Response to Amendments
In response to the amendments filed 08/11/2025:
Claims 1-16 are pending in the current application. Claim 1 has been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose et al. (US 2009/0111019) in view of Mitsuhashi et al. (US 2015/0307719).
Regarding claim 1, Hirose teaches an electrode comprising a fluoropolyether group-containing compound on a surface of an electrode material wherein the electrode material contains a current collector layer including a metal material such as copper (P12.35-50..87.104-105).
Hirose teaching the general formula of claim 1, teaches the fluoropolyether group-containing compound should comprise a hydroxyl group or the like capable of being bound/absorbed on a surface of the active material comprising silicone or tin, wherein the perfluoropolyether comprises a silane group etc., (P89-108). The layer is added to have increased contact strength, improving chemical stability and added protection (P42-44.88-90.101-105.112-116).
Mitsuhashi also teaches a fluoropolyether group-containing compound, or perfluoropolyther comprising a silane compound etc., that should comprise a hydroxyl group or the like capable of being bound comprises a silane group etc teaches the electrode used to provide water and oil repellency, antifouling and can be used as a functional layer (P3.48.243-248.467-470). The layer may be in electronic devices and bonded with a layer comprising i.e., silicon, tin, ceramics, metals etc., for surface treating coating (P3.211.216.233-248.264.268-272).
Mitsuhashi teaches an article, which may comprise an electrode on a surface comprising a fluoropolyether group-containing compound, or PFPE containing silane, or surface treating agent, overlapping the claimed formula 1 (P53-62.100-110.243-247).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the fluoropolyether group containing compound of Mitsuhashi as the fluoropolyether group containing compound of Hirose to provide protection as a surface treatment coating. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a method of enhancing a particular class of devices (methods, or products) has been made part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art based upon the teaching of such improvement in other situations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known method of enhancement to a "base" device (method, or product) in the prior art and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2143 C Wherein Mitsuhashi teaches using a base material including those taught as the base material of Hirose, and used to form a strong protective connection the resulting structure would be obvious.
The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. MPEP 2143 B “It is well settled that the recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable.”
Regarding claim 2, modified Hirose in view of Mitsuhashi teaches wherein Rf1 is a C1-16 perfluoroalkyl group (P53-57).
Regarding claim 3, modified Hirose in view of Mitsuhashi teaches RF represented by the claimed formula wherein a and b are 0 and RFa is a fluorine atom (P53.58-60).
Regarding claim 4, modified Hirose in view of Mitsuhashi teaches RFa is a fluorine atom (P53.58-60).
Regarding claim 5, modified Hirose in view of Mitsuhashi teaches RF independently with groups of formula (f1), (f2), (f3), (f4), or (f5) (P53.58-60.199-200.229-230.363-364)
Regarding claim 6, modified Hirose in view of Mitsuhashi teaches wherein RF is f1’, where the claimed d is b of Mitsuhashi between 1 and 200 (P58).
Regarding claim 7, modified Hirose in view of Mitsuhashi teaches the formula with f2’ where a, b, c, and d are between 0 and 200 and have a sum between 10 and 200 (P58).
Regarding claim 8, modified Hirose in view of Mitsuhashi teaches wherein α, β, γ can be 1 (P53-62.100-119).
Regarding claim 9, modified Hirose in view of Mitsuhashi teaches wherein k1 is 3, and l1 and m1 are each 0, where p1 and r1 are each 0 and q1 can be 3 (P12-22.100-107).
Regarding claim 10, modified Hirose in view of Mitsuhashi teaches the fluoropolyether group-containing compound comprising two or more fluoropolyether group-containing compounds (P219-230).
Regarding claim 11, modified Hirose in view of Mitsuhashi teaches the article with the claimed fluoropolyether-group containing compound coated on a surface of a base material wherein the base surface of the base material may comprise an electrode (P243-247).
Regarding claim 12, modified Hirose in view of Mitsuhashi teaches a fluorine-containing oil (P219-220).
Regarding claim 13, modified Hirose teaches an electrochemical device comprising the electrode according to claim 1 (P101.112).
Regarding claim 14, modified Hirose teaches a lithium ion secondary battery (P101.112).
Regarding claim 15, modified Hirose teaches a module (P101-112).
Regarding claim 16, modified Hirose teaches a lithium ion secondary battery comprising the electrode of claim 1 (P101.112)
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honda et al. (WO 2018084265 A1 wherein US20200067097A1 is used for translation).
Regarding claim 1, Honda teaches an electrode comprising a fluoropolyether group-containing compound on a surface of an electrode material wherein the electrode material contains a current collector layer including a metal material (P10-11.378-379) wherein the fluoropolyether group containing compound is represented by that of Formula 1 and/or Formula 2 (P19-246.385-394)
Regarding claim 2, Honda teaches wherein Rf1 is a C1-16 perfluoroalkyl group (P37-41.61-69.164).
Regarding claim 3, Honda teaches RF represented by the claimed formula wherein a and b are 0 and RFa is a fluorine atom (P24-41).
Regarding claim 4, Honda teaches RFa is a fluorine atom (P24-41.53.58-60).
Regarding claim 5, Honda teaches RF independently with groups of formula (f1), (f2), (f3), (f4), or (f5) (P23-45)
Regarding claim 6, Honda teaches wherein RF is f1’, where the claimed d is b of Mitsuhashi between 1 and 200 (P26-27).
Regarding claim 7, Honda teaches the formula with f2’ where a, b, c, and d are between 0 and 200 and have a sum between 10 and 200 (P26-28).
Regarding claim 8, Honda teaches wherein α, β, γ can be 1 (P86.91-106).
Regarding claim 9, Honda teaches wherein k1 is 3, and l1 and m1 are each 0, where p1 and r1 are each 0 and q1 can be 3 (P12-22.50-85.99-240).
Regarding claim 10, Honda teaches the fluoropolyether group-containing compound comprising two or more fluoropolyether group-containing compounds (P10-19).
Regarding claim 11, Honda teaches a surface of the electrode is coated with the fluoropolyether group-containing compound (P10-16).
Regarding claim 12, Honda teaches comprising a fluorine containing oil, or provided with surface lubricity (P85.90-105).
Regarding claim 13, Honda teaches an electrochemical device comprising the electrode according to claim (P).
Regarding claim 14, Honda teaches a lithium ion secondary battery (P290-312).
Regarding claim 15, Honda teaches a module (P290-312.347.373).
Regarding claim 16, Honda teaches a lithium ion secondary battery comprising the electrode of claim 1 (P290-312).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues the new claim limitations overcome the previous showing of obviousness. The amendments overcome the previous rejections. New and amended grounds of rejection are above set forth. New and amended grounds of rejection are necessitated by the claim amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Amanda Rosenbaum/ Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/Helen Oi K CONLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752