DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendments filed April 6th, 2026 have been entered. Claims 1-2, 5-6, 10-12, and 14-16 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 10, 12, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacot (U.S. Pub. No. 20200323355) in view of itself, Demoss (U.S. Pub. No. 20090183314), Boyd (U.S. Pat. No. 9314386) and Rose et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20190254438); hereafter “Rose”, with Rose used as a teaching reference.
Regarding claim 1, Jacot discloses (FIGS. 1, 17, and 18, 24/25 and 36/37) a mattress (as illustrated in FIG. 1) system for an underlying adjustable foundation configured to accommodate two mattresses (as illustrated in FIG. 36/37) in a side-by-side relationship thereon, the mattress system comprising: a first mattress (N1, left; FIG. 36/37) configured for use with the underlying foundation, the first mattress comprising a comfort zone (58; FIG. 1, 17-18, and 24/36/37) having a first firmness level ([0019]: “In an embodiment, the breathable, open-cell polyurethane foam layer or layers comprises an interior portion having a twenty five percent (25%) indentation force-deflection (IFD) of from about six (6) pounds-force to about thirty (30) pounds-force”) comprising a head end (as illustrated in FIG. 1); a foot end (as illustrated in FIG. 1, 17-18, and 24/36/37); a first exterior-facing lateral side (correspondent 60; FIG. 1, 17-18, and 24/36/37) extending from the head end to the foot end (as illustrated in FIG. 1, 17-18, and 24/36/37); a second interior lateral side (correspondent 58; FIG. 1, 17-18, and 24/36/37) extending from the head end to the foot end (as illustrated in FIG. 1, 17-18, and 24/36/37); and an edge zone (60; FIG. 1, 17-18, and 24/36/37) having a second firmness level ([0019]: “at least some of the edge portion comprises one (N) or more layers N.sub.X of polyurethane foam layers having a twenty five percent (25%) indentation force-deflection of from about thirty five (35) pounds-force to about fifty (50) pounds-force”) that is greater than the first firmness level of the comfort zone (as set forth in [0019]), wherein the edge zone only extends about a perimeter of the first exterior facing lateral side of the first mattress, the head end, and the foot end of the first mattress (as illustrated in FIG. 1, 17-18, and 24/36/37); and a second mattress (N1, right side; FIG. 1 and 36; 58, FIGS 17, 18, and 24/36/37) configured for use with the underlying foundation, the second mattress comprising a comfort zone (58; FIGS. 1, 17, and 18/) having the first firmness level (as illustrated in FIGS. 1, 17, 18, 24, and 36/37); a head end (as illustrated in FIG. 1, 17-18, and 24/36/37); a foot end (as illustrated in FIG. 1, 17-18, and 24/36/37); a first exterior-facing lateral side (correspondent 60; FIG. 1, 17-18, and 24, and 36/37) extending from the head end to the foot end (as illustrated in FIG. 1); a second interior-facing lateral side (correspondent 658; FIG. 1, 17-18, and 24/36/37) extending from the head end to the foot end (as illustrated in FIG. 1, 17-18, and 24/36/37); and an edge zone (60; FIG. 1) having a second firmness level ([0019]: “at least some of the edge portion comprises one (N) or more layers N.sub.X of polyurethane foam layers having a twenty five percent (25%) indentation force-deflection of from about thirty five (35) pounds-force to about fifty (50) pounds-force”) that is greater than the first firmness level of the comfort zone (as set forth in [0019]), wherein the edge zone extends about a perimeter of the first exterior-facing lateral side, the head end and the foot end of the second mattress (as illustrated in FIG. 1, 17, 18, 24, and 36/37), wherein when the two mattresses are placed in the side-by-side relationship (As illustrated in FIGS. 25 and 36/37), the second interior-facing lateral sides of the first mattress and the second mattress abut one another (as illustrated in FIG. 36/37 and correspondent FIG. 1/17/18) to define a continuous comfort zone (as illustrated in FIGS. 1, 17, 18, 24, and 36/37); and wherein the comfort zones of the first and second mattresses define a primary sleeping surface for the mattress system (as illustrated in FIG. 36/37). It is additionally considered Jacot demonstrates both filleted edges or butterfly like configurations (like in FIG. 36/37 and 1), but also demonstrates fully abutting edge zone embodiments such as those of FIG. 25, remarked in [0053] and [0085] to also be a foam core embodiment that is synonymously encased in a single cover as FIG. 36/37 portrays. It is additionally considered that It has been held that the recitation with respect to the matter in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed or used does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex part Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). Particularly the limitation “configured for use with the underlying adjustable foundation” does not appear to add any patentable weight to the claim where “the underlying adjustable foundation comprises one or more articulable sections for independent and selective articulation of the first and second mattresses” already elucidates the structures thereof. It is further considered that Jacot considers “inflating bed 50… In other embodiment, as described below, more than one self-inflating chambers may be provided” [0070].
However, while Jacot does provide two mattresses (correspondent N1/N2; FIGS. 25/36/37. As elucidated in [0070]) with no edge zone provided to the center, Jacot does not explicitly disclose wherein the edge zone is both along the lateral edge and both the head end and the foot end but not the interior-facing lateral sides being devoid of an edge zone to form a perimeter thereat (only marginally extending along the ends in their entireties) of both beds to peripherally and continuously surround the continuous comfort zone of the two mattresses.
Regardless, Demoss teaches (FIG. 2) a mattress system that has a firmer edge portion (221) that surrounds a comfort portion used for resting (correspondent to elements I/C FIG. 2) and that demonstrates an embodiment that can cover both the head end and foot end with separate ‘halves’ (as illustrated in FIG. 2) that cover the perimeter of their outer perimeter halves of the bed entirely and peripherally and continuously.
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to have incorporated the edge portions of the head and/or foot ends as Demoss demonstrates (FIG. 2) into the edge portions of Jacot (as illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 36/37 particularly) to further cover the head and foot ends as Demoss demonstrates (FIG. 2). Where the results would have been predictable as both Jacot and Demoss are concerned with combinate bedding assemblies with edge portions thereof and both comprise a comfort portion and an edge portion of at least the lateral outer edge. Where Demoss acknowledge that such configuration of features “The edge region of a mattress, i.e., the horizontal support area proximate to the vertical side walls, is a critical area of construction in order to prevent roll-off or the tendency for the support surface to taper downward toward the edge, and to withstand seating pressure” [0003] and “that provides a stronger, more supportive seating edge” [0004]. Therefore, utilizing the edge of the head and/or foot end would similarly prevent roll-off and withstand seating pressure at the head ends and foot ends of the bed. It should be understood that the combination does not discard Jacot’s lack of edge zone at the center of the combinate bedding structure of FIGS. 25 and 36/37, but grants to the whole bed assembly an edge zone to each half of the bed that maintains the overall configuration and results in a structure analogous to Demoss; where notably Demoss does not possess a centered edge zone, and neither does the combination particular to FIGS. 25 and 36/37 that also concern a bedding assembly with both edge zones on opposite sides and no edge zone at the center for the express benefit of preventing rolloff/tapering and to withstand seating at the head and foot ends, an occupant would not ‘fall off’ at the center of the bedding assembly in Jacot and there is no reason for applying for the rationale provided. Thereby providing the edge zone of the first mattress and the edge zone of the second mattress abut one another to peripherally and continuously surround the two mattresses.
However, Jacot still does not explicitly disclose wherein the comfort zones of the first and second mattresses {comprises} foam, coil springs, {or} combinations thereof.
Regardless, Jacot discloses the claimed invention except for the mattress comprising of foam, springs, {or} combinations thereof. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have produced the mattress comprising of foam, springs, and combinations thereof, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Where there is a lack of criticality associated by applicant to the particular materials of the invention, even noting such constructions as a well-known industry standard as the “Marshall Construction” (paragraph 0026), and where the results would have been predictable as particularly Demoss already avails ready demonstration of foam and springs, and a combination thereof used in the same mattress (FIG. 2-3, citation to [0003] of equivalents known to the art).
However, Jacot does not explicitly disclose wherein the underlying adjustable foundation comprises one or more articulable sections for independent and selective articulation of the first and second mattresses.
However, Jacot does not explicitly disclose an adjustable base foundation, wherein each mattress is independently articulated and the mattress system comprising an adjustable foundation dimensioned to accommodate two mattresses thereon and configured to independently adjust one or more articulatable sections corresponding to each of the two mattresses, and two mattresses disposed on the adjustable base foundation.
Regardless, Boyd teaches (FIG. 10, 12, 13, and 17) a mattress system comprising an adjustable base foundation (as illustrated in FIGS. 10, 12-13, and 17), wherein each mattress (as illustrated in FIG. 17) is independently articulated ([8; 53-67]: “each frame is supporting a separate mattress to allow for independent adjustment of each side of the bed”) and the mattress system comprising an adjustable foundation (as illustrated between FIGS. 10, 12, 13, and 17) dimensioned to accommodate two mattresses thereon (As illustrated in FIGS. 10, 12, 13, and 17, and further elucidated in [8; 53-67]) and configured to independently adjust one or more articulatable sections ([8; 53-67]) corresponding to each of the two mattresses ([8; 53-67]), and two mattresses disposed on the adjustable base foundation ([8; 53-67]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to have incorporated and combined the adjustable base of Boyd (as illustrated in FIGS. 10, 12, 13, and 17) with the mattress of Jacot. Where the results would have been predictable as Rose demonstrates a mattress of centered construction where each side is independently articulated (As illustrated in FIGS. 8 and 9). And wherein Jacot would continue to facilitate the functions of a mattress in combination with Boyd, and Boyd would continue to facilitate the functions of an adjustable frame in combination with the mattress of Boyd. Where advantageously, “This would allow the user to incline the head portion and/or leg portion independently or simultaneously.” ([9: 25-38]), and would avail greater utility of the apparatus of the combination by availing a plurality of positions to the user to their comfort level.
Regarding claim 5, Jacot in view of itself, Demoss, Boyd, and Rose discloses (Jacot: FIGS. 1) the mattress system of claim 1, wherein the first firmness level of the comfort zone in the first and second mattresses is 20 to 35 pounds-force and the second first firmness level of the edge zone in the first and second mattresses is 45 to 90 pounds-force. Notably, Jacot establishes a first firmness of the comfort zone (58) of 6-30 pounds-force, and a second firmness of the edge zone (60) of 35-50 pounds-force. Where notably the apparatus of Jacot is operable to alter the firmness between these ranges, where particularly one such end value is within applicant’s claimed range. "[W]hen, as by a recitation of ranges or otherwise, a claim covers several compositions, the claim is ‘anticipated’ if one of them is in the prior art." Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citing In re Petering, 301 F.2d 676, 682, 133 USPQ 275, 280 (CCPA 1962))” (MPEP 2131.03 is relevant). Notably, Jacot avails a specific upper end point (30 and 50) that are eminently within the claimed ranges of applicant’s and would be expectable to be achieved by the invention of Jacot in the event of a user desiring a firm mattress. Therefore, Jacot anticipates applicant’s claimed invention by prescribing a value within applicant’s claimed range of values.
Regarding claim 6, Jacot in view of itself, Demoss, Boyd, and Rose discloses (Jacot: FIGS. 1) the mattress system of claim 1, wherein the edge zone in the first and second mattresses has a width from 2 inches to 10 inches. Where Jacot acknowledges “In an embodiment, the edge portion 60 may extend inwardly along the first side 100 or along the second side 102 for a distance E of at least three (3) inches. In an embodiment the edge portion 60 may extend inwardly for a distance E in the range of from about three (3) inches to about five (5) inches” [0078], where Jacot clearly provides a range with particular specificity clearly within applicant’s claimed range.
Regarding claim 10, Jacot in view of itself, Demoss, Boyd, and Rose discloses (Jacot: FIGS. 1) the mattress system of claim 1, wherein the edge zone in the first and second mattresses comprises a fill material comprising foam, coil springs or a combination thereof. As set forth in [0019] “polyurethane foam layers”
Regarding claim 12, Jacot discloses (FIG. 1) a mattress system (As illustrated in FIG. 1, 25, and 36/37) configured to accommodate two mattresses (as eminently demonstrated in FIG. 25/36/37) in a side-by-side relationship (as illustrated in FIG. 36/37) dimensioned to accommodate two mattresses thereon; and two mattresses disposed in a side-by-side relationship, wherein each of the two mattresses comprises a comfort zone (correspondent N1; FIG. 36/58; FIG. 1) having a first firmness ([0019]) and an edge zone (60; FIG. 1 and 36/37) having a second firmness ([0019]) that is different than the first firmness of the comfort zone (as set forth in [0019]), the edge zone extending only along exterior facing lateral sides, head ends and foot ends of the two mattresses in the side-by- side relationship (as eminently demonstrated in FIG. 36/37); wherein one of the two mattresses includes an interior-facing lateral side devoid of an edge zone {that} has a firmness greater than the comfort zone, and the other of the two mattresses includes an interior-facing lateral side devoid of {the} edge zone {that} has the second firmness greater than the comfort zone (as eminently demonstrated in FIG. 25/36/37 by an edge zone of higher firmness than the interior comfort zone); and wherein when the two mattresses are placed in the side-by-side relationship (As illustrated in FIGS. 25 and 36/37), the respective interior-facing lateral sides abut one another to define a continuous comfort zone (as illustrated and conveyed in FIGS. 1, 17, 18, 25, and 36/37) and the respective edge zones {At least partially} surround the continuous comfort zone of the two mattresses (as illustrated in FIGS. 25/36/37 and correspondent FIG. 1).
However, while Jacot does disclose at least a partial edge zone (60; FIGS. 1, 17, 18, 25, 36/37), Jacot does not explicitly disclose wherein the edge zone is both only along the lateral edge and a selected one of or both the head end and the foot end in their entireties and when placed together the edge zones of the first and second mattress abut one another wherein the respective edge zones abut to continuously and peripherally surround the continuous comfort zone of the two mattresses.
Regardless, Demoss teaches (FIGS. 2) a mattress system that has a firmer edge portion (221) that continuously surrounds a continuous comfort portion (correspondent to elements I/C FIG. 2) and that demonstrates an embodiment that can cover either/both a head end and foot end with separate ‘halves’ (of the respective edge zone, as illustrated in FIG. 2) that surrounds the perimeter of their effectives halves of the bed continuously and peripherally.
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to have incorporated the edge portions of the head and foot ends as Demoss demonstrates (FIG. 2, with two halves clearly delineated) into the edge portions of Jacot (as illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 36/37 particularly). Where the results would have been predictable as both Jacot and Demoss are concerned with combinate bedding assemblies with edge portions thereof and both comprise a comfort portion and an edge portion of at least the lateral outer edge. Where Demoss acknowledge that such configuration of features “The edge region of a mattress, i.e., the horizontal support area proximate to the vertical side walls, is a critical area of construction in order to prevent roll-off or the tendency for the support surface to taper downward toward the edge, and to withstand seating pressure” [0003] and “that provides a stronger, more supportive seating edge” [0004]. Therefore, utilizing the edge of the head and/or foot end would similarly prevent roll-off and withstand seating pressure at the head ends and foot ends of the bed. It should be understood that the combination does not discard Jacot’s lack of edge zone at the center of the combinate bedding structure of FIGS. 25 and 36/37, but grants to the whole bed assembly an edge zone effectively to each half of the bed that maintains the overall configuration and results in a structure analogous to Demoss (Demoss clearly demonstrating a two-person bed through FIG. 3 with [0012] explicitly clarifying a queen sized mattress profile, and a single bed in FIG. 2; the application and teachings of FIG. 3 are considered); where notably Demoss does not possess a centered edge zone, and neither does the combination particular to FIGS. 25 and 36/37 in Jacot that also concern a bedding assembly with both edge zones on opposite sides and no edge zone at the center for the express benefit of preventing rolloff/tapering and to withstand seating at the head and foot ends, an occupant would not ‘fall off’ at the center of the bedding assembly in Jacot and there is respectfully no reason for applying any edge zone to the center of Jacot. Thereby providing the edge zone of the first mattress and the edge zone of the second mattress abut one another to peripherally and continuously surround the continuous comfort zone of the two mattresses.
However, Jacot still does not explicitly disclose an adjustable base foundation, wherein each mattress is independently articulated and the mattress system comprising an adjustable foundation dimensioned to accommodate two mattresses thereon and configured to independently adjust one or more articulatable sections corresponding to each of the two mattresses, and two mattresses disposed on the adjustable base foundation.
Regardless, Boyd teaches (FIG. 10, 12, 13, and 17) a mattress system comprising an adjustable base foundation (as illustrated in FIGS. 10, 12-13, and 17), wherein each mattress (as illustrated in FIG. 17) is independently articulated ([8; 53-67]: “each frame is supporting a separate mattress to allow for independent adjustment of each side of the bed”) and the mattress system comprising an adjustable foundation (as illustrated between FIGS. 10, 12, 13, and 17) dimensioned to accommodate two mattresses thereon (As illustrated in FIGS. 10, 12, 13, and 17, and further elucidated in [8; 53-67]) and configured to independently adjust one or more articulatable sections ([8; 53-67]) corresponding to each of the two mattresses ([8; 53-67]), and two mattresses disposed on the adjustable base foundation ([8; 53-67]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to have incorporated and combined the adjustable base of Boyd (as illustrated in FIGS. 10, 12, 13, and 17) with the mattress of Jacot. Where the results would have been predictable as Rose demonstrates a mattress of centered construction where each side is independently articulated (As illustrated in FIGS. 8 and 9). And wherein Jacot would continue to facilitate the functions of a mattress in combination with Boyd, and Boyd would continue to facilitate the functions of an adjustable frame in combination with the mattress of Boyd. Where advantageously, “This would allow the user to incline the head portion and/or leg portion independently or simultaneously.” ([9: 25-38]), and would avail greater utility of the apparatus of the combination by availing a plurality of positions to the user to their comfort level.
However, Jacot still does not explicitly disclose wherein the mattress {comprises} foam, coil springs, {or} combinations thereof.
Regardless, Jacot discloses the claimed invention except for the mattress comprising of foam, springs, or combinations thereof. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have produced the mattress comprising of foam, springs, or combinations thereof, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Where there is a lack of criticality associated by applicant to the particular materials of the invention, even noting such constructions as a well-known industry standard as the “Marshall Construction” (paragraph 0026), and where the results would have been predictable as particularly Demoss already avails ready demonstration of foam and springs, and a combination thereof used in the same mattress (FIG. 2-3 and citation to [0003] of equivalents known to the art).
Regarding claim 15, Jacot in view of itself, Demoss, Boyd and Rose discloses (Boyd: FIGS. 10, 12, 13) the mattress system of claim 12, wherein the adjustable base foundation comprises two adjustable base foundations coupled to each together. As conveyed through Boyd’s adjustable base foundation, clearly comprises two separate adjustable base foundations coupled together (as illustrated in FIGS. 12 and 13) through the clip assembly illustrated in FIG. 10, as further elucidated in [5: 31-41] “Clips 200, as shown in FIG. 10, may be used to secure the two frames together and prevent the frames from being slid apart until desired”.
Regarding claim 16, Jacot in view of itself, Demoss, Boyd and Rose discloses (Jacot: FIG. 1) the mattress of claim 12, wherein the first firmness level of the comfort zone for the two mattresses is 20 to 35 pounds-force and the second first firmness level of the edge zone have the second {{.
Claim(s) 2, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacot in view of itself, Demoss, Boyd, and Rose in further view of Borino (U.S. Pub. No. 20070022533).
Regarding claim 2, Jacot in view of itself, Demoss, Boyd, and Rose discloses the mattress system of claim 1.
However, Jacot does not explicitly disclose further comprising a retention system extending from a bottom surface of the first and second mattresses configured to fixedly attach the first and second mattresses to the underlying adjustable base foundation.
Regardless, Borino teaches (FIG. 1a and 1b), a mattress, further comprising a retention system (15; FIG. 1b) extending from a bottom surface thereof (as illustrated in FIG. 1b) configured to fixedly attach the mattress to an underlying adjustable base foundation (As illustrated between FIGS. 1a-1b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to have incorporated the retention system of Borino (15; FIG. 1b), into the bottom of the mattress of Jacot (As illustrated in FIG. 1). Where the results would have been predictable as both Jacot and Borino are directed to bedding assemblies. And where advantageously, the use of a retention system such as Borino’s would arrest lateral movement of the bedding assembly, reducing frictional forces thereon and wearing down the bottom of the mattress prematurely, thereby extending the longevity of the apparatus.
Regarding claim 11, in view of itself, Demoss, Boyd, Rose, and Borino discloses (Borino: FIG. 4b) the mattress of claim 2, wherein the retention system in the first and second mattresses is configured to couple each of the first and second mattresses to a non-articulable section of the underlying adjustable base foundation (FIG. 4b).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacot in view of itself, Demoss, Boyd, and Rose, in further view of Heeke.
Regarding claim 14, Jacot in view of itself, Demoss Boyd and Rose discloses the mattress system of claim 12.
However, Jacot and Boyd do not explicitly disclose wherein each of the two mattresses further comprises a retention system extending from a respective bottom surface thereof configured to fixedly attach each of the two mattresses to the adjustable foundation and prevent separation of the two mattresses during use thereof.
Regardless, Heeke teaches (FIG. 1 and 2), a mattress (14; FIG. 1) coupled with an articulating base (16; FIGS. 1 and 2), further comprising a retention system (26; FIG. 1 and 2) extending from a bottom surface thereof (as illustrated in FIG. 1, the retention system extends from a bottom of the mattress that is located thereover) configured to fixedly attach the mattress to an underlying base foundation (As illustrated between FIGS. 1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to have incorporated the retention system of Heeke (26; FIG. 1 and 2), into the bottom of the mattress of Jacot (As illustrated in FIG. 1) and the articulating bed of Boyd (as illustrated in FIGS. 12 and 13). Where the results would have been predictable as both Jacot, Boyd, and Heeke are all directed to bedding assemblies. And where advantageously, the use of a retention system such as Heeke’s would “prevent a mattress from moving on the base of an automated bed during articulation” [0003] and arrest lateral movement of the bedding assembly, reducing frictional forces thereon and wearing down the bottom of the mattress prematurely, thereby extending the longevity of the mattress of Jacot. It is additionally considered that because Heeke and Boyd/Rose both concern articulated bedding systems, the combination would be obvious and unimpeded to use some form of fastening/securement system of a moving/articulated bedding section with the corresponding mattress segment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 26th, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Particularly, applicant alleges (Remarks: pages 6-8) that because Jacot uses inflatable features in its bedding, “it is strictly impossible to individually articulate the “two” mattresses”. Examiner respectfully disagrees with this broader assertion. Although Examiner considers that FIG. 25 may possess separator (180/182), and does acknowledge it to form a bed whole, Jacot clearly demonstrates two separate beds (such as those illustrated in FIGS. 17/18), explicitly expresses that “A self-inflating chamber 52 is provided… as described below, more than one self-inflating chambers may be provided”, thereby providing two beds for use, such as those demonstrated in FIGS. 36/37 that show two mattresses used in mirroring capacity. Where it is considered that 36 specifically shows them capable of separately, FIGS. 17 and 18 demonstrate them wholly separate of each other, and FIGS. 37 demonstrates them brought together by a common outer cover. Examiner has respectfully considered in the course of prosecution that Boyd demonstrates an articulating bed that may be used in a set of two to make a larger mattress/bedding surface (eminently demonstrated in FIGS. 12/13, and further clarified in [8:52-55], where such analogous size adjustments (a mattress expanded by using two separate beds) are observed analogously within Jacot (expressed in [0070], and demonstrated between FIGS. 17/18, and further in combinative use in FIGS. 36/37). Where further in the interest of compact prosecution, Rose was specifically considered and immediately presenting a mattress of combinate construction (two separate halves), possessing both a continuous comfort zone at the center alongside both halves being articulatable/adjustable (as illustrated in FIG. 2, 8-9, and 14). Where further it is respectfully considered that “it is strictly impossible to individually articulate “two mattresses” in that embodiment (beds of inflatable capacity as presumed by the sentence structure provided) is respectfully refuted by Rose as Rose particularly provides both two articulating bed halves, while further elucidating in [0079] “The mattress 158 can be an air bed comprising separate sets of air bladders or air chambers (described in more detail below). Thus, the mattress 158 can include a set of one or more first air chambers being carried by the first movable upper section 164, the first movable lower section 166, and a first portion of the common middle section 184, e.g., the first middle section 168 that makes up the portion of the joined middle section 184 in the first sleep area 160. Similarly, the mattress 158 can also include a set of one or more second air chambers carried by the second movable upper section 170, the second movable lower section 172,”. Thereby demonstrating it predictable and achievable to articulate two beds that are inflatable.
Respectfully however as expressed before, consideration has been taken the air separator 180/182 would prevent the explicit embodiment of 25 to articulate individually. However, the combination is with both Boyd and Rose as a teaching for that particular aspect, wherein the combination would avail the two beds to be individually articulated. However, Examiner has clarified that such considerations are that Jacot provides two bed halves (effectively demonstrated through FIGS. 17 and 18), and utilizes them in various configurations (such as 36/37), but does leave consideration that the internal structure of embodiment in FIG. 24/25 can be countenanced with Rose’s considerations.
Additionally, regarding the allegation “the air impervious separator will necessarily change the firmness profile at the interface of the “beds”, which is exactly the situations Applicant’s present mattress system is designed to prevent”, applicant has not specifically claimed the firmness profile is not changing however. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., [ 1 ]) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). It is further considered in the interest of compact prosecution that applicant’s specification does not appear to address or present this particularly narrower consideration (noting only in [0005] when two mattresses (both possessing an outer perimeter firmer than the interior), the interior will be provided an undesirable feeling in the center); and it is considered prospectively introducing it would necessitate a question of possession if respectfully such amendments are considered, and thereafter a question of what ‘an uncomfortable feel’ could entail would be questioned as possible subjective/relative terminology. While “thereby eliminating the increased medial firmness extending from the head end to the foot end” [0016] is recited, there respectfully appears to be no evidence in Jacot that the separator (180/182) are firm and appear to indicate such construction is identical to the other air impervious layers (a thin layer such as 54/56, as being “in combination with a first air impervious layer and a second air impervious layer” [0085], elements identified in [0070].
Therefore, Examiner is respectfully not persuaded at the present time that Jacot in view of Boyd, Rose, and Demoss and others fails to avail the claimed features of applicant’s invention, and the 103 Rejections under Jacot in view of Demoss, Boyd, Rose, and others are maintained for reasons of record and those further explained herein.
Conclusion
The prior art previously made of record and not relied upon is still considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/LUKE HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3673
/JUSTIN C MIKOWSKI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673