DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues “Nowhere does Lai teach or suggest: (a) converting a plurality of features extracted from CSI data to a plurality of scores. Rather, and as highlighted above, Lai discloses that a similarity score is computed based on a pair of temporally adjacent CI of a TSCI associated with the current movement of the object. There is no mention of converting features extracted from CI into scores”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Lai discloses that CI (channel information) can be CSI (0202). Lai discloses that TSCI is extracted from the collected CI (0109), and further discloses that the TSCI data is associated with movement of an object; thus, extracted features. Lai further discloses that scores are calculated based on TSCI, thus features are converted. The claims do not define how the extracted features are converted; the claims simply state that the features are converted. Hence, the claims do not exclude computing/calculating of scores from extracted features, as disclosed by Lai.
Applicant argues “CSI data be processed at a granularity of individual antenna elements and then aggregated to produce features per data link. This multi- AP aggregation architecture provides spatial diversity that improves sensing accuracy across an environment”.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “individual antenna elements and then aggregated to produce features per data link”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues other features that are not claimed. For example, applicant argues that each antenna provides an independent feature.
Thus, all the claimed and argued limitations have been met.
In the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner is open to an interview to discuss how to move the prosecution forward.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190327124 A1 herein Lai in view of US 20220299619 A1 herein Hu.
Claim 1, Lai discloses a method comprising:
obtaining Channel State Information (CSI) data associated with a plurality of links between a plurality of Access Points (APs) that provide coverage to an area (Fig. 5, 502, channel information collection of a wireless multipath channel; 0202, Channel information can be CSI; Since a multipath environment thus plurality of antenna, Fig. 5, 504);
extracting a plurality of features from the CSI data (Fig. 5, 504); converting the plurality of features to a plurality of scores (0110, Each similarity score may be based on a pair of temporally adjacent CI of the TSCI associated with the current movement of the object); and
classifying motion in sub-areas of the area based on a comparison of the plurality of scores to a threshold for the area (0110, current movement of the object; 0111, threshold of score), wherein the threshold is determined based upon data collected when no motion occurred in the area (0111, null movement); wherein each of the plurality of APs comprises a plurality of antennas (0176, multiple antennas on device type 1 and device type 2).
Lai may not explicitly disclose, wherein aggregating the plurality of features across antennas of the plurality of APs comprises:
determining a feature per antenna per data link, and aggregating features across antennas to create creatine aggregated features per data link of the plurality of data links, and
aggregating features across antennas to create aggregated features per data link of the plurality of data links, and
converting the aggregated features per data link to a score.
Hu discloses wherein aggregating the plurality of features across antennas of the plurality of APs comprises:
determining a feature per antenna per data link, and aggregating features across antennas to create creatine aggregated features per data link of the plurality of data links (0161-0164, TSCI based on antennas of different devices, i.e. multiple TSCI per antennae of the device, link between devices comprises links or paths between multiple antennas of the transmitter and receiver and each link is associated with a TSCI; 0165, TSCI associated with an antenna), and
aggregating features across antennas to create aggregated features per data link of the plurality of data links (0278, 0323-0324, aggregating the links of the different TSCI), and
converting the aggregated features per data link to a score (0206, computing similarity score based on CI from different or adjacent TSCI; 0323, 0324). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lai to include processing of time series of channel information (TSCI) as taught by Hu so as to provide greater accurate motion detection for security and potential energy saving (0050-0051).
Claim 2, Lai discloses wherein extracting the plurality of features comprises determining the plurality of features on a per antenna, per link basis (0197).
Claim 3, Lai discloses wherein extracting the plurality of features comprises smoothing the plurality of features (0229).
Claim 4, Lai discloses wherein extracting the plurality of features comprises calibrating the plurality of features (0229, Claim 3).
Claim 5, Lai discloses wherein extracting the plurality of features comprises aggregating the plurality of features across antennas (0229).
Claim 6, Lai discloses further comprising generating a heatmap, wherein generating the heatmap comprises projecting the plurality of scores on a two- dimensional image (0184).
Claim 7, Lai discloses wherein the heatmap comprises pixel values that indicate a likelihood of movement at each pixel location (0191).
Claim 8, Lai discloses wherein obtaining the CSI data comprises obtaining the CSI data during Neighbor Discovery Protocol (NDP) exchanges (0555, 0556).
Claim 9, Lai discloses wherein the plurality of features comprises correlations between consecutive subcarrier vectors per antenna over time (0109, TSCI).
Claim 10, Lai discloses wherein the plurality of features comprises a ratio of a first singular value of Singular Value Decomposition (SVD) (0229).
Claim 11, Lai discloses wherein the plurality of features comprises an absolute difference of consecutive variance across subcarriers over time (0115).
Claim 12, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 1.
Claim 13, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 2.
Claim 14, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 3.
Claim 15, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 4.
Claim 16, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 5.
Claim 17, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 1.
Claim 18, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 9.
Claim 19, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 10.
Claim 20, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 11.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20200271747 A1 - Methods, apparatus and systems for wireless inertial measurement are described. In one embodiment, a described system comprises a transmitter transmitting a wireless signal, a receiver, and a processor. The receiver is configured for: receiving the wireless signal through a wireless multipath channel, and extracting a plurality of time series of channel information (TSCI) of the wireless multipath channel from the wireless signal. One of the transmitter and the receiver is a stationary device, and the other one is a moving device moving with an object. The processor is configured for: determining that a first channel information (CI) at a first time of a first TSCI associated with a first antenna of the moving device matches a second CI at a second time of a second TSCI associated with a second antenna of the moving device, wherein both the first TSCI and the second TSCI are associated with a same antenna of the stationary device; computing at least one movement parameter and a spatial-temporal information (STI) of the moving device; and tracking at least one of the object and the moving device based on the STI.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Mehmood B. Khan/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2419