DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) have been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 9/25/2026. As directed by the amendment: claim(s) 1, 7,14, and 20 have been amended. Thus, claims 1-4, 6-14, and 16-20 are presently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claim(s) 1, 14, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 9504511 A1, henceforth written as Smith.
Regarding Claim 1,
Smith discloses:
A puncture site patch, comprising:
(patch 1 of embodiment of fig 3-4; fig 1-4)
an -- membrane, wherein the -- membrane further including an exterior face and an interior face;
(target zone 7 on membrane comprising top layer 12; fig 3-4)
a spacer including an outer face and an inner face, wherein the outer face of the spacer is coupled to the interior face of the elastomeric, self-sealing membrane;
(base layer 11; fig 4)
wherein the spacer further includes an aperture,
( aperture (not enumerated/illustrated) formed by pentrattion of patch 1's target zone 7 with a cannula/needle; fig 3)
the aperture forming a cavity defined by the interior face of the -- membrane, spacer, and skin when applied to a user;
(fig 4 best illustrating a side view of a cavity spanning from top layer 12 through an needle penetration aperture axis and toward a skin surface)
an adhesive film configured to adhere to skin, the adhesive film on the inner face of the spacer;
(adhesive 4; fig 1+4)
at least one elongated tab moveable between a first position and a second position
( elongated tab comprises cover flap 5 and backing flap 14; fig 3a illustrating a first position and fig 3d illustrating a second position)
wherein the at least one elongated tab includes: a length greater than a length from a point on a perimeter defining the aperture farthest away in an extending direction from the elongated tab to a base end of the elongated tab, and a width greater than a width of the aperture;
(fig 1-3)
wherein in the first position the at least one elongated tab extends outward from a periphery of the spacer;
(fig3a)
and wherein in the second position at least one elongated tab is folded over the aperture to completely seal the cavity closed by the at least one elongated tab,
(fig 3d and page 10 line 4-6, all contaminated are -therein including the claimed aperture/cavity- are securely protected and consequently completely sealed by the flap 5 and flap 14)
when in the second position, the at least one elongated tab adheres to the spacer via the adhesive film to complete the seal of the cavity
(fig 3d and page 10 line 4-6, all contaminated are -therein including the claimed aperture/cavity- are securely protected and consequently completely sealed by the flap 5 and flap 14)
Smith discloses the elements of the present claim, as described above. Yet, its present embodiment is silent on:
an elastomeric, self-sealing membrane
However Smith teaches in an alternative embodiment:
an elastomeric, self-sealing membrane
(page 12 line 8-15; patch 1, including zone 7, is formed from a elastomeric resealing material)
Examiner notes in page 17 line 1-14 details that its embodiments may be advantageously combined
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the resealing elastomeric material taught by Smith’ alternative embodiment to Smith’s primary embodiment in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which is enabled to receive multiple injections over a period of time, see page 12 line 8-15 of Smith.
The modified invention of Smith discloses the elements of the present claim, as described above. Yet, its present embodiment is silent on:
wherein the adhesive film extends onto at least a portion of the at least one elongated tab such that,
However Smith teaches in page 9 line 1-3 that its cover flap 5 is an element of patch 1. Further Smith teaches in page 10 line 21-22 adhesive may be provide on a bottom side of patch 1 for adhering the dressing to skin. Specifically Smith’s page 10 line 24-34, that adhesive may be provided to a side of patch aligned with cover 5 for the securement of cover 5 to areas of skin.
Notably, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B) provides that a modification of the prior art amounting to a mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Accordingly, duplicating the adhesive surface 4 on the underside of patch 1 of Smith such that the adhesive surface 4 extends across the underside of the cover 5 of patch 1 as well would similarly lack patentable significance as a new and unexpected result is not produced by such a modification.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Smith’s teachings that adhesive may be provided on a skin surface side of a patch into the modified invention of Smith, such that Smith’s adhesive film extends onto a skin surface side of Smith’s elongated tab, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which improves temporary securement of the invention to a user’s skin, see page 10 line 24-34 of Smith.
Regarding claim 4, Smith discloses:
The puncture site patch of claim 1 further comprising an axis running through a center of the aperture defining a first side of the spacer and a second side of the spacer, and wherein in the second position the puncture site patch is folded along the axis such that the first side of the spacer and second side of the spacer substantially overlap each other and the at least one elongated tab is folded over the substantially overlapping first and second sides of the spacer to seal the first and second sides of the spacer closed.
(such claim language of “folded along” implies a functional language and the prior art must at least be capable of performing the recited function of the patch folding/bending along the axis; accordingly in light of page 9 line 1-2 detailing that the patch 1 is formed of a thin foldable materials (e.g. silicone) and fig 3 illustrating the foldability of a such a material, accordingly the spacer of the invention would be functionally capable of the claimed bending/folding to overlap the claimed first and second sides of the spacer to seal the first and second sides of the spacer closed.)
Regarding claim 5, Smith discloses:
The puncture site patch of claim 1, wherein in the second position the at least one elongated tab is folded over the aperture to seal the cavity closed.
(fig 3d)
Regarding claim 6, Smith discloses:
The puncture site patch of claim 1 further comprising a release paper in contact with and completely covering the adhesive film, wherein the release paper is configured to be removed prior to application to skin.
(protective cover 30; fig 1)
Regarding Claim 9,
Smith discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above, including the following limitations of the present claim:
The puncture site patch of claim 1, wherein [the invention] further includes an antimicrobial agent.
( page 3 line 20-28; medicated substance impregnated in absorbent material 13 includes antimicrobial substances)
However, Smith is silent regarding:
wherein the elastomeric, self-sealing membrane further includes an antimicrobial agent.
However, Smith teaches that the patch itself may be impregnated/applied with a medicated substance page 9 line 28-30 and page 15 line 26-29.
Notably, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B) provides that a modification of the prior art amounting to a mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Accordingly, duplicating the medicated substance in the absorbent material of patch 1 of Smith such that there is a medicated substance in another part of patch 1 as well would similarly lack patentable significance as a new and unexpected result is not produced by such a modification.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to duplicate the antimicrobial medicated substance of Smith such that it is incorporated in another portion of Smith, and consequently disposed in the claimed element, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention with improved capabilities to ward off microbial contamination.
Regarding claim 10, Smith discloses:
The puncture site patch of claim 9, wherein the antimicrobial agent is incorporated into the elastomeric, self-sealing membrane during extrusion.
(see mpep 2113; page 9 line 29-30; medicated/antimicrobial substance may be impregnated into the dressing, therein having the same structural characteristics of the apparatus – and being substantially identical to – where the antimicrobial agent is incorporated via extrusion)
Regarding claim 11, Smith discloses:
The puncture site patch of claim 9, wherein the antimicrobial agent is a coating applied to the elastomeric, self-sealing membrane.
(see mpep 2113; page 9 line 29-30; medicated/antimicrobial substance may be applied at the time of use, therein having the same structural characteristics of the apparatus – and being substantially identical to – where the antimicrobial agent is incorporated via coating)
Claim 8, 14, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of US 7129389 B1, henceforth written as Watson.
Regarding Claim 8,
Smith discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above. However Smith is silent regarding:
wherein the elastomeric, self-sealing membrane is substantially transparent.
However, Watson teaches a dressing patch:
wherein the elastomeric, self-sealing membrane is substantially transparent.
(col 3 line 21-24; membrane 12 is transparent)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the transparent membrane teachings of Watson to the membrane disclosed by Smith in order to arrive at an invention which advantageously promotes needle-skin penetration by enabling an operator visualize the skin target throughout the insertion process.
Regarding Claim 14,
Smith discloses:
A puncture site patch, comprising:
(patch 1 of embodiment of fig 3-4; fig 1-4)
a -- membrane, wherein the -- membrane further including an exterior face and an interior face;
(target zone 7 on membrane comprising top layer 12; fig 3-4)
a spacer including an outer face and an inner face; wherein the outer face of the spacer is coupled to the interior face of the -- membrane;
(base layer 11; fig 4)
wherein the spacer further includes an aperture,
( aperture (not enumerated/illustrated) formed by pentrattion of patch 1's target zone 7 with a cannula/needle; fig 3)
the aperture forming a cavity defined by the interior face of the -- membrane, the spacer, and skin when applied to a user;
(fig 4 best illustrating a side view of a cavity spanning from top layer 12 through an needle penetration aperture axis and toward a skin surface)
an adhesive film configured to adhere to skin, the adhesive film on the inner face of the spacer;
(adhesive 4; fig 1+4)
an axis running through a center of the aperture defining a first side of the spacer and a second side of the spacer an elongated tab configured moveable between a first position and a second position
(fig 1-4)
wherein the elongated tab includes a length greater than a length from a point on a perimeter defining the aperture farthest away in an extending direction from the elongated tab to a base end of the elongated tab, and a width greater than a width of the aperture;
(fig 1+3)
wherein in the first position the elongated tab extends outward from a periphery of the spacer;
(fig 3a)
and wherein in the second position the puncture site patch is folded over the axis and over the aperture to completely seal the cavity with the elongated tab: - in the second position, the at least one elongated tab adheres to the spacer via the adhesive film to complete the seal of the cavity
(fig 3d)
Smith discloses the elements of the present claim, as described above. Yet, its present embodiment is silent on:
an elastomeric, self-sealing membrane
However Smith teaches in an alternative embodiment:
an elastomeric, self-sealing membrane
(page 12 line 8-15; patch 1, including zone 7, is formed from a elastomeric resealing material)
Examiner notes in page 17 line 1-14 details that its embodiments may be advantageously combined
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the resealing elastomeric material taught by Smith’ alternative embodiment to Smith’s primary embodiment in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which is enabled to receive multiple injections over a period of time, see page 12 line 8-15 of Smith.
The modified invention of Smith discloses the elements of the present claim, as described above. Yet, its present embodiment is silent on:
wherein the adhesive film extends onto at least a portion of the at least one elongated tab such that,
However Smith teaches in page 9 line 1-3 that its cover flap 5 is an element of patch 1. Further Smith teaches in page 10 line 21-22 adhesive may be provide on a bottom side of patch 1 for adhering the dressing to skin. Specifically Smith’s page 10 line 24-34, that adhesive may be provided to a side of patch aligned with cover 5 for the securement of cover 5 to areas of skin.
Notably, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B) provides that a modification of the prior art amounting to a mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Accordingly, duplicating the adhesive surface 4 on the underside of patch 1 of Smith such that the adhesive surface 4 extends across the underside of the cover 5 of patch 1 as well would similarly lack patentable significance as a new and unexpected result is not produced by such a modification.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Smith’s teachings that adhesive may be provided on a skin surface side of a patch into the modified invention of Smith, such that Smith’s adhesive film extends onto a skin surface side of Smith’s elongated tab, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which improves temporary securement of the invention to a user’s skin, see page 10 line 24-34 of Smith.
Smith discloses the elements of the present claim, as described above. Yet, its present embodiment is silent on:
wherein the elastomeric, self-sealing membrane is substantially transparent.
However, Watson teaches a dressing patch:
wherein the elastomeric, self-sealing membrane is substantially transparent.
(col 3 line 21-24; membrane 12 is transparent)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the transparent membrane teachings of Watson to the membrane disclosed by Smith in order to arrive at an invention which advantageously promotes needle-skin penetration by enabling an operator visualize the skin target throughout the insertion process.
Regarding Claim 17,
Smith discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above, including the following limitations of the present claim:
The puncture site patch of claim 1, wherein [the invention] further includes an antimicrobial agent.
( page 3 line 20-28; medicated substance impregnated in absorbent material 13 includes antimicrobial substances)
However, Smith is silent regarding:
wherein the substantially transparent elastomeric, self-sealing membrane further includes an antimicrobial agent.
However, Smith teaches that the patch itself may be impregnated/applied with a medicated substance page 9 line 28-30 and page 15 line 26-29.
Notably, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B) provides that a modification of the prior art amounting to a mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Accordingly, duplicating the medicated substance in the absorbent material of patch 1 of Smith such that there is a medicated substance in another part of patch 1 as well would similarly lack patentable significance as a new and unexpected result is not produced by such a modification.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to duplicate the antimicrobial medicated substance of Smith such that it is incorporated in another portion of Smith, and consequently disposed in the claimed element, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention with improved capabilities to ward off microbial contamination.
Regarding claim 18, Smith in view of Watson discloses:
The puncture site patch of claim 17, wherein the antimicrobial agent is incorporated into the elastomeric, self-sealing membrane during extrusion.
Smith: (see mpep 2113; page 9 line 29-30; medicated/antimicrobial substance may be impregnated into the dressing, therein having the same structural characteristics of the apparatus – and being substantially identical to – where the antimicrobial agent is incorporated via extrusion)
Regarding claim 19, Smith in view of Watson discloses:
The puncture site patch of claim 17, wherein the antimicrobial agent is a coating applied to the elastomeric, self-sealing membrane.
Smith: (see mpep 2113; page 9 line 29-30; medicated/antimicrobial substance may be applied at the time of use, therein having the same structural characteristics of the apparatus – and being substantially identical to – where the antimicrobial agent is incorporated via coating)
Regarding Claim 20,
Smith discloses:
A puncture site patch, comprising:
(patch 1 of embodiment of fig 3-4; fig 1-4)
a -- membrane, wherein the -- membrane further including an exterior face an interior face --;
(target zone 7 on membrane comprising top layer 12; fig 3-4)
a spacer including an outer face and an inner face; wherein the outer face of the spacer is coupled to the interior face of the -- membrane;
(base layer 11; fig 4)
wherein the spacer further includes an aperture,
( aperture (not enumerated/illustrated) formed by pentrattion of patch 1's target zone 7 with a cannula/needle; fig 3)
the aperture forming a cavity defined by the interior face of the -- membrane, the spacer, and skin when applied to a user;
(fig 4 best illustrating a side view of a cavity spanning from top layer 12 through an needle penetration aperture axis and toward a skin surface)
an adhesive film configured to adhere to skin, the adhesive film on the inner face of the spacer;
(adhesive 4; fig 1+4)
an axis running through a center of the aperture defining a first side of the spacer and a second side of the spacer an elongated tab configured moveable between a first position and a second position
(fig 1-4)
wherein the elongated tab includes a length greater than a length from a point on a perimeter defining the aperture farthest away in an extending direction from the elongated tab to a base end of the elongated tab, and a width greater than a width of the aperture;
(fig 1+3)
wherein in the first position the elongated tab extends outward from a periphery of the spacer;
(fig 3a)
and wherein in the second position the puncture site patch is folded over the axis and over the aperture to completely seal the cavity with the elongated tab: - in the second position, the at least one elongated tab adheres to the spacer via the adhesive film to complete the seal of the cavity
(fig 3d)
Smith discloses the elements of the present claim, as described above. Yet, its present embodiment is silent on:
an elastomeric, self-sealing membrane
However Smith teaches in an alternative embodiment:
an elastomeric, self-sealing membrane
(page 12 line 8-15; patch 1, including zone 7, is formed from a elastomeric resealing material)
Examiner notes in page 17 line 1-14 details that its embodiments may be advantageously combined
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the resealing elastomeric material taught by Smith’ alternative embodiment to Smith’s primary embodiment in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which is enabled to receive multiple injections over a period of time, see page 12 line 8-15 of Smith.
The modified invention of Smith discloses the elements of the present claim, as described above. Yet, its present embodiment is silent on:
wherein the adhesive film extends onto at least a portion of the at least one elongated tab such that,
However Smith teaches in page 9 line 1-3 that its cover flap 5 is an element of patch 1. Further Smith teaches in page 10 line 21-22 adhesive may be provide on a bottom side of patch 1 for adhering the dressing to skin. Specifically Smith’s page 10 line 24-34, that adhesive may be provided to a side of patch aligned with cover 5 for the securement of cover 5 to areas of skin.
Notably, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B) provides that a modification of the prior art amounting to a mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Accordingly, duplicating the adhesive surface 4 on the underside of patch 1 of Smith such that the adhesive surface 4 extends across the underside of the cover 5 of patch 1 as well would similarly lack patentable significance as a new and unexpected result is not produced by such a modification.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Smith’s teachings that adhesive may be provided on a skin surface side of a patch into the modified invention of Smith, such that Smith’s adhesive film extends onto a skin surface side of Smith’s elongated tab, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which improves temporary securement of the invention to a user’s skin, see page 10 line 24-34 of Smith.
Smith discloses the elements of the present claim, as described above. Yet, its present embodiment is silent on:
wherein the elastomeric, self-sealing membrane is substantially transparent.
However, Watson teaches a dressing patch:
wherein the elastomeric, self-sealing membrane is substantially transparent.
(col 3 line 21-24; membrane 12 is transparent)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the transparent membrane teachings of Watson to the membrane disclosed by Smith in order to arrive at an invention which advantageously promotes needle-skin penetration by enabling an operator visualize the skin target throughout the insertion process.
However, Smith is silent regarding:
wherein the elastomeric, self-sealing membrane includes an antimicrobial agent.
However, Smith teaches that the patch itself may be impregnated/applied with a medicated substance page 9 line 28-30 and page 15 line 26-29.
Notably, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B) provides that a modification of the prior art amounting to a mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Accordingly, duplicating the medicated substance in the absorbent material of patch 1 of Smith such that there is a medicated substance in another part of patch 1 as well would similarly lack patentable significance as a new and unexpected result is not produced by such a modification.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to duplicate the antimicrobial medicated substance of Smith such that it is incorporated in another portion of Smith, and consequently disposed in the claimed element, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention with improved capabilities to ward off microbial contamination.
Claims 2-3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith or Smith in view of Watson, as applied to claim 1 and 14 above, in view of US 4781712 A, henceforth written as Barabino.
Regarding Claim 2,
Smith discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above, including the following limitations of the present claim:
The puncture site patch of claim 1, wherein the at least one elongated tab is a first elongated tab wherein the first -- elongated tabs each extend outward from the periphery of the spacer
(cover flap 5 and flap 14 extend away from zone 7 of patch 1; fig 1-4)
However Smith is silent regarding:
-- and the puncture site patch further includes a second elongated tab, wherein the first and second elongated tabs each extend outward from the periphery of the spacer and are disposed directly opposing each other.
However, Barabino teaches a folded absorptive dermatological medical device:
and [the invention] further includes a second elongated tab, wherein the first and second elongated tabs each extend outward from the periphery of the [center of the invention] and are disposed directly opposing each other.
(col 4 line 57 to col 5 line 38; absorbent pad 10 can have its opposingly disposed elongate tabs panel 20 & liner 22 and wrapper panel 16 & wrapper panel 18, folded to overlap with eachother and provide an improved seal of the used inner contents of pad 10; fig 1-4)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the multiple opposing tab teachings of Barabino to the modified puncture site patch disclosed by Smith, such that Barabino’s second elongated tab is disposed opposite Smith’s elongated tab as well as subsequent elongate tabs of Barabino are disposed perpendicular to Smith’s elongated tab, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention with improved sealing means for protecting a user from contamination during the disposal of a used medical product, see col 4 line 57 to col 5 line 38 of Barabino.
Regarding claim 3, Smith and Barabino teaches:
The puncture site patch of claim 2, wherein in the second position the first and second elongated tabs substantially overlap each other.
Examiner notes that in light of the modification of Smith and Barabino above, the incorporated multitude of elongated tabs overlap with one another so as to improve the sealing of the contaminated underside of Smith’s patch 1 when the modified invention is in the claimed second position.
Regarding Claim 16,
Smith in view of Watson discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above, including the following limitations of the present claim:
The puncture site patch of claim 14, wherein the at least one elongated tab is a first elongated tabwherein the first -- elongated tabs each extend outward from the periphery of the spacer
(cover flap 5 and flap 14 extend away from zone 7 of patch 1; fig 1-4)
However Smith is silent regarding:
-- and the puncture site patch further includes a second elongated tab, wherein the first and second elongated tabs each extend outward from the periphery of the spacer and are disposed directly opposing each other.
However, Barabino teaches a folded absorptive dermatological medical device:
and [the invention] further includes a second elongated tab, wherein the first and second elongated tabs each extend outward from the periphery of the [center of the invention] and are disposed directly opposing each other.
(col 4 line 57 to col 5 line 38; absorbent pad 10 can have its opposingly disposed elongate tabs panel 20 & liner 22 and wrapper panel 16 & wrapper panel 18, folded to overlap with eachother and provide an improved seal of the used inner contents of pad 10; fig 1-4)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the multiple opposing tab teachings of Barabino to the modified puncture site patch disclosed by Smith, such that Barabino’s second elongated tab is disposed opposite Smith’s elongate tab as well as subsequent elongate tabs of Barabino are disposed perpendicular to Smith’s elongated tab, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention with improved sealing means for protecting a user from contamination during the disposal of a used medical product, see col 4 line 57 to col 5 line 38 of Barabino.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of US 20120082815 A1, henceforth written as Dehlinger.
Regarding Claim 7,
Smith discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above. However Smith is silent regarding:
wherein the at least one elongated tab further included deadened adhesive.
However, Dehlinger teaches a dressing patch:
wherein the at least one elongated tab further included deadened adhesive.
(paragraph 30; deadened adhesive is provided to promote removal of a protective release layer)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the deadened adhesive teachings of Dehlinger to the surface of the elongated tab disclosed by Smith in order to arrive at an invention which advantageously promotes removal of the protective release layer, see paragraph 30 of Dehlinger.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith, as applied to claim 9 above, in view of WO 2005049101 A1, henceforth written as Addison.
Regarding Claim 12,
Smith discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above. However Smith is silent regarding:
wherein the antimicrobial agent is a plurality of silver nanoparticles.
However, Addison teaches a dressing
wherein the antimicrobial agent is a plurality of silver nanoparticles.
( page 1 line 16-19; it is well known to use silver nanoparticles as a form of antimicrobial compound)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply Addison's teachings of specific antimicrobial agents to the antimicrobial agent disclosed by Smith as it has art recognized suitability for the intended purpose of deterring microbes, see MPEP 2144.07.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith, as applied to claim 9 above, in view of US 20110034887 A1, henceforth written as Forden.
Regarding Claim 13,
Smith discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above. However Smith is silent regarding:
wherein the antimicrobial agent is a carvacrol agent incorporated into the elastomeric, self-sealing, membrane at a concentration of about 0.01% to about 0.001%.
However, Forden teaches an antimicrobial agent
wherein the antimicrobial agent is a carvacrol agent incorporated into the elastomeric, self-sealing, membrane at a concentration of about 0.01% to about 0.001%.
(paragraph 78; any concentration of a blend of thymol and carvacrol is an effective antimicrobial agent, therein encompassing a concentration of “about 0.01% to about 0.001%”)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the specific antimicrobial agent teachings to the antimicrobial agent disclosed by Smith as it has art recognized suitability for the intended purpose of deterring microbes, see MPEP 2144.07.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FORREST B DIPERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/MICHAEL J TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783