DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is responsive to the Reply filed on 10 June 2025 (“Reply”). As directed in the Reply:
no claims have been amended;
no claims have been and/or remain cancelled; and
no claims have been added.
Thus, Claims 1-31 are presently pending in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-25, and species A, Claims 1-13, in the Reply is acknowledged.
Claims 14-31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the Reply.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities:
Fig. 3 must include cross-hatching of solid elements;
Fig. 5 should be labeled as two separate figures, e.g., 5A and 5B, and the Specification updated accordingly - Applicant may, however, jointly refer to the subfigures as Fig. 5 when appropriate;
Figs. 6 and 7 should each be bracketed to include their subparts; and
Section lines 3-3 (Fig. 2), 6-6, and 7-7 (Fig. 5) are not discussed in the Specification.
Specification
The Abstract of the Disclosure (“Abstract”) is objected to because it includes self-evident language (line 1: “are disclosed”). A corrected Abstract is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b). Any replacement Abstract must commence on a separate sheet, apart from any other text, 37 C.F.R. §§ 1.52(b)(4), 1.72(b), and include markings to show added and deleted text, 37 C.F.R. § 1.121(b)(2).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities (referencing the Specification’s paragraph numbers):
[0054], line 5, text should refer the reader to Figs. 6, 7 to see ref. no. 114;
[0060], lines 3-5 are inaccurate, as Figs. 2 and 3 show lumens 120, 122 empty and the device 102 in lumen 124.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2005/0228274, by Böse et al. (“Böse”).
Böse describes a system as claimed by Applicant, as follows.
Claim 1: A system (Fig. 1), comprising:
an elongate medical device (2) including:
a tubular body (2); and
a lumen (12a, 12b) terminating proximal of a distal end of the medical device (Fig. 2, showing closed distal ends of the lumens), the lumen configured to contain a fluid therein (lumens can contain fluid); and
a fluid-pressurizing means for pressurizing the fluid and, thereby, inducing a curve in at least a distal portion of the medical device under control of a user for steering the medical device through an anatomical lumen or a network of anatomical lumens (5; [0023], [0025]).
Claim 2: (The system of claim 1,) wherein the fluid-pressurizing means is also for depressurizing the fluid and, thereby, softening or reducing the curve in at least the distal portion of the medical device under the control of the user for the steering of the medical device through the anatomical lumen or the network of anatomical lumens ([0034], discussing depressurization).
Claim 3: (The system of claim 2,) wherein the fluid-pressurizing means is a pneumatic or hydraulic pump station including a pump configured to pressurize and depressurize the fluid ([0025], indicating that the fluid can be liquid or gas, and thus that the control device 5 is pneumatic or hydraulic).
Claim 4: (The system of claim 3,) wherein the pump station is configured with a processor, memory, and associated logic configured to pressurize the fluid along a continuum for a corresponding continuum of curvature in at least the distal portion of the medical device under the control of the user ([0031]-[0033], discussing recording, and thus a memory; ‘assigning’ a section of the catheter, thus indicating a processor to do the assigning and logic upon which the processor bases the assignment; ‘determining,’ indicating the same).
Claim 6: (The system of claim 1,) wherein the fluid is a gas ([0025]).
Claim 7: (The system of claim 1,) wherein the fluid is a liquid (id.).
Claim 8: (The system of claim 1,) wherein the lumen is offset from a central axis of the medical device to allow tension along a side of the medical device including the lumen and compression along an opposite side of the medical device from the lumen when the fluid is pressurized for inducing the curve in at least the distal portion of the medical device (see Fig. 3, showing lumena 12a-f offset from the center of lumen 14).
Claim 9: (The system of claim 8,) wherein the medical device further includes a signal-conducting means for conducting a signal along a length of the medical device, the signal-conducting means offset from the central axis of the medical device in the opposite side of the medical device from the lumen (signal conductors 15a-e; Fig. 3, showing a signal-conductor opposite each of the lumena).
Claim 12: (The system of claim 1,) wherein the medical device is a stylet, the tubular body of the stylet configured to be disposed in a lumen of another elongate medical device (device 2 is fully capable of being used as a stylet, e.g., having another interventional catheter mounted over it for insertion into a body cavity).
Claim 13: (The system of claim 12,) wherein the other elongate medical device is an intravenous catheter (same; the catheter is not claimed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Böse as applied to Claim 2 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 4,909,787, granted to Danforth (“Danforth”).
Böse describes a device substantially as claimed by Applicant; see above. It does not, however, expressly describe the exact nature of the subcomponent that provides the pressure to the fluid in its lumena 12a-f, and thus does not disclose that its fluid-pressurizing means is a syringe or bulb configured to pressurize and depressurize the fluid.
Danforth relates to catheters which can be steered by the application of fluid pressure to a closed offset lumen and is therefore from an art which is the same as, or very closely analogous to, those of Applicant’s claims. Danforth teaches that the fluid-pressurizing means of such a device can be a syringe (47) configured to pressurize and depressurize the fluid, which a person of ordinary skill in the art understands is a simple, cost-effective, commonly commercially available option for applying fluid pressure to a lumen of a catheter.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to construct Böse‘s device such that its fluid-pressurizing means is a syringe or bulb configured to pressurize and depressurize the fluid, because Danforth teaches doing so in closely related device, which a person of ordinary skill in the art understands is a simple, cost-effective, commonly commercially available option for applying fluid pressure to a lumen of a catheter.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Böse.
Böse describes a device substantially as claimed by Applicant; see above. Claim 10 further requires that the signal-conducting means is a wire configured to conduct electrical signals. Böse does not specify the exact nature of its bending sensors 15a-f; however, because it describes the controller 5 operating on signals from those sensors, including the aforementioned assigning and determining functions, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that of the several types of sensors that are permitted to be used in interventional medical devices (i.e., FDA approvable), those that conduct electricity through a wire are an industry accepted, inexpensive, and very old and commonplace form for the sensor, and its conductor, to take. Thus, it appears that Böse inherently discloses wire conductors.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to make the signal-conducting means of Böse’s device to be a wire configured to conduct electrical signals, because such is a well-known, FDA approvable, and industry accepted form of a signal conductor in interventional medical devices.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Böse as applied to Claim 9 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2021/0268233, by Bogusky et al. (“Bogusky”).
Böse describes a device substantially as claimed by Applicant; see above. It does not, however, describe that:
its signal-conducting means is a wire configured to conduct electrical signals (Claim 10); or
the signal-conducting means is an optical fiber configured to conduct optical signals (Claim 11).
Bogusky relates to interventional medical devices the stiffness of which can be changed using fluid pressure and is therefore from an art which is the same as, or very closely analogous to, those of Applicant’s claims. Bogusky teaches that the signal conductor for the bend sensors of such a device can be constructed with an optical fiber configured to conduct optical signals (Abstract: “a shape sensor (222, 314, 426) in the form of an optical fiber”), and that the sensor system can be constructed as EM sensors with conductive coils, i.e., wires ([0063]), so that the device can also be used to feed back to the user the shape of the distal end of the device when in use.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to construct the device and system of Böse such that signal-conducting means is a wire configured to conduct electrical signals or optical fiber configured to conduct optical signals, because Bogusky teaches that such a device can be constructed with either of these element so that the device can also be used to feed back to the user the shape of the distal end of the device when in use.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2007/0100235 describes a device very similar to Applicant’s, which is also read on by some of the current claims, but a redundant rejection has not been made.
The balance of the documents cited with this Office Action relate generally to interventional medical devices which are steerable by the application of fluid pressure to a closed lumen in the device.
/ADAM J. CERMAK/
Assistant Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3783
/BHISMA MEHTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783