DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo (US 20060127751 A1) and further in view of Huang (US 20210408643 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Woo teaches a multicell (abstract, [at least two positive electrode plates … at least two negative electrode plates]), comprising: a plurality of electrochemical cells disposed in a single pouch (Fig. 4, item 410 and para. 0054, [a can [410], an electrode assembly [412] contained in the can]), each of the plurality of electrochemical cells comprising: an anode (item 120a)(para. 0034, [at least one surface of the second electrode plate is coated with electrode active material [120a]) disposed on an anode current collector (Fig. 3, item 120a is disposed on item 115a, [second electrode plate]), the anode current collector including an anode tab (para. 0040, [the second electrode tab [117a] is coupled with the uncoated portion of the second electrode plate [115a]); a cathode (item 122a) (para. 0033, [one surface of the first electrode plate [113a] is coated with electrode active material [122a]) disposed on a cathode current collector (Fig. 3, item 122a is disposed on item 113a, [first electrode plate]), the cathode current collector including a cathode tab (para. 0040, [the first electrode tab 116a is coupled with the uncoated portion of the first electrode plate [113b]); and a separator disposed between the anode and the cathode (para. 0018, [a first separator interposed between the first positive electrode plate and the first negative electrode plate]), the cathode tab of the first electrochemical cell being offset from, and not having any overlap with, any other electrode tabs of the plurality of electrochemical cells so as to inhibit electrical contact therebetween (Fig. 3 shows the cathode tabs 116a and 116b are offset and do not overlap with tabs 117a and 117b, or any other tabs); and the cathode tab of the second electrochemical cell being offset from, and not having any overlap with, any other electrode tabs of the plurality of electrochemical cells so as to inhibit electrical contact therebetween (Fig. 3 shows the cathode tabs 116a and 116b are offset and do not overlap with tabs 117a and 117b, or any other tabs); and the cathode tab and the anode tab of the first electrochemical cell and the second electrochemical cell extending in the same direction (Fig. 3 shows that tabs 116a (cathode tab) and 117a (anode tab) of the first electrochemical cell extend in the same direction as tabs 116b (cathode tab) and 117b (anode tab) of the second electrochemical cell).
Woo does not teach:
wherein the cathode tab of a first electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells is aligned with and connected to the anode tab of a second electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells at a first connection point,
wherein the cathode tab of a second electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells is aligned with and connected to the anode tab of a third electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells at a second connection point
Huang, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches:
wherein the cathode tab of a first electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells is aligned with and connected to the anode tab of a second electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells at a first connection point (para. 0061, [the first cell and the second cell may be electrically connected via their tabs to form a series tab assembly]),
wherein the cathode tab of a second electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells is aligned with and connected to the anode tab of a third electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells at a second connection point (Huang, para. 0085, teaches that the battery assembly is composed of multiple cells, and specifically lists up to five electrochemical cells [items 600, 620, 640, 660, and 680] the second cell is connected to the third cell (Huang, para. 0085)) (Huang, para. 0094 teaches that the tab of a second electrochemical cell is connected to a tab of a third electrochemical cell, [the second tab [623] of the second cell [620] is electrically connected with the first tab [641] of the third cell [640]])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Woo’s electrochemical cell, to have the ability to have both serial connections and/or parallel connections between adjacent cells, as taught by Huang (Huang, para. 0135, [so as to form a series tab assembly, a parallel tab assembly, and a series - parallel tab assembly]), in order to realize electrical connections with external devices (para. 0135 [the ultrasonic welding process is adopted to weld a connecting piece such as a palladium with wire or a connecting wire to the tab of the series tab assembly, the parallel tab assembly, or the series - parallel tab assembly, so as to realize electrical connection with external devices]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Woo teaches the multicell of claim 1, wherein the cathode tab of the first electrochemical cell and the anode tab of the second electrochemical cell are trimmed, such that the cathode tab of the first electrochemical cell is in physical contact with the anode tab of the second electrochemical cell (Huang, as explained above in claim 1, teaches serial connection and in para. 0094 teaches that the second tab [603] of the first cell [600] may be electrically connected with the first tab [621] of the second cell [620] … so as to form the first series tab assembly) and the cathode tab of the first electrochemical cell is not in physical contact with any other tabs (Woo, teaches in Fig. 3 that the cathode tabs [113a and 113b] are not in physical contact with each other nor with any other tabs), and wherein the cathode tab of the second electrochemical cell and the anode tab of the third electrochemical cell are trimmed, such that the cathode tab of the second electrochemical cell is in physical contact with the anode tab of the third electrochemical cell (Huang, as explained above in claim 1, in para. 0094 teaches that the tab of a second electrochemical cell is connected to a tab of a third electrochemical cell, [the second tab [623] of the second cell [620] is electrically connected with the first tab [641] of the third cell [640]]) and the cathode tab of the second electrochemical cell is not in physical contact with any other tabs (Woo, as explained above in claim 1, teaches a multicell with at least two electrochemical cells, and similarly to the first electrochemical cell, the cathode tab is not in physical contact with any other tabs).
Regarding the recitation of a method of making said cathode tab of the first electrochemical cell and the anode tab of the second electrochemical cell are trimmed, it is noted that the determination of patentability is determined by the recited structure of the apparatus and not by a method of making said structure. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is made does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2113. Therefore, since the cathode tab and anode tab as recited in the claim is the same as the cathode tab and anode tab as disclosed in Woo, as set forth above, the claim is unpatentable even though the cathode tab and anode tab was made by a different process. In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
Regarding claim 3, modified Woo teaches the multicell of claim 1, further comprising: a first extension tab (Fig. 3, item 116c) connected to the first connection point (Fig.3, item 124), the first extension tab extending outside the single pouch (Fig. 4 shows that when the cell is included in the can [pouch] item 416b (equivalent to 116c) extends outside of the pouch); and a second extension tab (Fig. 3, [item 117c]) connected to the second connection point (Fig. 3, item 125), the second extension tab extending outside the single pouch (Fig. 4 shows that when the cell is included in the can [pouch] item 417b (equivalent to 117c) extends outside of the pouch).
Regarding claim 4, modified Woo teaches the multicell of claim 1, further comprising: a fourth electrochemical cell (Woo, abstract, [at least two positive electrode plates]), the fourth electrochemical cell comprising: an anode (Woo, (Fig. 3, item 120a)(para. 0034, [at least one surface of the second electrode plate is coated with electrode active material [120a]) disposed on an anode current collector (Fig. 3, item 120a is disposed on item 115a, [second electrode plate]), the anode current collector including an anode tab (Woo, para. 0040, [the second electrode tab [117a] is coupled with the uncoated portion of the second electrode plate [115a]); a cathode (Woo, Fig. 3 item 122a) (Woo, para. 0033, [one surface of the first electrode plate [113a] is coated with electrode active material [122a]) disposed on a cathode current collector (Woo, (Fig. 3, item 122a is disposed on item 113a, [first electrode plate])), the cathode current collector including a cathode tab (Woo, para. 0040, [the first electrode tab 116a is coupled with the uncoated portion of the first electrode plate [113b]); and a separator disposed between the anode and the cathode (Woo, para. 0018, [a first separator interposed between the first positive electrode plate and the first negative electrode plate]), wherein: the cathode tab of a third electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells is connected to the anode tab of a fourth electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells (Huang, para. 0093, [the second tab [643] of the third cell [640] may be electrically connected with the first tab [661] of the fourth cell [660]) at a third connection point (para. 0047-0048, Woo teaches that a conductive interconnection such as [items 124 and 125] serves as a connection point between two electrode tabs).
Regarding claim 5, Modified Woo teaches the multicell of claim 4, further comprising: an extension tab connected to the third connection point (Woo teaches the third connection point as explained in claim 4 above, and the extension tab would be a tab similar to items 116c and 117c of Fig. 3), the third extension tab extending outside the single pouch (Woo Fig. 4 shows that when the cell is included in the can [pouch] item 417b (equivalent to 117c) extends outside of the pouch).
Regarding claim 6, Woo teaches a multicell system, comprising: a plurality of multicells (abstract, [an electrode assembly comprising at least two positive electrode plates… and at least two negative electrode plates]), each of the multicells being the multicell of claim 1, wherein each of the multicells are physically connected to each other (Fig. 4 shows the electrode assembly wherein each of the multicells are physically connected to each other – and disposed in the can [410]) (Fig. 4 and para. 0056 describes the electrode assembly 412 including first and second electrode plates … wound into a jelly roll).
Regarding claim 7, modified Woo teaches the multicell system of claim 6, wherein the plurality of multicells are connected in parallel (Huang, para. 0135, [so as to form a series tab assembly, a parallel tab assembly, and a series - parallel tab assembly]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Woo teaches the multicell system of claim 6, wherein the plurality of multicells are connected in series (Huang, para. 0135, [so as to form a series tab assembly, a parallel tab assembly, and a series - parallel tab assembly]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Woo teaches the multicell system of claim 6, wherein the plurality of multicells are connected both in series and in parallel (Huang, para. 0135, [so as to form a series tab assembly, a parallel tab assembly, and a series - parallel tab assembly]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo (US 20060127751 A1) and further in view of Huang (US 20210408643 A1) and Yamashita (US 20210083277 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Modified Woo teaches the multicell system of claim 6.
Modified Woo does not teach a system further comprising: a battery management system configured to monitor the state of charge of each electrochemical cells of the plurality of electrochemical cells.
Yamashita, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches a multicell system further comprising: a battery management system configured to monitor the state of charge of each electrochemical cells of the plurality of electrochemical cells (para. 0167, [protective circuit, item 346]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the multicell of Funahashi by incorporating the battery management system [protective circuit, item 346] (para. 0166), as taught by Yamashita, to control charging and discharging of the plurality of unit cells (para. 0166), as taught by Yamashita.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo (US 20060127751 A1) and further in view of Huang (US 20210408643 A1) and Yamashita (US 20210083277 A1) and Hyung (machine translation of KR 20170018667 A).
Regarding claim 11, modified Woo teaches the multicell system of claim 6.
Modified Woo does not teach wherein each multicell includes a degassing tab, each degassing tab configured to release gas from each multicell when cut.
Hyung, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches wherein each battery includes a degassing tab (machine translation, Description, para. 46 [vent pad, item 191]), wherein the degassing tab is opened by the rupture of the safety vent 170 (page 5).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the multicell of Funahashi by incorporating the degassing tab of Hyung, to release any gases that has been built up within the multicell.
Regarding the limitation in which each degassing tab is configured to release gas from each multicell when cut, it is noted that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). See MPEP 2114 II.
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo (US 20060127751 A1) and further in view of Huang (US 20210408643 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Woo teaches a multicell (abstract, [at least two positive electrode plates … at least two negative electrode plates]), comprising: each of the plurality of electrochemical cells comprising: an anode (Fig. 3, item 120a)(para. 0034, [at least one surface of the second electrode plate is coated with electrode active material [120a])) disposed on an anode current collector (Fig. 3, item 120a is disposed on item 115a, [second electrode plate]), the anode current collector including an anode tab (para. 0040, [the second electrode tab [117a] is coupled with the uncoated portion of the second electrode plate [115a]); a cathode (Fig. 3, item 122a) (para. 0033, [one surface of the first electrode plate [113a] is coated with electrode active material [122a]) disposed on a cathode current collector (Fig. 3, item 122a is disposed on item 113a, [first electrode plate]), the cathode current collector including a cathode tab (para. 0040, [the first electrode tab 116a is coupled with the uncoated portion of the first electrode plate [113b]); and a separator disposed between the anode and the cathode (para. 0018, [a first separator interposed between the first positive electrode plate and the first negative electrode plate]), and the cathode tab of the first electrochemical cell is offset from, and not having any overlap with, any other tabs of the plurality of electrochemical cells to inhibit electrical contact therebetween (Fig. 3 shows the cathode tabs 116a and 116b are offset and do not overlap with tabs 117a and 117b, or any other tabs), and the cathode tab of the second electrochemical cell is offset from, and not having any overlap with, any other tabs of the plurality of electrochemical cells to inhibit electrical contact therebetween(Fig. 3 shows the cathode tabs 116a and 116b are offset and do not overlap with tabs 117a and 117b, or any other tabs); and the cathode tab and the anode tab of the first electrochemical cell and the second electrochemical cell extending in the same direction (Fig. 3 shows that tabs 116a (cathode tab) and 117a (anode tab) of the first electrochemical cell extend in the same direction as tabs 116b (cathode tab) and 117b (anode tab) of the second electrochemical cell).
Woo does not teach,
a plurality of electrochemical cells connected in series
wherein the cathode tab of a first electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells is aligned with and physically contacts the anode tab of a second electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells
and wherein the cathode tab of the second electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells is aligned with and physically contacts the anode tab of a third electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells,
Huang, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches:
a plurality of electrochemical cells connected in series (Huang, para. 0135, [so as to form a series tab assembly, a parallel tab assembly, and a series - parallel tab assembly]).
wherein the cathode tab of a first electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells is aligned with and physically contacts the anode tab of a second electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells (Huang teaches serial connection and in para. 0094 teaches that the second tab [603] of the first cell [600] may be electrically connected with the first tab [621] of the second cell [620] … so as to form the first series tab assembly).
and wherein the cathode tab of the second electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells is aligned with and physically contacts the anode tab of a third electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells (Huang, as explained above in claim 1, in para. 0094 teaches that the tab of a second electrochemical cell is connected to a tab of a third electrochemical cell, [the second tab [623] of the second cell [620] is electrically connected with the first tab [641] of the third cell [640]]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Woo’s electrochemical cell, to have the ability to have both serial connections and/or parallel connections between adjacent cells, as taught by Huang (Huang, para. 0135, [so as to form a series tab assembly, a parallel tab assembly, and a series - parallel tab assembly]), in order to realize electrical connections with external devices (Huang, para. 0135 [the ultrasonic welding process is adopted to weld a connecting piece such as a palladium with wire or a connecting wire to the tab of the series tab assembly, the parallel tab assembly, or the series - parallel tab assembly, so as to realize electrical connection with external devices]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Woo teaches the multicell of claim 12, wherein the plurality of electrochemical cells are disposed in a single pouch (Huang, Fig. 4, item 410 and para. 0054, [a can [410], an electrode assembly [412] contained in the can]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Woo teaches the multicell of claim 12, further comprising: a first extension tab (Woo, Fig. 3, item 116c)coupled to the cathode tab of the first electrochemical cell and the anode tab of the second electrochemical cell (Huang teaches serial connection and in para. 0094 teaches that the second tab [603] of the first cell [600] may be electrically connected with the first tab [621] of the second cell [620] … so as to form the first series tab assembly ); and a second extension tab (Fig. 3, [item 117c]) connected to the cathode tab of the second electrochemical cell and the anode tab of the third electrochemical cell (Huang in para. 0094, teaches that the tab of a second electrochemical cell is connected to a tab of a third electrochemical cell, [the second tab [623] of the second cell [620] is electrically connected with the first tab [641] of the third cell [640]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Woo teaches the multicell of claim 12, further comprising: a fourth electrochemical cell (Woo, abstract, [at least two positive electrode plates]), the fourth electrochemical cell comprising: an anode (Woo, (Fig. 3, item 120a)(para. 0034, [at least one surface of the second electrode plate is coated with electrode active material [120a]) disposed on an anode current collector (Woo, Fig. 3, 120a is disposed on item 115a, [second electrode plate]), the anode current collector including an anode tab; a cathode (Woo, Fig. 3, item 122a) disposed on a cathode current collector (Woo, Fig. 3, item 122a is disposed on item 113a, [first electrode plate]), the cathode current collector including a cathode tab (Woo, para. 0040, [the first electrode tab 116a is coupled with the uncoated portion of the first electrode plate [113b]); and a separator disposed between the anode and the cathode (Woo, para. 0018, [a first separator interposed between the first positive electrode plate and the first negative electrode plate]), wherein: the cathode tab of the third electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells is connected to the anode tab of a fourth electrochemical cell of the plurality of electrochemical cells and the cathode tab of the third electrochemical cell does not contact any other tabs (Huang, para. 0093, [the second tab [643] of the third cell [640] may be electrically connected with the first tab [661] of the fourth cell [660]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Woo teaches the multicell of claim 15, further comprising: an extension tab connected to the cathode tab of the third electrochemical cell (Fig. 3, item 116c type structure would be connected to the cathode tab of the third electrochemical cell) and the anode tab of the fourth electrochemical cell (Huang para. 0093 and 0135 teaches serial connections and therefore the cathode tab of the third electrochemical cell is connected to the anode tab of the fourth electrochemical cell) (Huang, para. 0093, [the second tab [643] of the third cell [640] may be electrically connected with the first tab [661] of the fourth cell [660]).
Claims 17-21 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo (US 20060127751 A1) and further in view of Huang (US 20210408643 A1) and Kump (US 5256502 A).
Regarding claim 17, Woo does not teach a multicell system with plurality of multicells, but teaches that the first and second electrode tabs are drawn for making electrical connection with a terminal.
Kump, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches that another multicell can be connected to the terminal of a multicell, (claim 1, [so that said battery comprises a first and second multicell battery]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have connected a second multicell to Woo’s multicell, as taught by Kump, in order to allow the system to have an option between drawing current from at least one of the first and second multicells, as taught by Kump (claim 17, last sentence)
Modified Woo teaches a multicell (para. 0042, [the electrode assembly according to the present invention includes multiple sets of electrode plates]),
each multicell including a terminal anode tab (para. 0061, [a second electrode tab 417b drawn … for making electric connection with a terminal]) and a terminal cathode tab (para. 0061, [a first electrode tab 416b drawn … for making electric connection with a terminal])
wherein a terminal cathode tab (Fig. 4, item 416b) of a first multicell of the plurality of multicells is aligned with a cathode tab of a second multicell of the plurality of multicells (Fig. 4, the terminal cathode tab would align with a cathode tab of a second multicell of a similar structure in Modified Woo)
and electrically coupled to either a terminal cathode tab of the second multicell (Woo, Fig. 4, the terminal cathode tab would align with a cathode tab of a second multicell of a similar structure in Modified Woo) (Fig. 3 of Woo shows the electrochemical cells connected in a parallel configuration)
and the terminal cathode tab of the first multicell is offset from the terminal anode tab of the second multicell (Fig. 4 shows the terminal cathode tab and terminal anode tabs of the multicell are offset from each other and therefore the terminal cathode tab of the first multicell would also be offset from the terminal cathode of the second multicell),
the terminal cathode tab of the first electrochemical does not overlap with any other terminal anode tab of the plurality of multi cells (Fig. 4, item 416b [terminal cathode tab] does not overlap with the terminal anode tab and therefore would not overlap with any other terminal anode tabs in the plurality of multicells of modified Woo) and
the terminal cathode extends in the same direction as the other terminal anode tabs or terminal cathode tabs (Fig. 4, item 416b [terminal cathode tab] extends in the same direction as the other terminal anode tab [item 417b]).
Woo does not teach:
- each multicell comprising a plurality of electrochemical cells connected in series.
Huang teaches the connection between adjacent cells can be in series, in parallel, or a series-parallel configuration (Huang, para. 0135, [so as to form a series tab assembly, a parallel tab assembly, and a series - parallel tab assembly]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Woo’s electrochemical cell, to have the ability to have both serial connections and/or parallel connections between adjacent cells, as taught by Huang (Huang, para. 0135, [so as to form a series tab assembly, a parallel tab assembly, and a series - parallel tab assembly]), in order to realize electrical connections with external devices (para. 0135 [the ultrasonic welding process is adopted to weld a connecting piece such as a palladium with wire or a connecting wire to the tab of the series tab assembly, the parallel tab assembly, or the series - parallel tab assembly, so as to realize electrical connection with external devices]).
Regarding claim 18, Modified Woo teaches the multicell system of claim 17, wherein the terminal cathode tab of the first multicell of the plurality of multicells is electrically coupled to the terminal cathode tab of the second multicell of the plurality of multicells (para. 0135, Huang teaches the connection between adjacent cells can be in series, in parallel, or a series-parallel configuration [so as to form a series tab assembly, a parallel tab assembly, and a series - parallel tab assembly]).
Regarding claim 19, Modified Woo teaches the multicell system of claim 17, wherein the terminal cathode tab of the first multicell of the plurality of multicells is electrically coupled to the terminal anode tab of the second multicell of the plurality of multicells (para. 0135, Huang teaches the connection between adjacent cells can be in series, in parallel, or a series-parallel configuration [so as to form a series tab assembly, a parallel tab assembly, and a series - parallel tab assembly]).
Regarding claim 20, Modified Woo teaches the multicell system of claim 18, wherein a terminal cathode tab of the second multicell of the plurality of multicells is electrically coupled to a terminal cathode tab of a third multicell of the plurality of multicells (claim 17 of Kump teaches connecting muliticells together) and (para. 0135, Huang teaches the connection between adjacent cells can be in series, in parallel, or a series-parallel configuration [so as to form a series tab assembly, a parallel tab assembly, and a series - parallel tab assembly]).
Regarding claim 21, The multicell system of claim 20, wherein a terminal cathode tab of the second multicell of the plurality of multicells is electrically coupled to a terminal anode tab of a third multicell of the plurality of multicells (claim 17 of Kump teaches connecting muliticells together) (para. 0135, Huang teaches the connection between adjacent cells can be in series, in parallel, or a series-parallel configuration [so as to form a series tab assembly, a parallel tab assembly, and a series - parallel tab assembly]).
Regarding claim 23, Modified Woo teaches the multicell system of claim 17, wherein each multicell of the plurality of multicells is disposed in a single pouch (Fig. 4, shows the first multicell disposed in can [item 410], Examiner notes that all multicells in Modified Woo would also similarly be contained in a can).
Regarding claim 24, modified Woo teaches the multicell of claim 3, further comprising: an insulating strip (Fig. 4, item 470) coupled to the first extension tab (Fig. 3, item 116c applied to the assembly of Fig. 4) and the second extension tab (Fig. 3, item 117c applied to the assembly of Fig. 4), (para. 0062, item 470 insulates the electrode assembly 412 [which includes the first and second extension tabs]) the insulating strip configured to electrically isolate the first extension tab from the second extension tab (Woo, Fig. 4, item 470 when applied to the can item 410 and closed by the cap assembly [420] would isolate 116c from 117c).
Regarding claim 25, modified Woo teaches the multicell of claim 24, wherein the adhesive strip includes an adhesive surface (para. 0062, [the insulation case 470 can be formed of polymer resins having insulation property such as polypropylene]) configured to secure the first extension tab and the second extension tab to a surface of the pouch (Woo, Fig. 4 shows the insulating strip [item 450] secures the extension tabs (Fig. 3 item 116c and 117c configuration of Fig. 4 ) to the surface of the pouch to inhibit independent movement and bending of the first extension tab and the second extension tab (para. 0062, [arranged on the top of the electrode assembly 412 is an insulation case 470 that insulates the electrode assembly 412 from the cap assembly 420 and fixes the positions of the electrode assembly 412, first electrode tabs 416a and 416b and the second electrode tabs 417a and 417b).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo (US 20060127751 A1) and further in view of Huang (US 20210408643 A1) and Yamashita (US 20210083277 A1).
Regarding claim 22, modified Woo teaches the multicell system of claim 17.
Modified Woo does not teach a multicell system further comprising a battery management system configured to control charge and discharge of the plurality of multicells within specified limits.
Yamashita, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches a multicell system further comprising: a battery management system configured to monitor the state of charge of each electrochemical cells of the plurality of electrochemical cells (para. 0167, [protective circuit, item 346]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the multicell of Funahashi by incorporating the battery management system [protective circuit, item 346] (para. 0166), as taught by Yamashita, to control charging and discharging of the plurality of unit cells (para. 0166), as taught by Yamashita.
Other Pertinent Art
US 20130273400 A1
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 12, and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/V.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721