DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. This is an office action in response to applicant's arguments and remarks filed on 29 July 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application. Claims 16-20 have been withdrawn and claims 1-15 are being examined herein.
Status of Objections and Rejections
3. The objection to the claims has been withdrawn in view of Applicant's amendment.
The rejection of claims 2 and 6-11 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn in view of Applicant's amendment.
The rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 102 as being anticipated by Sood et al. (US 10987440 B1, cited in prior office action) is withdrawn in view of Applicant's amendment.
New grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 are necessitated by the amendments.
Response to Arguments
4. In the arguments presented on p.8-9 of the amendment, the applicant argues that Sood et al. (US 10987440 B1, cited in prior office action) or Sood et al. (US 10987440 B1, cited in prior office action) in view of Hatti (US 20190030195 A1, cited in prior office action) does not teach the limitation of “while the UV light element is activatable only based on an active status of the visible light element”.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The limitation of “while the UV light element is activatable only based on an active status of the visible light element” is directed to the function of the apparatus (i.e., “activatable”). All the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by Sood and the apparatus of Sood is capable of only activating the UV light element when the visible light element is active. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the applicant' s invention (see MPEP §2114).
NOTE: this is a recitation of functional language, and so long as the prior art structure reads on the instant claimed structure, this limitation would be met because the same structure would be capable of the same function; in this case, Sood teaches wherein the at least one UV light element and the at least one visible light element are configured to be at least partially separately electrically actuated (“the controller 110 may control activation/deactivation of the UV light source 102 and/or the visible light source 126”, col. 5, lines 24-26, and “The control circuitry may include an auto-shut feature to deactivate the UV light source 102 (i.e., to switch the UV disinfection system 100 from the disinfection mode to the normal operation mode)”, col. 18, lines 32-35, Fig. 1); based on this at least partial and separate electrical actuation, the apparatus of Sood would fully be capable of only activating/deactivating the UV light source when the visible light has an active status.
Per MPEP 2114,II, claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control unit” in claims 3-5, 8, and 11-12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “while the UV light element is activatable only based on an active status of the visible light element”, to which the phrase “active status” is unclear. Active status can mean electrically connected and activatable (i.e., the visible light can be electrically connected to a power source and be turned off but still achieve an “active status”) or being on/activated. There is no mention of what “active status” means in Applicant’s disclosure, and the burden is shifted to the Applicant to provide further elaboration. The “active status” phrase will hereinafter be interpreted as the visible light being on.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1-9, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Sood et al. (US 10987440 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Sood teaches a system (disinfection system 100, Fig. 1) comprising: a lighting module (circuitry 128, Fig. 1) having at least one ultra-violet (UV) light element (UV source 102, Fig. 1) and at least one visible light element (visible source 126, Fig. 1),
wherein the at least one UV light element and the at least one visible light element are configured to be at least partially separately electrically actuated for the at least one visible light element to emit visible light while the at least one UV light element is off (“the controller 110 may control activation/deactivation of the UV light source 102 and/or the visible light source 126”, col. 5, lines 24-26, and “The control circuitry may include an auto-shut feature to deactivate the UV light source 102 (i.e., to switch the UV disinfection system 100 from the disinfection mode to the normal operation mode)”, col. 18, lines 32-35, Fig. 1).
Regarding the limitation of “wherein the lighting module is configured for insertion into a lighting receptacle in an interior of a vehicle”, this limitation is directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus. All the structural limitations of the claim have been disclosed by Sood and the apparatus of Sood is capable of being inserted into a receptacle within a vehicle. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the applicant’s invention (see MPEP §2114.I). NOTE: this is a recitation of functional language, and so long as the prior art structure reads on the instant claimed structure, this limitation would be met because the same structure would be capable of the same function; in this case, the lighting module is capable of being used within a vehicle (“the UV disinfection system 100 may be disposed at a counter in a bar, in a public transportation vehicle such as a bus, train, or subway, at a conference room table, or within any other suitable indoor public indoor space”, col. 15, lines 11-15), and any portion of the vehicle is considered a receptacle for the lighting module (see embodiments of Fig. 6 and Fig. 8, where Fig. 6 and 8 utilize disinfection system 100 in indoor spaces including vehicles, to which Fig. 8 shows a housing assembly 804 as a lighting module being inserted into a receptacle of the vehicle). Therefore, for purpose of compact prosecution, it is shown that the teachings of Sood teach the lighting module being inserted into a receptacle of the vehicle interior.
Because the at least one UV light element and the at least one visible light element are configured to be at least partially separately electrically actuated for the at least one visible light element to emit visible light while the at least one UV light element is off (“the controller 110 may control activation/deactivation of the UV light source 102 and/or the visible light source 126”, col. 5, lines 24-26), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to only activate/deactivate the UV light source only when the visible light has an active status; Sood recites the opposite manner (“The control circuitry may include an auto-shut feature to deactivate the UV light source 102 (i.e., to switch the UV disinfection system 100 from the disinfection mode to the normal operation mode)”, col. 18, lines 32-35, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, the limitations of “wherein the lighting module is a configured to be a replacement of an existing lighting module in a receptacle of said vehicle that includes an electrical connection for the existing lighting module” and “the lighting module configured to be placed into the same receptacle and connected to the same electrical connection without modifying the receptacle or the electrical connection, the existing lighting module having no UV light element”, these limitations are directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus. All the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by modified Sood and the apparatus of modified Sood is capable of installation into a preexisting receptacle for a visible light source (no UV light source) within a vehicle without modifying the receptacle or electrical connection. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the applicant’s invention (see MPEP §2114.I). NOTE: this is a recitation of functional language, and so long as the prior art structure reads on the instant claimed structure, this limitation would be met because the same structure would be capable of the same function; in this case, the lighting module (disinfection system 100, more specifically the housing assembly 804, Fig. 1 and 8-9, where the lighting module is installed within the vehicle already) is shown to be electrically incorporated to the interior of the vehicle having a preexisting receptacle/lighting assembly (with no UV light source) for the housing assembly 804 of Fig. 8-9 without modifying the receptacle or electrical connection. Therefore, for purpose of compact prosecution, it is shown that the teachings of Sood teach the lighting module being inserted into a receptacle of the vehicle interior.
Regarding claim 3, modified Sood teaches wherein the lighting module further comprises a control unit (controller 110, Fig. 1), a communication unit (communications circuitry 142, Fig. 1), and at least one switch (“the controller 110 may control activation/deactivation of the UV light source 102 and/or the visible light source 126, col. 5, lines 24-26, Fig. 1, implying the existence of a switch within the controller 110), wherein the communication unit and the at least one switch are operably coupled to the control unit (both are built into controller 110, Fig. 1), the control unit configured to actuate the at least one switch to activate the at least one UV light element for emitting UV light responsive to receiving a designated control signal over the communication unit from an external source (controller 110 activates UV light source 102 via implied switch in response to receiving a control signal of I/O devices 138 via communication circuitry 142 from user interface/external source 136, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Sood teaches wherein the communications unit (communications circuitry 142, Fig. 1) comprises a wireless transceiver (“The communications circuitry 142 may include antennas, radio transceiver circuits, and signal processing hardware and/or software (e.g., hardware or software filters, A/D converters, multiplexers, amplifiers), or a combination thereof, and that may be configured to communicate over wireless communication paths via infrared (IR) wireless communication, satellite communication, broadcast radio, microwave radio, Bluetooth, Zigbee, Wifi, UHF, NFC, etc.”, col. 6, lines 1-8) configured to receive the designated control signal over a wireless communications channel from the external source, the external source including a control server at a dispatch center.
Regarding the limitation of “the external source including a control server at a dispatch center”, this limitation is directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus. All the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by modified Sood and the apparatus of modified Sood is capable of receiving a control signal over a wireless communications channel from an external source such as a dispatch center. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the applicant’s invention (see MPEP §2114). NOTE: this is a recitation of intended use, and so long as the prior art structure reads on the instant claimed structure, this limitation would be met because the same structure would be capable of the same function; in this case, anyone or any place that has a wireless communication path mentioned in the above paragraph has the ability to access and provide user input to the UV disinfection system (Sood provides an example being a mobile app 144 on a mobile device being able to communicate with the controller 110, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, modified Sood teaches wherein the control unit is configured to actuate the at least one switch (controller 110 turns on/off the UV disinfection system), specifically UV light sources for successive spaced-apart designated time periods responsive to successively receiving different codes as the designated control signal from the external source (mobile app 144 in conjunction with I/O device 138 on user interface 136, Fig. 1, allows the user to turn on/off the UV light sources via manual setting via UV activation button 314 or automatic setting via target dosage 316, both settings which are a code type to controller 110, Fig. 3A, where Fig. 3A is a mobile app display of user interface 136 and is used in a disinfection system 100 in a vehicle 800, Fig. 8, “the overhead housing assembly 804 may output the information related to operation of the UV disinfection system 100 to the mobile app 144 (e.g. shown in FIG. 3A) via communication circuitry 142”, col. 20, lines 47-50).
Regarding claim 6, modified Sood teaches wherein, during the designated time periods, the at least one UV light element is activated for emitting UV light (UV activation button 314 showing light source is on when disinfection cycle is running, Fig. 3A) and, between the designated time periods, the at least one UV light element is off (“the target dosage may be fixed, and the mobile app 144 may be configured to automatically deactivate the UV light source 102 (e.g., shown in FIG. 2) upon reaching the target dosage”, col. 9, lines 16-19, Fig. 1 and 3A), the UV light emitted by each of the at least one UV light element in each of the designated time periods individually being less than a designated threshold for safe exposure of humans to the UV light (“the target dosage may include a range of 1-20 millijoule/cm-2--”, col. 3, lines 57-58, where applicant’s specification [0048] mentions “if a designated maximum safe level of UV-C light exposure for humans is 6mJ/cm2/day (which is a typical value), the designated time period 76 may be selected so that UV light generated during the time period in the vehicle is from 0.5mJ/cm2 to 2mJ/cm2, e.g., 1mJ/cm2”; the range as claimed by Sood (1-20 mJ/cm2) is more broad than the value of 1 mJ/cm2 of the applicant – however, the user can adjust target dosage via target dosage button 312, Fig. 3A, allowing the user to set a specific value of 1 mJ/cm2 for any disinfection cycle; thus there is sufficient specificity to anticipate the limitation), relative to a closest distance between the at least one UV light element and designated positions of humans as passengers in the interior of the vehicle (“the controller 110 may be configured to calculate, via an algorithm, the distance 108 between the target location 106 and the UV light source 102. The distance 108 may be calculated in real-time such that the controller 110 may monitor the actual dosage in real-time”, col. 4, lines 20-24).
Regarding claim 7, modified Sood teaches wherein application of the UV light to interior surfaces of said vehicle during an aggregate of the designated time periods over a designated time horizon is sufficient to reduce microbial contamination of the interior surfaces (“The UV disinfection system 100 is configured to at least partially inactivate pathogens in the exposed air, on passenger seats 802 and/or other surfaces in the vehicle 800”, Fig. 8, where the disinfection cycle shown in Fig. 3A allows the user or the controller 110 to adjust dosage of the UV light to achieve reduction in pathogens).
Regarding claim 8, modified Sood teaches wherein the control unit (controller 110 as part of disinfection system 100 present in vehicle 800, Fig. 1 and 8) is configured to receive a sensor signal from a sensor onboard said vehicle (motion sensor 134, Fig. 8), the control unit configured to control activation of the at least one UV light element responsive to the sensor signal meeting one or more designated criteria (“based on additional data from the motion sensor and/or the UV sensor 114 which is calibrated based on the installed…, the overhead housing assembly 804 may determine that a person is not sitting within the vehicle 800 and maintain/allow operation of the UV light source 102”, col. 21, lines 21-28, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 9, modified Sood teaches wherein the sensor signal is indicative of one or more of sound within the interior of said vehicle, movement within the interior of said vehicle, movement of said vehicle, a location of said vehicle, an acceleration of said vehicle, actuation of a door of said vehicle, a presence of one or more persons onboard said vehicle, or an absence of the one or more persons onboard said vehicle (motion sensor 134 in conjunction with infrared sensor 132 to determine whether a person is in the vehicle, see col. 21, 1st paragraph and Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 11, modified Sood teaches wherein the control unit (controller 110, Fig. 1) is configured to at least one of control opening of a door of said vehicle or activate at least one warning device in the interior of said vehicle concurrently with or just prior to activation of the at least one UV light element (“The sound signal may be configured to cause the speaker device 146 to output an audio cue to provide an indication that the UV light source 102 is active”, col. 6, lines 24-27).
Regarding claim 12, modified Sood teaches wherein the control unit (controller 110, Fig. 1) is configured to actuate the at least one switch to activate the at least one UV light element for emitting UV light (UV source 102, Fig. 1) only responsive to both receiving the designated control signal over the communication unit from the external source (target dosage button 312, where “the target dosage may be fixed, and the mobile app 144 may be configured to automatically deactivate the UV light source 102 (e.g., shown in FIG. 2) upon reaching the target dosage”, col. 9, lines 16-19) and receiving a second control signal from a user-actuated input (UV light switch 314, Fig. 3A, where the user can turn the light source on/off).
Regarding claim 13, modified Sood teaches wherein the lighting module further comprises at least one UV sensor configured to generate a UV sensor signal indicative of UV light emitted by the at least one UV light element (UV sensor 114, Fig. 1 and 8, where “the UV disinfection system 100 may include a UV sensor 114 (e.g., distance sensor) configured to detect UV light 116 reflected from the target location 106 (e.g., target surface)”, col. 4, lines 14-16).
Regarding claim 14, modified Sood teaches wherein the lighting module further comprises a control unit (controller 110 having processor 118 and memory 120, Fig. 1) and a communication unit operably coupled to the control unit (communications circuitry 142, Fig. 1), and wherein the control unit is configured to control the communication unit to communicate information of the UV sensor signal to an external source (“the UV sensor 114 is configured to output reflected UV light 116 data (e.g., a distance input signal) to the controller 110. Using data from the reflected UV light 116, the controller 110 may be configured to calculate, via an algorithm, the distance 108 between the target location 106 and the UV light source 102”, col. 4, lines 20-23, shown on distance indicator 308, Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 15, Sood teaches wherein the lighting module includes a housing (housing assembly 804, Fig. 9) in which the at least one UV light element and the at least one visible light element are disposed (UV source 102 and visible light source 126, Fig. 9).
12. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sood et al. (US 10987440 B1) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Hatti et al. (US 20190030195 A1).
Regarding claim 10, modified Sood teaches infrared sensors for the detection of humans within said vehicle (infrared sensors 132, Fig. 8), where the control unit (controller 110, Fig. 1) is configured to communicate information of the signal to the external source for the external source to generate the control signal based at least in part on the information of the signal (“the overhead housing assembly 804 may include components configured to detect the information related to operation of the UV disinfection system 100 that is displayed via the display 140 and/or mobile app 144. For example, the overhead housing assembly 804 may include the infrared sensor 132 set forth above”, col. 20, lines 60-65, and as a result, “Based at least in part on the temperature data and/or motion data, the controller 110 may determine whether a person is disposed in a path of the UV light 104 emitted from the UV light source 102. In response to detecting a person in the path of the UV light 104, the controller 110 may output a deactivation signal to deactivate the UV light source 102”, col. 8, lines 20-26), but fails to explicitly teach a video signal recorded by the infrared sensor (i.e., IR video camera).
Hatti teaches a cabin UV disinfection system for an aircraft (Fig. 1) comprising a controller (33, Fig. 1), UV light sources (4, Fig. 1), and IR video cameras (occupancy sensors 3, Fig. 1, [0017-0018], and [0032]), to which the IR video cameras send a video signal to the controller (to which the controller is “configured to actuate the one or more UVC radiation to disinfect a selected zone of the cabin depending on whether the sensor has sensed personnel in the selected zone”, [0004], for the purpose of “to detect a person's body temperature whereby to detect the presence of a person”, [0018]).
Sood and Hatti are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of UV disinfection systems with sensor input signals and controller output signals to the disinfection system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the infrared sensors of Sood by incorporating an IR video camera as a sensor as taught by Hatti in order to detect a person’s body temperature and the presence of a person within the cabin (Hatti, [0017-0018]).
Conclusion
13. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Aham Lee/Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758