DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9, and 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo (US 20060127751 A1), in view of Huang (US 20210408643 A1), Sugita (US 6432578 B1), and Rich (US 20130101891 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Woo teaches a multicell (abstract, [at least two positive electrode plates … at least two negative electrode plates]), comprising: a plurality of electrochemical cells disposed in a single pouch (Fig. 6, item 410 and para. 0054, [a can [410], an electrode assembly [412] contained in the can]), each of the plurality of electrochemical cells comprising: an anode (item 120a)(para. 0034, [at least one surface of the second electrode plate is coated with electrode active material [120a]) disposed on an anode current collector (Fig. 3, item 120a is disposed on item 115a, [second electrode plate]), the anode current collector including an anode tab (para. 0040, [the second electrode tab [117a] is coupled with the uncoated portion of the second electrode plate [115a]); a cathode (item 122a) (para. 0033, [one surface of the first electrode plate [113a] is coated with electrode active material [122a]) disposed on a cathode current collector (Fig. 3, item 122a is disposed on item 113a, [first electrode plate]), the cathode current collector including a cathode tab (para. 0040, [the first electrode tab 116a is coupled with the uncoated portion of the first electrode plate [113b]); and a separator disposed between the anode and the cathode (para. 0018, [a first separator interposed between the first positive electrode plate and the first negative electrode plate]), the cathode tab of the first electrochemical cell being offset from, and not having any overlap with, any other electrode tabs of the plurality of electrochemical cells so as to inhibit electrical contact therebetween (Fig. 3 shows the cathode tabs 116a and 116b are offset and do not overlap with tabs 117a and 117b, or any other tabs); and the cathode tab of the second electrochemical cell being offset from, and not having any overlap with, any other electrode tabs of the plurality of electrochemical cells so as to inhibit electrical contact therebetween (Fig. 3 shows the cathode tabs 116a and 116b are offset and do not overlap with tabs 117a and 117b, or any other tabs); and the cathode tab and the anode tab of the first electrochemical cell and the second electrochemical cell extending in the same direction (Fig. 3 shows that tabs 116a (cathode tab) and 117a (anode tab) of the first electrochemical cell extend in the same direction as tabs 116b (cathode tab) and 117b (anode tab) of the second electrochemical cell).
Woo further teaches a first extension tab (Fig. 3, item 116c) connected to the first connection point (Fig.3, item 124), the first extension tab extending outside the single pouch (Fig. 4 shows that when the cell is included in the can [pouch] item 416b (equivalent to 116c) extends outside of the pouch); and a second extension tab (Fig. 3, [item 117c]) connected to the second connection point (Fig. 3, item 125), the second extension tab extending outside the single pouch (Fig. 4 shows that when the cell is included in the can [pouch] item 417b (equivalent to 117c) extends outside of the pouch).
Woo does not teach:
wherein the cathode tab of a first electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells is aligned with and connected to the anode tab of a second electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells at a first connection point,
wherein the cathode tab of a second electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells is aligned with and connected to the anode tab of a third electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells at a second connection point
Huang, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches:
wherein the cathode tab of a first electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells is aligned with and connected to the anode tab of a second electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells at a first connection point (para. 0061, [the first cell and the second cell may be electrically connected via their tabs to form a series tab assembly]),
wherein the cathode tab of a second electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells is aligned with and connected to the anode tab of a third electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells at a second connection point (Huang, para. 0085, teaches that the battery assembly is composed of multiple cells, and specifically lists up to five electrochemical cells [items 600, 620, 640, 660, and 680] the second cell is connected to the third cell (Huang, para. 0085)) (Huang, para. 0094 teaches that the tab of a second electrochemical cell is connected to a tab of a third electrochemical cell, [the second tab [623] of the second cell [620] is electrically connected with the first tab [641] of the third cell [640]])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Woo’s electrochemical cell, to have the ability to have both serial connections and/or parallel connections between adjacent cells, as taught by Huang (Huang, para. 0135, [so as to form a series tab assembly, a parallel tab assembly, and a series - parallel tab assembly]), in order to realize electrical connections with external devices (para. 0135 [the ultrasonic welding process is adopted to weld a connecting piece such as a palladium with wire or a connecting wire to the tab of the series tab assembly, the parallel tab assembly, or the series - parallel tab assembly, so as to realize electrical connection with external devices]).
Woo does not teach an insulating strip.
Sugita, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, in the background information, teaches an insulation strip (Sugita, column 3, lines 1-4) extending parallel to a corresponding surface of the pouch (Sugita, column 3, lines 1-4, teaches that the adhesive tape is stuck at necessary positions), the insulating strip configured to electrically isolate the first extension tab from the second extension tab (Sugita, column 3, lines 1-4, [the adhesive tape is … for preventing the contact between the spirally-wound electrode body and the bottom of the cell outer can]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added an adhesive tape/insulation strip to the necessary locations of Woo’s electrode, as taught by Sugita, in order to prevent contact between the electrode body and the outer surface of the pouch (Sugita, column 3, lines 1-4, [the adhesive tape is … for preventing the contact between the spirally-wound electrode body and the bottom of the cell outer can]).
Since modified Woo teaches the addition of an adhesive tape/insulation strip to the necessary locations of Woo’s electrode connecting, modified Woo therefore teaches the physical coupling of the first extension tab and the second extension tab to the pouch.
Woo does not teach that the plurality of electrochemical cells are stacked on top of each other.
Rich, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches that an electrode assembly can be manufactured to be a stacked-cell battery (Rich, para. 0034).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have manufactured Woo’s battery to be that of a stacked cell, as taught by Rich, in order to use a design that has improved energy density than that of jelly-rolled batteries (Rich, para. 0034, [In fact, this manufacturing technique can improve the energy density for stacked-cell batteries to be on par or better than that of jelly-rolled batteries, especially for thinner battery form factors. Furthermore, thinner batteries can be created using this manufacturing technique for a given energy rating. This electrode assembly topology can also be used to enable irregularly-shaped batteries, as is described in further detail below. It should be noted that in some embodiments the tab element may be formed by the current collector layer as previously described]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Woo teaches the multicell of claim 1, further comprising: a fourth electrochemical cell (Woo, abstract, [at least two positive electrode plates]), the fourth electrochemical cell comprising: an anode (Woo, (Fig. 3, item 120a)(para. 0034, [at least one surface of the second electrode plate is coated with electrode active material [120a]) disposed on an anode current collector (Fig. 3, item 120a is disposed on item 115a, [second electrode plate]), the anode current collector including an anode tab (Woo, para. 0040, [the second electrode tab [117a] is coupled with the uncoated portion of the second electrode plate [115a]); a cathode (Woo, Fig. 3 item 122a) (Woo, para. 0033, [one surface of the first electrode plate [113a] is coated with electrode active material [122a]) disposed on a cathode current collector (Woo, (Fig. 3, item 122a is disposed on item 113a, [first electrode plate])), the cathode current collector including a cathode tab (Woo, para. 0040, [the first electrode tab 116a is coupled with the uncoated portion of the first electrode plate [113b]); and a separator disposed between the anode and the cathode (Woo, para. 0018, [a first separator interposed between the first positive electrode plate and the first negative electrode plate]), wherein: the cathode tab of a third electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells is connected to the anode tab of a fourth electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells (Huang, para. 0093, [the second tab [643] of the third cell [640] may be electrically connected with the first tab [661] of the fourth cell [660]) at a third connection point (para. 0047-0048, Woo teaches that a conductive interconnection such as [items 124 and 125] serves as a connection point between two electrode tabs).
Regarding claim 5, Modified Woo teaches the multicell of claim 4, further comprising: an extension tab connected to the third connection point (Woo teaches the third connection point as explained in claim 4 above, and the extension tab would be a tab similar to items 116c and 117c of Fig. 3), the third extension tab extending outside the single pouch (Woo Fig. 4 shows that when the cell is included in the can [pouch] item 417b (equivalent to 117c) extends outside of the pouch).
Regarding claim 6, Woo teaches a multicell system, comprising: a plurality of multicells (abstract, [an electrode assembly comprising at least two positive electrode plates… and at least two negative electrode plates]), each of the multicells being the multicell of claim 1, wherein each of the multicells are physically connected to each other (Fig. 4 shows the electrode assembly wherein each of the multicells are physically connected to each other – and disposed in the can [410]) (Fig. 4 and para. 0056 describes the electrode assembly 412 including first and second electrode plates … wound into a jelly roll).
Regarding claim 7, modified Woo teaches the multicell system of claim 6, wherein the plurality of multicells are connected in parallel (Huang, para. 0135, [so as to form a series tab assembly, a parallel tab assembly, and a series - parallel tab assembly]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Woo teaches the multicell system of claim 6, wherein the plurality of multicells are connected in series (Huang, para. 0135, [so as to form a series tab assembly, a parallel tab assembly, and a series - parallel tab assembly]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Woo teaches the multicell system of claim 6, wherein the plurality of multicells are connected both in series and in parallel (Huang, para. 0135, [so as to form a series tab assembly, a parallel tab assembly, and a series - parallel tab assembly]).
Regarding claim 25, modified Woo teaches the multicell of claim 1, wherein the adhesive strip includes an adhesive surface (Sugita, column 3, lines 1-4, teaches that the adhesive tape is stuck at necessary positions) configured to secure the first extension tab and the second extension tab to a surface of the pouch (Sugita, column 3, lines 1-4, [an adhesive tape is stuck at necessary positions for preventing the contact ]) to inhibit independent movement and bending of the first extension tab and the second extension tab (Sugita, column 3, lines 1-4, [the adhesive tape is … for preventing the contact between the spirally-wound electrode body and the bottom of the cell outer can]) (Examiner notes that by preventing contact, independent movement and bending is also inhibited).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo (US 20060127751 A1), in view of Huang (US 20210408643 A1), Sugita (US 6432578 B1), and Rich (US 20130101891 A1), and further in view of Xing (US 20190221819 A1).
Regarding claim 2, modified Woo teaches the multicell of claim 1, wherein the cathode tab of the first electrochemical cell and the anode tab of the second electrochemical cell include a first portion extending from the corresponding cathode and anode current collectors, respectively (Woo, see Fig. 3 below), and a section portion extending from the first portion (Woo, see Fig. 3 below), such that the second portion of the cathode tab of the first electrochemical cell is in physical contact with the second portion of the anode tab of the second electrochemical cell (Huang, as explained above in claim 1, teaches serial connection and in para. 0094 teaches that the second tab [603] of the first cell [600] may be electrically connected with the first tab [621] of the second cell [620] … so as to form the first series tab assembly) and the second portion of the cathode tab of the first electrochemical cell is not in physical contact with the second portion of any other tabs (Woo, teaches in Fig. 3 that the cathode tabs [116a and 116b] are not in physical contact with each other nor with any other tabs),
and wherein the cathode tab of the second electrochemical cell and the anode tab of the third electrochemical cell include a first portion extending from the corresponding cathode and anode current collectors, respectively, (Examiner notes that the first portion of the anode tab of the third electrochemical cell is analogous to the first portion of the anode tab of the second electrochemical cell, and therefore the aforementioned first portion extending from the anode current collector of the third electrochemical cell is taught.) and a second portion extending from the first portion, (Examiner notes that the second portion extends from the first portion, similarly as shown within the first and second electrochemical cells. See Fig. 3 below.), such that the second portion of the cathode tab of the second electrochemical cell is in physical contact with the second portion of the anode tab of the third electrochemical cell (Huang, as explained above in claim 1, in para. 0094 teaches that the tab of a second electrochemical cell is connected to a tab of a third electrochemical cell, [the second tab [623] of the second cell [620] is electrically connected with the first tab [641] of the third cell [640]]) and the second portion of the cathode tab of the second electrochemical cell is not in physical contact with any other tabs (Woo, as explained above in claim 1, teaches a multicell with at least two electrochemical cells, and similarly to the first electrochemical cell, the cathode tab is not in physical contact with any other tabs).
Regarding the recitation of a method of making said cathode tab of the first electrochemical cell and the anode tab of the second electrochemical cell are trimmed, it is noted that the determination of patentability is determined by the recited structure of the apparatus and not by a method of making said structure. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is made does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2113. Therefore, since the cathode tab and anode tab as recited in the claim is the same as the cathode tab and anode tab as disclosed in Woo, as set forth above, the claim is unpatentable even though the cathode tab and anode tab was made by a different process. In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
Modified Woo does not teach that the second portion having a smaller width than the first portion.
Xing, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches that the second portion having a smaller width than the first portion (para. 0018, [effectively reducing the thickness of the electrode tab while allowing the electrode tab to have sufficient flow area]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have made the second portion of Woo’s to have a smaller width than the first portion, as taught by Xing, in order to effectively reduce the thickness of the electrode tab to reduce the space occupied by the connection between the connecting member and the electrode tab (Xing, para. 0018). Xing further that since the thickness of electrode tab is reduced, the degree of misalignment between the multiple layers of the electrode tab caused by the bending of the electrode tab is advantageously lowered (para. 0018).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo (US 20060127751 A1), in view of Huang (US 20210408643 A1), Sugita (US 6432578 B1), and Rich (US 20130101891 A1), and further in view of and Yamashita (US 20210083277 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Modified Woo teaches the multicell system of claim 6.
Modified Woo does not teach a system further comprising: a battery management system configured to monitor the state of charge of each electrochemical cells of the plurality of electrochemical cells.
Yamashita, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches a multicell system further comprising: a battery management system configured to monitor the state of charge of each electrochemical cells of the plurality of electrochemical cells (para. 0167, [protective circuit, item 346]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the multicell of Funahashi by incorporating the battery management system [protective circuit, item 346] (para. 0166), as taught by Yamashita, to control charging and discharging of the plurality of unit cells (para. 0166), as taught by Yamashita.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo (US 20060127751 A1), in view of Huang (US 20210408643 A1), Sugita (US 6432578 B1), Rich (US 20130101891 A1), and Yamashita (US 20210083277 A1) and further in view of the Hyung (machine translation of KR 20170018667 A).
Regarding claim 11, modified Woo teaches the multicell system of claim 6.
Modified Woo does not teach wherein each multicell includes a degassing tab, each degassing tab configured to release gas from each multicell when cut.
Hyung, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches wherein each battery includes a degassing tab (machine translation, Description, para. 46 [vent pad, item 191]), wherein the degassing tab is opened by the rupture of the safety vent 170 (page 5).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the multicell of Funahashi by incorporating the degassing tab of Hyung, to release any gases that has been built up within the multicell.
Regarding the limitation in which each degassing tab is configured to release gas from each multicell when cut, it is noted that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). See MPEP 2114 II.
Claims 12-13, 15-16, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo (US 20060127751 A1) and further in view of Huang (US 20210408643 A1), Sugita (US 6432578 B1), and Rich (US 20130101891 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Woo teaches a multicell (abstract, [at least two positive electrode plates … at least two negative electrode plates]), comprising: each of the plurality of electrochemical cells comprising: an anode (Fig. 3, item 120a)(para. 0034, [at least one surface of the second electrode plate is coated with electrode active material [120a])) disposed on an anode current collector (Fig. 3, item 120a is disposed on item 115a, [second electrode plate]), the anode current collector including an anode tab (para. 0040, [the second electrode tab [117a] is coupled with the uncoated portion of the second electrode plate [115a]); a cathode (Fig. 3, item 122a) (para. 0033, [one surface of the first electrode plate [113a] is coated with electrode active material [122a]) disposed on a cathode current collector (Fig. 3, item 122a is disposed on item 113a, [first electrode plate]), the cathode current collector including a cathode tab (para. 0040, [the first electrode tab 116a is coupled with the uncoated portion of the first electrode plate [113b]); and a separator disposed between the anode and the cathode (para. 0018, [a first separator interposed between the first positive electrode plate and the first negative electrode plate]), and the cathode tab of the first electrochemical cell is offset from, and not having any overlap with, any other tabs of the plurality of electrochemical cells to inhibit electrical contact therebetween (Fig. 3 shows the cathode tabs 116a and 116b are offset and do not overlap with tabs 117a and 117b, or any other tabs), and the cathode tab of the second electrochemical cell is offset from, and not having any overlap with, any other tabs of the plurality of electrochemical cells to inhibit electrical contact therebetween (Fig. 3 shows the cathode tabs 116a and 116b are offset and do not overlap with tabs 117a and 117b, or any other tabs); and the cathode tab and the anode tab of the first electrochemical cell and the second electrochemical cell extending in the same direction (Fig. 3 shows that tabs 116a (cathode tab) and 117a (anode tab) of the first electrochemical cell extend in the same direction as tabs 116b (cathode tab) and 117b (anode tab) of the second electrochemical cell).
Woo does not teach,
a plurality of electrochemical cells connected in series
wherein the cathode tab of a first electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells is aligned with and physically contacts the anode tab of a second electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells
and wherein the cathode tab of the second electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells is aligned with and physically contacts the anode tab of a third electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells,
Huang, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches:
a plurality of electrochemical cells connected in series (Huang, para. 0135, [so as to form a series tab assembly, a parallel tab assembly, and a series - parallel tab assembly]).
wherein the cathode tab of a first electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells is aligned with and physically contacts the anode tab of a second electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells (Huang teaches serial connection and in para. 0094 teaches that the second tab [603] of the first cell [600] may be electrically connected with the first tab [621] of the second cell [620] … so as to form the first series tab assembly).
and wherein the cathode tab of the second electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells is aligned with and physically contacts the anode tab of a third electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells (Huang, as explained above in claim 1, in para. 0094 teaches that the tab of a second electrochemical cell is connected to a tab of a third electrochemical cell, [the second tab [623] of the second cell [620] is electrically connected with the first tab [641] of the third cell [640]]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Woo’s electrochemical cell, to have the ability to have both serial connections and/or parallel connections between adjacent cells, as taught by Huang (Huang, para. 0135, [so as to form a series tab assembly, a parallel tab assembly, and a series - parallel tab assembly]), in order to realize electrical connections with external devices (Huang, para. 0135 [the ultrasonic welding process is adopted to weld a connecting piece such as a palladium with wire or a connecting wire to the tab of the series tab assembly, the parallel tab assembly, or the series - parallel tab assembly, so as to realize electrical connection with external devices]).
Woo does not teach an insulating strip.
Sugita, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, in the background information, teaches an insulation strip (column 3, lines 1-4) extending parallel to a corresponding surface of the pouch (column 3, lines 1-4, teaches that the adhesive tape is stuck at necessary positions), the insulating strip configured to electrically isolate the first and second extension tabs to a corresponding surface of a pouch in which the plurality of electrochemical cells are disposed, and electrically isolate the first extension tab from the second extension tab (column 3, lines 1-4, [the adhesive tape is … for preventing the contact between the spirally-wound electrode body and the bottom of the cell outer can]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added an adhesive tape/insulation strip to the necessary locations of Woo’s electrode, as taught by Sugita, in order to prevent contact between the electrode body and the outer surface of the pouch (Sugita, column 3, lines 1-4, [the adhesive tape is … for preventing the contact between the spirally-wound electrode body and the bottom of the cell outer can]).
Since modified Woo teaches the addition of an adhesive tape/insulation strip to the necessary locations of Woo’s electrode connecting, modified Woo therefore teaches the physical coupling of the first extension tab and the second extension tab to the pouch.
Woo does not teach that the plurality of electrochemical cells are stacked on top of each other.
Rich, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches that an electrode assembly can be manufactured to be a stacked-cell battery (Rich, para. 0034).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have manufactured Woo’s battery to be that of a stacked cell, as taught by Rich, in order to use a design that has improved energy density than that of jelly-rolled batteries (Rich, para. 0034, [In fact, this manufacturing technique can improve the energy density for stacked-cell batteries to be on par or better than that of jelly-rolled batteries, especially for thinner battery form factors. Furthermore, thinner batteries can be created using this manufacturing technique for a given energy rating. This electrode assembly topology can also be used to enable irregularly-shaped batteries, as is described in further detail below. It should be noted that in some embodiments the tab element may be formed by the current collector layer as previously described]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Woo teaches the multicell of claim 12, wherein the plurality of electrochemical cells are disposed in a single pouch (Huang, Fig. 4, item 410 and para. 0054, [a can [410], an electrode assembly [412] contained in the can]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Woo teaches the multicell of claim 12, further comprising: a first extension tab (Woo, Fig. 3, item 116c) coupled to the cathode tab of the first electrochemical cell and the anode tab of the second electrochemical cell (Huang teaches serial connection and in para. 0094 teaches that the second tab [603] of the first cell [600] may be electrically connected with the first tab [621] of the second cell [620] … so as to form the first series tab assembly ); and a second extension tab (Fig. 3, [item 117c]) connected to the cathode tab of the second electrochemical cell and the anode tab of the third electrochemical cell (Huang in para. 0094, teaches that the tab of a second electrochemical cell is connected to a tab of a third electrochemical cell, [the second tab [623] of the second cell [620] is electrically connected with the first tab [641] of the third cell [640]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Woo teaches the multicell of claim 12, further comprising: a fourth electrochemical cell (Woo, abstract, [at least two positive electrode plates]), the fourth electrochemical cell comprising: an anode (Woo, (Fig. 3, item 120a)(para. 0034, [at least one surface of the second electrode plate is coated with electrode active material [120a]) disposed on an anode current collector (Woo, Fig. 3, 120a is disposed on item 115a, [second electrode plate]), the anode current collector including an anode tab; a cathode (Woo, Fig. 3, item 122a) disposed on a cathode current collector (Woo, Fig. 3, item 122a is disposed on item 113a, [first electrode plate]), the cathode current collector including a cathode tab (Woo, para. 0040, [the first electrode tab 116a is coupled with the uncoated portion of the first electrode plate [113b]); and a separator disposed between the anode and the cathode (Woo, para. 0018, [a first separator interposed between the first positive electrode plate and the first negative electrode plate]), wherein: the cathode tab of the third electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells is connected to the anode tab of a fourth electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells and the cathode tab of the third electrochemical cell does not contact any other tabs (Huang, para. 0093, [the second tab [643] of the third cell [640] may be electrically connected with the first tab [661] of the fourth cell [660]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Woo teaches the multicell of claim 15, further comprising: an extension tab connected to the cathode tab of the third electrochemical cell (Fig. 3, item 116c type structure would be connected to the cathode tab of the third electrochemical cell) and the anode tab of the fourth electrochemical cell (Huang para. 0093 and 0135 teaches serial connections and therefore the cathode tab of the third electrochemical cell is connected to the anode tab of the fourth electrochemical cell) (Huang, para. 0093, [the second tab [643] of the third cell [640] may be electrically connected with the first tab [661] of the fourth cell [660]).
Regarding claim 26, modified Woo teaches the multicell of claim 12, wherein the insulating strip includes an adhesive surface (Sugita, column 3, lines 1-4, teaches that the adhesive tape is stuck at necessary positions) configured to secure the first extension tab and the second extension tab to the corresponding surface of the pouch (Sugita, column 3, lines 1-4, [an adhesive tape is stuck at necessary positions for preventing the contact ]) to inhibit independent movement and bending of the first extension tab and the second extension tab (Sugita, column 3, lines 1-4, [the adhesive tape is … for preventing the contact between the spirally-wound electrode body and the bottom of the cell outer can]) (Examiner notes that by preventing contact, independent movement and bending is also inhibited).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/V.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721