Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This is a non-final Office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on 03/18/2026. Claims 1, 3 – 5, 13, and 15 are amended. Claim 2 is canceled. Claims 3, 8-13, 17, and 19 – 26 remain withdrawn. Claims 1, 4 – 7, 14 – 16, and 18 are pending in the current Office action.
In light of applicant’s amendments, the claim interpretation of claims 1 and 3 – 4 under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), as established in the previous Office action, is withdrawn and the 35 U.S.C. 112b rejection of claim 1 is withdrawn. The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections set forth in the previous Office action are withdrawn, and a new grounds of rejection, necessitated by applicant’s amendment is presented below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references used in the current rejection. Specifically, in the new grounds of rejection below, a new combination of prior art references is relied upon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 – 7, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dittmann (WO2019206409A1, US PG Pub. version: US 2021/0273283 A1 used as English translation, cited in previous Office action mailed 12/18/2025) in view of Capati (US PG Pub. 2019/0081309 A1, cited in previous Office action mailed 12/18/2025), O’Neil (US PG Pub. 2018/0223070 A1), Newman (US PG Pub. 2019/0296310 A1, cited in 10/28/2024 IDS), and Burrows (US PG Pub. 2016/0020496 A1, cited in previous Office action mailed 12/18/2025).
Regarding Claims 1, Dittmann discloses a battery module (Fig. 2, 66; [0075]) comprising a subassembly (battery unit; Fig. 1, 10; [0075]) including: cells electrically connected to form group of cells (Figs. 1 and 2, 16; [0052];[0061 – 0062]), and the groups of cells electrically connected to form the subassembly ([0061 – 0064]); a lower cell carrier (lower receptacle/cell basket; Figs. 1 – 2, 14; [0046 – 0047];[0096]) and an upper cell carrier (upper receptacle/cell basket; Figs. 1 – 2, 12; [0046 – 0047];[0096]).
Dittmann teaches the battery module including a positive terminal 54 and negative terminal 56, and that the battery cells include a positive cell pole 26 in the middle of the cell and a negative cell pole 28 at the top edge of the cell (Figs. 1 – 2; [0079];[0098]). The receptables of each battery unit include an end wall, e.g. 20 in Fig. 1, that provides a plurality of apertures 34 for guiding and electrically connecting negative and positive electrode bond wires to a multi-layer electrical connection layer, in the form of a printed circuit board (PCB) 50, that is provided at an outer side of the end wall ([0060]). Dittmann further teaches that the PCB structure includes dedicated bonding areas for electrically connecting the battery cell poles and that such electrical connections are also capable with similar conductor/bus bar structures ([0099]).
Dittmann does not explicitly disclose a current collector comprising two or more conductive regions, and positive and negative electrode terminals electrically connected to the two or more conductive regions to form corresponding positive and negative terminals of the battery module.
Capati teaches a layered integrated current collector that includes a first current collector/first conductive layer, an isolation layer/non-conductive layer, and a second current collector/second conductive layer for a battery block having a plurality of cylindrical battery cells (Fig. 2; [0038];[0051 – 0053]). Capati further teaches having the current collector be integrated with the cell holder, that is, the current collector layer and isolation layer can be included on an outer side of the holder as shown in Fig. 2 ([0039]). The integrated current collector is further taught to include apertures to allow for wire bonding/electrical connections between the battery cell terminals and the current collectors (Fig. 3; [0047];[0059 – 0060]). Capati additionally teaches that the current collector allows for a decrease in part count, lower PPM {i.e. defects}, and increases part quality ([0017]).
Since Dittmann already teaches alternatively using busbar structure for the multi-layered electrical connection layer ([0099], it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the integrated current collector taught by Capati as the multi-layered electrical connection layer of Dittmann, with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining a multi-layered conducting structure capable of electrically connecting the battery cells and battery management system functions (Capati: [0033 – 0036]), as desired by Dittmann ([0017 – 0019]).
By including the integrated current collector structure taught in Capati, modified Dittmann includes a current collector comprising two or more conductive regions {i.e. the first and second conductive layer of the integrated current collector (Capati: Fig. 2; [0051]}; and positive and negative terminals electrically connected to the two or more conductive regions, respectively to form positive and negative terminals of the battery module, that is the first conductive layer and second conductive layers function as a positive current collector and negative current collector and are electrically connected to the positive and negative electrode terminals of the battery cells and form corresponding battery module terminals (Capati: Fig. 3; [0051 – 0052];[0059 – 0062]).
In Fig. 2, Dittmann shows the subassemblies including one large receptacle for holding the groups of cells; however, in Fig. 4 Dittmann further teaches an embodiment of the subassembly comprising a plurality of receptacles 12 and 14 ([0091]). Furthermore, in Fig. 4, Dittmann shows the plurality of receptacles including tapered wall elements 46 ([0054 – 0055]). Therefore Dittmann further discloses wherein the lower cell carrier includes a plurality of apertures, each aperture of the plurality of apertures including a tapering side wall; and wherein the group of cells are disposed between the upper and lower cell carriers (Refer to positioning of cells 16 in Fig. 1).
Dittmann further teaches including dedicated fire propagation mechanisms in the design of the module in case of cell thermal event, and exemplifies having the upper cell basket be a thermally insulating material to achieve such a design ([0105]). Dittmann further teaches that both thermally conductive and flame retardant feature elements can form at least a part of the receptacles/baskets used to hold the battery cells ([0069]).
Modified Dittmann does not explicitly disclose the lower and upper cell carrier configured to retain a thermally insulating foam.
O’Neil teaches thermally insulating silicon rubber foam that partially or fully fills the open space of a battery module casing and/or partially or entirely covers the battery cells of the battery module (Figs. 3 – 4; [0041 – 0042]). The inclusion of the foam is taught by O’Neil to isolate the cells from undesired water contact and further allow for uniform thermal conditions for all the cells in a battery pack or module to minimize likelihood of cell state of charge imbalance and early failure of non-defective cells caused by the propagation of thermal excursions ([0039 – 0040];[0042 – 0043]). O’Neil further teaches that the foam can be disposed between the battery cells and the circuit board and between battery cells and the connecting circuit to reduce the battery heating problem caused by the circuit board and the circuit ([0042]). Methods of filling the free space of the battery module casing taught by O’Neil include injecting the foam and allowing it to freely expand into the cavities and recesses to be filled or inserting a machined/previously molded piece of foam in the casing at the time of assembly ([0058];[0104]). The method of injecting and allowing the foam to expand is taught by O’Neil to allow for any geometry to be filled which is not possible using the alternate prefabricated block method ([0063]).
Since Dittmann already teaches a desire to implement propagation control mechanisms in their battery module design, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the upper and lower carrier of the battery module of Dittmann to a thermally insulating foam, as taught by O’Neil, with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining more uniform thermal conditions within the battery module, minimizing the likelihood of cell state of charge imbalance and of early failure of non-defective cells caused by the thermal propagation within the battery module, and increasing the sealing performance of the battery module against undesirable water contact.
Modified Dittmann, as established above however, does not particularly disclose wherein insertion of a cell of the groups of cells into a corresponding aperture of the plurality of apertures causes an interference fit to be formed against the lower cell carrier, thereby creating a seal that aids in prevention of the thermally insulating foam from seeping out of the assembly during the injection process.
Newman, also directed to a battery module comprising cylindrical cells, teaches injecting structural adhesive and/or foam from one or more sides of the battery module to provide rigidity, strength, insulation, and exact tolerance “no slop” fits between cells ([0039]). Newman further teaches, in order prevent the foam from extending beyond a desired/designed level, forming a case for the battery module comprising an array of die-cut apertures to accommodate the cells in the battery module and further configuring each of the apertures to tightly fit around the battery cells {i.e. interreference fitting}, and the tight fit of the cells is what prevents injected foam from leaking into undesired area ([0039 – 0041];[0066];[0095]).
Since modified Dittmann includes a foam in the lower carrier and teaches a method of injecting the foam (O’Neil: [0058];[0063]), and further already teaches forming apertures in the carriers with structure to retain the cells in place (Fig. 4; [0054 – 0055]), it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention , to modify the carriers of Dittmann to include tapered-wall apertures that allow for interference fitting, as taught by Newman, with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining a carrier structure that effectively prevents the leaking of the foam when injected.
By forming the tapered-wall apertures as taught by Newman, the apertures of modified Dittmann allow for interference fitting of the cells when the cells are inserted and the tight fit between the cells and apertures prevent the injected foam from leaking out/extending beyond a desired level (Refer to rejection of claim 1 and Newman: [0039 – 0040]). As such, in modified Dittmann, the insertion of a cell of the groups of cells into a corresponding aperture of the plurality of apertures causes an interference fit to be formed against the lower cell carrier and thereby creates a seal that aids in prevention of the thermally insulating foam from seeping out of the assembly during the injection process.
Dittmann further discloses including a cold plate in the battery module (cooling plate; Fig. 2, 36; [0080]).
Dittmann teaches that a thermally conductive and flame retardant feature element, for example a layered material, can be disposed between the cooling plate 36 and second wall 24 of the battery unit (Fig. 2; [0069]), but does not explicitly disclose an embodiment wherein a thermal interface material is disposed between the subassembly and a cold plate of the battery module.
Burrows teaches, with respect to battery pack structures including thermal management systems, including thermal interface material between a cold plate and the battery cells included in the battery pack (Fig. 4; [0036];[0047 – 0048];[0065]). Burrows teaches including the thermal interface material in the heat management system for the purpose of increasing thermal conductivity between the neighboring components of the battery pack {e.g. the battery cells and cold plate}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a thermal interface material between the subassembly and cold plate of Dittmann’s battery module, with a reasonable expectation of success in improving the effectiveness of the cold plate.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Dittmann discloses all limitation as set forth above. As established above, the battery module of modified Dittmann includes a thermally insulating foam between the cells held within the carriers {i.e. lower receptacle/cell basket and upper receptacle/cell basket; Figs. 1 – 2, 14 and 12; [0046 – 0047];[0096]} , and the thermally insulating foam is the silicon rubber foam (O’Neil; [0041 – 0042]).
Dittmann further teaches including a plurality of the battery modules in a common housing with other modules to form a battery pack ([0088]).
Since the silicon rubber foam of modified Dittmann is thermally insulating and included around the cells of the battery modules, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect, when included in a common housing with other battery modules, modified Dittmann’s foam to be capable of preventing propagation of thermal runaway between a cell in the group of cells and another cell in an adjacent module (O’Neil: [0042]), and thus be configured to prevent propagation of thermal runaway between a first cell in the group of cells and a second cell in a second group of cells in an adjacent module.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Dittmann discloses all limitation as set forth above. Modified Dittmann further discloses wherein the group of cells are a first group of cells (Refer to corresponding first group of cells shown in annotated Fig. 2 below), the subassembly is a first subassembly (Refer to corresponding first subassembly shown in annotated Fig. 2 below), the current collector is a first current collector (Refer to corresponding first current collector shown in annotated Fig. 2 below), a second group of cells (Refer to corresponding second group of cells shown in annotated Fig. 2 below) electrically connected to form a second subassembly (Refer to corresponding second subassembly shown in annotated Fig. 2 below and Dittmann; [0077];[0079]); the second subassembly including a lower cell carrier (Refer to corresponding lower cell carrier shown in annotated Fig. 2 below) and an upper cell carrier (Refer to corresponding upper cell carrier shown in annotated Fig. 2 below) between which the second group of cells are disposed (Refer to corresponding second group of cells shown in annotated Fig. 2 below), and having a first and second faces (Refer to the top face and bottom face of the second subassembly shown in annotated Fig. 2 below); and a second current collector electrically connecting the second subassembly (Refer to corresponding second current collector shown in annotated Fig. 2 below and Capati: [0033];[0051 – 0052];[0059 – 0060]).
Annotated Fig. 2 showing battery module and corresponding subassemblies of modified Dittmann
Furthermore, as established above, the carriers of the battery modules of modified Dittmann, and thus by extension the second upper cell carrier and second lower cell carrier are configured to retain a thermally insulating foam (Refer to rejection of claim 1 and O’Neil: [0041 – 0042]) and the second lower cell carrier includes a plurality of apertures, each aperture of the plurality of apertures including a tapering side wall (Refer to rejection of claim 1 and Dittmann: Fig. 1, [0054 – 0055]); and wherein the group of cells are disposed between the upper and lower cell carriers (Refer to rejection of claim 1 and the positioning of cells 16 in Fig. 1).
Additionally, as modified above, the lower carriers of Dittmann, and thus by extension the second lower cell carrier includes apertures as taught by Newman, that is the apertures allow for interference fitting of the cells when the cells are inserted and the tight fit between the cell and aperture prevents the injected foam of modified Dittmann from leaking out/extending beyond a desired level (Refer to rejection of claim 1 and Newman: [0039 – 0040]). As such, in modified Dittmann, the insertion of a cell of the second group of cells into a corresponding aperture of the plurality of apertures of the second lower cell carrier causes an interference fit to be formed against the second lower cell carrier and creates a seal that aids in prevention of the thermally insulating foam from seeping out of the second subassembly during the injection process.
Regarding Claims 6 – 7, Dittmann discloses all limitation as set forth above. Dittmann generally teaches including one or more battery units in the battery module, and that the number of battery cells per group in the module can vary depending on the application of the battery unit ([0033];[0068]).
Modified Dittmann does not explicitly disclose the battery module being configured for adding capacity by increasing the number of cells in the subassembly (Claim 6) or reducing capacity by decreasing the number of cells in the subassembly (Claim 7).
Capati teaches that the number of battery cells to include in a battery block is known in the art to be determined at least in part on a desired capacity of the battery block, and further that increasing the number of cylindrical battery cells allows for a greater capacity ([0022]).
Therefore, since Dittmann already suggests controlling the number of battery cells depending on battery application, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the battery module of modified Dittmann configured for increasing or decreasing capacity of the subassembly by increasing or decreasing the number of battery cells in the subassembly, because, as indicated by Capati, it is known in art to do so to achieve a predetermined capacity.
Regarding Claim 16, Dittmann discloses all limitation as set forth above. In modified Dittmann the current collector further comprises one or more layers (Capati: Fig. 2; [0043]), the layers comprising: a conductive layer comprising a pattern defining a plurality of conductive regions, that is the current collector includes an electrically conductive material and is designed/implemented with precise cut-outs or apertures that would provide the claimed pattern (Capati: Fig. 2, 205/215; [0051 – 0052]); and an isolation layer (Capati: Fig. 2, 210; [0053]).
Claim(s) 14 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dittmann (WO2019206409A1, US PG Pub. version: US 2021/0273283 A1 used as English translation), Capati (US PG Pub. 2019/0081309 A1), O’Neil (US PG Pub. 2018/0223070 A1), Newman (US PG Pub. 2019/0296310 A1) and Burrows (US PG Pub. 2016/0020496 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Workman (US PG Pub. 2013/0043826 A1, cited in previous Office action mailed 12/18/2025).
Regarding Claims 14 – 15, modified Dittmann discloses all limitation as set forth above. Dittmann teaches arranging a plurality of battery modules in a common housing to form a battery system ([0088]). Furthermore, as established above, the battery modules of modified Dittmann include battery units having a layered, integrated current collector (Capati; [0033]). Therefore, modified Dittmann provides that claimed structure of a module having a first current collector and a module having a second current collector (Claim 14), that is each module of modified Dittmann’s plurality of modules would necessarily have their own current collector structure.
Modified Dittmann does not explicitly disclose wherein the module comprising the second current collector has a different capacity and the same energy as the module comprising the first current collector (Claim 14 cont.).
Workman teaches that a battery system can include individual battery modules with varying capacities for the purpose of selecting a suitable number of battery modules to combine and to provide a desired power pack to suit an intended application and load device ([0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery modules of Dittmann to have the same energy but different capacity, with a reasonable expectation of success in tailoring the number of modules/power supplying capabilities of the modules to be suitable for a desired application.
Furthermore, as established above, since each battery module only differs with respect to the capacity and current collector, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the battery modules of modified Dittmann be configured to use the same components other than the first and second current collectors (Claim 15).
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dittmann (WO2019206409A1, US PG Pub. version: US 2021/0273283 A1 used as English translation), Capati (US PG Pub. 2019/0081309 A1), O’Neil (US PG Pub. 2018/0223070 A1), Newman (US PG Pub. 2019/0296310 A1) and Burrows (US PG Pub. 2016/0020496 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rong (US PG Pub. 2017/0005378 A1, cited in previous Office action mailed 12/18/2025).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Dittmann discloses all limitation as set forth above. Dittmann further teaches including BMS monitoring functions on the PCB structure to measure cell group voltages, module voltages, cell group temperatures, and current in addition to cell balancing circuits, fuses, power switches and other typical BMS functions ([0102]). Dittmann exemplifies using indirect T sensors to obtain cell group temperatures ([0102]).
Modified Dittmann does not explicitly disclose a telemetry module in communication with one or more sensors associated with the subassembly, the one or more sensors configured to detect at least one of a temperature or voltage.
Rong teaches including a telemetry module on a battery module for data acquisition and/or control and sensors (Fig. 8; [0058]).
Since Dittmann already teaches including a temperature sensor on the battery module, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further include a telemetry module on the PCB structure of subassembly of the module and have the telemetry module be in communication a temperature sensor, as taught by Rong, and thus obtain the claimed structure, with a reasonable expectation of success is achieving a means for data acquisition and/or control of the sensor.
Conclusion
/A.Y.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 7/17/2026