DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: there should be a comma after the term “cross-section” and before the term “orthogonal” in Line 22. The comma would make it clear that the cross-section is not orthogonal to the width, but it is the previously recited cross-section that is taken orthogonal to the longitudinal axis. This may also be clarified as “measured in the cross-section perpendicular to the longitudinal axis and orthogonal to the width.” The same issue exists in claim 17, which is also objected to for the same reason as claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites “partially circular, oval or elliptical . . . .” It is unclear whether the “partially” modifier applies only to the circular limitation or also the oval and elliptical limitations. Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuno et al. (JP 2017-148883 A) in view of Switzer (US Pub. No. 2020/0061727 A1).
(Claims 1 and 17) Tsuno et al. (“Tsuno”) discloses a power skiving tool that includes a shank (12) that extends along a longitudinal axis (O2) of the tool, and a cutting head (at end of shank including cutting portion 11) that is arranged at an end face of the shank (Figs. 1-3). The cutting head includes a plurality of circumferentially arranged teeth (11; Figs. 3, 4). In a cross-section orthogonal to the longitudinal axis, each of the teeth on the cutting head, each of the teeth has a convexly curved outer surface extending between a first and a second end (Figs. 3a, 4 - convex curve defined by curvature R1). For each of the teeth, the first end of the convexly curved outer surface transitions via a first transition outer surface into the convexly curved outer surface of a first adjacent tooth of the plurality of teeth and at a second end of the convexly curved surface opposite the first end transitions via a second transition surface into the convexly curved surface of a second adjacent tooth of the plurality of teeth (Figs. 3a, 4). For each of the teeth, the convexly curved outer surface is rounded and without corners (Fig. 4). The shape of the convexly curved outer surface has a shape that is partially circular, oval or elliptical (Fig. 4). For each of all of the plurality of circumferentially arranged teeth, a respective width (W in annotated Fig. 4) of each tooth of the plurality of teeth, measured in the cross-section as a distance between the first end and the second end, is greater than a height (H in annotated Fig. 4) of each of the plurality of teeth, measured in the cross-section, orthogonal to the width and centrally between the first end and the second end as a distance between the outer surface and a direct connecting line between the first end and the second end (Fig. 4). The plurality of circumferentially arranged teeth are the only teeth on the cutting head (Figs. 3, 4). Tsuno does not explicitly disclose a concave transition surface.
Switzer discloses a skiving tool (2) having a concave transition surface connecting convexly curved cutting teeth (Fig. 3). At a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the skiving tool disclosed in Tsuno to have concave transition surfaces as suggested by Switzer as simple substitution of one known element for another leading to a predictable result (discussed below) or as obvious to try - choosing from a finite number of solutions (convex, concave, flat) - leading to the predictable result of clearance between cutting edges while also reducing stress points by elimination of corners between the transition surface and convex tooth. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 418 (2007) (reciting several exemplary rationales that may support a finding of obviousness).
(Claims 2 and 3) The width of each tooth of the plurality of teeth is more than two or three times the height of the respective tooth (Tsuno annotated Fig. 4).
(Claim 4) A first tangent in said cross-section and being tangential to the convexly curved contour at the first end of the convexly rounded outer surface and a second tangent lying in said cross-section and being tangential to the convexly curved outer surface at the second end of the convexly rounded contour intersect at an angle α, where α is from 60° to 140°. That is, the end points, while not defined with particularity may have a tangent to those end points oriented to fall within the range claimed (Tsuno Fig. 4).
(Claim 5) Each of the first concave transition outer surface and the second concave transition outer surface is a radius when viewed in said cross-section (Switzer Fig. 3).
(Claim 6) The plurality of teeth are identical (Tsuno Figs. 3, 4).
(Claim 7). Each of the plurality of teeth includes a rake face at an end of the cutting head that is facing away from the shank (Tsuno Fig. 3). Tsuno shows, in Figure 3, that the front end surface of the cutting head includes disposed at an inclined angle other than 90 with respect to the longitudinal axis.
If any doubt exists about the skiving tool disclosed in Tsuno having a rake face on the end face of the cutting head, Switzer discloses that the end face of a skiving tool is used as a rake face (22; ¶ 0015). At a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the skiving tool disclosed in Tsuno with a rake face on the end face as taught by Switzer in order to shear chips away from the workpiece during the skiving operation.
(Claim 8) The rake faces of all the teeth of the plurality of teeth are arranged in a common conical surface that is rotationally symmetrical to the longitudinal axis (Tsuno Fig. 3b).
(Claim 10) Each of the plurality of teeth include a circumferentially arranged flank oriented skew to the longitudinal axis (Tsuno Fig. 3b).
(Claim 11) The plurality of teeth is more than twelve teeth (Tsuno Fig. 3a).
(Claim 12) Tsuno does not explicitly disclose the materials of the cutting head.
Switzer discloses the shank is made of steel (¶ 0020; clm. 4) and the teeth of the cutting head are made of carbide (¶¶ 0021-0022; clms. 5, 6). At a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the shank in steel and the cutting head in carbide as taught by Switzer in order to reduce the cost of the tool as compared to a tool entirely made of carbide (¶ 0022).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Bolesky (US Patent No. 1,482,110); JP 6330443 B2 (disclosing concave transition surfaces providing clearance for the work material between cuts by the cutting edges).
/RYAN RUFO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722