Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/20/2022 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1. 97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, under claims 8 and 25 respectively, the “injection molded plastic around electrical connections within the second and fourth sections”, and under claims 9 and 26 respectively, the “using epoxy position around electrical connections within the second and fourth sections” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, 7-12, 14-21 and 24 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation “greater the first width” in line 3. Suggest changing “greater the first width” to “greater than the first width” to obviate this objection.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the first and second bulges” in line 1. Suggest changing “the first and second bulges” to “the first bulge and the second bulge” to obviate this objection.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the second and fourth sections” in line 2. Suggest changing “the second and fourth sections” to “the second section and the fourth section” to obviate this objection.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the first, third, and fifth sections” in line 4. Suggest changing “the first, third, and fifth sections” to “the first section, the third section, and the fifth section” to obviate this objection.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the first and second bulges” in line 1. Suggest changing “the first and second bulges” to “the first bulge and the second bulge” to obviate this objection.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the second and fourth sections” in line 2. Suggest changing “the second and fourth sections” to “the second section and the fourth section” to obviate this objection.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the first and second bulges” in line 1. Suggest changing “the first and second bulges” to “the first bulge and the second bulge” to obviate this objection.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the second and fourth sections” in lines 2 and 3 respectively. Suggest changing “the second and fourth sections” to “the second section and the fourth section” to obviate these objections.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the first and second bulges” in line 1. Suggest changing “the first and second bulges” to “the first bulge and the second bulge” to obviate this objection.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the second and fourth sections” in line 2. Suggest changing “the second and fourth sections” to “the second section and the fourth section” to obviate this objection.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “section.;” in last line. Suggest changing “section.;” to “section;” to obviate this objection.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the first, second, and third bulges” in line 1. Suggest changing “the first, second and third bulges” to “the first bulge, the second bulge, and the third bulge” to obviate this objection.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the second, fourth, and sixth sections” in line 2. Suggest changing “the second, fourth, and sixth sections” to “the second section, the fourth section, and the sixth section” to obviate this objection.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the first, third, fifth, and seventh sections” in line 1. Suggest changing “the first, third, fifth, and seventh sections” to “the first section, the third section, the fifth section, and the seventh section” to obviate this objection.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the first, second, and third bulges” in line 1. Suggest changing “the first, second and third bulges” to “the first bulge, the second bulge, and the third bulge” to obviate this objection.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the second, fourth, and sixth sections” in line 2. Suggest changing “the second, fourth, and sixth sections” to “the second section, the fourth section, and the sixth section” to obviate this objection.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “greater the first width” in line 6. Suggest changing “greater the first width” to “greater than the first width” to obviate this objection.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the first and second bulges” in 7th to the last line. Suggest changing “the first and second bulges” to “the first bulge and the second bulge” to obviate this objection.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the second and fourth sections” in 7th to the last line. Suggest changing “the second and fourth sections” to “the second section and the fourth section” to obviate this objection.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the first, third, and fifth sections” in 4th to the last line. Suggest changing “the first, third, and fifth sections” to “the first section, the third section, and the fifth section” to obviate this objection.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the first, second, third, and fourth sections” in 4th to the last line. Suggest changing “the first, second, third, and fourth sections” to “the first section, the second section, the third section, and the fourth section” to obviate this objection.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the fourth, fifth, sixth, and seventh sections” in 2nd to the last line. Suggest changing “the fourth, fifth, sixth, and seventh sections” to “the fourth section, the fifth section, the sixth section, and the seventh section” to obviate this objection.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “the first, second, and third bulges” in first line. Suggest changing “the first, second, and third bulges” to “the first bulge, the second bulge, and the third bulge” to obviate this objection.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “the second, fourth, and sixth sections” in line 2. Suggest changing “the second, fourth, and sixth sections” to “the second section, the fourth section, and the sixth section” to obviate this objection.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “the first, third, fifth, and seventh sections” in line 3. Suggest changing “the first, third, fifth, and seventh sections” to “the first section, the third section, the fifth section, and the seventh section” to obviate this objection.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the first, second, and third bulges” in first line. Suggest changing “the first, second, and third bulges” to “the first bulge, the second bulge, and the third bulge” to obviate this objection.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the second, fourth, and sixth sections” in line 2. Suggest changing “the second, fourth, and sixth sections” to “the second section, the fourth section, and the sixth section” to obviate this objection.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the first, third, fifth, and seventh sections” in line 5. Suggest changing “the first, third, fifth, and seventh sections” to “the first section, the third section, the fifth section, and the seventh section” to obviate this objection.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “greater the first width” in line 6. Suggest changing “greater the first width” to “greater than the first width” to obviate this objection.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “the first and second bulges” in 7th to the last line. Suggest changing “the first and second bulges” to “the first bulge and the second bulge” to obviate this objection.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “the second and fourth sections” in 7th to the last line. Suggest changing “the second and fourth sections” to “the second section and the fourth section” to obviate this objection.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “the first, third, and fifth sections” in 4th to the last line. Suggest changing “the first, third, and fifth sections” to “the first section, the third section, and the fifth section” to obviate this objection.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “the first, second, third, and fourth sections” in 4th to the last line. Suggest changing “the first, second, third, and fourth sections” to “the first section, the second section, the third section, and the fourth section” to obviate this objection.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “the fourth, fifth, sixth, and seventh sections” in 2nd to the last line. Suggest changing “the fourth, fifth, sixth, and seventh sections” to “the fourth section, the fifth section, the sixth section, and the seventh section” to obviate this objection.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “the first, second, and third bulges” in first line. Suggest changing “the first, second, and third bulges” to “the first bulge, the second bulge, and the third bulge” to obviate this objection.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “the second, fourth, and sixth sections” in first line. Suggest changing “the second, fourth, and sixth sections” to “the second section, the fourth section, and the sixth section” to obviate this objection.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “the first, third, fifth, and seventh sections” in line 2. Suggest changing “the first, third, fifth, and seventh sections” to “the first section, the third section, the fifth section, and the seventh section” to obviate this objection.
Claim 24 recites the limitation “the first and second bulges” in line 1. Suggest changing “the first and second bulges” to “the first bulge and the second bulge” to obviate this objection.
Claim 24 recites the limitation “the second and fourth sections” in line 2. Suggest changing “the second and fourth sections” to “the second section and the fourth section” to obviate this objection.
Claim 25 recites the limitation “the first and second bulges” in lines 1 and 3 respectively. Suggest changing “the first and second bulges” to “the first bulge and the second bulge” to obviate these objections.
Claim 25 recites the limitation “the second and fourth sections” in lines 2 and 3 respectively. Suggest changing “the second and fourth sections” to “the second section and the fourth section” to obviate these objections.
Claim 26 recites the limitation “the first and second bulges” in lines 1 and 3 respectively. Suggest changing “the first and second bulges” to “the first bulge and the second bulge” to obviate these objections.
Claim 26 recites the limitation “the second and fourth sections” in lines 2 and 3 respectively. Suggest changing “the second and fourth sections” to “the second section and the fourth section” to obviate these objections.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5, 11-15, 17-19 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the same width” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the same width” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “a base membrane” in line 2 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what the relation between this “a base membrane” and a base membrane mentioned in claim 1 last line are? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “a plurality of upwardly extending bosses” in line 2 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what the relation between this “a plurality of upwardly extending bosses” and upwardly extending bosses mentioned in claim 1 last line are? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the bosses” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “adjacent upwardly extending bosses” in lines 3 and 5 respectively renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what the relation between these “adjacent upwardly extending bosses” and upwardly extending bosses mentioned in claim 1 last line are? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the same width” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the same width” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “a base membrane” in line 2 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what the relation between this “a base membrane” and a base membrane mentioned in claim 1 last line are? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “a plurality of upwardly extending bosses” in line 2 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what the relation between this “a plurality of upwardly extending bosses” and upwardly extending bosses mentioned in claim 1 last line are? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the bosses” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “adjacent upwardly extending bosses” in lines 3 and 5 respectively renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what the relation between these “adjacent upwardly extending bosses” and a plurality of upwardly extending bosses mentioned in claim 13 line 2 are? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the upwardly bosses” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “adjacent upwardly extending bosses” in 6th to the last line renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what the relation between this “adjacent upwardly extending bosses” and a plurality of upwardly extending bosses mentioned in line 2 are? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “adjacent upwardly extending bosses” in 4th to the last line renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what the relation between this “adjacent upwardly extending bosses” and a plurality of upwardly extending bosses mentioned in line 2 are? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “first and second electrical cabling” in 2nd to the last line renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what the relation between this “first and second electrical” and a first electrical cabling and a second electrical cabling mentioned in 9th to the last line are? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “adjacent upwardly extending bosses” in 2nd to the last line renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what the relation between this “adjacent upwardly extending bosses” and a plurality of upwardly extending bosses mentioned in line 2 are? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “the same width” in lines 2 and 3 respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “adjacent upwardly extending bosses” in lines 3 and 6 respectively renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what the relation between these “adjacent upwardly extending bosses” and a plurality of upwardly extending bosses mentioned in claim 15 line 2 are? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “the upwardly bosses” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “the hollow shell” in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “adjacent upwardly extending bosses” in 6th to the last line, 3rd to the last line and 2nd to the last line respectively renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what the relation between these “adjacent upwardly extending bosses” and a plurality of upwardly extending bosses mentioned in line 2 are? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “the same width” in lines 2 and 3 respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 22 recites the limitation “adjacent upwardly extending bosses” in lines 2 and 4 respectively renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what the relation between these “adjacent upwardly extending bosses” and a plurality of upwardly extending bosses mentioned in claim 19 line 2 are? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Pollack et al. (US 2010/0019498 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Pollack et al. disclose a heating cable splice comprising:
a first section having a first width (tube154 has a first section connected to 150, having a first width, [0037], see Fig 10) extending to a second section having a second width greater the first width of the first section (the first section extending to the right side to a second section having a second width greater the first width of the first section, see Fig 10), the second section thereby forming a first bulge in the heating cable splice (a first bulge formed on the second section, see Fig 10);
a third section extending from the second section having a third width less than the second width of the second section (a third section extending from the second section to the right side having a third width less than the second width of the second section, see Fig 10);
a fourth section extending from the third section having a fourth width that is greater than the third width of the third section (s a fourth section extending from the third section to the right side having a fourth width that is greater than the third width of the third section, see Fig 10), the fourth section thereby forming a second bulge in the heating cable splice (a second bulge formed on the fourth section, see Fig 10);
a fifth section extending from the fourth section having a fifth width that is less than the fourth width of the fourth section (a fifth section extending from the fourth section to the right side having a width that is less than the fourth width, see Fig 10);
wherein the heating cable splice is adapted to be positioned between upwardly extending bosses on a base membrane (Note: the limitation upwardly extending bosses, a base membrane are not belonged to the heating cable splice; therefore, “wherein the heating cable splice is adapted to be positioned between upwardly extending bosses on a base membrane” are an intended use).
Claim 2, wherein the second section and the fourth section have the same width (the second section and the fourth section have the same width shown in Fig 10).
Claim 3, wherein the first, third, and fifth sections have the same width (the first, third, and fifth sections have the same width shown in Fig 10).
Claim 4, wherein the heating cable splice is sized to be positioned on a base membrane having a plurality of upwardly extending bosses with a gap positioned between each of the bosses (Note: the limitation a base membrane, a plurality of upwardly extending bosses with a gap, each of the bosses are not belonged to the heating cable splice; therefore, “positioned on a base membrane having a plurality of upwardly extending bosses with a gap positioned between each of the bosses” are an intended use).
Claim 5, wherein the first and second bulges of the second and fourth sections (see Fig 10) are adapted to positioned within the gaps between adjacent upwardly extending bosses on the base membrane (Note: the limitation the gaps between adjacent upwardly extending bosses, the base membrane are not belonged to the heating cable splice; therefore, “positioned within the gaps between adjacent upwardly extending bosses on the base membrane” are an intended use); and
wherein the first, third, and fifth sections (see Fig 10) are adapted to be positioned between adjacent upwardly extending bosses on the base membrane (Note: the limitation adjacent upwardly extending bosses, the base membrane are not belonged to the heating cable splice; therefore, “positioned between adjacent upwardly extending bosses on the base membrane” are an intended use).
Claim 10, further including a sixth section extending from the fifth section having a sixth width that is greater than the fifth width of the fifth section (a sixth section extending from the fifth section to the right side having a fourth width that is greater than the fifth width of the fifth section, see Fig 10), the sixth section thereby forming a third bulge in the heating cable splice (a third bulge formed on the sixth section, see Fig 10);
a seventh section extending from the sixth section having a seventh width that is less than the sixth width of the sixth section (a seven section extending from the sixth section to the right side having a seven width that is less than the sixth width of the sixth section, see Fig 10);
Claim 11, wherein the first, second, and third bulges of the second, fourth, and sixth sections have the same width (tube154 has the first, second, and third bulges of the second, fourth, and sixth sections with the same width, see Fig 10).
Claim 12, wherein the first, third, fifth, and seventh sections have the same width (tube154 has the first, third, fifth, and seventh sections with same width, see Fig 10).
Claim 13, wherein the heating cable splice is sized to be positioned on a base membrane having a plurality of upwardly extending bosses with a gap positioned between each of the bosses (Note: the limitation a base membrane, a plurality of upwardly extending bosses with a gap, each of the bosses are not belonged to the heating cable splice; therefore, “wherein the heating cable splice is sized to be positioned on a base membrane having a plurality of upwardly extending bosses with a gap positioned between each of the bosses” are an intended use).
Claim 14, wherein the first, second, and third bulges of the second, fourth, and sixth sections are adapted to be positioned within the gaps between adjacent upwardly extending bosses on the base membrane (Note: the limitation the gaps between adjacent upwardly extending bosses, the base membrane are not belonged to the heating cable splice; therefore, “wherein the first, second, and third bulges of the second, fourth, and sixth sections are adapted to be positioned within the gaps between adjacent upwardly extending bosses on the base membrane” are an intended use); and
wherein the first, third, fifth, and seventh sections are adapted to be positioned between adjacent upwardly extending bosses on the base membrane (Note: the limitation adjacent upwardly extending bosses, the base membrane are not belonged to the heating cable splice; therefore, “wherein the first, third, fifth, and seventh sections are adapted to be positioned between adjacent upwardly extending bosses on the base membrane” are an intended use).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pollack et al. (US 2010/0019498 A1) in view of Laws (US 7,172,452 B1).
Regarding Claim 6, Pollack et al. disclose the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose Claim 6.
Laws teaches a heating cable splice (a modular cable guide 10, Col 5 line 17, Figs 1-3. Note: “heating cable splice” taught by Pollack et al. already) and Claim 6, the heating cable splice is constructed using an upper shell secured to a lower shell (an upper cable module 18 and a lower cable module 20, Col 5 line 22-23, Figs 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Pollack et al. with Laws’s further teaching of Claim 6; because Laws teaches, in Abstract, of providing an excellent cable guide module with two modules such that the grooves of the first and second cable guide modules together define a channel.
Claims 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pollack et al. (US 2010/0019498 A1) in view of Meisiek (US 6,423,952 B1).
Regarding Claims 7-9, Pollack et al. disclose the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose Claim Claims 7-9.
Meisiek teaches a heater connector (see Title) and Claim 7, wherein the first and second bulges of the second and fourth sections (heating band matrix end face 3A, Col 8 line 61-62, Fig 3D. Note: “the first and second bulges of the second and fourth sections” taught by Pollack et al. already) are constructed using one or more layers of heat shrink material (shrinkable tubes are arranged over these spliced connections, Col 9 line 34-35).
Claim 8, wherein the first and second bulges of the second and fourth sections (“the first and second bulges of the second and fourth sections” taught by Pollack et al. already) are constructed using injection molded plastic around electrical connections within the second and fourth sections (the heater arrangement may further comprise a molded plastic part, preferably made of FEP, arranged in the area of the connector, Col 4 line 9-12).
Claim 9, wherein the first and second bulges of the second and fourth sections (“the first and second bulges of the second and fourth sections” taught by Pollack et al. already) are constructed using epoxy position around electrical connections within the second and fourth sections (epoxy layer 21 having been applied onto and enclosing the area of the heating band matrix end face 3A, Col 9 line 10-12, Fig 3D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Pollack et al. with Meisiek’s further teaching of Claims 7-9; because Meisiek teaches, in Abstract, of providing an excellent heater connector, achieving a reliable seal against the penetration of moisture or liquid into the areas of the electrical connections.
Claims 15-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pollack et al. (US 2010/0019498 A1) in view of Bordin (US 2018/0051892 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 15, Pollack et al. disclose a heating cabling system comprising:
a heating cable splice comprising:
a first section having a first width (tube 154 has a first section connected to 150, having a first width, [0037], see Figs 1 and10) extending to a second section having a second width greater the first width of the first section (tube154 has the first section extending to a second section having a second width greater the first width of the first section, see Fig 10), the second section thereby forming a first bulge in the heating cable splice (a first bulge formed on the second section, see Fig 10);
a third section extending from the second section having a third width less than the second width of the second section (tube154 has a third section extending from the second section having a third width less than the second width of the second section, see Fig 10);
a fourth section extending from the third section having a fourth width that is greater than the third width of the third section (tube154 has a fourth section extending from the third section having a fourth width that is greater than the third width of the third section, see Fig 10), the fourth section thereby forming a second bulge in the heating cable splice (a second bulge formed on the fourth section, see Fig 10);
a fifth section extending from the fourth section having a fifth width that is less than the fourth width of the fourth section (tube154 has a fifth section extending from the fourth section having a width that is less than the fourth width, see Fig 10);
wherein a first electrical cabling (electrodes 46 in the tube wall 29, [0024], Figs 2-3) extends into the first section (an elongated tube 12… and the tube has walls 29 , [0024]; sections 50 of the tube that are spaced along the length of the tube, [0027], see Figs 1-3 and10) and a second electrical cabling (electrodes 48 in the tube wall 29, [0024], Figs 2-3) extends into the fifth section (an elongated tube 12… and the tube has walls 29, [0024]; sections 50 of the tube that are spaced along the length of the tube, [0027], see Figs 1-3 and10);
Pollack et al. disclose the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose a base membrane having a plurality of upwardly extending bosses with a gap positioned between each of the upwardly bosses;
wherein the first and second bulges of the second and fourth sections are
positioned within the gaps between adjacent upwardly extending bosses on the
base membrane;
wherein the first, third, and fifth sections are positioned between adjacent upwardly extending bosses on the base membrane; and
wherein first and second electrical cabling extends between adjacent upwardly extending bosses on the base member.
Bordin teaches a floor heating support system (see Title), and base membrane (a base 11, [0026], Fig 1) having a plurality of upwardly extending bosses (bosses 12, 13, 14 and 15, [0028], Fig 1) with a gap positioned between each of the upwardly bosses (interspaces 16, 17, 18, 19 between them for laying pipes or electric heating cables, [0026], Fig 1);
wherein the first and second bulges of the second and fourth sections (“the first and second bulges of the second and fourth sections” taught by Pollack et al. already) are positioned within the gaps between adjacent upwardly extending bosses on the
base membrane (interspaces 16, 17, 18, 19 between them for laying pipes or electric heating cables, [0026], Fig 1);
wherein the first, third, and fifth sections (“the first, third, and fifth sections” taught by Pollack et al. already) are positioned between adjacent upwardly extending bosses on the base membrane (interspaces 16, 17, 18, 19 between them for laying pipes or electric heating cables, [0026], Fig 1); and
wherein first and second electrical cabling (“first and second electrical cabling” taught by Pollack et al. already) extends between adjacent upwardly extending bosses on the base member (interspaces 16, 17, 18, 19 between them for laying pipes or electric heating cables, [0026], Fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Pollack et al. with Bordin’s further teaching of a base membrane having a plurality of upwardly extending bosses with a gap positioned between each of the upwardly bosses; wherein the first and second bulges of the second and fourth sections are positioned within the gaps between adjacent upwardly extending bosses on the base membrane; wherein the first, third, and fifth sections are positioned between adjacent upwardly extending bosses on the base membrane; and wherein first and second electrical cabling extends between adjacent upwardly extending bosses on the base member; because Bordin teaches, in Para. [0002], of providing an excellent support equipment to properly laying electric heating cables for the heating elements of radiant coverings and floors.
Claim 16, wherein the heating cable splice further includes a sixth section extending from the fifth section having a sixth width that is greater than the fifth width of the fifth section (tube154 has a sixth section extending from the fifth section having a fourth width that is greater than the fifth width of the fifth section, see Fig 10), the sixth section thereby forming a third bulge in the heating cable splice (a third bulge formed on the sixth section, see Fig 10);
a seventh section extending from the sixth section having a seventh width that is less than the sixth width of the sixth section (tube154 has a seven section extending from the sixth section having a seven width that is less than the sixth width of the sixth section, see Fig 10);
wherein the first, second, third, and fourth sections (see Figs 1 and 10) have the first electrical cabling (electrodes 46 in the tube wall 29, [0024], Figs 2-3) positioned therein (see Figs 1-3 and 10); and
wherein the fourth, fifth, sixth, and seventh sections (see Figs 1 and 10) have the second electrical cabling (electrodes 48 in the tube wall 29, [0024], Figs 2-3) positioned therein (see Figs 1-3 and 10) positioned therein (see Figs 1-3 and 10).
Claim 17, wherein the first, second, and third bulges of the second, fourth, and sixth sections have the same width (tube154 has the first, second, and third bulges of the second, fourth, and sixth sections have the same width, see Fig 10); and
wherein the first, third, fifth, and seventh sections have the same width (tube154 has the first, third, fifth, and seventh sections have the same width, see Fig 10).
Claim 18, wherein the first, second, and third bulges of the second, fourth, and sixth sections (see Fig 10) are positioned within the gaps between adjacent upwardly extending bosses on the base membrane (bosses 12, 13, 14 and 15, [0028]; interspaces 16, 17, 18, 19 between them for laying pipes or electric heating cables, [0026], Fig 1, Bordin); and
wherein the first, third, fifth, and seventh sections (see Fig 10) are positioned between adjacent upwardly extending bosses on the base member (bosses 12, 13, 14 and 15, [0028]; interspaces 16, 17, 18, 19 between them for laying pipes or electric heating cables, [0026], Fig 1, Bordin).
Regarding Independent Claim 19, Pollack et al. disclose a method of providing a heating cabling system comprising:
providing a heating cable splice comprising:
a first section having a first width (tube 154 has a first section connected to 150, having a first width, [0037], see Figs 1 and10) extending to a second section having a second width greater the first width of the first section (tube154 has the first section extending to a second section having a second width greater the first width of the first section, see Fig 10), the second section thereby forming a first bulge in the heating cable splice (a first bulge formed on the second section, see Fig 10);
a third section extending from the second section having a third width less
than the second width of the second section (tube154 has a third section extending from the second section having a third width less than the second width of the second section, see Fig 10);
a fourth section extending from the third section having a fourth width that is greater than the third width of the third section (tube154 has a fourth section extending from the third section having a fourth width that is greater than the third width of the third section, see Fig 10), the fourth section thereby forming a second bulge in the heating cable splice (a second bulge formed on the fourth section, see Fig 10);
15 a fifth section extending from the fourth section of the hollow shell having
a fifth width that is less than the fourth width of the fourth section;
extending a first electrical cabling (electrodes 46 in the tube wall 29, [0024], Figs 2-3) into the first section of the heating cable splice (n elongated tube 12… and the tube has walls 29, [0024]; sections 50 of the tube that are spaced along the length of the tube, [0027], see Figs 1-3 and10);
extending a second electrical cabling (electrodes 48 in the tube wall 29, [0024], Figs 2-3) into the fifth section of the heating cable splice (an elongated tube 12… and the tube has walls 29, [0024]; sections 50 of the tube that are spaced along the length of the tube, [0027], see Figs 1-3 and10);
Pollack et al. disclose the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose: providing a base membrane having a plurality of upwardly extending bosses with a gap positioned between each of the upwardly bosses;
positioning the first and second bulges of the second and fourth sections of the heating cable splice within the gaps between adjacent upwardly extending bosses on the base membrane;
positioning the first, third, and fifth sections of the heating splice between adjacent upwardly extending bosses on the base membrane; and
positioning the first and second electrical cabling between adjacent upwardly extending bosses on the base membrane.
Bordin teaches a floor heating support system (see Title), and providing a base membrane (a base 11, [0026], Fig 1) having a plurality of upwardly extending bosses (bosses 12, 13, 14 and 15, [0028], Fig 1) with a gap positioned between each of the upwardly bosses (interspaces 16, 17, 18, 19 between them for laying pipes or electric heating cables, [0026], Fig 1);
positioning the first and second bulges of the second and fourth sections of the heating cable splice (“the first and second bulges of the second and fourth sections of the heating cable splice” taught by Pollack et al. already) within the gaps between adjacent upwardly extending bosses on the base membrane (interspaces 16, 17, 18, 19 between them for laying pipes or electric heating cables, [0026], Fig 1);
positioning the first, third, and fifth sections of the heating splice (“the first, third, and fifth sections of the heating splice” taught by Pollack et al. already) between adjacent upwardly extending bosses on the base membrane (interspaces 16, 17, 18, 19 between them for laying pipes or electric heating cables, [0026], Fig 1); and
positioning the first and second electrical cabling (“first and second electrical cabling” taught by Pollack et al. already) between adjacent upwardly extending bosses on the base membrane (interspaces 16, 17, 18, 19 between them for laying pipes or electric heating cables, [0026], Fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Pollack et al. with Bordin’s further teaching of providing a base membrane having a plurality of upwardly extending bosses with a gap positioned between each of the upwardly bosses; positioning the first and second bulges of the second and fourth sections of the heating cable splice within the gaps between adjacent upwardly extending bosses on the base membrane; positioning the first, third, and fifth sections of the heating splice between adjacent upwardly extending bosses on the base membrane; and positioning the first and second electrical cabling between adjacent upwardly extending bosses on the base membrane; because Bordin teaches, in Para. [0002], of providing an excellent support equipment to properly laying electric heating cables for the heating elements of radiant coverings and floors.
Claim 20, wherein the heating cable splice further includes a sixth section extending from the fifth section having a sixth width that is greater than the fifth width of the fifth section (tube154 has a sixth section extending from the fifth section having a fourth width that is greater than the fifth width of the fifth section, see Fig 10), the sixth section thereby forming a third bulge in the heating cable splice (a third bulge formed on the sixth section, see Fig 10), and a seventh section extending from the sixth section having a seventh width that is less than the sixth width of the sixth section (tube154 has a seven section extending from the sixth section having a seven width that is less than the sixth width of the sixth section, see Fig 10);
positioning the first electrical cabling (electrodes 46 in the tube wall 29, [0024], Figs 2-3) into the first, second, third, and fourth sections of the heating cable splice (see Figs 1-3 and 10); and
positioning the second electrical cabling (electrodes 48 in the tube wall 29, [0024], Figs 2-3) into the fourth, fifth, sixth, and seventh sections of the heating cable splice (see Figs 1-3 and 10).
Claim 21, wherein the first, second, and third bulges of the second, fourth, and sixth sections have the same width (tube154 has the first, second, and third bulges of the second, fourth, and sixth sections have the same width, see Fig 10); and wherein the first, third, fifth, and seventh sections have the same width (tube154 has the first, third, fifth, and seventh sections have the same width, see Fig 10).
Claim 22, further including positioning the third bulge of the sixth section of the heating cable splice (see Fig 10) between the gaps between adjacent upwardly extending bosses on the base membrane (bosses 12, 13, 14 and 15, [0028]; interspaces 16, 17, 18, 19 between them for laying pipes or electric heating cables, [0026], Fig 1, Bordin); and
positioning the seventh section of the heating cable splice (see Fig 10) between adjacent upwardly extending bosses on the base membrane (bosses 12, 13, 14 and 15, [0028]; interspaces 16, 17, 18, 19 between them for laying pipes or electric heating cables, [0026], Fig 1, Bordin).
Claim 23, wherein the heating cable splice (see Fig 10) is snapped into position between the adjacent upwardly extending bosses on the base membrane (interspaces 16, 17, 18, 19 between them for laying pipes or electric heating cables, [0026]; interlocking of a heating cable in interspace 16 between two adjacent bosses, [0029], Fig 1, Bordin).
Claims 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pollack et al. (US 2010/0019498 A1) in view of Bordin (US 2018/0051892 A1) as applied to claim 19, further in view of Meisiek (US 6,423,952 B1).
Regarding Claims 24-26, Pollack et al. in view of Bordin teach the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except does not teach Claim Claims 24-26.
Meisiek teaches a heater connector (see Title) and Claim 24, including forming the first and second bulges of the second and fourth sections of the heating cable splice (heating band matrix end face 3A, Col 8 line 61-62, Fig 3D. Note: “the first and second bulges of the second and fourth sections of the heating cable splice” taught by Pollack et al. already) by using one or more layers of heat shrink material (shrinkable tubes are arranged over these spliced connections, Col 9 line 34-35).
Claim 25, including forming the first and second bulges of the second and fourth sections (“the first and second bulges of the second and fourth sections” taught by Pollack et al. already) by injection molding plastic around electrical connections within the first and second bulges of the second and fourth sections (the heater arrangement may further comprise a molded plastic part, preferably made of FEP, arranged in the area of the connector, Col 4 line 9-12).
Claim 26, including forming the first and second bulges of the second and fourth sections (“the first and second bulges of the second and fourth sections” taught by Pollack et al. already) by positioning epoxy around electrical connections within the first and second bulges of the second and fourth sections (epoxy layer 21 having been applied onto and enclosing the area of the heating band matrix end face 3A, Col 9 line 10-12, Fig 3D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Pollack et al. with Meisiek’s further teaching of Claims 24-26; because Meisiek teaches, in Abstract, of providing an excellent heater connector, achieving a reliable seal against the penetration of moisture or liquid into the areas of the electrical connections.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is advised to refer to the Notice of References Cited for pertinent prior art.
/KUANGYUE CHEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761