Detailed Action
This Final Office Action is responsive to Applicants’ Reply dated 1/29/26. Claims 1-20 remain pending, of which claims 1, 11, and 17 are independent.
Responsive to the Reply, the Examiner has withdrawn the prior rejections made under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Non-Patent Literature “FBNet: Hardware-Aware Efficient ConvNet Design via Differentiable Neural Architecture Search” (“Wu”) in view of CN 113269312 A (“Guo”).
Regarding claim 1, WU teaches “A computing apparatus, the apparatus comprising: one or more processors; and a memory storing instructions configured to, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing apparatus to: generate a neural network loss based on parameters of a candidate architecture for the neural network”:
([Abstract] “Designing accurate and efficient ConvNets (convolutional neural networks) for mobile devices is challenging because the design space is combinatorially large. Due to this, previous neural architecture search (NAS) methods are computationally expensive. ConvNet architecture optimality depends on factors such as input resolution and target devices (parameters). However, existing approaches are too resource demanding for case-by-case redesigns. Also, previous work focuses primarily on reducing FLOPs, but FLOP count does not always reflect actual latency. To address these, we propose a differentiable neural architecture search (DNAS) framework (containing candidate architectures) that uses gradient-based methods to optimize ConvNet architectures, avoiding enumerating and training individual architectures separately as in previous methods. FBNets (Facebook-Berkeley-Nets), a family of models discovered by DNAS surpass state-of-the-art models both designed manually and generated automatically. FBNet-B achieves 74.1% top-1 accuracy on ImageNet with 295M FLOPs and 23.1 ms latency on a Samsung S8 phone, 2.4x smaller and 1.5x faster than MobileNetV2-1.3[17] with similar accuracy. Despite higher accuracy and lower latency than MnasNet[20], we estimate FBNet-B’s search cost is 420x smaller than MnasNet’s, at only 216 GPU-hours. Searched for different resolutions and channel sizes, FBNets achieve 1.5% to 6.4% higher accuracy than MobileNetV2. The smallest FBNet achieves 50.2% accuracy and 2.9 ms latency (345 frames per second) on a Samsung S8. Over a Samsung-optimized FBNet, the iPhone-X-optimized model achieves a 1.4x speedup on an iPhone X. FBNet models are open sourced at https://github.com/facebookresearch/mobile-vision.”) Additionally, “a differentiable neural architecture search framework” for optimizing neural network architectures inherently requires a computer, which is widely understood to be an apparatus with processor and memory functions to function as understood.
And further:
In the above figure’s description, optimal architectures are sampled from a trained distribution, and the latency of each operator is measured on target devices and used “to compute the loss for the super net” which is equivalent to the generation of a neural network loss based on parameters of a candidate architecture for the neural network.
Further, WU teaches “measure first hardware resources … used to perform an operation of the neural network with the candidate architecture”:
([Page 10736, 3. Method] “In this paper, we use differentiable neural architecture search (DNAS) to solve the problem of ConvNet design. We formulate the neural architecture search problem as
. Given an architecture space
, we seek to find an optimal architecture
such that after training its weights wa, it can achieve the minimal loss L(a, wa) (the neural network loss). In our work, we focus on three factors of the problem: a) the search space
. b) The loss function L(a, wa) that considers actual latency (a hardware resource loss). c) An efficient search algorithm.”)
And further:
([Page 10737, 3.2 Latency-Aware Loss Function, Paragraphs 1-2] “The loss function used in (1) has to reflect not only the accuracy of a given architecture but also the latency on the target hardware (thus acknowledging the need to optimize based on hardware resources). To achieve this goal, we define the following loss function:
The first term CE(a, wa) denotes the cross-entropy loss of architecture a with parameter wa (this is the neural network loss). The second term LAT(a) denotes the latency of the architecture on the target hardware measured in micro-second (a measurement of hardware resources used in operation of the neural network with the candidate architecture). The coefficient
controls the overall magnitude of the loss function. The exponent coefficient " modulates the magnitude of the latency term.”)
Further, WU teaches “generate a prediction, using a hardware resource prediction model, of second hardware resources that would be used for operating the neural network with the candidate architecture”:
([Page 10737, 3.2 Latency-Aware Loss Function, Paragraphs 1-4] “The loss function used in (1) has to reflect not only the accuracy of a given architecture but also the latency on the target hardware (thus acknowledging the need to optimize based on hardware resources. Here, the Latency-Aware Loss Function is the hardware resource prediction model, and its output is the prediction). To achieve this goal, we define the following loss function:
The first term CE(a, wa) denotes the cross-entropy loss of architecture a with parameter wa. The second term LAT(a) denotes the latency of the architecture on the target hardware measured in micro-second (a measurement of hardware resources used in operation of the neural network with the candidate architecture). The coefficient
controls the overall magnitude of the loss function. The exponent coefficient " modulates the magnitude of the latency term.
The cross-entropy term can be easily computed. However, the latency term is more difficult, since we need to measure the actual runtime of an architecture on a target device (hardware resources that would be used for operating the neural network with the candidate architecture). To cover the entire search space, we need to measure about 1021 architectures, which is an impossible task.
To solve this problem, we use a latency lookup table model to estimate the overall latency of a network based on the runtime of each operator. More formally, we assume
where
denotes the block at layer-l from architecture a. This assumes that on the target processor, the runtime of each operator is independent of other operators. The assumption is valid for many mobile CPUs and DSPs, where operators are computed sequentially one by one. This way, by benchmarking the latency of a few hundred operators used in the search space, we can easily estimate the actual runtime of the 1021 architectures in the entire search space (generating a prediction of the hardware resources that would be used for operating the neural network with the candidate architecture). More importantly, as will be explained in section 3.3, using the lookup table model makes the latency term in the loss function (2) differentiable with respect to layer-wise block choices, and this allows us to use gradient-based optimization to solve problem (1).”)
Further, WU teaches “determine a hardware resource loss based on the first hardware resources and the second hardware resources”:
([Page 10738, 3.3 Search Algorithm] “Solving the problem (1) through brute-force enumeration of the search space is very infeasible. The inner problem of optimizing wa involves training a neural network. For ImageNet classification, training a ConvNet typically takes several days or even weeks. The outer problem of optimizing
has a combinatorially large search space.
Most of the early works on NAS [30, 31, 20] follow the paradigm above. To reduce the computational cost, the inner problem is replaced by training candidate architectures on an easier proxy dataset. For example, [30, 31] trains the architecture on the CIFAR10 dataset, and [20] trains on ImageNet but only for 5 epochs. The learned architectures are then transferred to the target dataset. To avoid exhaustively iterating through the search space, [30, 31, 20] use reinforcement learning to guide the exploration. Despite these improvements, solving problem (1) is still prohibitively expensive – training a network on the proxy dataset is still time-consuming, and thousands of architectures need to be trained before reaching the optimal solution.
We adopt a different paradigm of solving problem (1). We first represent the search space by a stochastic super net. The super net has the same macro-architecture as described in Table 1, and each layer contains 9 parallel blocks as described in Table 2. During the inference of the super net, only one candidate block is sampled and executed with the sampling probability of
0l contains parameters that determine the sampling probability of each block at layer-l (the per-layer latency is the first hardware resouce). Equivalently, the output of layer-l can be expressed as
where ml,I is a random variable in {0, 1} and is evaluated to 1 if block bl,i is sampled. The sampling probability is determined by equation (4). bl,i(xl) denotes the output of block-i at layer l given the input feature map xl. We let each layer sample independently, therefore, the probability of sampling an architecture a can be described as
where 0 denotes the a vector consists of all the 0l,i for each block-i at layer-l.
denotes that in the sampled architecture a, block-i is chosen at layer-l.
The above tables were placed here by the examiner for convenience since they are referenced in the text.
Instead of solving for the optimal architecture
, which has a discrete search space, we relax the problem to optimize the probability P0 of the stochastic super net to achieve the minimum expected loss. Formally, we re-write the discrete optimization problem (1) as
It is obvious the loss function in (7) is differentiable with respect to the architecture weights wa and therefore can be optimized by stochastic gradient descent (SGD). However, the loss is not directly differentiable to the sampling parameter 0, since we cannot pass the gradient through the discrete random variable ml,i to 0l,i. To sidestep this, we relax the discrete mask variable ml,i to be a continuous random variable computed by the Gumbel Softmax function [9, 14]
where gl,i ~ Gumbel(0, 1) is a random noise following the Gumbel distribution. The Gumbel Softmax function is controlled by a temperature parameter
. As
approaches 0, it approximates the discrete categorical sampling following the distribution in (6). As
becomes larger, ml,i becomes a continuous random variable. Regardless of the value of
, the mask ml,i is directly differentiable with respect to the parameter 0l,i. The technique of using Gumbel Softmax for neural architecture search is also proposed in [25, 1].
As a result, it is clear that the cross-entropy term from the loss function (2) is differentiable with respect to the mask ml,i and therefore 0l,i. For the latency term, since we use the lookup table based model for efficiency estimation, equation (3) can be written as
The latency of each operator LAT(bl,i) is a constant coefficient, so the overall latency of architecture-a is differentiable with respect to the mask ml,i, therefore 0l,i. (The predicted architecture latency is the second hardware resource.)
As a result, the loss function (2) is fully differentiable with respect to both weights wa and the architecture distribution parameter 0. This allows us to use SGD to efficiently solve problem (1). Here, we see a hardware resource loss being determined based on the previously cited algorithms that determined the first and second hardware resources, which are the actual per-layer latency and the predicted architecture latency (via summing lookup table values).”)
Further, WU teaches “determine a target architecture of the neural network based on the neural network loss and the hardware resource loss” and “output a target neural network comprising the target architecture determined for a given purpose”:
([Page 10738, 3.3 Search Algorithm, final paragraph] “Our search process is now equivalent to training the stochastic super net. During the training, we compute
to train each operator’s weight in the super net (The first half before the “/” being the neural network loss, and the second half being the hardware resource loss.). This is no different from training an ordinary ConvNet. After operators get trained, different operators can have a different contribution to the accuracy and the efficiency of the overall network (optimal features). Therefore, we compute
to update the sampling probability P0 for each operator. This step selects operators with better accuracy and lower latency and suppresses the opposite ones (“better accuracy” reflects the optimal neural network loss while “lower latency” represents the optimal hardware resource loss.). After the super net training finishes, we can then obtain the optimal architectures by sampling from the architecture distribution P0.” Here we see the above methods concluding with the target architecture of the neural network being determined based on the loss functions, and any use/provision of the network as determined is akin to an output step).
Applicants’ claim has been amended to clarify that the first hardware resources are measured as they are actually used to perform the operation of the neural network with the candidate architecture, and to now include further additional recitations to determine a difference between the first hardware resources and the second hardware resources output from the hardware prediction model and determine the hardware resource loss by a weighted sum between the difference and a factor for optimizing the hardware resource and determine an optimization loss by a weighted sum between neural network loss and the hardware resource loss and determine the target architecture by searching for the candidate architecture that minimizes the optimization loss and parameters of the candidate architecture.
As had been noted previously in relation to claim 3 as originally filed, Wu teaches some version of determining a difference/loss between separate hardware resource specifications, essentially to arrive at an optimal configuration via iterative search. See, e.g., pages 33-36 of the Non-Final Office Action dated 9/29/25. The Examiner notes Applicants’ arguments that Wu merely teaches the use of a table of values to ascertain at least one of the specifications in the comparison and hence cannot be fairly construed to actually measure as the claim now reads. Rather, the Examiner relies upon GUO to teach what Wu lacks, see e.g., Guo’s comparable hardware/architecture search and optimization process as outlined via steps S1-S4 on pages 3-4 as provided, and where the determination of a hardware loss is discussed in relation to step S3, just prior to the discussion of step S4 on page 4: “Because the search model is adapted to resource constraints of different hardware platforms, therefore, adding loss of calculation cost in the classification verification loss function. according to the number of floating point operation of the filter to describe the calculation cost of the single network, then calculating the weighted sum of all candidate network cost, namely the network total calculation cost lcost, λ cost is the weight of the calculation cost. The loss function is as follows: L=lc + λ costlcost, wherein lc represents the cross entropy loss of the search network structure.” The Examiner believes this loss determination taught in relation to Guo’s S1-S4 reads on Applicants’ clarification of determining a hardware resource loss specifically, and is understood to arrive at an optimal hardware configuration for performing the model, i.e., involving the determination and minimization of an optimization loss. In particular, Guo’s step S3, found on page 2, appears to involve actual values that would be understood to be measured as part of its search and evaluation aspect, rather than Wu’s dependency at least in part on theoretical values from a table.
Wu and Guo are similarly directed in relating to hardware configuration search in pursuit of optimization. Hence, they are analogous. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Guo’s hardware resource search and evaluation aspects into Wu’s framework, with a reasonable expectation of success, as to provide a more accurate evaluation that relies more directly on measured values of greater relevance per Guo as an improvement over Wu’s lookup table.
Regarding claim 2, WU in view of GUO teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Further, WU teaches “wherein the hardware resource prediction model comprises a neural network configured to accept the parameters of the candidate architecture as inputs”:
(Wu: [Page 10736-10737, 3.1 search Space, Paragraphs 2-3] “In this work, we construct a layer-wise search space with a fixed macro-architecture, and each layer can choose a different block. The macro architecture is described in Table 1. The macro architecture defines the number of layers and the input/output dimensions of each layer. The first and the last three layers of the network have fixed operators. For the rest of the layers, their block type needs to be searched. The filter numbers for each layer are hand-picked empirically. We use relatively small channel sizes for early layers, since the input resolution at early layers is large, and the computational cost (FLOP count) is quadratic to input size.
Each searchable layer in the network can choose a different block from the layer-wise search space. The block structure is inspired by MobileNetV2 [17] and ShiftNet [23], and is illustrated in Figure 3. It contains a point-wise (1x1) convolution, a K-by-K depthwise convolution where K denotes the kernel size, and another 1x1 convolution. “ReLU” activation functions follow the first 1x1 convolution and the depthwise convolution, but there are no activation functions following the last 1x1 convolution. If the output dimension stays the same as the input dimension, we use a skip connection to add the input to the output. Following [17, 23], we use a hyperparameter, the expansion ratio e, to control the block. It determines how much do we expand the output channel size of the first 1x1 convolution compared with its input channel size. Following [20], we also allow choosing a kernel size of 3 or 5 for the depthwise convolution. In addition, we can choose to use group convolution for the first and the last 1x1 convolution to reduce the computation complexity. When we use group convolution, we follow [29] to add a channel shuffle operation to mix the information between channel groups.
In our experiments, our layer-wise search space contains 9 candidate blocks, with their configurations listed in Table 2. Note we also have a block called “skip”, which directly feed the input feature map to the output without actual computations. This candidate block essentially allows us to reduce the depth of the network.
In summary, our overall search space contains 22 layers and each layer can choose from 9 candidate blocks from Table 2, so it contains 922
1021 possible architectures.”) Here, we see various parameters of the candidate architecture such as K (the kernel size) and the expansion ratio e. We see the candidate blocks which form the architecture / the candidate architecture’s parameters being used as inputs between each layer of the neural network.
And further:
[Figure 3]
In the above figure, the inputs denoted as H x W x Cin & H x W x (e x Cin) & (H/s) x (W/s) x (e x Cin) are fed as parameters of candidate architectures within each block which choose different expansion rates, kernel sizes, and numbers of groups.
Further, WU teaches “wherein the hardware resource prediction model comprises a neural network configured to… predict the second hardware resource of the neural network of the candidate architecture based on the parameters”:
([Page 10737, 3.2 Latency-Aware Loss Function, Paragraphs 1-4] “The loss function used in (1) has to reflect not only the accuracy of a given architecture but also the latency on the target hardware (thus acknowledging the need to optimize based on hardware resources. Here, the Latency-Aware Loss Function is the hardware resource prediction model, and its output is the prediction of the second hardware resources). To achieve this goal, we define the following loss function:
The first term CE(a, wa) denotes the cross-entropy loss of architecture a with parameter wa. The second term LAT(a) denotes the latency of the architecture on the target hardware measured in micro-second (a measurement of hardware resources used in operation of the neural network with the candidate architecture, which is based on parameters wa). The coefficient
controls the overall magnitude of the loss function. The exponent coefficient " modulates the magnitude of the latency term.
The cross-entropy term can be easily computed. However, the latency term is more difficult, since we need to measure the actual runtime of an architecture on a target device (hardware resources that would be used for operating the neural network with the candidate architecture). To cover the entire search space, we need to measure about 1021 architectures, which is an impossible task.
To solve this problem, we use a latency lookup table model to estimate the overall latency of a network based on the runtime of each operator. More formally, we assume
where
denotes the block at layer-l from architecture a. This assumes that on the target processor, the runtime of each operator is independent of other operators. The assumption is valid for many mobile CPUs and DSPs, where operators are computed sequentially one by one. This way, by benchmarking the latency of a few hundred operators used in the search space, we can easily estimate the actual runtime of the 1021 architectures in the entire search space (generating a prediction of the hardware resources that would be used for operating the neural network with the candidate architecture). More importantly, as will be explained in section 3.3, using the lookup table model makes the latency term in the loss function (2) differentiable with respect to layer-wise block choices, and this allows us to use gradient-based optimization to solve problem (1).”)
Further, WU teaches “wherein the hardware resource prediction model comprises a neural network configured to… output a hardware resource prediction value”:
[Page 10741, Table 5]
In the above table, you can see the FLOPS and the Latency (a hardware resource prediction value) calculated based on target devices (iPhone X & Samsung Galaxy S8)
The motivation for combining the references is as discussed above in relation to claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, WU in view of GUO teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Further, WU teaches “wherein the processor is further configured to: “update the parameters of the candidate architecture to minimize the hardware resource loss”:
([Page 10738, 3.3 Search Algorithm, final paragraph] “Our search process is now equivalent to training the stochastic super net. During the training, we compute
to train each operator’s weight in the super net. This is no different from training an ordinary ConvNet. After operators get trained, different operators can have a different contribution to the accuracy and the efficiency of the overall network. Therefore, we compute
to update the sampling probability P0 for each operator. This step selects operators with better accuracy and lower latency and suppresses the opposite ones (thus updating the parameters to minimize the hardware resource loss). After the super net training finishes, we can then obtain the optimal architectures by sampling from the architecture distribution P0.” Here we see the above methods concluding with the target architecture of the neural network being determined based on the loss functions.)
Regarding claim 4, WU in view of GUO teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Further, WU teaches “wherein the processor is further configured to determine a weighted sum of the neural network loss and the hardware resource loss as an optimization loss and to determine the target architecture to minimize the optimization loss”:
([Page 10737, 3.2 Latency-Aware Loss Function, Paragraphs 1-2] “The loss function used in (1) has to reflect not only the accuracy of a given architecture but also the latency on the target hardware (thus acknowledging the need to optimize based on hardware resources). To achieve this goal, we define the following loss function:
The first term CE(a, wa) denotes the cross-entropy loss of architecture a with parameter wa (a neural network loss). The second term LAT(a) denotes the latency of the architecture on the target hardware measured in micro-second (hardware resource loss). The coefficient
controls the overall magnitude of the loss function (a weight applied to the hardware resource loss). The exponent coefficient " modulates the magnitude of the latency term.”) In the above equation, the selection of the architecture is clearly based on a Least sum (a sum of the losses, which is weighted using the coefficient
) of a neural network loss, as evidenced by the cross-entropy loss of architecture a with parameter wa (neural network loss) and the weight
(making it a weighted sum) applied to the hardware resource loss, LAT(a), resulting in a weighted sum of them. This total loss is aimed to be minimized for the optimization of the neural network on the target device (an optimization loss).
The motivation for combining the references is as discussed above in relation to claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, WU in view of GUO teaches the limitations claim 1, as discussed above. Further, WU teaches “wherein the processor is further configured to determine the target architecture and target parameters to reduce the neural network loss and the hardware resource loss”:
([Page 10736-10737, 3.1 search Space, Paragraphs 2-3] “In this work, we construct a layer-wise search space with a fixed macro-architecture, and each layer can choose a different block. The macro architecture is described in Table 1. The macro architecture defines the number of layers and the input/output dimensions of each layer. The first and the last three layers of the network have fixed operators. For the rest of the layers, their block type needs to be searched. The filter numbers for each layer are hand-picked empirically. We use relatively small channel sizes for early layers, since the input resolution at early layers is large, and the computational cost (FLOP count) is quadratic to input size.
Each searchable layer in the network can choose a different block from the layer-wise search space. The block structure is inspired by MobileNetV2 [17] and ShiftNet [23], and is illustrated in Figure 3. It contains a point-wise (1x1) convolution, a K-by-K depthwise convolution where K denotes the kernel size, and another 1x1 convolution. “ReLU” activation functions follow the first 1x1 convolution and the depthwise convolution, but there are no activation functions following the last 1x1 convolution. If the output dimension stays the same as the input dimension, we use a skip connection to add the input to the output. Following [17, 23], we use a hyperparameter, the expansion ratio e, to control the block. It determines how much do we expand the output channel size of the first 1x1 convolution compared with its input channel size. Following [20], we also allow choosing a kernel size of 3 or 5 for the depthwise convolution. In addition, we can choose to use group convolution for the first and the last 1x1 convolution to reduce the computation complexity. When we use group convolution, we follow [29] to add a channel shuffle operation to mix the information between channel groups.
In our experiments, our layer-wise search space contains 9 candidate blocks, with their configurations listed in Table 2. Note we also have a block called “skip”, which directly feed the input feature map to the output without actual computations. This candidate block essentially allows us to reduce the depth of the network.
In summary, our overall search space contains 22 layers and each layer can choose from 9 candidate blocks from Table 2, so it contains 922
1021 possible architectures.”) Here, we see various parameters of the candidate architecture such as K (the kernel size) and the expansion ratio e. We see the candidate blocks which form the architecture / the candidate architecture’s parameters being used as inputs between each layer of the neural network.
And further:
[Figure 3]
In the above figure, the inputs denoted as H x W x Cin & H x W x (e x Cin) & (H/s) x (W/s) x (e x Cin) are fed as parameters of candidate architectures within each block which choose different expansion rates, kernel sizes, and numbers of groups, thus changing parameters while determining the architecture.
And further:
([Page 10736, 3. Method] “In this paper, we use differentiable neural architecture search (DNAS) to solve the problem of ConvNet design. We formulate the neural architecture search problem as
. Given an architecture space
, we seek to find an optimal architecture
such that after training its weights wa, it can achieve the minimal loss L(a, wa) Here, we see that the goal is to minimize the loss of the neural network. In our work, we focus on three factors of the problem: a) the search space
. b) The loss function L(a, wa) that considers actual latency (here we also see the goal of minimizing hardware resource loss). c) An efficient search algorithm.”)
And further:
([Page 10737, 3.2 Latency-Aware Loss Function, Paragraphs 1-4] “The loss function used in (1) has to reflect not only the accuracy of a given architecture but also the latency on the target hardware (thus acknowledging the need to minimize both the neural network loss (accuracy of the given architecture) and the hardware resource loss (latency on the target hardware)).
The motivation for combining the references is as discussed above in relation to claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, WU in view of GUO teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Further, WU teaches “wherein, for each layer of the neural network, a corresponding candidate architecture is determined by selecting a respective candidate operation from among candidate operations of a corresponding layer”:
([Page 10736-10737, 3.1 search Space, Paragraphs 2-3] “In this work, we construct a layer-wise search space (for each layer of the neural network…) with a fixed macro-architecture, and each layer can choose a different block. The macro architecture is described in Table 1. The macro architecture defines the number of layers and the input/output dimensions of each layer. The first and the last three layers of the network have fixed operators (fixed operations). For the rest of the layers, their block type needs to be searched (candidate operations). The filter numbers for each layer are hand-picked empirically. We use relatively small channel sizes for early layers, since the input resolution at early layers is large, and the computational cost (FLOP count) is quadratic to input size.
Each searchable layer in the network can choose a different block from the layer-wise search space. The block structure is inspired by MobileNetV2 [17] and ShiftNet [23], and is illustrated in Figure 3. It contains a point-wise (1x1) convolution, a K-by-K depthwise convolution where K denotes the kernel size, and another 1x1 convolution. “ReLU” activation functions follow the first 1x1 convolution and the depthwise convolution, but there are no activation functions following the last 1x1 convolution. If the output dimension stays the same as the input dimension, we use a skip connection to add the input to the output. Following [17, 23], we use a hyperparameter, the expansion ratio e, to control the block. It determines how much do we expand the output channel size of the first 1x1 convolution compared with its input channel size. Following [20], we also allow choosing a kernel size of 3 or 5 for the depthwise convolution. In addition, we can choose to use group convolution for the first and the last 1x1 convolution to reduce the computation complexity. When we use group convolution, we follow [29] to add a channel shuffle operation to mix the information between channel groups.
In our experiments, our layer-wise search space contains 9 candidate blocks, with their configurations listed in Table 2. Note we also have a block called “skip”, which directly feed the input feature map to the output without actual computations. This candidate block essentially allows us to reduce the depth of the network.
In summary, our overall search space contains 22 layers and each layer can choose from 9 candidate blocks from Table 2, so it contains 922
1021 possible architectures.”) Here, we see various parameters of the candidate architecture such as K (the kernel size) and the expansion ratio e. We see the candidate blocks which form the architecture / the candidate architecture’s parameters being used as inputs between each layer of the neural network.
And further:
[Figure 3]
In the above figure, the inputs denoted as H x W x Cin & H x W x (e x Cin) & (H/s) x (W/s) x (e x Cin) are fed as parameters of candidate architectures within each block which choose different expansion rates, kernel sizes, and numbers of groups, thus changing parameters while determining the architecture via layer-wise candidate operations.
The motivation for combining the references is as discussed above in relation to claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, WU in view of GUO teaches the limitations of claim 6, as discussed above. Further, WU teaches “wherein information associated with the selected candidate operation is input to the hardware resource prediction model”:
[Figure 3]
In the above figure, the inputs denoted as H x W x Cin & H x W x (e x Cin) & (H/s) x (W/s) x (e x Cin) are fed as parameters of candidate architectures within each block which choose different expansion rates, kernel sizes, and numbers of groups, thus changing parameters while determining the architecture via layer-wise candidate operations, which is input to the hardware resource prediction model (The Latency-Aware Loss Function) shown in section 3.2.
The motivation for combining the references is as discussed above in relation to claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, WU in view of GUO teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Further, WU teaches “wherein the first hardware resources comprises any one or any combination of a measured power consumption, a memory demand, a number of operations, and a processing time to operate the neural network with the candidate architecture”:
[Page 10741, Table 4]
In the above table, CPU Latency can be seen which is equivalent to “a processing time to operate the neural network with the candidate architecture”, as is FLOPs, which equivalates to a “measured power consumption”.
The motivation for combining the references is as discussed above in relation to claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, WU in view of GUO teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Further, WU teaches “wherein the processor is further configured to: determine an optimization loss comprising the neural network loss and the hardware resource loss”:
([Page 10738, 3.3 Search Algorithm] “Solving the problem (1) through brute-force enumeration of the search space is very infeasible. The inner problem of optimizing wa (optimizing based on the hardware resource loss) involves training a neural network. For ImageNet classification, training a ConvNet typically takes several days or even weeks. The outer problem of optimizing
(Optimizing based on the neural network loss, meaning that the optimal architecture is selected based on minimization of loss of accuracy of the neural network.) has a combinatorially large search space.
Most of the early works on NAS [30, 31, 20] follow the paradigm above. To reduce the computational cost, the inner problem is replaced by training candidate architectures on an easier proxy dataset. For example, [30, 31] trains the architecture on the CIFAR10 dataset, and [20] trains on ImageNet but only for 5 epochs. The learned architectures are then transferred to the target dataset. To avoid exhaustively iterating through the search space, [30, 31, 20] use reinforcement learning to guide the exploration. Despite these improvements, solving problem (1) is still prohibitively expensive – training a network on the proxy dataset is still time-consuming, and thousands of architectures need to be trained before reaching the optimal solution.
We adopt a different paradigm of solving problem (1) (optimization based on the neural network loss and the hardware resource loss, meaning that the actual hardware latency is considered between the architecture and target hardware, thus calculation of the hardware resource loss). We first represent the search space by a stochastic super net. The super net has the same macro-architecture as described in Table 1, and each layer contains 9 parallel blocks as described in Table 2. During the inference of the super net, only one candidate block is sampled and executed with the sampling probability of
0l contains parameters that determine the sampling probability of each block at layer-l. Equivalently, the output of layer-l can be expressed as
where ml,I is a random variable in {0, 1} and is evaluated to 1 if block bl,i is sampled. The sampling probability is determined by equation (4). bl,i(xl) denotes the output of block-i at layer l given the input feature map xl. We let each layer sample independently, therefore, the probability of sampling an architecture a can be described as
where 0 denotes the a vector consists of all the 0l,i for each block-i at layer-l.
denotes that in the sampled architecture a, block-i is chosen at layer-l.
The above tables were placed here by the examiner for convenience since they are referenced in the text.
Instead of solving for the optimal architecture
, which has a discrete search space, we relax the problem to optimize the probability P0 of the stochastic super net to achieve the minimum expected loss (minimizing the neural network loss for optimization). Formally, we re-write the discrete optimization problem (1) as
It is obvious the loss function in (7) is differentiable with respect to the architecture weights wa and therefore can be optimized by stochastic gradient descent (SGD). However, the loss is not directly differentiable to the sampling parameter 0, since we cannot pass the gradient through the discrete random variable ml,i to 0l,i. To sidestep this, we relax the discrete mask variable ml,i to be a continuous random variable computed by the Gumbel Softmax function [9, 14]
where gl,i ~ Gumbel(0, 1) is a random noise following the Gumbel distribution. The Gumbel Softmax function is controlled by a temperature parameter
. As
approaches 0, it approximates the discrete categorical sampling following the distribution in (6). As
becomes larger, ml,i becomes a continuous random variable. Regardless of the value of
, the mask ml,i is directly differentiable with respect to the parameter 0l,i. The technique of using Gumbel Softmax for neural architecture search is also proposed in [25, 1].
As a result, it is clear that the cross-entropy term from the loss function (2) is differentiable with respect to the mask ml,i and therefore 0l,i. For the latency term, since we use the lookup table based model for efficiency estimation, equation (3) can be written as
The latency of each operator LAT(bl,i) is a constant coefficient, so the overall latency of architecture-a is differentiable with respect to the mask ml,i, therefore 0l,i.
As a result, the loss function (2) is fully differentiable with respect to both weights wa and the architecture distribution parameter 0 (Meaning that the optimization loss is calculated based on both the neural network loss and the hardware resource loss). This allows us to use SGD to efficiently solve problem (1).”)
And further:
([Page 10738, 3.3 Search Algorithm, final paragraph] “Our search process is now equivalent to training the stochastic super net. During the training, we compute
to train each operator’s weight in the super net. This is no different from training an ordinary ConvNet. After operators get trained, different operators can have a different contribution to the accuracy and the efficiency of the overall network. Therefore, we compute
to update the sampling probability P0 for each operator. This step selects operators with better accuracy and lower latency and suppresses the opposite ones (“better accuracy” represents minimization of the neural network loss while “lower latency” represents minimization of the hardware resource loss, which together, form a combined optimization loss.). After the super net training finishes, we can then obtain the optimal architectures by sampling from the architecture distribution P0.” Here we see the above methods concluding with the target architecture of the neural network being determined based on the loss functions.)
Further, WU teaches “determine the target architecture by selecting a target operation that minimizes the optimization loss from among candidate operations of each layer comprised in the neural network of the candidate architecture”:
([Page 10736-10737, 3.1 search Space, Paragraphs 2-3] “In this work, we construct a layer-wise search space (for each layer of the neural network…) with a fixed macro-architecture, and each layer can choose a different block. The macro architecture is described in Table 1. The macro architecture defines the number of layers and the input/output dimensions of each layer. The first and the last three layers of the network have fixed operators (fixed operations). For the rest of the layers, their block type needs to be searched (candidate operations). The filter numbers for each layer are hand-picked empirically. We use relatively small channel sizes for early layers, since the input resolution at early layers is large, and the computational cost (FLOP count) is quadratic to input size.
Each searchable layer in the network can choose a different block from the layer-wise search space. The block structure is inspired by MobileNetV2 [17] and ShiftNet [23], and is illustrated in Figure 3. It contains a point-wise (1x1) convolution, a K-by-K depthwise convolution where K denotes the kernel size, and another 1x1 convolution. “ReLU” activation functions follow the first 1x1 convolution and the depthwise convolution, but there are no activation functions following the last 1x1 convolution. If the output dimension stays the same as the input dimension, we use a skip connection to add the input to the output. Following [17, 23], we use a hyperparameter, the expansion ratio e, to control the block. It determines how much do we expand the output channel size of the first 1x1 convolution compared with its input channel size. Following [20], we also allow choosing a kernel size of 3 or 5 for the depthwise convolution. In addition, we can choose to use group convolution for the first and the last 1x1 convolution to reduce the computation complexity. When we use group convolution, we follow [29] to add a channel shuffle operation to mix the information between channel groups.
In our experiments, our layer-wise search space contains 9 candidate blocks, with their configurations listed in Table 2. Note we also have a block called “skip”, which directly feed the input feature map to the output without actual computations. This candidate block essentially allows us to reduce the depth of the network.
In summary, our overall search space contains 22 layers and each layer can choose from 9 candidate blocks from Table 2, so it contains 922
1021 possible architectures.”) Here, we see various parameters of the candidate architecture such as K (the kernel size) and the expansion ratio e. We see the candidate blocks which form the architecture / the candidate architecture’s parameters being used as inputs between each layer of the neural network.
And further:
[Figure 3]
In the above figure, the inputs denoted as H x W x Cin & H x W x (e x Cin) & (H/s) x (W/s) x (e x Cin) are fed as parameters of candidate architectures within each block which choose different expansion rates, kernel sizes, and numbers of groups, thus changing parameters while determining the architecture via layer-wise candidate operations. This citation further explains how the process works on a layer-by-layer level. In combination with the aforementioned citation of section 3.2, it is clear that the chosen operations are based on minimizing loss.
The motivation for combining the references is as discussed above in relation to claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, WU in view of GUO teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Further, WU teaches “wherein the processor is further configured to determine the neural network loss based on a difference between validation data and result data output by the neural network of the candidate architecture processing training data”:
([Page 10739, 4.1 ImageNet Classification, Paragraph 3] “Our experiment results are summarized in Table 3. We compare our searched models with state-of-the-art efficient models both designed automatically and manually. The primary metrics we care about are top-1 accuracy on the ImageNet validation set (top-1 accuracy in the table is used to show a difference between validation data and result data output by the neural network of the candidate architecture processing training data) and the latency. If the latency is not available, we use FLOP as the secondary efficiency metric. For baseline models, we directly cite the parameter size, FLOP count, and top-1 accuracy from the original paper. Since our network is deployed with caffe2 with highly efficient in8 implementation, we have an unfair latency advantage against other baselines. Therefore, we implement the baseline models ourselves and measure their latency under the same environment for a fair comparison. For automatically designed models, we also compare the search method, search space, and search cost.”)
Table 3, as referenced, was placed here by the examiner for convenience.
Regarding claim 11, the claim teaches essentially the same limitations as claim 1 discussed above, and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
The motivation for combining the references is as discussed above in relation to claim 1.
Regarding claims 12-15, WU in view of GUO teaches the limitations of claim 11. Further, claims 12-15 comprise similar additional limitations as claims 2, 4, 6, & 8, respectively, and are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 16, WU in view of GUO teaches the limitations of claim 11, as discussed above. Further, WU teaches “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method”:
([Abstract] “Designing accurate and efficient ConvNets (convolutional neural networks) for mobile devices is challenging because the design space is combinatorially large. Due to this, previous neural architecture search (NAS) methods are computationally expensive. ConvNet architecture optimality depends on factors such as input resolution and target devices (parameters). However, existing approaches are too resource demanding for case-by-case redesigns. Also, previous work focuses primarily on reducing FLOPs, but FLOP count does not always reflect actual latency. To address these, we propose a differentiable neural architecture search (DNAS) framework (containing candidate architectures) that uses gradient-based methods to optimize ConvNet architectures, avoiding enumerating and training individual architectures separately as in previous methods. FBNets (Facebook-Berkeley-Nets), a family of models discovered by DNAS surpass state-of-the-art models both designed manually and generated automatically. FBNet-B achieves 74.1% top-1 accuracy on ImageNet with 295M FLOPs and 23.1 ms latency on a Samsung S8 phone, 2.4x smaller and 1.5x faster than MobileNetV2-1.3[17] with similar accuracy. Despite higher accuracy and lower latency than MnasNet[20], we estimate FBNet-B’s search cost is 420x smaller than MnasNet’s, at only 216 GPU-hours. Searched for different resolutions and channel sizes, FBNets achieve 1.5% to 6.4% higher accuracy than MobileNetV2. The smallest FBNet achieves 50.2% accuracy and 2.9 ms latency (345 frames per second) on a Samsung S8. Over a Samsung-optimized FBNet, the iPhone-X-optimized model achieves a 1.4x speedup on an iPhone X. FBNet models are open sourced at https://github.com/facebookresearch/mobile-vision.”) Additionally, “a differentiable neural architecture search framework” for optimizing neural network architectures inherently requires a computer with a processor and at least some form of physical memory, which is, under broadest reasonable interpretation, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, in order to function.
The motivation for combining the references is as discussed above in relation to claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, the claim teaches essentially the same limitations as claim 1 discussed above, and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 18, WU in view of GUO teaches the limitations of claim 17, as discussed above. Further, WU teaches “wherein the selecting of the target architecture of the neural network comprises determining the target architecture of the neural network with a least sum of the neural network loss and a weight applied to the hardware resource loss”:
([Page 10737, 3.2 Latency-Aware Loss Function, Paragraphs 1-2] “The loss function used in (1) has to reflect not only the accuracy of a given architecture but also the latency on the target hardware (thus acknowledging the need to optimize based on hardware resources). To achieve this goal, we define the following loss function:
The first term CE(a, wa) denotes the cross-entropy loss of architecture a with parameter wa (a neural network loss). The second term LAT(a) denotes the latency of the architecture on the target hardware measured in micro-second (hardware resource loss). The coefficient
controls the overall magnitude of the loss function (a weight applied to the hardware resource loss). The exponent coefficient " modulates the magnitude of the latency term.”) In the above equation, the selection of the architecture is clearly based on a Least sum of a neural network loss, as evidenced by the cross-entropy loss of architecture a with parameter wa and the weight
applied to the hardware resource loss, LAT(a).
The motivation for combining the references is as discussed above in relation to claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, WU in view of GUO teaches the limitations of claim 17, as discussed above. Further, WU teaches “wherein the generating of the hardware resource loss comprises generating the hardware resource loss based on applying a loss function that considers the difference between the first hardware resource and the second hardware resource”:
([Page 10736-10737, 3.1 search Space, Paragraphs 2-3] “In this work, we construct a layer-wise search space with a fixed macro-architecture, and each layer can choose a different block. The macro architecture is described in Table 1. The macro architecture defines the number of layers and the input/output dimensions of each layer. The first and the last three layers of the network have fixed operators. For the rest of the layers, their block type needs to be searched. The filter numbers for each layer are hand-picked empirically. We use relatively small channel sizes for early layers, since the input resolution at early layers is large, and the computational cost (FLOP count) is quadratic to input size.
Each searchable layer in the network can choose a different block from the layer-wise search space. The block structure is inspired by MobileNetV2 [17] and ShiftNet [23], and is illustrated in Figure 3. It contains a point-wise (1x1) convolution, a K-by-K depthwise convolution where K denotes the kernel size, and another 1x1 convolution. “ReLU” activation functions follow the first 1x1 convolution and the depthwise convolution, but there are no activation functions following the last 1x1 convolution. If the output dimension stays the same as the input dimension, we use a skip connection to add the input to the output. Following [17, 23], we use a hyperparameter, the expansion ratio e, to control the block. It determines how much do we expand the output channel size of the first 1x1 convolution compared with its input channel size. Following [20], we also allow choosing a kernel size of 3 or 5 for the depthwise convolution. In addition, we can choose to use group convolution for the first and the last 1x1 convolution to reduce the computation complexity. When we use group convolution, we follow [29] to add a channel shuffle operation to mix the information between channel groups.
In our experiments, our layer-wise search space contains 9 candidate blocks, with their configurations listed in Table 2. Note we also have a block called “skip”, which directly feed the input feature map to the output without actual computations. This candidate block essentially allows us to reduce the depth of the network.
In summary, our overall search space contains 22 layers and each layer can choose from 9 candidate blocks from Table 2, so it contains 922
1021 possible architectures.”) The actual measured per-layer latency is the first hardware resource. The predicted architecture latency is the second hardware resource, via summing lookup table values. The “difference” is inherently minimized because the lookup table is built to match the measured values, meaning that the prediction error is the gap between measurement and table-based estimates.
And further:
[Figure 3]
In the above figure, the inputs denoted as H x W x Cin & H x W x (e x Cin) & (H/s) x (W/s) x (e x Cin) are fed as parameters of candidate architectures within each block which choose different expansion rates, kernel sizes, and numbers of groups.
And further:
([Page 10737, 3.2 Latency-Aware Loss Function, Paragraphs 1-2] “The loss function used in (1) has to reflect not only the accuracy of a given architecture but also the latency on the target hardware (thus acknowledging the need to optimize based on hardware resources). To achieve this goal, we define the following loss function:
The first term CE(a, wa) denotes the cross-entropy loss of architecture a with parameter wa (a neural network loss). The second term LAT(a) denotes the latency of the architecture on the target hardware measured in micro-second (hardware resource loss). The coefficient
controls the overall magnitude of the loss function (a weight applied to the hardware resource loss). The exponent coefficient " modulates the magnitude of the latency term.”) You can directly see in the equation that the latency term LAT(a), which is based on the predictor, is added to the overall weighted loss.
The motivation for combining the references is as discussed above in relation to claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, WU in view of GUO teaches the limitations of claim 17, as discussed above. Further, WU teaches “wherein the candidate architecture comprises a neural network structure including a set of candidate operations for each layer of the neural network”:
([Page 10736-10737, 3.1 search Space, Paragraphs 2-3] “In this work, we construct a layer-wise search space with a fixed macro-architecture, and each layer can choose a different block. The macro architecture is described in Table 1. The macro architecture defines the number of layers and the input/output dimensions of each layer. The first and the last three layers of the network have fixed operators. For the rest of the layers, their block type needs to be searched. The filter numbers for each layer are hand-picked empirically. We use relatively small channel sizes for early layers, since the input resolution at early layers is large, and the computational cost (FLOP count) is quadratic to input size.
Each searchable layer in the network can choose a different block from the layer-wise search space. The block structure is inspired by MobileNetV2 [17] and ShiftNet [23], and is illustrated in Figure 3. It contains a point-wise (1x1) convolution, a K-by-K depthwise convolution where K denotes the kernel size, and another 1x1 convolution. “ReLU” activation functions follow the first 1x1 convolution and the depthwise convolution, but there are no activation functions following the last 1x1 convolution. If the output dimension stays the same as the input dimension, we use a skip connection to add the input to the output. Following [17, 23], we use a hyperparameter, the expansion ratio e, to control the block. It determines how much do we expand the output channel size of the first 1x1 convolution compared with its input channel size. Following [20], we also allow choosing a kernel size of 3 or 5 for the depthwise convolution. In addition, we can choose to use group convolution for the first and the last 1x1 convolution to reduce the computation complexity. When we use group convolution, we follow [29] to add a channel shuffle operation to mix the information between channel groups.
In our experiments, our layer-wise search space contains 9 candidate blocks, with their configurations listed in Table 2. Note we also have a block called “skip”, which directly feed the input feature map to the output without actual computations. This candidate block essentially allows us to reduce the depth of the network.
In summary, our overall search space contains 22 layers and each layer can choose from 9 candidate blocks from Table 2, so it contains 922
1021 possible architectures.”)
And further:
[Figure 3]
In the above figure, the inputs denoted as H x W x Cin & H x W x (e x Cin) & (H/s) x (W/s) x (e x Cin) are fed as parameters of candidate architectures within each block which choose different expansion rates, kernel sizes, and numbers of groups.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHOURJO DASGUPTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2144