Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control circuitry” in claims 1 and 15.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. As noticed in paragraph 0042-0043, the control circuitry 32 includes one or more controller(s) and/or processor(s) 36 that controls the operations of the power supply 12. The control circuitry 32 receives and processes multiple inputs associated with the performance and demands of the system. The processor(s) 36 may include one or more microprocessors, such as one or more "general-purpose" microprocessors, one or more special-purpose microprocessors and/or ASICS, one or more microcontrollers, and/or any other type of processing and/or logic device. For example, the control circuitry 32 may include one or more digital signal processors (DSPs). The control circuitry 32 may include circuitry such as relay circuitry, voltage and current sensing circuitry, power storage circuitry, and/or other circuitry, and is configured to sense the primary power 22 received by the power supply 12. The example control circuitry 32 includes one or more memory device(s) 38. The memory device(s) 38 may include volatile and/or nonvolatile memory and/or storage devices, such as random access memory (RAM), read only memory (ROM), flash memory, hard drives, solid state storage, and/or any other suitable optical, magnetic, and/or solid-state storage mediums.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Raudsepp (US 2015/0273614).
Regarding claim 1, Raudsepp teaches a welding system (Fig. 1), comprising: a welding power supply (part of 16) configured to convert input power to welding power (para. 0120); a wire feeder (35, 150) configured to feed welding wire to a welding torch (18); and control circuitry (31) configured to: in response to an initiation of a welding process, control the wire feeder to feed the welding wire at a first rate while controlling the welding power supply to output the welding power to initiate a welding arc (para. 0160; 0169; t0-t1; as shown in Fig. 7a-7b); in response to initiation of the welding arc, control the wire feeder to increase a feed rate of the wire feeder from the first rate to a second rate (para. 0162; 0170; t1-t3 as shown in Fig. 7a; t1-t2 or t2-t3 or t3-t4 or t1-t4 as shown in Fig. 7b); and in response to determining that a temperature profile of a heated portion of the welding wire has stabilized, control the wire feeder to change the feed rate of the wire feeder from the second rate to a target wire feed speed (para. 0163; 0171; as shown in Fig. 7a-7b).
Regarding claim 3, Raudsepp teaches the welding system as defined in claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is configured to determine that the temperature profile of the heated portion has stabilized in response to the wire feeder outputting the welding wire at the second rate for at least a threshold time (para. 0162-0163; 0170-0171; as shown in Fig. 7a).
Regarding claim 4, Raudsepp teaches the welding system as defined in claim 3, further comprising a preheating power supply (part of 16 and/or power source to pre-heat the cold wire; p.0121) configured to output preheating power to preheat a portion of the welding wire located prior to a stickout portion along a travel path of the welding wire (as shown in Fig. 1; para. 0120-0121), wherein the control circuitry is configured to set the threshold time based on the preheating power (power= voltage x current; the current is adjusted by adjusting the wire feed speed and its time period; as shown in Fig. 7a-7b; para. 0023; 0160-0163; 0169-0171).
Regarding claim 5, Raudsepp teaches the welding system as defined in claim 1, wherein the second rate is based on a diameter of the welding wire (para. 0073).
Regarding claim 6, Raudsepp teaches the welding system as defined in claim 1, wherein the second rate is about 90% of the expected stable arc phase hot wire speed (para. 0162; 0170).
Raudsepp fails to disclose wherein the second rate is between 200 inches per minute and 600 inches per minute.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the claimed second rate range, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 7, Raudsepp teaches the welding system as defined in claim 6, wherein the second rate is about 90% of the expected stable arc phase hot wire speed (para. 0162; 0170).
Raudsepp fails to disclose wherein the second rate is between 400 inches per minute and 600 inches per minute.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the claimed second rate range, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 8, Raudsepp teaches the welding system as defined in claim 6, wherein the target wire feed speed is an expected stable arc phase hot wire speed (para. 0037; 0163; 0171).
Raudsepp fails to disclose wherein the target wire feed speed is more than 500 inches per minute.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the claimed target wire feed speed range, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 9, Raudsepp teaches the welding system as defined in claim 8, wherein the target wire feed speed is an expected stable arc phase hot wire speed (para. 0037; 0163; 0171).
Raudsepp fails to disclose wherein the target wire feed speed is more than 600 inches per minute.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the claimed target wire feed speed range, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 10, Raudsepp teaches the welding system as defined in claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is configured to, after initiation of the welding arc but prior to increasing the feed rate of the wire feeder from the first rate to the second rate:
control a welding current of the welding power based on a first target current (para. 0027; 0160; 0169; current is controlled by controlling the wire feed speed to be a first rate); and increase the welding current from the first target current to increase an arc length of the welding arc to a target length (para. 0051; also, in Fig. 7b, if using t3-t4 as the second rate recited in claim 1, the current is adjusted by changing the wire feed speed during periods t1-t2 or t2-t3 prior to increase the wire feed speed to the second rate at t3-t4).
Regarding claim 11, Raudsepp teaches the welding system as defined in claim 10, wherein the control circuitry is configured to change to a voltage-controlled control mode when increasing the feed rate from the first rate after increasing the welding current from the first target current (para. 0027; 0098; 0129; 0155).
Regarding claim 12, Raudsepp teaches the welding system as defined in claim 10, wherein the control circuitry is configured to determine that the arc length has met the target length based on a voltage of the welding power (para. 0051; 0098; 0129; 0155; voltage is used to determine suitable feed speeds which change the arc length).
Regarding claim 13, Raudsepp teaches the welding system as defined in claim 1, wherein the heated portion of the welding wire is a stickout portion of the welding wire between a welding contact tip and the arc (as shown in Fig. 1; para. 0123).
Regarding claim 14, Raudsepp teaches the welding system as defined in claim 1, wherein the target wire feed speed is higher than the second rate (as shown in Fig. 7a; para. 0162-0163).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: allowable subject matter is indicated for claims 2 and 15-20 because the prior art of record does not show or fairly suggest a welding system comprising determining that the temperature profile of the heated portion has stabilized in response to the welding current reaching a local minimum and in response to determining that a temperature profile of a heated portion of the welding wire has stabilized, control the wire feeder to change the feed rate of the wire feeder from the second rate to a target wire feed speed as recited in claim 2, or in response to determining that the welding current has reached a local minimum, control the wire feeder to change the feed rate of the wire feeder from the second rate to a target wire feed speed, as recited in claim 15.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2018/0354051, US 2018/0333798 and US 2017/0165778.
/ALBA T ROSARIO-APONTE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 11/14/2025
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761