select the random backoff time according to a uniform distribution between 0 and the ‘Scaling factor*Backoff Parameter Value.’ The terminal may delay the subsequent random access transmission by the backoff time. In other words, the controller 1420 may be configured to control the transceiver 1410 to transmitting the subsequent random access preamble to the base station after the random backoff time. In addition, a power ramping step is configured for the high priority RACH access. Therefore, if the terminal fails to receive a random access response from the base station in response to transmitting the random access preamble, the controller 1420 may be configured to determine a power ramping step parameter based on the priority of the random access, and control to the transceiver 1410 to retransmit the random access preamble using the power ramping step to the base station… (i.e. here execution is being done through limitations (For example, the controller 1420 may be configured to select the random backoff time according to a uniform distribution between 0 and the ‘Scaling factor*Backoff Parameter Value.’ The terminal may delay the subsequent random access transmission by the backoff time. In other words, the controller 1420 may be configured to control the transceiver 1410 to transmitting the subsequent random access preamble to the base station after the random backoff time.) parameter can be a power ramping step parameter ). Hence incorporation of power ramping procedure with UAC mechanism can be useful to ensure successful communication (i.e. since UAC is a mechanism introduced in 3GPP Release 15 that manages network access by controlling congestion and prioritizing services for authorized users and devices. When UAC determines that a User Equipment (UE) can attempt access, a power ramping procedure is often utilized to ensure successful communication, particularly during random access (RACH)).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Agiwal with the teachings of Jin in view of Park to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the executing the access control operation according to the first scaling factor and the first set of access control parameters comprises: performing scaling processing on at least one parameter in the first set of access control parameters according to the first scaling factor, and executing an access control operation by using the at least one parameter after the scaling processing; greater way resources can be managed/utilized to carry out more reliable communication in the communication system.
Regarding claim 19, Jin in view of Park and Agiwal teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, configured to store a computer program, and the computer program causes a computer to execute the method according to claim 1; pls see claim 1’s citations.
Regarding claim 29, Jin in view of Park and Agiwal teaches as per claim 1, wherein the performing the scaling processing on the at least one parameter in the first set of access control parameters according to the first scaling factor comprises: performing the scaling processing on at least one of a second parameter or a third parameter according to the first scaling factor; Agiwal states in [0168] about For example, the controller 1420 (i.e. of a terminal here) may be configured to control the transceiver 1410 to transmit a random access preamble associated with a random access procedure to the base station and control the transceiver 1410 to receive a random access response including information on a backoff parameter value from the base station. The information on a backoff parameter may refer to a backoff indicator including an index to predefined list of backoff values. The controller 1420 is configured to identify a scaling factor for backoff based on a priority of the random access procedure or the event which triggered the random access procedure. …… The information on the scaling factor (e.g. the mapping between scaling factor and access priority) may be configured by the network for backoff, and the controller 1420 may be configured to control the transceiver 1410 to receive information on the scaling factor from the base station. The controller 1420 may be configured to determine a random backoff time (access identity) based on the scaling factor and the backoff parameter value. For example, the controller 1420 may be configured to select the random backoff time according to a uniform distribution between 0 and the ‘Scaling factor*Backoff Parameter Value.’ The terminal may delay the subsequent random access transmission by the backoff time. In other words, the controller 1420 may be configured to control the transceiver 1410 to transmitting the subsequent random access preamble to the base station after the random backoff time. In addition, a power ramping step is configured for the high priority RACH access. Therefore, if the terminal fails to receive a random access response from the base station in response to transmitting the random access preamble, the controller 1420 may be configured to determine a power ramping step parameter based on the priority of the random access, and control to the transceiver 1410 to retransmit the random access preamble using the power ramping step to the base station… (i.e. here execution is being done through limitations (For example, the controller 1420 may be configured to select the random backoff time according to a uniform distribution between 0 and the ‘Scaling factor*Backoff Parameter Value.’ The terminal may delay the subsequent random access transmission by the backoff time. In other words, the controller 1420 may be configured to control the transceiver 1410 to transmitting the subsequent random access preamble to the base station after the random backoff time.) parameter can be a power ramping step parameter ).
Claim(s) 21, 23, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0120580 A1) in view of Park et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0263874 A1) and in further view of Agiwal et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0136832 A1) and in further view of Lee et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0159108 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Jin in view of Park and Agiwal teaches as per claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
determining the first scaling factor corresponding to the first access category and the first access identity from the second configuration information; already discussed in claim 1; see Jin reference; but Jin fails to teach about
when it is determined that there exists data transmission of the first type of service, sending, by a non-access stratum (NAS) of the terminal device, first indication information to an access stratum (AS) of the terminal device, wherein the first indication information is used for indicating the first access category and the first access identity corresponding to the first type of service; and
determining, by the AS of the terminal device, the first set of access control parameters corresponding to the first access category from the first configuration information; however Lee teaches in [0149] In step S830, the UE may perform access barring check for certain access category, based on the certain barring information mapped to the certain access category. For this, the UE may select the certain barring information corresponding to the certain access category, and then determine whether or not access to a cell is barred based on the selected certain barring information. The certain access category may be transmitted from a non-access stratum (NAS) layer of the UE to a radio resource control (RRC) layer of the UE. If the UE NAS transmits certain access category to the UE RRC, and if the UE RRC has certain barring information mapped to the certain access category, the UE RRC may perform access barring check for the certain access category, based on the certain barring information mapped to the certain access category; further see [0133]… access categories involve service type property,..; further see [0142].. the UAC-BarringPerCat may include the AccessCategory and the uac-barringInfoSetIndex, and the uac-barringInfoSetIndex. Here Lee is not explicitly state regarding UE is used to determine access identity; however as discussed in claim 1, Kim states in claims 1- 2 about UE is used to determine access identity. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Jin in view of Park and Agiwal to make system more standardized.
Regarding claim 23, Jin in view of Park and Agiwal teaches as per claim 11, determining the first scaling factor corresponding to the first access category and the first access identity from the second configuration information; already discussed in claim 1; see Jin reference; but Jin fails to teach about
wherein the processor is configured to control an output interface to send first indication information to an access stratum (AS) of a terminal device by a non-access stratum (NAS) of the terminal device when it is determined that there exists data transmission of the first type of service, wherein the first indication information is used for indicating the first access category and the first access identity corresponding to the first type of service; and the AS of the terminal device determines the first set of access control parameters corresponding to the first access category from the first configuration information, and executes the access control operation according to the first access identity and the first set of access control parameters; Lee teaches in [0149] In step S830, the UE may perform access barring check for certain access category, based on the certain barring information mapped to the certain access category. For this, the UE may select the certain barring information corresponding to the certain access category, and then determine whether or not access to a cell is barred based on the selected certain barring information. The certain access category may be transmitted from a non-access stratum (NAS) layer of the UE to a radio resource control (RRC) layer of the UE. If the UE NAS transmits certain access category to the UE RRC, and if the UE RRC has certain barring information mapped to the certain access category, the UE RRC may perform access barring check for the certain access category, based on the certain barring information mapped to the certain access category; further see [0133]… access categories involve service type property,..; further see [0142].. the UAC-BarringPerCat may include the AccessCategory and the uac-barringInfoSetIndex, and the uac-barringInfoSetIndex. Here Lee is not explicitly state regarding UE is used to determine access identity; however as discussed in claim 11, Kim states in claims 1- 2 about UE is used to determine access identity. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Jin in view of Park and Agiwal to make system more standardized.
Regarding claim 26, Jin in view of Park and Agiwal teaches as per claim 1, but Jin fails to state about wherein the first set of access control parameters comprises a first parameter, and at least one of a second parameter or a third parameter; wherein the first parameter is used for determining an access identity that allows an access and/or an access identity that prohibits an access, the second parameter is used for determining a barring factor, and the third parameter is used for determining barring time; however Lee teaches in [0129] about For each identified access attempt one Access Category and one or more Access Identities may be selected ; further see [0132]. The UE shall be able to determine whether or not a particular new access attempt is allowed based on barring parameters that the UE receives from the broadcast barring control information and the configuration in the UE; further see [0140] Table 6 shows another example of the list of barring information. In table 6, the list of barring information may be referred to as UAC-BarringInfoSetList and the barring information may be referred to as UAC-BarringInfoSe.... further see [0141] Referring to table 6, the UAC-BarringInfoSetList may include one or more UAC- BarringInfoSet, and each of the UAC-BarringInfoSet may include uac-BarringFactor and uac-BarringTime. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Jin in view of Park and Agiwal to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the first set of access control parameters comprises a first parameter, and at least one of a second parameter or a third parameter; wherein the first parameter is used for determining an access identity that allows an access and/or an access identity that prohibits an access, the second parameter is used for determining a barring factor, and the third parameter is used for determining barring time; greater way resources can be utilized/managed in the communication system.
Claim(s) 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0120580 A1) in view of Park et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0263874 A1) and in further view of Agiwal et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0136832 A1) and in further view of Lee et al. (US Pub. 2021/0204192 A1), hereafter Lee1.
Regarding claim 27, Jin in view of Park and Agiwal teaches as per claim 1, but Jin fails to state about wherein the executing the access control operation by using the at least one parameter after the scaling processing comprises: determining whether to allow an access according to the first access identity; and when it is determined that the access is allowed, executing the access control operation according to at least one parameter after the scaling processing in the first set of access control parameters; however Lee1 teaches in [0351- 0352] about if the scaling factor is configured with 2.0 for a MAC PDU bigger than 1000 Kbyte and/or an L2 buffer size bigger than 1000 Kbyte, when the UE performs access barring check for transmission of the MAC PDU from a logical channel and/or a configured grant with the barring factor set to 0.4, the UE may use the scaled barring factor set to 0.8 (=0.4×2.0) for this access barring check…. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Lee1 with the teachings of Jin in view of Park and Agiwal to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the executing the access control operation by using the at least one parameter after the scaling processing comprises: determining whether to allow an access according to the first access identity; and when it is determined that the access is allowed, executing the access control operation according to at least one parameter after the scaling processing in the first set of access control parameters; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0120580 A1) in view of Park et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0263874 A1) and in further view of Agiwal et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0136832 A1) and in further view of Chen et al. (US Pub. 2022/0312283 A1).
Regarding claim 30, Jin in view of Park and Agiwal teaches as per claim 1, but Jin fails to state about wherein the scaling processing comprises addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division; wherein the performing the scaling processing on the at least one parameter in the first set of access control parameters according to the first scaling factor comprises:
adding the scaling factor to at least one of a second parameter or a third parameter,
subtracting the scaling factor from at least one of the second parameter or the third parameter, multiplying at least one of the second parameter or the third parameter by the scaling factor, or
dividing at least one of the second parameter or the third parameter by the scaling factor; however Chen teaches in [0054] regarding .. When the RA procedure is initiated, the UE (or its MAC entity) may set the PREAMBLE_BACKOFF to the value indicated by the configured backoff indicator. When the RA procedure is initiated, the UE (or its MAC entity) may set the PREAMBLE_BACKOFF to the value indicated by the configured backoff indicator multiplied with a scaling factor (e.g., SCALING_FACTOR_BI)….It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Jin in view of Park and Agiwal to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the scaling processing comprises addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division; wherein the performing the scaling processing on the at least one parameter in the first set of access control parameters according to the first scaling factor comprises:
adding the scaling factor to at least one of a second parameter or a third parameter,
subtracting the scaling factor from at least one of the second parameter or the third parameter, multiplying at least one of the second parameter or the third parameter by the scaling factor, or
dividing at least one of the second parameter or the third parameter by the scaling factor; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479