DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2-9 and 11-19 are objected to because of the following informalities: each dependent claims recited “The system of claim [number] wherein” and does not include a comma after the claim number. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites “the sheath covers the inner shaft and sheath.” It is at most unclear to the Examiner how the sheath could “cover” itself. It is unclear if the Applicant intends to claim two separate and distinct sheaths.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the sheath" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the shaft electrode" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-10 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moss et al., (hereinafter ‘Moss,’ U.S. PGPub. No. 2011/0238057) in view of Pedersen et al., (hereinafter ‘Pedersen,’ U.S. PGPub. No. 2016/0278839).
Regarding claim 1, Moss (Fig. 1) discloses a system for destruction of tissue comprising: a cannula (probe 1) having a proximal end and a distal end and containing a plurality of tissue penetrating elongate electrodes (electrode array 21) therein, the electrodes (21) being extendible beyond the distal end of the cannula (Fig. 1); an inner shaft (trocar 9) formed from a dielectric polymer disposed over the cannula ([0078], “trocar 9 can be comprised of a non-conductive material such as, but not limited to, polyimide or PEEK (polyether ether ketone)”); electrical connectors including at least one electrical connector electrically coupled to at least one of the elongate electrodes (21) ([0075]; [0120], generator 29 provides electrical energy to electrodes 21), and a sheath (insulation sleeve 45) movable relative to the shaft electrode and inner shaft and adapted to control exposure of the shaft electrode to patient tissue ([0104], “The slide member 7 is capable of being actuated in either a proximal or distal direction along the longitudinal axis of the probe device 100. To retract the insulative sleeve 45, the slide member 7 can be manually proximally actuated. To advance the insulative sleeve 45, the slide member can be manually distally actuated.”).
Moss is silent regarding the inner shaft carrying a shaft electrode formed from a conductive metal, the shaft electrode disposed near the distal end of the cannula at a spacing distance from the distal end of the cannula, wherein the inner shaft is moveable relative to the cannula to adjust the spacing distance; and at least one electrical connector electrically coupled to the shaft electrode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Pedersen teaches a similar system (Fig. 2) comprising a cannula (12) including an inner shaft (18) disposed within the lumen of the canula (12). Pedersen teaches the inner shaft (18) carries a shaft electrode formed from a conductive metal (first conductive electrical terminal 18), and the shaft electrode (18) is disposed near the distal end of the cannula (12) at a spacing distance from the distal end of the cannula (Fig. 2). Further, at least one electrical connector is electrically coupled to the shaft electrode ([0060], see feed wires 30, 32 for delivering current to the electrodes 18, 20). Pedersen teaches the inner shaft (18) is moveable relative to the cannula (12) to adjust the spacing distance ([0037], “Disposed within the lumen of the catheter 12 is a first conductive electrical terminal 18, and in the preferred embodiment is able to slide within the catheter 12 so as to adjust the exposed operative length of the first terminal 18”). Pedersen teaches, “[t]he arrangement and sizing of the electrical terminals causes heat concentration at the first terminal, or electrode, and as a result for ablation to occur at the first terminal.” ([0009]). As such, different exposure lengths of the electrode (18) will result in varying current density and fields of heating ([0052]-[0054]), thereby improving versatility and control of the system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system as taught by Moss to include the inner shaft carrying a shaft electrode formed from a conductive metal, the shaft electrode disposed near the distal end of the cannula at a spacing distance from the distal end of the cannula, wherein the inner shaft is moveable relative to the cannula to adjust the spacing distance; and at least one electrical connector electrically coupled to the shaft electrode, as taught by Pedersen, in order to provide particularized ablation at the shaft electrode having varying characteristics specific to the desired treatment, thereby improving versatility and control of the system.
Regarding claim 7, Moss in view of Pedersen teach all of the limitations of the system according to claim 1. In view of the prior modification of Moss in view of Pedersen, Pedersen teaches wherein the shaft electrode (18) is cylindrical and extends around the inner shaft (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Moss in view of Pedersen teach all of the limitations of the system according to claim 1. Moss discloses wherein the sheath (insulation sleeve 45) covers the inner shaft (trocar 9).
Regarding claim 9, Moss in view of Pedersen teach all of the limitations of the system according to claim 1. In view of the prior modification of Moss in view of Pedersen, Pedersen (Fig. 2) teaches wherein the shaft electrode (18) has a proximal end on the inner shaft and a distal end on the inner shaft (Fig. 2; as broadly claimed, first conductive electrical terminal 18 extends the length of the entire inner shaft), and the sheath covers the inner shaft and sheath (see ‘sheath’ 12 that covers ‘inner shaft’ 18).
Regarding claim 10, Moss (Fig. 1) discloses a system for destruction of tissue comprising: a cannula (probe 1) having a proximal end and a distal end and containing a plurality of tissue penetrating elongate electrodes (electrode array 21) therein, the electrodes (electrode array 21) being extendible beyond the distal end of the cannula (Fig. 1); an inner shaft (trocar 9) formed from a dielectric polymer disposed over the cannula ([0078], “trocar 9 can be comprised of a non-conductive material such as, but not limited to, polyimide or PEEK (polyether ether ketone)”); and a plurality of electrical connectors including at least one electrical connector electrically coupled to at least one of the elongate electrodes (21) ([0075]; [0120], generator 29 provides electrical energy to electrodes 21).
Moss is silent regarding the inner shaft carrying a shaft electrode formed from a conductive metal, the shaft electrode disposed near the distal end of the cannula, the inner shaft being moveable relative to the cannula to enable a distance from the shaft electrode to the distal end of the cannula to be adjustable, and at least one electrical connector electrically coupled to the shaft electrode; wherein the shaft electrode is disposed at a spacing distance from the distal end of the cannula, wherein the spacing distance is adjustable.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Pedersen teaches a similar system (Fig. 2) comprising a cannula (12) including an inner shaft (18) disposed within the lumen of the canula (12). Pedersen teaches the inner shaft (18) carries a shaft electrode formed from a conductive metal (first conductive electrical terminal 18), and the shaft electrode (18) is disposed near the distal end of the cannula (12). Further, at least one electrical connector is electrically coupled to the shaft electrode ([0060], see feed wires 30, 32 for delivering current to the electrodes 18, 20). Pedersen teaches the inner shaft (18) being moveable relative to the cannula (12) to enable a distance from the shaft electrode (18) to the distal end of the cannula to be adjustable ([0037], “Disposed within the lumen of the catheter 12 is a first conductive electrical terminal 18, and in the preferred embodiment is able to slide within the catheter 12 so as to adjust the exposed operative length of the first terminal 18”). The shaft electrode (18) is disposed at a spacing distance from the distal end of the cannula (12), wherein the spacing distance is adjustable ([0037]). Pedersen teaches, “[t]he arrangement and sizing of the electrical terminals causes heat concentration at the first terminal, or electrode, and as a result for ablation to occur at the first terminal.” ([0009]). As such, different exposure lengths of the electrode (18) will result in varying current density and fields of heating ([0052]-[0054]), thereby improving versatility and control of the system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system as taught by Moss to include the inner shaft carrying a shaft electrode formed from a conductive metal, the shaft electrode disposed near the distal end of the cannula, the inner shaft being moveable relative to the cannula to enable a distance from the shaft electrode to the distal end of the cannula to be adjustable, and at least one electrical connector electrically coupled to the shaft electrode; wherein the shaft electrode is disposed at a spacing distance from the distal end of the cannula, wherein the spacing distance is adjustable, as taught by Pedersen, in order to provide particularized ablation at the shaft electrode having varying characteristics specific to the desired treatment, thereby improving versatility and control of the system.
Regarding claim 17, Moss in view of Pedersen teach all of the limitations of the system according to claim 10. In view of the prior modification of Moss in view of Pedersen, Pedersen teaches wherein the shaft electrode (18) is cylindrical and extends around the inner shaft (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18, Moss in view of Pedersen teach all of the limitations of the system according to claim 10. Moss discloses wherein the sheath (insulation sleeve 45) covers the inner shaft (trocar 9).
Regarding claim 19, Moss in view of Pedersen teach all of the limitations of the system according to claim 10. In view of the prior modification of Moss in view of Pedersen, Pedersen (Fig. 2) teaches wherein the shaft electrode (18) has a proximal end on the inner shaft and a distal end on the inner shaft (Fig. 2; as broadly claimed, first conductive electrical terminal 18 extends the length of the entire inner shaft), and the sheath covers the inner shaft and sheath (see ‘sheath’ 12 that covers ‘inner shaft’ 18).
Regarding claim 20, Moss (Fig. 1) discloses a system for destruction of tissue comprising: a cannula (probe 1) having a proximal end and a distal end and containing a plurality of tissue penetrating elongate electrodes ( electrode array 21) therein, the electrodes being extendible beyond the distal end of the cannula (Fig. 1); cover (45) means for adjustably covering all, a portion of, or none of the moveable electrode means ([0104], “The slide member 7 is capable of being actuated in either a proximal or distal direction along the longitudinal axis of the probe device 100. To retract the insulative sleeve 45, the slide member 7 can be manually proximally actuated. To advance the insulative sleeve 45, the slide member can be manually distally actuated.”), a plurality of electrical connectors including at least one electrical connector electrically coupled to at least one of the elongate electrodes (21) ([0075]; [0120], generator 29 provides electrical energy to electrodes 21).
Moss is silent regarding a moveable electrode means disposed over the cannula, the moveable electrode means being moveable relative to the cannula to enable a distance from the moveable electrode means to the distal end of the cannula to be adjustable; and at least one electrical connector electrically coupled to the shaft electrode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Pedersen teaches a similar system (Fig. 2) comprising a cannula (12) including an inner shaft (18) disposed within the lumen of the canula (12). Pedersen teaches the inner shaft (18) carries a shaft electrode formed from a conductive metal (first conductive electrical terminal 18). Further, at least one electrical connector is electrically coupled to the shaft electrode ([0060], see feed wires 30, 32 for delivering current to the electrodes 18, 20). Pedersen teaches the inner shaft (18) being moveable relative to the cannula (12) to enable a distance from the shaft electrode (18) to the distal end of the cannula to be adjustable ([0037], “Disposed within the lumen of the catheter 12 is a first conductive electrical terminal 18, and in the preferred embodiment is able to slide within the catheter 12 so as to adjust the exposed operative length of the first terminal 18”). Pedersen teaches, “[t]he arrangement and sizing of the electrical terminals causes heat concentration at the first terminal, or electrode, and as a result for ablation to occur at the first terminal.” ([0009]). As such, different exposure lengths of the electrode (18) will result in varying current density and fields of heating ([0052]-[0054]), thereby improving versatility and control of the system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system as taught by Moss to include a moveable electrode means disposed over the cannula, the moveable electrode means being moveable relative to the cannula to enable a distance from the moveable electrode means to the distal end of the cannula to be adjustable; and at least one electrical connector electrically coupled to the shaft electrode, as taught by Pedersen, in order to provide particularized ablation at the shaft electrode having varying characteristics specific to the desired treatment, thereby improving versatility and control of the system.
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moss in view of Pedersen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang (hereinafter ‘Wang,’ U.S. PGPub. No. 2010/0137859).
Regarding claim 2, Moss in view of Pedersen teach all of the limitations of the system according to claim 1. Although Moss contemplates a cooling mechanism comprising the infusion of one or more liquids ([0089]), Moss in view of Pedersen are silent regarding wherein the cannula includes a fluid delivery lumen and a distal portion of the cannula comprises one or more apertures for fluid infusion, further wherein the one or more apertures for fluid infusion are located on a first side of the cannula, and the shaft electrode is located on a second side of the cannula, such that the apertures and shaft electrode occupy opposing sides of the cannula within a single axial region of the cannula.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches a similar system comprising a cannula (12) wherein the cannula includes a fluid delivery lumen (irrigation lumen 22) and a distal portion of the cannula comprises one or more apertures for fluid infusion (irrigation ports 44), further wherein the one or more apertures (44) for fluid infusion are located on a first side of the cannula (Figs. 2-3, see manifold 30 at proximal side of cannula). Further, the shaft electrode (28) is located on a second side of the cannula (12) (at the distal most side), such that the apertures and shaft electrode occupy opposing sides of the cannula within a single axial region of the cannula (see Fig. 2). Wang teaches “the irrigation ports 44 are configured for fluid communication with the inner cavity 42 and extend from the inner cavity 42 to the outer surface 40 of the body 38. The irrigation ports 44 allow for irrigating fluid to be distributed from the manifold 30. More particularly, irrigating fluid flowing in the irrigation lumen 22 flows through the inner cavity 42, and then through the irrigation ports 44 where the fluid is then distributed to the outer surface of electrode 28 and the tissue proximate the irrigation ports 44.” ([0038]). This configuration provides irrigation and cooling to the electrode, such that any char or coagulated tissue may be flushed away and the electrode temperature maybe regulated, thereby improving efficiency and safety. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system as taught by Moss in view of Pedersen to include wherein the cannula includes a fluid delivery lumen and a distal portion of the cannula comprises one or more apertures for fluid infusion, further wherein the one or more apertures for fluid infusion are located on a first side of the cannula, and the shaft electrode is located on a second side of the cannula, such that the apertures and shaft electrode occupy opposing sides of the cannula within a single axial region of the cannula, as taught by Wang. Doing so provides irrigation and cooling to the electrode, such that any char or coagulated tissue may be flushed away and the electrode temperature maybe regulated, thereby improving efficiency and safety.
Regarding claim 12, Moss in view of Pedersen teach all of the limitations of the system according to claim 10. Although Moss contemplates a cooling mechanism comprising the infusion of one or more liquids ([0089]), Moss in view of Pedersen are silent regarding wherein the cannula includes a fluid delivery lumen and a distal portion of the cannula comprises one or more apertures for fluid infusion, further wherein the one or more apertures for fluid infusion are located on a first side of the cannula, and the shaft electrode is located on a second side of the cannula, such that the apertures and shaft electrode occupy opposing sides of the cannula within a single axial region of the cannula.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches a similar system comprising a cannula (12) wherein the cannula includes a fluid delivery lumen (irrigation lumen 22) and a distal portion of the cannula comprises one or more apertures for fluid infusion (irrigation ports 44), further wherein the one or more apertures (44) for fluid infusion are located on a first side of the cannula (Figs. 2-3, see manifold 30 at proximal side of cannula). Further, the shaft electrode (28) is located on a second side of the cannula (12) (at the distal most side), such that the apertures and shaft electrode occupy opposing sides of the cannula within a single axial region of the cannula (see Fig. 2). Wang teaches “the irrigation ports 44 are configured for fluid communication with the inner cavity 42 and extend from the inner cavity 42 to the outer surface 40 of the body 38. The irrigation ports 44 allow for irrigating fluid to be distributed from the manifold 30. More particularly, irrigating fluid flowing in the irrigation lumen 22 flows through the inner cavity 42, and then through the irrigation ports 44 where the fluid is then distributed to the outer surface of electrode 28 and the tissue proximate the irrigation ports 44.” ([0038]). This configuration provides irrigation and cooling to the electrode, such that any char or coagulated tissue may be flushed away and the electrode temperature maybe regulated, thereby improving efficiency and safety. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system as taught by Moss in view of Pedersen to include wherein the cannula includes a fluid delivery lumen and a distal portion of the cannula comprises one or more apertures for fluid infusion, further wherein the one or more apertures for fluid infusion are located on a first side of the cannula, and the shaft electrode is located on a second side of the cannula, such that the apertures and shaft electrode occupy opposing sides of the cannula within a single axial region of the cannula, as taught by Wang. Doing so provides irrigation and cooling to the electrode, such that any char or coagulated tissue may be flushed away and the electrode temperature maybe regulated, thereby improving efficiency and safety.
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moss in view of Pedersen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of McCullagh et al., (hereinafter ‘McCullagh,’ U.S. PGPub. No. 2007/0260234).
Regarding claim 3, Moss in view of Pedersen teach all of the limitations of system according to claim 1. Although Moss discloses wherein at least one of the tissue penetrating elongate electrodes (21) comprises an insulation layer (93) on a first side of a portion thereof (Fig. 1), Moss in view of Pedersen are silent regarding a dielectric coating.
However, in the same field of endeavor, McCullagh teaches a similar system comprising an array of tines (110) formed by coating a bare metal electrode (124) with a coating (120) ([0022]). McCullagh teaches “DLC is used to form a coating with properties which vary, for example, along the length of the ablation probe or electrode, to form insulated and conductive regions. A tough and lubricious coating is applied to the entire device with the process parameters being varied during deposition as described above so that preselected portions of the device are coated with thermally and/or electrically insulative DLC. Using the DLC coating to provide insulation is beneficial because it eliminates the need to add thick, bulky insulation to the device. In addition, or alternatively, semi-conductive portions of the electrodes and/or of the probe may be formed, for example by varying the process parameters during deposition to apply to these areas a coating of DLC with a dielectric constant lower than that of the insulative DLC and higher than that of the conductive DLC.” ([0027]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system as taught by Moss in view of Pedersen to include a dielectric coating as taught by McCullagh in order to provide insulation to the device while eliminating the need to add thick, bulky insulation to the device, thereby minimizing the overall size of the device.
Regarding claim 13, Moss in view of Pedersen teach all of the limitations of system according to claim 10. Although Moss discloses wherein at least one of the tissue penetrating elongate electrodes (21) comprises an insulation layer (93) on a first side of a portion thereof (Fig. 1), Moss in view of Pedersen are silent regarding a dielectric coating.
However, in the same field of endeavor, McCullagh teaches a similar system comprising an array of tines (110) formed by coating a bare metal electrode (124) with a coating (120) ([0022]). McCullagh teaches “DLC is used to form a coating with properties which vary, for example, along the length of the ablation probe or electrode, to form insulated and conductive regions. A tough and lubricious coating is applied to the entire device with the process parameters being varied during deposition as described above so that preselected portions of the device are coated with thermally and/or electrically insulative DLC. Using the DLC coating to provide insulation is beneficial because it eliminates the need to add thick, bulky insulation to the device. In addition, or alternatively, semi-conductive portions of the electrodes and/or of the probe may be formed, for example by varying the process parameters during deposition to apply to these areas a coating of DLC with a dielectric constant lower than that of the insulative DLC and higher than that of the conductive DLC.” ([0027]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system as taught by Moss in view of Pedersen to include a dielectric coating as taught by McCullagh in order to provide insulation to the device while eliminating the need to add thick, bulky insulation to the device, thereby minimizing the overall size of the device.
Claims 4-5 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moss in view of Pedersen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Azure (hereinafter ‘Azure,’ U.S. Pat. 8,915,911).
Regarding claim 4, Moss in view of Pedersen teach all of the limitations of system according to claim 1. Moss discloses wherein the plurality of tissue penetrating electrodes (21) includes at least a first tissue penetrating electrode having a first electrical connection and a second tissue penetrating electrode having a second electrical connection (as broadly claimed, each electrode 21 has an electrical connection).
Moss in view of Pedersen are silent regarding wherein the first and second electrical connections are separately addressable.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Azure teaches a similar device (30) including a plurality of electrodes (32, 34, 36, 38). Azure teaches “[e]ach of the electrodes can play different roles in the ablation process. For example, there can be changes in polarity and/or polarity shifting between the different electrodes of the device. As with other devices of the invention, electrodes can be electrically independent and separately addressable electrically, or two or more electrodes can be electrically connected, for example, to effectively function as one unit.” (col. 7, ll. 16-50). This configuration is advantageous because it makes possible various electrode configurations and subsequent ablation patterns, thereby increasing versatility, control, and accuracy of the device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system as taught by Moss in view of Pedersen to include wherein the first and second electrical connections are separately addressable, as taught by Azure, in order to provide various electrode configurations and ablation patterns, thereby increasing versatility, control, and accuracy of the device.
Regarding claim 5, Moss in view of Pedersen and Azure teach all of the limitations of the system according to claim 4. In view of the prior modification of Moss in view of Pedersen and Azure, Pedersen (Fig. 2) teaches wherein the sheath (12) is adapted to cover a radial portion of the shaft electrode (18) to facilitate directional control of an output electrical field between a selected one or more of the first and second tissue penetrating electrodes and a portion of the shaft electrode ([0037], “Disposed within the lumen of the catheter 12 is a first conductive electrical terminal 18, and in the preferred embodiment is able to slide within the catheter 12 so as to adjust the exposed operative length of the first terminal 18.” Also see [0052]-[0053] for varying energy characteristics).
Regarding claim 14, Moss in view of Pedersen teach all of the limitations of system according to claim 10. Moss discloses wherein the plurality of tissue penetrating electrodes (21) includes at least a first tissue penetrating electrode having a first electrical connection and a second tissue penetrating electrode having a second electrical connection (as broadly claimed, each electrode 21 has an electrical connection).
Moss in view of Pedersen are silent regarding, wherein the first and second electrical connections are separately addressable.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Azure teaches a similar device (30) including a plurality of electrodes (32, 34, 36, 38). Azure teaches “[e]ach of the electrodes can play different roles in the ablation process. For example, there can be changes in polarity and/or polarity shifting between the different electrodes of the device. As with other devices of the invention, electrodes can be electrically independent and separately addressable electrically, or two or more electrodes can be electrically connected, for example, to effectively function as one unit.” (col. 7, ll. 16-50). This configuration is advantageous because it makes possible various electrode configurations and subsequent ablation patterns, thereby increasing versatility, control, and accuracy of the device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system as taught by Moss in view of Pedersen to include wherein the first and second electrical connections are separately addressable, as taught by Azure, in order to provide various electrode configurations and ablation patterns, thereby increasing versatility, control, and accuracy of the device.
Regarding claim 15, Moss in view of Pedersen and Azure teach all of the limitations of the system according to claim 14. In view of the prior modification of Moss in view of Pedersen and Azure, Pedersen (Fig. 2) teaches wherein the sheath (12) is adapted to cover a radial portion of the shaft electrode (18) to facilitate directional control of an output electrical field between a selected one or more of the first and second tissue penetrating electrodes and a portion of the shaft electrode ([0037], “Disposed within the lumen of the catheter 12 is a first conductive electrical terminal 18, and in the preferred embodiment is able to slide within the catheter 12 so as to adjust the exposed operative length of the first terminal 18.” Also see [0052]-[0053] for varying energy characteristics).
Claims 6, 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moss in view of Pedersen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Behl et al., (hereinafter ‘Behl,’ U.S. Pat. 7,195,629).
Regarding claim 6, Moss in view of Pedersen teach all of the limitations of the system according to claim 1. Moss discloses wherein the plurality of tissue penetrating electrodes (21) includes at least a first tissue penetrating electrode having a first mechanical coupling and a second tissue penetrating electrode having a second mechanical coupling (see electrode arrays 21 in Fig. 1-2B; [0077], [0087]; as broadly claimed, the electrodes 21 are mechanically coupled to slide member 7 to deploy electrodes 21).
Moss in view of Pedersen are silent regarding wherein the first and second mechanical couplings are separately actuatable to allow the first and second tissue penetrating electrodes to be advanced independent of one another.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Behl (Figs. 10-12C) teaches a similar electrode probe (300) comprising a distal electrode array (302) and a proximal electrode array (304) which may be separately deployed (col. 14, ll. 47-58). Behl teaches “[a]s shown in FIG. 12B, the distal array 302 is deployed by depressing the knob 326, i.e., axially translating the knob relative to the cylindrical body 312 in a distal direction so that the electrode array 302 is advanced distally from the distal end of the shaft 306. . . . The proximal array 306 is separately deployed by rotating the handle 316 as illustrated by the arrow 340 in FIG. 12C. Such rotation causes the proximal electrode array 304 to first advance proximally relative to the shaft 306 and then to diverge radially outwardly.” (Col. 15, ll. 21-46). This configuration allows for various patterns of electrode deployment including the deployment of the proximal electrode array (304), the distal electrode array (302), or both the proximal and distal electrode array (col. 14, ll. 47-58), thereby increasing versatility and control. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system as taught by Moss in view of Pedersen to include wherein the first and second mechanical couplings are separately actuatable to allow the first and second tissue penetrating electrodes to be advanced independent of one another, as taught by Behl, in order to provide various patterns of electrode deployment, thereby increasing versatility and control.
Regarding claims 11 and 16, Moss in view of Pedersen teach all of the limitations of the system according to claim 10. Moss discloses wherein the plurality of tissue penetrating electrodes (21) includes at least a first tissue penetrating electrode having a first mechanical coupling and a second tissue penetrating electrode having a second mechanical coupling (see electrode arrays 21 in Fig. 1-2B; [0077], [0087]; as broadly claimed, the electrodes 21 are mechanically coupled to slide member 7 to deploy electrodes 21).
Moss in view of Pedersen is silent regarding wherein the first and second mechanical couplings are separately actuatable to allow the first and second tissue penetrating electrodes to be advanced independent of one another.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Behl (Figs. 10-12C) teaches a similar electrode probe (300) comprising a distal electrode array (302) and a proximal electrode array (304) which may be separately deployed (col. 14, ll. 47-58). Behl teaches “[a]s shown in FIG. 12B, the distal array 302 is deployed by depressing the knob 326, i.e., axially translating the knob relative to the cylindrical body 312 in a distal direction so that the electrode array 302 is advanced distally from the distal end of the shaft 306. . . . The proximal array 306 is separately deployed by rotating the handle 316 as illustrated by the arrow 340 in FIG. 12C. Such rotation causes the proximal electrode array 304 to first advance proximally relative to the shaft 306 and then to diverge radially outwardly.” (Col. 15, ll. 21-46). This configuration allows for various patterns of electrode deployment including the deployment of the proximal electrode array (304), the distal electrode array (302), or both the proximal and distal electrode array (col. 14, ll. 47-58), thereby increasing versatility and control. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system as taught by Moss in view of Pedersen to include wherein the first and second mechanical couplings are separately actuatable to allow the first and second tissue penetrating electrodes to be advanced independent of one another, as taught by Behl, in order to provide various patterns of electrode deployment, thereby increasing versatility and control.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moss in view of Kirschenman (hereinafter ‘Kirschenman,’ U.S. PGPub. No. 2013/0172784).
Regarding claim 20, Moss (Fig. 1) discloses a system for destruction of tissue comprising: a cannula (probe 1) having a proximal end and a distal end and containing a plurality of tissue penetrating elongate electrodes (electrode array 21) therein, the electrodes (21) being extendible beyond the distal end of the cannula (Fig. 1); moveable electrode means (slide member 7) disposed over the cannula (Fig. 1), the moveable electrode means (7) being moveable relative to the cannula (1) to enable a distance from the moveable electrode means (7) to the distal end of the cannula (1) to be adjustable ([0077], “As illustrated in FIG. 1, the slide member 7 can be distally actuated to deploy the arrays 21 or proximally actuated, as indicated by the arrow, to retract the arrays 21 with a portion of the trocar 9.” As broadly claimed, the distance of slide member 7 to the distal end of the cannula 1 is adjusted as the slide member slides distally); a plurality of electrical connectors including at least one electrical connector electrically coupled to at least one of the elongate electrodes (21) ([0075]; [0120], generator 29 provides electrical energy to electrodes 21); cover means for adjustably covering all, a portion of, or none of the moveable electrode means (insulative sleeve 45).
Moss is silent regarding at least one electrical connector electrically coupled to the shaft electrode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kirschenman teaches a similar system comprising multiple shaft electrodes (ring electrodes 44, 46, 48 in Fig. 5) “provided for a variety of diagnostic and therapeutic purposes including, for example, electrophysiological studies, catheter identification and location, pacing, cardiac mapping and ablation.” ([0027]; see [0022] for corresponding conductors or leads). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system as taught by Moss to include at least one electrical connector electrically coupled to the shaft electrode, as taught by Kirschenman, in order to “provide for a variety of diagnostic and therapeutic purposes including, for example, electrophysiological studies, catheter identification and location, pacing, cardiac mapping and ablation” ([0027]), thereby increasing patient safety and accuracy.
Conclusion
/C.A.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/LINDA C DVORAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794