DETAILED ACTION
Prosecution Reopened
In view of the Pre-Appeal filed on 10/01/2025, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. A non-final rejection is set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 10, and 13-20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2019/0288895 A1), in view of Liang et al. (US 2022/0311566 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Chen discloses:
an apparatus for transmitting a physical layer protocol data unit (fig.2 depicts a wireless device), the apparatus comprising:
at least one processor (fig.2 element 204); and
one or more memories (fig.2 element 206 which describes the memory) coupled to the at least one processor (fig.2 element 206 and 204) and storing program instructions (par.[0090] which describes the memory and instructions) for execution by the at least one processor:
to perform a method for transmitting a physical layer protocol data unit (par.[0094] describes a PPDU, protocol data unit, or packet which is generated by a processor and sent over a wireless medium), the method comprising:
generating a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) (par.[0094] which recites, in part, “The DSP 220 can be configured to generate a data unit for transmission.”); and
sending the PPDU over a target channel, wherein a bandwidth of the target channel is greater than 160 MHz (par.[0070] which recites, in part, “Various implementations relate generally to a short training field (STF) and a long training field (LTF) that may be used for wireless communications transmitted over a 240 MHz or 320 MHz large bandwidth channel. Some implementations of this disclosure more specifically relate to a preamble that includes an STF and an LTF that may be sent before (or as a first part of) a message transmitted in a 240 MHz or 320 MHz channel.” As discussed above the STF and LTF are parts of a packet which is sent over the 240 or 320 MHz channel), wherein the bandwidth of the target channel is 320 MHz (par.[0007] which describes transmitting the PPDU over the 320 MHz channel).
While the disclosure of Chen teaches generating and sending a PPDU over a 320 MHz target channel, it does not disclose:
Wherein the frequency domain sequence of the long training field of the PPDU is
[LTF1x80MHzleft 0 LTF1x80MHZright 023 LTF1x80MHzleft 0 LTF1x80MHZright 023 -LTF1x80MHzleft 0 -LTF1x80MHZright 023 -LTF1x80MHzleft 0 -LTF1x80MHzright].
The Office notes however, that the above LTF sequence was known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application. For example, in an analogous art, the disclosure of Liang teaches:
Wherein the frequency domain sequence of the long training field of the PPDU is
[LTF1x80MHzleft 0 LTF1x80MHZright 023 LTF1x80MHzleft 0 LTF1x80MHZright 023 -LTF1x80MHzleft 0 -LTF1x80MHZright 023 -LTF1x80MHzleft 0 -LTF1x80MHzright] (par.[0014] – 0255] describes the LTF sequence for 320 MHz wherein the sequence utilizes 1x mode and reproduces the 80 MHz LTF sequences).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the teachings of Chen for sending a PPDU over a 320 MHz channel with the LTF sequences as discussed in Liang. The motivation/suggestion would have been to optimize PAPR in the streams being transmitted over the physical medium.
Regarding claims 4 and 10, Chen discloses:
an apparatus for receiving a physical layer protocol data unit (fig.2 depicts a wireless device), the apparatus comprising:
at least one processor (fig.2 element 204); and
one or more memories (fig.2 element 206 which describes the memory) coupled to the at least one processor (fig.2 element 206 and 204) and storing program instructions (par.[0090] which describes the memory and instructions) for execution by the at least one processor:
perform a method for receiving a physical layer protocol data unit (par.[0094] describes a PPDU, protocol data unit, or packet which is generated by a processor and sent over a wireless medium), the method comprising:
receiving a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) over a target channel (par.[0070] and fig.1 which depicts the transmission and reception between the AP and the stations (STA) in the wireless LAN, and par.[0093]), wherein the PPDU comprises a long training field (par.[0070] which recites, in part, “Various implementations relate generally to a short training field (STF) and a long training field (LTF) that may be used for wireless communications transmitted over a 240 MHz or 320 MHz large bandwidth channel.”), wherein the bandwidth of the target channel is 320 MHz (par.[0070] as discussed above teaches the 240 or 320 MHz target channel);and
parsing the PPDU (par.[0070] which recites, in part, “Various implementations relate generally to a short training field (STF) and a long training field (LTF) that may be used for wireless communications transmitted over a 240 MHz or 320 MHz large bandwidth channel. Some implementations of this disclosure more specifically relate to a preamble that includes an STF and an LTF that may be sent before (or as a first part of) a message transmitted in a 240 MHz or 320 MHz channel.” As discussed above the STF and LTF are parts of a packet which is sent over the 240 or 320 MHz channel and would be parsed by a receiver, e.g. the Access Point in 802.11).
While the disclosure of Chen teaches generating and sending a PPDU over a 320 MHz target channel, it does not disclose:
Wherein the frequency domain sequence of the long training field of the PPDU is
[LTF1x80MHzleft 0 LTF1x80MHZright 023 LTF1x80MHzleft 0 LTF1x80MHZright 023 -LTF1x80MHzleft 0 -LTF1x80MHZright 023 -LTF1x80MHzleft 0 -LTF1x80MHzright].
The Office notes however, that the above LTF sequence was known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application. For example, in an analogous art, the disclosure of Liang teaches:
Wherein the frequency domain sequence of the long training field of the PPDU is
[LTF1x80MHzleft 0 LTF1x80MHZright 023 LTF1x80MHzleft 0 LTF1x80MHZright 023 -LTF1x80MHzleft 0 -LTF1x80MHZright 023 -LTF1x80MHzleft 0 -LTF1x80MHzright] (par.[0014] – 0255] describes the LTF sequence for 320 MHz wherein the sequence utilizes 1x mode and reproduces the 80 MHz LTF sequences).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the teachings of Chen for sending a PPDU over a 320 MHz channel with the LTF sequences as discussed in Liang. The motivation/suggestion would have been to optimize PAPR in the streams being transmitted over the physical medium.
Regarding claims 13, 15, 17, and 19 Chun discloses:
wherein the LTF1x80MHzlefn is an 80MHz left 1x LTF sequence in the IEEE 802.1lax standard, LTF1x80MHZright is an 80MHZright 1x LTF sequence in the IEEE 802.11 ax standard (par.[0004 and 0009] describes the LTF left and right for 802.11ax).
Regarding claims 14, 16, 18, and 20, Chun discloses:
wherein the LTF1x80MHzefi = { - 1, 0, 0, 0,-1,0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1,0,0, 0, - 1,0,0, 0, - 1,0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1,0,0,0,+1,0,0,0,+1,0,0,0,+1,0,0,0,+1,0,0,0,+1,0,0,0,-1,0,0,0,-1,0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0,-1,0,0,0, - 1,0,0,0,+1,0,0,0, - 1,0,0,0, - 1,0,0,0, - 1,0,0,0, - 1,0,0,0, - 1,0,0, 0, - 1,0,0,0,+1,0,0,0,+1,0,0,0,+1,0,0,0,-1,0,0,0,-1,0,0,0,+1,0,0,0,+1,0,0,0,-1,0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1,0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1,0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1,0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1,0,0, 0, - 1,0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1,0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1,0,0,0, +1,0,0,0, - 1,0,0,0, - 1,0,0,0, - 1,0,0,0, - 1,0,0,0,+1,0,0,0, - 1,0,0,0,+1,0,0,0, -1,0,0,0, - 1,0,0,0};
the LTFlx80MHright= {0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1,0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1,0,0, 0, - 1,0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1,0,0,0,+1,0,0,0, -1,0,0,0, -1,0,0,0, -1,0,0,0, -1,0,0,0, -1,0,0,0,+1,0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1,0,0, 0, - 1,0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1,0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1,0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0,-1,0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1,0,0, 0, - 1,0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1,0,0, 0, - 1,0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1,0,0, 0, - 1,0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1,0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1,0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1, 0,0, 0, - 1, 0,0,0, +1,0,0,0, - 1,0,0,0, - 1,0,0,0, - 1,0,0,0, - 1,0,0,0,+1,0,0,0, - 1,0,0,0,+1,0,0,0,- 1,0,0,0, - 1,0,0,0, - 1,0,0,0, +1,0,0,0, +1} (par.[0092 - 0097] and the table below depicts the LTF for 802.11ax as discussed above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 10, and 13-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Yun et al. (US 2021/0218609 A1) “Method and Device for Generating Training Signal in Wireless LAN System”
Lim et al. (US 2021/0385830 A1) “Method and Device for Transmitting EHT PPDU in Wireless LAN System”
Park et al. “Overview of PHY Features for EHT”, LG Electronics, Doc Code IEEE 802.11-18/1967r1, dated January 1, 2019.
Yang et al. (US 11,711,184 B2) “Long Training Field (LTF) in Distributed Transmission”
Kim et al. (US 2021/0243756 A1) “Method and Device for Executing Communication Via Uplink Access in Wireless LAN System”
IEEE, "Part 11: Wireless LAN Medium Access Control (MAC) and Physical Layer (PHY) Specifications, Amendment 1: Enhancements for High-Efficiency WLAN" dated May 19th 2021, pg.586.
Lim et al (WO 2020/096349 A1) “Method for Transmitting EHT PPDU in Wireless LAN System” par.[0233]
JAMAAL HENSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2411
/JAMAAL HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411