DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Amendments to claims 6-8 overcome the previous 112(b) rejection. Accordingly, the 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant states in the instant case, a prima facie case of obviousness has not been established.
The examiner notes no arguments were presented as to how the claims avoid the combination of references or distinguish over them.
Applicant states the independent claims have been amended to generally recite, inter alia, rechargeable batteries are recharged by way of charging equipment stored onboard the trailer, the charging equipment comprising solar panels disposed on a roof of the trailer, wherein the charging equipment is configured to charge the batteries while the trailer is being towed.
Fisher (US 2023/0081083) discloses wherein the multiplicity of rechargeable batteries (206) are recharged by way of charging equipment (212) stored onboard the trailer (Par.119) (Fig.18), the charging equipment (212) comprises solar panels (322) disposed on a roof of the trailer (Fig.18) (Par.114).
Newly relied upon prior art Cowham (US 2015/0162865) discloses a mobile charging station (2) (Fig.2D) for charging batteries onboard multiple electrically powered vehicles (Par.38), comprising: a trailer comprising an onboard charging equipment configured to charge a multiplicity of rechargeable batteries while the trailer is being towed (Par.59-60) (Fig.1).
The amended claims are rejected under Fischer in view of Whitney, Freeling-Wilkinson and Cowham as seen below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, Line 17-19; and Claim 12, Lines 14-16 recite the limitation “the rechargeable batteries”.
Claim 1, Line 3; and Claim 12, Line 4 recite the limitation “a multiplicity of rechargeable batteries.
The limitation of Claim 1, Line 17-19; and Claim 12, Lines 14-16 is interpreted as reciting: the multiplicity of rechargeable batteries.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 7-10, 12-15, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, Line 22; and Claim 12, Line 19 recite the limitation “the batteries”.
Claim 1, Lines 1-2; and Claim 12, Lines 1-2 recite the limitation “batteries onboard multiple electrically powered vehicles”.
Claim 1, Line 3 recites the limitation “a trailer housing a multiplicity of rechargeable batteries”; and Claim 12, Line 4 recites the limitation “a multiplicity of rechargeable batteries within the trailer”.
It is unclear if the batteries recited in Claim 1, Line 22; and Claim 12, Line 19 are referring to the batteries onboard the vehicles, or they are referring to the multiplicity of rechargeable batteries housed on the trailer.
Claim 1, Line 22; and Claim 12, Line 19 is interpreted as reciting: the multiplicity of rechargeable batteries.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 10, 12-13, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fisher (US 2023/0081083; Provisional application 63/307,664 filed 2/8/2022) in view of Whitney (US 2023/0035958); Provisional application 63/203,692 filed 7/28/2021), Freeling-Wilkinson (US 2020/0324661) and Cowham (US 2015/0162865).
Claims 1 and 10: Fisher teaches a mobile charging station (300) (Fig.9) for charging batteries onboard multiple electrically powered vehicles (315) (Par.110), comprising:
a trailer housing a multiplicity of rechargeable batteries (206) (Fig.12) (Par.101);
multiple charge ports (314a-314c/ charging bays) disposed on the trailer and powered by the multiplicity of rechargeable batteries (206) (Par.102; The batteries provide power to the charging bays.);
each of the multiple charge ports (314a-314c/ charging bays) comprising a charging cable disposed on the trailer (Fig.8) for routing to each electrically powered vehicle (315) (Par.110);
each charging cable comprising a connector (plug) (Fig.8) and configured to be plugged into a charging port of the electrically powered vehicle (315) (Par.110);
wherein each of the charge ports (314a-314c/ charging bays) comprises a fast-charging system (Par.82 and 101);
each of the charge ports (314a-314c/ charging bays) comprises indicators (318 and 320) (Fig.17) configured to display information pertaining to charging the vehicle, including any one of a charging rate, charge status of the battery and total charge transferred to the battery (Par.111-112);
wherein the trailer is configured to receive electrical energy from an electrical grid (356) or a solar array (322) for recharging the multiplicity of rechargeable batteries (206) (Par.119) (Fig.18); and
wherein the multiplicity of rechargeable batteries (206) are recharged by way of charging equipment (212) stored onboard the trailer (Par.119) (Fig.18), the charging equipment (212) comprises solar panels (322) disposed on a roof of the trailer (Fig.18) (Par.114).
Fischer does not explicitly teach each charging cable comprising a charging cable; an elastic cable for supporting at least a portion of the weight of the charging cable; and wherein the elastic cable is coupled by way of a mount or mechanism disposed above each charge port.
Whitney teaches a charging cable (101) comprising a connector and configured to connect into a charging port of an electric vehicle (Fig.2C) (Par.3); and an elastic cable (203) for supporting at least a portion of the weight of the charging cable (101) (Par.8); wherein the elastic cable (203) is coupled by way of a mount or mechanism (200a) disposed above a port comprising the cable (101) (Fig.2B) (Par.8-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Whitney in the system of Fischer to have had kept the charging cables off the ground thereby decreasing premature wear and have had helped the operator manage the weight of each charging cable when charging a car (Par.8) thereby reducing strain on the operator’s body.
Furthermore, Fischer does not explicitly teach the indicators encompass a plurality of LEDs.
Freeling-Wilkinson teaches a charging station (100) (Fig.3) for charging batteries onboard electrically powered vehicles (300) (Par.42-43), comprising:
a plurality of LEDs (109) configured to display information pertaining to charging the vehicle, including any one of a charging rate, charge status of the battery and total charge transferred to the battery (Par.62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had substituted indicators for LEDs in the system of Fischer given that they are equivalent elements that produce the same results of providing information to a user (Par.62) as taught in Freeling-Wilkinson.
In addition, Fischer does not explicitly teach the charging equipment is configured to charge the multiplicity of rechargeable batteries while the trailer is being towed.
Cowham teaches a mobile charging station (2) (Fig.2D) for charging batteries onboard multiple electrically powered vehicles (Par.38), comprising:
a trailer comprising an onboard charging equipment configured to charge a multiplicity of rechargeable batteries while the trailer is being towed (Par.59-60) (Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Cowham in the system of Fischer to have had allowed sufficient solar power generation during transport to have had maintained the mobile charging station in a ready state (Par.58) thereby increasing efficiency of the system.
Claim 2: Fischer in view of Whitney, Freeling-Wilkinson and Cowham teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Fischer teaches the trailer comprising a truck trailer (Fig.19) that is configured to service five electrically powered vehicles (Par.110; Three charging ports are illustrated in one of the side walls of the trailer. However, more charging ports can be provided; including charging ports in both side walls.).
Fischer discloses the trailer can be a variety of lengths depending on the desired size and number of charging ports, including 20ft (Par.83). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the trailer be 19 feet if so desired.
Claim 7: Fischer in view of Whitney, Freeling-Wilkinson and Cowham teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Fischer does not explicitly teach wherein the charging equipment is configured to charge the multiplicity of rechargeable batteries while the trailer is being towed by a truck.
Cowham teaches the charging equipment is configured to charge the multiplicity of rechargeable batteries while the trailer is being towed by a truck (5) (Par.35 and 59-60) (Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Cowham in the system of Fischer to have had allowed sufficient solar power generation during transport to have had maintained the mobile charging station in a ready state (Par.58) thereby increasing efficiency of the system.
Claim 8: Fischer in view of Whitney, Freeling-Wilkinson and Cowham teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Fischer teaches the charging equipment comprises an onboard electric generator configured to recharge the multiplicity of rechargeable batteries (206) when needed (Par.109).
Claims 12 and 17: Fisher teaches a method for a mobile charging station (300) (Fig.9) for charging batteries onboard multiple electrically powered vehicles (315) (Par.110), comprising:
providing a trailer configured to be towed by a truck (360) (Fig.19);
housing a multiplicity of rechargeable batteries (206) within the trailer (Fig.12) (Par.101);
installing multiple charge ports (314a-314c/ charging bays) on the trailer (Fig.9);
powering the multiple charge ports (314a-314c/ charging bays) by way of the multiplicity of rechargeable batteries (206) (Par.102; The batteries provide power to the charging bays.);
each of the multiple charge ports (314a-314c/ charging bays) comprising a charging cable disposed on the trailer (Fig.8) (Par.110);
wherein each of the charge ports (314a-314c/ charging bays) comprises a fast-charging system (Par.82 and 101);
each of the charge ports (314a-314c/ charging bays) comprises indicators (318 and 320) (Fig.17) configured to display information pertaining to charging the vehicle, including any one of a charging rate, charge status of the battery and total charge transferred to the battery (Par.112-113);
configuring the trailer to receive electrical energy from at least one of an electrical grid (356) and a solar array (322) for recharging the multiplicity of rechargeable batteries (206) (Par.119) (Fig.18); and
wherein the rechargeable batteries (206) are recharged by way of charging equipment (212) stored onboard the trailer (Par.119) (Fig.18), the charging equipment (212) comprises solar panels (322) disposed on a roof of the trailer (Fig.18) (Par.114).
Fischer does not explicitly teach supporting the charging cable by way of an elastic cable; supporting the charging cable includes coupling the elastic cable by way of a mount or mechanism above each charging port.
Whitney teaches a charging cable (101) supported by way of an elastic cable (203) (Par.8); supporting the charging cable (101) includes coupling the elastic cable (203) by way of a mount or mechanism (200a) above a charging port comprising the charging cable (Fig.2B) (Par.8-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Whitney in the system of Fischer to have had kept the charging cable off the ground thereby decreasing premature wear and have had helped the operator manage the weight of the charging cable when charging a car (Par.8) thereby reducing strain on the operator’s body.
Furthermore, Fischer does not explicitly teach the indicators encompass a plurality of LEDs.
Freeling-Wilkinson teaches a charging station (100) (Fig.3) for charging batteries onboard electrically powered vehicles (300) (Par.42-43), comprising:
a plurality of LEDs (109) configured to display information pertaining to charging the vehicle, including any one of a charging rate, charge status of the battery and total charge transferred to the battery (Par.62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had substituted indicators for LEDs in the system of Fischer given that they are equivalent elements that produce the same results of providing information to a user (Par.62) as taught in Freeling-Wilkinson.
In addition, Fischer does not explicitly teach the charging equipment is configured to charge the multiplicity of rechargeable batteries while the trailer is being towed.
Cowham teaches a mobile charging station (2) (Fig.2D) for charging batteries onboard multiple electrically powered vehicles (Par.38), comprising:
a trailer comprising an onboard charging equipment configured to charge a multiplicity of rechargeable batteries while the trailer is being towed (Par.59-60) (Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Cowham in the system of Fischer to have had allowed sufficient solar power generation during transport to have had maintained the mobile charging station in a ready state (Par.58) thereby increasing efficiency of the system.
Claim 13: Fischer in view of Whitney, Freeling-Wilkinson and Cowham teach the limitations of claim 12 as disclosed above. Fischer teaches providing a truck trailer (Fig.19) that is configured to service five electrically powered vehicles (Par.110; Three charging ports are illustrated in one of the side walls of the trailer. However, more charging ports can be provided; including charging ports in both side walls.).
Fischer discloses the trailer can be a variety of lengths depending on the desired size and number of charging ports, including 20ft (Par.83). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the trailer be 19 feet if so desired.
Claim 19: Fischer in view of Whitney, Freeling-Wilkinson and Cowham teach the limitations of claim 12 as disclosed above. Fischer teaches wherein the rechargeable batteries (206) can be recharged by way of charging equipment (212) stored onboard the trailer (Par.119) (Fig.18).
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fisher (US 2023/0081083; Provisional application 63/307,664 filed 2/8/2022) in view of Whitney (US 2023/0035958); Provisional application 63/203,692 filed 7/28/2021), Freeling-Wilkinson (US 2020/0324661) and Cowham (US 2015/0162865) as applied to claims 2 and 12 above, and further in view of Wu et al. (US 2021/0323442).
Claims 3 and 14: Fischer in view of Whitney, Freeling-Wilkinson and Cowham teach the limitations of claims 2 and 12 as disclosed above. Fischer does not explicitly teach wherein the trailer houses about 2,500 or more lead-acid batteries for charging the electrically powered vehicles.
Wu teaches 2,500 or more lead-acid batteries (Par.15) for charging electrically powered vehicles (Par.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Wu in the system of Fischer to have had a number of cells that can be connected in series and/or parallel (Par.41) to obtain the necessary amount of voltage for powering the vehicles.
Claims 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fisher (US 2023/0081083; Provisional application 63/307,664 filed 2/8/2022) in view of Whitney (US 2023/0035958); Provisional application 63/203,692 filed 7/28/2021), Freeling-Wilkinson (US 2020/0324661) and Cowham (US 2015/0162865) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Laughner (US 2012/0109763).
Claims 9 and 15: Fischer in view of Whitney, Freeling-Wilkinson and Cowham teach the limitations of claims 1 and 12 as disclosed above. Fischer does not explicitly teach wherein each of the charge ports is capable of providing about 220 Volts.
Laughner teaches a mobile charging station (Fig.1) comprising: a charge port capable of providing about 220 Volts (Par.17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Laughner in the system of Fischer to have had provided an appropriate energy level for charging an electric vehicle (Par.17).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Tittle et al. (US 2016/0134140) teaches a mobile charging station (100) (Fig.5) comprising: a trailer (Par.30) (Fig.1) housing a rechargeable battery (604) (Par.43); multiple charge ports (502a-502e) disposed on the trailer (Fig.5) and powered by the rechargeable battery (604) (Fig.6) (Par.43); each of the multiple charge ports (502a-502e) comprising a charging cable (504) comprising a connector (electrical plug) (Fig.5) and configured to be plugged into a charging port of the electrically powered vehicle (Par.42).
Mailloux (US 2020/0180455) discloses a cable (112) supporting a weight of a charging cable (120) mounted above a charging port (Fig.1b-1c).
Lowe et al. (US 2023/0174008) discloses a trailer comprising one or more solar panels to provide power when in transit and/or when stationary (Par.100).
/JOHALI A TORRES RUIZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859