DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
This non-final office action is in response to the amendment filed May 1, 2026. Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, and 17-20 are pending in this application and have been considered below. Claims 2, 9, and 16 are canceled by the applicant.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, and 17-20 regarding the lack of temporal displacements in Liu have been considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection over Yang (US 2019/0102908 A1) which explicitly teaches a regression coefficient for each class and each frame coefficient vector.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vahdani et al. (Deep Learning-based Action Detection in Untrimmed Videos: A Survey – hereinafter “Vahdani”) in view of Yang et al. (US 2019/0102908 A1, hereinafter "Yang"), which incorporates by reference Girshick ("Fast R-CNN", hereinafter "Girshick") at ¶¶ 0060, 76, and 80; where, "Each patent and prior printed publication cited herein is expressly incorporated by reference as if expressly set forth," at ¶ 0173.).
Claims 1, 8 and 15.
Yang disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the computer-readable storage medium including instructions that when executed by a computer (Yang ¶¶ 0145-146), cause the computer to …
Vahdani discloses a method comprising:
retrieving a frame sequence depicting an event (Vahdani Abstract discloses “activity detection in untrimmed videos”; Fig. 1), the frame sequence having a plurality of frames (Vahdani p. 2, left column, discloses “predict action labels at every frame of the video”; § 1.1 discloses "the goal is to predict action labels at every frame of the video" for "videos with dense occurrence of actions"), each frame corresponding to a temporal location of the frame sequence (p. 3, top right column, discloses “The start time, end time, and label”);
extracting a feature from each frame of the plurality of frames (Vahdani p. 2, left column, ¶3 discloses “When targeting fine-grained actions, temporal action detection (segmentation) is similar to semantic segmentation as both aim to classify every single instance, i.e., frames in temporal domain”; p. 4, left column, §2.2 discloses equation 4 a sequence S with l frames where, “RGB frame xtn is fed to spatial network ResNet [25], extracting feature vector fS,n”; );
generating an input matrix by stacking the extracted features (Vahdani § 2.4.1.1, Eq. (10) discloses "
X
∈
R
(
d
×
T
)
is a video-level feature matrix, and d is the feature dimension",
where T is the number of temporal positions; the per-frame extracted features are thus
arranged along the temporal axis to form a d x T matrix, stacking the extracted features
along the temporal dimension; BRI: Vahdani's X functions as the input matrix to the linear classifier WX
⨁
b of Eq. (10), reading on the claimed input matrix);
applying an event detection model to the input matrix to combine features across all temporal locations and generate an output matrix, the output matrix comprising a plurality of classes for each frame (Vahdani § 2.3.5 discloses a model that combine features across the full temporal extent of the sequence, including an "encoder decoder transformer" that captures non-linear temporal structure "by reasoning over videos as nonsequential entities" and a "U-shaped TFPN" of convolutional and deconvolutional layers; § 2.4.1.1, Eq. (10) discloses applying the event detection model to the input feature matrix X to generate the output T-CAM matrix A= WX + b, where A has "n_c rows which is the total number of action classes, and T columns which is the number of temporal positions in the video", providing a plurality of classes for each frame; the matrix multiplication WX combines all T temporal columns of X into each column of A);
determining, for each frame and each class, confidences from the output matrix (Vahdani § 2.4.1.2 discloses A is the "activation of class c at temporal position t" and the per-category confidence is "computed as the average of top k activation scores over the temporal dimension for that category"); and
determining, based on tdetermined for each frame and each class, the event depicted by the frame sequence (Vahdani § 2.4.1.1 discloses the T-CAM matrix A "represent[s] the possibility of
activities at each temporal position"; § 4.1.3 discloses action spotting yielding detected
events including "goals, penalties, corner kicks, and card events").
Vahdani discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching “a respective confidence and a respective class-specific temporal displacement.” However, Yang in the same field of endeavor (action detection in video) teaches a respective confidence and a respective class-specific temporal displacement (Yang ¶ 0056 discloses "a 4 x C x T dimensional regression coefficient vector is produced for each anchor tube, where ... C is the number of action classes and T is the length of the input frame sequence"; ¶ 0058 repeats the 4 x C x T regression coefficient teaching; ¶ 0080 expressly discloses "The regression is class specific, i.e. different regression outputs correspond to different actions"; ¶ 0076 discloses the regression coefficient parameterization "may be the same as in Girshick et al."; Girshick (incorporated by reference into Yang at ¶ 0173) discloses "per-class bounding-box regression offsets" such that "each of the K classes gets its own refined bounding-box prediction", applied to a preassigned anchor; the regression output indexed by class c and time treads on the claimed class-specific temporal displacement determined for each frame and each class).
It would have been obvious to a Person of Ordinary Skill In The Art (POSITA), before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Vahdani's temporal action detection by including the regression coefficient vector determined for each class and each frame taught by Yang and the regression offset framework of Girshick. A POSITA would have been motivated to do so because Yang teaches that determining a regression coefficient for each class and each frame enables refinement of action boundaries for each class and avoids the assignment ambiguities of class-agnostic regression heads (Yang ¶ 0080), and Girshick teaches that giving "each of the K classes ... its own refined ... prediction" is a known technique for improving localization accuracy. Applying the regression framework of Girshick and Yang to Vahdani's T-CAM scoring, which already produces a value for each class and each frame, is the predictable application of a known technique to a known problem (temporal action localization) to yield a predictable result (a refined temporal location for each class and each frame). KSR exemplary rationale (D), MPEP 2143(I)(D).
Claims 3, 10, and 17.
The combination of Vahdani, Yang, and De Souza discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the respective confidence and the respective class-specific temporal displacement for each frame and each class further comprises performing separate convolution operations on the output matrix (Vahdani p. 6, right column, § 2.3.4 discloses “Several convolutional layers are applied on the features to predict actionness score (def 6), completeness score (def 8), classification score (def 9), and to adjust the temporal boundary of the proposals,” providing separate convolution operations on the output features for classification and for boundary adjustment; Yang Fig. 1B and ¶ 0050 shows a two-branch architecture, with two-branch head 128 splitting into a global/classification branch (operations 130, 132) and a local/regression branch (operations 134, 136)).
Claims 4, 11, and 18.
The combination of Vahdani, Yang, and De Souza discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the event detection model includes a model trunk selected from a group consisting of a 1-D U-Net (Vahdani 2.3.5 discloses a "U-shaped TFPN" (Temporal Feature Pyramid Network) built from convolutional and deconvolutional layers operating along the temporal axis of the input feature sequence, reading on the 1-D U-Net alternative under BRI) and a transformer encoder (TE) (Vahdani § 2.3.5 discloses an "encoder decoder transformer" trunk to "capture non-linear temporal structure by reasoning over videos as nonsequential entities", reading on the transformer encoder alternative).
Claims 5, 12, and 19.
The combination of Vahdani, Yang, and De Souza discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the event depicted by the frame sequence based on the respective confidence and the respective class-specific temporal displacement defined for each frame and each class includes consolidating the confidences and temporal displacements by displacing the confidences by the temporal displacements (Vahdani § 2.4.1.1 supplies the per-class, per-frame confidence, where “A[c, tcl] is the activation (def 15) of class c at temporal position tcl”; Yang ¶ 0056 supplies the per-class, per-frame displacement as the 4xCxT regression coefficient vector, and Yang ¶¶ 0070-73 and Fig. 2D disclose iterative refinement anchor tubes across t-1, t, t+1 by application of the regression coefficient (i.e. the displacement in time); Girshick (incorporated by reference in Yang ¶ 0076) supplies the operation rule that the regression coefficient shifts the anchor in time and the classification score moves with the shifted anchor – reading on the claimed consolidation of confidences and displacements).
Claims 6 and 13.
The combination of Vahdani, Yang, and De Souza discloses the method of claim 1, wherein prior to applying the event detection model, a dimensionality reduction technique is applied to the input matrix (Vahdani p. 4, left top column, discloses “In some cases, the recognition scores of sampled frames are aggregated with the Top-k pooling”; where, pooling layers are commonly used in neural networks to summarize features from an area).
Claims 7, 14, and 20.
The combination of Vahdani, Yang, and De Souza discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising training the event detection model by optimizing a confidence loss and a temporal displacement loss (Vahdani § 2.3.4, Def. 13 discloses a classification cross-entropy loss over action classes and Def. 14 discloses an action regression loss whereby "the start and end offset of proposals are predicted and supervised by a regression loss"; Yang ¶ 0076 discloses joint training with two loss functions, "the cross-entropy loss for classification and the smooth-L1-loss ... for [regressing] the coefficients", written as
L
=
∑
i
L
c
l
s
i
+
λ
L
r
e
g
i
).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ross Varndell/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2674