Detailed Office Action
37 C.F.R. § 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 C.F.R. § 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 C.F.R. § 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 C.F.R. § 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 C.F.R. § 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 C.F.R. § 1.114.
Status of the Claims
Acknowledgement is hereby made of receipt and entry of the communication filed 07 January, 2025. Claims 1, 4, 5, 8-24, and 26-28 are pending in the instant application.
37 C.F.R. § 1.98
The information disclosure statement filed 08 January, 2025, has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
35 U.S.C. § 112(b)
The previous rejection of claims 1, 4, 5, 8-24, and 26-28 is hereby withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendment and arguments.
35 U.S.C. § 112(d)
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(d), as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 1 references a treatment method that employs therapeutic double-stranded RNA (tdsRNA) comprising one of the recited formulas wherein the variable n=40-40,000. However, claim 13 references the same formula wherein the variable n=40-50,000. Thus, claim 13 does not contain all the elements of claim 1 and is clearly broader in scope. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
35 U.S.C. § 119(e) or § 120 Benefit
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. § 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. § 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged. Applicant submits that provisional applications 63/125,195 (filed 14 December, 2020) and 63/035,681 (filed 05 June, 2020) provide support for the claimed invention. Perusal of both of these documents failed to provide direct support for the claimed term “Long COVID”. However, these applications do discuss post-COVID-19 fatigue syndrome (PCFS). Applicant’s arguments with respect to evolving clinical definitions is noted but not persuasive. Accordingly, claims 5 and 28 will not receive the claimed priority benefit.
Joint Inventors, Common Ownership Presumed
35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8-24, and 26-28 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Carter and Strayer (US 2007/0141080 A1, published 21 June, 2007; hereinafter referred to as "Carter and Strayer (2007)") and Carter (US Patent No. 6,130,206, issued 10 October, 2000; hereinafter referred to as “Carter (2000)”) in view of Xu et al. (2020) and Davis et al. (2020) and Mitchell et al. (2016). Applicant's arguments filed 07 January, 2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. It should be noted that SARS-CoV-1 and SARS-CoV-2 are closely related coronaviruses that display considerable genotypic and phenotypic characteristics.
As previously set forth, Carter and Strayer (2007) teach that their disclosed dsRNA is disclosed as useful for treating a subject previously infected with a virus and afflicted with symptoms. Specifically, Carter and Strayer (2007) teach that a dsRNA may be used in the treatment of the symptoms associated with SARS-associated coronavirus in patents including human patients infected with the SARS-associated coronavirus (Para. [0004]). Carter and Strayer (2007) further teach: A method comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a composition comprising therapeutic double-stranded RNA tdsRNA (The dsRNA of choice is Ampligen®, a synthetic, specifically configured, double-stranded ribonucleic acid (dsRNA) which retains the immunostimulatory and antiviral properties of other double-stranded RNA molecules (dsRNA) but exhibits greatly reduced toxicity. Like other dsRNA, Ampligen® can elicit the induction of interferon and other cytokines. Ampligen® has the ability to stimulate a variety of dsRNA-dependent intracellular antiviral defense mechanisms, Para. [0010], wherein the tdsRNA is rlner(CxU)n (formula 1) (The mismatched dsRNA may be of the general formula rlner(C12U)n, Para. [0011]; wherein x is 12).
Moreover, with respect to Applicant’s argument that the treatment for SARS-CoV would not be applied for the treatment of SARS-CoV2, is noted. However, the instant claims are directed to a method for the treatment of post-viral fatigue, which is a symptom of individuals having experienced an infection by either a DNA or RNA-containing virus. An embodiment of the instant invention describes wherein the post-viral fatigue may be Long COVID, and wherein the Long COVID is also called “Post COVID-19 Chronic Fatigue...” (see page 3 of the specification). Thus, contrary to Applicant’s assertions, the treatment of a patient with Chronic Fatigue, previously infected with a DNA or RNA-containing virus (as taught by Carter and Strayer (2007) and Carter (2000)) would also be expected to read on the claimed invention.
As previously set forth, Applicant’s arguments do not address the actual invention that is claimed. The claimed invention recites “[A] method for treating a subject previously infected with SARS-CoV-2 virus and afflicted with post viral fatigue symptoms, the method comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a composition comprising therapeutic double-stranded RNA tdsRNA...” The instant claims do not require that the administration of the recited tdsRNA leads to the reduction of the SARs-Cov-2 in the patient. The claims are interpreted as reading on a method for treating chronic fatigue in a patient that has previously been infected with a DNA or RNA virus, wherein treatment of the chronic fatigue in a patient by a tdsRNA leads to the reduction of chronic fatigue in that patient.
Regarding Davis et al. (2020), Applicants argued that this reference does not provide a suggestion for treatment of SARS-Cov-2. However, Davis was cited for teaching that fatigue is a symptom associated with SARs-CoV-2. The other supporting references were cited for describing the use of tdsRNA for treating post viral fatigue in a patient.
Regarding Mitchell et al. (2016), Applicant again argues that “the symptoms of long Covid can include fatigue but can be of a wider range such as those listed in claim 6 of this Application. There is no evidence that, for example, a combination of the cited references can treat the symptoms of claim 6 combined.” Contrary to Applicant’s assertions, the specification as filed (claim 3) defines Long Covid as Chronic Fatigue associated with SARS-CoV, therefore it is unclear how Applicant asserts that the invention is novel over a method for treating Chronic Fatigue associated with viral infection using tdsRNA.
Moreover, Applicant has provided arguments against the references individually, however, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
As previously set forth, Carter and Strayer (2007) disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the virus is at least one selected from the group consisting of: Severe acute respiratory syndrome-related coronavirus (SARS-CoV); a variant thereof; a strain thereof; a mutant thereof; a type thereof; a subtype thereof; a lineage thereof; a clade thereof; and a subclade thereof (the treatment of the symptoms associated with SARS-associated coronavirus in patents including human patients infected with the SARS- associated coronavirus, Para. [0004]). Additionally, Carter (2000) teaches that chronic fatigue syndrome is associated with patients that have experienced infections by both RNA and DNA-containing viruses, see col. 1, line 25). Carter (2000) further teaches that this condition can be treated by supplying exogenous dsRNA, see the following (col. 4. Lines 38-67).
Regarding claims 15 and 27, Carter and Strayer (2007) teach that the dsRNA administered comprises the following sequence (see page 3, claims section). Regarding claim 24, Carter and Strayer (2007) teaches that the dsRNA is administered at a dose schedule of 400 mg administered twice weekly, see [0027].
Regarding Claim 26, Carter and Strayer (2007) disclose a composition for treating post viral fatigue or relieving a symptom thereof in a subject comprising: in a subject (a dsRNA may be used in the treatment of the symptoms associated with SARS-associated coronavirus in patents including human patients infected with the SARS-associated coronavirus, see [0004]) (The dsRNA of choice is Ampligen®, a synthetic, specifically configured, double-stranded ribonucleic acid (dsRNA) which retains the immunostimulatory and antiviral properties of other double-stranded RNA molecules (dsRNA) but exhibits greatly reduced toxicity. Like other dsRNA, Ampligen® can elicit the induction of interferon and other cytokines. Ampligen® has the ability to stimulate a variety of dsRNA-dependent intracellular antiviral defense mechanisms, see [0010]: the mismatched dsRNA may be of the general formula rln* r(C12U)n, see [0011]).
Regarding claim 4, Carter and Strayer (2007) describe the use of dsRNA in the treatment of symptoms associated with SARS-associated coronavirus (SARS-CoV) infections in a patient, including human patients (see [0004]). However, Carter and Strayer (2007) and Carter (2000) fail to explicitly disclose wherein the virus is SARS-CoV-2.
Xu et al. (2020) is in the field of human coronaviruses (HCoVs) (Abstract) and teaches that SARS-CoV-2 is a virus related to SARS-CoV-1 (first discovered in Wuhan in Dec, 2019, and SARS-CoV-2, a new coronavirus, was isolated from the respiratory epithelium of patients. It belongs to a new evolutionary branch within the CoV. On Feb. 11th, 2020, the new coronavirus was officially renamed "SARS-CoV-2", Pg. 1, Paragraph 1). Regarding claim 4, since the claims are drawn to the treatment of post viral fatigue symptoms in a subject, wherein the subject was previously infected with variants of the SARS-CoV-2 virus, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have expected that subjects infected with variants of SARS-CoV-2 virus would have experienced similar post viral fatigue symptoms. Furthermore, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have expected that treatments of the post viral fatigue associated with one variant of SARS-CoV-2 virus, would likely to be effective for treating post viral fatigue associated with another variant of the SARS-CoV-2 virus. Additionally, see the following, Xu et al. (2020) (lines 1-3, page 4) teaches that fever and fatigue where common symptoms between SARS patients and COVID-19 patients.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Carter and Strayer (2007) with the new SARS-CoV lineage SARS-CoV-2 taught Xu et al. (2020) for the purpose of treating severe acute respiratory syndromes with dsRNA therapies (Carter, Abstract).
It is noted that Carter and Strayer (2007) and Xu et al. (2020) do not teach a relationship between SARS-CoV-2 and post viral fatigue in a subject. However, according to Davis et al. (2020) subjects previously infected with SARS-Cov-2, were observed to develop post viral symptoms, including fatigue, post-exertional malaise, and cognitive dysfunction, see Results. Additionally, Mitchell et al. (2016) teaches that chronic fatigue syndrome is associated with acute viral infection. Mitchell et al. (2016) further teaches that this condition can be treated with Rintatolimod, this compound is also known as Poly I:Poly C12U, (See Table 1, Figure 2). This compound has the same structure as the dsRNA used in the methods of Carter and Strayer (2007), and falls within the scope of the compounds of formula | recited in the instant claims.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have devised a method for treating a patient previously infected with SARS-CoV-2, and exhibiting symptoms of post viral fatigue with a compound of formula | recited in the instant claims. One of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention, would have been motivated to design the claimed method since the prior art teaches that both SARS-Cov2 infection, and chronic fatigue are treatable by the same compound, specifically Poly I:Poly C12U.
While, the cited reference does not explicitly teach the specific modes of administration of the tdsRNA, or the specific modes of administration or dosing set forth in the instant claims 21-23, nevertheless, since the general conditions of the claimed invention are set forth in the prior art, as described above, it would have been prima facie obvious to identify workable and optimal ranges of dosing, and modes of administration by routine optimization. See MPEP 2144.05.
Correspondence
Any inquiry concerning this communication should be directed to Jeffrey S. Parkin, Ph.D., whose telephone number is (571) 272-0908. The Examiner can normally be reached Monday through Friday from 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM. A message may be left on the Examiner's voice mail service. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor, Janet L. Andres, Ph.D., can be reached at (571) 272-0867. Direct general status inquiries to the Technology Center 1600 receptionist at (571) 272-1600.
Respectfully,
/JEFFREY S PARKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1671
20 February, 2025