DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the “AMENDMENT UNDER 37 C.F.R. § 1.111” filed 12 March 2026. The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claim 1. Claims 1-5 and 7-21 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “58B” has been used to designate both wall portions of the pair of wall portions facing each other in the X direction and extending in the Y direction [Applicant’s Specification ¶0061] in Figs. 5-6, wherein the Examiner notes that Fig. 5 uses reference character “58B” to identify the wall portion facing the X(-) direction [based on replacement drawing sheet depicting at least Fig. 7, the wall portion facing the X(-) direction should appear to be wall portion “58A”] and Fig. 6 uses reference character “58B” to identify the wall portion facing the X(+) direction.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 5 and 7 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 should read “wherein the the distal end side of the tube than the slit in an axial direction of the tube” [lines 2-3].
Claim 7 should read “wherein the distal end side of the tube” [line 2].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner Notes: currently, NO limitation invokes interpretation under § 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cannon (US-20180228476-A1, previously presented) in view of Gavalis (WO-2019157389-A1, filing date of 8 February 2019, foreign reference attached).
Regarding claim 1, Cannon teaches
A biopsy needle that is to be inserted into an endoscope forceps channel [the needle's tubular cannula 104 may be constructed of 304 stainless steel or another surgical grade metal, and sized from 25 gauge to 18 gauge, and from about 50 to about 200 cm in length, with one preferred length of about 180 cm for use with certain endoscopes (Cannon ¶0027)], the biopsy needle comprising:
a hollow tube [cannula 104 includes a cannula wall 106 that defines a cannula lumen 108 (Cannon ¶0028)] which includes a distal end opening portion [distal end region 110 of the cannula 104 (Cannon ¶0028)] and a proximal end opening portion and of which the distal end opening portion and the proximal end opening portion communicate with each other [elongate tubular cannula 104 that extends distally from a proximal end (Cannon ¶0028), wherein as depicted in Figure 1, the proximal end (considered to extend opposite from the distal end region 110) is open],
wherein the tube includes a puncture portion that is provided at a distal end portion of the tube and has at least one blade distal end point [distal-most tip end 112 (Cannon ¶0028, Figure 1)], a slit [side notch 120] that extends in an axial direction of the tube toward the proximal end opening portion from the distal end opening portion [see Cannon Figure 1], and a tissue excision cutter that is provided at a proximal end of the slit and is formed in a shape tapered toward a distal end of the slit from the proximal end of the slit [first parabolic section 122 (Cannon ¶0033, Figures 1A and 1C)],
wherein the at least one blade distal end point of the puncture portion includes a first blade distal end point [tip 112 (Cannon Figures 1, 1A, 1C)], a second blade distal end point [tip 116 (Cannon Figures 1, 1A, 1C)], and a third blade distal end point [tip 114 (Cannon Figures 1, 1A, 1C)],
in a case where the tube is viewed in a direction orthogonal to the axial direction of the tube, the first blade distal end point is formed closer to a distal end side of the tube than the second blade distal end point and the third blade distal end point [see tip 112 relative to tips 114, 116 in Figure 1A of Cannon, which is considered to depict the tube (needle cannula 104) in a direction orthogonal to an axial direction of the tube, wherein the tip 112 is closer to a distal end side (considered to be defined by the furthest point of tip 112) than tips 114, 116],
in a case where the tube is viewed in the axial direction of the tube, the first blade distal end point is disposed to face the slit in a radial direction of the tube and the second blade distal end point and the third blade distal end point are disposed to face each other with the slit interposed therebetween, and the slit extends from the tissue excision cutter toward the second blade distal end point and the third blade distal end point [see Annotated Figure 1 of Cannon Figure 1B] and the second blade distal end point and the third blade distal end point are disposed to face each other with the slit interposed therebetween [see Annotated Figure 1 of Cannon Figure 1B], and
the slit extends from the tissue excision cutter toward the second blade distal end point and the third blade distal end point [see Annotated Fig. 1 of Cannon Figure 1B].
Annotated Fig. 1. Figure 1B of Cannon is considered to depict an axial direction of the tube [needle cannula 104], wherein Fig. 1B has been annotated to identify the radial direction of the first blade distal end point [tip 112] and the radial direction of the slit [notch 120], which as depicted face each other in their respective radial directions [the Examiner acknowledges that the slit (notch 120) and tissue excision cutter (first parabolic section 122) are not specifically labeled in Fig. 1B of Cannon, but are understood to be positioned as annotated based on Figs. 1, 1A, and 1C of Cannon]. Fig. 1B is also considered to depict wherein the puncture portion includes a first blade distal end point [tip 112], a second blade distal end point [tip 116], and a third blade distal end point [tip 114], wherein the second blade distal end point and the third blade distal end point are disposed to face each other, wherein the slit extends from the tissue excision cutter toward the second blade distal end point and the third blade distal end point based on the annotated curvature of the slit [see note above and also Figs. 1, 1A, and 1C of Cannon].
However, Cannon fails to explicitly disclose wherein the slit is formed into a linear shape and wherein the slit extends from the tissue excision cutter to the second blade distal end point and the third blade distal end point.
Gavalis discloses biopsy needles for endoscopic procedures [A biopsy needle device is typically introduced into the working channel of the endoscope from the proximal end to the distal end of the endoscope until a distal end of the needle device approximates or reaches a desired location for collecting one or more tissue samples (Gavalis ¶0050)], wherein Gavalis discloses a hollow tube including a puncture portion that is provided at a distal end portion of the tube and has at least one blade distal end point [A biopsy needle may have a predetermined number of tines formed on a corresponding number of grind planes suitable for a desired endoscopic biopsy procedure. For example, biopsy needle 200 may be implemented to include two tines 234 formed by two grind planes as shown in FIG. 6A (two-plane biopsy needle 204) or three tines 235 formed by three grind planes as shown in FIG. 6B (three-plane biopsy needle 205). In such instances, the distal end of the biopsy needle includes a same number of cutouts 240 located between each set of adjacent tines (Gavalis ¶0076, Figs. 6A-B)], a slit that is formed into a linear shape and extends in an axial direction of the tube toward a proximal end opening portion from a distal end opening portion [The implementations 400 and 401 of biopsy needle 200 as shown in FIGS. 9A-9C and 10A-10C, respectively, use a similar principle of increasing the amount of cutting surface as needle 200 but change the geometry of the “V” to form an angled V-bevel near the base of the “V” cut. FIG. 9A shows a partial perspective view of distal end 420 of needle 400 (including tips 450, cutting faces 460 and 490, cutting edges 470 and 480, and longitudinally straight section 242 as described above), and FIGS. 9B and 9C show two different partial front views (Gavalis ¶0090, Figs. 9A-C)], and a tissue excision cutter that is provided at a proximal end of the slit and is formed in a shape tapered toward a distal end of the slit from the proximal end of the slit [cutting face 490 (Gavalis Fig. 9B, 9D); FIG. 9D shows a cross-section through one wall of needle 400 at one of cutting surfaces 490, showing an angle 415 between cutting surface 490 and an inner wall 410 of the needle (Gavalis ¶0090, Fig. 9D)]; and wherein the slit extends from the tissue excision cutter to a pair of blade distal end points [Gavalis Figs. 9A-C].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Cannon to employ wherein the slit is formed into a linear shape and wherein the slit extends from the tissue excision cutter to the second blade distal end point and the third blade distal end point, so as to enhance the cutting performance of the biopsy needle [Advantageously, cutouts 240 eliminate or replace locations of the cutting edges that have low inclination angles, thereby increasing the overall average inclination angle of distal end 220 and thus the cutting performance of biopsy needle 200 (Gavalis ¶0068); Additionally, the inclination angle of V-shaped section 244 is greater than the inclination angles of locations at or around the bevel heel that are replaced by V-shaped section 244. Therefore, by eliminating or replacing locations of distal end 120 that have low inclination angles, cutouts 240 advantageously increase the overall average inclination angle of distal end 220, thereby reducing cutting forces applied to the tissue and improving the cutting performance relative to that of biopsy needle 100 (Gavalis ¶0070)], and may further amount to simple substitution of one known element for another with similar expected results [provide a slit comprising a cutting face for cutting tissue] [MPEP § 2143(I)(B)].
Regarding claim 2, Cannon in view of Gavalis teaches
The biopsy needle according to claim 1, wherein the tissue excision cutter includes at least one inclined blade surface that is inclined to approach a central axis of the tube toward the distal end of the slit from the proximal end of the slit [Gavalis Figs. 9A-D].
Regarding claim 3, Cannon in view of Gavalis teaches
The biopsy needle according to claim 2, wherein a sharp blade is formed on the inclined blade surface and the blade is formed at a position where the blade does not protrude to an outside of the tube from an outer peripheral surface of the tube [Gavalis Figs. 9A-D].
Regarding claim 4, Cannon in view of Gavalis teaches
The biopsy needle according to claim 1, wherein in a case where the tube is viewed in an axial direction of the tube, the at least one blade distal end point and the slit are disposed to face each other in a radial direction of the tube [wherein as depicted in at least Gavalis Fig. 6B, the cutout 240 is disposed to face at least one blade distal end point 235, such that based on the § 103 modification of claim 1 above, the modified slit is considered to read on the claimed limitation; see also Annotated Fig. 1].
Regarding claim 5, Cannon in view of Gavalis teaches
The biopsy needle according to claim 1, wherein the at least one blade distal end point [tip 112 of Cannon] has a first blade distal end point that is formed closer to a distal end side of the tube than the slit in an axial direction of the tube [see tip 112 and notch 120 in Figures 1, 1A, and 1C of Cannon].
Regarding claim 7, Cannon in view of Gavalis teaches
The biopsy needle according to claim 1, wherein the distal end portion of the tube includes a first blade surface [minor-beveled region 113 (Cannon Figures 1A, 1C)] that connects an outer peripheral surface of the tube to the first and second blade distal end points [the major and minor beveling construction shown in this embodiment forms a parabolic minor-beveled region 115 between the pointed tips 114, 116 and also forms a matched/opposed pair of parabolic minor-beveled regions 113 between the distalmost terminus 112 and the pointed tips 114, 116 (Cannon ¶0030, Figures 1, 1A, 1C)] and has a normal line including a component toward an outside in the radial direction of the tube and a component toward the distal end side of the tube [see Annotated Figure 2 of Figure 1C of Cannon], and a second blade surface [matched/opposed minor-beveled region 113 (Cannon Figures 1A, 1C)] that connects the outer peripheral surface of the tube to the first and third blade distal end points and has a normal line including a component toward the outside in the radial direction of the tube and a component toward the distal end side of the tube [a matched/opposed pair of parabolic minor-beveled regions 113 between the distalmost terminus 112 and the pointed tips 114, 116 (Cannon ¶0030, Figures 1, 1A, 1C); see also Annotated Figure 2, which is considered to apply to the second blade surface as well].
Annotated Fig. 2. Figure 1C of Cannon is considered to depict a parabolic shaped edge considered to read on the claimed first blade surface [inter-tip face 113 (Cannon Figures 1A, 1C)], wherein the first/second blade surface has a normal line that has a component toward an outside in the radial direction of the tube and a component toward the distal end side of the tube.
Regarding claim 8, Cannon in view of Gavalis teaches
The biopsy needle according to claim 1, wherein the at least one blade distal end point is formed on an inner peripheral surface of the tube [FIG. 1D shows a magnified detail view of this distalmost bevel, which forms the distalmost tip 112a as the apex of a pyramid (where the luminal face may be slightly convex). As shown in FIG. 1D, the minor bevel φ across the thickness of the cannula wall 106 is about 9 degrees (±2°) from a longitudinal axis defined along the outer longitudinal face of the cannula 104 (Cannon ¶0032)].
Regarding claim 9, Cannon in view of Gavalis teaches
The biopsy needle according to claim 1, wherein a length between the first blade distal end point and a distal end of the tissue excision cutter in the axial direction of the tube is in a range of 0.5 mm to 25.0 mm [the longitudinal distance measured from the distalmost point of the proximal parabolic edge 122 to the distal end 112 is about 0.36 inches (Cannon ¶0034), which is considered to be approximately 9.1 mm].
Regarding claim 10, Cannon in view of Gavalis teaches
The biopsy needle according to claim 1, wherein a width of the slit in a circumferential direction of the tube is smaller than an inner diameter of the tube [wherein as depicted in Figures 1-1A of Cannon, the slit (notch 120) having a parabolic shape is considered to define a portion of the width (circumferential direction) of the slit that is less than the inner diameter of the tube (needle cannula 104); and as further depicted in Figures 6B and 9A-C of Gavalis, the slit (longitudinally straight section 242) is not depicted as circumscribing as much as half of the circumference of the tube].
Regarding claim 11, Cannon in view of Gavalis teaches
The biopsy needle according to claim 1, wherein an outer diameter of the tube is in a range of 0.3 mm to 3.0 mm [the needle 100 may be an 18 gauge needle (Cannon ¶0034)].
Regarding claim 12, Cannon in view of Gavalis teaches
The biopsy needle according to claim 1, wherein an inner diameter of the tube is in a range of 0.1 mm to 2.5 mm [Cannon ¶0034].
Regarding claim 13, Cannon in view of Gavalis teaches
The biopsy needle according to claim 1, wherein an echo marker, which allows a position of the tube to be visually displayed in an ultrasound image, is provided on an outer peripheral surface of the tube.
While Cannon discloses using the disclosed biopsy needle alongside ultrasound visualization to navigate the needle to a target site [In one preferred embodiment, during introduction of the device into a patient body, the needle cannula will be directed through the working channel of a peroral endoscope such as a duodenoscope into a patient's body. It is then navigated (under ultrasound visualization and/or fluoroscopy) into a target site (Cannon ¶0049)] and further discloses that embodiments described therein may be combined with currently-known or future-developed technologies [Cannon ¶0050], Cannon in view of Gavalis as presently modified fails to explicitly disclose wherein an echo marker, which allows a position of the tube to be visually displayed in an ultrasound image, is provided on an outer peripheral surface of the tube.
Gavalis discloses wherein an echo marker, which allows a position of the tube to be visually displayed in an ultrasound image, is provided on an outer peripheral surface of the tube [Another aspect of improving biopsy needle collection performance is to increase visibility of needle and/or tip under ultrasound illumination (Gavalis ¶0113); Biopsy collection needles that are used with endoscopic ultrasound typically contain echogenic markings on the distal end of the needle, near the tip. These markings are typically made with EDM (electrical discharge machining), grit blasting or laser marking using a fiber laser or Nd:YAG (neodymium-doped yttrium aluminum garnet) laser (Gavalis ¶0114); It has been found that the diamonds as shown in FIGS. 23 and 24B have high echogenicity when arranged in the patterns and spacings shown in FIGS. 26-28 (Gavalis ¶0125)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the needle of Cannon in view of Gavalis to employ wherein an echo marker, which allows a position of the tube to be visually displayed in an ultrasound image, is provided on an outer peripheral surface of the tube, in order to improve echogenicity of the needle to improve visibility of the needle under ultrasound-guided procedures.
Regarding claim 14, Cannon in view of Gavalis teaches
The biopsy needle according to claim 13, wherein the echo marker is provided only on a portion of the outer peripheral surface of the tube that includes the proximal end of the slit [see § 103 modification of claim 13; Gavalis Figs. 9A-C, 26-28, wherein the language “provided only on a portion…that includes” is not considered to limit the position of the echo marker to only being in the immediate area of the proximal end of the slit].
Regarding claim 15, Cannon in view of Gavalis teaches
The biopsy needle according to claim 13, wherein the echo marker is provided in a region on the outer peripheral surface of the tube, the region extending toward a distal end side of the tube from a portion that includes the proximal end of the slit [see § 103 modification of claim 13; Gavalis Figs. 9A-C, 26-28].
Regarding claim 16, Cannon in view of Gavalis teaches
The biopsy needle according to claim 13, wherein the echo marker is provided in a region on the outer peripheral surface of the tube, the region extending toward a proximal end side of the tube from a portion that includes the proximal end of the slit [see § 103 modification of claim 13; Gavalis Figs. 9A-C, 26-28].
Regarding claim 17, Cannon in view of Gavalis teaches
The biopsy needle according to claim 13, wherein the echo marker is formed in an uneven shape [see § 103 modification of claim 13; These cuts effectively transform the bottom into a sine wave of ridges and troughs, improving the scattering of sound and thus improving the brightness of the features under ultrasound visualization. Other textures (e.g., other regular patterns, such as ridges that are steeper on one side than the other as shown e.g. in FIG. 29C) are also possible (Gavalis ¶0121, Fig. 29C); see also Gavalis Figs. 25A-B, wherein the markers as cited are considered to form an “uneven” shape based on the coiling pattern as depicted].
Regarding claim 18, Cannon in view of Gavalis teaches
The biopsy needle according to claim 1, wherein the tube is made of stainless steel [the needle's tubular cannula 104 may be constructed of 304 stainless steel or another surgical grade metal (Cannon ¶0027)], a nickel-titanium alloy, a nickel-chromium alloy, or a cobalt-chromium alloy.
Regarding claim 19, Cannon in view of Gavalis teaches
A tissue collecting device comprising: the biopsy needle according to claim 1; and a suction member configured to generate negative pressure in the biopsy needle [The cannula 104 includes a cannula wall 106 that defines a cannula lumen 108, through which a proximal suction source may communicate with the distal opening(s) (Cannon ¶0028)].
Regarding claim 20, Cannon in view of Gavalis teaches
The tissue collecting device according to claim 19, wherein the suction member includes a suction device connected to the tube [Cannon ¶0028].
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cannon in view of Gavalis, as applied to claim 19 above, in further view of Schembre (US-9986981-B2, previously presented).
Regarding claim 21, Cannon in view of Gavalis teaches
The tissue collecting device according to claim 19.
However, Cannon in view of Gavalis fails to explicitly disclose wherein the suction member includes a stylet that is inserted in the tube and is configured to generate the negative pressure when the stylet is removed.
Schembre discloses a suction member for a tissue collecting device that comprises a stylet that is inserted into a tubular needle and is configured to generate a negative pressure when the stylet is removed [First, as shown in FIG. 4A, the needle cannula 204, with the stylet 230 disposed therein, is directed into a target site 450 to be sampled (e.g., a tumor mass). Next, as shown in FIG. 4B, the stylet 230 is withdrawn and suction is applied to the proximal end of the needle cannula lumen 208. This will pull tissue from the target site 450 through the notch 220 into the lumen 208 (Schembre Col 5:35-42)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tissue collecting device of Cannon in view of Gavalis to employ a suction member that includes a stylet that is inserted in the tube and is configured to generate the negative pressure when the stylet is removed, as this modification would amount to mere simple substitution of one known element for another with similar expected results [generating negative pressure in the biopsy needle] [MPEP § 2143(I)(B)].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Applicant’s Remarks p. 7, filed 12 March 2026, with respect to the previously presented drawing objections have been fully considered but they are not entirely persuasive.
The Examiner notes that the previously presented objection for reference character “58B” being used to designate both wall portions of the pair of wall portions facing each other in the X direction and extending in the Y direction [Applicant’s Specification ¶0061] in Figs. 5-6 was not specifically addressed in the replacement drawings.
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s Remarks p. 7-10, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and those dependent therefrom under § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Cannon (US-20180228476-A1, previously presented) in view of Gavalis (WO-2019157389-A1, filing date of 8 February 2019, foreign reference attached).
The Applicant asserts that the subject matter of “biopsy needle comprising: a hollow tube which includes a distal end opening portion and a proximal end opening portion and of which the distal end opening portion and the proximal end opening position communicate with each other” and “a slit that is formed into a linear shape and extends in an axial direction of the tube to the proximal end opening portion from the distal end opening portion” [emphasis applied by Applicant] fails to be taught, disclosed, or suggested by the previously applied Cannon and McWeeney, alone or in combination. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Cannon is presently modified by Gavalis (WO-2019157389-A1, filing date of 8 February 2019, foreign reference attached), wherein Gavalis is considered to disclose a slit that is formed into a linear shape and extends in an axial direction of the tube toward a proximal end opening portion from a distal end opening portion [The implementations 400 and 401 of biopsy needle 200 as shown in FIGS. 9A-9C and 10A-10C, respectively, use a similar principle of increasing the amount of cutting surface as needle 200 but change the geometry of the “V” to form an angled V-bevel near the base of the “V” cut. FIG. 9A shows a partial perspective view of distal end 420 of needle 400 (including tips 450, cutting faces 460 and 490, cutting edges 470 and 480, and longitudinally straight section 242 as described above), and FIGS. 9B and 9C show two different partial front views (Gavalis ¶0090, Figs. 9A-C)], and a tissue excision cutter that is provided at a proximal end of the slit and is formed in a shape tapered toward a distal end of the slit from the proximal end of the slit [cutting face 490 (Gavalis Fig. 9B, 9D); FIG. 9D shows a cross-section through one wall of needle 400 at one of cutting surfaces 490, showing an angle 415 between cutting surface 490 and an inner wall 410 of the needle (Gavalis ¶0090, Fig. 9D)]; and wherein the slit extends from the tissue excision cutter to a pair of blade distal end points [Gavalis Figs. 9A-C].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEVERO ANTONIO P LOPEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3791